#MemmelGate 4 years later. Maddie Desch retires from elite

Maddie Desch from Instagram


Dear friends, family, and fans,
Today I am announcing my retirement from elite gymnastics. As some of you may know, I have been battling with a back injury for the past few months and it has prevented me from training at the level that I want and need. I recently found out that it was re-fractured, which leads me to this hard decision. I am so grateful for all of the opportunities I have had to represent the U.S. and wear that USA on my back. I have made so many great memories. I have not only grown as a gymnast, but a person through all of my experiences. With the little time that is left, I have decided to let my body heal and look forward to the amazing chapter I have ahead at the University of Alabama. I would like to thank everyone for their support throughout my journey as an elite gymnast.
Maddie Desch



Do you realize it’s almost been 4 years since Chellsie was screwed out of a chance to compete at Nationals because Marta was afraid she would show up and kick ass again like she did in 2008. Then of course there was the girl who sold her soul for tour money and a job being a judge .


Above is an interview with Chellsie from the Skating Lesson.


2016 US Classic roster I wonder if anyone will get screwed this year?




About 25 minutes in Chellsie confirms what I have been telling you people for years that Marta was fixated on getting those DTY’s on that Olympic team because she thought that would be the key to winning gold. Told you so:)


The discussion on the 2005 AA is hilarious. I love attitude Chellsie. Dave is a pesky interviewer but he didn’t ask about Nastia calling Chellsie fat and saying she stole her medal. Very disappointing.


Did I hear Chellsie say that she and Alicia  went to the USAG higher ups about to complain about not being picked at Trials? She kind of alludes to it and then doesn’t follow through. What ballsy kids.lol


VERY disappointed in one part of this  interview. They gloss over #MemmelGate with how she felt and never ask her at all about the fans petition or the backlash of that competition. She talks about how Marta saw her hit a great floor routine during training but the entire issue that happened when she wasn’t allowed to compete was completely glossed over.

If you didn’t watch this interview and thought of the one or 2 things you would have wanted asked one would be the Nastia calling her fat thing (and how Marta sent Alicia to smooth over the fued it caused and 2 would be everything about Memmelgate and Classics and not being allowed to compete. Now I get glossing over the fat comment but the MemmelGate was huge and it would have been nice to see it addressed.Yeah I know, go get your own interview GTT:)





44 Responses to “#MemmelGate 4 years later. Maddie Desch retires from elite”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I have to wonder if Memmel only did the interview on the concession that they gloss it over. Sometimes people do that in interviews – there are certain topics that have to be avoided, for PR reasons or personal reasons, etc. I bet Memmel per USAG cannot talk about it for sake of her current elevated position. She probably told them she is forbidden to discuss. Otherwise, why the hell would they have not brought that up?

    She was screwed, she knew it, but she forgave it for a job.


    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Then why bother doing interview with no good stuff?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Then why bother doing interview with no good stuff?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Haha ask anyone who interviews Britney Spears since her drug fest breakdown😉

      • Aerial Says:

        Total lost opportunity not to even steer her back to that USAG comment – especially in general when she was a completely neutral interviewee and clearly didn’t want to give new insight or lengthy answers.

  2. Guest Says:

    Mckayla seems to return “normal status” in social media. Here is her comment about it.

    • G Says:

      Glad she’s enjoying “real life”. I hate how people are hunched over their phones 24/7. It doesn’t look like she got a ton of face work done, probably just lip fillers. I wish she hadn’t though, they almost always look unnatural and silly.

    • Gymbee Says:

      ….And 5 minutes later she posts a photo of her jeans-clad behind. She’s still young haha.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        -and seeking attention. I feel icky just looking at her instagram anymore.

      • Guest Says:

        At least she doesn’t post the picture showing off her boobs now. Just keep an eye on how she is going. Maybe she was finding her future directions and life-changing experience away from social media for more than a month.

  3. Katie Says:

    I would also love to know more about the “fat” comment. I love the cat fighting and drama of the 08 squad. I’ve heard it was Nastia who said it but I’ve also heard it was valeri, so it would be interesting to know.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The rumor I orginaly heard was Nastia called Chellsie fat and Valeri , an alleged adult mind you went around telling anyone who would listen that Chellsie stole Nastia’s medal. Of course when rumors start they become the telephone game you played as a child so I have heard different versions through the years but regardless the Liukin family are assholes.

      • Katie Says:

        Such classless behavior for a grown man. And it’s pretty appalling that he has a position with USAG and could potentially be taking over Marta’s spot. If all of us gymternet plebes sort of know what happened then I’m sure USAG was well aware.

  4. dianajc99 Says:

    was Melissa metcalf kick of the UCLA team?

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      I think they are making room for hano, Ross, Kocian, and those twins. Five freshman is one more than they had a spot for.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I’m wondering if Nica is coming this year also? They could put Kyla on an academic scholarship…..

  5. dianajc99 Says:

    Desch retires from elite.

  6. Gymnast41 Says:

    Nia Dennis is competing at classics now and posted a (almost full w/o dismount) bar routine, it looks good!

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Where? Her name isn’t on the list….

    • Gymnast41 Says:

      Region 5 gym insider posted the vid and said she’s not doing an exhibition. I don’t know if/when they’re gonna update though

  7. Exgymgurl Says:

    BTW this is why Bailie is not on the classics roster: from Kzb’s Instagram

    kimzbShe is making the trip with routines nearly competition-ready… Gearing up to rock Championships!

    So she didn’t qualify to classics at camp, she has to show readiness there at classics for verification.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That just feels like such bull shit to me.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Bailie isn’t ready. She’s making a shot at it, but she’s been hurt way worse than anyone is saying. Kzb’s gymnasts that make or almost make world teams almost all end up broken, Peyton is on shoulder surgery 3, Chelsea Davis had no knee while at Georgia, Macy Toronto ( back), Kennedy baker has stayed healthy. Nica Hults is broken and may not even end up at UCLA, Bailie key ( back) funny that grace Quinn is quietly off to college and the only one she really has left is Ragan

  8. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    It seems that Mustafina is going for the AA in the Europeans. Something I didn’t count on, as she didn’t do floor or vault in the Russian Championships. http://rewritingrussiangymnastics.blogspot.com.es/2016/05/mustafina-to-test-herself-in-aa.html. It also seems that Afan is not training, so it could be a necessity for Musty to do the AA. If Afan can’t compete but she is still there and are not calling an alternate/substitute for her, Musty would need to fill her spot. Melnikova and Seda are all-arounders, but I don’t remember if Dasha can do all the apparatus to fill Afan’s void.

  9. H Says:

    Podium training part 1 and 2 – Europian championship :


  10. dianajc99 Says:

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Could Nia sneak in there for that bars/beam person? I remember she had an awesome standing arabian on beam (this is her, right?)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Yes but that is all she has that is pretty to watch on beam. Honestly I think Kocian has that spot locked up as long as she stays on.

  11. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Cata’s floor routine on Podium Training:

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I love Cata but I honestly can’t say this is her best, or even close. I looked at it non-biased and she missed a lot of her dance elements (well, the spin for sure). I do love the way she presents herself though and hope this all is cleaned up.
      Her landings need to have less bounce too. Her twisting somersault was also very Mustafina-like with the helicopter legs.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I think she added more difficulty since the test event. I don’t remember her Test Event routine very well, but the first pass definitely wasn’t there, so her routine may need some polishing before the Olympics. Cata isn’t at her best in this routine, you are right, but I want to see her at the finals. Many gymnast don’t show their best in the Podium Training and this routine was heavily spotted (is that the word used when the coach watches the gymnast very closely and helps her, right?), so I hope she will be better this weekend.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        i agree but her goal is to peak in 2 months not now. when are the Olympics anyway?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I still am unsure (correct me if I’m wrong here) …is Cata going to be going over Iordache? Is Iordache that injured?

        My gawd, what happened to Romania…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        no one knows for sure yet but if Cata is still training then Larisa must be pretty hurt. Larisa should get the nod if she’s ready on beam over Cata and this blog will be pissed if she isn’t named to the team over her. I get people love Catalina but my God Larisa has been the only bright spot for Romania FOR 4 YEARS If she gets screwed it world war 3 lol

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I have to say I’m a huge, HUGE Cata fan but I agree. Iordache deserves it. It’s embarrassing enough for Romania to have to keep convincing Cata to come back from retirement every 4 years. I can’t imagine she will do this again four years from now…Larissa is Romania’s only hope to even maintain a piece in the game.

        Plus I want Larissa to have that silver AA medal…

      • dianajc99 Says:

        In other romanian news. Maria Olaru has a tell all book coming out. Beating and bulimia stories galore.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I heard about that. Can’t wait

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I agree Larissa should be going and I would love for her to get an AA medal. But we are two months from the Olympics and, as far as I know, she is still not healthy or training at her full capacity. I don’t know if she can regain her former level after being away from training at full capacity for so long in so little time. So, unhappy as it makes me, I think is Cata who is going. Not because she is considered as a better option than Larissa, but because I don’t think Lari will be ready.

        Wikipedia says that the gymnastics competition will be between 6 and 21 august, if the scientist don’t convince the Olympic Comittee to cancel de Olympics.

  12. dianajc99 Says:

    Valentina looks pissed!!

Leave a Reply

