2017 American Cup: LIVE Blogging

 

Start Lists and Results

~~~~~~~~~~~

screen-shot-2017-03-04-at-5-06-50-pm

Overall:

Full Results

Ladies

Men

Not one of the most impressive competitions of all time. Ragan wins with a fall. Asuko finishes second and I thought overall she was way more nit picked then everyone else.

Don’t be too hard on Riley. It’s her first competition and only second as an Elite.Impressive that she continued after beam and did as well on floor as she did.

Let the Kim Zmeskal and Ragan both have American cup title hype begin!!!!

I didn’t comment on the men but it looks like the scam cup lived. I know Oleg fell but the overall scoring of the US men seemed high. Will be interesting to see if the winner makes the world team and what the judges do with his routines.Oleg did not look happy.

What did you think?

Floor:

Melaine De Jesus dos Santos– Not impressed. Typical over hyped France routine. I guess I expected too much. Nearly put hands down on her last pass. 12.900

Nice HB by Yuk but he is another ham. Get off the floor dude.

Regan– Low on last pass but her double layout looked much better than podium. She nailed her second pass and missed her leap out of her double Arabian. This kid isn’t a great dancer but you can tell she could be good if Kim would get away from this cutsey crap. 14.00

Asuko– Well I spoke too soon. that was pretty and fun to watch. Landed everything pretty well too. I feel she’s been a little low balled tonight compared to everyone else. 13.066

Kim Bui– I just can’t when a floor routine starts with a double tuck and the Choreography  There hasn’t been a watchable floor routine yet. Lets pray that the girl from France has one.lol 13.133

Riley– Well she competed . Landed her double tuck low but the rest was solid with bad twisting form. She’s funny to watch because she doesn’t have good form at all but she’s like Maggie where as the in betweens have nice lines and pointed toes. I like the music but I don’t think Riley can pull it off. 13.500

Yufen Xie–  Everything this kid does from bars to beam to floor is so slow it looks like she is doing it in slow motion. Landed low on two passes. 11.966

Emily– Fell on a double tuck. She had huge air and then just sort of fell to the ground-10.600

(What kind of man is running this feed that thinks Anyone is watching this for HB?)

Tisha– I am not even sure what that was for choreography  and not only that the feed didn’t show most of it. Sigh 11.600

~~~~~~~~~~

Beam:

Riley missed her foot on her dismount and landed on her head. That was scary. Feed cut off but I bet she scratches. Unfortunate first meet for her: 12.600 ( way too over scored )

Emily Whitehead falls on dismount too. 11.300

Amy Tinkler‘s beam is a mess. She cheated every leap every jump, fell on her full. Her form is a mess . She doesn’t even try and straighten her legs.12.566

Regan is off beam and almost off a second time. Marta would not be pleased:) : 13.266

Kim Bui had a huge wobble on beam and she too has a horrible aversion to straightening a leg. 12.466

(according to the results page Tinkler has scratched floor)

Tisha Volleman hit her routine but it seemed very empty for skills. 12.200

Asuka Teramoto– Best routine of night so far. She can straighten a leg. Two bobbles one after the full turn. 13.633

Melaine De Jesus dos Santos-   14.233

Yufen Xie12.700

NJ is like the redneck of NY.lol #YankeesSuck buddy try supporting your own baseball team. Oh I forgot NJ can’t support a team so you kiss NY’s ass;) i hate NJ



~~~~~~~~~~~

Vault and Bars:

The I woke up for this edition.

A bunch of piked Yurchenko fulls in 2017 that wouldn’t even be good enough for 1988. Riley and Ragan’s vaults were a mess though Ragan flew off that horse.

I missed Riley’s fall on bars but saw the messy pak. Now we know why Marta quit.

In stead of watching gymnastics we get John and his stupid tricks to give fans t-shirts. We just missed the US man vault and missed half the vaults earlier for this crap.

A decent bars for Ragan. She fixed up most of the handstands though still missed 2 I noticed.

Decent bars for Kim Bui too. A little leggy form issues.Off goes the girl from the Netherlands. Asuka stayed on. Not impressive though.

1- Ragan (Vault: 14.4331 Bars: 14.4002) – 28.833

2-Kim Bui ( Vault: 13.500 Bars: 14.533)-28.033

3- Asuka Teramoto ( Vault:13.766  Bars:13.766)-27.532

 

 

This cup is extremely underwhelming , even for an American Cup.

~~~~~

A Florida video on Amelia Hundley. She seems like such a sweet kid. A reason not to dislike Florida.

~~~~~~~

I started watching the NL Cup feed for the last 2 rotations and didn’t see a single routine I would want to talk about. Even for a level 10 meet these girls did not stand out. At least what they showed on the International feed.

Then I went and watched a few routines and came across little Lilian Lippeatt. Trained by Mary Lee Tracy. She won beam (which isn’t online as of now) and Floor. Lots of potential here. Only gymnast I was impressed with.

Junior Results

Senior Results

89 Responses to “2017 American Cup: LIVE Blogging”

  1. dianajc99 Says:

    The question in my mind is NBC going to do any mention of the Nassar controversy at all.

    • Cupquaked Says:

      Highly doubt it. It’s not just Nassar’s case that is bringing them negative attention. Apparently it’s over 320 allegations, a dozen lawsuits, and charges being brought against USAG. I would hazard to guess there’s probably a gag-order in place for coaches/staff since a lot of the investigation is being done by the FBI.

      Also just read an article of the timeline of Ray Adams’ time as a coach. Holy shit did USAG drop the ball on that guy. 20+ years and coaches are still defending him even though he’s been convicted and in prison for almost 4 years now.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Of course they wont USA gymnastics is probably looking for another doc to do creepy pelvic exams for that great hip realignment he provided. I honestly believe as I did before all of this they don’t care about their atheletes and only care about sponsors and results. Riley McKusker doesn’t have the shoulder flexibility to do constant pirouette training. I don’t care how much Liukin likes that look he’s going to blow out everyone’s knees on vault and shouldres on bars. We will be lucky to even have a team for Rio

  2. Exgymgurl Says:

    Meals is doing really well for Florida. I wish that stupid coach would give her better lineup placement, because Boren and mcMurtry are good but Meals should be 5 or 6 in most lineups.

  3. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Link to see the American Cup live, for those like me who live outside the EE.UU: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDoXCP_k6rQ

  4. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Liukin is going to break Riley. I feel sad but he is prob going to break a lot of gymnasts.

    With Mihai in Australia and Amy not having any serious elites and Simone saying she’d train with someone else when she comes back, I’m seriously worried about what our vault/floor will look like come Tokyo.

    And NBC is def not saying anything about the scandal. Aly herself said the investigation is still on-going so she can’t comment basically. People been bitching she hasnt said anything. I wish they’d leave her alone.

    I want to know what Aly thinks about Mihai’s New position. Asac tweeted a congratulations to him but not Aly yet. But I 100% believe she knew he took the job before it was announced.

    Usag should have hired Mihai over Valery (Mihai wanted the job and wasn’t happy how it all went down) but they didn’t so now they loose an amazing coach.

    • Guest Says:

      Mihai has good experience on how to keep “old” gymnasts comeback in shape and healthy (see ASac and Aly) but Valeri did over-train and destroyed his latest elites (like Bross and Ohashi) so I agree that Mihai should take that position in USAG.

  5. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Well that was a scary looking dty for Riley. Who let her compete this? Lol

  6. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Riley falls off bars. Then touches the mat on a transition. Marta would be fuming right now.

  7. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Ragan got an 8.8E on bars. These judges are funny lol

  8. Ilanchik20 Says:

    They just did a report on nassar during the commercial and asked Nastia about her experience during her time. She was very pc. It’s making me uncomfortable but I’m glad the NBC reporter brought it up.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Its not really Nastia’s place to have to deal with this shit tho.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Oh, I agree. It’s good they brought it up but she is not in a position to be answering these questions. Her dad, is in charge of the program too. She is on NBC as a broadcaster–not an athlete.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        i get asking her but it’s not her responsibility to take any kind of blame

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Of course not. I think her response was fine. Although I’m sure some people will be unhappy with her response. Nastia looked uncomfortable.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I hope they at least told her before hand they would ask. Then again she has to be ready for these types of questions

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        The look on her face told me she wasn’t expecting the question. But who knows.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She did kind of defend him after it all came out liking his post on facebook so…

      • Aerial Says:

        I think in any other sport if there was a huge scandal (abuse, doping, whatever) it would be addressed, or an overview done for the public. I guess here since it has to do with minors being abused, it’s quite the tricky journalism and news situation. I feel it was good that it was brought up for the countless athletes who don’t have a system of checks and balances in their training, travel, etc at their gyms and to remind parents of these dangers. I’m sure Nastia gave her consent in advance to answer these questions, she certainly moved to a different spot and fluffed her extensions, but at the same time asking someone on live tv if they were molested did feel several sorts of wrong.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Did they really ask her “were you molested?” – yikes…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I didn’t see it.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I watched it. They directly asked her if she was molestex but they asked what her experience was with Dr. Nassar right after spending 3 minutes on the charges he is facing ? She looked awkwardly stressed out. I mean, who asks that on a national tv? Ugh. And then the next interview was with her dad. Like, really.

    • dianajc99 Says:

      was it one the web feed or NBC? Sorry I didnt watch

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It wasn’t on the web feed because that is what I watched. I don’t do Nastia so it was NBC

  9. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Oh my god, Rileys fall on beam. That oooks scary. They should pull her off floor.

  10. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Ragan is off on beam too.

  11. Gymnast41 Says:

    Meet’s not even over and already thinking that USAG has a lot of work to do…never seen Ragan fall before, so the pressure of hitting after Riley definitely got to her. Sighhhh. When has there been a SCAM with at least one American hitting 4 for 4? At least the men’s side is actually quite exciting.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Katelyn hit 4 for 4 the year I was there and I think Aly and Bross did the other year I went. Simone fell on bem

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Ebee hit 4/4 2014 Simone did in 2015 I think gabby and Maggie both did last year

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        American winner *not hitting 4 for 4 oops. I feel like valeri didn’t take this meet as seriously as Marta does. For a domestic meet yes, this would have been the meet for people to crash and burn, but because this is an international meet, it would be expected for the best American to be at her best. TBH I do feel bad for Riley, I definitely feel like lack of experience was her weakness, however ragan was an Olympic alternate that has a history being consistent on beam….and you fall at SCAM?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I gave Riley a break too in my blog above ( I know who is really blogging lol) This is more Liukin’s fault for overscoring her at camp to the point she was too relaxed. He will be just as bad as Marta when it comes to the judging of gymnasts he likes and does anyone else feel like the Liukin’s are taking over USAG? Nastia gives out the awards. Liukin in charge. The Nastia cup. It’s a f****** nightmare but amusing:)
        Laurie was there she should hhve given out the awards.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      That’s got to be the weakest U.s looked at scam. Riley is having a meltdown and Ragan is coming back from injury. And these are top U.s gymnasts right now. I know worlds are not for a while but words will be interesting.

      I’m glad Marta is not in charge right now, if only because I can’t imagine what she’d say to the girls. Valery is no present but I don’t think he has the anger to the level Marta does.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Valeri is a shit leader in general so who knows what he will be like.

  12. Exgymgurl Says:

    My favorite things about scam are the second coming of Brenna dowell, Valeri not placing both atheletes top 3, the fact that Reagan and Riley wore different Leo’s and don’t even pretend to like each other, and that Maggie Haney looks so pissed.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      LOL I didn’t see Haney but I would know what she looked like if she was sitting next to me

  13. Exgymgurl Says:

    http://olympics.nbcsports.com/2017/03/03/simone-biles-dancing-with-the-stars-gymnastics/ Scary and yet another indication Simone likely won’t be back…

    • Guest Says:

      I don’t think Simone is comfortable to change her coach especially Aimee was her lifetime coach and mentor so it may depend on Aimee want coaching again or not.

      Also Simone won almost everything in Rio period and was crowned as world’s most decorated female gymnast so she may need something new goals to motivate her. She will be 23 in 2020 and it is considered “old” in gymnastics (There is only one Oksana) that she will not be in her peak like Rio. We can’t blame her if she chooses to enjoy her life in future.

  14. dianajc99 Says:

    We need to get rid of the whole ranch thing. I dont think Mihai would any better.
    Wow Riley is almost the second coming of she who shall not be named..But she can actually do a double back on FX.

  15. dianajc99 Says:

    USA gym lost their appeal and had to release the Georgia files. More shit hitting the same fan

  16. dianajc99 Says:

    https://t.co/ChgCwyyE2X

  17. Jessica Says:

    The US men who also compete NCAA always seem to act like jerks on the floor. It must be the college culture. Look at the 2008 team, only Artemev and Hagerty were not former college gymnasts…and they were both low key. But, Yul and Akash are both very good. I’m keeping them in my radar for this quad. Hopefully they’ll mature a bit.
    As for the ladies, the Netherlands beam cut and paste needs to go. I’m all for creativity and outside the box stuff, but come on.
    Smith. Sigh….I’m sorry (not sorry) but I just plain don’t like her gymnastics. She’s got talent, but Zmeskal being her coach is propelling her along more than anything. Whereas Riley fell apart, I think she’s the better gymnast. Time will tell. Again, my opinion. 😊
    Overall, the whole thing was very lackluster. I’m hoping it’s just because it’s the beginning of the quad.

  18. Cupquaked Says:

    In NCAA news, LSU won its first ever SEC title beating out Florida. I’m a happy camper. Really excited to see them match up against OU in the post season. We all know OU is the favorite but I would love to see LSU finally clinch a nationals. They’ve gotten so close so many times.

    • dianajc99 Says:

      they won the “regular season” SEC title.Not the actual SEC title.

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        Which is actually nothing according to Courtney Kupets haha

      • Cupquaked Says:

        Ohhhh. Whoops. I must have misread the FB post. I totally thought they said the SEC title. I wondered why it was so early. My bad. Still happy they beat Florida!

  19. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Didn’t know if there was a separate blog for this. But it seems that Mattie Larson is part of the suit now too. Sigh.

    https://mobile.twitter.com/gymcastic/status/838895916438409216

    • Cupquaked Says:

      Proud of her for coming out. That’s got to take a lot of courage. Twitter is really supporting her.

  20. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Nabieva will represent Russia at Universidade. She is still going! And Melnikova and Chiles will be at London Cup next month!

    • G Says:

      Nabs is like a poor mans Chuso lol I love her though.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Nabs should change Countries like Chuso did. She could have been on multiple Olympic teams too . Hey you actually read what I write so I have a question for you. I learned to screen Cap on my computer (Finally. It only took me ten years .lol) the picture I have on this blog is a screen Cap . Does it look as clear as say any picture that has been uploaded ? I am having issues with WordPress uploading pictures so I screen capped it then uploaded it amd I am curious if it looks okay on other people’s computers ? Thanks

      • Gymbot Says:

        Last post didn’t work sorry if this double, the pic looks great on m phone

        G can respond too though

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Thanks for letting me know . Just not sure how screen caps look in general

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I do think Nabs should change countries. Valentina retired her years ago, so she don’t count with her for the great competitions, even in a moment when they would benefit of her experience and scores (the disaster at Russian Championships attest to that). I know there has been debates here regarding the change of nationalities, but if you have the level and the strenght to compete, but you are not given a chance at good competitions because of internal politics, wouldn’t it be legit to go to train and compete for other countries who can give you that chance? Like people who change countries to have more oportunities to work because in their original country didn’t have the option to do so. I am sure she can come to Spain if she wants!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I was actually kidding when I said that but in general I say, no to changing Countries. You should rep the Country you were born in .

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I suposse it depend of the case. I think it would be legit if you go to other country to work there and help to improve their programs because you are not able to develop your professional activity in your home country (not because you are not good enough, but because internal political reasons).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Nah I don’t agree. I don’t think it should be allowed period. Germany basically bought Oksana . They emotionally blackmailed her into going to them by offering to pay for her son’s medical . This is why College doesn’t allow being paid. Imagine how Colleges would buy kids if given the opportunity ? Agree to disagree .

      • G Says:

        Delayed response but yeah the pictures look clear to me!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Thank you

    • dianajc99 Says:

      wonder y she didnt show anything at nationals

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        There was rumours she was injuried, as she was scheduled to compete. Random thought: there was another Afanasieva competing, called Eleonora. Do any of you know if she is a relative of Ksenia?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I asked that exact question in a blog and no one answered . There was also a Kotchetkova.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        In a tublr post says no relation to Afan, but I don’t find any “reliable” source about this. I think that if she was Afan’s sister or something, somebody would have already published it. I mean, we know of Aliya’s gymnast sister and I remember Khorkina’s sister from NBC’s Olympic broadcast and neither of them got very far in professional gymnastics. Somebody would have pointed out that already.

  21. Cupquaked Says:

    US Olympic committee calling for Penny’s resignation.

  22. JAS4 Says:

    Apparently Porgras posted an Instagram photo on a beam. I wonder if she is training again?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      JAS. I feel like you have been missing in action for awhile . Can you like the picture ?

      • JAS4 Says:

        https://mobile.twitter.com/Gymnasticsfan4/status/839853122038153217

        I tweeted the link to the Tumblr I where I saw it this morning. I tried to look on Instagram but hers is private.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I feel like this deserves it’s very own blog but I can’t do it right now lol. I would love for her to comeback .

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Wow! I couldn’t recognize her. It would be great for her to come back, even if that would take Romania’s attention away from what really matters (I mean, they should stop relying on veterans and invest in their future…and in a good UB trainer).But I don’t think so. Maybe she is back to help with the training? Or this year’s Europeans is in Romania. Maybe they have something planned related to “old glories” of Romania’s gymnastics?

      • JAS4 Says:

        Yeah I noticed her nails in the picture I am not exactly sure if she’d be able to do actual gymnastics with those lol! Although maybe she is just in the gym contemplating a comeback and getting back in gymnastics shape.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I would love to see Pogras again.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Me too but with a DTY and not that ugly ass Yurchenko

  23. dianajc99 Says:

    https://t.co/qlOPYSIq6a

  24. dianajc99 Says:

    International Gymnastics Camp just removed its sponsorship of USA Gymnastics. Is P&G next

    • JAS4 Says:

      I wouldn’t be surprised if Rhonda replaced Steve or perhaps Marta unless she is going to take over in Romania. Actually I could see her taking over for Steve because then she’d still be in control and she could make sure Valeri was running things her way.

      • Cupquaked Says:

        I think they’ll need someone with more of a backbone to replace steve. Whoever takes over is walking into a shitstorm. Rhonda’s biggest job was Florida. Running a company, which lets be honest USAG is a company, and running a college program are two completely different leagues of difficulty. With college being the lesser.

    • dianajc99 Says:

      Maybe we need an out side person to come in and fix the mess?

  25. sanitynmotion Says:

    The major sum-it-up sentence on this blog post is “now we know why Marta quit,”

    I can’t even get myself to watch this…seems like the last batch of talent has gone.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Simone had us spoiled. She’s a once in a lifetime talent albeit without dance ability. Plus the rest of the world sucks these days so…

  26. Lilian Lippeatt – Floor, Vault – Gymnastics Coaching.com Says:

    […] (via GTT) […]

Leave a Reply

