NCAA Senior night is a better gift giving holiday than Christmas. Jesolo team named


Can’t believe Bridget Sloan is finished with College already. It seems like yesterday she got injured before Trials and left me teary eyed.


Skinner wins World Cup

USA-gymnastics article



Skinners Routines

Uneven Bars

Balance beam



Speaking of gifts go watch UCLA gets UB scores in the 9.950 range with double tucks as their dismounts and then watch Madison Preston get a 9.875  with a big step and a small step and she’s off to the side. This is why I HATE UCLA gymnastics. The overscoring they receive is blatant cheating.


But a flash was in my eyes, waaaaaaaah. Do over for you. OMG this is so ridiculous. Maybe when Katelyn broke the beam merited a do over (maybe)but give me a break.



Seniors to Jesolo: Raisman, Douglas, Skinner, Hernandez, Smith, Locklear, Schild, Johnson-Scharpf, Gaskins.


Juniors to Jesolo: Chiles, Malabuyo, Perea, Thomas.


Why is Marta over competing Gabby is my question. Glad Simone and Maggie are staying home to stay healthy tho I wonder if Marta is trying to let Gabby keep winning because Maggie won’t be there. Aly better step up. We get to watch Steve Nunno act like a fool again, That is always fun🙂


My mean side is hoping Marta is over Gabby and she wants her to fail but if she really wanted that, Maggie would have competed her Amanar at the American Cup.


Why is Schield sent to so many meets. She’s just so , blah..

130 Responses to “NCAA Senior night is a better gift giving holiday than Christmas. Jesolo team named”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I’m actually impressed Mykayla is cleaning up her form. Keep this up I’ll be rooting for her to be on the Rio team. Where would she fit though…either she’s taking Nichols’ spot or Aly’s spot (that’s probably not happening)…ugh, I keep going back to how MyKayla just makes the perfect alternate. Last go around’s Ebee.

    I don’t watch college gymnastics but what you say about UCLA makes me hope that Kyla just kills it the next four years.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Kyla will do great in College. She’s relatively clean and will be even better with the easier skill level.

      I wouldn’t call Mykayla ‘s form improved on anything but the vault which looks better than Aly and Maggie’s.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I thought her double layout whatever (first pass on floor) looked a lot cleaner (she’s straighter in the air) and her general tumbling cleaned up – not as flexed feet. But she did step out of bounds. I dunno. I’m not a Skinner fan but she’ll need more than an amanar to make this team (at least that’s my thoughts…who knows what Marta thinks…)

        But I don’t see Gabby getting one. Aly’s just needs a clean-up. Maggie should have hers back. And Simone’s rocks.

      • Mim Says:

        There’s a gif of Mykayla’s switch leap and sissone on floor making the rounds and it looks like she’s hitting her split way better (maybe it just looks that way to me?). Call me crazy, I still sorta like her and wouldn’t hate her making the team, even if she was just the alternate.

  2. exgymgurl Says:

    Its not that, Biles was committed to Jesolo, and they need a big name to sell tickets. Marta has Aly, Gabby and Maggie all fighting for the 2-3 AA spot. This puts Aly / Gabby head to head. Marta basically said during the Nastia cup that Gabby is a slacker in her preparation.

    • Laura Says:

      It may be the only way Marta knows how to motivate Gabby…if she keeps sending her to competitions, the girl may put forth more effort in practice. Sounds like it’s her only option to keep Gabby’s work ethic up.

  3. Gymnast41 Says:

    Maybe she’s trying to wear her out before summer or not send her to pac rim..? Who knows what is going through her head lol. Aly better kill it

  4. Gym Obsessed Says:

    I wonder who is going to Pac Rims now b/c where is Key? Norah? Are they not going to Jesolo b/c they’re going to Pac Rims? Why in the world is Johnson-Scharpf, not to mention Gaskins and Schild? Are they seriously in consideration for Rio? This is very confusing.

    • Mim Says:

      Jesolo team is a huge WTF and raises so many questions. Even the order in which the names are listed (I presume strongest to weakest) makes me wonder what is going on.

      Is Gabby going a positive (to win? get more experience? keep up motivation) or a negative (wear her out?). Is Maggie not going a positive (more rest and locked in for Pac Rims!)? No Madison either, is she injured or being wrapped in bubble wrap/saved for Pac Rims?

      Was Skinner’s inclusion in the Jesolo team dependent on her World Cup performance? I feel like if she had even one fall or stumble at Glasgow she wouldn’t be going to Jesolo.

      Norah and Bailie falling off the face of the earth is concerning and confusing. Does Locklear have a strong second event warranting making the Jesolo team when girls like Norah or Bailie aren’t there? Is Marta blacklisting them because they are a threat to Gabby and Aly (conspiracy theory).

      Are girls like SJS, Schild, Gaskins the strongest of the C team now based off their camp results? I don’t even remember Schild’s gymnastics. Does this mean they have more of a shot at Rio than say Meals or Alyssa (even though in reality I don’t see any of them making it to Rio trials).

      The only things that make sense are Simone being saved for Pac Rims and Aly going to Jesolo for more experience after a pretty meh Worlds.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I don’t know an answer to some of these but:

        1) I think Gabby is going to motivate her. Although it was never a plan for her to go because she was at camp. She flew in tonight. I am thinking Marta is pulling her away from Ohio so she can’t film that stupid reality show cause I don’t think Marta wants any gym coverage in it.

        2) Kocian is injured. She was in a big at the media summit although she said it was minor and she hopes to be back at Pack Rims.

        3) Marta is sending 6 seniors to Pack Tims since it’s the Olympic year so that still leaves some spots open.

        4) I hope Norah isn’t injured again.

        5) Schild had a very good DTY last year–I guess it’s possible she has an amanar now. That’s been the gossip anyways.

        6) Skinner is going cause she is already in Europw, so why not.

      • Gym Obsessed Says:

        YES – Mim. Exactly your train of thought. I agree with your answers Ilanchik but can I say please no to #4.😦 I was really hoping she’d give a shake up to last year’s world team. I can’t really put my finger on it, but I’d be bored with a Simone, Aly, Gabby, Madison, Maggie team and I’m afraid that’s where we’re heading…

      • Mimi Says:

        And I know she isn’t the best gymnast around, but I wonder what happened to Gowey? Wasn’t she on the nominative list?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She’s probably injured again

  5. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Gabby, really? I hope this wears her out and she is a mess by summer lol.

    And no Norah, so annoyed. I just don’t understand that Schild or SJS is better than Norah at this point. I hope she plans on sending Norah to Pac Rim’s.

    Aly please beat Gabby! #prettyplz

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Norah and Raegen and Key should all be competing as much as possible to prove themselves.

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        I really don’t get what’s up with Norah and now I’m starting to get concerned…understand key and kim zb, but Norah and chow? Just please be a legitimate reason like an injury or something

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Kim is being punished. First they hire Rhonda for her job. Then they leave Bailie home, now this.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        If Marta is trying to punish Kim, I don’t get why Reagan is going lol.

        Marta makes less and less sense each time. Aly better beat Gabby.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I was thinking Norah was Kim too. Too many little ones for me to care about plus I’m tired.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Norah is with Chow. What does she have against Chow now? This better not be due to GD.

        I kind of wonder though if because Norah is in direct competition with Kocian for that spot, so Marta is saving that spot.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I know! I’m so upset Norah isn’t going. I don’t want her to be injured but like, I don’t get it. I know Chow is pacing her but she needs a senior international assignment for Marta to consider her for Rio. She better be going to Pac Rims.

        Marta and Nunno in Italy together–at least there is that. I am actually surprised Marta is willing to take her lol

      • Gymbot Says:

        Norah wasn’t added to the national team whereas Hundley and Locklear were, so perhaps this jesolo field was set then.

        Gaskins is probably the biggest surprise

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Not really when you consider Marta hates Steve Nunno and wants to crush that ex Shannon Miller coach into the ground. Marta’s mean.

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        Yeah like wasnt gaskins scoring like a 54 in the summer? Lol

  6. Aerial Says:

    Skinner? I don’t like this…

  7. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Saw this message from UCLA gymnastics.

    Does that mean Simone is planning on going to UCLA after Rio (a la Jordyn)?

    Oh and it’s Simone’s bday today🙂

    • Guest Says:

      But I think Simone still have power to dominate women gymnastics after Rio and until Tokyo.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She definitely does but she’s said in multiple interviews if she wins Rio she’s going to step aside and let other girls have a chance for the next competitions. Kind of makes me wonder then what she thinks about the likes of Gabby coming back, haha.

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        I don’t know about that haha, I’ve read stuff reposted on her tumblr about how she’s wanting to be the next “Kohei” lol. I think it’s possible for her to pull a 2 year break and come back a superstar. I don’t see her not taking any time off after seeing what it did to past olympians that stuck with it but got injured…The girl will be a superstar after Rio and will be busy probably living life in LA lol.

      • Gym Obsessed Says:

        Yea – sanity – I haven’t seen her step aside comments since she went pro, so I wonder if she changed her mind? I did read that she said that earlier though and maybe she’s said it since and I missed it??

    • gymmom2 Says:

      I think that means “almost” as in she signed a letter of intent so we can say she picked us – just that pesky Olympics kept her from coming to UCLA. Don’t see Simone pulling mats for Val. I think maybe Jordyn didn’t get the big bucks, so needed a gig like that – plus got her in to a top school without all that messing competing for admissions with the plebeians. Simone is just sooooo marketable.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Simone could be even more marketable than Shawn Johnson with her personality – only problem is, Hollywood and the likes are pretty racist. No joke. I probably will get killed for bringing this up, but here’s my point: didn’t Vanessa Atler and even Shawn have McDonalds commercials and Reese’s Pieces and stuff like that before their Olympics? Coca-Cola commercials? I remember seeing Shawn in some stupid commercial before I even knew of her (like before I started getting crazy about following gymnastics again). This was while waiting at a gas station (Shawn’s commercial, so I know she was widely marketed before Beijing).

        Simone should have even more endorsements by now. The only one of any of these gals to achieve a 3-peat in Worlds. She “should” be marketable but the problem is, I don’t see many big guns marketing her.

        Am I wrong? Or should I just keep my mouth shut.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It’s still early. By the time of the Olympics, Simone could have them all the same endorsements. Simone could be the new Sarena Williams only not a bitch and overrated . Watching Simone on Ellen made me realize she is not the MLR type and won’t get her endorsements. She very much reminds me of Shawn.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Ummm.. No jordyn made well over a million in endorsements before the olympics. She pulls mats because she’s smart, it lets her train with the team and the coaches, gets her tuition paid for ( why spend $$ you don’t have to) and voila she’s in decent shape for the upcoming tour with no $$ out of pocket. Why wouldn’t you take free college if you wanted to get a degree? Jordyns family is very savvy financially and her parents could have paid for her college. Her and Gabby are both estimated at the same net worth of 3 million. Except Jordyn didn’t buy her parents houses cars and trips. Jordyn isn’t paying for training either. I almost wonder if Gabby isn’t hurting financially more than people have let on and doesn’t need the income from winning SCAM and the smaller check from Jesolo. Her reality show has been in the can and optioned to three different networks before ending up at Oxygen. It wasn’t expected to get any ratings outside of an Olympic year which is why it doesn’t even debut until May I believe? Also there is no entry for it on IMDB which is the gold standard that all networks use for their projects. Makes you wonder if it’s still conditional and how much of her own $$ is sunk into it. Oxygen would have a page on IMDB. I’m honestly beginning to think that she is buying the time from the network like an infomercial would and responsible for getting her own sponsors…..

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby’s mother goes on vacation every other week. I wonder who pays for that?

        Oprah is over. Time for her to go away and die.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t believe any of these gymnasts made 3 million.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Jordyn got 2.5 just for P&G before the olympics. Then she had adidas, and she had AT&T and her tour $$. Plus she has Kellogg’s. Easily 3 million. She has speaking engagements also all over those are about $25k each. I think Simone will get a bad ass Nike campaign, rumor has it she was shooting it in LA the same time they did all the pre Olympic press. Simone already has GK Leo’s. She probably has a series of PG ads lined up along with something for ATT and probably Coca-Cola also. I wouldn’t be surprised if she’s already inked DWTS over the gymnastics tour or if that paycheck is still being negotiated between that and Kellogg’s for the tour. That all is probably. That’s probably easily 4 million she will have as an NCAA nest egg. Knowing her parents, I could see them encouraging her to take Jordyns role and get a free education and save her $$.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ok I must leave an apology because I was scatter brained today. In no way did I mean “Hollywood” per se was racist (I thought that argument during the Oscars was beyond ridiculous, and I could rant on and on why), but in general mass marketing is a bit racist. But mostly sexist when you think about it (and Hollywood can be said to be sexist too because how many leading male roles are there vs. female roles…anyways). There are only so many black females they want to “sell” – same with whites, same with people of certain “looks.” Michael Phelps will be Rio’s big “white male” Olympian (in the US; Ryan Lochte got that last go-round I think) and for Simone’s case, I wanted to try and make a point (or two) based on what I have seen from previous Olympics/mass marketing.

        1. Seemed like Shawn Johnson had more big ads before her Olympics. I could be saying this too soon, maybe Simone has some lined up in the future. Seems like Vanessa Atler had a lot of big promos too. Seems like mass marketing REALLY likes the blonde pixie girl. We don’t have that this time. We have two black women representing the sport (of gymnastics, which we can agree is the “Queen” of sports in the summer Games). Seems like this time around, media will be broadcasting two black gymnasts competing against each other, rather than showcasing the one that has been dominating this quad. This leads me to my other point, that wasn’t even touched on because I hit enter too soon.

        2. One reason why I hate Gabby’s comeback is because the fact she’s black could potentially limit the types and amount of ads and promos Simone could get signed up for. Let’s face it, Gabby was also a big winner and also is black/African American (I hate that saying, because what am I, Euro American? No) anyways…I feel like Gabby’s presence/comeback may take away a lot from Simone’s awesomeness. And basically because they are of the same skin color, because that is how it appears media likes to mass market. Someone correct me if I’m being stupid. The fact I saw an article the other day with a picture of Simone next to a picture of Gabby with the presumption that both were near equal somewhat made my blood boil, because in reality Simone is leap years ahead of Gabby and that’s not the story the media is selling. The story the media is selling is that these two “Olympic hopefuls” are pitted against each other and will be at each other for the top spot. Hello, Simone has to fall twice for Gabby to have a chance.

        My last thing – Peyton Manning vs. Brady. Funny comparison but totally true. Still don’t understand why the media ignored the sexual assault during his years in college and the hormone thing, yet “inflate gate” was everywhere. I would think the hormone thing pretty serious. But let’s just brush that under a rug. I would have screamed bloody murder if Manning had gotten Superbowl MVP. I don’t think I could have watched football ever again.

        But Brady is hotter and has a more famous wife. Maybe media feels sorry for Manning because he looks like the quintessential nerd geek boy.

        I’m so glad he’s retiring. No more of those stupid commercials. Although now I wonder who will be replacing those.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You can feel the way you want to feel. I just disagree. Please don’t ever feel one of my rants is personal because they never are. I know I go off on rants some times but trust me, they are never meant to stop you from having your opinion.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        No worries. But I totally agree with you on the Hollywood thing. Funny thing I was looking at my post and I meant more of a media thing, not Hollywood. I didn’t want people thinking I was “for” that notion regarding the Oscars. That’s all.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t think the media is really racist as much as it’s ran by people with way too big ego’s who love to build people up to knock them down.I am kind of glad newspapers are dying. Those guys were the worst. I am looking at you Bob Ryan.

  8. KG Says:

    GTT, so you don’t think Simone will get a lot of endorsements like MLR? Maybe I read that wrong.

    Sanity mentioned that Hollywood is racist, which I’m not sure I agree with… But that’s another debate. Misty copeland has been getting a lot of attention though, and GD is a terrible spokesperson, so marketers might find a goldmine in Simone since she is so much more personable and less awkward. Albeit ballet is much more devoid of black superstars than gymnastics and has a much longer career span (though ballet is also relatively short lived compared with other professions).

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I don’t think Simone is anything like MLR so no, I don’t think she will be around in 30 years hawking everything. MLR won in LA, the perfect ten aspect for her last routine and her out going personality. Simone reminds me more of Shawn and that is what I saw when she was on Ellen. Simone is very genuine and personable but she’s 19. She is more reserved.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Hollywood is not racist. There is no token award for the Oscars. The actors vote and they do it based on talent. This idea that everyone should get an award is a joke. No one should complain about being passed for a role in Hollyweird it’s 100% about the right look. They are not going to cast a black actor to play Johnny Depps daughter just like they will not cast a white one to play Denzel Washingtons. That entire Oscar whine fest was so beyond ridiculous I can’t even. Rant over🙂

      • KG Says:

        I very much agree on that. And statistically speaking, there a lot more white people, which is why more actors are white, which is of course why more white people are nominated/win. There are just more of them.

        And I don’t think it should matter, but I am not white and I am pretty passionate in my belief that racism is hugely a thing of the past (of course it still has footholds on the outskirts of society but so do lots of things). I have never felt slighted because I am not white. But I do understand bad things happen and many people do not hold my opinions.

        And I guess I can agree that maybe Simone isn’t MLR, because that was a fairly impossible set of circumstances to repeat, regarding the “historic” win, location, her personality, etc. I suppose it seems “less impressive” for an American to win these days in gymnastics, so of course a less memorable gold. Though really, Simone should be more celebrated than any gymnast thus far, IMO for her 3 year streak of world golds.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Any racism discussion with me would turn into a huge rant so I think we should skip that as a but comparing it to gymnastics, like a lot of people, Simone reminds me of Shawn and she honestly didn’t have any huge endorsements that had her featured in commercials and print ads say like Serena Williams or God damn Peyton Manning. And even if we compare Manning to Tom Brady. Manning is all over the place and Brady has , Uggs and look at their accomplishments compared to each other.

        Manning is all about Manning and his individual stats and it’s so damn annoying that the man was accused of sexual assault and taking HGH and the media pretty much ignored it altogether and immediately called him innocent yet Brady was accused of paying someone to deflate 12 footballs in a bathroom in under 1 minutes and the media took off with that , blatantly lying about the facts of the case. They are both white so no one ever made a case of it but the fact is the media likes who they like. They build certain people up to tear them down with false information that science has proven was fucking bull shit and they let people they like slide.

        Cam Newton is a good example. The guy acts like an idiot and was called out for his bad behavior and black people think it was because he was black. White people think it’s because he’s an idiot that acts like a cocky asshat yet the Brady, Manning comparison is proof it isn’t always about race, it’s about the media controlling the information and making it seem like whatever they want it to be and for awhile the media was making it all about white people being the racists because it sold their hidden agenda.

        There was something on gymnastics coaching’s blog bitching that 3 white girls were featured in their ad and his blog pointed out that the reason Simone and Gabby weren’t in the ad was because they have endorsements with other companies but someone had to make it about race.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I responded (my long winded comment) on the wrong comment stream. Sorry. I didn’t mean to say Hollywood was racist and thought the Oscar thing was stupid.

        Was Sherman called out for his bad behavior two years ago against Crabtree? I think he was but he still got major ads, so those people who claim racism can shut up.

  9. KG Says:

    I didn’t know someone complained about that ad. That’s funny. I think it’s weird that race is even a discussion in gymnastics because the athletes are so diverse. Ballet, not as much (and there are many reasons for that, but I won’t go into that on a gym blog haha).

    Back to the jesolo and rio discussion though, what the heck is up with that jesolo team? I’m hoping pac rims selections will make more sense but who knows. The fix is in for gabby and I’m not even trying to delude myself that she isn’t a shoe in for the rio team. NBC and penny have already booked her ticket. I’m less convinced that Marta loves her. Simone, aly, and gabby. All pro, all decorated, and all headliners. Who knows if kocian will be well but I think her 53 way tie for bars gold secured her place if she’s healthy. And I can’t decide if I think they’ll take another AAer or not. Maggie I think may get it if they go that route (they seem to be promoting her a lot) but she and key are also perfect alternate choices. Skinner is 5th to 8th on selection but I’m convinced she’ll go to rio. Just more likely as an alternate. They need another bars/Beamer, right? Kylaaaa come back. I don’t see Norah going (except as an alternate) but I know she’s everyone’s favorite.

  10. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Are we even sure that being a team manager gets you free tuition? If you medically retire and then become s team manager, then sure but I thought the point of not allowing pro athletes to compete is they can’t get free tuition and money from being pro.

    There are other benefits to being a team manager (clothes, tutoring, team environment, etc) but I’m not sure about tuition.

    I work with NCAA athletes so j feel like I would know about it.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Well if LSU can give Lexie’s sister a scholarship for academics so she could come dance and Lexie would switch from Georgia I’d say anything is possible.

    • KG Says:

      I wonder if she gets paid for it? Maybe not a “scholarship” but she might be technically employed by the school. Plus I think she’d enjoy the access to training, team atmosphere, athletic dorms, etc.

  11. Exgymgurl Says:

    The Michael Phelps Under Armour ad is better. America isn’t racist when it comes to athletes, look at Michael Jordan’s haul….but Mary Lou filled a huge gap that advertisers wanted. Simone has more like a cross between Kyla and Shawns personality. I don’t think you will see her hawking a taco,popping Ortega any time soon.I think Simone will get a lot of play in Houston / Dallas but I don’t see her parents moving to Los Angeles or going on trips like she won both showcases on the price is right like other people do. I wonder if gabby isn’t out of $$ and ready to lose it all if she doesn’t make Rio. I honestly don’t see her on a Kellogg’s box without the team, and I don’t see much more coming from this run. She needs to figure out life after elite and go do something. McKayla Maroney’s parents have $$ so she can sit around and do yoga without worrying. Kyla is doing her own thing and will be like Amy Chow. Jordyn is almost like Shannon Miller. Aly is more like the Kerri Strug Amanda Borden combo. McKayla is like Jaycee Phelps / Moceanu. Gabby is like Dawes.

    • Ss Says:

      Didn’t Dawes graduate from Stanford? And she is a 3 time Olympian. I don’t know if it’s fair to compare Gabby to her.

    • KG Says:

      I still think Simone has more potential to be a good spokesperson with a little training. She has a natural energy, she’s cute, and she’s confident. She’s also naturally likeable. I could see her staying in the gym spotlight a bit to promote her parents’ gym. I hope Kyla ends up like Bridget Sloan and just dominates and has a great time in college. I think Maggie is pretty good at being interviewed. She seems mature and well spoken in interviews, but I doubt she’ll go pro (and it wouldn’t be a good idea to do it anyways). If Aly does well in this olympics I could definitely see her getting more sponsors. I think Gabby will get a little something from this olympics, but nothing compared with what she needs with her family draining her accounts faster than quads cycle around.

      I don’t know if you can count on net worths that you google, but Shawn seems to have the most out of the recent gymnasts at 9 Million… which is of course a lot of money, but not when you compare with other sports, and given the short time frame that you can make that money/stay relevant. GD needs another gig or a personality/PR overhaul.

  12. dianajc99 Says:

    Sounds like T&T is fucked.

  13. Exgymgurl Says:

    Shawn got three million alone from DWTS from the two seasons.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Yes but 3 million is not really 3 million. Taxes, agent, puplicity etc.. She is lucky if she sees a million of that.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Totally. You gotta pay your agent, your manager, etc…then you’re taxed on it. When you’re a “brand” there are many layers to the whole payment scenario.

    • Guest Says:

      If I want to do sports for money, gymnastics is never considered the first choice… There are a lot more choice of professional sports which make much more money, higher publicity and longer career period than gymnastics for women like tennis, soccer, golf, racing and MMA etc.

  14. Cupquaked Says:

    Of course they had to have Gabby chime in on this article…”her talent was given to her,” (GD on Simone). I think Simone’s gymnastics is definitely natural but she is not just relying on talent. She trains hard too. Gabby is a classic example of someone who has raw talent but is lazy. She’ll only get so far. And while she may be on the team this summer, I don’t see her winning any individual medals.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Gabby “chiming in” usually means Gabby “saying something stupid.” All of these gymnasts have some sort of natural talent (you’d have to have it; even Micheal Phelps has natural talent and it doesn’t hurt being born with really long legs, long torso, and flipper feet). But it takes the combination of talent and a lot of hard work to get to the point of winning the Olympics.

      Unfortunately, in a sport such as gymnastics, it also takes luck and a certain bias from the “leaders” of the sport. You have those going for you, you’re more likely the Olympic champion. You can’t tell me that if you switched up the performance of Gabby and Komova (i.e., Gabby vaulting and stepping off to the side), Komova would have won instead. I believe whole-heartedly that Gabby’s scores would have been inflated elsewhere to make up for the hypothetical loss on vault so that she would have still ended up the Olympic champion. What I’m saying is that there was a degree that was fixed in London for Gabby to win. It was just a bit obvious. Not as obvious as the Socchi figure skating win for Russia, but obvious all the same.

      Gabby’s talent was given to Gabby as well. I don’t think she was lazy in preparing for London but now that she’s “famous” in her sport she let it get to her head and she feels like she doesn’t have to train as hard this time around; it may be “given” to her again. This is probably why she ditched Chow; he wanted hard work and she didn’t want to go 100%. It’s already obvious the Rio spot will be given to her so she’s right to some degree. However, she can’t be as lazy as Nastia was (and she’s not) so we’ll be seeing Gabby in Rio whether we like it or not. But for Gabby to insinuate that Simone is just relying on raw talent alone is ridiculous. It’s worse than pot calling kettle black because Simone is putting in the hard work even though she’s leaps ahead of everyone else in the gym.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree with you that if Gabby had made the mistake they would have overscored her to make sure she won. I was actually shocked when Komova was scored as well as she was on floor to make this a competition.

        I feel the same way about 1992 with Miller and Gustu. The UB judges were blatantly cheating and didn’t care.

      • gymbot Says:

        The stark contrast in how they are quoted… Simone Biles is so far ahead of Douglas in everything. Such a role a model.

  15. Exgymgurl Says: Who is the nearly un recognizable person with Simone….. Hint…..ummmm…. Well I figured it out without a tag

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Scary. It took me a minute to figure out who the hell it

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I saw McKayla post on her Instagram a picture of herself with just this shirt on and no coat. Honestly it made me sad. I fear she just sees herself as a sex object.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She will grow up eventually but she’s probably looking for someone to hire her for the Olympcis.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I saw those Instagram pics with the shirt after but, in this context I was like hmmm who’s that with Simone… and same as GTT took me a minute which was scary….

      • Guest Says:

        Just have a feeling that she want to get public’s attention by wearing like this.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The dark hair looks horrible on her.

      • Mimi Says:

        I agree, the dark hair is so bad on her. It’s too harsh for her skin tone. She looks like she’s emulating Kim K or Kylie Jenner, ick. I mean, each to their own, you do you, be yourself, don’t listen to the haters, don’t slut shame, blah blah blah, but I really don’t get why she’s going for this style/look. She is gorgeous when she’s got her normal hair colour and isn’t trying so hard.

    • G Says:

      Oh dear. Her interview gives me a lot if hope for her but I wih she’d quit with the lack of clothes/seductive posing, like come on now.

    • KG Says:

      Whoa! My first instinct was, “am I missing something? Who is that?”

      Then I figured it out. I’m not her biggest fan or anything, but can we skip her downfall chapter and get to the part where she gets her life together in a positive manner? I hate to see a kid (I use the term loosely) so lost. I hope she figures it all out.

  16. Gymnast41 Says:

    Just watched Amy’s beam training from jesolo! MUCH better beam connection wise. She’s gonna kill it this year🙂

  17. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Arthur’s and Galina’s response to Maroney’s interview. Thoughts?

    • Tortuga Says:

      They didn’t really address any of her criticisms of their training, they basically just said if it works it must be the right way. I don’t think she was throwing them under the bus she just thinks there must be a better way. A healthier way. I don’t think she is ungrateful just didn’t get to end on the best note.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It must suck to be thrown under the bus after you help someone train to an Olympic gold medal.

  18. H Says:

    Watching Aly (on video) Jesolo. Beam, she have added more elegance. And her tumbling are much more imo powerful + she stuck her dismount(same as usual, but somehow looked more “controlled/consistent”). Here is what she does, if you are going with me on this creative way to express it: usual mount- piked front direct > shaped leap – bhs layout (great hight), no jump after that – basic “switch leap” direct “sisonne” leap – free “arial” (beautiful done) – switch half, direct piked (backwards) – punch front direct split leap – same spin combination 90 degree connected to normal turn – dismount. (Martha is watching and is looking genuin impressed) Question what is her d-score? Does not look like she have upgraded anything or changed something since PG 2015?

    • Gymbot Says:

      Her tops start value is 6.5 with 0.4 coming from mixed connections and the turn combo. If she is too slow her sv is 6.1. If her layout is not fully credited she loses the b + e bonus as well for -.2. So her d score could be anywhere 5.9 to 6.5

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        What is that single turn into a double turn worth anyway? Have always wondered that since no one connects them.

      • H Says:

        You are brilliant! Thanks. She was looking very solid in both of beam routines I saw. Maybe she (at a later point) adds a jump after the bhs layout? Would that give her another 0.2? Do you see other possible upgrades she can do? I think she would like to have a routine/d-score that can “secure” a medal if she hits. Not a routine where she needs to rely on other gymnasts wobbles/falls.

      • Gymbot Says:

        The single turn with leg held at horizontal is rated C in difficulty and in connection with the extra single turn there is 0.1 bonus. Yeah very few seem to get that bonus and it’s why I don’t see Douglas L turn to switch ring getting the connection bonus, too slow

        A split leap out of the layout is worth just 0.1 bonus. Even if the layout gets downgraded, she could still get a bonus out of the leap whereas she would lose the connection bonus from the flic. I think Aly is maxed out on beam. To improve her beam now, she would need to add brand new skills.

        Right now she would need to rely on Douglas to crack in qualifying to get into the beam final as she has a similar d score but Douglas has less 0.1 connections that can loose credit

  19. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Ponor on for Rio test event. Following the Couch Gymnast News Page, Romania’s team for the test event is composed by Catalina Ponor, Diana Bulimar, Anamaria Ocolişan, Silvia Zarzu, Dora Vulcan, Laura Jurca and Anda Butuc

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      What about Iridon? I demand a new member.

      • neutrophil4 Says:

        I want Iridon there too :p

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My poor girl has consistency issues galore. I am hoping she will be ready by 2017.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        No idea about Iridon. She is not even an alternate. The article of the Couch gymnastics about Romania also wonders where she is, because there are not news that says that she is injuried ( Ponor doesn’t seem a secure bet, because she is still recovering from her foot injury and they don’t know if she will be able to present a floor good enough. Iridon, despite her consistency issues (and, let’s face it, she is not the only Romanian who has them) should be on that team if nothing is physically wrong with her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Injury would make sense. Belu needs to go. He killed their only asset in Larisa. Just bad coaching all around.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I suppose she is injuried as well, even if we don’t have any confirmation. Even with consistency issues and Bellu’s disfavor, Romania is in no condition to left her home if she is ok and they know that, not when they need scores such as hers so badly. There must be something else going on.

  20. daniellecosullivan Says:

    Guys- unrelated but Simone Biles is now an AAU finalist again. How come she can enter even though she is pro?

    • Guest Says:

      Pro in gymnastics is never considered as career sports like tennis, NBA, NFL, etc, so Simone is still an amateur athlete. Shawn was awarded in 2009 also.

  21. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Am I loosing it or does this pass looks awfully close to Aly’s first pass?

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Haha yeah minus the front layout at the end. She looks like she’s leaving enough room for that add-on too if she wants. Funny. Copying most sincere form of flattery?

    • Gymbot Says:

      Also Komova’s, Tweddle’s first passes.

  22. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Random thoughts:

    Aly is really hitting those handstands. And she looks much better on beam.
    Regan, please get rid of your wolf turn on floor. It’s ungodly.
    Laurie looks great, especially on beam. She may give Maggie done serious competition for that AA spot.
    Gaskins double lay outs looks awful
    I love Locklear’s bars and Marta appeared to cheer her on but her beam form is awful. Emily Schild has almost identical bars to Locklear, except with a much better vault.
    Gabby should not be doing an amanar–ever probably lol.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      What do you think Kutchers UB is worth start value wise?

      • Gymbot Says:

        I am most interested in this routine as well if anyone has a description, thanks!

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        I wanna say 6.6?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Someone on tumbler said its 6.5. But her handstands and form are much better than Kocian’d so hopefully she scores higher..

        I think Locklear has more upgrades for later in the year.

      • Gymbot Says:

        Does she still have this beginning to her routine? The the in bar half turn to jaeger and dis out with full twisting double back?

      • H Says:

        In p-training she has done the same routine as EF 2014 worlds. Start value 6.5 I think.

      • Gymbot Says:

        Thanks h, if she can’t match Kocian on bars there is no way she’ll go.

      • Mimi Says:

        Is Schild good on beam? Or, at least, better than Ashton on beam?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I think she is a little better but not really usable in TF. I don’t think, anyways lol. Her bar’s form are nowhere Ashton’s. Her DTY is fairly good and high and could turn into an amanar, I suppose lol.

        Someone said that Marta was supposedly screaming at Aly during her leaps on beam and Mihai ignored Marta, hahaha.

      • Mimi Says:

        Oh to be a fly on the wall to see that Ilanchik haha. Love Mihai.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Kind of funny how many people complained about the price yet they all pay it. Not you just other people who made a big deal of the price.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I do think the price is ridiculous. And now even training videos are pro. I cancelled my account for a while but I opened it again for the Olympic year. I’m way too impatient to wait for partial gif’s videos lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I blame Kyla for me not being into it this year. She was my hope for some fun in this debacle and now that she’s gone I’m just over Marta and her games.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I could pay for a month and then cancel. And then reopen an account later with a different email if ai wanted to. Cancelling a credit card is very simple

    • Gymnast41 Says:

      I agree Laurie looks amazing…she looks especially strong on bars and beam, but on floor I’m in love with her upgrades (not too fond of the routine still tho). But yeah I’m impressed by her and even Sydney Johnson sharpf…her floor was clean and actually pretty difficult. Ragan’s floor choreo is cute and really good but gah I wish they gave her something more mature for her senior debut and is it just me or did she get worse at leaps? But yeah, she looks great on beam as well, and much much much better on bars. I also agree, locklear looks great. Aly looks amazing and *should* win this competition, and as always GD looks sluggish and like she’s going through the motions.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I don’t really like Laurie. But she looks great. If Maggie doesn’t bring an amanar, Maggie and Laurie have similar strengths. Except I think Laurie’s beam is better. Hopefully, Laurie’s double layout gets more height during competition.

        I’m not all that impressed by Regan’s floor. I feel like her tumbling was better last year or maybe she just stood out more then cause she was a junior. Not sure lol.

        Aly’s beam does look better but I was really hoping for a skill upgrade so she doesn’t have to rely on connections quite so much. We’ll see how she does during the competition. Hope she wins.

      • H Says:

        This will be an exciting comp. interesting to see how they are judged, apparatus and AA ranking. Anyone remember when the last upgrades from say Gabby and Aly came along in 2012. Was it long before trials or did they keep upgrading until OG?

      • Mimi Says:

        I’m yet to see any videos but I get the vibe from twitter that Gaskins looks really bad, is that right? I must admit I was surprised that Norah, Bailie, Meals and even someone like Desiderio aren’t at Jesolo but Gaskins is.

        Apparently Schild is bringing it, which I find fascinating, because I don’t even remember what she looks like much less her gymnastics. I really like SJS’s whole vibe, I hope she does well.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I have no idea why Gaskins is in Italy.

        She has some floor upgrades but they look messy. And her dance, although still somewhat pretty, has deteriorated.

        I kind of like SJS–more and more.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Gaskin’s Pak.

  23. Ilanchik20 Says:

    In case anyone didn’t think Marta controlled the judges–even in Italy LOL

    • Mimi Says:

      Is the middle judge that of the hilarious slow-mo mouth drop during McKayla’s team final vault?

  24. Exgymgurl Says:

    Love Terin Humphrey on her phone….

  25. Exgymgurl Says:

    Chellsie has a photo from June 2005 camp verification where she beat Nastia….. On her Instagram…. NICE!!!

  26. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Emily Gaskins. Ouch.

Leave a Reply

