Mykayla Skinner for 2020

I have been looking for something to blog and here we go. Mykayla Skinner and her Moors ( that never should have been named the Moors because the girl completely piked it)

Mykayla has some pike too but I have to believe she’s training this for more than College Gymnastics.

And some Trinity Thomas upgrades are in this video. She has decent form and I would love to see her upgrade and be competitive.

USA Gymnastics is putting up some old videos. At 9.40 you can see a much better version of Shannon Miller’s DTY. It was weird because she looked like she had it and then her knee’s buckled. She stood it up though it was way low. There was a video lurking around online years ago but it was blurry.

And if you have time watch the girl at 105.57 with Shannon’s floor music and Shannon’s lay out step out to end her floor This was just,

24 Responses to “Mykayla Skinner for 2020”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    I would love to see Skinner go for a specialist spot in 2020!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      If she gets back her vaults and can upgrade that floor and land her double double the way she does in College she has a great chance. She’s in great shape and looks even better now then she did before. I would love for her to make it to 2020 because it would piss off so many hypocrites:)

    • Cupquaked Says:

      I would love for her to be in any spot for 2020! College has really helped her become more clean and consistent in her routines. I honestly believe she would have had a chance at Rio if Gabby wasn’t being forced on the team.

  2. HartofDixie Says:

    Simone posted last night on Twitter she’s competing next month so it must be Classics. Wonder if she’s ready to do AA.

    • Gymbot Says:

      In a news interview posted in an earlier GTT comments thread said she’d do one event at classics and AA at nationals, but based on her training video I’m sure she could do AA

  3. HartofDixie Says:

    Post explaining 2020 qualification:

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I’m more confused now then I was before. The only thing I understand is if you are part of the 2018 world team you can’t get an individual spot.

      So someone help me out here. All I basically want to know is if Mykayla Skinner can qualify as an individual. The BB Situation says no US gymnast will compete for an individual spot.

      So everyone has to do AA at the Olympics ( 4 on a team, 4 compete, 3 scores count. though I suppose the US could decide not to throw a 4th person if they like their score which means forget fairness. Marta rules still apply)

      Though why the hell is anyone qualifying for the Olympics in 2018 when 2019 is still happening?

      We will call the top 20 AA gymnasts not from the qualified teams the Larisa Iordache rule. Check, I understand that…. (It’s also gymnast specific not country so that means suck it Catalina Ponor and your new inevitable comeback:)

      The American Cup counts ? Who the hell decided this was a good idea?


      “The US will not bother with the individual event world cups since Olympic spots earned there are for the athlete rather than for the country. The US wants to be able to pick its own team, rather than have its team determined by external competition results.”

      So basically the US will screw over it’s own gymnasts so it can decide who to send and they will send gymnasts THEY want to the qualifying meet because lets face it, whomever they send will most likely earn the spot anyway so Mykayla Skinner has no shot?

      Thanks for making this easier for me to understand, BB Situation, NOT 🙂

      • Gymbot Says:

        I think any medal worthy gymnast would be a possibility for the two extra spots. Simone Biles is likely to appear in most of the finals, so any gymnast who could beat the other three team members would be a viable option.

        Mykayla can vault two big vaults and was once the world bronze medalist. I can see her getting a shot for that – if Carey isn’t competing against her. Depends on who is in school.

      • gymnerd Says:

        Don’t you mean she was once the “third place world champion”?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You aren’t a world champ if you finished third:)

      • Gymbot Says:

        Is that a meme?

      • Gymbot Says:

        I’m hoping it’s a meme and not a dumb thing I wrote – like “incidences”

      • gymnerd Says:

        It’s actually how Skinner used to refer to herself.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Now it makes I

  4. Danielle Says:

    Leanne Wong looks fantastic on beam.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: