I want to be Lillian Lipeatt when I grow up.

This is a little interview with Lilly Lipeatt from Cincinnati Gymnastics Academy. I have no clue how old she is but she sounds like she is 30. (She’s 12 according to google) I get the same feeling watching Lilly that I had watching Jordan when she was ten. Lilly is a lot older than she looks but by my math she turns Senior the year of the next Olympics.

Andreea Raducan is now the head of the Romanian Federation. I don’t know what her qualifications are to lead this “ORGANIZATION” Besides the fact she was an Olympic medalist but I guess time will tell. If her first order of business isn’t to hire real Uneven Bar coaches at every level of the sport in her Country then I won’t have much hope.

I am one of those people who didn’t think Andreea should have received her Gold medal back for the Olympics. The adults in charge knew what they were doing when they tried to cheat and give cold medication to a big chunk of their Olympic team and while Andreea did what she was told if there are no real consequences to your actions you will never truly learn your lesson. The Romanian federation needed to learn their lesson and hopefully they did.

I have decided not to go to Worlds. After missing 4 months of work last year I can’t justify the expense just to see Shang Chunsong and Larisa Iordache ( I saw Ponor in 2003) I think I am most disppointed at not seeing King Kohei. Hotel would have cost me almost 13 hundred bucks which is insane. I am hoping Boston gets worlds in 2019.

29 Responses to “I want to be Lillian Lipeatt when I grow up.”

  1. dianajc99 Says:

    Bummer.. I Think the SCAM cup goes to RI in 2019.

  2. dianajc99 Says:

    Im going the hostel route this time. it was about 900 back in 2003 and It was in the cheap option

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I had an amazing hotel in 03, a half mile from the stadium. Thank God Sisney existed a mile down the street the other way because I stayed 2 weeks at like 60 bucks a night. The hotel right across was booked for Worlds so I just said the hell with it. I will attend something else in a full worlds.

  3. Gymbot Says:

    Does Boston have a chance to get worlds in 2019?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      A girl can dream can’t she ? We haven’t had something in years ( not in Boston) so we deserve something. I’ll take the Olympic trials .

      • G Says:

        Cleveland hadn’t had anything since 2002 I think so we”re due too!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think it was 2008 we had Nationals. We had Scam in Worcester Mass and the Olympic trials in 1996 and 2000 and a tri meet with Romania in 94 but nothing really recent that I can remember.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        sweet I would have killer to be at that USA vs ROM meet.
        But the USA is due another worlds I guess. I want San Jose but since CA already had one I’m not holding my breath.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am so mad I didn’t get to go to that meet. I begged my mother an she wouldn’t take me (she said it was too far away) It wasn’t til a few years go I learned the train was literally a 20 second walk from my house and I could have taken it straight to the meet. I am still very bitter.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        back when raducan book was new she was signing it at a Stanford meet. That Stanford didn’t publicize. still pissed over that.

      • Gymbot Says:

        I wish I saw Simone Biles live. If she competes again I’m going, wherever it is

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My claim to fame is seeing Simone Biles compete the one time she lost.

      • Cupquaked Says:

        I’m still so mad at myself for skipping the SCAM cup in 2015 when it was in Arlington. I had already scheduled 3 grad school visits that day. Should have skipped them but I was trying to be dedicated to my studies 😂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Who taught you how to prioritize ? Clearly your parents are at fault for putting the idea, school is more important then gymnastic 🙂

  4. Gymbot Says:

    Lillian has a pretty mature approach to gymnastics. I like it, it’s refreshing after the bubblegum interviews of the final five.

  5. hobarttdavid Says:

    I like that Lilly has her legs locked in her UB routine at Classic. Indicates good coaching and she’s paying attention.

    Can we just jump to 2020 Olympic Trials and skip the next 2-3 years?

  6. JAS4 Says:

    Yurchenko double back 😮

    • Gymbot Says:

      Marta didn’t let mykayla maroney train it because of the danger. Wonder if we’ll see it under Valeri

    • Gymbot Says:

      What does hashtag team have to do with this post?

      • greytealbluemom Says:

        It’s Arthur acopians way of kissing liukins butt. Wasn’t it obvious at classics that brestyn and whoever the national team vault coach is have not been replaced or if they have been they are crappy? We are lost our edge on vault and they need someone. Soon it will be a deficit like Romanian bars. It’s so obvious no one is doing brestyn legs workouts.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        Good luck with that aren’t they named in like 2 lawsuits right now

      • Ss Says:

        Didn’t mckayla credit Howie with teaching her proper block in vaults anyways?

  7. Cupquaked Says:

    What’s going on with the Russian team? Universiad is being led by Spiridinova and Paseka. No Seda, Melnikova, or Kramenko. Are they not competitive anymore?

  8. sanitynmotion Says:

    I live in CA and didn’t go to whatever it was in Anaheim this year, even though it’s literally a 20 minute drive. That’s how seriously lazy of a gym fan I am right now.

    I wanted to go to Trials in San Jose a few years back but tickets were so expensive, and at the end of they day I’m like “I have better seats at my house, and I can wear PJs.”

    I wish I could have seen Maroney vault live though.

Leave a Reply

