2024 Winter Cup. World Cup.

[Schedule] Video [USAG Youtube] Results: [Junior] ] [Live Results] [Information] [Tech Info]

Seniors: [Results] [Results with [D score]

Splat fest. The only thing this meet taught me is the new kids have no shot. Reese Espnda the triple tuck girl didn’t compete that here but she was lowballed with 13.300 . Even Suni who fell on both events wasn’t given the benefit she usually gets. You might say that is a good thing but for me it makes me feel like the fix is in. Kayla Dicello looks ready but it’s way too early to be this consistent That being said they kept setting her up for the 3rd AAer role, consistent. Hezley was overscored with mistakes as usual so my thought process watching this meet is, if Gabby and Suni don’t show up with amazing AA sets the third 3rd AAer will be the gymnast will be picked the same way it was for Worlds last year. The third-best AA. It will be between Leanne, Hezley, Kayla, Skye, and maybe Joscelyn and they will go the route of bars/beam VT/FL and that will fit someone like Suni or Gabby and Jade and or Joscelyn. I really can’t see them taking Josc with her bars. OH AND YES, The announcers who suck, Sam and John said they talked with the third guy deciding the team and he wants 3 Chengs in the Team final.I should know his name but I don’t but John and Sam love to babble and this was a tid-bit they probably shouldn’t have put out there. AND THEY interviewed Li Li who brought up Gabby 2 TIMES! Why is SHE BRINGING UP NAMES OF GYMNASTS NOT EVEN HERE? the fix is in. Hezley on floor vs Reese is proof.

Leanne, you better bring the D scores because everyone has a 6 bars and beam this year.

I was looking at old blogs because someone else did (Checking IPs again) and I found this comment by me. AM I CLARVOIANT OR WHAT? (Not you troll) I can tell the future, YA’ ALL. It’s late she’s already gone from NBC but I saw the future:) Taking a bow. And I got out of bed on a Saturday before 3 PM. This gymnastics better be worth it.

Leanne Wong gets a 10! I LOVE this floor music. I hope she adds in some Choreography because anyone calling this unartistic is an idiot. [Article] She now has a 10 on all 4 events #Grandslam. The article has the reaction.

[Junior Video] [Live Results] 2-23-24 7 PM [Senior video] 2-24-24 1PM Eastern Time

Start Lists : [Juniors] : [Seniors] Suni is last up on bars in the third rotation, and second up on the beam in, the second half of the last rotation but let’s pretend these lineups aren’t fixed lol. Last rotation, Last up. I will be here for the Juniors tonight unless my nieces show up which they like to do sometimes. Little Harlow Buddendeck is competing. She’s the little girl who fell like 6 times last year at a meet but has such potential on beam that I am waiting for her to live up to.

Juniors: [Live Results] [Results] with D & E scores.

When the scoring stats work I will post the results. The Woga girl received her Christmas presents late or earlier depending on what year you wanna be in. The winners were blah but I wanna know how Lavi Crain can be so watchable on floor and unwatchable on beam? Harlow would have been in third if she hadn’t fallen off bars but she hit beam and floor and was non-Wogaette dimmed for not being from Woga. The floor routine was beautiful. Too many of the floor music’s were dramatic and didn’t have the danceability to pull it off but some good floor routines were just scored unfairly in a comparative way for this meet. There was that girl Charleigh something who fell like ten times last year at a meet and hit all 4 events here. I was like a proud mother. And there was a girl who fell off beam 3 times who also would have been third if she had hit beam. She fell off beam getting up after falling and looked lost. She was looking around like she didn’t know if she should finish. She had a good floor routine after. And I think it was Daisy Lesperance whose floor I also liked but I forget. There was so much lowballing of the non-name gymnasts during juniors it was glaring. Pease is so sloppy on every event and they just didn’t care (judges)

Podium Training: Suni (Full-twisting Jaeger) Suni (Beam) and no one else. Skye on [Floor]

I hate to be hard to get along with (no I don’t 🙂 but if that Full-twisting Jaeger is supposed to be laid out. It isn’t. There are also some really iffy form issues in the GNow video. i thought her beam looked better than her bars tho I read she fell

Read all the tech rules. Some fun stuff. No cell phones on podiums. This is my favorite.lol

(Love that one) They will have a mixed zone for media. Athletes don’t have to talk to them. Don’t show up for the awards you lose the medal. No water used on beam. That’s a FIG rule. No talking to judges on the floor. Makes me wonder if this has happened before.

It’s like ten days away and we need a new blog. [Registed Athletes]

Suni is doing Bars and beam because she wants to go to the World Cup and have the full-twisting, layout Jaeger named after her.

Suni, the return of Gabby, Skye, Kayla, My girl Myli, and Trinity. I doubt we will see much AA from the big names but Trinity plans on doing it.

Leanne article from Worlds last year I liked.

Aleah Finnegan has a blog and the high bitched girl sounds have triggered me to shut it off:) And triggered isn’t in my vocab but this is bad.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Jordan Chiles is out [Twitter] and so is Zoey Miller [Twitter]

World Cup

Emma gets 30 points for being the nonteam athlete with the highest ranking. Good start but a lot of mistakes helped.

[Live Scoring] [Finals Scoring]

Qualifications :

[Vault] [Uneven Bars] [Balance Beam] [Floor Exercise]

Finals:

****Emma Malabuyo made Floor finals in 7th place but fell on beam. Levi Jung-Ruivivar didn’t make any finals. Emma needs more difficulty to pull this off. Isn’t looking likely with a 12. 4 ish score and only a 4.9 start value. Links at bottom of blog. Chuso didn’t qualify for Vault finals. She’s the first reserve.

61 Responses to “2024 Winter Cup. World Cup.”

  1. tatulover2120 Says:

    why is Shilese doing winter cup? It’s kind of a waste of her time and risking injury for her.

  2. Lucia Says:

    Is this meet on Television? I hope not. I won’t be able to sit through two hours of Sam Peszek talking about Gabby Douglas.

    • tatulover2120 Says:

      it was last year. Just put it on mute and use subtitles. Itll at least keep the noise at bay. I just rewatched the 2023 Worlds Team competition and I had to mute it cause of Sam. Does that girl take a breath?

  3. Lucia Says:

    Olympic Trials rules and regulations.

    https://static.usagym.org/PDFs/Pressbox/Selection%20Procedures/w_24olympics.pdf

  4. HartofDixie Says:

    https://x.com/clemsongym/status/1758962500329206049?s=46&t=yF-G35fyNE63JHUms0qytg

  5. Lucia Says:

    Gabby is doing, Vault, Beam, and Floor at Winter Cup. Allegedly. Hello Artistry judges. Do your thing.

    She’s hiding her Bars routine. Suni is only doing her Bar and Beam routines.

    https://usagym.org/usa-gymnastics-winter-cup-kicks-off-u-s-olympic-year/

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I will eat my hat if the artistry judges deduct Gabby artistry points at a meet taking place is the US. USAG has been advertising her ten times more than everyone else.lol

      She is a strong girl so her tumbling and vault probably came back easily and same with the way she muscles her beam skills. On floor that double y turn she did looked gorgeous . So did the stuff she did on bars but we will have to see what happens when she does a full routine. Will those handstands still look that good? Nastia had shoulder issues when her dad tried bringing those shoulder skills back.

      Bars is her one consistent event but with Suni, Simone, and Shilese I don’t think bars is that big of an issue with team USA as people used to pretend. If Suni does the AA (eventually) I hope Shilese isn’t pushed out based on the Gold medalist narrative we are already starting to hear about.

  6. HartofDixie Says:

    https://usagym.org/usa-gymnastics-winter-cup-kicks-off-u-s-olympic-year/

  7. tatulover2120 Says:

    Gabby’s out of the winter cup

    https://www.instagram.com/p/C3qibpiPgvi/?igsh=bDY3emlmOHFqMmox

    • Lucia Says:

      I don’t believe her. I wonder why she is really out.

      • tatulover2120 Says:

        I don’t believe her either but she has to give a reason the public will accept.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Maybe now Suni is competing which came after she said she would compete, she realized she doesn’t want to be compared to where she is. It does seem kind of like an excuse.

        This reminds me when Lilia Podkopayeva went to worlds in 1997 and saw how good everyone else looked and realized she wasn’t in shape and claimed she was injured and was never seen again.

        This would have been a perfect competition for her to just do beam. Get her feet wet again. Zero pressure. She still needs to qualify for Nationals. She hasn’t competed in 8 years. There is ZERO reasoning for her not having to earn the spot at Nationals. She got a free pass to the winter cup as it is.

        I would love to see if she goes to Nationals and does poorly like Morgan did if she will still get to go to trials. I was torn on letting Morgan at Trials back then but I understood why they didn’t let her and she had the 3 previous years to back her up. Gabby had old gold medals. Two sets of rules I suppose.

      • tatulover2120 Says:

        I’m calling it now…she writes to us after the Winter cup
        “Hey guys I have some terrible news…what I thought was Covid turned out to be ______(insert some medical condition that is potentially deadly)_____ and I will no longer be able to train for the Olympics and I’m really really really disappointed.”
        Honestly, I forget where I heard it from but I remember hearing/reading that Simone and Gabby were paid to comeback. They wanted people to watch more. It makes sense. Have Simone come back and everyone will watch and the USA will win gold. Have gabby come back and you have 2 returning Olympic AA champs. I think Simone had to be persuaded to come back because she did just get married and probably wanted to live her new life. Gabby maybe needed more persuasion and they may have decided on her announcing a comeback but “something happening” to prevent an actual one.
        This is a conspiracy theory obviously but imo, it sounds like it could be true.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        We love conspiracy theories here at GTT 🙂

        Maybe her excuse will be complications from Covid. It just doesn’t make sense to come this far and quit. I hope she’s going away but she isn’t. Classics isn’t for two months .

        This was the perfect event for her. It’s not on Television. She isn’t doing bars. There is no pressure. Simone isn’t competing.

    • HartofDixie Says:

      LOL! Maybe training isn’t going as well and she needs more time. Meanwhile Suni planning to go to Baku World Cup to get her new bar skill named.

  8. Lucia Says:

    Why would anyone brag about doing 3 events and then decide to not come at all? Suni wasn’t on the original list when Gabby announced she was coming. She could be avoiding her.

    Covid spreads and in a place like a gym others would have it if she really had it. It’s impossible not to spread it to those you are in close contact with continuously. That is why I am suspicious.

    I cannot stand her by any means but I was looking forward to seeing where she was at. If she only competes at Nationals and Olympic trials and makes the team it will be infair to the gymnasts who earned their spots and placements at these events.

  9. Lucia Says:

    This made me laugh, I had to share.

  10. HartofDixie Says:

  11. Lucia Says:

    I am curious what qualifications Betty Okino has to be teaching dance to the gymnasts at National team camps. I haven’t seen any improvement in anyone to merit her still having a job. Or being hired in the first place.

  12. HartofDixie Says:

    I’m listening to the stream while I clean. This meet is a MESS!

  13. Lucia Says:

    Is it mean for me to hope Florida doesn’t make Nationals so Leanne can go home and train Elite?

    Kayla has a 6.1 bars and a 6.0 beam. Leanne is going to be left home if she doesn’t have the same D scores that Skye, Kayla, or Hezley have.

    I watched some of the Winter Classic but it was so boring. Suni was a disaster. I hope she is just getting that out of the way but I fear her logical scoring is just a preface to sneaking Gabby Douglas on the Olympic team.

    While watching this meet I felt this dredful feeling that the scores were so low for everyone because they already have choosen their Olympic team, and these gymnasts will not be on it. But not Leanne.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It was boring.

      I think both Skye and Leanne lost their chance at the Olympic team last year at worlds when Skye refused to go last on beam to rest Simone and Leanne fell off beam in team finals. I am hoping they saw her go up on floor directly after even though she clearly injured her foot but I doubt it. Li Li bringing up Gabby twice. Suspicious.

      I am also hoping that the reason I clicked approve on those Olympic trials tickets which in turn made me spend freaking 1.500 more on a trip to MINNESOTA means I am meant to be there for a good reason. In reality it’s probably the opposite.

      My hotel won’t let me cancel. Too late.

      Suni looked great in training and needed this to get focus back. If she doesn’t get the focus back she should just not even go to Nationals.

      I HATE special treatment and sending Suni to Baku would be doing just that but no bar routine at this meet is medaling internationally. I would send Hezley for beam. And not to Canada.

      It will be interesting because if they send Suni to Baku will that set a set a precedent in deciding the Olympic team? So far Alicia and Chellsie haven’t played favorites and this would be playing favorites. I don’t see them doing it. We will see.

      • HartofDixie Says:

        Suni looked good in podium training and hit her new skill in warmup. I think the nerves got to her. I think they should send her to Baku to try to get the skill named and see how she scores internationally. They will announce who’s going to the comps on Monday.

    • HartofDixie Says:

      Leanne’s club is Florida she never went back to GAGE. She recently bought a home too!

  14. Lucia Says:

    Suni looked much better in warm up. She stopped mid dismount.

    • tatulover2120 Says:

      so she fell on the mount and dismount?! What exactly makes Suni’s beam routine so spectacular? She does a few split leaps that are impressive but all her tumbling is very basic for an elite, ESPECIALLY an all around gold medalist. She isn’t doing standing fulls or Arabians or even front handspring front tuck like Skye does. Skye does have an impressive beam routine she’s just so damn inconsistent. Suni’s beam has been on a major hype but I certainly didn’t see what all the fuss was about.

  15. tatulover2120 Says:

    Winter cup had SO MANY FALLS!!

    I remember this being the case in either 2022 or 2023 (I forget which one I watched. I remember a lot of very blue and white leotards).
    i did expect the new seniors to make mistakes. Skye falls on bars…what else is new. Skye falls almost every competition even though she got 2nd.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Skye has one event she falls on throughout the season. She also had mistakes on floor. I wonder if that means bars is her fall event for the rest of the year.

      No one stood out. Even Kayla had a lot of bent knees and she was frankly overscored compared to what we saw but that is all USAG competitions.

      They said Suni was going for a 6.3 with no dismount. I liked her side ariel, two layouts which I read is worth 4 tenths. I don’t remember her routine at all. The only routines that stuck in my head were juniors.

      • tatulover2120 Says:

        since 2021, beam has been extremely underwhelming especially with the USA. Thats why I do like skyes routine cause it has more tumbling than the other competitors and you get to see some skills like front handspring front tuck and standing fulls that others don’t do as much. Even Simone’s beam is really REALLY watered down. I remember in 2016 she did a tuck 1/2 on beam. Now all I see girls do are bhs layout step outs. Thats the extent of most of their beam tumbling. So f’ing boring. Skye can’t stay consistent so someone with a beam routine like hers isn’t going to Paris and quite frankly I don’t blame the selection committee cause why choose someone who already failed you 2x in BIG competitions?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Beam and bars are boring . Same old toe on skills and combinations. That’s why I like the Chinese.. At least they have the execution that stands out.

        Simone’s beam is well done but it is just blah. Not really her fault. She has a great D score she can consistently compete.

        FIG is killing gymnastics. They are taking the fun out of it. And now the rumors of raising the age to 18.

      • tatulover2120 Says:

        I have to disagree. Simone’s beam is not well done. At least since her comeback it really isn’t. She was pretty solid in 2020/21 and prior. Now, she can’t do a routine without a wobble and it’s watered down…love the Chinese on beam. Thats why I hope that USA doesn’t get a gold medal in the Olympics for beam final. They don’t deserve it, China does.

        bars isn’t as boring as beam. Dismounts definitely are.

        raising the age to 18 can be worse off for gymnasts. Not every one will stay involved for another Olympics if they don’t make it. If you’re 16, you got 2 years before you go off to college or you can halt going to college till you’re 20. If you’re 18, who’s going to wait till they’re 22 to go to college? Most won’t.
          I guess in theory they may want adults to compete in Olympics now. Would that mean you don’t qualify as a senior till you’re 18?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I hate the 18 age. I say bring it back to 14. I know I am alone in that.

        Simone’s beam issues have more to do with her age than her routine. She’s getting older. Things are getting harder to do. I think I just read she won beam last year at Worlds but I don’t honestly remember. NO routine today is worth watching a second time.

        All turning 18 is going to do is get kids to quit the sport.

        I looked it up. Simone won beam at worlds. She had a 6.5 start value and a 14.800 for a score. I don’t remember the routine.

      • tatulover2120 Says:

        I can’t see the 18 age limit being useful. I’m assuming since they’re seeing a lot more older gymnasts, they think people will stick around much longer so “why not” increase the age (especially with all the shit that’s been stirring up in gymnastics world wide).

    • tatulover2120 Says:

      not to shit on her but Kayla DiCello never impressed me. I don’t hate her, she just doesn’t have anything that stands out. No event is really impressive. I like her more than Trinity though.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Your point is kind of exactly why I think the 3rd AAer will be whoever finishes third at trials. They are all interchangeable.

        Jordan and Kayla scored practically the same at Pan Ams last year.

      • tatulover2120 Says:

        I think that if it’s between Kayla and Jordan they should go with Kayla. Despite what I said above, she has been outshining Jordan this year by a lot.

  16. HartofDixie Says:

    Also Sam kept bringing up how they didn’t need to be perfect here but it’s the OLYMPIC year! When they had Li Li Leung on they talked about how it was going to be for the selection committee to choose a team this year lol. This will be as easy as it was in 2008!

    • tatulover2120 Says:

      yeah idk why she said they didn’t have to be perfect. Personally, the ones that definitely need to be perfect were Skye, Kayla, Suni, and Trinity. I don’t really think anyone else has a shot in hell at 2024. All those new seniors don’t need to be perfect, they don’t have a shot in hell at the team this year. This was crucial for Skye and Suni to do well. Yes, the results were in Skye’s favor but she still showed she can’t compete without at least one fall…I don’t think she’ll be on the team. If anything an alternate. Suni…I’ll just leave it there…

  17. HartofDixie Says:

  18. HartofDixie Says:

    Is this why she tested positive for Covid?

    https://olympics.com/en/news/gabby-douglas-leaves-woga-gymnastics-paris-2024

  19. Lucia Says:

    Here is a nice article on Amelie Morgan. Last Olympics bronze medal fight was the most exciting thing about the Olympics. I would love it if she came back and made the team.

    The questions IG2 usually asks are boring but for once they did a good job. I find those twins that write for them annoying.

    https://www.insidegymnastics.com/news-features/amelie-morgan-eyes-paris-2024/

  20. tatulover2120 Says:

    she’s leaving WOGA!!

    https://www.instagram.com/p/C33X8Edvd8-/?igsh=NThuZzljOHJ1MmU0

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Come to the new blog, Tatu:)

      • tatulover2120 Says:

        ok!! I suggest reading the comments in that link. Shes getting a lot of flack.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She can do what she likes. It’s her life. People are so judgemental 🙂 I am so just kidding. Not about it being her life, but the other part:) The more hopping she does the less chance there is of seeing her at Trials and i am fine with that.

Leave a comment