Kyla Ross retires :(



Kyla Ross officially retires.

USA Today article  With quotes from Marta the killer of dreams.

Gymnastike Tribute


I have to admit this is a tough one for me. If you read this blog at all you know how much of a liker of everything Kyla Ross I am. From her genuine personality to her knack for proving everyone wrong, Kyla being around this sport has made it  easier  to watch and that isn’t a bad legacy to leave behind.

Can’t say I am not very disappointed she isn’t going to stick around and try and prove everyone wrong but I’ll always appreciate Kyla for her never give up attitude, clean form and ability to make me smile.

Good luck at UCLA , Kyla you might make a Ms Val fan out of me yet:)


And for anyone that cares Jon Horton is injured and out too. He will be back next year



Message to Kyla from Simone

Screen cap from twitter (Thanks lol) from Shannon to Kyla






90 Responses to “Kyla Ross retires :(”

  1. tennisgrl456 Says:

    Definitely a bummer but I would have HATED to see her not make the team/be broken in the brutal process leading up to the games. I would have loved to see her make the team, but I think it’s a good thing that she is choosing to “go out” on her own terms at this point.

    Now I’m going to be routing for Norah to take the 5th spot. I think Kyla (if healthy and back in top form) would have been a contender for that spot. I love them both but just couldn’t see them both making the team.

  2. exgymgurl Says:

    ask yourself do you really want to be martinized again? Live life on her terms only?

  3. Rien Says:

    Can’t say I am sad to see her go. Never liked her gymnastics, so so so so so boring and I never appreciated how she got away with level 10 skills in elite. She is definitely much better suited for NCAA, maybe she can even make UCLA a serious contender.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You’re boring. How did you ever get approved Ah to each their own but her start values were competitive and she deserved her medals something some people can’t say.

      • Rien Says:

        Can’t agree with you on her start values. The entire reason she wasn’t considered for the 2015 season was because her start values weren’t competitive. And do tell, who doesn’t deserve their medals??

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        No the reason she wasn’t considered in 2015 is she couldn’t hit her routines. She had a 6.1 beam and a 6.3 or 6.4 UB routine she hit in training and messed up in competition yet still won a bronze medal on beam at Nationals. Her DTY is also competitive but regardless she has 2 All Around medals which means she was very much competitive as a gymnast overall.

        Did you just, And do tell me .lol

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Rien, your argument only really applies to Kyla’s floor routine, which was never competitive to begin with. Team USA didn’t need Kyla for her floor anyways.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Let’s not forget the Kyla made floor finals in 2013 so her execution was huge for her back then. I’ve gotten a few emails from people lately asking about their comments then they were rude when I said bo more approvals so it’s official sanity, the every 4 year Olympic year fans are here. They’re Here😉 I made the right decision to stop approving people me when I did. I am even thinking about going private at Olympic time for my sanity since I am not sure I’ll be around that much unless I take vacation.. let the fun begin.

      • Melanie Says:

        GTT, you have a fellow below wondering if we’ll even be able to medal without Kyla….um, what?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Oh yeah, how could I forget – Kyla made 2013 floor finals when Maroney was supposed to be guaranteed that 2nd floor spot.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I responded to the guy tee hee. I can only imagine other comments if everyone was approved automatically.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I think you saw Kyla as boring because every move she made was emphasized and well executed. She was clean and rhythmic. She didn’t have any crazy tricks known for her specifically but she was still able to get pretty high D scores for her routines (except floor). I guess clean is boring. But I’ll take clean over the tumbling mess of Skinner or the bent knees/crossed ankles of Aly (sorry Aly) any day.

      • Rien Says:

        Nope, I hate when people use that excuse. She was boring because she was boring. No emotion, no personality, no flair, no interesting skills, no originality, nothing. Interesting comes from much more than difficult skills and all her performances were predictable, stoic, emotionless, slow, unoriginal, and boring. My opinion of course, but please don’t suggest that she was boring because she was clean. What we can agree on is the mess that is Skinner. I’d take boring yet great execution over bad technique any day.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Your opinion is she was boring. To some clean gymnastics and great technique is not boring.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        So clean gymnastics is an “excuse.” Hrm. Nope, Kyla was just clean and pretty to watch. I didn’t have to sit and worry about a fall, I could just enjoy. I agree somewhat on the slow parts but that was to show how well she executed each move.

        You look at someone like Skinner or Aly, who move a bit faster. That’s to cover up bad form.

        I’m wondering if you also thought Shannon Miller was boring.

    • G Says:

      Personally, I loved her polished, simple style. Even on floor where a lot of people found her robotic. I agree with sanity, clean far outweighs difficulty for me.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        And she got better with time. So I always appreciate the gymnasts that try and improve their issues

      • Gymbee Says:

        Completely agree. Watching Kyla was like watching gymnastics from the past – quality, completely controlled movements. It was like watching the correct way gymnastics should be.

    • Gymbot Says:

      I miss her already. I really love that Ross bested the likes of Mustafina and Iordache, her achievements in elite really were quite grand

  4. tulip Says:

    I’m really happy for her and hope she will be very happy with her decision. Marta’s use em and lose em approach (unless you’re Nastia) has taken many a great athlete down and Kyla doesn’t deserve that. If she’s in pain, she can heal before UCLA.

    Speaking of, I watch meets on the pac-12 network and UCLA is on regularly. Jordyn is still a team manager and seems to be having a blast. Ohashi is out with a fractured sternum (she was doing a double back dismount off beam and the end of the beam came off during her round off! She landed on her head and is lucky she didn’t break her neck). Francis is the only international elite right now competing and she’ll graduate. Kyla can come in and make a difference quickly. Plus Jordyn can show her the ropes🙂

    On SEC, I still watch Florida get ridiculously overscored. Since this is Sloan’s last year, the ‘hey World Champion, thanks for going

    Oh, and ASac is pregnant with a girl

    • tulip Says:

      My comment about Sloan and Florida was supposed to say ‘hey World Champion, thanks for going the NCAA route. Let’s give your team a few tenths gratitude points’.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      asac and holly vise offspring…team beam,,,, shawn johnson get preggo quicko!!!!

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    I realize I said this in another blog but I think we all knew this day was coming. We just kept telling ourselves she’s still on the road to Rio. We knew…I think it was telling when she dropped out of the last World’s camp. I even would bet her coaches fully supported her decision because word on the street was they were finding it really hard to coach such a tall gymnast.

  6. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Honestly, I didn’t root for Kyla in her early days but I really began to love her when I saw all the gifts GD was getting and Kyla had to work so hard for all her medals. It’s not easy to be a top contributor with lower D, especially on a U.S team. I’m so proud of her and can’t wait to see her beautiful gymnastics in college.

    I’m glad she is leaving before Marta totally broke her. Or like Sloan who has to withdraw from trials with an injury. Props to Kyla!

    So now that she is gone, can we root for Norah? I want her over Kocian any day!

    P.S. Like GTT said, I’m sure there will be moe injuries. I hope it’s not Aly. She is well conditioned. It won’t be GD. So I guess I hope Marta doesn’t break who already has a weaker knee.

    • G Says:

      Yes for Norah and I’d really like Baillie Key to have a fighting chance too. She’s always reminded me a bit of Kyla.

    • tennisgrl456 Says:

      Yes, I’m 100% rooting for Norah. Kocian definitely doesn’t do it for me and she was absurdly overscored on beam at the WOGA classic. Plus, the chances of her not breaking between now and Rio is slim to none.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Norah Stan here LOL.

        I think Norah can even beat GD. As long as GD doesn’t get .5 higher on each event than she should ugh.

      • tennisgrl456 Says:

        Same haha….I remember watching videos of her beam as a level 10 (back in 2012?) and thinking, “Holy shit, I want this girl to go to the Olympics.”

  7. Gym Obsessed Says:

    Oh, I’m so sad too, GT – I felt similarly to you about Kyla. I loved her beauty and grace and her quiet character that you knew hid some sassiness out of the spotlight. She did prove people wrong all the time and deserved all those medals. She has an amazing medal count to rival almost anyone! I also think it says a lot about her character that she handled this retirement so maturely – she mad her decision on her own terms, and she didn’t wait for a big competition to get one last chance in the spotlight. I really had high hopes for her making the Olympic team, so now I’m going to have to choose a new favorite. I could get behind Norah I think…

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    joho is endorsing a bunch of weight gain protein stuff. I think hes going to end up on tv in mma or something like that. He had no shot of making Rio and by tokyo hes way too old. Naddour wasnt at wintercup either…. something about his baby mama?

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      Horton had a periscope video today saying he needs to have a shoulder surgery but he is not retiring as he wants to retire on good terms. His goal is 2017 worlds.

      Nadour and Holly Vise had a baby girl a few days before the cup. I think it’s good he skipped this useless competition (where everyone fell everywhere) to be home with his family. He may have been added to national camp anyways–I can’t remember.

  9. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I love Simone. And this message.

    Still no message from GD. I even saw one from Kocian, Locklear, Jo and Geddert!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Gabby sent a reply in that tweet but I was told her mother sent one

      • Ss Says:

        Natalie did tweet Kyla. Also Gabby, Aly, and Kyla had done tweet thread going so it’s not like she didn’t acknowledge it. I’m not a huge Gabby fan but unlike in 2012 it does actually seem as though she is friends with these girls. Perhaps the chance that she didn’t become that much more famous then her team mates helped bring her down a notch. (I know this is a stretch because I have seen the interviews where she acts as tho she is in the same league as Simone).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Do you know how many pictures I have from high school standing next to people I My boyfriend in school’s best friends was friends with this one girl who I hated and yet we were always together because of the boys.

        Pictures and tweets mean nothing in the reality of things. Back in 2012 Aly and Jordyn were close and Aly and Mckayla were close and Mckayla and Kyla were close so there were pictures of them all in a hotel celebrating after the Olympic team was named. Kyla wasn’t friendly with Aly or Jordyn but she was with Mckayla and they all hung out. No one hated Gabby she just wasn’t friendly with anyone especially those that made the team.

        Gabby and Simone get along fine but the friendly stuff ends with the tweets and online social society every teenager has in their life. They might become better friends if and when they tour together because that is when the real friendships usually start but here we are 4 years later and the BFF Jordyn and Aly vibe they had when they saw each other all the time is all but gone.

        No one ever said Gabby was a bitch to the girls anyway. Though I always got a vibe she didn’t like Mckayla especially after the meme stuff that took away her glory. From what I can tell from when I have seen Gabby at meets and competitions she is a spectator at she just sits by herself. She doesn’t seem like the sociable type Mckayla and Jordyn and Aly are. She’s more quiet and into herself and what she is doing. She sat next to Aly at the American cup and they literally said nothing to each other for long periods of time.

        I do know more than a few years ago Marta sent Alicia to room with Chellsie at one of the meets to mend fences between her and Chellsie. That still makes me laugh.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I totally get you about pictures. I think they are only a part of the story. I do think Mac wishes she could do elite gymnastics. And here comes Kyla and retires on her own terms. Jo was able to do the same. I’m sure it’s not easy.

        I think Aly and Jo are still sort of close. There were pics of them flowing together. Jo and Aly had dinner together at LA when Aly was there for NBC rio shoot last month. I feel like if they weren’t at least semi-close, I’m sure Jo could have avoided her in LA. LA is big lol.

        Plus Aly was at her sister’s wedding a few years ago that speaks to their friendship. I’m defending pics but just saying that they may still be friends. Gabby is Gabby lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That’s what i mean tho we all have friends we see when they are in town. Just had dinner with an old boyfriend who I ran into on the street a few weeks ago. Time changes things.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m sure they r not bff anymore but I think they r still closer than Aly and Gabby who r still competing, haha.

        I guess, I’m different–I don’t have dinners with people I don’t like lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Neither do I. lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Also to be fair it was Aly who tweeted Gabby and Gabby replied. no tweet from Gabby to Kyla. Jordyn also tweeted about kyla and so did Aly individually.

        Gabby’s aunt bad mouthed Aly on twitter last year. Someone I know screen capped them. lol

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Gabby can’t be bothered with individual tweets lol.

        You know she is too busy preparing for American cup anyways. Read sarcasm here.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby only cares about Gabby unless it somehow makes her look better. Sadly I think a lot of teenagers and twenty somethings are like that.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        You’re right GTT about how teens are these days. And Gabby probably feels like it’s good riddance since that’s one more peg down between her and Rio. Even though we all know she’s going to be going as a gift anyways despite the fact she’s not top 10 on any one apparatus (in the world, unless the judges over score her, which they will).

  10. SS Says:

    I’m so sad to see her go but happy that she is going out somewhat on her own terms. It does make me wonder what happened at the last camp. They seem to have kept the results pretty under wraps. I feel like she must have known her odds of making the 2016 team, with the return of Aly and Gabby, were dwindling.
    On a side note…does anyone else really wonder what seems to have happened between her and Maroney? The two of them appeared to have been life long friends, and live close together, but I haven’t seen any hint that they even talk anymore. Actually Maroney doesn’t seem to communicate much with any of the Fierce Five. Maybe we will find out about that during her interview with Gymcastic.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Before they reconnected in 2012 they weren’t BFF’s. What they were was childhood friends that lost contact and then regained it when they started hanging around together again. I’ve had friends like that.

      Kyla very much knew her odds of making 2016 and I didn’t realize it but you are right, camp results have been quiet except the Hernandez stuff that leaked.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      There was a picture from Mac’s bday a few months ago and it was Mac, Kyla and Drury (the T-T gymnast that once trained with them). And then another one from Drury’s bday. Although I did always get a vibe that Mac was closer to Drury and Drury was close to Kyla so that’s why kyla and Mac remained very good friends. But I think they r still close–just maybe not as close. I suspect it’s because Kyla was still training and Mac wished she could. They may become closer again now.

      • Mim Says:

        I’m going to make a hugely wild assumption that maybe as they have grown up into different sorts of people, they’ve grown apart a bit, which is totally normal. But by that I mean that I can see Kyla growing up into a fairly level-headed, sensible no BS kinda girl who probably thinks Mac’s new-age hippie/botox/junior real housewife in the making is a bit bizarre and unrelatable. It will be nice to see if Jordyn and Kyla reconnect at UCLA.

        Gutted Kyla’s retiring but really a grown up decision to make for herself, good for her. I will miss her quiet confidence, graciousness, her lines, her clean routines… Yep I’m actually a bit teary. It’s fantastic news for Norah, Bailie, Madison, maybe even Maggie if she has a question mark on her.

  11. DL Says:

    Aw, I really wanted to see her make it to Rio.

  12. Tortuga Says:

    Have you guys noticed how much media attention Madison Kocian has gotten lately? I feel like they’re all pushing an agenda, especially after Kyla has bowed out. USAG just posted this Under Armor ad. Maggie and MyKayla are in too, but is it just me or is Kocian in the middle of most of the shots? I can’t find a way to share it but it’s on USAG’s facebook.

  13. david0688 Says:

    So what happens to our talent pool now that she’s retired? Do we even medal this year? As someone who’s a Baseball fan I’m always asking the question to what an addition of a player or a subtraction of a player impacts the team. Do we have a chance of winning without Kyla Ross?

    On a totally different note, does Amy Chow from the ’96 team have a social media account or something? I noticed that Shannon Miller has one but I’m curious about her.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Yes GTT the every 4 year gym fans are here.🙂

      David, without being an arse, the US is so deep they could field 3 Olympic teams and probably win gold, silver and bronze. On the other hand, the formerly strong gymnast countries (Russia, China, Romania) are relatively weak. Romania used to dominate but now they are relying on a 2004 (!!) vet to help them QUALIFY to the Olympics. China…they fall apart consistently. Or they are underscored on their best apparatus (bars). Russia – everyone is sick or injured.

      So no, Kyla leaving just opens the playing field for the other US gals to hopefully make a 5-person team. The US is so very dominant right now. That’s why Marta is sticking around; why not when a gold medal is pretty much a given. (Although we said this about McKayla Maroney and her vault, haha).

      • david0688 Says:

        I don’t what the “every 4 year gyms fans are here” comment is supposed to mean but it’s sad that she’s retiring.

    • dianajc99 Says:

      Amy is possible the most reclusive former USA olympic gold medal gymnast ever.
      She is a practicing pediatrician for Stanford medicine. Has really nothing to do with gymnastics.
      I think she will be at the trials- would make sense its in San Jose

    • Tortuga Says:

      Is this blog getting spammed?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It’s my fault
        I made the mistake going in the spam folder Which by the way is awesome here and takes 99 percent of trolls but I got some emails asking to post that didn’t take no for an answer well. I just like the group we have here that can disagree respectfully which out the attitudes tho I do del like someone slipped in that I don’t remember approving and has a name and pass word with a completely different IP which is usually a banning offense but as long as this blog has been around the Olympics brings out the trolls and I like the fact that 4 years ago we didn’t approve people so we had no issues.

      • david0688 Says:

        I’m confused, am I being called a spammer?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        No, no, no no one is talking about The every 4 year fans is a term for the fans that come to places like this every 4 years and make comments like, Simone can’t beat Gabby or Nastia is the best gymnast ever.

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      Dear David, USA would have to screw up big time (and with big time I mean something like four falls and several inconsistent routines in between) for them to not get the gold medal. They would have to have a fall in almost every routine to not get a medal of any color, because of their start values are so high I think they can fall all over the place and still get bronze. The only way for them to not get the gold hitting is for Valentina to find a way to clone people from the URSS team. And even in that case, I have my doubts. And Simone would need to have a really bad day (or get injuried…Martha better be careful with her) to not get the AA medal.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If Russia could stay on their apparatus this thing would be a lot closer but you’re right. The US even with their form issues cannot be beat unless something big happens but that is why we play the game so I think a hit China or Russia and 2 falls from the US could mean a fight for gold.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I suppose, but I find it difficult to believe. To be close, not only USA would have to have several big mistakes (GD, if possible), but Russia or/and China would have to hit everything. And I like Russian gymnastics in general, a lot, but I don’t remember a big team competition in the latest years in which they had had no falls at all. If I remember correctly, even in 2010, when they won gold, they had several falls. So not only USA have to have big mistakes, Russia and China have to be able to capitalize them. And after seeing last Worlds (four falls and three floor rutines with mistakes, my God Valentina WTF?) I don’t think they are in any position of doing that.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That was my exact point. Russia would have to become consistent and the chance of that happening is zero but you play the game for a reason

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        You are right…But with Russia’s inconsistencies…Well, maybe Valentina have several voodoo dolls with USA leotards hidden somewhere. USA can have falls and that’s the game, but even if that happens (could happen, of course) the other teams have to be ready to take that opportunity and I don’t see that coming. I think that Martha would let them pizza in the arena before that happens.🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marta letting them eat Pizza lol That happened once, allegedly🙂

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Urban legend, I think. Or something like Alexandrov and Valentina tongue-kissing. Unbelievable.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree it must be an urban legend:)

  14. dianajc99 Says:

    wow Kyla’s trending in the reg media

  15. Melissa Says:

    Please don’t make this site private. I never post but I literally come on here everyday haha I’ve been on here since 2011 and truly enjoy your style of writing. I enjoy the honesty of it all, and actually learn a thing or 2 in the comments. I know you’ll do whatever u want anyways lol but just know there are people like me who truly enjoy this place even if they don’t post!

    • gia20 Says:

      I agree. Please dont make the blog private. I’ve been reading your blog almost every day since 2011. I rarely post but I really enjoy the group of people you have here commenting on a regular basis.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Kyla had competitive start values on 3 out of the 4 events. And in 2012, she competed an amanar.

        Even in 2015, when she struggled on bars, she had 6.0 start value (at pg’s).

        D is only a part of the picture. Simone has a lower D for her 2nd vault, yet has consistently gets world medals on vault. Would you also not call her vaulting ability competitive?

        U.S is very deep right now but that doesn’t mean Jyka was doing level 10 routines. Funny.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Kyla always had lower D scores for the sake of higher E scores, but this code doesn’t really favor that. Plus that growth spurt I really think she was having a hard time. It also didn’t seem like her coaches were trying to figure out ways to deal with her height – Howie apparently said “she’s too tall to be a gymnast” at one point, which kind of irked me. Kyla will probably be their best athlete they ever produced.

    • Gymbee Says:

      Yes, I second that!

      I love reading your blogs and the comments. I learn so much from all of you, both gymnastics and baseball! The other day I was thinking that it’s been 5-6 years I’ve been reading this blog… Insane how quickly time flies!!

  16. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Larissa put it well:

  17. katecoursey Says:

    I will admit I teared up a little…she’s such a class act, and so beautiful to watch. Hope she shines at UCLA.

  18. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I’m starting to feel that USAG told their gymnasts “if you are going to retire, you must do it this week” lol. Not that he had much chance at making the rio team but Stacey Ervin just announced his retirement too, haha.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Right before Kyla decided to quit or announce she was quiting I was saying to myself, this has been a quiet olympic year. Where is the last minute retirement or comeback? I heard a rumor that Aly and Gabby were told if they wanted a shot at the Olympic team they their only chance was to be back for 2015 and that is why both made their comebacks a year earlier. Aly had planned to but Gabby had not but you know rumors…

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        It felt a little quiet lol. Maroney’s interview will be out tonight/tomorrow–I assume that will make things a little louder too, haha.

  19. G Says:

    Gymnastics Maroney interview isn’t up for everyone until noon eastern time but the people who have a subscription already saw it and it leaked that she does announce her retirement. I know everyone saw that one coming but I’ll be interested to hear what else she has to say.

    • Tortuga Says:

      I’ve been refreshing the page all day. Guess I’m bored lol. Thanks for the heads up on the time!

  20. dianajc99 Says:

    Rad Lauren Hopkins review of the interview, Isn’t Galina from Bulgaria and not a former Soviet?

  21. mctrish Says:

    Kyla and her coaches have a terrific relationship and I believe some quotes by her coaches may be misinterpreted due to language issues and out of context. She is friends with McKayla but they are different people and certainly had separate paths in the last few years. Kyla is going to major in bioengineering at UCLA and McKayla is embarking on a singing career, yes distinct goals but I believe they will remain friends. Everyone who knows them has always commented that they are different, Kyla shy and elegant and McKayla effervescent and outgoing. I wish them both well, they have been role models for many gymnasts and I have personally seen them be extremely generous with their kindness and time to young gymnasts.

Leave a Reply

