Camp Olympic Year ” February”



Picmonkey needs a scary feature


Your competitors…

Elena Arenas, Georgia Elite
Alyssa Baumann, WOGA
Simone Biles, World Champion Centre
Jordan Chiles, Naydenov
Madison Desch, GAGE
Christina Desidero, Parkettes
Gabrielle Douglas, Buckeye
Brenna Dowell, GAGE
Norah Flatley, Chow’s Gymnastics
Emily Gaskins, Palm Beach Gymnastics
Lauren Hernandez, MG Elite
Amelia Hundley, Cincinnati
Sydney Johnson-Scharpf, Brandy Johnson’s
Hannah Joyner, World Champion Centre
Madison Kocian, WOGA
Ashton Locklear, Everest Gymnastics
Emma Malabuyo, Texas Dreams
Maggie Nichols, Twin City Twisters
Maile O’Keefe, Salcianu’s
Gabby Perea, Legacy Elite
Aly Raisman, Brestyans
Emily Schild, Everest Gymnastics
MyKayla Skinner, Desert Lights
Ragan Smith, Texas Dreams
Deanne Soza, Arete
Trinity Thomas, Prestige

84 Responses to “Camp Olympic Year ” February””

  1. Gymbot Says:

    No Skaggs, Gowey, Key, Foberg. Anyone else missing?

  2. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I want to know why Bailie wasn’t there.

    And Jaz hurt her ankle supposedly so she is still recovering.

  3. Sainabou Nyang Says:

    I’m excited for the team going to gymnix. There should be no reason why Chiles can’t win Junior nat this year.

    Scam meh I’ll read the live hita on wwgym or gymnastike.

  4. Gymbot Says:

    Hopefully Shang is close to a dty too:

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    I might be replying to something from the other blog, but it was about hoping Maggie will beat Gabby at SCAM to position herself better for the AA in Rio and to get redemption from last World’s. My reply would be that as we all know, Gabby’s scores will be grossly inflated and will continue to be grossly inflated such that she will be nearly surpassing Biles by the time the Olympics is closer, much like how it was done prior to London against Weiber. But then again, I can’t see that happening easily as Simone is leap years ahead of Gabby in her gymnastics.

    But either way, Gabby will win SCAM easily even if she falls because she’ll get overscored in everything.

    • G Says:

      Yeah that was me I think๐Ÿ™‚
      I don’t think Maggie will win, I was just hopeful. I totally agree with you that Gabby would need to royally screw up in order for her to lose. It sucks! I almost don’t want to watch

      • H Says:

        I am really looking forward to scam. It feels like (literally) four years ago since last time there was any “real” competition for first place AA. Gabby and Maggie are not to far from each other in D-score now (?) (Gabby have probably some upgrades since worlds). I choose to be naive and hope for splendid judging:-)

      • Tortuga Says:

        This is the first scam I can even remember being interested in watching. I can only hope Maggie and Gabby are still close in d-score and the judging will be fair. I’m pretty sure it won’t be but damn if Maggie ended up winning it would shut some people up.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’m sorry to be such a Debbie Downer. I literally loved how Maggie went beast mode and killed her bars set in the team finals, just to show she deserved that AA spot over Gabby.

        I seriously am so over all politics right now, but have to set myself up internally with a Gabby win so I don’t get too defeated. I would love to see Maggie win too, but it’s still too early going in to Rio to justify a win at Scam being the reason for anyone’s AA placement.

        I seriously think the one person in jeopardy for Rio who we all are likely routing for personality-wise is Aly. She showed she deserved that AA spot in London, but I don’t know if she can get there this time around. Simone is locked for the one slot and really, all the USAG people are going to be pushing for Gabby to be in that second slot because they can promote the “making history” thing. Even though sadly Gabby is not even close to where she should be. Her 2012 gymnast shape is better than now. I don’t see any improvement from her at all (whereas Aly busted her butt to improve her floor…but her beam still needs to be fixed).

        Gabby’s bars are not even as great as they used to be, and her D score is what…I forgot. She was beatable in the US though, and that’s not good considering that’s her best event. Her vault is back to the DTY and her floor is just as bad as ever. Her beam has even downgraded. She claims to be on Simone’s heels but I’m like “how…” She’s just going to do what she can get away with to make it to AA finals, and in the end she’ll get away with a medal because the world field is so damn weak. That’s the worst part of all this. The lack of competitiveness in the world is enabling Gabby to look better than she really is, which is why she got silver at last year’s worlds.

      • tulip Says:

        @Sanityinmotion- I’ve heard from someone in the know that NBC may also push for Gabby because it would make for a great hook and other reasons which I will keep to myself. But yes, NBC may very well be sending their thoughts to the USOC. Will likely never get confirmation but it wouldn’t surprise me.

        I was at the Track and Field trials in 2012 when there was a “dead heat” tie for the 3rd and final place in the women’s 100m. I was sitting right at the finish line and all of us in the area were saying that in no way was it a tie. But one of the people involved was Allyson Felix, one of US track and field’s stars. The other was her friend , Jeneba Tarmoh, who was pretty unknown. At first it was declared that Tarmoh got the final spot but then the officials went in and changed it to a tie! The “photo finish” evidence all seemed to show that Tarmoh had the slightest edge. There was much discussion and handwringing for a week because they didn’t have anything in place for such an occurrence. They finally said ‘hey let’s do either a coin toss or a runoff.” The runoff was scheduled for the day after the last day but in the meantime, Tarmoh, who shared a coach with Felix too, dropped out but said that all the committees and NBC were pushing for Felix over her for ratings.

        Take a look at the pic in the link. IMHO it’s not a photo finish at all. Tarmoh had the slight edge. Tell me what you think
        I believe to this day that the results were changed to satisfy those with financial stakes in the star competing in place of the lesser known.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ok, you have to tell me what the “other reasons” are that you will keep to yourself.๐Ÿ™‚ Well, you don’t “have to” but those types of statements get me all worked up with curiosity! I do believe in my heart of hearts that Gabby is as much of a lock as Simone is, and for stupid reasons such as publicity and money. Because at the end of the day the Olympics is all about money.

        Being objective on the running photo, it looks like Tarmoh has the edge. Her foot and knee are further beyond the finish line at the photo, suggesting that her body got there first. These types of sports (based on time) are usually very hard to “push” for certain athletes, but in cases like this, it’s all too common that of course, the athlete with the most contracts/is more known/and let’s face it – is prettier – is going to get more props for those reasons.

        Who was that track and field star…ugh, she also did bobsled recently..she’s very pretty but didn’t win worlds, yet because of her looks got more endorsements than the woman that did win worlds, and that woman was bitter. This was years ago. Damn what was her name. She came from Iowa and competed in Beijing and fell on a hurdle so totally lost. Looked like another actress too. Man I suck. It will come to me after I hit post comment on this thread.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Same with the bobsled team where they left the girl who was ahead in the rankings at home and took the runners i think it might have been that felix girl but I only half paid attention.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        tulip – I responded to you but I think it went to spam or something. Maybe GTT will see it and approve it.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It did. Sometimes my spam folder is better at its job then it should be tho I usually get suspicious when it sends someone to spam that posts here on a regular basis because the spam thing at wordpress is that good ( where do you think all the trolls end up?)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        GTT we might be talking about the same chick. She was on the bobsled team in London and she didn’t do that well but was the track star with the looks. Ok, I google’d. I kept thinking “FloJo” but she’s long past her due – the runner was Lolo Jones. I knew it was a ‘olo’ type name haha.

        Lolo Jones – she got a lot of accolades probably not well deserved because of her looks.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ah it sent me to spam again! Anyway, the gist is the runner/bobsled person was Lolo Jones. She got a lot of accolades probably not deserved because of her looks.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        SPAMMER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • gymbot Says:

        Lolo Jones also drew a lot of media attention by claiming her virginity helped her athleticism

  6. exgymgurl Says:

    Im going to call it that gabby warms up hurts her ankle and doesnt compete at scam to save face because she isnt ready. someone marta wants is brought in as alternate and either wins or comes in second to maggie. My guess is Laurie, but I think there will be definite shenanigans…

    • tulip Says:

      With Marta there is nothing but shenanigans. Speaking of, will she once again give an interview after the team finals saying that she didn’t really mean it when she said she would retire and that she’d love to come back if ‘they want me’. I see it coming…

  7. G Says:

    Amelia Hundley will take Nia’s spot in Stuttgart! That’s great for her!

    • exgymgurl Says:

      yes meals must have had a camp good enough to banish her from any chance of a spot on the olympic team

      • gymbot Says:

        by the same logic skinner is banished. but I agree, Hundley doesn’t have the program to make it onto a worlds/olympic team. I bet she can go 58+

    • G Says:

      Lol yeah but I don’t think she had any chance anyway. I’m sure it will just be a fun international experience for her though.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She had less than no chance but she’s a nice kid so I hope she wins something

  8. sanitynmotion Says:

    Ok this page hates me. I keep getting sent to spam.

  9. Guest Says:

    Oh I just find that news.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      This wedding is starting to annoy me. Obviously over-hyped and Shawn trying to use it to keep herself famous. I’m sure her getting married during the Olympic year wasn’t a coincidence either. Same re: Nastia. I get it that she was on Celebrity Apprentice but…this seems contrived. Stupid, He probably won’t show up but she’s using the invite to again stimulate attention to her wedding.

    • Guest Says:

      But Trump did look up to Shawn while his speech in Iowa caucus and he even followed her and congratulated her engagement in Twitter, so I didn’t think it is anything unexpected when Shawn invites him and he agrees. Shawn still has very good image in US sports figures, so it may be beneficial to Trump for his campaign. Just hope that he won’t deliver any political speech if he come really.

      • aerial Says:

        In this me, me, ME age of look at everything about ME on social media, from where I am to what I’m eating to pics when I think I look fabulous (speaking as a turned-off observer, not actually what I do) I feel like it’s gotten to the point where people turn a blind eye to websites and youtube shows and tours all about oneself, their wedding, and so on… and it’s sad. I liked SJ, but all this stuff is so self-possessed I have unfollowed her media and could care less about the food she tasted for her wedding reception. Ugh.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        When I had a twitter I un-followed Mckayla because I felt like every time I looked at her I was embarrassed of who was watching. I never followed Nastia and probably would have unfollowed Shawn if I still had it.

  10. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Locklear added back to the national team. Now, that I’m okay with lol.

    GD and Nichols have verified for American cup.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Until Marta decides to replace one of them with Laurie. Who is right up the road. in NJ!!!

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’d say, if Maggie and Gabby were close at camp, Maggie is getting replaced. If they weren’t, Gabby is getting replaced LOL

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am so bored with the prospects of this team. Marta is taking Simone, Gabby Aly which leaves 2 spots and I know you people love Norah but i find everyone so boring. Besides Gabby there is no one to hate and lets be real Marta is taking her no matter what so , blah. I’m just over it all.And I don’t like ,,,,,,,, tonight so I am not using them. Huh

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        You can hate Kocian. A one-event gymnast who is overscored because she is from WOGA.

        Marta will take one gymnast that has the European lines or whatever crap NBC calls that and it seems it could be Kocian. Emily fits that type too lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The only thing Kocian is good for is the dirty looks when she falls and Baumann is better at those .I am finding a hard time getting interested in it this year. In 00 it was all the drama of the camps and comebacks and enjoying Atler’s melt down ( I’m mean that way:). In 04 Marta fixing the team for Hatch and my hatred of Courtney Kupets the girl too stupid to know what the American Cup was, in 08 it was hating Nastia and rooting for Memmel’s kick ass FU to Marta and 4 years ago it was Gabby’s bad attitude and Jordyn being screwed, Bridget’s killer bar set and rooting for little Kyla who I found myself enjoying as a junior but now even hating on Gabby has lost it’s ability to make me annoyed enough to blog.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        You can root for Norah with me. If anything, because I want her in Rio lol.

        Maybe she can steal that 2nd AA spot from Gabby. That would be real pleasure. Gabby leaves Chow and then Chow’s gymnast takes the 2nd AA spot from Gabby. Oh the justice LOL

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If that happens I might be interested

      • Guest Says:

        I am still mad that how Gabby treats Chow. That’s why I am rooting for Norah to fight for 2nd AA spot over Gabby.

      • G Says:

        Is it weird that Norah didn’t get added to the national team? They added Gabby Parea and Hundley I think.

      • G Says:

        Ah never mind, they only added people who they’re sending on international assignments for now.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Except they added Locklear, which is kind of strange. Marta needs to add Norah to the NT like yesterday. Ugh.

        But I’m not too worried. Brenna wasn’t on NT and then made world’s 2 weeks later lol.

      • G Says:

        True! When do they select Jeselo and pac rims? And which is the better assignment?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Jesolo selection camp is in 10 days. Supposedly gymnasts got invited to this camp but they never publicly released the names of invitees.

        Marta will prob pick her pack rims team then too.

        Not sure which is better. I’d say pack rims–if only because China and Russia goes to that one too lol

      • G Says:

        Ah ok, thanks! I forgot about they had that other camp so soon. I want that invite list lol. I did see on someone’s Instagram, a junior I think, a group photo and then the caption “see you in ten days.” That should have been a hint to me!

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I think the selection camp is way too soon! Lol.

        I’m assuming Maggie and GD won’t be at that one. If Marta makes Maggie come to that too, Marta has lost it. They’ll be at American Cup till Sunday and then would need to be back like 5 days later lol. I’m sure Gabby will get a pass.

        Or wait, Marta is crazy. I wouldn’t put it past her haha.

  11. exgymgurl Says:….. nikki shapiro splits the beam and jordyns reaction is priceless!!!

  12. gymbot Says:

    Here GTT, one of your old faves:!Dominique-Moceanu-Our-team-victory-paved-the-way/cd9n/56d4b0420cf2bc6add1328c3

    She actually has a nice concise opinion on the state of the sport. I didn’t know she was attending camps in 2006.

  13. JAS4 Says:

    Yurchenko double back

  14. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Line-up photo from MLT.

    Meals, Maggie, Gabbg and Aly have some sort of medals. And I don’t see Simone in the line-up.

    P.S Supposedly Bailie has a small stomach injury–a muscle tear of sorts. But she is still training at full capacity.

    • Tortuga Says:

      Damn Meals.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Like these medals even mean anything.

      I hope Kim’s just protecting Key from this as much as she can but she’s also gotta know that Bailey needs to show up if she’s gonna have a shot at Rio at all.

      • aerial Says:

        Yeah. After being left off the World team, her best potential is to keep showing up and be SOLID. It’s already March, which is crazy. This is gonna be so cut-throat.

    • onelifeonejourneyonealex Says:

      Those damn buns that stick out like 6 inches behind their heads….! UGH so UGLY. The girls I coach use spin pins and some small braided sections and we get their hair, as long or longer than these girls, pretty damn close to ballet dancer flat and tidy, and they’re half their age. They just look so damn knobby.

  15. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Here is your scam alternate. It’s official.

    • Gymnast41 Says:

      Wonder what this means…I guess maybe Laurie is the leader of the pack when it comes to the first year seniors in Marta’s eyes?

      • JAS4 Says:

        I wonder if Marta is just trying to see how she does up against current seniors? Or maybe she is using her for motivation for the other girls? It will be interesting to see what upgrades she has though.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She is technically a senior this year. If laurie has no upgraded she has no shot at this team unless others faulter. Her scores from last year were blah except bars and she was grossly overscored on those.

  16. JAS4 Says:
  17. H Says:

    A “tumblr” at scam podium training said Maggie and Gabby did DTY .. Maggie have new floor routine, Lauren Hopkins blogs that Maggie looks better (and more concistent) on beam than Gabby during podium training. Why cannot LH do exhibition like others have done previous years?

    • Tortuga Says:

      There’s some videos USAG’s facebook. I agree with all that from what I’ve seen so far. I think they’re both saving Amanars for later in the season.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I looked at their DTY videos. I feel like GD is always crappy in podium training but it looked like I wasn’t sure if she would make it over the table.

        Im sure she’ll clean up for the competition. Maggie without an amanar, GD will win, unfortunately.

        Now that Scam is part of the World Cup circuit (it wasn’t in 2012 when Gabby unofficially competed), exibition is not allowed, unless it’s like 1 event like kyla did in 2013.

      • H Says:

        Thanks Ilanchik20. On beam – wonder why it doesn’t exist lines, rhythm and fluency, only the lack of it toped with “flapping hands” etc

    • Gymnast41 Says:

      I found Maggie’s new floor on tumblr. LOVE it! Such an upgrade from last year. Also I agree that the DTY from both of them are very smart decisions on their part…despite me wanting Maggie to win, I feel like if she focuses on cleaning up the details before competing it, it’ll work better to her benefit. However yeah gabby looked horrible during podium training (based on some snapchats I’ve seen) but we all know her well enough that it’s not the case….so unfortunately can’t get my hopes too up lol.

      • Tortuga Says:

        A little Maroney-esque? Maybe just the style of music. I think international judges will like that music more.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t agree. bad for or not Maggie nails that Amanar almost every time and Marta making her dumb it down for the American Cup is a clear indication she wants Gabby to win.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Totally. Marta is saving Gabby’s face by dumbing down Maggie’s routines, so when Maggie gets passed over for the AA again it seems legit.

        Again, can’t understand why the coaches just go along with Marta. And the athletes. I have to believe Maggie sees the writing on the wall after what happened at Worlds.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think what she probably see’s is she deserved the spot over both Gabby and Aly and would have beaten them on the world stage if given the same consideration they were. Gabby never had to prove herself and Aly did so Aly went all out in training and left it in training where as Gabby never had to push and earn a spot and was well rested when it came time to compete. Maggie earned the spot at Nationals last year and at camp and was literally screwed over but if I remember correctly Aly was nailing everything left and right in training and only finished third to Maggie so I get them having competition for the AA spot but with Gabby’s free pass that cheated Maggie. She better get used to it and remember Maggie is still going to College and not a pro so that is another reason she will not get credit for anything she has accomplished or will accomplish this year.

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        Didn’t realize until I watched all PT videos that Maggie downgraded ALL of her routines. Wtf? The amanar I understand but bars, and beam? She literally was so consistent all year with her upgrades. The fact that Marta let gabby upgrade and Maggie downgrade is ridiculous. So much for a SCAM that’s actually worth watching, get ready for a nail biter everyone

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Why are people surprised?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I guess it’s early in the season so maybe Marta is saving Maggie’s upgrades for later lol. Wishful thinking, I’m sure, haha.

        Hopefully Maggie gets her upgrades back by Nationals, because if not, she won’t be going to Rio.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It makes no sense at all especially with Maggie and the Amanar. Why isn’t Gabby downgrading? Nope he gets upgrades and Maggie gets screwed and if one person tells me i am paranoid i might freak out:) Not really tho cuz Marta does this every year and every year people seem shocked. It is what it is. I just hope Rhonda cares more about the best gymnast winning than the name.

        I am not getting out of bed Saturday morning to watch this shit. Thank God baseball season is back

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Pretty much guaranteed the results will be Gabby the winner.

        The risk in all this is that having Gabby compete all upgrades this early means she possibly might fall all over the place (probably not, since the pressure is off) or she’ll injure herself.

        Nobody should be surprised though that Maggie is being downgraded on all events. I seem to remember Marta telling her to take out her upgraded dismount on beam and something else (on beam I think) at worlds, which made her beam pretty weak overall and this was where Gabby will overtake her. Judges seem to build extra points into Gabby’s beam score where they are not deserved, whereas they penalize the crap out of everyone else.

        But you’re right – Maggie better have all these upgrades in and consistent for nationals and trials otherwise she is getting put aside as alternate.

        I think it’s sad that if you decide to go to college that’s an automatic “ding” against you where USAG is concerned.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        It sucks seeing Maggie get shafted. In retrospect, it’s amazing Kyla made it to London. She was made to downgrade and she kept her NCAA.

        From the word on the street, that knee wrap come after her bars dismount. Apparently some people hurt say ouch or whatever after one of her bar dismounts. She still did beam and floor warm-ups though.

        I can’t remember who else is in American cup but I think Ellie Black is there and if so she can prob beat Maggie with how she downgraded. I guess if Ellie hits lol

        I’ll prob watch anyways, haha

  18. Ilanchik20 Says:

    That looks like a pretty massive ice wrap on Gabby’s knee.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Hrm. How will she survive Martas death camps with that thing. We all know how it went for Shawn Johnson. Although I still don’t buy she didn’t go for London cuz of her knee.

      Maybe it’s an out in case Maggie beats her.

  19. gymmom2 Says:

    Didn’t see anyone comment on where Bailey was for this camp. She was at the January camp. Kim posted a picture of her three gymnast saying it was the first camp of 2016.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      Bailie wasn’t at the February camp. The word is, she has a small abdomen muscle year. This was a verification camp so prob wasn’t r day to verify her upgrades, I’m guessing.

      And Kim is in Canada with the juniors now.

Leave a Reply

