Maybe this blog will cover some NCAA this year

Sorry for being missing in action but I have little motivation to do much of anything lately but I  recently came across an article on the end of Bridget Sloan’s career as a gymnast and it made me think that maybe I should cover some College gymnastics this year. There are actually some past elite’s entering their freshman year of College who it might be fun to keep tabs on so without further ado…

walking wounded banner


Lexie Priessman, Peyton Ernst, Sarah Finnegan…. If I was a betting girl I would go the over on all 3 of them being injured by February but I think the 3 of them will shine in College gymnastics and benefit from the easier code. Though I wouldn’t mind seeing Lexie throw the first Amanar in College gymnastics sometime during her freshman season.( It hasn’t been thrown right?)



The gymnast I am most looking forward to this year is the one and only Lizzy Leduc. I feel like I’ve known her her entire life with her mother putting her videos on youtube as a child. This child was a beautiful gymnast from the get go and as far as I am concerned Valeri Liukin ruined not only her potential to be a successful elite but an elite at all.  Originally set to compete for LSU, Lizzy instead will competing for Illinois. Lets hope she makes it to Nationals and steals a medal from some LSU gymnast that dumped her. Lizzy is my new version of Jiang Yuyuan. How can you not root for that smile?



( see picture) since Bridget Sloan shocked the world at Nationals only to injure herself at Trials and retire from elite? With a new coach Bridget will attempt to lead her team to a 4th National title in a row. (asterisk included) Do you have any idea how hard it is for ME to like a Colts fan?






The overscoring of Katelyn Ohashi: Will it be as bad as her elite days now that she has joined the college of epic overscoring proportions AKA,  UCLA… Not faulting Katelyn just the judges who seemed to ignore her bobbles, falls and mistakes on a daily basis. I fear College judges will only be worse.


Any storylines you are interested in following this season?

71 Responses to “Maybe this blog will cover some NCAA this year”

  1. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I’m fracking excited to see how Bridget does. I was a little obsessed with her when she was an elite so I always root for her.

    Florida vs. Auburn meet is at Auburn this year. I can’t wait to go. It should be epic. Plus Florida’s new coach is a former Auburn coach so it should make things very interesting!

    Oh add McKenna Kelley to the list. Also Arianna Guerra at Bsma. And although she was never an elite–Alicia Boren. I predict the latter will be the new Kytra at Florida (vault and floor especially!)

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I hope they all do well this year. I hope Lexie stays healthy and does well. She had so much potential in elite if it weren’t for all the injuries.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Lexie should do well as long as she stays in one piece

      • JAS4 Says:

        I think it was her ankles/feet that kept getting injured in elite. Hopefully she can arrange her routines to go easier on her ankles/feet. At least for the first part of the season and she can add more along the way once she is used to competing again.

  3. Gym Obsessed Says:

    Agreed that Lizzy’s smile is the best! Overscoring or not, I’m also excited to see Katelyn – she is also a part of the ruined by WOGA tribe and I hope she has a chance to enjoy the sport again. I think you covered all the girls who I’m excited to see!

  4. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Oh I forgot Macy. Her floor at last year’s level 10 was beautiful. She was injured in the summer so I don’t know how much she’ll contribute but I’m excited to see her.

    I know she was never a top elite so she did it because she truly enjoyed it so that was always nice to see.

  5. H Says:

    What happened to Lizzy Leduc. I saw a video from 2012 elite. She looked good.

  6. Exgymgurl Says:

    Next year we get kyla sabrina and brenna, three world gold medalists. I think ebee will drop the first ncaa amanar…

  7. Gymbot Says:

    I have high hopes that ncaa is finnegan’ gymnastics swan song

  8. Gymbot Says:

    Why is Lizzy Leduc a fan favorite?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She’s my favorite not a fan favorite.

      • Gymbot Says:

        Lots of your followers seem to like Lizzy and she got some coverage on Lauren Hopkins website too. She as a good bit of fandom

      • Melanie Says:

        Like GTT said in the blog post, Lizzie’s mom has put up videos of Lizzie since she was a wee thing. I followed her career years ago, and people were really excited when she moved to WOGA. I knew her career would burn out after that, but people still love Lizzie.

  9. Sainabou Nyang Says:

    NCAA will be exciting this year. 2016-2017 even better. A part of me wishes Simone had not gone pro so we could have her compete for UCLA.
    I am curious to see how florida will do under the new head coach.

  10. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Word on the street is that Kupets had a baby girl a few days ago. I’m ready another Future Olympian lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Not that

    • G Says:

      I’m putting more stock in Hollie Vise’s kid🙂

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      If I were a gymnast parent I’d make sure my daughter wouldn’t touch the world of elite. Too much bias and stupidity, why expose your poor kid for that. If they want to go to college, so be it – but don’t get involved in Marta’s shit.

  11. Melanie Says:

    Is it just me, or is Bailie Key also missing from the camp this month? At the least, she’s missing from the pic Simone just tweeted.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I don’t think Simone’s pic includes everyone. Aly is not in that pic but she is def at camp lol.

      Skinner is not at camp either, I think.

      • G Says:

        Yeah Simone said on her ask account that Bailie was at camp but didn’t want to come in for the picture because she was tired.

  12. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Nooo! Anna Pavlova retires.😦

    • gymbot Says:

      true shame, if she had better luck, she probably would have qualified via the test event

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I loved her style… I was so sad for her in 2008 Olympics. She deserved that bronze AA medal and the problem in vault was heartbreaking. She could have medalled easily in that final. She really had bad luck sometimes.😦

  13. Ilanchik20 Says:

    In other news, Sacramone and Valery Liukin are the 2016 inductees for the hall of fame.

  14. Guest Says:

    Shawn confirmed her wedding day is 16th April🙂.

    • Lithi Says:

      I just came back from Shawn’s IG, she’s going to have a YouTube channel about (guess what?) her wedding! Ay-yi-yi.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I wonder if Shawn will invite Marta,Bela, Penny, Rhonda, etc…. To her wedding?

      • Lauren H Says:

        Are there actually people out there that care as much about Shawn’s wedding as she does? I understand getting married is a big deal, but there’s more to life than planning one’s wedding.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Apparently the wedding magazines and the people who are paying her lots of $$ to talk about her wedding care

    • Melanie Says:

      Haha, that’s my exact wedding date.

    • Gym Obsessed Says:

      I actually am a Shawn fan but I just watched her YouTube and had to stop halfway through b/c it was really awkward and horrible…

  15. Exgymgurl Says:

    so apparently peng and a bunch of other girls that belu doesnt think are rio material got kicked back to deva munteanu got sent back as well. Pengs mom is throwing a fit, but her difficulty isnt there. Belu is playing favorites…. discuss

  16. Exgymgurl Says:
    full story

    • Rocío Martínez López Says:

      No Izbasa? I haven’t hear anything from her since her comeback’s announcement. Do you know something else?

      • JAS4 Says:

        I haven’t heard much about her either. Romania could really use her if she is still training. Maybe she is just training quietly and staying out of the spotlight until she is ready for competition.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        I don’t know, JAS4. I haven’t heard anything, good or bad, so I don’t know if her comeback is realistic or not. In the situation Romania is in, I thought that they would try to shed light over all their opportunities to do a good job in the Preolimpics to quiet things and Izbasa is a good bet for her history and consistency, if she has realistic expectations of going. I suspect of her absence of this list. I think now we are not going to see her any time soon.😦. Too bad, Romania really needs her.

      • tennisgrl456 Says:

        Izbasa could be really helpful to the Romanian team, but assuming she does come back, she would HAVE to do bars. She did do bars/AA in London but I don’t know about now…she’s been away for a decent amount of time and I don’t know how realistic it would be for her to get a decent bar set back unless she is back training full force. If Ponor is healthy she is going to be on the team and that means that the other 4 girls have to do bars.

      • Rocío Martínez López Says:

        Yeah, she would need to do bars. But in the past she had a pretty decent sent. Not medal worthy, but if I remember correctly her bars were above 14.000 and she is very consistent. I don’t remember seeing her fall on bars like ever, something that put her above almost all her teammates in the UB front. But I don’t know her state either. But when she isn’t even mentioned as a possibility for the pre-Olympics, it seems to me very doubtful she will be ready for Rio. In the mentioned list Ponor is one of the selected ones and we have seen videos of her training and she seems pretty good, given her absence from the sport, so I think that she wil go. I think that Iordache, Bulimar and Jurca at least will have to do UB.

      • tennisgrl456 Says:

        Yep, if Jurca ends up being selected (which I think she will, based on how she performed this year at worlds), she will do bars. Iordache is a lock so long as she is not injured (if she is, Romania is fucked). Hopefully Bulimar can work on her consistency on UB bc her actual routine isn’t that horrible if she can manage to stay on. I just don’t see a place for Ponor and Izbasa on the team IF Izbasa does not have bars back. Yes, they could risk it and only put up 3 bar workers in prelims, but if one crashes and burns, they’d be facing the very real possibility of not making TF.

  17. dianajc99 Says:

    Questions.. wasen’t Leduc trying to compete for the philipines?
    I don’t think the amanar is aloud in the ncaa yet, it took them forever to allow the yurchenko.

  18. dianajc99 Says:

    Tis the seasons for best of sports lists’.. anybody find ANY mention of Simon Biles in the mainstream news??

  19. Gymnast41 Says:

    Sooooooo they announced who will be at American Cup and Pac rims. I am actually shocked by both of them. Gabby and Maggie at American cup, and Simone at Pac rims? I wish it would’ve been aly, but I guess Aly would want to be as ready as possible for the other comps. But SCAM…hmm….I really want to think that this is a way for Marta to get Maggie ahead of Gabby as the true second all-arounder, but then I have a bad feeling that media-wise (ahem,steve penny) this will be a way for gabby to finally have a title of some sort in this quad so she won’t be overshadowed by simone. Smart move by USAG lol.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Marta is keeping Simone away so Gabby will win.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Poor Maggie. This is for USAG to “verify” Gabby as the real second AA’er. She’ll be overscored completely and win, even if she doesn’t have an amanar. Total BS.

      And Simone is a shoe-in for an AA’er, why not rest her and put Aly in Pac Rims.

    • Gym Obsessed Says:

      2 more seniors and 3 more juniors will be sent to Pac Rims so this doesn’t mean that Aly won’t go to Pac Rims. Plus there is Jesolo as well.

    • Gym Obsessed Says:

      P.S. Maybe Simone made the CHOICE to not go to SCAM. Maybe she said – nope too early plus I hate competing with Gabby.🙂

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      i think they are using gabby to sell tickets. i think they will injure her out at the last minute. i think shes injured right now which is why she wasnt at camp……its also to piss off aly raisman. This will get aly motivated to work harder. i bet aly and kyla or bailie is assigned with simone. no way skinner has a shot at anything with her twitter problems….brenna and kocian wont get this because they arent aa gymnasts…

      • Sainabou Nyang Says:

        What happened with Skinner and twitter?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        She posted a giggly screen shot of a conversation between some boy and her and it had the n word it. Apparently USAG had a conversation with her about it.

        In other news, Aly is in a boot and that’s been confirmed, although it’s said to not be serious. Marta do not kill Aly. Ugh.

  20. tennisgrl456 Says:

    So looking at past results of Scam/Competitors for the USA:
    1976: Kathy Howard competed and made the Olympic team that year.
    1980: Marcia Frederick and Tracee Talavera competed and made the team that year.
    1984: MLR and Julianne McNamara competed and made the team that year.
    1988: Phoebe Mills and Chelle Stack competed and made the team that year.
    1992: Kim Zmeskal and Shannon Miller competed and made the team that year (some of these years had prelims and finals…I’m only going with the two finalists for each of these years).
    1996: Kerri Strug and Kristy Powell competed…only Kerri made the team this year.
    2000: Morgan White and Tasha Schwikert competed….both ended up making the team even though one replaced the other but let’s be honest: this Olympics was a complete clusterfuck.
    2004: Carly Patterson and Courtney McCool were the top two US finishers (although for some reason Americans made up half of the competitors)…both made the team this year (as did the other two US girls- Memmel and Humphrey)
    2008: Nastia Liukin, Shawn Johnson, Sam Peszek, and Shayla Worley all competed…the top three (Nastia, Shawn, and Sam) all made the team.
    2012: Jordyn Weiber, Ally Raisman, and Gabby Douglas competed…all three made the team.

    If we look at this from a historical standpoint, it bodes very well for Maggie/Gabby. Not including the gymnasts affected by the boycott in 1980, the ONLY US competitors/top 8 finishers (when they had more than 8) who did not go on to make the US Olympic team after competing in the American Cup in the Olympic year were Kristy Powell and Shayla Worley.

  21. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I’m hoping Aly will still go to Pac Rim’s.

    I also heard Aly make has tweaked her ankle at the last camp. Hopefully that’s not true.

    I want to know how GD has the American Cup spot as a result of this camp, if she wasn’t not at Camp (as far as I know)?


    I’m not Maggie’s biggest fan but I’ll be rooting for her.

    • Gymnast41 Says:

      Gabby is getting to go because she’s gabby *sigh*. That’s just the way it is. And yeah I really hope aly goes to pac rims. At first I wanted pac rims to be a way for new seniors to go and get some experience, but I guess simone should go ahead and do it if she isn’t doing SCAM…. I just want to know if Maggie or gabby would be assigned as well? Didn’t both Jordyn and gabby go to SCAM and pac rims in 2012?

      • Gym Obsessed Says:

        Both Gabby and Jordyn went to SCAM and pac rims (Gabby as alt at SCAM) but not to Jeslo. Aly did SCAM and Jesolo. I bet Martha will maybe let some of the girls do 2 out of the 3 (SCAM, Pac Rims and Jesolo) but none will do all 3 and some will do 1 of 3.

  22. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Looks like Kyla may have a personal trainer to work on her endurance.

    She looks tall here.

    • KG Says:

      Man, I’m 5’5″ and I looks nowhere near that tall. She looks more like 5’8″

    • Gym Obsessed Says:

      She certainly looks tall but it’s super difficult to really say when we have no idea how tall the trainer is. He could be 5 ft 8 or something. Does anyone know if it’s new that she has a trainer? I feel like she looks super fit! (Not that she didn’t always look fit.)

  23. JAS4 Says:


  24. Mimi Says:

    Regan Smith committed to Oklahoma! Loving this!

  25. Exgymgurl Says:

    i want to write an onion style news story about how smoking cigarettes and becoming a chain smoker is helping nastia shine and stay healthy and skinny

  26. gymmom2 Says:

    And Sabrina Schwab – another elite injured Wogette – Since UCLA dumped her to sign Simone ( had to be for promo/fan fundraising since everyone with half a brain knew Simone would go pro) hope she rocks in the PAC12 for UTAH. Hope both she and Lizzy shine just to spite UCLA and LSU.

Leave a Reply

