2016 Olympic AA Woman. The ” we all have to live with disappointment ” edition.

Start Lists


I have a doctors appointment tomorrow so I should be back somewhere in the middle of the competition. Yes, I am going to a doctor, Its been years, Wish me luck. If I don’t come back I love you all:)

335 Responses to “2016 Olympic AA Woman. The ” we all have to live with disappointment ” edition.”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I’m avoiding doing mandatory bloodwork. Damn doctors. And if anyone is in CA never choose Kaiser they almost killed my dad.

  2. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Hope everything goes ok, GTT.

  3. tulip Says:

    Good wishes going out your way tomorrow. Hope all is well and you get to see most of the AA too

    Any chance a judges meeting happened where perhaps someone like Bruno or Nellie wondered out loud if it was possible for the US to not win everything?

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      If they take away whatever the UB judges are on (and the rest doesn’t fall), USA shouldn’t get any medals in UB. And in vault, my heart is with Chuso, sorry. The rest will be a Simone fest.

      • Guest Says:

        At least I think Kocian is eligible of UB medal but gold. The main problem is Gabby. The judges just want to push her into EF final and they screwed Fan Yilin.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Yes, Fan Yilin was screwed big time. But at least five gymnasts should be ahead of Gabby. Kocian should be able to scratch a bronze if she has a good day, but the scores they have given both of them are ridiculous.

      • tennisgrl456 Says:

        I haven’t always been a big fan of Kocian on bars but she’s definitely grown on me. If she hits like she has been hitting, I think she’ll get the silver. However, if there is any justice in the gymnastics judging world, Aliya will win bars (assuming she can hit a routine like she did in TF). Her rhythm on bars is something that NONE of the other competitors have. As for bronze, my personal choice would be Chunsong but I just don’t think she’ll be able to challenge without mistakes from the other top women. I would LOVE to see either Scheder or Seitz sneak in for a medal.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I have a soft spot for Chusong, so I would like for her to get a medal in UB, as I think she has no possibilities in other finals. She can get AA bronze if several people fall and she doesn’t, but I think that is unlikely. I would rot for Aliya, Chusong and other medal for Seitz. I don’t particularly like Kocian’s style (not anymosity towards her personally, but I don’t like her bars that much), so I would prefer other girls to make the podium in UB.

      • tennisgrl456 Says:

        Chunsong has amazing skills on bars but I feel like the rhythm of her routine is going to keep her out of the medals. Her Shaposh to in-bar geinger (which is what gave her trouble in TF) is something that I wish she had replaced. I have to wonder if the connection bonus is worth it. She (and the rest of the Chinese gymnasts who perform it) get VERY little amplitude on the release and almost always catch with bent arm.

      • tulip Says:

        Me too on Chuso I’m also rooting for Steingruber to medal once or twice. Regarding bars, yes the scores have been screwy so hopefully EF finals will be more representative of their routines, getting the scores they actually earned.

        I think Kocian could bronze but I love how Musty swings bars and could easily take gold. A great way to go out!

      • JK Says:

        Just being super pessimistic, but I think if Kocian hits her routine, she’s getting gold. Gabby too – as long as she sticks her dismount I think she’s most likely getting bronze. I think the only way Aliya can eek out a win is if she’s beyond perfect.

        Come on judges, do your f*cking jobs and stop overscoring the Americans.

  4. tulip Says:

    So, the discussion about Gabby and her podium behavior is discussed here in no less a publication than the LA Times. They really honed in on her indifference using words like slouching, slumping, blank expression etc…


    I cannot wait to see Simone and Aly today! Aly worked so hard and is solid. I hope she’s on that podium. I’d also love it if Musty had a great day too.

    • tennisgrl456 Says:

      Same! I was just thinking about my dream podium (at this point, it’s changed a few times) and I would love to see Simone- gold, Aly-silver, and Aliya-bronze. I do love Chunsong but I think that her best chance at making it onto the AA podium was last year’s world championships.

      If Aliya falters and others bring their A game, three outside shots for bronze that I would be thrilled to see on the podium would be Steingruber, Andrade, and Tutkahalyan. Seda has been performing like a completely different athlete at these games and it has been a joy to watch her emerge as one of the toughest Russian competitors. Honestly, who would have thought that she would be Russia’s most consistent gymnast thus far?

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        My dream podium is close to impossible, with Simone, Aliya and Seda/Eythora/Chusong. Aliya can get silver if she connects everything and Aly falters, but I don’t think that is going to happen. I suppose the most probable podium right now is Simone, Aly, Aliya.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Seda is in a great position to lead the Russian team into the next quad. She has great quality and room to improve; if she conquers her consistency problems, she could be the next big name with Melnikova. Now that Aliya is retiring, Afan is gone and probably Komova too (I know she says she is going to try to come back to the sport, but she has suffered way too many injuries over the past four years for me to hold up hope), the Russian team would have to renovate themself completely. Seda could lead the way.

    • Case Says:

      Posted this on the old thread but moving it here because it fits:

      The beginning of the end of Gabby’s gravy train. Sponsors will be tossing that money Simone’s way soon. Simone is incredibly likeable beyond her insane gymnastics.

      I think Laurie is coming off very well too. If she can overcome her trashy coach she is destined for stardom.

      • tulip Says:

        I had no idea that Natalie is Gabby’s manager. Holy crap is that girl screwed without someone experienced and savvy to advise her. Plus as manager she gets a percentage of Gabbys earnings. So she has nothing to lose personally by putting Gabby in anything and everything she can.

        But she has no notion of how to maintain momentum, demonstrate a positive image that sponsors would want to align with their products and avoid the new wealth trap of wasting money. I don’t know if indeed this has happened but I truly believe, based on reports of major real estate purchases for family members, that it is possible that the money will run out with no savings.

        And I’d bet everything that Natalie has squired away her 10% and will be less than generous when it comes to dipping into her piece of the pie. It just seems like it’s headed that way

  5. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I want Aly to get the silver. She has worked so hard for an AA medal. Even her bars look so much better.

    I’d say Aliya for the bronze, if only to reward all she has done for the team. On the other hand, if Russia gets all these medals, Rodienko is never going away. If not Aliya, I would love for Andrade to get a medal on home soil. That would be amazing to see.

    So nervous for today. About to head out and get some snacks lol

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      The Rodionenkos are not going to go until they decide to go, like Martha. The results doesn’t matter. Andrei have been there since 2005 and they won’t even fire him after the abysmal result in Beijing 2008. Valentina is getting more and more importance over the years and she succeded in getting Alexandrov, posed as their main rival, out of the way. So I am all out for Aliya to win as many medals as she possibly can and for her to kiss the UB away with a gold medal around her neck. I understand that Aly is a great worker and she has improved a lot over the years, but I have never been a fan of her gymnastics and would prefer Aliya or Chusong over her in the podium. No offense.

    • H Says:

      So ditto that @Ilanchik20!

    • H Says:

      Not sure if my first comment got through so here is the repeat:

      So ditto that @Ilanchik20!

  6. dianajc99 Says:

    I had a dream Aly fell on beam..

  7. KG Says:

    I so want a Simone gold and an Aly silver! With all of the injustices seemingly in this sport, I’d like to see Simone (probably the GOAT) get her deserved AA gold (and I’ll say she deserves it because you know, 3x world champ,etc, though I know you really only deserve it if you are the best that day, at that time). I’d like Aly to get that silver though because I love a kid that works hard. She’s not even maybe the most naturally built gymnast, but she has persevered way past others that had more advantages in flexibility or prettier toe point or “european style” or whatever.

  8. the dude Says:

    Soooo nervous for Aly…I actually was getting worried that she was sticking her landings during TF….was hoping she could save herself a bit

  9. H Says:

    Hope you are well home GTT happy and healthy:-)

  10. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Aliya has passed the torch…Seda is wearing the same leo Aliya used to favour in her first international competitions.
    GTT, hope everything went well with your doctor appointment.

  11. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Go, Aliya! Planted! I wish she had retained her Amanar from 2010.

  12. Case Says:

    Aly and Simone off to a solid start on vault.

  13. Gymbee Says:

    Anyone knows Ferrari’s SV on floor?

  14. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Great beam for Chusong! 14.883 for her.

  15. H Says:

    Just so happy Aly landed ok her vault.
    Wonder what happened to Vanessa on floor, 6.200 8.175 -0.300

  16. H Says:

    Did Steingruber fall on beam? 13.666 d- score 5.5

  17. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Seitz’s UB, 15.233.

  18. Mim Says:

    Did Shang get lowballed on beam?

  19. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Ellie Downie did a good floor. 14.300 seems very low to me.

  20. tulip Says:

    I love Andrades leo. Just gorgeous

    The Germans with the lime green neon is painful

  21. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Aly 14.133.

  22. Gymbee Says:

    At least Aly’s bars are more correctly scored today!

  23. tulip Says:

    Simone looked great on bars and stuck that landing

  24. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Ferrari’s leo is…interesting.

  25. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Missed Wan. 13.733 for her? What the hell?

  26. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Chusong, 14.600 on floor. She is doing better, thankfully.

  27. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Aliya doesn’t do the full bar difficulty.

  28. H Says:

    Great bar from Aliya but only 15. 666

  29. tulip Says:

    Chunsong 14.6 floor

  30. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    15.666 for Aliya! Great!

  31. Mim Says:

    Barbosa apparently hurt??? Anyone see what happened??

  32. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Barbossa hurt herself and has abandoned the competition. What a pity, more so in front of ther home crowd.

  33. Case Says:

    Bummer for Jade Barbosa in front of her home crowd. Hope it’s not terribly serious.

  34. gymnerd Says:

    C’mon, Aly…don’t give it away…..

  35. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Before beam rotation for the main group, just a moment to remember Iordache, that should be competing today because she earned that spot in this Olympics with her bronze medal in last year’s Worlds. She should be in the arena tonight.

    • tulip Says:

      Yes she should. Ponor really screwed Larissa over so I hope she doesn’t medal on beam.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I like Cata, but I am pissed at what she has done in Rio. I mean, the idea of the AA was misleading, because she didn’t say that she “may” do the AA. She actually said that she was ready to do it publicly. And when the time came, she not only scratched UB, but vault as well, something that she can do perfectly well even for pride reasons, to represent her country in as many events as she could. I understand that Lari didn’t seem ready after her injury and that Romania want to maximize their medal potential, but they could have handle it differently and give Lari more time when they saw she was improving. In any case, Lari should have been in Rio because of her bronze last year, independently of what the Romanian federation have decided regarding their individual place for Rio. All the other Event Medalist were able to do so and if someone else happen to be in the same place in Rio, they will have the same opportunity. It’s just unfair that Lari will never get that chance.

    • Mim Says:

      Larisa tweeted to that effect, poor thing. I thought Cata was chosen to compete AA.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        She said herself she was doing the AA, but she didn’t do vault or UB in the quals and there hasn’t been any news regarding injury or problems. So probably she just wanted to concentrate in her main events and minimize any chance of injuries scratching off the other two.

  36. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Lieke’s floor was gorgeous.

  37. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Simone, 15.433 on beam. If she doesn’t fall like twice in floor, she is gold.

  38. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    God no, Aliya! 13.886

  39. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    15.366 for Giulia on vault.

  40. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Seda! What the hell?

  41. the dude Says:

    So worried aliya’s mistake isn’t a beam omen for Aly

  42. Mim Says:

    I feel so sick about Aly on beam ommgggggg

  43. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Downie missed too in UB. What the hell is happening in this rotation?

  44. H Says:

    Aly stayed on. lost one connection didn’t do the jump after punch tucked

  45. Mim Says:

    YES ALY!!!

  46. H Says:

    Musta 44.732
    Aly 44.665

  47. the dude Says:

    Ok, Aly. That all around is yours. It’s waiting for you. Go and get it.

    • tulip Says:

      My heart is racing can’t imagine her parents right now

      • Mim Says:

        I know right? If we feel like this, imagine her parents!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Thanks for keeping me updated on this…I’m so relieved to hear Aly hit beam because last time (London) I remember her putting her hand down and screaming at my TV because that basically took her out of the podium.

        Floor should be a throw-down for Aly. I hope she takes silver!!!!

      • Gymbee Says:

        tulip and Mim, that’s what I am telling myself too. My heart is racing and I am trying to calm myself thinking about if I am like this her parents must be close to a break-down. And Mihai too!

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        This time she almost put a hand down in quals.

  48. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    I am screaming at the computer (no tv for me because my mom is watching Nadal and Nadal is sacred).

    • tulip Says:

      Oh yes Nadal he is as talented as he is smoking hot. Loved it that he was the flag bearer. He was adorable

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        He is great. And yes, very hot. He did some underwear commercials last year and he was great. Better in his suits commercials though.

      • tulip Says:

        He and Federer take suits to a whole different level. Pure class

      • Gymbee Says:

        On a flight from Barcelona-London I sat in the same seat Nadal once sat in. It said on the headrest haha! I love how his serving arm is way bigger than the other arm.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        He already has a medal in doubles (it will be decided today if it is gold or silver), so good Olympics for him so far. With Federed and Djokovic out of commission, I have high hopes for him to get an individual medal too. He had had a rough couple of years injury-wise, so I really hope he gets it!🙂

  49. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Black 14.866. Careful with her.

  50. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    15.233 for Chusong on UB.

  51. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    13.933 for Aliya on floor.

  52. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Seda effing fell again.

  53. the dude Says:

    Still feel like Aly is going to somehow fuck up 😑

    Almost too good to be true..

  54. lovelucas Says:

    I hope Chusong is in the running for a medal on Bars. Seda fell again – this time on floor….exactly the same move as beam – piked double back

  55. Mim Says:

    Seda just ruined me😦 Is she hurt?

  56. lovelucas Says:

    whoa Seda….10.96 (I think) on Floor

  57. tulip Says:

    Unless something unexpected happens Musty makes podium

  58. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Bummed for Chusong. She did a great meet and missed Mustafina for only 0.1.

    • lovelucas Says:

      So those tears in her eyes. Didn’t know why since she hit Bars but – yes -that close

  59. tulip Says:

    Aly needs14.0 to silver

  60. H Says:

    She did it!

  61. Mim Says:


  62. tulip Says:

    Aly silver
    Simone needs 13.9 to win

  63. Gymbee Says:

    I am so happy for Aly. Eternally 4th place Aly, who would’ve thought 5-6 years ago that she would be silver AA at the Olympics?🙂

  64. lovelucas Says:

    Simone bringing Aly up for recognition by the crowd. Best moment ever.

    • Mim Says:

      Such a beautiful moment, just sobbing over here haha.

    • tulip Says:

      These 2 are sportsmanship personified. Truly team members who care about and support each other to the end.

      Aimee and Mihai appear to have the same respect for each other too

      • gymnerd Says:

        Anyone catch the other three girls in the stands? Laurie and Madison are standing and cheering. Gabby manages to sit and clap when the camera zooms in. BTW, my take on the “flag flap” isn’t that Gabby was disrespecting her country. I thought she was just pissed off that she didn’t play a bigger role in team finals. I am starting to feel kind of bad for her though. She really didn’t look like she wanted to be there at all. Rumor has it mom spent all her money and she was pre$$ured to come back.

      • tulip Says:

        gymnerd, I’ve been saying this for two years since she announced her comeback and was half assed about it.
        Gabby has been acting like an entitled diva during trials who flaunted her lack of training and preparation, apparently acted like a jerk during time at the ranch, and completely distanced herself from her teammates in Rio by acting bratty and entitled.

        I don’t feel sorry for her. She’s had every opportunity in the world that no one else would have every gotten (how many people would Marta take and work with one on one to prepare her for something she should have been ready for? ZERO) and is acting like a 2 year old. So many others would have taken her undeserved space with gratitude. If she had even begun to act with humility and a team spirit, it would have been a lot better for her. But she chose otherwise.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah I completely don’t understand Gabbys attitude either. She should know better. It’s almost like she wants everything to be over with.
        I never felt sorry for her and still won’t when her money’s gone. Would bet Natalie spent all of it on stupid stuff like renting mansions they had no business renting in the first place.

      • gymnerd Says:

        Oooooh, she was a diva at the ranch? I hadn’t heard this one…talk to me!!!

      • tulip Says:


        She is supposed to have behaved like a jerk at the ranch. Same stuff she did during trials. Nose up in the air ,not taking it as seriously and creating continued bad will by not caring about anyone else. Not team material

        All of that behavior is so anti Marta. Steve must have required her participation. That’s really what makes sense at this point.

  65. H Says:

    So happy for the podium, wish though it was allowed to share third Musta and Shang

  66. Mim Says:

    SO THRILLED for Simone and Aly, but Shang should have won bronze.

    • tulip Says:

      Damn straight she should have. I love watching Musty and admire her for keeping the Russian team going, but I believe she may have gotten a few tenths of gifts.

      • Mim Says:

        She got the Musty bonus for sure. No wonder Shang was in tears.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        No gifts this time for Aliya. They crushed her in difficulty with a 5.2 in beam and 5.2 in floor. Chusong needs to really upgrade vault, because with a 5.00 vault she won’t get an AA medal if everybody else to hit.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Sorry, 5.3 on floor. Same thing, really. Chusong needs to improve her vault or wish for someone of the top four to fall.

      • tulip Says:

        Rocio thanks for the explanation. I forgot about the FTY. When she gets a better vault she will be dangerous. I still think Musty got a few execution tenths but I am not the judges and they sure didn’t ask my opinion 😊

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        No problem, tulip. But this time, I think they have been mostly fair. Chusong’s problem is the FTY and, even with it, she has been so close. She might get a medal next year at Worlds. The post-Olympic year is always low on candidates, with the newcomers still without experience and most of the olympians retiring or taking a break. I hope she gets an AA medals. She really deserves it. But with that vault, I find it difficult. But I don’t know if she is really capable of improving her difficulty on vault. Maybe she can’t. I think she would be done that by now. But I hope she gets another medal out of this Olympics.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Aliya did not deserve a 15.2 on vault with that form. That score was ridiculous. From what I saw Shang was robbed big time with the yurchwnko. If anyone else had a 5.2 start value on beam their score would be a lot lower .

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        In my opinion, vault judges were very generous today, but in general with everybody. For example, Andrade’s vault was a little messy and had a bad landing with a foot oob if I remember correctly and she had a over 15.500 and Chusong FTY was very low and also had trouble in the landing. I remember thinking the same with other vaults, that the judges were being generous in general, but with everybody in that apparatus. About beam, I would have to see it again, but I don’t remember her having a very bad execution, just that her D score depends on the connections and she got hammered when she didn’t do them. But I don’t think she had a catastrophic execution to warrant an even lower score. In any case, I was screaming so bad at the computer to take all the details in consideration.

    • dianajc99 Says:

      The FTY is what kills Shang

  67. Tortuga Says:

    So happy Simone and Aly go 1&2. Was hoping Shang would get on the podium but happy for Aliya.

  68. gymnerd Says:

    ALY!!!!! 😀 (y)

  69. tulip Says:

    Aly kisses her medal

  70. H Says:

    I am so HAPPY and amazed by Aly Raisman willingness to go after that medal! Wow she deserved that.

    And Biles as well:-)

  71. tulip Says:

    Thanks to all of you for being my gymnastics buddies. Wouldn’t have it any other way

    GTT- hope all is well and that you got to see some of this exciting competition. And truly a big thank you for creating this so that those of us who see both the good and the bad of this sport can talk about it.

  72. dianajc99 Says:

    Ok people what do we want now? Wheaties box, nike sponsorship,DWTS?

    • H Says:

      We want Aly to continue for many years:-)

      • H Says:

        Do you guys think she has peaked?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I can’t see Aly staying on. She’s done what she wanted to do, and now she can go and have a life. She had a taste of it after London and now is the best time to capitalize.

        I hope Simone can get something better than DWTS, but I guess that’s a “given” for the “greats” in the Olympics, so I just hope Simone just gets what she wants.

        Nike: drop Gabby and grab Simone. She’s the star of the show now, and has been for years.

        I hope for lots of endorsements to come the way for all of the girls, but especially Simone and Aly. They rocked it so hard this last year and both are just amazing and inspirational on so many levels.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        ?? I don’t know if her body can take it..she accomplished her AA medal goal.

      • Tortuga Says:

        She’s said she’s retiring after this. And I think she should she got exactly what she wanted.

      • Guest Says:

        Simone is already endorsed by Nike.

      • H Says:

        I agree with you all. I will just miss her competing.

        And you never know maybe she suddenly gets inspired to go for the AA gold 2017. I know ..
        but she (and Mihai) is the one gymnast/duo I will miss the most when retiring.

      • tulip Says:

        I am with sanity about Simone and Aly getting all the glory they can. They are more than good gymnast, they are good competitors, enjoy what they’re doing, are very composed and demonstrate good sportsmanship. Great examples especially in today’s instant gratification world. Hard work, patience and a good attitude will take you far.

        Off topic: how long do you think it will be before Oprah tries to get her on her channel? I think it already happened and that the reality show the Biles family turned down then went to Gabby. No proof, just a feeling. I do think she will sit down for a congratulatory interview, talk about her childhood, and try to find some drama. Simone seems like she’d see through that but you never know

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m with all of you. I’ve loved Aly and Mihai since she become elite. I’m going to miss her so much! But I agree, this is it for her.

        It’s crazy to think that always 4th, she gets AA silver. If not for Simone’s domination, she would had a chance for gold. Who would have thought. So excited and proud of her. This silver was more emotional than Gabby’s gold. Aly has earned it!

        Mihai looked so happy after her floor. Love seeing them together.

        P.S so upset by Seda’s ending. But I know she has more to give so hopefully Valentina doesn’t ban her.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Hey DWTS is almost a million $$ paycheck if she wins. Gabby is so not classy not standing and cheering with Laurie and Maddie. Her arrogance and lack of class never ceases to amaze me. It’s like she doesn’t even care. Marta was so cute. The last time Simone cried was losing scam to ohashi when she fell on beam. During her beam routine. Simones mom and sister crying though. That killed me. Her mom and dad are such rocks, and this was the big one. She had to do this. Tears again

    • Gymbee Says:

      I agree tulip. Remember the drama with Carlotta Ferlito. I think the way Simone and her dad handled that was pure class. They just seemed to shut it down completely and not create any more drama. I think any drama the media tries to stir up now she will handle it and shut it down before it begins.

      I will miss Aly and Mihai so much.

      • tulip Says:

        You are absolutely right about their response at 2013 Worlds with Carlotta. Something that stands out is that Simone was only 16 at the time. So yes she’d see any manipulation for ratings/drama for the bs it is

  73. Mim Says:

    Hope you got through the doctors alright, GTT!

  74. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Valentina should begin to build that gold statue for Aliya. Wouldn’t have any medals if it weren’t for her in this Olympics.

    • Gymbot Says:

      Aliya also won the only medals for the RGF in 2013, I think even the men didn’t win and she carried this team as well as the 2014 team, and a surprise AA performance in 2012 in TF. When she wasn’t on the team in 2015 they didn’t have the focus to win a medal. If she’s done, Russia will be on the struggle bus

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        She published some interviews saying that she will retire after Rio, because her body was very battered by injuries and wanted to do other things. In fact, she said especially that she wanted to be a mother. So she is done. Komova too probably and I would say that Paseka’s carreer is almost at its end, because she has been struggling with injuries too. Aliya has been giving them medals since 2010 and they don’t have a solid replacement of yet, specially because of consistency reasons. Both Seda and Melnikova could be, but they seem to lack Aliya’s or Khorkina’s fire and consistency. I don’t know what Russia’s program is going to do know. Maybe we will have to wait for Eremina. Luckily, she is of 2001.

  75. dianajc99 Says:

    I want Simone on the cover of every major women/gen interest magazine by the end of the year!!

  76. Gymbee Says:

    I just realised Aly has 5 olympic medals. That’s pretty awesome! With hopefully a 6th in floor finals.

    • H Says:

      yup and who would have thought prior to 2012.
      And if she wasn’t in the periode with the amazing Biles she would have etc.

    • tulip Says:

      Would that be more than Nastia?

      • H Says:

        Nastia has, TF, AA, UB, Beam, Floor – 5.

      • Gymbee Says:

        She is ahead of Nastia in the medals table. Aly has 3 golds, 1 silver, 1 bronze. Nastia “only” one gold, 3 silver and 1 bronze.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Aly and gabby have more golds than anyone in USA gymnastics. Until Simone finishes this Olympics.

  77. H Says:

    I am impressed by Lopez. She is 30 (?) and placed 7th

  78. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Just to mention other gymnasts, Elsabeth Black had a great meet to get to 5th and Jessica Lopez got to 7th. Chusong could have medalled with a higher scoring vault, because her scores in other apparatus are pretty high and Ellie Downie could have medalled too if she hadn’t missed on beam and UB. And honorable mention to Lari, who was greatly missed today.

  79. Sainabou Nyang Says:

    Im sure Nastia would be happy to take over your blog. Call it Nastias Truthtelling lol.

  80. dianajc99 Says:

    I can’t gif it but if you watch the replay of the beam AA stream the greats Musty Moment happens at 1:24-1:25

  81. lovelucas Says:

    Who should take over for Marta? Aimee and Mihai – they obviously can produce plus have mutual respect and they are good people who treat their gymnasts like the treasures they are.

  82. Exgymgurl Says:

    You can rent nastias place on air BNB for 1600 a night but not if you have kids and not if you have more than four people. It’s not even on beacon hill. Just because it’s nastia

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I can’t believe she had an apartment in MY city. Gaaag me . Hey do you like the new blog headline🙂

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Think of it this way. The whole ” Boston waterfront ” area is all extended landfill that really isn’t part of Boston at all. Plus it’s all new and modern and not at all like having a brownstone or a real house in Boston in an established neighborhood.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Yes but it has Nastia so ……

      • Guest Says:

        I think the apartment is actually owned by Matt her fiance.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Does it matter if I have to hear Boston and Nastia in the same sentence lol

      • gymnerd Says:

        Yes, I love the headline…hahahahahaha. :p

  83. Gymnast41 Says:

    Gabby stans annoying tf out of me with the “gabby’s qualifying score would’ve won the silver today” comments.


    • gymtruthteller Says:

      All you say to that is , well it’s too bad she wasn’t good enough to make the AA🙂 oh and would have been 4th if Laurie was allowed to compete Bars . Oh and would have been even further down if the AA gymnasts that beat her at Nationals and Trials were given their spots on the team she got but didn’t deserve🙂 I’ve got million of these🙂

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Who cares? Everyone at USA WAG trials would have placed today…. And? had she worked to get her amanar back maybe she beats Aly in quals. Aly worked to get her amanar back. Gabby didn’t. Her gymnastics. Her responsibility, not Marta’s not Alys not Simones

      • gymnerd Says:

        ^Love this.

      • hobarttdavid Says:

        In a month it will be Gabby Who?

    • Guest Says:

      The scoring standard is totally different between qualification and individual finals. You can see how Aly’s bars is scored much harsher in AA final. So I bet Gabby won’t get 9.2 above E score in upcoming bars final as well.

  84. Bess Says:

    Watching the prime time showing too and could Gabby look any less enthused cheering on Aly and Simone? Especially after Aly’s beam? Laurie on the other hand…she’s just a regular little cheerleader

    • Mim Says:

      Ashton was a one woman cheering squad for everyone, I could actually hear her on the live feed during qualifications. So great to see her cheering on the USA girls as well as some of the other gymnasts like Rebeca and Eythora.

  85. dianajc99 Says:

    Random–You know if Simone wins 5 gold I want to see a pic of her and each of her German Shepard with a medal on.

  86. dianajc99 Says:

    Oww. couldn’t hide that bitch face.

    • Guest Says:

      Gabby is full of sour grapes in her mouth now. Simone will take over all the attentions and endorsement and Aly may even offered better than her after Rio.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        she should have known she would have to plaster a happy face on for 3 hours.. I feel a little sorry for her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Go feel sorry for her on IG .lol ( totally just kidding ) I would feel sorry for her if she had trained as hard as everyone else and earned her spot on this team but I can’t feel sorry for her knowing what went on.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Doesn’t her agent tell her these things? And wait her mom is her agent. So probably not…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She was told during the team event to smile if she didn’t make the AA but I think by now she’s just over it.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        I don’t feel bad because she didnt make it.(thrilled), I don’t think she had a choice of going tonight. NOBODY wants to be in that position of looking happy and polite for 3 hours straight.
        I think it would have helped her if she just ate through the whole thing.. blame any bad pics on that.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Just saw an alumni NCAA gymnast post on Twitter that they couldn’t believe how gabby acted during aa and how she is not a team player at all.

        This will seriously backfire for GD.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Someone screenshot it:

      • Guest Says:

        After couple of years, we may see Gabby sue her mom of leeching her money or the announcement of breaking relationship to her family.

      • JK Says:

        Looks like Gabby never learned how to deal with disappointment…

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I’m watching it on NBC prime time and they show a shot of the u.s delegation, everyone stands up and clapping as Aly finishes (Marta is crying) and Gabby continues to sit. At least she clapped. She can’t be bothered.

      • Bess Says:

        Yeah, I’m sure her sponsors are thrilled. She was prob pissed she had to be there to begin with….

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She didn’t clap at first. She sat there pissed for a few seconds and then when she saw the camera she clapped. Like Diane said Ibdo feel for her a little bit amd then I remember how she got here and I stop feeling bad.

      • Mim Says:

        That’s awful. Meanwhile Simone was quoted saying that she was prouder of Aly winning silver than she was of her own gold. The sportsmanship and graciousness that most of the girls have shown to each other has been phenomenal, even more so from the girls who didn’t get to where they thought they would be (Laurie, Ashton even McKayla Maroney who is obviously still pretty cut up about no longer competing). How someone acts when they are on the back foot says a lot about their character.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Aly posted a photo of a letter from Madison and Laurie that was waiting for her in her room. She said Gabby had sent her a text. The comments are full of “look who didn’t sign the letter!”…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I swear that I want to see the Gabby text😉

      • dianajc99 Says:

        hope somebody typs out the letter. i couldn’t read the hand writing..

      • Guest Says:

        Gabby’s attitudes and poor sport in the team made her even worse than not being selected in Rio team IMO.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Your wish is my command dianajc99!🙂


        We couldn’t be any happier for you! All your hard work is paying off, and now you’re an Olympic AA silver medalist!! We’ve looked up to you from the beginning of our elite careers & and you’ve inspired us in so many ways! We’re so thankful to have you cheering us on, and helping us through this Olympic journey!

        We love you mama Aly❤
        Love, Maddie & Laurie❤❤

      • Lauren H Says:

        It boggles my mind how inept Gabby is. You’d think she’d know cameras are going to be on her. At least pretend to be happy for your teammates…you sponsorships depend on it. Laurie at least knows what she’s doing…

        I love how Aly instagrammed Maddie & Laurie’s letter, but not Gabby’s text. My guess as to what the text said: “Good job, Aly.” If it was really such a “sweet” text message, why not screen shot it and show it off like the letter?

      • Guest Says:

        Aly did try her best to comfort the people that Gabby is not as bad attitude as they think, but the camera on her tells the truth, so it does work.

    • gymnerd Says:

      Poor Gabby. At this point I bet she just wants to go home….wherever “home” is now.

      • Guest Says:

        The one who should be poor is Mykayla or Ashton. At least she got one more gold medal like a free-rider.

  87. Exgymgurl Says:

    We need to start labeling her grumpy gabby

  88. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Aliya about Simone: https://twitter.com/UEGymnastics/status/763871037817774080. I hope she wins gold in UB and ends her carreer with a bang. Russia’s gymnastics program must be shaking in their boots knowing that this is her last competition.

  89. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Can’t believe that I got up next morning still pissed about Seda. I knew she would break my heart and I still believed in her anyway. It’s like Anna Pavlova all over again.😦

    • dianajc99 Says:

      No Pavlova deserved that bronze.Seda Fell 2.5 times

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I know that and I have to say I am still pissed about Pavls’ fourth place. She did a really good competition. The point with Pavlova is that most of times, she was having a good competition and something happened or she fell and it broke my heart every time. I remember, for example, the floor final of 2008, when she had a gorgeous routine and fell or the vault final when she had many chances to medal, ran to the vault before the green light and got a zero. Always happened something with Pavls that took her out of the AA medal. Being her fan was heartbreaking.

      • JK Says:

        Oh Anna… one of my favorite gymnasts and yes, so heartbreaking to be her fan. IIRC, she hit 4/4 at both the Athens and Beijing AA competitions, but both times it just wasn’t enough to get on that podium – not to mention Khorkina being way overscored on bars in 04 or Pavlova’s bars in 08 being too low on difficulty despite clean execution.

        At least there’s youtube where I can re-watch so many of her beautiful routines.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I absolutely loved her floor routine of 2008:

      • dianajc99 Says:

        ’04 is when they started the seeding into the AA.Ana was not in the top group and I thinks that what got her..

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        If I remember correctly, she was seventh in 2008. She was very good, but the field was very deep that year and her UB didn’t keep up with the rest of her events. And several people were way overscored in that AA final (no way Stelliana Nistor had that score in UB. No way). She always had bad luck in competition, to be honest. With her quality, difficulty and artristy, she should have achieved more.

  90. Guest Says:

    Another Simone made History on the same day. I wonder will Simone be a hot new born girl name after Olympics.

  91. Gymmom2 Says:

    Well GD had a golden opportunity to show class, support her teammates and find some commercial silver lining and instead she showed her ass.

    And I am taking back my Luikin prediction. I think he will do both National Team and developmental but Rhonda will play a bigger roll.

    • Katie Says:

      I had heard somewhere that it was definitely Liukin taking over Marta’s position and that USAG had built him a house on the ranch property?

      • Sainabou Nyang Says:

        I think so
        Theres a photo of Nastia and her parents sittinf in the stands with gabby, Laurie, and maddie during AA finals.

  92. Case Says:

    Simone is just such a great person. Humble, kind, generous…her parents did a fantastic job raising her.

    “I think I was more proud of Aly getting silver than me gold,” Biles said. “She’s worked so incredibly hard during her comeback. She’s one of my role models, and I don’t think there’s anyone I’d rather share the podium with. I’m more happy for her than I am myself.”

  93. david0688 Says:

    Do we start the dynasty talk with the Women’s Olympic gymnastics team or do we have to wait until a 2020 victory? Other thoughts are why did the bigwigs in Olympic gymnastics decide to whittle down the team again to four? What’s next a three person team? Are we ultimately just going to have one person doing everything? They like to make this stuff hard.

    Final thought, I always thought that gymnastics ended with the all-around so finding out that there’s more events next week is interesting. Is this something new or something that’s always been there?

    • gymnerd Says:

      It’s always been there, though it seems like it’s spread out over more nights now. More $ to be brought in, probably.

  94. gymnerd Says:

    So what’s Gabby going to do now? Her reign is officially over. She didn’t do herself any favors with her demeanor this week. RUMOR has it all her money is gone. We never heard anything about her having finished high school. She’s 20 years old and basically a has-been. Four years ago, she had it all. Today…not so much. She gonna go coach for $9 an hour in a club somewhere???

    • Case Says:

      I’m no Gabby apologist, but I do feel bad for her in one regard. If her money is gone it is because 1) her manager is her mother and not qualified to assist her with her finances at all 2) all of her able bodied siblings have chosen to not work and help manage her career (aka mooch off her) 3) I read an article that said Gabby is financing multiple business ventures of her family, like her sister’s fashion design whims.

      That’s not actually her fault. That’s her family taking advantage of her.

    • david0688 Says:

      She might become a coach like her fellow teammate Anna Li.

      • gymnerd Says:

        Anna Li’s parents own a gym, don’t they? Maybe Gabby could go work in Simone’s gym. :\

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Gabby would be a pretty bad coach–part of being a coach is mentoring and supporting your students–that’s not exactly her strong suit lol.

        She’ll get more money from the tour and I foresee a tell-all book in her future.

      • JK Says:

        I can’t for the life of me see Gabby as a coach. Her attitude in Rio thus far shows that she doesn’t care about anyone but herself.

        When the money dries up, I’m predicting she’s going to write some scandalous tell-all, where she calls everyone – her coaches, teammates, Marta & USAG, the media, her “haters” – a bunch of racists or something like that.

        She and Moceanu should team up and go on a speaking tour together lol.

      • david0688 Says:

        See now I wanna know all the rumors, hearsay, and drama. Lol. I recently read an article on the magnificent from last month and reading about them pulling pranks on each other and their experiences living in dorms in Atlanta during the Olympics. It makes me want to know more about all the drama, rumors, stories, and hearsay about that team like were there any fights between teammates or friction. You hear a lot of stuff about Moceanu but nix to nothing about the other members.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It was the tour they pulled pranks on each other not whilen in Atlanta.

      • david0688 Says:

        All the same. I still want to know more. Lol. There’s always good stories about championship teams that come out.

    • dianajc99 Says:

      she did graduate HS..at19..One whole ep of her reality show focused on it..

    • Jessica Says:

      She graduated from high school, her picture in a cap and gown was all over usagym.
      She should gracefully back out of the spotlight and enroll in college.

  95. H Says:
    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Boy do I agree with him. Look at the difference in the execution between Aly and the Chinese and it’s very evident they judge on different scales. Same with Gabby on bars and Kocian and countless other examples.

  96. H Says:
  97. fatam Says:

    Testing 1-2-3


    • Akshay Says:

      “For now, it seems that #CrabbyGabby is Rio’s answer to McKayla Maroney not being impressed.”

      Crabby Gabby? OOOF.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Wow. Just typed #crabbygabby into Twitter. I can’t believe her mother didn’t instruct her to maintain her image, but then again her mother seems useless as well. She had this coming for her. That piss poor attitude would catch up with her sooner or later.

    • Guest Says:

      She is not Mckayla. Mckayla can twist the criticism to internet-meme that made Mckayla get the popularity even more than if she have won gold on vault, but I can’t see Gabby have this possibility.

  98. dianajc99 Says:

    could you imagine that happening in ’08?

    • Guest Says:

      The situation is different. It is too predictable that Simone win and Aly’s goals is standing on podium. Both of them got their best result. Simone and Aly usually show they are supportive each other.

      But Shawn was favored to win AA before the competition in 08 so Americans felt disappointed that Shawn didn’t win. And Nastia obvious looked jealous of Shawn still grabbed the people’s heart and attention after Shawn won her beam gold.

  99. dianajc99 Says:

    Daily beast is doing worse than #nbc and rio pools this week

  100. Guest Says:

    Shawn interviewing Aly.

  101. Gymnast41 Says:

    I have a feeling Valentina is probably whipping spirod into shape at the moment. Unless FIG is setting up the UB bronze as the “big upset”, I think if Madison Kocian doesn’t win gold, there is a possibility gabby will medal. I honestly don’t see them crowning Madison gold and gabby bronze unless Aliya, Shang, Elisabeth, and Daria just straight up mess things up. I keep telling myself this lol.

    I honestly do think Simone will win floor, beam, and vault gold. I’m a little skeptical about beam, can’t be too confident about vault (a la 2012), and I doubt she’d just give away floor to Aly being her best event. I and many others have a theory that they’d want Simone to be a motivator for other nations to step their game up, which might actually be a good strategy…

    • H Says:

      @gymnast41 can you elaborate on meaning/your reflections regarding: ….have a theory that they’d want Simone to be a motivator for other nations to step their game up, which might actually be a good strategy…
      What do you mean by that, and what is the “strategy”

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        I would think FIG’s strategy is not actually taking action, but based on Nellie Kim’s comments in Dvora’s book about Simone, it’s insinuated that she wants Simone to be the prime example to other countries of how the COP could be done successfully. The way the Italian and Canadian coordinators talk about her as an inspiration as well makes me think that she would have an impact on gymnastics internationally in the future as well. So basically, because of how much she is appreciated for her gymnastics around the world, she could be a motivator to all to take advantage of the COP as she does.

        Of course another factor is that there’s a bit of politics in certain countries as far as funding/support goes though.

      • JAS4 Says:
  102. Guest Says:

    Gabby is still under fire after National Anthem.


  103. dianajc99 Says:

    Ok now the media is mixing Simone and Aly up..

  104. dianajc99 Says:

Leave a Reply

