NCAA Week 1. The Super 7

I have decided our new NCAA feature will be called the Super 7 and feature each week (mood depending) the results of the following gymnasts. Bridget Sloan, Peyton Ernst, Lizzy Leduc,  Lexie Priessman, Sarah Finnegan, Katelyn Ohasi  and Talia Chiarelli.

If you want to add anyone else let me know because I originally wanted to call this blog the fabulous 8 but we were a gymnast short:)

Week one Playlist




Lizzy Leduc finished 5th AA and had two of her teams most impressive scores on beam and floor in her first College meet of her career. Then she tweeted about improving and how much she loved it which made me like her even more:)
The stupid tweet would not link so if you want to see what she said click here



Lizzy Leduc’s routines are at these times in case you don’t want to watch the entire thing. Also Lizzy’s floor was beautiful She was low balled or low schooled balled which happens a lot in College gym.

Bars (2.13)  Vault (23.48) Floor (54.11) Beam ( 127.17)


Sarah Finnegan (begin again) and Lexie  Priessman helped LSU get a gift at the expense of Oklahoma in their first meet of the season.  Sarah had a fabulous beam for a 9.925 and scored a 9.850 on bars for her two events and Lexie competed vault (9.775) and beam(9.725)



Bridget Sloan was Bridget Sloan leading her team to an easy victory and taking the AA in the process.

I know Peyton competed at least beam but her individual event scores are not mentioned.




Katelyn Ohashi fell off bars but had an other wise   decent meet to help UCLA edge Alabama…


Katelyn’s routines (Nice to see her smiling tho I will never understand the excited  teammates when you fall) Even before she fell her bars were rough. UCLA’s entire team had many form breaks during their bar routines.

I am not really a big fan of MS Val’s floor routines but I loved Katelyn’s. It was cute and like I said above it’s nice to see her happy. EX Liukin gymnasts that he killed or mentally burnt to hell succeeding in College is very much a let down for the potential they had as Elite’s but as much as the overscoing of Elite Katelyn drove me crazy and I think eventually she will get that same over score at  UCLA I couldn’t help smile when I saw her genuine smile after her floor. I feel the same way when I see Rebecca Bross happy. Half the time I expect all ex Liukin gymnasts to end up in mental wards. That being said she had some issues with the form in her tumbling.

Vault ( 3.29) Bars (26.30)  Beam ( 46.18)  Floor (114.13)



Talia Chiarelli probably hates Boston right now but I still like her (sorry daddy you had to go and you should have taken Cam Neely and Tuuuuuka Rask with you) but I have to laugh every time I see her name on her teams list of scores. Always one of the top performers for her team on Vault, beam and floor she of course doesn’t do bars. Oh Mihai you killer of AA dreams..

Talia’s routines (Tell me she isn’t a combination of Aly and

Vault ( 6.46) Beam (45.50) Floor ( 106.08)


Michigan Article

62 Responses to “NCAA Week 1. The Super 7”

  1. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I’d vote for McKenna Kelley but I know how you feel about her LOL.


    I also like Mcmurty but only her vault.

    Initially I thought Florida looked iffy but once I saw some other teams, I think they’ll be fine–although they are missing some energy.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      One of your comments went to the be approved file and one didn’t. Oh wordpress.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I don’t hate Mckenna at all. I don’;t even hate her mother (she just annoys me) but there is no way I spend that much time looking for info on MLR’s off spring:) Oh and that blog took an hour to write and it literally looks like I spent ten minutes.

      It was impossible to find scores and collegegymfans doesn’t keep links on front page. They bring you to more links and more links to get any results.
      It’s too much work.

      • gymmom2 Says:

        If this shows up twice, I apologize – just delete one, but I don’t see my first post. This site will make finding scores soooo much easier. It updates almost immediately after each meet ends. posts live video and stat links but those are from the meets and they links typically disappear within 5 minutes of the meet ending.

        for those interested in watching provides mobile links ( great for ipad) to the Pac12 and maybe some others. has links to SEC, PAC 12, ESPN, Foxsports and some others.

        Be forewarned the judging in a lot of NCAA meets will make your head explode. Some “reward” high difficulty even though it isn’t part of the code by overlooking form, others seem to reward team/gymnast reputation ( of course that happens in Elite). And when you wonder why all these girls who threw harder vaults in JO and Elite aren’t executing as well as you would think – remember they only practice 20 hours a week and most school vault twice a week – and on a traveling meet week that may be only once.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        UCLA and Florida’s over scoring is insane

  2. Exgymgurl Says:

    lexie exhibitioned on bars….. I swear kyla and her mom and sister were at the ucla meet or Im hallucinating….there are no other really good freshman…. lacy dagan or grace mcglaughlin or macy toronjo but lacy and macy are both injured….kately had a great first ncaa meet. No one ever expected to see her swing bars again after all those surgeries…

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      lacy and macy are both injured…. and that rhymed so it automatically leaves them out.

    • G Says:

      You’re not hallucinating🙂 They were there, Inside Gymnastics magazine had a facebook post about it

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    since sloan is on that list you could add ebee…

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    add ebee she got a 39.5 aa today and won all four events while her team lost to berkley

  5. Case Says:

    Talia is the real deal over here at Michigan. Definitely should have a strong Big 10 season.

  6. harts Says:

    I vote for adding Alicia Boren to the list. She had great beam and floor and I doubt she will sit her vault again (in the air it was amazing). She seems tailor made for college gym!

  7. Lauren H Says:

    I vote for Ebee too. I think she’s going to do very well in AA this year.

  8. sanitynmotion Says:

    I don’t even follow college but might be curious to see how Kyla does next year if she goes to UCLA (and competes next year). Does anyone know if she’s still planning on fighting for a Rio spot?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I’ll probably follow Kyla through NCAA here at this blog

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        She was at camp last month lets see if she shows up this month….

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She will. Why even botehr going last month if she wasn’t in this?

      • gymbot Says:

        I think the US has 20 or so gymnasts vying for the Olympics, but Ross could actually fit most Olympic teams. No matter which top all-arounders go, both bars and beam could be improved by a healthy Ross.

  9. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Can’t tell if you posted it above (my phone is being stupid on me but here is Finnie’s beam.

  10. KG Says:

    I’ve always loved watching Sarah Finnegan on beam and it was nice to see her do well in NCAA. She’s one of the few who should actually be doing the wolf turn. In general it is nice to see girls come back from so many injuries and the cutthroat nature of elite, and have (what looks to be) a very fun experience with gymnastics.

  11. gymbot Says:

    USAG’s American Cup list:

    Brazil: Lorrane Oliveira
    Canada: Elsabeth Black
    Great Britain: Amy Tinkler
    Germany: Tabea Alt
    Italy: Carlotta Ferlito
    Japan: Mai Murakami
    Netherlands: Tisha Volleman
    USA: Gabrielle Douglas
    USA: Margaret Nichols

    So no Biles as of right now. Nichols vs Douglas should be very close.

    • Ss Says:

      No, Biles is supposed to headline the Pac Rim Championships.

      • Ss Says:

        Sorry I hit send too soon.

        It seems like they didn’t put Simone at the American Cup so that Gabby could have a “prestigious” title from 2016 heading into the Olympics. They are doing everything they can to make it seem as though she is at the same level as Simone. Clearly educated fans know the difference. This is a great chance for Maggie if she can win though!

      • Aerial Says:

        Go Maggie. She isn’t a personal fave but has earned my respect and improved so greatly at each meet. I’m also for ANYONE beating Gabby. Cannot tolerate her attitude, and yes she scores well and is consistent, but don’t care for her gymnastics either.
        Hope Pac Rims is a juicy combo of competitors!

      • gymbot Says:

        When is Pac Rims and who else is going?

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      scam is a snore…..simone doesnt need the cash $$ from a scam win and gabby probably does. Bailie Key for exhibition performance!!!

  12. Melanie Says:

    Athletes who will dominate in 2016…they include one gymnast, which is Aliya Mustafina. Hmm?? What is it with stupid lists right now? If they’re going to include a gymnast, even if they don’t know what they’re talking about, you’d think Simone Biles would be an obvious pick. I don’t know if it’s a good thing or not that she has little to no recognition outside of gymfans.

    • gymbot Says:

      They also have Mustafina’s age wrong, she’s already 21. Their reasoning for her dominance doesn’t make any sense either.

      I hope she’s healthy enough to even go to Rio.

      • Melanie Says:

        I know, right? She’s barely trained in the past six months. I’d love to see her there, but she definitely won’t “dominate” 2016.

    • Guest Says:

      I laughed when I found Simone is not in the list while Mustafina in it.

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      It seems that the author of this article doesn’t know what he is talking about regarding gymnastics. In fact, most of the spormen showed there belong mostly to certain sports and Ledecky and Mustafina’s presence there is an oddity. I think the author googled something like “active condecorated gymnasts” or such things and Aliya popped out, so he/she choosed her, especially if he/she used an European Google, where Russian gymnasts (especially Vika and Aliya) are more popular than the American ones. If the author did know something about this sport, he/she would have picked Simone without any doubt whatsoever.

  13. fatam Says:

    This should be the National Team leo. The design can be tweaked some more.

    Someone got slapped with the puberty stick. My, what big arms you have. They’re bigger than Rachel’s. haha. I see an amanar a comin’, an upgraded FX and bar set with a Ray III dismount. I’m worry about beam though, with her new height.

    For 2020, I’m rooting for little Vicky Nguyen and that cheerleader from Kyla’s gym, what’s her name? I think her mom is Bulgarian. She’s fearless (which I like). Sloppy, but moldable. Kyla’s coaches got time with her.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I like them but they need sleeves

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I like them but they need sleeves

    • Exgymgurl Says:


    • gymbot Says:

      I’m worried about her beam too. Other than Biles, there isn’t a rockstar beamer whereas the code in the last quad allowed everyone in the US to be good on beam.

    • G Says:

      Laney Madsen is her name (I think) and I’m with you on rooting for both. I love the leo’s too, Chow’s girls usually have nice ones too.

      I noticed Norah looked taller and more muscular but I think Chow will be able to work around her height because it isn’t SO extreme like Kyla’s growth spurt. I’m just really anxious to see her compete again and find out where she’s at. I want her in Rio so bad!

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m glad someone else likes Norah as much as me. I think Chow been keeping her out of competition as she adjusts to her growth. Her injury last year was very minor.

        I need her in Rio. There is an interview from 2013 nationals, where Shawn says that Norah reminds her most of her (she called her her mini-me) so that’ll give NBC some fluff pieces. I’d rather watch those than whatever crappy think they decide to play about Gabby.

        Fingers crossed for Norsh! #pretty plz

      • G Says:

        🙂 I remember that interview! And I agree, that fluff piece would be cute because you know that Shawn is actually genuine and still connected to her gym family. If I’m lucky enough to meet Norah at trials I’ll get an autograph for you and send it🙂

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I wanted to go to trials so bad. But sadly I live on the opposite end of the country. I would love you forever!

        I’m going to be so irked if she doesn’t make it and Gabby does.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:


      • H Says:

        Hi, I am considering going to trial. Anyone been there with “not the best seating” and still think its worth it?

  14. Exgymgurl Says:

    i just thought maybe katelyn ohashi will pull a mohini bhardwaj and make an olympic team in elite post ucla on her own terms

  15. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Just a bit of gossip: Grishina got married!

  16. Guest Says:

    New video of Shawn’s Youtube channel. I think this one is good.🙂

  17. JAS4 Says:
    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Still not on the Norah bandwagon but I can’t wait to see what Chow turns her into during this Olympic year

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        As long as you allow me to talk about my Norah obsession, we are good🙂

        P.S LSU just had a beam meltdown (3 fell). It followed to floor, with 2 falls. But Finne did amazing. And Lexie was resting this week.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        But it’s my blog don’t you have to like who I like? Be obsessed just don’t get mad at me when I do what I do best. Nit pick. Though I love Chow and want to see him have 5 gymnasts on this team.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Nit pick anytime!–that’s why I love ur blog.

  18. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I forgot to include the link lol

Leave a Reply

