“BREAKING NEWS” Mckayla Maroney retires


Quotation marks are sarcasm but I do have to laugh at all these people surprised she isn’t competing anymore.Every 4 year fans don’t realize she hasn’t been around in 2 years.


Okay so I have no clue what she said because if I don’t have time to sit through The Skating Lesson’s interview with Michelle Kwan at this time I won’t be sitting through this one.

133 Responses to ““BREAKING NEWS” Mckayla Maroney retires”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I’d love for someone to synopsis this as I don’t have time to watch and I find McKayla’s talking about herself sometimes hard to stand.

    So I guess USAG doesn’t want anything to do with her retirement announcement either haha.

    The every 4 year fans are hilarious. I’m waiting for a comment like “with McKayla gone, how are we going to get the gold medal? We have no more vaulters!”

  2. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    I thought it was a great interview. She talks about Artur’s coaching style and how she wasn’t allowed to smile (like Simone) and he left her mentally broken. She says that when she was injured he wouldn’t talk or look at her and how horrible she felt. That her career was such an emotional roller coaster because she’d win and he would love her and then she’d be injured and he would just sulk in a corner. She doesn’t really try to vilify him necessarily. She talks about what a great coach he is and how he doesn’t know any better because he received the same type of coaching and she thinks there’s a better way. She also talks about changing the food at camp and bringing in a nutritionist. She talks about the lead up to the Olympics and how they trained nonstop those 30 days before competition and their bodies were just broken because they didn’t even have a day of rest once a week. She talks about the depression she went through when she realized her body just couldn’t handle the training for competition anymore. It’s kind of a sad interview but she remains pretty positive.

    • Cupquaked Says:

      I never understood Marta’s death camps. Like don’t you want the team to win? They can’t do that if they’re already broken. It just seems counterproductive.

    • Tortuga Says:

      Also interesting she mentions how she told her coaches 1st day back in the gym after 2013 worlds, she was in a lot of pain and one of them said it was probably because she had gained weight during her days off. Thats when she found out she had tendenosis in her knee from coming back too fast.

      Oh and she said she was convinced it was good idea to barely eat, and would congratulate herself after a long exhausting work out and think she felt lighter from not eating much. As if it to say if I had eaten more I may have had a worse workout, when really the right foods give you more strength for a workout. She really emphasized nutrition for future generations of gymnasts, which I thought was great. And also saying gymnasts at camp should not having to eat in front of your coaches.

    • gymbot Says:

      thanks for the highlights, seems really depressing

    • G Says:

      I thought it was a good interview too. She was very honest which I appreciated and it was really interesting (and sad) to hear about how her coaches messed with her mentally. It’s good that she recognizes why her coaches were the way they were and emphasized that they weren’t necessarily trying to hurt her but just wanted her to be succeed.

      I’m a little nervous for her music career (ahem Carly Patterson) but she should do what she loves.

      All in all, it was worth the 50 minute listen though I do wish she’d touched on personal relationships with the other athletes but I feel like no one can ever be really honest about that in the media.

  3. sanitynmotion Says:

    Ok, now I got curious and ended up watching it. My thoughts were random, but I’m going to write them since this is such a great blog to just vent about this kind of stuff (thanks GTT again for this outlet) – and nobody needs to read them because I fear this will be long.

    Marta telling McKayla to NOT do the double back vault in competition or at camp (she was executing them at camp apparently) – had to wonder if she really was watching out for McKayla (injury risk), or was she really just trying to hold her back. None of Marta’s other actions suggest that she really has the physical health of these athletes as her top priority, so I’m going to guess it’s the latter. Kind of like how I feel she told ASac to not perform the rudi with the extra twist.

    McKayla saying how at Worlds (2013), the stop watch started early, or something, and that was what caused the deduction. I agree, it was a stupid rule but it’s a rule. There was mention of how McKayla would score exceptionally well at camp, and then get injured or somehow not perform to standards when it counted (at the meets). Had to wonder if those camp scores were not just over-inflated. I loved McKayla’s floor but hard to say if she would have medaled on the world stage. I guess at this point it doesn’t matter.

    30 days of non-stop training before the Olympics, and no rest. I don’t know about anyone else here, but any major sports trainer says you need to rest your body to achieve the best results. There is no fitness program that I know of that does not incorporate a rest day (or even 2) in the midst of hard-core training. Where does Marta and USAG get away with this? No wonder the coaches get frustrated, and no wonder all of the athletes get broken before the major meet. It should be illegal to put teenagers through this, by all means. No wonder these girls’ bodies are so messed up eventually. Even when I was training swimming (hard core), we would have what’s called “taper” before the big meet of the year, so that on the big day our bodies would be ready to perform at their highest/most exceptional level. I remember after the “hell” weeks, where we trained very hard for many days in a row, the meets during those weeks always went awful (and it was an expectation from our coaches as well, knowing our bodies would be fatigued). It makes no sense to me how/why Marta would operate this way. If you think about it at least 2 Olympic team members were severely injured on both the Beijing and Boston teams. It’s unacceptable. And the pressure is you cannot admit to those injuries for fear of being replaced.

    I thought at first she said Marta told her to lose weight – McKayla was actually pretty complimentary about Marta. Her coaches (especially Artur) sound like immature a-holes. To tell your athlete to lose weight and to suggest to them that they are “making up” the pain they are feeling…wow.

    Is there not a national team doctor to check these girls out? I mean, it just sounds like they go around hiding injuries and training on them. I am kind of horrified to be honest. In this day and age, this should not be the case.

    Ok, and as for McKayla now getting into “music” – what happened to acting? Did she not see what happened to Carly Patterson?

    I feel like McKayla was holding back a little on Marta/USAG because she still wants to be involved in the sport. She did hint strongly though that the death camps are too much, but I don’t think that’s already not obvious.

    I also don’t know if I buy that McKayla stopped going to the gym/training only 2 or so months ago. She looks like she’s been out for at least 6 months.

    At the end of the day, I give kudos to her for speaking up and sharing to us gymnastics fans (even though the number of “likes” she said had me on edge) and I again will always wish we could have had more of her. I feel like she didn’t reach her highest potential but it seems like her coaches are largely at fault. I can’t imagine having to go through all those injuries and the depression that followed and the realization that it just wasn’t going to happen. I believe her that she intended to go for Rio. I think she got depressed because she knew it wouldn’t happen, and now she’s finally in acceptance. I hope the best for her and is it silly that part of me hopes she can go for the next Olympics at age 25? I mean, heck…look at Chuso. Just don’t go back to those coaches!

    I still say McKayla was the best US vaulter ever. Nobody has the block she has. I wish we could have seen that triple, dammit.

    • G Says:

      I agree with all of this. Especially that she was treading lightly over the Marta and USAG. I could see her judging for sure and even commentating if she can cut out all of the filler words.

      I think what made me the most sad was that like you said, she really wanted to get to Rio and it wasn’t just a whim or a half hearted goal. When I met her at Classics in 2014 she seemed so motivated and excited to get back into competition, I was really looking forward to seeing that happen. But now after hearing all she went through at her gym, I’m happy that she is doing what’s best for her body and mind.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Well the treading lightly on Marta stuff and selling out her coaches to me sounds no better than Chellsie Memmel selling out the truth for tour money. Marta making the girls train 30 days in a row with no day off is child abuse but she gets a free pass?

      • G Says:

        I see what you’re saying (and i somewhat agree) but I think part of Mckayla not totally tearing into Marta (and she did critique her some) is because that wasn’t the crux of why she had to end her career. I think the “blame” really does lay on her coaches in her case. I think if she had Aimee or Chow or whoever else, she might have been in a completely different position. As it was, she was just getting mentally burned out by them i addition to dealing with physical stuff.

      • G Says:

        I feel like my words aren’t coming out right lol. To sum up what i was attempting to say: Chellsie’s sole issue was with Marta and USAG, they’re the ones who screwed her over. With Mac, her coaches had he biggest negative impact on her and she may have thrived under different instruction.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        No what you said made sense my issue here is with Marta the woman in charge being allowed to do whatever she wants and have no one to answer too. Marta got lucky 4 years ago. No one got hurt like the 2 quads before. Look what happened to everyone in 03 and 08. That needs to be addressed.

        I liken it to Moceanu’s issue with Bela and Marta. In the end her parents are to blame but both Bela and Marta knew they had control of her and only needed to make a phone call so they could whatever they wanted to her. That is the control Marta has over these camps and apparently the same control they have over even retired gymnasts.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I agree fully. Marta was lucky actually that the extent of the injuries weren’t as bad in London as they were in ’03 and ’08…like Maroney and Wieber could actually still compete (despite their injuries), whereas Memmel and Peszek were limited to bars because Memmel broke her damn ankle fully and I forgot what Sam’s problem was. Something in her leg snapped warming up for floor.

        I don’t know what happened in ’03…trying to remember…didn’t they have to fly Memmel in to take over for an injured someone?

        The parents are to blame too but I can put myself in their shoes sorta and think “I don’t want to be the one to ruin or put an end to my daughter’s dreams.” Your daughter basically being months or weeks away from fulfilling that and who are you to try and pull them from the death camp? Especially when there’s this stupid inane belief that “my daughter is part of a national organization – no way would they put her in harm’s way” – you know, that stupid “let’s partially lie to myself to make me feel better” thing that most humans do?

        However, if my daughter told me about her coach telling her to lose weight or she’s making up her pain…no way. I’d pull her out. There are other coaches that are just as good if not better and don’t appear to have that attitude. If anything this interview opens up the realities of AOGC and does not put them in a positive light. There’s enough back rumor about them to begin with, and this only supports that.

        But the real issue at hand here is how Marta made these athletes train hard for 30 DAYS STRAIGHT leading up to the Olympics and of course they cannot even think of standing up against this because the ultimate pressure is there that you can be replaced even seconds before the Games begin. In a way I can see how that works (if you’re named to the team officially weeks/months before, you can get complacent) but that does not excuse her from not giving ANY REST. That’s insane. That’s abuse, literally. I can’t think of anyone who can go 30 days straight full-steam and not want to collapse at the end. It’s a miracle those girls were even standing upright at the Olympics. I guess they were working off of sheer adrenaline and stimulation.

      • G Says:

        Yeah the thirty days straight thing is just crazy. You’re right sanity that no parent wants to be the one to kill a dream and no coach is going to speak up at that point so the girls are just at the mercy of Marta. I worry for the Rio team now if they do something that extreme again.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t think Mckayla’s mother spends much time with her kids

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m sure Marta will pull a 30 day camp again, if she can lol. In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if she does. This will be her last Olympics (supposedly) so I’m sure she’ll do whatever she wants, even more so than she does already.

        I mean even Asac’s injury in 2011 could have been prevented if Marta didn’t push the athletes like crazy right before international competitions.

        We got lucky that no one had a major (cant’t compete) mid final in London.

        I feel bad for the girls already. I do hope they’ll stay relatively healthy but I’m sure a few won’t.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Anyone remember how geddert was in there fighting for jordyn to get a day of rest during that pre olympic period?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Yes I do

      • Ss Says:

        Didn’t he demand either to the media or in his blog that she needed a day off?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Yeah he was very spoken about Marta’s camps. I don’t like him much but I can give him that. He was trying to protect Jo so it’s unfortunate that despite his best intentions she still got hurt.

        I’m sure Marta and her games was a big reason why Jo never come back.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yes. Didn’t they go to the cinema or something?

      • tulip Says:

        And by speaking out Jordyn got lower scores than usual and Gabby got higher than deserved. I always wondered if those events weren’t the tiniest bit related

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marta doesn’t control the Olympic judges doing the same thing Nationals judges did. This reminds me of worlds last year. Shang was lowballed all competitions esp on floor yet she gets to finals and all of a sudden is getting over 15. Those floor judges were on crack.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I feel like the judges ultimately do what they can to get the end result they want. Like how Gabby’s bars go up exponentially between team finals and AA finals.

  4. sportsfan Says:

    Watched the whole thing, and I totally get the whole “don’t call it retirement” thing. She’s still mentally coming to grips with never stepping on the mat again. I don’t think even Mckayla is buying into it fully. Every athlete comes to a point where their bodies just say “no”. Especially if you’re in the Olympic pressure cooker that Marta places her girls under. That kind of stress kills lesser people.

    Her coaches sound like the horror story that we periodically hear about gymnastics coaches. Aloof and dismissive of their athletes concerns, all in the name of winning. And I get you have to be strict in the sport of gymnastics, but to tell someone who’s in pain to “lose weight, or they’re “making it up” is insane. It’s honestly emotional abuse that’s covered up by the guise of sport. She really wants to stay in the sport, because she walked right up to the line of directly criticizing Marta, and then didn’t. I have a feeling if Mckayla was in a better spot mentally in this retirement process, and didn’t want to hang around the sport, she would have went all in on Marta.

    Good interview overall, and I wish her the best of luck.

  5. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I listened to it too. I actually really enjoyed this interview. So much insight.

    Interesting that she got hurt on the first day in London. Apparently Marta told her that if she do vault in 5 days, she’ll keep her on the team, if not she’ll replace her. Like really? Maroney said she knew she could do it but if she didn’t think she could, she would have given her spot to Ebbie.

    I understand why she defended her coaches all while criticizing tgeir system. To me, being raised in a soviet system is no excuse for their methods. They have been here long enough to change their ways. The fact that Marta supposedly called Arthur a vampire cause he was looking all sad and in a corner when Mackayla was hurt, I can’t imagine lol.

    No wonder Arthur told “there goes your gold” when she fell in event finals. Ugh.

    It really sucks that she was so afraid to get hurt because she wanted to take this curse away from Arthur. I guess he told her at some point that his gymnasts tend to have major injuries before competitions. That’s prob not a good thing to share with your athlete lol.

    Another thing no one mentioned, early in the interview she said that when she was young she was afraid she’d grown too tall cause her dad is 6.4 But then she said “don’t be afraid of your height, gymnastics stants growth.” Kind of made me think of Kyla.

    I have heard that she asked USAG to not release her retirement statement for at least a few days so I’m sure it’ll come eventually.

    Btw, Gabby posted on Twitter a message to Maroney lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Now see I seem to remember Mckayla being hurt before she ended up in London. I am almost positive there were rumors of her injury way before she got to London.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Yeah, she had broken her toe earlier in the spring, broke it again in June or July, and then aggravated the break on the first day of training in London. Plus she had the concussion and nasal fracture at Nationals when she wiped out on her 3.5 twist on floor.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      she had whiplash from nationals……and a broken leg and ankle and toe at the olympics. Its funny I remember asking myself why she was icing her leg and her ankle for a broken toe.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I remember the whiplash but it isn’t what I am talking about. I just have this memory of everyone knowing she wasn’t doing floor and how it was confirmed when Kyla trained floor at the Olympics. I don’t know my memory isn’t what it used to be.lol

      • Katie Says:

        I remember that too. And John Geddert was really pissed about it bc Marta kept saying that a gymnast had to have two team final worthy events to be on the team. But everyone knew that Mac wasn’t going to do floor from the get-go bc she was too injured, even before further injuring her toe in London. But Steve wanted the vault gold and that was that.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I go back to my 4-year-ago argument that ASac could have won that vault gold AND contributed on beam as well…and maybe floor by the time of the Olympics. Although I think I would have kept Kyla over ASac on floor.

    • Gymbee Says:

      McKayla, despite her “likes” is a great interviewee. Open, honest and fun. I’m comparing this of course to the rest of the gymnasts, other than ASac, I can’t imagine an hour interview with any of the others.

  6. KG Says:

    I only watched parts of the interview, but she seemed more sincere and down to earth. I really feel for those girls and the mental and physical torture it seems they are put through. I think that the pressure affects “people pleasers” so much, and Maroney definitely seems like that type of person.

    The non stop training before Olympics makes no sense to me, besides being completely ridiculous. If anything a little rest would more likely secure medals by not injuring/wearing out the first selected team (the best)? I can’t see how any medical professional would advocate for that type of training with anyone, let alone 15 to 20 year old girls. And I honestly don’t see how there haven’t been more lawsuits and more injuries.

    I also wonder if the girls tell their parents most of what goes on in the gym. I know when I was in high school and training for sports, coaches would ask me to play on injuries and in some warped sense of dedication, I did it. I definitely didn’t tell my parents that. When they asked why I was starting games on pulled hamstrings, I just lied through my teeth and said it had felt better. It seems so dumb now, but as a kid I just wanted to do well and please my coaches and not suffer any fall out (get taken off starting roster, lose captain status, etc)… Not that that is at all close to maroney’s experience, but on a very minor level, I get it. And I can only imagine what the pressure is like on an Olympic level.

    • Ss Says:

      Honestly if you had to choose between this interview and TSL’s Michelle Kwan this one is way better. I am a huge Michelle fan but she really didn’t give any new insight. She is so professional to a fault, and it remained so in her interview. She barely talked about losing to Tara or leaving Frank. On the flip side mckayla was about as critical as you could expect someone to be that has had her success. I wouldn’t expect someone who won the gold to be completely bitter, aside from Moceanu who is in a world of her own…I found the comments about her coaches fascinating as I’ve never read/heard much about them but clearly I’m in the minority. She was quick to say she completely disagrees with their style and that she has to go behind their back to get an MRI. Although she didn’t comment much on Marta she did say how brutal camps are and that it is non-stop pressure. She also commented that they need a nutritionist at camp to help the gymnasts to find out what they are missing in their diets to achieve their potential. For someone her age I felt she was well spoken and remarkably insightful.
      However, the music career is worrisome. We all know how that worked out for Carly…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        On an info stand point Mckayla might be the better storyline but I have a conscious and if i am spending an hour watching an interview it will be the respect I have for Michelle over Mckayla any day of the week. My conscious wouldn’t let me:)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have to admit I liked a few of Carly’s songs. I never bought the CD tho…

      • Bess Says:

        Isn’t Marta and Bela’s daughter a nutritionist? I thought I read some where that she was the “nutritionist” at camp…i

      • onelifeonejourneyonealex Says:

        Yea, the problem with using the Karolyis’ daughter is that she’s, well…a Karolyi. An outside-the-federation nutritionist would be far more objective and honest rather than bending to fit Marta’s ideas of what is best. And separating the gymnasts and coaches makes a lot of sense to me. If nothing else, these girls NEED time to socialize and eat and chill and listen to their bodies without the pressure of having every bite and wince and pissed off comment witnessed and analyzed. Most gymnasts feed themselves well on their own, but I get where that’s probably hard at camp because someone’s always watching.

        Anyway, I’ve never been a superfan of McKayla outside of her gym, but I really enjoyed this and how honest and mature she was. I have no idea how her music or acting career will go but she seems to have a good head on her shoulders and a solid support system. She will go far.

        And damnit, I wish someone had made cute, COMFORTABLE leos when I was doing gym! They were always itchy or cutesy or gaudy or all of the above.

    • dianajc99 Says:

      The problem we have is the curse of depth. we could send an B
      and C team and still win medals is she injures the A team

  7. fatam Says:

    Thanks for the summary. I watched the first 5 minutes of the interview, then went straight to this website for a re-cap. Sorry, I just wasn’t drawn to Mac’s voice (how teenagers talk) or the interviewer’s.

    Of course McKayla Maroney wore the low-cut. LOL. *rolled eyes*

    I do wish her the best. Be smart, stay healthy and clean, and don’t act like a stupid Kardashian (I know she’s a fan of theirs). Maybe she’ll get a part-time gig with USAG.

    • TrishaG Says:

      I think it’s pretty normal in southern California for women to dress revealingly. I’m from suburban Detroit and I’m definitely not a prude, but I was really taken aback when I visited my friend when she lived outside of LA. Women would be out shopping in the middle of the day dressed like they were going to da club, except with less sparkles, lol. And it wasn’t just teens or young women either; a lot of women in their mid-to-late forties were wearing cropped tops and skirts or shorts that barely covered their butts. Just showing a lot of skin. Maybe the top doesn’t seem that low cut to McKayla compared to what she’s used to seeing around her.

      Even if it is low cut, it’s nice to know that she obviously proud of her body despite being told to lose weight so much. That’s really impressive and healthy.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Hey. I’m from So Cal. I wear like jeans and t-shirts. I’m in suburbia though. The LA people are a totally DIFFERENT story…it’s like a different world. But super fun to people watch if you go to a major shopping destination area. Almost more fun to watch the people there than on the Strip in Las Vegas.

        I think McKayla knows she has a good body (and obviously wants to show it off), and had the confidence to know that the “losing weight” request wasn’t insinuating she was fat, it was more like “you need to be lighter to do those skills.” Which makes sense but still, at least she has a good head on her shoulders because most girls her age would take it to heart and become anorexic.

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    found the ice pictures, thought it was odd she was the only one icing both feet in london when she supposedly only had a broken toe. Jordyn and kyla are only icing one ankle / leg each

  9. TrishaG Says:

    I also thought it was interesting how she said that Artur got upset when she broke her foot before the 2011 Worlds because he said his athletes were cursed since they kept getting injured right before big meets. First, I had no idea she was injured in Tokyo during the 2011 WC. Was that known?

    Second, she was having to console him telling him she would be okay to compete. She said he really withdrew from her and wouldn’t really talk to her, which was hard on her as an injured athlete who needed her coach’s support and encouragement. She said she thought it was because it was just so painful for him to have his athlete get injured again, but that’s not how an elite coach should behave. I’m sure he was devastated, but he needed to look out for her and be there for her, especially since she was still able to compete with her injury.

    Third, why the hell wasn’t he reexamining his training methods? If all of his athletes are “cursed” by getting injured right before big meets, then there’s an obvious issue in their training when peaking. He’s over-training them which is why they break. Continuing to do the same things and then panicking when the “curse” comes back again is not going to get rid of the curse.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I guess I never out all these injuries. Strugg was injured when she trained with him too. Then there Sammie Shapiro and Mattie.

      I’m with you. I do not remember the 2011 injury. And when did it happen? She did floor in team finals too? Competing on a broken toe is one thing (it’s wrong but I guess it’s possible) but how would she be able to compete on a broken leg? Lol

      Maybe it was more like a fracture like Jo had in the Olympics. I’ve never heard of 2011 injury. If Maroney’s injuries started to compound this early in her career, I’m kind of surprised Marta even took her to the Olympics lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The IOC pretty much pressured Marta to take Mckayla to the Olympics because she was a guaranteed gold medal. Ooops

      • TrishaG Says:

        I think you mean the USOC rather than IOC. The USOC wanted to add a “guaranteed” gold to their medal count in London.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Yes that is what I meant to type.

  10. Mim Says:

    I was pleasantly surprised how insightful McKayla was about her career and her experience. I was surprised at how genuinely passionate she was about still wanting to compete.

    I think her situation really had a bunch of factors that did not work well for her in the end: a gymnast who is so passionate almost to the point of tunnel-vision with natural talent, a gymnast who is a people pleaser and needs external validation for good mental health (don’t mean that as snark, some people really just need to hear from others that’s things are going to be okay), plus a coach who demanded even more tunnel vision, over coached physically and was emotionally manipulative (on purpose or not I don’t know) and projected their own negative experience on to the gymnast. It’s a seriously unhealthy combination. I can 100% believe that she got so depressed she was suicidal, and that makes me so sad for her. It actually does explain some of her eyebrow raising worth behaviour.

    I think she spoke out more than enough while maintaining respect. It’s so easy for us to sit back and criticise the death camps, Marta, coaches, their expectations (and absolutely rightly so), but I think to expect the gymnasts to come out guns blazing in the same way is actually unrealistic. The gymnasts seem to love and respect the people who have hurt them (be it mentally or physically from the coaching style), their developmental years as children and teens experiencing this confusing behaviour towards them must have a profound effect on them mentally to some degree in adulthood (some seem to handle it better than others). The gymnasts understandably feel like they owe these people their success and they know a lot of what drives Marta, coaches, USAG is their desire for success for the gymnasts (although with the tour it’s obvious it’s all about the money there). The adults justify their behaviour and fail to keep their actions in check because they are so warped to be all about winning and convincing themselves it’s getting their girls to succeed. The parents either have no idea what’s happening, or if they do, they don’t want to be the ones to end their children’s dreams. What McKayla described is such are f*ked up relationships beyond measure, and it’s so obvious the dymanics can really mentally mess a person up for years. I think her frankness about it was enough because at the end of the day she clearly loves her coaches and doesn’t want to hurt them. And I think rarely will you have a gymnast with such a bitter vendetta against their coach, to the point where they feel like they have nothing to lose for letting it all out.

    Her suggestions for improvement – rest and having a proper nutritionist/dietician work with the girls – how on earth can these measures not be already in place? That is horrifying to me. We know that the powers that be consider the gymnasts to be indispensable but what the actual F.

    Anyway, four for you McKayla. Hope she finds her happiness outside of the sport. And hope that she doesn’t become the next real housewife or something any time soon.

    • aerial Says:

      “I look like a loser in my pink sparkly leotard. And I’m 20.”

      Bwahahahaha…. that was an amazing line.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Can they have a fashion adviser position at USAG? Hire Maroney so she can get rid of all the pink leos lol

  11. Gymbee Says:

    She did say about the camps “it’s just scary in there. The energy is like ‘oh my god’ its terrifiying. You feel like every move is like “this is me making the team or not”.

    And they never say that you’re “on the team”, as they are told they can be switched out immediately.

  12. Bess Says:

    I replied to an earlier comment with this but here it is again…isn’t Andrea Karolyi (Marta and Bela’s daughter) supposed to be the team nutritionist? I know I read that somewhere….if so, perhaps this was a jab when she said a “proper nutritionist” in the interview (at least according to what I have read, I haven’t watched yet)

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      Yeah, their daughter, Andrea, is a cooking chef and a nutritionist there.

      Either she does a really bad job or Maroney doesn’t know this nutritionist exists. I will go with the latter–she is prob there for the show but doesn’t work with athletes one-on-one or just does what Marta says anyways lol.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        you are fat you get water with one potato flake mixed greens with no dressing and a pea. if you work harder maybe two peas….

  13. KG Says:


    “The Károlyis’ daughter, Andrea, is the nutritionist for the team.”

  14. Gymbee Says:

    Sorry GTT, I tried to embed a photo Shawn posted of her and Nastia. Nastia posted a different one. I wonder what they’ve got up their sleeves lol. Nastia commented “only been 8 years but better late than never. Never been so happy #friendsforever” …. If they’re such good friends, I find it hard to believe it’s been 8 years since they saw each other. Considering the gym world is small they must’ve done a pretty good job avoiding each other haha.

  15. aerial Says:


    I am super curious at the reaction from AOGC and her coaches… as well as the parents of the competitive athletes there. Like, I’m sure this interview is mega-big news. They have an Olympic gold medalist from their gym, who was arguably one of the biggest stories from the last games, who has been training or kind of or not and I’m sure this interview was voraciously received and watched by them.

    I think what she says is fair, but its very atypical of what athletes are willing to say about their coaches. Most who say anything are just deemed bitches or bitter or whiny or full of themselves. I can’t imagine her coaches not being furious about revealing these shitty scenarios and also saying how mentally screwed up she is from them. I wonder if she’ll step foot in that gym again after saying this, or will keep any gym-related activity to another location.

    Part of me thinks the response from the AOGC community will just support her observations from the whole experience… acceptance or compliance from the parents so their own paths won’t be derailed, since clearly you need to go along with the system to get anywhere. Is anyone really going to be disturbed by what she says and do something about it? Unfortunately, it’s probably unlikely.

    I’ve wondered at times where her parents are, or what they’re thinking. In terms of gymnastics, just like with politics, at the highest levels, everyone seems to just do what they need to, to get where they want, and accept the negatives. I think everyone’s brainwashed. And I’m sure it’s a slow progression of all the fucked-up-ness to the point where you’re being selected for World and Olympic teams, where everyone’s already a zombie, taking orders, and desperate not to offend.

    At this point, she’s 20. You almost get the sense that this interview was a bit of a thrill and a bit cathartic for her. I bet she left that comfy couch, her cup of tea and chamomile candle and went back into the world like, ‘Holy fudge! What have I said?’

    I really wonder about the nutrition too. Like, McKayla was the thinnest of the Fierce Five and a VERY atypical body type to be such a gifted vaulter and tumbler. She also got back into competitive shape for 2013 like nobody’s business. It makes you wonder what the rest of them face in comparison. It’s been a long time since we heard a coach dare to say something about nutrition, resting, etc. and risk their own livelihood in the sport. I do remember Kelli Hill made some comments about her kids needing to eat, or watching them eat, or taking breaks. Too bad she basically disappeared following Elise Ray’s career… we could use more of her!

    I also wonder, when Marta’s gone, if the camps and procedures may take on a new form of health. I kind of hope it’s Faehn, not Liukin. College gym places such a greater focus on mental and emotional health, team bonding, less reps, etc., and unless Faehn throws everything she learned out the window rather than amalgamating it with the needs of elite, I’d like to think there could be some change.

    • Gymbee Says:

      Regarding what McKayla’s parents think, and what they knew/were willing to put up with.
      I’m originally from Norway, and I trained in a gym where there were gymnasts on the national team. They of course don’t train as much as the US gymnasts, around 18-20 hours per week. They had Russian and Romanian coaches, and the kids were yelled at by the coaches, told they were too heavy etc. Ie, a “normal” Russian/Romanian coaching style that was not typical for Norway at all. Still, the parents knew this was happening but still put up with it, as it was the “price to pay”.

      Considering parents of gymnasts who will NEVER have a chance of medalling at worlds/europeans or even qualifying to Olympics put up with this, I can imagine some parents of elite American gymnasts, where the pay-off and chance for success is so much greater, are also willing to look away on certain things.

      I also think McKayla didn’t come across as “bitchy” or bitter at all when talking about her coaches, which speaks of her character.

    • dianajc99 Says:

      I think USA gym needs to get away from the ranch!!
      Kelli Hill didn’t disappear she had lothrop and hunter but martha was not a fan of either.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Lothrop earned alternate status tho so she did pretty well for a no name. that was one of the times I actually applauded Marta for when she named Corrie. She was actually rewarded for her hard work and consistency. First time Marta ever did the right thing and only probably

      • gymnerd Says:

        I think we’re all forgetting the divine Courtney Kupets.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Rhonda is very involved on social media and has even posted pictures quite a few times of the camps and meets I can’t see her being hired to run this program and what has Daddy Liukin ever done but break every gymnast he’s ever trained but his daughter?

      • dianajc99 Says:

        oh he broke her too.
        remember the fluff when she calls her a fragile gymnast

      • G Says:

        Yes I remember that. He said something along the lines of that she has a fragile body but “there’s an animal inside”. It sort of disturbed me at the time. And then they had a scene of him and Nastia getting into a sports car and driving around before arriving home for a Liukin family cookout where Valerie was wearing a man tank top and a hawaiian lei. Meanwhile, in the segment with Chellsie and her dad, they road bikes and went fishing.

        Ahh 2005 Nationals.

  16. Ilanchik20 Says:

    This is the photo. They have def been at the same meets together in the last 8 years lol

    It's only been eight years, but better late than never ❤️ Never been so happy #friendsforever

    A photo posted by Nastia Liukin (@nastialiukin) on

  17. Ilanchik20 Says:

    This may be Maroney’s first acknowledgement of Kyla’s retirement. Such good bff’s that they didn’t know they were announcing it days apart lol


    I’m starting to think something weird happened in 2013 when Kyka made floor over Maroney or some other politics thanks to Steve that we don’t know about lol

  18. aerial Says:

    I always felt their best friend storyline was a little contrived. While clearly they trained together and played outside of the gym as children, it seemed like the media really went with that story and McKayla embraced it, dropping the best-friend-ness in every statement about Kyla she spoke. Kinda along the vein of most teenagers these days who call most people they’ve ever met and are currently speaking to their “best friend”.

    My main guess is that when McKayla went all “here-are-my-boobs-y” and so on, while conservative, quiet and always hard-working Kyla labored on, they didn’t have much in common and Kyla had no pull to McKayla’s life or activities.

    Take away the Olympic bubble, and replace it with real life, and there you go. I bet McKayla didn’t talk to Kyla any more readily than any other Olympic prospect leading up to the camps and final selection – didn’t seem the story had begun at that point, anyhow.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I bet keeping in touch with Kyla (who continued on, made 2 World teams, and was winning individual medals along the way) would have been hard on McKayla mentally over the last year or so, as obviously she was coming to terms with not being able to even try for Rio. For Kyla, this same reality came later, but Kyla has more gymnastics to look forward to, whereas McKayla doesn’t. Their lives are on totally different paths but I’m sure they still are fond of each other and will always have a bond. I don’t buy that they are “best friends” either but they go on that tangent to serve the public and make “us” feel good.

  19. Ilanchik20 Says:

    It’s about time! A message of sorts from USAG

  20. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Kelli Hill also had Kupets in 2004. And we all know, what a star Kupets was.

    I remember hearing that Kupets considered coming back in 2008 (U.S certainly could have used her bars) but her and Kelli Hill decided not to cause of the games Marta was playing.

    From what I heard Kelli Hill stepped away from coaching elite after Kytra for the most part but she is supposedly back coaching elites now.

    • Aerial Says:

      Laughing out loud that I couldn’t remember any Hills athletes beyond 2000. Is it Friday yet?? Sheesh.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        wow I totally forgot about Kupets too!!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I try and forget that phony whiny two faced woman at all costs.

      • gymnerd Says:

        OK, GTT, spill….

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Well first of all let’s talk about how she lied to Dawes in 2000 saying Miller was telling reporters she deserved to be on the team because of what she accomplished in the past. Something that was never said by Miller yet there is only two people who benefit from that being said to Dawes so the only person that could have told her that was Hill. Plus I have told you people this part in the past about how Hill treated girls at her gym that she didn’t train. I knew a level ten who was coached by someone else and this girl told me Hill and Dawes were the most self centered rude people she ever met. Now this girl loved everyone else and never had a bad thing to say about anyone at Hills except Dominique who was treated like the queen back then. She owned the place and while she was nice to the elites she was a total bitch to this girls group of level tens.Hill also had no problem bad mouthing other elite gymnasts when she trained Dawes. Tho I don’t remember details of what she said in front of this girl she did say things. Maybe to moyltivate Dawes but bad mouthing the competition by name in front of other gymnasts that didn’t even train with you takes balls. Sadly and email I used back then is way gone. Then we have the way Hill whined in 99 at world’s when they were rightfully dinged for all their missed handstands on bars. Let’s just say my friend got a huge laugh watching Hill congratulate Miller for winning her beam gold medal on TV back in 96 considering how she told Dawes she was robbed by Muller every time she lost to her.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Yeah, Kupets would have totally been put behind a curtain for Nastia on bars. Probably a good decision on her part. Although she would have been needed in 2012 (but again, Nastia)…and we may have not had Kyla.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Marta played even bigger games during the Kupets years then she played in 08

  21. Cee Says:

    I feel like it’s 1995 all over again and Little Girls in Pretty Boxes has just exploded. Seriously, it’s 20 years later and we’re still this hard on the girls? 30 days with no rest? Not being allowed to interact with her Olympic teammates? (For someone as social and outgoing as Mckayla, that must’ve been especially difficult–the comment about just wanting to smile was quite poignant.) Artur sounds like a complete prick–when MARTA calls you out for acting badly (the vampire comment was hilarious), you know it’s bad.

    The content of her interview was especially powerful because she’s so matter-of-fact about it–no bitterness or obvious agenda. I was struck with how mature she came off–but then I’m thinking of her as the 15 year old we first met in 2011 and she’s 20 now. I really hope USAG and Marta don’t try to punish her somehow for this and I hope her leotard line does really well. I think she’ll be a natural at that–still love that peacock design she wore to 2013 Nationals, that was stunning. (Yes, I’m a little nervous about the music stuff but she mentioned she was producing as well, and also said she was taking classes in music theory. Okay, that’s good, theory is good, get a decent grounding in the discipline. And theory is fun! (former music major))

  22. Lithi Says:

    Good luck, McKayla.

    In other news: our fave publicity ho is rumored to be on the next season of Dancing With the Stars. Nope, not Nastia, not Shawn…



    • gymtruthteller Says:

      A good reason never to watch the show but they don’t usually have Olympians on during Olympic years because the olympics are on a different channel and they don’t want people to remember to switch channels. The Queen of publicity whoring God help us all, lol

      • Lithi Says:

        A few years back I remember you doing an entry on Dom when she did some eighth-rate DWTS with local celebs (Cleveland-area) and you called it Dancing With the Has-Beens. Who knew she might go for the real deal?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Lol I reenter that and thanks for reminding me so I don’t label the new blog the same thing

    • Guest Says:

      Maybe she will be partnered with Tony and then got eliminated in the first few weeks…

  23. Lithi Says:

    More from the Olympic fameho chronicles: Shawn to publish young adult book. I couldn’t make this up if I tried.


    • Ss Says:

      I can’t with this. I am dying that Shawn has “written” a book. One can only hope it is as good as her poems…or Moceanu’s 14 year old autobiography.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      at least she has a real publisher and isnt self publishing unlike nastias shine on my pink scrunchie book…

  24. exgymgurl Says:

    LSU JUST KILLED IT AND BEAT FLORIDA AT FLORIDA Sloan off on beam and oob on floor. Finnegan sick and only did beam and bars!!!! McMurtrys triple twist on floor was great.

    • Gymnast41 Says:

      I was JUST about to post about this! So happy about this🙂

    • tulip Says:

      Had to laugh at Sloan’s floor score. Giant steps out of a pass and a step out. Minimum of .3 in deductions (being generous). She scored a 9.725 lol

  25. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Camp photo.


    The word on the street Key and Gowey are missing.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Because they will both join Peyton Ernst and Kennedy Baker next year at Florida, I think youre going to see a lot of people drop out of this run to preserve their NCAA scholarships…. I tell you Ashton Locklear decommitting she must think she knows something we dont….

    • exgymgurl Says:

      So if Emily Gaskins is at camp, is Steve Nunno there?

    • G Says:

      I’m really bummed about Key. I feel like she got screwed over so terribly and it broke her spirit. She’s a lovely clean gymnast to watch and I wanted her to have a fighting chance for Rio. I really hope she at least tries. I’m also a closet Gowey fan too so that’s also disappointing.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        There hasn’t been any talk that either of them r injured so I assume it’s just a schedule illness or minor illness. I’m sure they will be at the next camp. But I can’t imagine Marta taking it lightly when you don’t show up to a camp during the Olympics year (unless you are Nastia of course lol). I think Bailey will still be fighting for s spot in Rio.

        Btw, Gymnastike released this ranked list of gymnasts fighting for Rio yesterday. They claim it’s from a person in charge of the selection.


      • sanitynmotion Says:

        It’s not an unlikely team but I still can’t understand how Gabby is 2nd when she’s not top 3 in any event really in the US besides bars. Even then I’m pretty sure Key would beat her there if not for her overscores. This list looks like both Key and Nichols are most likely to get screwed because both of those girls have a fair shot of ousting Gabby from the AA in Rio. We all know USAG wants Gabby to compete AA in Rio to make history.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        They’re on Crack. Gabby being second I get even tho she got the free pass to the AA and Maggie got screwed but how is Sydney whatever her name is even on this list ? What has she done again ? They want Gabby in that AA and I can totally see te taking Aly and Kocian as a duo with Kocian doing UB for Aly but Kocian being forth when she only has one decent event she gets over scored on is Woga bias at its best.

      • gymnerd Says:

        Much as I feel for Dowell, I can’t imagine she’s even on the list, 13th or otherwise, at this point.

      • fatam Says:

        Call me skeptic, but any time anonymous on the internet claimed that the list came from a person on the selection committee, or whatever, I just have to laugh. Hold on, let me come up with my list of favorites.

        On my list (which by the way came from VIP on selection committee *rolled eyes, lol*), Gabby would be around # 4-5, and Aly would not be in the Top 5 (and this is coming from someone who likes Aly). I think she’s overscored at home (because of Olympic fame/bias) and she will get teared up when international judges look at her again. Aly is just not an AA no matter how you slice it. Aly will fizzled and will not be in Rio (my opinion). Although…..I prefer/rather have Aly in Rio than Gabby.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I kind of agree with you about Aly. 4 years ago I defended her because I felt she kept proving herself over and over again but now i feel the kids coming up are too good at her events and Marta will Alicia her off the team.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m not sure where I stand with Aly. I love her, I need her in Ruo lol.

        Also Marta loves Aly (her world’s mistakes or not). Marta didn’t love Alicia.

        But Aly is still too 3 in beam/floor in the U.S and she has an amanar and we don’t have as many of those this quad. Plus her bars are becoming more usable.

        The only potential person for the beam/floor spot and I’m not convinced that Marta is taking Kim’s kid to Olympics. I suppose there is also also Sydney but no way, she makes it.

        Gabby, on the other hand has plenty of people who can replace her because she has even less of a value in TF than Aly. Gabby will prob make it though.

        Gabby’s supposed value comes as an AA’er so I hope Maggie beats her next weekend lol

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Call me crazy or maybe biased but I think Aly still has a very good chance of being in Rio:

        1) AA aside, she will have two events that are top 3 and are team final worthy
        2) Plus an amanar
        3) Her bars have improved drastically
        4) She is well-known

        Especially if Gabby doesn’t get a usable amanar back lol

        And I think she has as much of a chance at being top 3 AA’er in the US as anyone because of her D.

        Whereas Gabby doesn’t not have a top 3 event, except bars. And even bars–she can be beat by Kocian, Locklear and Norah.

        If GD is 4th at trials, then Maggie and Aly will go with the 5th spot going to Norah or Maddie.

        If Gabby places 2nd or 3rd, then Maggie may get screwed. Politics, ugh.

        And Bailie or Laurie (or both) make a good alternate unless one of them gets an amanar.

        Or maybe I’ll just keep being biased because I want her in Rio lol

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I agree with you but that’s assuming Aly has a usable amanar. At worlds last year it wasn’t usable – I think it was scoring worse than a finely executed DTY.

        Her beam is what NEEDS to get back on track for Aly to be there. I think she can do it, but that’s the apparatus she needs to focus on. I would almost be like “Aly forget bars…you want the Olympics you need a rock solid beam set.”

        With a team comprised of Simone, Gabby, and Aly – you really wouldn’t need another AA’er, you would need a good specialist who can also be counted on to do all 4 events in the case someone gets injured. This is where I see Norah fitting in, and even Skinner (ugh, please no). I think in this scenario Maggie gets screwed to alternate. Also I forgot in this scenario I’m assuming there will be a bars specialist like Kocian or Locklear. Kocian might have the upper hand because she’s known on the world scene and can do beam and/or floor (but both of these gals seem like they might not make it through Marta’s death camps).

        Key and Norah would make a solid add to my team (of Simone, Aly, and Gabby) in my opinion but it appears Marta is NOT on the Key team. Probably for fear Key takes the AA away from Gabby. That’s my thinking as to why all of a sudden Key is being left behind in the first place.

        Can someone remind me what Ragan’s strengths are? It seems to me that the US has “holes” on beam that need to be filled. Wasn’t Ragan more of a floor person?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Regan has beam/floor. She is like baby Aly, except not as consistent. So if it’s between Aly or Regan, Aly will go lol. Plus Regan has an awful DTY. I think once Aly controls her power on amanar, it will score higher than a DTY. Her amanar looks more powerful now, actually.

        I am afraid that Maggie will get screwed, if only because Marta doesn’t want anyone to keep Gabby out of AA during QF.

        So I think it will be 3 AA’er but the third AA’er who cannot easily kick Gabby out of AA.

        Norah is my choice too, I think lol

        I could see a team of Simone, GD, Aly, Maddie and Norah.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I don’t understand Maddie – what does she contribute? (I’m actually asking because I don’t remember)…she was an “ok” AA’er but that’s all I remember. No special events.

        I can see putting her in for the AA position that won’t beat Gabby but…hrm. I can’t see putting Maddie on a team and not Maggie though. That would be blatantly screwing Maggie over. Although I wouldn’t put it past Marta.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Maddie the current UB world champion cough, CO-Champion🙂 We’re talking Kocian right?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Oh crap I call her Kocian. I was thinking Maddie Desch.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Mckyla’s retirement is a link at cnn.com Who knew she was world news?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Yes, Kocian–the wogette.

        If Kician makes the team, they need a good vaulter so I suppose if Kocian makes the team, that helps Aly lol. Kocian has been competing a full as of late, although she used to have a crappy DTY haha.

        Kocian’s body is always an inch away from breaking. I hope Marta’s Olympic year camps don’t break her. I don’t like her but I don’t wish injuries on anyone.

        If a surprise person makes the team, I hope it’s Emily Gaskins.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Right because Marta would ever let a Nunno gymnast near her team lol

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Maybe she will, as a punishment to him. You want to see who is more powerful Steve? Well let make your gymnast train to exhaustion and then not let her compete. Well I guess I’m that instance, she’d have to make Emily an alternate lol.

        It’s nice to hope, haha.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It’s more like Marta makes Emily take out all her consistent upgrades and low balls her for no difficulty.lol

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Or that. But Steve is smarter than to fall for that. So I could see Marta taking Emily as an alternate, just to annoy him lol.

      • G Says:

        Yeah I feel like I’m going to be sick watching the American Cup! Maggie Nichols needs to seek her revenge after not be allowed to do the all around in Glasgow

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I doubt GD will be completing her upgrades. So Maggie could win, if they score even a little fairly.

        If Maggie pulls off a win, she will likely go to Rio. I think it’s far important competition to Maggie than GD.

  26. exgymgurl Says:

    gymnastike is going to piss off marta and steve and be banned from all usa gymnastics events. how is ashton locklear not even on there? how are hundley and desch not on there? I dont see syndney above hundley

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      Right? Personally, Locklear has better bars when she is healthy. If they want to take a one-event bars specialist, take Locklear.

      And why is Norah at #10? We can certainly use her bars, among other things.

      And GD at #2. Ugh. I really hope Maggie beats next week at Scam.

      I kind of want to know how they got this list.

  27. Ilanchik20 Says:

    At camp. Look at Gabby. Had to laugh a little (or a lot). She looks thrilled to be there haha.


    A photo posted by ashton locklear (@_ashtonlocklear) on

  28. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Wow, Emily Gaskins has grown a bunch!


    But pretty (Simone) leos, off course!

  29. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Btw, wag released the names who will be attending media summit:


    Not sure if that means anything lol

    Or maybe that’s just the world’s team but I feel like in the past, more than the world’s team attended.

Leave a Reply

