The Re-return of Catalina Ponor




You need to be signed into facebook to see it but I think she looks great on beam.


This is her prelims routine at the Doha Challenge



31 Responses to “The Re-return of Catalina Ponor”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Think my comment got spammed again.

  2. Exgymgurl Says:

    None of the links are working

  3. JAS4 Says:

    Beam from quals

  4. Cupquaked Says:

    Just saw it on IG’s fb page. She looks good. I really hope by April she’s even stronger. Is Romania really going to the test event without Larisa?😦

  5. Brainy Says:

    She does look good.

    I like that she leaves out the “bow down to the Beam gods” lunge in the mount sequence. You know… the one that all the US gymnasts love.

    What is the trick at 1:00? A Miller? It would be very cool if she perfects some sort of side-shoulder somersault out of it.

    • G Says:

      I think the miller has an extra turn in handstand. Either way, it’s a nice skill. She looks great

    • Gymbot Says:

      A Miller doesn’t exist in the fig code but g is right. I think her flick to handstand is an olianchik, sorry about the spelling

  6. sanitynmotion Says:

    I said this in my comment that went into the spam folder – doesn’t her arm swings make it so that her connections won’t count under the new code? I’m honestly just curious.

    I love Cata though. I am glad she’s back even though I don’t know how many more Olympics she’ll be able to “save” Romania. Just sad – they used to be so dominant!

  7. Melanie Says:

    Great work from Cata. She’s a legend.
    In other news, both Mustafina and Komova are sitting out Russian Championships. Mustafina because she’s not ready, and Komova because of back pain (possible injury?). The Olympic selection process for Russia makes no sense…

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      the Olympic selection process for Russia this year will be whoever they know will have a clean urine test and not internationally embarrass them.

      • KG Says:

        Did we ever hear who tested for drugs from that article where mustafina was the picture but they just said it was a photo from the comp?

  8. Mim Says:

    Some days I struggle to keep a good yoga pose and here’s Cata, same age as me, just killing it like she’s a teenager almost. She’s fabulous.

    As an aside to the blog post, a photo of Norah sitting in a wheelchair, right foot in a boot, has surfaced on IG.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Someone find out where Ilana is Stat and make sure she’s not at a cliff about to jump off

      • Gymbot Says:

        She may have jumped. I would have expected her to reply by now

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m here and I’m swearing at all the gym gods. Damn injuries. Ugh.

        Thanks for thinking of me.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        P.S I’m at a conference listening to crazies or I would have commented long time ago!

      • Mim Says:

        Sorry to be the bearer of bad news Ilana. There may have been cursing here too!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Wow that sucks. I guess Ragan’s stock is rising…

        I hope whatever it is it can be healed up soon.

      • G Says:

        Ugh I’m so mad about this! But I guess it explains why she wasn’t in Jesselo. Better to be left off for being hurt than for failing to impress, right? I wonder if whatever her injury is can heal up quickly. It’s about 3 1/2 months till trials…

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I heard it’s a minor injury. Perhaps it was just to clean up something from her last injury.

        I’m hoping that since she is in a boot, her bars will be even better since that’s prob all she can work on now. This could be a blessing in diguse, especially if her new bars can best Gabby’s lol.

        But damn you Marta. Norah was fine at the last camp so it’s prob happened at camp ugh.

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        I’m gonna hope that this is chow’s way of holding Norah off until classics so she’ll show up and be like “back at it again with the killer beam and bar routines” lol.

  9. katecoursey Says:

    She’s a gem for sure. Here’s to hoping Romania holds it together at the test event.

    Not sure if anybody posted this, but Maroney’s coaches responded to her interview here:

    Pretty much boils down to “We made you World/Olympic champion, what are you complaining about,” from what I could tell.

    • KG Says:

      Yeah I thought their responses were fairly classy. Obviously they didn’t love what she said but they didn’t rant or call she a bunch of names. And vice versa, she criticized them, or their methods, but didn’t completely bad mouth.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You do not become a world class gymnast without tough love. Not condoning it but Mckayla was one great vaulter but she brought little else to the table. Her floor was okay and her beam and bars were mediocre. I can remember one great beam routine from Mckayla’s entire career.

        Even the great coaches like Chow are not all fun and games.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I agree – I feel like Maroney criticised their methods, and not them. She didn’t go all out ad hominem.

        I also think it’s easier for gymnasts to speak up once they’re retired, because they’re also adult when retired.
        They look back and when they were in gymnastics they were children/tweens.
        Obviously coaches would coach adults and children differently, and there must be occassions that must seem ridiculous as adults looking back on years of training.

        I do think that when gymnasts criticise training methods etc, their parents must bear a large part of that blame. They’re the ones who sent their kids into that situation, and who are responsible for their physical and emotional well-being.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Does anyone know if Maroney’s little sister still doing gymnastics? If do, did she switch gyms? Lol

        I’m pretty sure she was doing gymnastics at some point.

  10. Sainabou Nyang Says:

    I thought Catas beam was good, but I’m wondering where she is right now on floor and vault.

Leave a Reply

