Yao Jinnan back in action

Link to routines


So far only beam.

150 Responses to “Yao Jinnan back in action”

  1. Gym Obsessed Says:

    Thanks for the link. After the 2015 Worlds, I am now a Shang Chungsong fan – purely wanting the best for her after seeing her continued improvement and hearing her personal story. I hope Yao is able to come back strong after her very long road to get here. The beam seemed fine? Perhaps not super strong but certainly not bad?

  2. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I commented on the other thread. I heard she is still in pain and not ready on bars yet. I hope she can do it come June. I think Chinese decide their team much earlier than the U.S

    I want all good things to her and Shangson.

  3. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Seda hit beam! 14.650 for her on Osijek.

  4. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Ellie Downie won gold on beam with a 14.950, with Kharenkova in second (14.925) and Seda in third (14.650). I have never seen Ellie score on beam so high. Three golds for her on Osijek so far.

    • Gymbot Says:

      Ellie might have two routines, her bars difficulty went up from 5.6 to 6.3 for finals and she used to have a lot of difficult elements on beam, including a Patterson dismount. Do you know her D scores for beam? Good news for Seda and Kharenkova but I feel as if whatever they do leading up to rio they won’t make the team until some of the others are too injured or score to compete

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Her D score for beam was 6.1. And just had 14.525 (6.0) on floor finals. With what she showed on vault and UB, she might be a good contender for the AA if someone else fails. I didn’t expected her to, because her scores on floor and especially on beam last year weren’t so high, but she seemed to have improved a lot this year. Even her consistency is better in my opinion. So I know that Simone is in a league of ther own, but if other figures like Melnikova or Iordache have a bad day in the AA final in Rio, if Ellie keep up with this scores, she might be a contender for bronze.

        I think Seda is much more a contender than Kharenkova, because they need another AA contender if neither Aliya or Komova can do the AA or, at least, another floor/beam contender. Seda is a better choice, because Kharenkova, much like Dasha Spiridonova, is a one even gymnast. She had only a 5.5 difficulty on floor and the last time I checked, a 5.00 on vault. She is only really useful on beam and she has many consistency problems in the event. But Seda has a 6.4 on beam (Kharenkova has 6.3), a DTY and a floor around 6, with a good UB too. She can be useful in any event and boost the team scores in two events they definitely need help. Seda is ahead of Kharenkova in the road to Rio; she has even been chosen as the travelling alternate for the European, so that is a good sign for her. There is no way Valentina is taking Dasha to Rio. The problem for Seda is that the team is already chosen. Valentina is taking Komova if she is somewhat healthy, even if we don’t know how she is. In fact, they announced the first the four gymnasts elected for the Europeans (Aliya, Afan, Paseka and Melnikova) and reserved the last spot for Komova until the last minute. Seda has chances (I don’t think that Kharenkova has any) but only if one of the seniors get injuried. But knowing Russia and Afan, Aliya and Komova’s continuous physical problems, it is far from impossible that Seda become the substitute of any of them. But she needs to show some consistency. She didn’t fall one on Osijek, but she fell five times in the Russian Championships. If she continues falling, Valentina will probably choose a newcomer like Skrypnik or Shelgounova over her.

      • Gymbot Says:

        I’ll keep my fingers crossed for seda but I am glad that kharenkova has some success although probably not in Olympic scale

  5. Gymbot Says:

    Yao looks pretty good here and she can stay on the beam, which this quad hasn’t been good to China. She modified her series and she doesn’t have the tuck full, but she already has all of her old skills, so it’s already a valuable routine at that. Her legs look much stronger, maybe she’ll have the missing 3rd vault and floor exercise for this team

  6. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Ellie Downie gets gold on Osijek on floor too. She got gold in the four apparatus. The Twitter account of Arabian Punch Front says that her AA score would have been 59.025 and the British Federation says that she will show some improvement in UB and vault in the European Championships. Larissa’s score for bronze in last years’ world was 59.107, so she could be a contender if she remains consistent and if those improvements are really true.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She missed every handstand in that bar routine. No way she gets a great score at the Olympics unless she fixes that. The beam looked great tho

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        You are right that she missed them, GTT. At least two if I am not mistaken. But the World Cup judges are the closest we have now to the ones who will judge the exercises in the European Championships and the Olympics. What I want to say is that it gives us a pretty good idea of what scores we can expect in the most important meets of the year, taking into account that the judges on Rio will be much severe. She has a execution deduction of more than 1.5 points, so I think the missed handstands didn’t go unnoticed. In any case, after last year’s UB final, I lost my faith a little in the UB judges, I have to say.

  7. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    59.125 with just one vault, sorry.

  8. H Says:

    Ellie Downie Beam EF.
    I am impressed, well done.

  9. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    And her floor: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NVOLY84gtA

    • H Says:


    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Sounds like she stole Simone Biles floor music. Love her double pike front but not a fan of anything else she does. I find the entire great Britain team un-watchable especially Fragpane and whatever she calls her spastic style on floor.

      I miss Beth Tweddle and only on bars.

  10. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    It seems that Andrea Raducan said that Iridon quit gymnastics and has retired from the sport.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I refuse to believe this. I have been pinching pennies to attend worlds in 2017 in Montreal Canada (where is my Bruins shirt anyway???:) and I want her to be there.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Iridon didn’t technically retire. She moved to Deva, which may as well be retirement because that’s not where the senior national team trains. In theory, maybe she goes to Deva, trains with Forminte and becomes great again lol.

        Prob not, haha.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Nope I am going with option number 2. Maybe she’ll re-find her love of the sport. Then again I am still waiting for little Maria Bonderenko to get healthy and come back too so my timeline just might be a little bit off.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        It don’t let me publish the links about Iridon.😦. Does WordPress censor you if you try to publish “sc*ew it”? If so, it is very sensitive.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        n the case of Iridion, there were rumors before, after 2015 European Championships, that she was tired and didn’t want to continue anymore. In an interview, the coach Lucian Sandu said so as well: http://www.wogymnast.com/2015/06/european-beam-champion-andreea-munteanu.html. If she had motivational problems before, with all the vitriol that Stoica and others had spew after the Test Event and the ups and downs that the Romanian federation has experimented since 2015 (including the return of Bellu and Bitang, who don´t seem to be exactly nurturing), I wouldn’t be surprised if she really decided to call it quits, to be honest.

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      Let’s try again without the badmouthing. The link with the information (I forgot last night, sorry) is this: http://www.wogymnast.com/2016/04/after-romanias-failure-to-qualify-full.html. In the case of Iridion, there were rumors before, after 2015 European Championships, that she was tired and didn’t want to continue anymore. In an interview, the coach Lucian Sandu said so as well: http://www.wogymnast.com/2015/06/european-beam-champion-andreea-munteanu.html. If she had motivational problems before, with all the vitriol that Stoica and others had spew after the Test Event and the ups and downs that the Romanian federation has experimented since 2015 (including the return of Bellu and Bitang, who don´t seem to be exactly nurturing), I wouldn’t be surprised if she really decided to call it quits, to be honest.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Your comment was in moderation. I have like 6 of the same comment waiting for my approval.lol Next time just let me know you posted something and I’ll check. More than one link automatically goes to moderation because wordpress considers that spam. This is a wordpress thing not me but the spam thing here is so good I will never complain.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Sorry, GTT. I tried to post it twice, but my cat likes to walk all over my laptop and we had a little situation with the number of posts. Anyway, sorry for bothering you.🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Not a bother at all. Silly cart I just wanted you to know that more than one link and wordpress needs it approved.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Still sorry, hehe. He also sent an email full of jjjjjjjjjj to my thesis director once because he wanted to sleep over the keyboard while I was going to the bathroom. Fortunately, my thesis director was more amused that anything else when I explained it to him.

      • Gymbot Says:

        What field did you write your thesis in Rocio?

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I am getting my Ph.D. in Early Modern History. I just have a year and a half left and I am tearing my hair out, hehe.🙂

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m finishing my phd in sociology (this summer hopefully, haha) so I feel your pain🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        What do you want to become with that degree?

        My friend has a degree in Journalism and she calls it the most useless thing she ever paid for.lol

      • Gymbot Says:

        Hahaha well I am sure you’re not alone in wanting to tear your hair out! Academia is brutal but hang in there

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Well, I want to be a college professor in History, so I need my Ph.D. I am a junior assistant professor (I think that’s the equivalent in English, but I am not so sure) in a college in Madrid, so I hope I will make it, even when it is not one of the most lucrative careers in the world, hehe. Wish you all the luck in the world, Ilanchik! And thanks for the encouragement, Gymbot!🙂

      • Gymbot Says:

        Here you need to hold a Ph.D. To apply for junior faculty positions. The market here is really bad, but hopefully Spain is rich with opportunities. Good luck!

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      Let’s try again. The link with the information (I forgot last night, sorry) is this: http://www.wogymnast.com/2016/04/after-romanias-failure-to-qualify-full.html.

  11. dianajc99 Says:

    The Trinidad Situation Explained https://thegymter.net/2016/05/02/the-trinidad-situation-explained/ via @thegymter_net

    A good article, I don’t agree with a lot of it but like she said it is truly
    as non biased coverage As I have seen.

    • LOL Says:

      There is nothing unbiased about the gymternet. That girl is a certified stalker.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Now LOL. Just because she thinks we are the same person doesn’t make her bad🙂

      • Cupquaked Says:

        I could have sworn she used to comment on here, under Lauren H or something? Or maybe that was someone else.

        In defence of her bias, she does run like an actual publication so she probs can’t be like GTT and say it like it is/how she personally feels sometimes as to avoid potential lawsuits, etc.

  12. sanitynmotion Says:

    I feel so out of it anymore. You guys talk Iridons and Fragapanes and Sedas and I don’t even know really who you are talking about.

    I do remember Yao Jinnan. Didn’t she do that insane release on bars once, the Mao or whatever? I hope she comes back 100% in Rio. I remember she could be an AA threat. Anyone to take GD off the podium, please please…

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I would like to think I am more enlightened then you but I am not really. I know Andreea because she was too cute a few years ago and had like a 6.4 start value on bars she always fell on. I was hoping she would get it together, she never did and they lowered her start value to like a 5.8. Frag i know because she’s a spastic dancer and everyone loved her routine and I was like, WTF are you people looking at and I know Seda from falling all the time.

      Oh start a blog and look for idea’s to use. That will help you out.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I think if gymnasts who not Gabby r scored at least reasonably well, Melnikova can prob beat Gabby, and Aliya. And maybe Larissa.

      If we must live through Gabby in AA, I hope she gets 4tg or better yet get 3rd AA among Americans during QF lol

      • gymnerd Says:

        Yeah, because, ya know, everyone has to learn to live with disappointment….

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I got the Spanish coverage of the qualifications. They didn’t follow Gabby that closely, so I had to watch the NBC coverage when you begin to talk about GD years ago and I still can’t believe she really said that. Or that she, looking at it from some years and distance, hasn’t apologized about that yet, even if it is only for her own PR’s sake.

    • G Says:

      Yeah It was Yao who was doing that Mo release back in 2013 I think. But I don’t remember her doing it since then, I think she fell on it during finals in Antwerp.

  13. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Romania WAG team for the Euros: Bulimar, Ocolisan, Ponor, Holbura and Vulcan. No Iridon, Jurca or Iordache, unfortunately.

  14. Gymbot Says:

    I am still going to the link in gtt’s post. I thought this routine was fantastic, by fan yilin. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=HmBGx0POW34

  15. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Catalina Ponor on bars. She said she is just playing around, but still interesting: http://wogymnastika.blogspot.com.es/2016/05/catalina-ponor-training-on-bars-video.html?spref=tw

    • Cupquaked Says:

      Her giants don’t look half bad for someone who supposedly hasn’t trained bars in 12 years. I guess she’s going for the full AA to up her Rio chances. Honestly both Iordache and Ponor have similar strengths. But I still think Larisa has a stronger AA than Ponor.

      I gotta say though. Ponor is putting a ton of retired gymnasts to shame. This girl is late twenties, “retired” multiple times, and is going ham on these routines. Her natural ability and form have not faultered much. And the fact that she can “bounce back” from retirement like this is impressive. Which makes the Romanian situation even more disappointing and sad.😦

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I can’t imagine that she would actually compete bars but I guess with Ponor, anything is possible.

        I do think those Giants looks serviceable. But trying bars would take away time from upgrading beam and floor, which is what she needs to do so im not sure it’s a good idea. But it’s clear, she wants that spot lol

        Also, no Larisa for Euro’s (for now, anyways). I kind of wonder how hee recovery is going. Are there any meets after Euro’s, before Olympics? Does anyone knows?

        Olympics should not be your first competitive meet of the season, not even Larisa’s.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I don’t know if there are more meets before the Olympics. Official meets, anyway. I know there is a couple of friendly meets in the horizon, but I don’t know if Romania is going to compete on them.

        I was surprised to see Cata on bars. I have never seen her compete them and I doubt I would see her now. But I suppose she probably had a basic set she could present at a competition as absolutely last resort, as it would always better to present a UB bar set of, say, a score of 10.000 than count a zero. In any case, if she is in fact training UB (something that I doubt) I think is more probable that she is training them to boost the team score in the Euros than to compete against Larissa. If she really believed she can be an AA contender with her bars, she would have tried to do them back in 2004 and would have probably won more than one medal. But she might have a higher score than some of her actual team members, even with her “only for emergencies” set. Holbura and Vulcan had scores in a good day arond 12.000. And I don’t think that Romania could bear to fail at the Euros too, so maybe she is traying to have a plan B on place, because neither Iridon, Jurca or Iordache, who are better on UB, are listed even as alternates.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        This was her peak year.04

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Look at her doing all those Nastia pirouettes! Four years before Nastia to boot.She’s seriously a beast. To be competing at the level she is, and she was “peaked” when Carly Patterson won her AA.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Looks like Ponor will be a “reserve” in case Iordache cannot compete to her highest level. I don’t see Ponor taking it from Iordache; I see Ponor wanting to be sure her country has the most adequate representation.

        I can’t help but wish Ponor could go, but not at the expense of Iordache.

        What the hell, Romania. Used to be so dominant but now can’t even qualify a country to the Olympics in gymnastics. I’m still shocked.

      • Melanie Says:

        Geez, Romania will have officially hit rock-bottom if they’re forcing Ponor to compete BARS because they have no one else that could possibly come up with a decent UB score. It would be like China relying on Cheng Fei to compete bars for them in the desperate hopes of a medal.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        yea, but we all know Romania had to hit rock bottom before they decide to change.

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      Ponor has to maintain herself in top condition. I do think that Iordache will be the chosen one, but she has to be ready in case she is still injuried/reinjuries herself. And Ponor will be the leader of the team in the Europeans and would be to add insult to injury if they don’t win any medals in the European Championships.

      I am sad for Romania’s absence of the Olympics, but I think that something like this had to happen for them to change and even in this situation they seems to be resisting said change. With Iordache, they would have qualified, because I think Romania was like four points behind the last qualifier, France; Iordache has scores in the mid 14.000 for all the apparatuses and, in the Test Events, they had to add scores of low 12.000 so if Iordache would have scored as usual just in two events, Romania would have been in Rio (the Final is other story). But they can’t keep doing these things. They need to adapt to the times. And if Ponor really does bars in the Europeans because she is their last resort in an event she has never competed in a Worlds or Olympics but in dire circumstances, then I will know that Romania, like Ukraine, is over. If they are so desperate, in the moment Iordache and Ponor retire, they will never come back, so the Romanian Federation better began to work to fix this mess.

  16. dianajc99 Says:

    So you’ve lost the panda..

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Are you the Giants fan that tried to mock me a few months ago? I forget I think it was you:)

      I still like Pablo and what they are doing to him is unfair. The media controls the big mouths in this city and sadly this is what you get when something like this happens. No one is capable of thinking for themselves.

      He didn’t have a bad spring training if I remember correctly but Shaw had a great one and poor Pablo got sandbagged by the idiotic pro democrat mentality of Massachusetts that money is bad and sap stories are good and these idiots are rich so figure that one out.

      It’s a sad situation and Pablo didn’t make it better by coming into camp with a big belly (especially with Hanley looking as great as he does) but the fat shaming that is happening here is appaling especially since Pablo has made some great plays in the field that no one seems to remember. It’s sad that this is the one form of discrimination still acceptable in society by adults.

      We will never know what he could have done if he had been allowed to play. At least Hanley got a fair shot at redemption that IMO he and pablo didn’t even need.

      I HATE the media in this town and even more I hate the idiot radio listeners that let the idiots of our media dictate what everyone thinks.

      Boston media is the worst in the business. Even worse than NY.

    • dianajc99 Says:

      yup i’m the giants fan.. I actually miss the panda.I cant wear my hat at the park anymore.
      But you have to admit for a highly paid professional athlete with his own personal chef shouldn’t be having these problems in season.

  17. dianajc99 Says:

    both “Belorussians” Dickson ans Kwan to Europeans.

    • gymbot Says:

      is there anyone else on the team? or has their arrival on the team ‘inspired’ others to quit gymnastics?

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Svetlana Lifenka and Dziyana Hramko are going too, but not as AAers.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        Dziyana Hramko,Svetlana Lifenka are also going for the seniors.and they have a full junior team. wont be strange at all not speaking the same language as your teammates.

        Aliaksandra Artsiukh
        Anastasiya Harodnaya
        Dziyana Kirykovich
        Volha Mikhalap
        Hanna Traukova

      • Cupquaked Says:

        Have they at least gone to Belarus yet? Or like trained with the team at all? The mix sure will be interesting….gymnastics is so full of drama right now.

  18. H Says:

    USA Today, Interview – Maggie Haney (MG elite coach) talks about OG, Laurie and Jazmyn:


  19. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Ponor on bars again. I’m starting to think, she is not keep doing and she is trying to get her bars back after 12 years lol

    Yestarday normal Giants , today front giant 😅 #onestepforward #crazygirl #funtimeatbars #playing

    A video posted by Catalina Ponor Official (@catalina_ponor) on

    Btw, they made Raducan a team manager for Euro’s so she will be going with the team. Too bad she can’t compete for the team instead, haha.

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      Very suspicious….We’ll see. I didn’t know about Raducan. I like her, so I hope she can help the Romanian Federation to improve.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Do people train giants for no reason? I really get the impression that she’s going to be training bars. Huh.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        If she manages to present an exercise of plus 12.000 on UB after not compiting it for almost all her senior carreer, I don’t know if I’ll applaud her because she would be a kickass goddess and we all should worship her or I’d want to smack her for not doing UB back in 2004 when, with her scores in vault, beam and floor, she could have been an AA medalist easily.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Let’s just applaud her.🙂
        Plus if she only scores 12 on UB she would not have won the AA in 2004, right? Her scores on floor and beam weren’t crazy high enough to make up for the UB.

        Although back then it was still based on the 10 scoring system, right?

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        It was the old code. With consistency, even with “meh” UB, she could have made it. It was not like now that it is impossible for her to compete with a 12.000 UB with people with scores of +14.000 because the difference would be enormous. In 2004, in the podium were Carly, Sveta and Zhang Nan. Carly had a total of 38.387, Sveta 38.211 and Nan 38.049. Cata had in the team final, without UB, 28.962. With an UB of 9.287, the lowest score of a Romanian in the qualifications that year (Alexandra Eremia), a score fairly low for the time, she would have had 38.249. She would have been silver in the AA. Even with a lower score, like 9.100, she would have been bronze. (Thanks to Wikipedia and its great tables of scores of the past Olympics and World Championships). So I saw her videos and I thought: “Dammit, woman! You could have been even more succesful in 2004”. If she can pull this after just months of full training and after three years of retirement, I am sure she could have presented a fairly consistent exercise of 9.000 or 9.100 back in 2004.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Looking at Ponor’s swing, makes me angry she didn’t do bars in 2004. But I wonder if she closed se to stop training them so she could focus on beam/floor and she got gold on both so I guess it worked. She also wasn’t as much of a stand as she is now so I think it was a strategy.

        Alternatively, I think in an interview last year, she said bars always scared her and she didn’t have good basics (much like Asac) so perhaps she stopped bars to avoid injury. Romania had more usable bars them. But now, after seeing Romanian gymnastics in ruins, and with nothing to loose, maybe she decided it was worth. Even if she doesn’t make AA on a big stage, I would love to see her compete bars at some friendly meet, just to she has awesome she is haha

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        If she does UB on the Europeans, I will have a heart attack. But is she is really training UB at her age, after two retirements, without being training for long after her last injury and she pulls this off, she will be the Queen of awesomesness.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She can
      ‘t help them on bars lol

  20. H Says:

    I thought Asuka Teramoto did retire? Then I saw this:

  21. dianajc99 Says:

    The new Made in America is up.2003-2004. they just gloss over the Olympic silver.

  22. dianajc99 Says:

    they have unblocked the test event videos

    this is going to euros instead of the J.O.nationals

  23. dianajc99 Says:

    Regan Smith has a Patterson dismount.. but she has a knee bend on the backhandspring going into it??

  24. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Not sure if anyone remembers Taylor Lindsay-Noel. She was a Canadian gymnast who suffered a spinal injury in 2008. This is a documentary that she and a few of herdlassmates created on her story. Sad but so powerful. I hope her coach is no longer coaching but he probably is.

    Only 15 minutes minutes.


    • G Says:

      Oh my gosh, I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of her. It’s unbelievable that her coach showed no remorse. I wrote an article for a nonfiction class last year about the dark side of gymnastics. I wish had known her story then to include it. So sad😦

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        It’s sadly how few heard about her story. She has her own podcast now and she went into even more details on the first about what happened.

        She was teammates with Elyse Hoffner–Hibs and Peng Peng Lee. It happened 2 weeks before Elyse completed in Beijing. Can’t imagine.

        Sad all around. I was glad to see the video.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That coach should never be allowed to train any other athletes ever again.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Illanchick do you have a link to Lindsay’s podcast? She’s inspiring. Such a great attitude and she carries herself so well (no pun intended). He form wasn’t the best as a gymnast but she was still really young when it happened and had lots of time to polish her skills. But a double layout at 14 isn’t that a pretty big deal? I feel so awful for her and I’d love to punch her coach in the face for asking a gymnast to attempt a skill he didn’t even know how to coach. No successful elite coach would ever ask a gymnast do a skill without proper training, that just boggles me.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:


        Here is Lindsay’s podcast. Episodes 1 and 2 is where she talks about the injury. Episode 1 is about 1 is about the accident and episode 2 is the aftermath in the hospital

        They r both worth listening to.

        Not only did the coach not know how to coach the skill but she was clearly scared of the skill as she talks about it and bars was her weakest event. I would punch that coach too.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        What I don’t understand is why was she even doing this skill over a mat…don’t they have it where if you’re training a new dismount, you dismount into a pit of foam blocks? This injury wouldn’t have happened had the coach had the proper equipment or used common sense. A new dismount and she was training it on a mat? Like are you kidding me?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Right? Totally the coach’s fault.

        I feel like I read or heard somewhere close that the gym was being renovated so there wasn’t proper safety mats available which is why she was trying on just the simple mat. But like, if that’s the case, don’t have someone train a new skill they are scared off and one that hasn’t been competed internationally at that point? Makes me angry for her.

    • Mim Says:

      Oh is this the girl that Jess at Gymcastic mentioned recently? I was going to hunt down the podcast so thanks for sharing!🙂

  25. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Interesting status update by Cata.

    Thoughts? Perhaps there is a reason she is training bars all of the sudden lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Is she saying she has no friends on this team??

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        She seems to say that literally, but I think that is more that those were the girls she grew up with and were her real friends, in a way that her present teammates, ten years or more younger than her and with which she has no relationship with until she came out of retirement, could never be.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah these were probably her best friends/training mates. Not to rule out they were top-notch like best in the world. Now she’s part of a team that’s probably so deflated and down that they are no longer even close to being a powerhouse, and almost a joke. It’s not really their fault either so I’m sure there’s a ton of negativity going on behind the scenes.
        She probably feels alone.

  26. Guest Says:

    Finally Nastia posted a hanging picture in Shawn’s wedding.

  27. JAS4 Says:
  28. JAS4 Says:
  29. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I’d say Cata may be training bars lol

    New day, new skill 😂😈💪🏻 #bars #gymnastics #nevergiveup #imreallycrazy #nothingstoppingme

    A video posted by Catalina Ponor Official (@catalina_ponor) on

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      Okay, that’s beyond simply being playing around. What the hell? Is she aiming for the AA twelve years after she should have or is Romania so desperate that they are encouraging her to not embarrass themselves in the Euros? This year in the Euros there is only team final (no AA).

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        My guess is that she is trying to up her chances to be selected for Rio. I think if this was only about the team, she would have trained them for the test event. I do think Romania is desperate and if Larissa can’t go, with a descent bars set, Cata can at least make AA final, making Romania look a little better.

        I do think it’s more than playing and she is trying to figure if she could pull it off. I’m guessing she trains a bars a little to see if she could do it, without them being her major thing she trains because bees is not where she can get a medal lol

        I want to know who is coaching her on bars? Haha.

        But ahh, why couldn’t she do them in 2004. Her form looks decent. Now I blame Belu and Bitang.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I’d bet anything Larissa’s injuries are worse than they are saying

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I agree with you both. Maybe she is trying to get something halfway decent to compete AA if necessary, because even mediocre bars would get her in the AA with her scores in beam, vault and floor. Not in medal contention, but in the AA final for sure. Iordache would still be the best option, but if Larissa’s injuries are worse than we know, as Exgymgurl suggest, she is Romania’s plan B. But I would be royally pissed if after 2004, when she was the absolute Queen with Khorkina, she pulls off an UB bars routine that could have given her a place in the AA podium in the past.

        In any case, she is not playing at all. We well see what comes out of this at the end, but she is up for something. Let’s see what happens tomorrow. BTW, Romania’s team is in Madrid for a friedly meeting with Spain. Cata is not coming, but the rest of the (healthy) team is coming, incluying Bulimar. I’ll try to go and see them, but I work tomorrow, so I don’t know if I’ll be able to.

      • Gymbot Says:

        I though Larissa is back training

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        That what they said, Gymbot, but she is definitely not back to competitions. She is not in the rooster for the Europeans and she is not going to any friendly meets for the moment. She is maybe trying to make up for the lost time focusing only in training or needs some more time after her injury to regain her previous level.

  30. dianajc99 Says:

    MyKayla Skinner working hard to get into prime form on the road to Rio: https://t.co/4ExdIcrRrs @MSkinner2016— FloGymnastics (@FloGymnastics_) May 6, 2016


  31. dianajc99 Says:

    Nastia Warning

    hun, old pic. I cant help but notice the russian lady in back praying.

  32. Exgymgurl Says:

    http://campaign.r20.constantcontact.com/render?m=1104002974775&ca=d55deb9a-00b7-4faf-8cf6-f6d4169bd3fd Draws are up for rio

  33. H Says:

    mini glimpse of Key training bars from tumblr:

    • Melanie Says:

      Thanks for posting! This is the first footage I’ve seen of her in a long time, and she looks great. Wishful thinking would put her in Rio, but I don’t know what her chances are at this point.

  34. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Romania lost to SPAIN in the friedly meeting today and got bronze in the AA after Ana Pérez and Claudia Colom. Man, they are screwed. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to critize my country and we had our moments, but we are very far from being a superpower in gymnastics right now. We haven’t even been able to classify for the Olympics and they had three of the people who are going to the Europeans competing (Bulimar and Iordache didn’t, but they are in Madrid… there are pictures of them watching Nadal’s game against Murray).

    • Gymbot Says:

      Euros will be hotly contested with Romania out and Russia sending a team that will either be fantastic or will implode on itself

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Russia is sending the team they are probably sending to the Olympics sans Komova. In theory, is a pretty powerful team in all apparatus but on floor. The main problem I see is that we don’t know what they are capable of doing right now, because two of the most important members of the team, Aliya and Afan, have been injuried for a long time. If Aliya has recovered her previous health and her Baku’s level, she is pretty reliable and capable of achieving several medals. If Afan is healthy as well, she can be used on vault and beam and can conquer floor and Melnikova is very good. But if Aliya and Afan are still not in good enough shape, this could be GB’s Europeans. Maybe, if Romania is not better, can be Russia, GB and even the Netherlands in the podium.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      So not to sound judgy but why were Diana and Lari in Spain if they weren’t competing, while Ponor is back in Romania training–and it appears to be, training all 4 events.

      Something about Lari’s injury isn’t adding up to me.

  35. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Look at Giulia’s vault! She said she want to present it at the Euros!


    • Gymbot Says:

      Awesome, perhaps a vault medal at the Olympics is no longer out of her reach.

      • H Says:

        What is the D-score for this vault? Its a new vault or?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        It’s a new vault. Asac was training in 2011 and 2012. I love Giulia but forever bitter it didn’t become a Sacramone. Stupid Marta.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I think is a new vault she wants to be named after herself. I am not sure of its value. Is it a double twisting layout Rudi? It seems to me like a Rudi with an extra half twist. A Rudi is 6.2 with the new code, but I don’t know how much extra value would it have with another twist. Maybe another 0.5?

      • Gymbot Says:

        Could be 0.5, all of the handspring vaults seem to increase 0.4 per half twist beginning with the handspring front layout, at 5.0. So at least 6.6 is my guess. Either way it will give her a chance a medal once it’s consistent

      • H Says:

        Simone Paseka Hong ( is doing Amana and Cheng (6.3+6.3?)

        What is Giulias second vault, does anyone know?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        A DTY I think, unless she upgraded that to amanar but I doubt it.

        At best, she is fighting for a bronze but it’s possible.

        Paseka has been looking very iffy this year but she’ll prob be better come Rio.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        In 2015’s quals it was a DTY, 5.8. If her new vault is credited, I doubt she can present both the new vault and the Rudi, as they probably would be considered of the same family. Then, 5.8+6.6-6.7. Simone, Paseka and Hong would have a maximum of 12.6 difficulty with both vaults, and Giulia around 12.4, depending of the value they would give to the new vault. It could be higher and Giulia is very clean in her DTY (she had a 9.100 in Europeans last year) so they would be very close. And if Dipa lands her Produnova with a 7.00 value, she has another 6.00 vault. So I think this Olympics’ vault final will be very interesting.

  36. H Says:

    Improving –> her new vault:


    A video posted by Giulia Steingruber (@giulia_steingruber) on

  37. Guest Says:

    Mckayla is back to IG after 6 weeks silence. Guess any surgery she has done.

    • G Says:

      I actually thought she looked the closest to her 2012 self than she has in awhile. Nice to see her without so much makeup caked on her face.

      • Guest Says:

        Some comments say that this should be an old picture taken in 2014.

      • G Says:

        That crossed my mind too because she’s just looked so different lately that I’m not sure it would be possible for it to be current. I guess we’ll find out eventually when there’s an actual recent sighting of her.

      • Guest Says:

        Some comments even guess she messed up her face by plastic surgery. So that’s why she won’t post any recent pictures currently. 😕

      • Guest Says:

        She posted one more. Wonder if it is recent photo. She looks getting freckles on her face.

  38. Ilanchik20 Says:

    The rumor on tumbler is that Larisa is back in a cast for 3 more weeks. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

