Merry Christmas Everyone


I just want to take a second to thank you all for coming back again and again and supporting this blog. I really do appreciate each and everyone of you. 2016 is going to be an interesting year. Hope everyone enjoys their Christmas tomorrow or which ever Holiday they celebrate.

74 Responses to “Merry Christmas Everyone”

  1. lovelucas Says:

    Anyone else heading over to San Jose for the Olympic Trials in July?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Thought about it but decided against it when I heard the 2017 Worlds would be in Montreal. In the process of saving my money for that.

      • dianajc99 Says:

        good choice, attending a worlds is EPIC

      • lovelucas Says:

        I was at the 1991 World’s in Indianapolis – the one where US kids who qualified were not chosen but Kim Zmeskal was crowned. Back then I was still judging so we got to attend the post competition party that included all the athletes, coaches, etc. Onodi was a princess – she really is gorgeous up close.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        since simone is pro there is a good chance she will still be competing in 2017

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Maybe 2018 but if she wins as big as she could with the lack of competition we have now I think she will be too busy in 2017 maybe 2018

      • Cupquaked Says:

        Exgymgurl, I think Simone said somewhere that she wouldn’t compete past 2016 so that other girls can have a chance at success. Which I honestly think is half sweet, half dumb. If she stays healthy she could potentially become the Uchimura of WAG.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        simones agent will probably along ith her parents convince her to keep competing. Shes saying it now, so it seems like her “swan song” to advertisers and they want to pounce and capitolize on her popularity. She will make more $$ now.

      • Gym Obsessed Says:

        Cupquaked – I remember her saying that too but that was also before she was pro and still saying she was going to UCLA… so maybe now she’ll stick around?

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I have heard about Simone’s intentions of retiring if she wins the Olympic AA title as well. Maybe if she does that she will consider that she had achieved her goals and will want to move on to do other things.

    • G Says:

      Yes!! My mom and I are going, I’m beyond excited!

      • lovelucas Says:

        Hope to see you there, then. My bud and I were at the 2012 Trials at the same place. San Jose is a nice town and hotels within walking distance.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      She should stick around given the lack of competition…she really could be the female Uchimura.

  2. Sainabou Nyang Says:

    Yes 2016 will be very interesting. I can hardly wait. Happy Holidays to all.

  3. lovelucas Says:

    And – crud – can’t believe I forgot…but yes – Merry Christmas everyone!

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    mala kalikimaka y’all

  5. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Merry Christmas to you all!

    2016 will be an epic year! Fingers crossed for my top 3 to be in Rio–Simone, Aly and Norah.

    No Trials for me but I should be at Nationals. I’m also hoping to make it to 2017 worlds.

  6. Katie Says:

    Thanks for all you do, GTT!
    This my fave gym site by far.
    You have created a great site and I really appreciate that the commenters here are able to disagree about things and not have it be the end of the world. Merry Christmas to you and all of the commenters!

  7. KG Says:

    Merry Christmas GTT and everyone here!

    I’m not going to any comps, nor have I ever been to any… But I will be forking out money next gym term for gymnastics classes for my daughter after a year of her begging me, lol.

    I’m hoping for a healthy Simone to continue dominating, and one current gymnast and one former gymnast to just be kept to a healthy minimum if at all possible.😉
    Other than that, I’d love to see good, healthy competition as Olympic year stuff begins and as little politics as possible (though that’s never going to happen).

  8. Exgymgurl Says:

    12 2015 GTT truths of Christmas Gymnastics
    1. The Red Sox are more emotionally infuriating than Marta Steve Penny Rhonda Faehn and the international judges
    2. Nastia and her dad did everything they could to sabotage Shawn in Beijing and her dad is also her boyfriend. Oh wait thats Sarah!s truth and Sarah is gone so scratch the second part
    3. McKayla Maroney got breast augmentation back in Feb / March there was a two week break on instagram and when she returned the titty fairy had arrived. Basically right after she found out her heart issue was going to prevent any serious future training for elite.
    4. Skinner is very ignorant and its sad. We here at GTT are not even sure she realizes she can use two arms to block vault and are surprised she didnt try a one arm scottish bar routine that commemorated a drunk person ( super funny if it happened cause shes LDS and they dont drink) choreographed to a fiddy cent tune
    5. Marta put the EF UB judges into a hypnotic trance at worlds as a prelude to her evil plans for Tokyo and commanded them to include Kocian in the three way thus making it a four way.
    6. Mustafina is a goddess. We must all worship her and her helicopter legs.
    7. Shang Chungsong is underscored because shes tiny.
    8. Kyla Ross 2.0 is actually 5’7″ and is posting old pictures of herself to make her look shorter. Kyla Ross of London is henceforth known as Kyla 1.0 or baby Kyla.
    9. Shawn Johnson has an adult body type that will always make people think she needs to lose weight. She can put on five pounds and go from a size 6 to a 12.
    10. Yeah team GB. Now clean up your form and learn to stay on beam.
    11. Romania will be bringing back Nadia Comanici to compete the test event to see if she can pull one out and qualify the Romanian team to Rio. Silvas, Amanar and Raducaan will join Ponor and Iordache.Marinescu will be the alternate
    12. Anyone at Al Fongs gym in elite should leave immediately. Terin Humphrey sabotoges Fongs athletes on the selction committee and messes with their minds so that in the end she will be the most successful Fong gymnast ever. RIP McCool, Hong, Desch, Dowell,Vega.

    • G Says:

      This list is great! especially #4, 6, 7, 8, 9

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Dude are you sarah! – ? This cracked me up. Merry Christmas!

      The titty fairy lol…

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      No but I will say this fll flat now go everyone and like and mark as helpful the happy gilmore review of Nastias Shine on book on amazon. Its hilarious. I wish I had written it

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That review was amateur. There is so much more dirt on Nastia they could have included but it is nice to see a lot of people know about her bad attitude…

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I totally liked it after that first post on here alerted me to it. I honestly wouldn’t be surprised if GTT is Happy Gilmore lol…mentions the protein shakes and everything!!!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I get blamed for all the Nastia hate in the but let me tell you I am not alone disliking the girl and honestly my hatred of her has died down ten fold since she went away gymnastics wise and I never watch NBC broadcasts. I never see her face anymore and I don’t hate Gabby and never did I just hate her self entitled attitude.

        I don’t hate any of the current gymnasts at all. In general they are all equally

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I get it. The funny thing is people (other than us) apparently notice that she is an entitled snob. I can see it easily but maybe it came out more on that DWTS show. I never watched it. I can’t imagine she came off as appealing.

        I don’t think Gabby comes off as appealing either no matter how hard she tries.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby is fake. Every word out of her mouth is high pitched and obnoxious.

        I do find it ammusing that A, people actually think I would spend money on a book about Nastia or that B, my review of anything she does could ever be a paragraph

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        People noticed it during DWTS big time and she wasn’t half as bad as she usually is.

  9. JAS4 Says:

    Merry Christmas everyone!🙂

  10. G Says:

    Thanks GTT, and merry Christmas to you all as well. I’m super thankful for your blog and I’m happy I found it when I was first getting into the sport so that I was able to get such a prestigious education😀

  11. Case Says:

    Happy Holidays to all of you! This is my favorite blog and it’s because you all are fantastic.

  12. laura Says:

    Happy Holidays to everyone!! I love this blog and am so grateful for all of you!

  13. H Says:

    I hope you all have had pleasant days, and still do:-)
    GTT – wonderful You!

  14. Mim Says:

    Merry Christmass GTT and everyone here. Really looking forward to all the discussions in the lead up to Rio! xox

  15. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Reading Nastia’s book (yes, i know, blame my husband) but in it Nastia says her wedding is June 2017.

  16. Ilanchik20 Says:

    P.S. G, just for you. Nastia is planning to move to Boston after she graduates from NYU🙂

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      My worst nightmare come true🙂 If I see her in ONE Boston sports
      No way this marriage happen. 2 year engagement equals 40/60 % chance of happening

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      thats just it, if she had a real job with nbc in nyc shed stay there

    • Guest Says:

      gymtruthteller may wish their engagement will be canceled someday.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t see this Wedding ever happening. Who gets engaged and then tours for months with their “best friend” for a shine tour? Um no one with a real relationship.

  17. Lithi Says:

    A bit late but enjoy the remainder of your holidays, everyone.

  18. Gymbee Says:

    Merry Xmas and happy new year to you GTT and all the commenters!
    Thanks for writing this blog!

  19. Exgymgurl Says:

    I just read an article where sheryl shade was apparently also the agent for the entire mag 7 in atlanta, as a team she got them deals. She said in an interview that advertisers were looking for a one person standout and that most $$ is made beofre the olympics not after and that mary lou was an exception. I wonder if thats true and jordyn ended up with more than gabby. I know shawn made more than nastia pre and post olympics.

    • Case Says:

      Jordyn made bank. I can’t say how her earnings compared to Gabby but she was set before London, to the point she had no financial worries whatsoever and could make decisions about her life accordingly.

      However….Jordyn also did not have her family on her payroll which helped a ton and was a distinct advantage over Gabby.

      • H Says:

        and for us not native or not well versed in urban language:-) , made bank= means “acquiring a significant amount of money in a short time period.” – urban dictionary

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        This to me explains why Gabby is making a second attempt – to make the bank she missed out on prior to London…

        Although her media presence is obnoxious and I hope Simone cleans out the sports promoters’ funding.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Simone was all over top sport moment lists of 2016 Gabby wasn’t even mentioned. World and media only cares about gold.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Gabby hasnt signed anything significant since shes been with CAA. I bet her winning scam is the biggest check she gets all year.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby was in several commercials during the winter Olympics.I remember it annoying me at the time. Now I just don’t care.

        Let the kid make her money I’ll wait for mama to spend it all and enjoy the ride…

    • dianajc99 Says:

      I dont think shade was strugs agent at the time. It was a guy but i forgot his name.stein something

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That was after the Olympics. Not sure who she had before

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        strug planned on going to ucla and didnt go pro before the olympics.Because well amanda bordens gymnastics was so much better than NCAA

  20. sanitynmotion Says:

    Sorry this is late but Merry Christmas everyone and Happy New Year! I love this blog – thanks GTT for making it happen and for your posts, which always add some fun to my work days.

  21. Exgymgurl Says: so her announced reality show with oxygen was supposed to debut later this year
    Did that happen?

  22. Gymbot Says:

    Merry Christmas and happy new year all

  23. Ilanchik20 Says:

    So according to Nastia’s IG, she is in Keystone (Colorado) with her parents and her friend Liz. No fiancée in any pics.

    Shawn is in Colorado for a skying trip too lol.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      of course she has to spend time with her lesbian lover and he gets his man candy

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      shawn is in breckenridge with her fiance, SIL and BIL to be and another couple their age. So shawn and andrew spent christmas with her parents and are now skiing together with his family. They also did some cheesy hike. Seems pretty normal…and fun. Nastia seems wierd an keystone isnt even a popular celeb hangout, her parents have a place there because shes gone there a lot…

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Shawn’s pics look actually fun. Nastia looks like she is just skying by herself. But Nastia’s parents do have a place there–I did know that.

        I’m assuming her grandparents are there too since in her book she talked that they moved to the U.S in the fall.

    • Guest Says:

      Shawn skies again. She looks forgetting how many surgery her knee had and she has gymnastics tour in the upcoming year

  24. tulip Says:

    Merry Christmas to all and a big thanks to GTT for creating and hosting the only gymnastics site I visit. You rock sister!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I’d like to take credit for this blog but we exist thanks to Nastia.. Isn’t that ironic:)

  25. Melanie Says:!The-10-Most-Influential-US-Gymnasts-Of-All-Time/cd9n/568411fe0cf23a10fe3a0450

    Anna Li is one of the 10 most influential US gymnasts of all time? In what universe? Barf. I know Simone’s still competing, but the fact she’s not on this list is ridiculous. Hell, even Gabby should be on this list before Anna Li.

    • G Says:

      I just saw that and lol’d. I mean really…

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Based on the description, it appears they wanted an elite gymnast who succeeded by going to college and then doing elite–so something non-traditional. swems they wanted someone who didn’t do elite before college and only did elite after NCAA and Anna Li is the only one that fits that. But I do find that a bit ridiculous. If they were going for a non-traditional career Mohini is a far better case. Or Annia Harch–anyone lol. Mohini did do elite before NCAA but she was far better after NCAA lol

        I would have put Chellsie on that list too.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      This list is fucking hilarious.

      • Ss Says:

        This whole list is strange. I’m not a huge MLR fan but to not put her #1 for influence seems silly. She became a cultural phenomenon and the only gymnast pretty much anyone could name.
        I don’t even know what to say about Anna Li, most have no idea who she is…

      • KG Says:

        That list is ridiculous. Anna li would only be influential in that capacity (college before elite) if others followed in her footsteps. Which honestly hasn’t happened, won’t happen (at least under current codes), and/or remains to be seen. Otherwise that trajectory simply sets her apart, but isn’t influential.

        And agreed with the above, that Mary Lou should be first if we’re really going by influence. She is a household name and probably inspired countless kids to join gymnastics.

        They need to rename that list or stock it with actual influences.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      So didnt mohini bhardwaj go to ucla and then actually compete at the olympics and actually medal? Like eight years before anna li? This is like the dumbest article ever.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am going to do a happy new year blog when I get home and mention this stupid article. Stay tuned

    • Guest Says:

      Donald Trump retweeted that, oops.

Leave a Reply

