Happy New Year and why Inside Gymnastics is the worst magazine on the planet


Have a happy and safe night peeps. You know you are getting old when your idea of celebrating the new year is taking a bubble bath and finishing a book you have been attempting to read for 6 months.


I do however have to make fun of this Inside Gymnastics article that lists Anna Li as one of the ten most Influential US gymnasts of all time

The list seems to be in order of old to new so I won’t fault them for the order of the list but the list itself is a we bit stupid.

I have to say any list that includes 5 gymnasts from 2004-20008 has to have a huge asterisk next to it. To be ” Influential” that means you inspire someone to be like you. Maybe Carly Patterson inspired the 2012 kids while they were growing up but no way in hell anyone got into gymnastics because 4 years before it a gymnast won a medal.

So who did Nastia, Alicia and Shawn influence exactly? If we were about to start the 2024 Olympic cycle I wouldn’t argue with those 3 but it’s way too early to call them Influential.

The one no brainer on this list is Mary Lou Retton. The most ironic thing about her being such an Influence is no one outside the US thinks she deserved to win the gold medal.

Cathy Rigby ( not to be confused with Wayne Rigsby which I keep typing by accident) was one of the first US gymnasts to have success in the world of gymnastics so I am sure she inspired people too so check mark for her..

Kim Zmeskal and Shannon Miller ruled the 90’s at one time or another especially Miller who didn’t lose a competition for 2 straight years so a check mark for them. I personally wouldn’t add Dominique Dawes to any list I was creating because she has to be the most overscored, overrated gymnast of all time. The only reason anyone liked her is because sap stories sell especially in a world ruled by teenage athletes and followed by mom’s and old ladies who think because someones can’t handle the pressure they deserve fame and fortune but whatever. So…

That brings us to Anni Li. I can guarantee you if you took a picture to the streets in any city on any planet including Los Angeles and you showed the picture to 1 million people you would be lucky to find one person who knew who she was. Hell you could go to the UCLA campus during a gymnastics practice and be lucky to find 2 people out of ten who knew who she was.

She’s irrelevant. She’s less than irrelevant. She’s whomever was playing short stop during the exact moment Kirk Gibson hit the walk off homerun to win game 1 of the 1988 World Series. Hell that isn’t even a good analogy she’s like whoever was sitting in section 125, row 92 when it happened.

There are always going to be debates during articles like this but I’m sorry Anna Li is just something no one can debate.

Have a good night:)

37 Responses to “Happy New Year and why Inside Gymnastics is the worst magazine on the planet”

  1. KG Says:


    I could even make the argument for nastia, Shawn, and Alicia. While it’s too early to determine their influence over the sport/a generation, it could easily be said that they have helped to make gymnastics more mainstream. With their faces all over social media, television (a la dwts), and various commercials/advertisements, they may have influenced the way we (the collective non-gym society) see gymnastics.

    If we’re going with actual “influence” I’d throw in a Vanessa atler or domo. Some sort of “non-perfect” ending to the gym story. The other side of a sport, if you will, that can be brutal to the bodies and minds of its participants, which in this case, is primarily pre pubescent and adolescent girls. IMO those kinds of stories changed how people see gymnastics more than Anna li (no offense to her personally). Their stories at least got people talking (right or wrong, for better or worse).

  2. JAS4 Says:

    Happy New Year everyone! I wonder if who ever came up with the list is friends with (or a fan of) Anna Li?

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    you didnt mention the shining influence of mohini bhardwaj

  4. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Yeah I could make a case of Nastia, Shawn and Asac. Nastia, especially seems to have a set of babes who follow her blindly.

    Was this list of u.s gymnasts only? Let’s hope so.

    If you asked my husband, he’d say Asac and Aly. Aparently that must be the only 2 gymnasts I talk about because he literally didn’t know anyone else, haha.

    I’d add Maroney to the list before Anna Li.

    Honestly, even though Gabby and Aly are still competing, I’m sure they influenced some young girls to try gymnastics after 2012. Didn’t Mihai talk how he had a whole bunch of new gymnasts wanting to try the sport after Aly’s win?

    Anyways, cheers to a new year! I cannot believe that Norah and Regan will be seniors in a few hours.

  5. gymnerd Says:

    Happy new year, everyone! I would have started the list with Olga and Nadia…I guess I’m giving away my age?

    Which gymnast was it (Raisman?) who said that as soon as the calendar turned over to 2012, the Olympics were suddenly real and the pressure went way up?

    • G Says:

      Yeah I think it was her. I can’t beleive it’s finally an olympic year again, I remember after London I was so bummed that I had to wait four years and now here we are.

    • Melanie Says:

      They have to be gymnasts from the US. Otherwise, I think most of us would include Nadia and Olga.

  6. Gym Obsessed Says:

    Hilarious. Completely agree that Anna Li on that list makes zero sense.

    Happy New Year!

  7. Dee Says:

    I really don’t get why she is on that list. Can’t even think of one reason.

    What was the criteria to be considered “influential”? Having your own leotard line?

    • Guest Says:

      I think “influential” should be an iconic person in their sports and let some people who are not interested in their sports still recognize their names. Like Muhammad Ali in Boxing, Ronda Rousey in women MMA, Roger Federer in Tennis, Micheal Jordan in Basketball, David Beckham and Leo Messi in Soccer.

      Nadia may be the most eligible one if it goes to gymnastics.

  8. Melanie Says:

    So, I mentioned this athlete in a prior article about “gamechangers” for gymnastics, but Doris Fuchs Brause was a REALLY influential American athlete. First gymnast to actually swing bars. She totally revolutionized how bars were performed. A little recognition for her would have been nice in an article like this, and enlightening for readers. Much more so than ridiculous nods to ShawnJohn and Nastia (and obviously Anna Li, but I already ranted about that on the prior blog).

    • Lauren H Says:

      I’ve always felt that Doris never gets the recognition she should. Sure, she didn’t win any World/Olympic medals, but she was competing during a time where it was virtually impossible for an American gymnast to win anything. The fact that the crowd at the 1966 Worlds stopped the competition for over an hour with their jeers because she was underscored says a lot. She deserves to be on this list 1,000 times more than Anna Li ever would.

  9. Exgymgurl Says:

    dominique moceanu must be fuming that shes not on the list

    • Lithi Says:

      Speaking of, it’s now an Olympic year; get ready for the fameho onslaught. :p

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She actually makes more sense than Anna Li.lol

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        in truth she does, make more sense than anna li. in fact the mag7 as a team were just as influential as mary lou, and what about kerri strug? she proved that shed compete for bela even with a broken ankle. true brainwashing

  10. Case Says:

    You get 1000 points for the Kirk Gibson reference. One of my favorite Tigers of all time!

    That list is messed up.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Gibson was the first guy I thought of I don’t think there has ever been a more notable homerun. Though in hindsight I should have used Dave Henderson’s ALDS for personal reasons RIP Hendu

  11. sanitynmotion Says:

    McKayla Maroney is more influential than Ana Li – and I can even say she’s just as influential, if not more so, than ASac (sorry, you all know I love ASac). Maroney’s awesome amanar vault was not only exemplary perfection for this type of skill but I believe she set the stage for everyone else getting one. She almost made it be like where if you didn’t have an amanar, you might be left off the team. Her amanar was the reason she was ON the team to begin with. She even got people like me thinking we’re going to see a TTY vault in the near future.

    That and the whole “not impressed” thing. Sh*t she had a photo of her and Obama doing that face.

    Nobody knows who Anna Li even is. Even the four-year gym fans are probably thinking she’s a relic of the past that was in the gym before they started following the sport.

    • Guest Says:

      Maybe Mckayla’s meme in internet and her trolls with Obama should be her biggest achievement in her life. LOL

      • gymbot Says:

        One day she’ll find her shine

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        McKayla Maroney got a boob job and will probably be in playboy. Those are huge accomplishments!!!!!You dont even have to be naked in playboy anymore…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have never cenored anyone’s opinion here before but do we really need to talk about Maroney and her boobs? I couldn’t think of a subject I couldn’t care less about. I have my own.:)

  12. sanitynmotion Says:

    oh, and Happy New Year everyone~ I’m still in denial.

  13. Exgymgurl Says:


    • G Says:

      Yuck. Probably only a matter of time before she poses for them. Poor girl needs some guidance. It’s painful to look at all of those photos she puts up of herself on instagram.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        It’s hard because all her photos scream “look at me, I’m hot.” I believe she literally sits around all day doing her hair, putting on makeup, and taking photos of herself.

        And captions like “about to get sandy” and “baby” do not attract the greatest fans, I’m sorry. The saddest thing is we all know she’s better than that. She doesn’t need to just go out and sell her body. I understand she wants to be famous – do that in a different way. Go take acting classes and get into that. She’s not going about her dreams in the right way.

        Ugh. This is why I fear raising a daughter in this world. Girls think their biggest asset is their looks.

      • Guest Says:

        I have said she is too desperate to show off her boobs… so it would happen on someday.

      • gymnerd Says:

        I feel like I need a shower just looking at those pictures. Yecch.

      • mim Says:

        I’m surprised her parents put up with her hanging around the house all day doing nothing. Fair enough, she doesn’t want to go to college. But get a job, a new hobby, take a class, travel overseas, volunteer… SOMETHING productive and valuable. Her parents can afford it, hell even she can probably afford it with her endorsement money. Why enable the behaviour? At that age, if I was living under my parents’ roof, I had to be doing something with my life.

      • fatam Says:

        I remember reading on her USAG profile that her favorite show is “Keeping Up With The Kardashians.” [/rolling my eyes and shaking my head]. So sad Mckayla Maroney looks up to that slut. She’s 20 now and judging by some recent instagram photos of hers, she’s asking to get hacked again. This time her lawyers can’t used the under-aged defense. Once it’s on the internet, it’s there forever. Then again, what do I know, maybe she’s tearing a page out of Kim Kardashian’s book on how to get famous. Or she’ll try to one-up Aly Raisman’s Sports Illustrated body issue by posing for Playboy.

Leave a Reply

