Briley Casanova’s blog

Pretty much my only memory of Briley Cassanova’s gymnastics career is hearing her name and thinking, best last name ever.

I don’t remember her as a junior or a senior Elite. Her entire career at Michigan is a blur and I probably couldn’t pick her out of a line up of gymnasts if she was standing right in front of me screaming, “Pick me. Pick me I’m Briley” but I recently discovered her blog and find it a very interesting read.

The blog itself has a lot of interesting tidbits about her life as an Elite gymnast. The pressure she was under to maintain her weight and how it felt like to deal with people constantly thinking they have the right to give you their opinion on it (who doesn’t deal with that even if not a gymnast)


A Letter to my 12 year old self
is definitely something I can relate too only it would be the age of 15 and it would start with, Jenn when you meet the cute boy with the piercing green eyes on the motorcycle, run.

She seems very satisfied with her time as a gymnast. Making the National team was enough for her. She stills seems to love the time she put in to the sport and even admits to eating too much candy (good thing she isn’t training anymore.lol) So if you want to see what it takes to train as an elite athlete and deal with everything that comes with the expectations check her blog out. The link is above.

Of all the routines I watched of Briley the most potential she had as a gymnast IMO was on bars. Forget her floor.( you know how I feel about gymnasts who start their floor routines with double backs in any decade that doesn’t have an 80 in it) She also had potential on beam.

Maybe I was “bigger” than most other gymnasts in the community, but I feel like I put in my very best effort until the end and was a overall wonderful performer in my time. Beyond that, I feel like I was a great leader, teammate, and supporter of my fellow gymnasts, which I’m more proud of anyway.

38 Responses to “Briley Casanova’s blog”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    So even though USAG and Aly Raiseman, etc. maintain that it’s not how it “used to be” (i.e., starvation tactics, fear tactics, etc.) it sounds like not much has changed in USAG in terms of weight pressure? I haven’t read her blog, I’d like to…but time is of essence right now. I can’t imagine how hard it would be to keep up that physique though unless you are Simone Biles.

  2. G Says:

    I remember her name, thought I thought it was Riley and belonged to that red hair WOGA elite from the same time period.

  3. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Kharenkova is in Spain in a training meet! She is still on!

  4. dianajc99 Says:

    The Atler interview is worth a listen. Just FYI

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      Do you know where we can see it?

    • dianajc99 Says:

      https://gymcastic.com/

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      All I need to know is she went to them and asked to be interviewed. She is just looking for attention and unlike others I don’t feel the need to kiss her ass based on her answering me online fifteen million years ago. That entire group in 2000 were a bunch of self entitled brats and Vanessa was on top of the line.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        Still you have to admit that that 97-00 group got screwed over more than any other.From Age restriction to, Nassar to to Camp hell..

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Sorry but they never gave the camps a chance even before they were announced to the public. All the coaches and gymnasts put up a huge fuss about Bela taking away the coaches ability to train their athletes the way they wanted. So no, I have no sympathy for any of them. Nassar aside these girls were all spoiled brats that belittled and picked on anyone not in their core group and the way half of them acted at Trials and the camps refusing to do things and the way they treated to Tasha Schwkiert and I am sure others was disgusting. Everyone loves to blame Bela for every thing but why isn’t Atler calling out her fame whore mother who put everything over her well being? I know too much.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Age restriction was a rule they weren’t screwed over.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        ooo.Dish please i only remember them being mean to Tasha in Sydney because they wanted Alyssa on the team

      • Ss Says:

        She did say in “nice” ways some pretty pointed things about the terrible decisions her mom made. It’s pretty clear that her and Sheryl shade made all the decisions for her in her career.

        I was also a little turned off by the fact that she contacted them, but I can understand why she’d want to clear her name based off of nassar’s accusations. Although now that everyone knows what a psychopath he was, I doubt anyone believes much of what he’s said in past interviews anyways.

        She actually did take quite a bit of responsibility for her experience. I was impressed by the respectful way she spoke of her coaches and the lack of bitterness she seems to harbor from her career.

        I think the interview is absolutely worth a listen if for no other reason than the nostalgia.

  5. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Um, Italy won to France on Flanders International Team Challenge…Interesting.

    • Cupquaked Says:

      From what I can remember, Italy has always been ahead of France. But I’ve only been paying close attention since around 2008.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Um, I don’t think so. It is true that Italy is always in the top ten and usually have gymnasts on the top fifteen, but they usually don’t get close to the medals at worlds and Olympics. Not even in the Europeans when Russia and Romania are on fire. Ferrari is really an oddity in its history. But France, even when it is true that it has its ups and downs, get better results than Italy when they have a good team. For example, as far I can remember, Italy only has one Olympic medal, a silver team in 1928, whereas France has at least several important medals on the Olympics and Worlds in recent decades, like Emile Lepennec’s gold on bars or Youna Doufornet’s bronze on vault,and have had gymnasts who had made an impact, like Teza, Isabelle Severino and Marine Debauve, just to name a few. I have the impression that Italy is always showing promise, but they never get to achieve something really important, except for Ferrari. I like their gymnastics overall and a lot of their gymnasts, like Fasana, Ferlito, Meneghini o Preziosa, but I really feel that France usually achieves better results than Italy in recent years and now France has a very good team with Melanie Dos Santos, Coline Devillard,etc.

  6. Mim Says:

    I must admit I’m really confused by part 2 of Briley’s blog post. She’s either a terrible writer that isn’t able to put her thoughts clearly to paper (or screen) or someone at Michigan was pissed off and told her to toe the company line so now she’s clarifying it was a positive experience (and writing that anything negative was her fault entirely!). The fact she profusely apologised makes me think it’s the latter. Either way her motivations for all this are a little confusing to me but fascinating nonetheless. Of course she’s entitled to share her experience and opinions but to me it’s coming across as a bit of babble (especially when compared to similar posts from Taylor Rice) even if the original sentiment is interesting.

  7. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Mustafina just gave birth to a baby girl!

  8. JAS4 Says:

    http://people.com/sports/former-usa-gymnast-vanessa-atler-says-she-developed-an-eating-disorder-under-valeri-liukin-im-still-messed-up/amp/

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She says she has always been an emotional eater yet blames Liukin for her disorder. You know my feelings on Nastia’s daddy especially with what he did to Wofford but Vanessa is stretching and once again, WHERE WERE HER PARENTS? It amazes me no one wants to hold them responsible.

    • dianajc99 Says:

      strange the valeri responded to people and not through USA Gym

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That was not written by him . It was in perfect English. He had someone write that for him. I saw them at trials . Vanessa spent the entire time rolling her eyes at him. She was done. I think she quit on purpose.

  9. gymnerd Says:

    Good to be back on the board! Thanks, GTT!

    Is *anything* going on in the gym world?????

    • JAS4 Says:

      I wonder if any of the girls from the Olympic team or the girls who have gone to college (Maggie, Skinner, etc….) will try for Worlds? Although I think we probably would have heard about it by now since classics are a month away.

      • Mim Says:

        I’ve read a rumour online that USAGym has asked Mykayla to come back to training for Worlds this year and she declined despite having her elite skills. I bet she still feels salty towards them for not being selected for Rio. But still, I contend that her form is so much better since Utah and she’s really on top of her game, she could probably medal at Worlds. I’d love to see Mykayla give elite another shot but I also sort of love that she’s giving the figurative middle figure to USAGym.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I hope that’s true. USAG screwed her big time. Why should she help them?

      • JAS4 Says:

        The USA is relatively weak right now. Skinner could potentially medal in the AA , VT, and FX. If Maggie has her elite skills she could potentially do well also!

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        USAG doesn’t have good seniors right now (meaning that they don’t have “destroyer” seniors that were very consistent and had routines well above the rest of the world, like Simone or Aly). I think that Reagan is their main senior right now and neither she not McCusker or Hurd have options to be dominant. Several gymnasts could easily surpass them. I think USAG is scared they could relinquish their dominant position and is asking Skinner (who could potentially medal on AA) to come back. She or Maggie could be winners in a way I don’t see Reagan or Hurd be. I understand that USAG screw both Skinner and Maggie up big time and that she wants to screw them in return, but I think she should try to come back to elite, specially if she has been called, because she can dominate Worlds this year and that is clearly a big opportunity for her.

      • Case Says:

        Skinner has been looking great over at Utah. I don’t blame her for staying and making USAG drool over what might have been. There’s no question she could help them this year.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I totally respect her not doing it to spite them. Good for her.

  10. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Great! I can access again! Just drop by to say that Larissa has showed impressive updates in a video of her training. On bars nonetheless! Here are the news with the video:

    http://www.wogymnast.com/2017/06/romanias-larisa-iordache-shows-off.html. I am worried that she hasn’t been shown training vault in any news I have had access to, though, regarding her AA chances at next worlds (her best chance by far to get AA gold).

  11. G Says:

    Aly is writing a book. I’ll be interested to read it and see what she includes!

  12. G Says:

    So Aly wrote a book, I think it’s coming out in the fall. I’m kind of pleasantly surprised, I didn’t expect her to for some reason. I still haven’t read Laurie or Simone’s books though so I have some catching up to do. I’m too busy reading Jane Eyre and Wythering Heights for school lol gymnast memoirs are much easier to plow through.

Leave a Reply

