Gym stuff

Danell-Leyvas wants to be an actor and is “retiring” from gymnastics. This is AKA I might come back if this acting thing doesn’t work out.

I have never been a big Lleva fan per say but the guy not being named to the Olympic team last year before Bozo’s injury was ridiculous. Just for the record, I called this BS decision way before anyone else. 🙂

Komova’s coach thinks all gymnasts should be AA ers. I can’t seem to find the article.

When most people have a baby they automatically take pictures and put on social media. Not Aliya Mustafina though. She puts up a selfie of herself.lol Next to Nastia I have never seen a gymnast so into herself but at least Aliya doesn’t hire hair and makeup to do 90% of her social media pictures.lol

This is old by Kohei won his 9th National title after falling 3 times in prelims. He also won his 40th straight AA title at the NHK

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 10.17.26 PM

****

Some of you are being put in the moderation forum here at wordpress because you are using different IP addresses then your normal ones. This is wordpress NOT me. That being said until you confirm under your real IP address that this is you I won’t be approving them. A few weeks ago someone tried to post under someone elses name and a different IP address and it wasn’t the right person so I am doing what I have to to keep the blog safe.

The Making of Ashley Wagner’s LP (I hated this movie)

110 Responses to “Gym stuff”

  1. JAS4 Says:
  2. JAS4 Says:

    I wonder if Valentina was calling Aliya as soon as she delivered the baby wanting to know how soon she could resume training😂

  3. JAS4 Says:

    http://olympics.nbcsports.com/2017/06/14/laurie-hernandez-gymnastics-return/
    I wonder who she will train with since there was supposedly some drama with her and her coach? If she wants to focus on beam and fx Chow could be a good choice (Mihai too if he wasn’t just with Australia)

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Laurie only didn’t do bars because of her ab injury. If she can stay healthy then maybe although I wonder about the knee. Marta gave her so many free passes at Pan Ams and not competing everything all the time leading up to Rio – just not sure LIukin will do the same. Wondering if Simone can come back from her cracked ribs and other injuries. If she and Aly are healthy there are only two team spots left. I don’t like any of the new US gymnasts in this quad. I just don’t…. I think its quite likely we wont win an AA gold for the first time since 2010 / 2006 / 2003. Its quite likely we wont win any vault medals or anything on floor. Ashton can maybe get a bars medal. I have little faith in any of them, but I guess we will see how many people cant do Nastias bar routine at nationals.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Ashton isn’t winning any medal with a 5.5 start value

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I said maybe. Like maybe if everyone else falls….Oh speaking of Nastia shes promoting some gummy bear that you can eat that makes you grow hair. I am so tempted to ask if it will help if I have a receding hairline like she does. Poor Nastia first her wedding gets postponed now shes going bald and has to eat gummy bears.

  4. JAS4 Says:

    http://www.flogymnastics.com/article/58236-gabby-douglas-goes-undercover-surprises-shoppers-at-the-mall
    I wonder if she attempt a comeback this time?

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Her ankles are shot, she struggled with landings in the last quad and couldn’t land the amanar. Doubtful we will see her competitively in elite gymnastics again

  5. ilanchik20 Says:

    I’m back. It’s been a while. How ru?

    So do we know what’s up with Nastia’s wedding? I heard she postponed it by 6 weeks and still no wedding.

    Also, supposedly, Laurie and her coach has a falling out.

    • G Says:

      Interesting. It also seems that Laurie and Jazmyn Foberg aren’t really friends anymore. Though, I’m not sure if that friendship was ever as strong as they made it out to be.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I never bought the BFF. I saw their reactions when each thought the other would win that JR Nationals title and Jazzy’s camp were whining they thought she was robbed of that second title. They complained big time thinking she was being underscored and Laurie overscored. Laurie didn’t act much better. She only smiled when she knew she went ahead.

      • Mim Says:

        I heard Laurie’s gym didn’t like her going all “Hollywood” but who knows. I wonder who she’d train with if she’s fallen out with Maggie. Maybe she’ll do what Gabby did and go to Waller’s in LA?

    • JAS4 Says:

      Unless they make up I am guessing that she will probably be trying out some gyms/coaches soon if she is planning on coming back. I didn’t know Larissa was engaged!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I was about to ask who you were because your name looked familiar 🙂

      Okay the rumor about Laurie is her coach has become possessive and pretty much thinks Laurie owes her and it got so bad Laurie’s parents had to get involved. This was told to me by someone who heard it as a rumor so I don’t know how true it is.

      Nastia’s knew the guy a year. It was way to quick to get engaged and apparently this guy thinks Nastia spends too much time away from him. He sound clingy but in reality who wants to marry someone who is never home? (well if you’re dumb enough to want to get married in the first place:)

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        Not defending Nastia necessarily but if her fiancée (Matt, right?) thinks that she is going to stop traveling, he has another thing coming. Her celebrity status should have long expired but since it hasn’t for whatever crazy reason, she is going to use it. Nastia is never going to be coach at a local gym and stay home with kids mom lol. Isn’t he a former athlete? He should know better, haha. I mean, even Shawn is traveling a lot but I guess Andrew most times tags along lol.

        Saying this as a married person, in a marriage, you compromise. My guess: that wedding is never happening lol.

      • Case Says:

        Was Laurie the one with the trashy acting NJ coach? Not surprised it’s going down like this. The coach caught lightning in a bottle with her.

        Agree ilanchik, IF (and that is a big IF), Nastia’s marriage ever happens it won’t last long under those conditions.

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        Yeah, it’s Maggie Haney. The two times I’ve seen her, I really didn’t like her. She always prioritized Laurie over Jazzy. It was kind of obnoxious. And she is trying to turn Riley into Laurie 2.00 and it’s not working lol.

        I know it’s all rumors but I wouldn’t be surprised. Laurie said she plans to return to training this fall. We’ll see lol. I believe it when I see it, especially since she is trying to get into acting.

      • Mim Says:

        I never warmed to Laurie’s coach but for admittedly really superficial reasons (namely she looks like a scary broad typefrom RHoNJ).

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I heard the coach made a $$ grab and was trying to guilt Laurie into paying her for ummm…. creating her? Maggie Haney should just go on Jersey Shore and get it over with. Foberg seems like a nice kid and I hope that she can stay healthy and do well at Florida. Laurie’s I’m only 16 and I’m so innocent shtick is not going to last. She cold do broadway or something where she doenst have to sing and can just dance or flip or something but shes not a good actor.

  6. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Looks like Lari got engaged.

    • gia20 Says:

      It’s not Larisa who got engaged. It was a friend of hers. They kinda look alike. And to me Mustafina doesnt seem too much into herself. Spiridonova and Melnikova yes. I dont think we’ll see any pictures of Aliya’s baby anytime soon. She seems like a very private person.

  7. sanitynmotion Says:

    Gotta love the post preggo hair…in 5 months a lot of that will be falling out most likely. Sigh…

    Ok so what happened between Laurie and her coach? Thought they were like besties or whatever.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Rumor central. Apparently they had an issue and Laurie’s coach told Laurie that she made her. Laurie’s coach is a lunatic lol

  8. dianajc99 Says:

    USA gym got their special prosecutor’s list of stuff they need to fix. most of witch is common sense stuff anybody with half a brain has been saying for years

    • gymnerd Says:

      I have to unfriend both my coaches on Facebook and cease all correspondence with them because I’m older than both of them. All of us are well over 18. Like, WELL over 18.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Why? There should be a rule this is under 18. Adults can do what they want. Your coaches?

      • dianajc99 Says:

        The argument for that is that ( from the Safe Sport vids) is it is an unequal relationship.

  9. dianajc99 Says:

    the Vika article

    http://eng.gymnovosti.com/elfimov-gymnasts-should-be-all-arounders/

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      I find that a really strange thing to say, specially when most (or, at least, the most important) of Russia’s recent medals come from event finals, especially on UB but also on vault with Paseka, except for Aliya. I think Russia’s medal account will disminish very much if they would just choose AAers, because I don’t see any of their current stars in the AA podium any time soon. Just Eremina, but she would have to add more difficulty quickly, and Melnikova and the rest have so many problems of consistency that they are a big question mark.

  10. exgymgurl Says:

    Lleyva is moving out to LA because his GF is on the UCLA gymnastics team. After what they put him through in the last selection since he’s only captured 75% of the Olympic medals for the US in MAG in the last two quads. The mens program has been promoting Bozo and Mikulak for the last two quads and both have nada medals. At least Horton had individual and team hardware when they promoted him. Donnell Whittenberg is my personal favorite and hopefully he gets his mental game together and picks up a ton more world medals and makes an Olympic team. Dalton, Brooks, Mikulak, Wynn, bu bye. Maybe Naddour can come back and win another pommel horse medal for Hollie Vise.

  11. the dude Says:

    I’m actually a little bummed about Lleyva “retiring.” Like Fabian, if there’s anyone that would hang on for a 3rd Olympics and win that elusive gold medal, be it HB or PB, it’s Danell. He deserves its

  12. Cupquaked Says:

    So I just read an article from IG about increasing the size of event finals from 8 to 12 to have a more diverse field of gymnasts.

    I have to say, I kinda agree. They talk about wanting global diversity on the field but then cut the number of gymnasts for each final each year. It’s counterintuitive. Increasing the amount would add maybe 20-25 minutes to each final if you factor in routines, transitions, and judges extra time.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Who needs diverse? We need gymnasts with a chance of winning a medal. Bringing in number 12 with no shot at a medal is a waste of time. If they want fair then do best scores and stop leaving out gymnasts from the big 3 Countries who could win medals if they were allowed to compete. Top 12 only works if its fair for everyone.

      • gymnerd Says:

        ❤ ❤ ❤

      • Cupquaked Says:

        Part of me agrees with you. Like I don’t want to watch a girl suffer through her routine knowing she’s going to just end up in last. But also, it would be nice to see a little diversity in routines. Every bar routine last Olympics was essentially the same. As well as beam.

  13. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Sanne is training a new mount with a connection!

  14. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Yesenia Saskia Ferrera from Cuba’s FX on Central American and Caribbean Quals.

  15. Cupquaked Says:

    Aliya just posted that she isn’t going back to training this year.

    NEVER SAW THAT COMING….😑

    • JAS4 Says:

      If she comes back I wouldn’t be surprised if she doesn’t start training until later next year or early 2019 if she comes back at all. I also wouldn’t be surprised if she announces another pregnancy between now and 2020

    • Mim Says:

      I hope Aliya silently sticks it to Valentina by popping out a couple of more babies and by thoroughly enjoying motherhood and something other than being Russia’s gymnastics saviour.

  16. dianajc99 Says:

    Oliva Cimpian leaves Deva and Romania to Hungry
    wonder id the Federation will grant release.

  17. dianajc99 Says:

    WOW the Olympics are next year. I feel like Sochi was yesterday
    Isn’t Wagner like 30 now?

    • gymnerd Says:

      26, I think. 🙂

      Any word on Gold?

      • G Says:

        I think she had a recent post on instagram about hoping to be in PeyongChang.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think she will be fine. I think she embarrassed herself last year and will be back to ruin skating for me this year .

      • dianajc99 Says:

        Is Edmunds still in the mix?

      • G Says:

        Yeah Edmunds is still training. I actually remembered the Instagram wrong. Gracie posted a pic of her, Ashley and Polina for Olympic Day and Polina said in the comments, “Let’s do it again ladies”. So I guess she’s feeling optimistic lol

      • Ss Says:

        Gold looked really out of shape in some
        Of the pics posted on social media. I think the yoyo dieting is clearly an issue for her. Maybe she can pull it together now that she has a new coach but as of now I don’t think she’s a factor for 2018 at all.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Who is her new coach?

      • gymnerd Says:

        Marina Zoueva??? Not sure, but I’m pretty sure she’s in Canton, Michigan.

  18. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Alert! Olivia Cipian has left Romania to compete for Hungary. Her father has confirmed this information, following the blog dobleenplancha.es. She is already training in Hungary in the same gym as Zsofia Kovacs.

    http://dobleenplancha.blogspot.com.es/2017/07/quien-le-esta-haciendo-vudu-rumania.html

    • dianajc99 Says:

      The big question is will ROM grant her a release I dont think they did with Peng

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        She is already in Hungary, so I think they did or she is putting up a big fight and Hungary is backing her up. But it is confirmed by her father that she is already training in Hungary and she is going to compete for them (paperwork and permits aside).

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        The Couch Gymnast News Page have released on Facebook the following statement:

        Romania’s Olivia Cimpian has left Deva and moved to a new club in Hungary. Head Coach Nicolae Forminte confirmed on his Facebook page: ” Sadly I have to confirm that Olivia Cimpian is no longer at Deva. I informed the Federation and the Romanian Olympic Committee. Discussions with the gymnast’s parents are confidential and were carried in amiable terms with parents and Olivia having nothing to reproach the technical staff. Personally, I felt blocked. Nobody has anything to hide and nothing is rotten in the Deva. At the moment my concern is to reduce as much as possible the emotional shock suffered by the other components of the team, focusing on preparing for participation for FOTE. From my point of view, there was no reason to justify such a decision. With all the pain I can only respect the right of each family to decide on their own children.
        What will happen from now on depends on MTS, FRG and COSR. I hope Olivia returns to Deva where she is loved and respected unconditionally.”

      • Cupquaked Says:

        Can she compete without the release? Or can she change her citizenship? How does this all work.

        Don’t blame her for jumping ship. ROM is a complete mess now and won’t be getting better any time soon.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I don’t know, Cupquaked. How did it work for the two American girls who went to compete Belarus? Or with the Russian girls who went to compete for Ukraine or other countries, like Pavlova or Inshina? I suposse that the main difference is that these gymnasts were regarded by their birth countries as “expendable” and didn’t have too much interest in retaining them, something that doesn’t happen with Cipian. Romania is in no position to let gymnasts go and can set a bad example (from their point of view) to young promises who are seeing how the mighty has fallen. But I don’t know if Romania will see as productive to try to retain a gymnast who doesn’t want to compete for them and that might not do its best if she is legally forced to do so. But independently she is already in Hungary and, as far as I know, she doesn’t have any previous link with that country at all.

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        I don’t know all the rules but if Romania doesn’t release them (which is likely), Olivia has to wait several years before (3 I think) before she can compete for Hungary. With the Belarus gymnasts, it was different because they never had an fig license with US and the Russian gymnasts were released by Russia. Anna Hatch is better example. She had to wait to compete because Cuba wouldn’t release her.

        She also has to get citizenship first which we don’t know if Hungary will give her and if so, if they will expedite it.

        Her family is right from the border. Her dad competed for Hungary in soccer so it may help.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Can you do me a favor and sign out of facebook and get an account with wordpress because they are not letting you comment and its getting annoying having to approve every comment. Once you make a comment and I approve it , it won’t make you be approved again, hopefully.

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        The word is Romania chose not to release Olivia. So it’s up to FIG now.

        And Supposedly Denisa Stanciu father wants to pull her out of Deva too.

        Romanian drama, I say.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Let them leave already, Romania.

      • Cupquaked Says:

        Who are you referring to GTT? Me or ilanchik20?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I meant Rocio not you You are fine.

    • imperatorcarolus Says:

      Seems I can post again! Yay! Regarding the conversation at hand, I didn’t mention Annia Hatch because I thought she married a man from the USA and that speeded things along, didn’t she? I don’t think Romania would let her go easily, more than anything else because it is a “bad” example, meaning that given the state Romania is in, their better gymnasts can choose to go to the same way if things go Cimpian’s way. Not because of her, because I think it is not productive for you to mantain a gymnast that don’t want to be there and might not do her best, But I don’t know how things can go if Cipian wants to go and Hungary backs her up but Romania doesn’t want to let her go.

  19. Gymbot Says:

    I wonder if I set off your IP address alarm. I like to post from my phone or my iPad, so I might have two IP addresses. I tried to log into my wordpress account and it said someone already made one wth my name so maybe I need a new handle 😦

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You seem to be fine now but Rocio goes to moderation no matter what. Now in the past this means the wordpress has caught someone posting who has been banned and they aren’t sure why (like someone got a different internet provider but still uses the same computer and house. Its like wordpress knows there is something wrong but doesn’t know what. WordPress has actually been great that way and I have caught a couple of previously banned trolls who got a new computer or new provider. There are also certain IP changers that use the same states like California and Texas.

      Recently I haven’t been paying as great of attention as I have in the past maybe I should start.

      I would like to add some new commenters but I don’t know. I don’t have the strength to troll the trolls you know:)

      • imperatorcarolus Says:

        I am trying now through WordPress. Better now?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        We will see when you try posting again. If it needs approval we are doomed:)

  20. gymnerd Says:

    So getting back to Briley Casanova for a minute (since I assume no one will be revisiting the old thread), why would she feel the need to retract the original post? She’s graduated, hasn’t she? There’s not much they can do to her at this point – and I doubt they’d stop recruiting from WOGA just because of her. I’d have had a lot more respect for her if she’d just said, “Suck it, bitches!” and left it up.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I agree but she is in a tough situation. She was so honest, too honest. No way she should have taken back what she said but if you read the comments, her answers to the people commenting, I think you will find she meant every word of it.

  21. Cupquaked Says:

    So what is the next big event in gymnastics outside America? I’m already so bored with this quad and the American girls. I know they’re all great athletes but they’re all SO boring.

    • Mim Says:

      I agree but then I guess the elite season hasn’t really started up yet (I basically ignore SCAM). It’s early days but there’s no-one that is generating much anticipation or excitement yet for me. I do like Mailie O’Keefe and Morgan Hurd so I’m hoping they do well this season.

      Apparently Christina Desiderio is peacing out to LSU early (like Jazzy Foberg has to Florida), so that’s another one of the older seniors gone out of elite, even though she wasn’t overly huge on the scene.

    • imperatorcarolus Says:

      I think next one is the European Youth Olympic Festival (23-29 July). When is American’s next, to see if I can get better informed about the upcoming American seniors? People that can compete for a spot in this year’s world I can only think of Hurd and Reagan, as I have been unable to see more from Spain.

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        Riley is a big up an comer. She was the 2nd AA’er at Scam. Then there is Morgan Hurd, Margazietta Frazier and Victoria Nguen. Plus I’m hoping to see Norah Flatley actually compete one of these days lol.

        Also Trinity Thomas, Jordan and Alyona Schenikova.

        Jordan has an amanar or at least did as a junior.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        None of these gymnasts are great.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Oh and since these worlds are individual worlds, I’m sure Valery will take Ashton for bars.

        Like it could be two AA’ers: Reagan, Riley, Norah or Victoria

        And two speacislists:
        Floor/vault: Jordan
        Bars/Beam: Ashton

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        And again, WHY would he take a 5.5 start value for bars? She doesn’t have the difficulty so far this year and doesn’t deserve a spot till she proves something. Carry on….

      • imperatorcarolus Says:

        I have heard about Jordan and Victoria. Mostly about Jordan’s vault than the rest, but she seems to have faded from the face of Earth. I remember reading somewhere she wasn’t taken to the American Cup because she had some inconsistencies and had a poor performance as camps, but I don’t know how reliable that information might be. I agree with GTT regarding Ashton. With a 5.5 start value, you can’t be regarded as a specialists, especially in Worlds where Russia, Chinese and GB have several people with exercises very well above 6.00 and other countries like Germany or even Romania with Lari have clear possibilities to get to the final. The UB field is very packed right now and I don’t think it compensates to present an especialist in this field who doesn’t have many possibilities of winning any medals and it is a one-even gymnast. She had in Trials a 5.7 (and I think it was an overscore) and fell off one night and had a very poor performance with it, to the point that more than ten gymnasts had better scores than her at the end of this competition by the end of the night. If she is taken, she is taken just for bars and if she doesn’t reach 6.00 difficult value with the new code, she won’t even be in the final, must less in the podium.

      • Mim Says:

        Jordan has been off the radar because there were issues with her coach quitting after allegedly being disciplined for something.

      • Gymbot Says:

        I don’t think Norah competed at any of the qualifiers to make it to nationals etc. is she going to camps?

        I think Hurd, Ragan and Riley are the front runners for worlds

      • dianajc99 Says:

        Anybody know whats up with Sydney Johnson-Scharp

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Until she fixes her dreadful form does it matter?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She reminds me of Krystal Uzelac.

  22. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Chelsea posted a video of her gender reveal party. I hate those things. But anyways she is having a girl.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I saw this one and talk about over kill. Fireworks, really? Imagine was Nastia will do lol

    • Cupquaked Says:

      Gender reveals are stupid. It’s not really a huge surprise. It’s either one or the other.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        soooo do people have BOTH a gender reveal party and a baby Shower nowadays?

      • Mim Says:

        I roll my eyes at gender reveal parties. Partly because it’s the wrong terminology anyway. It’s the sex of the baby you find out, not their gender! Sex reveal party doesn’t have quite the same ring to it though ha. I was old school and just called the people on the phone to share the news! I don’t begrudge others doing it as it happy news but it’s usually so OTT.

  23. Brainy Says:

    MattressFirm features Simone Biles in a new tv commercial for the company’s initiative to help foster children. In this one Simone is featured with her parents. And just as with the previous tv ads Simone looks lovely and dignified, and she is articulate. This girl has a future in media.

  24. gsgymblog Says:

    Really late in saying this but I hated La La Land too GTT. The most overrated movie I’ve ever seen.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I only got through 20 minutes and stopped watching. Thank God it was free on an app called, Kodi because if I had spent money I would be annoyed. I like Emma, she usually makes good movies but Ryan Gosling is a Mouseketeer. Always will be. I even hated him in the Notebook.

    • dianajc99 Says:

      I paid full price Movie tickets to see Georgia Rule. like 10 years later it still hurts

  25. imperatorcarolus Says:

    Highest AA score for the first half of the year in competition (lots of people missing, but interesting):

    http://wogymnastika.blogspot.com.es/2017/07/top-senior-aa-scores-january-1-2017.html?spref=tw

  26. Gymbot Says:

    As she is now, Ashton probably won’t make the cut for worlds. Her promise lies in her execution (which was several tenths higher than most others at Jesolo) and skills she can add back in. Not changing her routine construction but getting back her inbar elements increases the value of her routine by four tenths. She also trains a few elements that have never made it into her routine, like the galante. But I said similar things about Kyla in 2014/2015 and she didn’t make changes until it was too late in the game

Leave a Reply

