Floor Event Finals Screen cap

Somone sent me this screen cap of the floor event finals after Maggie won her medal. It was too funny to pass up a little caption fun:)



Maggie Nichols signs letter of intent to compete for Oklahoma.

Happy Veterans Day tho personally I think only celebrating the people that keep the ungrateful safe should happen every day not just once a year.


192 Responses to “Floor Event Finals Screen cap”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    I wonder if Penny will want Marta to put Kocian on the team now that she is a world champion on bars? It probably depends on who will go pro and who Penny thinks will bring in dollars for USAG lol

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Holly Vise won worlds on bars and she was left home…she had a very usable beam, too. Kocian won’t medal at the Olympics with a more competitive world field.

      • KG Says:

        Yeah, and she’s still a one event gymnast. And not a “star power” gymnast. Plus, I don’t think that four way tie gold medal will stand up as far as legitimacy during trials, since it wouldn’t have happened at the Olympics.

    • Dee Says:

      When I saw Kocian picked for this world team I did think to myself that she better get herself on the top of the bars podium if she wants on that team for rio….even though there was a ridiculous tie I think Marta will use this as a way to take a WOGA girl to rio. Just my prediction!

  2. Ss Says:

    Curious about Simone signing with NIke…how many gabby/Simone commercials and ads will we see come next summer…

    • Guest Says:

      Is GD still holding contract with Nike? I barely see her in Nike promotion or activities these 2 years.

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        Her insta shows that she’s still involved with Nike, and she retweeted something about nike a while ago and Simone’s announcement. So I think she’s still somewhat sponsored?

  3. gymnerd Says:

    “Still not me, still don’t care,” LMFAO.

  4. Sainabou Nyang Says:

    Lol I swear shots from teammates from the sidelines or the audience is everything. When theyre on the sidelines its like they are looking for the cameraman. I cant wait for olympic trials so we can get more sideline chatter from the coaches and gymnast who forget the camera is there.

  5. gymbot Says:

    Actually, if they gave Paseka the gold over Hong, Skinner could have medaled over Biles. I doubt Skinner can challenge Maggie or Aly for a spot in a floor final (behind Biles).

    • JAS4 Says:

      Skinner’s Cheng and Amanar were looking decent in podium training. Possibly better than Hong or Paseka.(I’d have to go back and watch the video to be sure.) It’s possible that Skinner could have won Gold if she had been in VT finals.

    • Guest Says:

      Nope. It depends on judge’s favorite mostly. Paseka has ugly form of vault but judge still score her higher execution scores than Hong.

  6. Exgymgurl Says:

    No, Gabby was wearing underarmour shoes at worlds like all the other girls while aly was wearing reboks in the touring / casual shots. Pretty sure that means gabbys contract with nike is over. When was the last tweet we even heard about nike from her?

    • Guest Says:

      Shawn looks excited and congratulated Simone joining Nike family and wishing to have a swoosh party together while GD just retweeted Simone, Hmm.

    • daniellecosullivan Says:

      Gabby posted an Instagram about new Nike shoes on her way to camp a while back- and thanked them… Dunno though. Her star factor may not shine so bright now. There really is no comparing the two of them as athletes. If Simone gets the gold AA next year, Gabby shall fade into the land of one trick pony gymnasts. I think she might even keep going after Rio if she doesn’t medal in AA. Just to keep the candle burning.

      • Dee Says:

        Agreed on the candle burning part. I think that’s the only reason she’s back. Before her “lifetime movie” Aired they did a special on what she’s been doing since London and I feel like the lifestyle she has been engaged in since then won’t be sustained forever without continuous endorsements. that being said, I had zero idea she ever was sponsored by Nike in the first place!

    • Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

      underarmour is an official USA gymnastics uniform sponsor. the gymnasts are supposed to where the brand.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Yes but Aly wears her reboks, if they are just out running around they can wear what they want, McKayla Maroney wore adidas out and about and covered up underarmour logos with her hair. Gabby makes no attempt to wear anything Nike and if she were a paid endorser it would be a requirement.

  7. Exgymgurl Says:

    wierd because maggie already committed to OU shes been on their commit list forever

  8. gymnerd Says:

    I feel stupid, but who are the two chicks on the left side of the screen cap? “Bitch stole my medal” and “Red, white and blue” girls?

    • H Says:

      Skinner and Rhonda (Rhonda is not a gymnast now, but maybe the one who takes over Marta’s job)

      • gymnerd Says:

        Thanks. I feel like a dumbass for not at least recognizing Rhonda. Skinner looks way different with her hair down.

  9. G Says:

    Leotard panel is up, I’ve been trying to figure out how to fix the font issue but I’m failing so I’m sorry if it’s screwy looking. Here is the link and thanks to everyone who contributed!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I can’t even read what it says.lol Somewhere in the text of your blog someone has tagged their comments to be bigger than everyone else.

      Like when you want bold text if you use whatever is in that text will be bold you have to end the tag to like BOLD you need to find that and get rid of it. That is why one person’s comments are bigger.

      Do you have wordpress? or blogger because on wordpress you can look at what you wrote in html and check

      Hope this makes sense.

      whatever is written here is bold

      Take out the ————–

      • Cupquaked Says:

        Those are my comments that are bigger. I’m not sure why. I did my comments in Word on a mac and then just emailed the document.

        G, sometimes just taking everything and putting it in one document program (like Word or google docs), formatting the font to be the same size, and then copy + paste-ing that into your blog will fix the problem! I hope that helps!๐Ÿ™‚

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Somewhere in the HTML something is hiding making all the print small. I have had it happen to me too.

      • G Says:

        Fixing it on Word worked! But now I have to add all the photos again. I will have it back up by tomorrow though๐Ÿ™‚. Thanks for the help, I was getting so sad because it took me so long to put together!!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I’ve lost entire blogs so I totally understand how you feel. Especially when you’;re working so hard to get it right.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      so sorry I did it out of 5. I could have sworn you said 5. Hell ten would have been a hell of a lot easier trust me.

  10. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    was looking for another ’91 meet and came across this “GEM”

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      OMG 17 minutes in where Okino, Strug, Zmeskal, Grvich do this cowboy medley floor exhibition, is priceless. Shannon was there too and they left her out of all the group numbers. I wonder how much the Karolyis got paid for having their four athletes do those two group numbers. Grvich has better form on bars than shannon whos legs seem bent wat more than they did in Barcelona but shannon had way more difficulty. Bela talks about how important Kerri will be in barcelona. How did he even know she was on the team? This is the same BS as Gabbys coach being interviewed this week and saying Gabby will compete at SCAM next year.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Shannon never mattered to Bela or Marta til Bela tried to claim her as his in 2000 and she broke.

      • aerial Says:

        Kippy Strug was always ranked high as an AAER and was projected to eclipse Zmeskal… which, I guess in several ways, she did!

      • gymbot Says:

        The invites to the World Cup events, including SCAM, depend on placement at the World championships – so Douglas already has an invite and would have to turn it down for another to compete.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        They changed the rules. It’s now top 8 Countries send a gymnast so no, Gabby isn’t guaranteed anything

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        The scam invite from worlds is 1 per country. Only Simone gets it automatically. Not sure of GD’s coach knows that. GD assumes she’ll get it. Unfortunately she is prob right but it’s not automatic for her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It’s just her usual arrogance and free pass from Queen Marta

      • gymbot Says:

        There is also the WC invite reserved for organizing member, so they can both go to SCAM. I am a little shocked at the rule change because now we will not see gymnasts like Giulia Steingruber or Jessica Lopez.

  11. Guest Says:

    A new reality tv show is coming to Shawn. Anyone guess what it would be.

  12. JAS4 Says:

    Is this recent?

  13. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I’m so happy excited Shawn may be on tour. I think Jordyn may be on tour too. Jo posted posted some training videos on her IG (where btw she looked great) so I’m hoping its for the tour. Hopefully they can leave Gabby off, haha.

  14. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Btw, I think the November National training camp is happening right now. Anyone know who is there?

    I saw some pics of Norah at camp. She looks like she grew some. I predict her absense from nationals wasn’t just about the injury.

  15. Guest Says:

    Anyone watched UFC? Ronda Rousey is beaten by Holly Holm and takes her first defeat. That tell us why you have to stay humble and respect to opponents in your sports.

    • Cupquaked Says:

      Also don’t ever underestimate your competition (coughgabbycough), because that just means you’re unprepared. Which she was. I hope this humbles her. She is still a very talented athlete!

      • Guest Says:

        GD is never considered dominating her sports as well as any single event in anytime. I don’t understand where she can get such a conceit.

        So I’m glad Simone can still stay humble and improving herself though she is already recognized the GOAT in women gymnastics.

  16. Gym Obsessed Says:

    Ugh – did you see Gabby’s comment about Simone: โ€œI guess we have that kind of relationship like, โ€˜Hey girl, I love you but you know Iโ€™m coming after you, right?โ€™โ€‰โ€ Douglas said, laughing. โ€œWe donโ€™t get catty or anything or try to like sabotage. Thatโ€™s just pointless. Weโ€™d just rather leave it out on the competition floor.โ€ It’s in this article: http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/sports/2015/11/13/douglas-focusing-on-rio-after-silver-at-worlds.html

    So obnoxious. I hope Simone continues to kill it.

    • Cupquaked Says:

      Literally just replied to Guest about Gabby’s attitude. She is seriously so incredibly delusional it’s almost sad. I can’t wait until Rio, “we all have to deal with disappointment.”

  17. sanitynmotion Says:

    Maroney has heart problems?

    And what did Rousey do/say about her opponents? I saw her in a movie but don’t follow her career.

    • Guest Says:

      I thought you saw Rousey’s instragram that what she said. LOL
      The only reason to defend her may be it is a WWE-like drama.

      • fatam Says:

        I like Rhonda Rousey, but was disappointed that she didn’t touch gloves with Holly Holm at the beginning of the fight. I don’t know, I always thought all those pre-fight smack talk, stare down, etc, were all fake drama and to boost ticket sales, and also encouraged by the promoters.

        Anyway, Rousey was always on the offense during the fight, and I think it tired her out, then Holm gave her one good push and landed a nice clean kick to Rousey’s neck, knocking her down. Rousey looked pretty dazed on the canvas, and if it weren’t for the referee stopping the fight, Holm would have given Rousey a serious beating to the head. Rousey looked pretty dazed and confused on the ground, and wasn’t blocking or fighting back when Holm was on top of her and starting her punching assault.

        I still like Rousey. Just wish she would touch gloves with her opponent. And Holm (judging by her facial expression) DOES seem like she care and was worried about Rousey after the knock down/fight.

        No one stays #1 forever.

        Why do I watch beautiful gymnastics…..then also watch two ladies beat the shit out of each other. LOL.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        For whatever reason I just find this sport to be so vile. I watched the movie Southpaw and have also seen the Rocky movies and just can’t get myself behind it. I just don’t get it.

        But then again I don’t get NASCAR either.

  18. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    Nastia feeling a little left out with shawn and jordyn posting skills. she posed on her twiiter a front Ariel.

  19. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    Dude with the russia track doping scandal I found an old article on there abortion doping during the cold war. I knew they had done that to some athlete but the to there WHOLE ’68 olympic gymnastics team!!!

    • Katie Says:

      Russia was crazy. There were so many rumors about nastia going on birth control in 2006-2007 so that she would have her growth spurt and have enough one to work through it. So many people were like “nastias coach is her dad he would never do that” but why not? He came up through the soviet system and I’m sure he looked at birth control pill as strictly methodical to peak for the olympics.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That rumor was out there I never understood what exactly they were doing

      • Katie Says:

        From my gathering, he wanted to time her growth spurt and induced it with birth control pills so they could deal with it in 2007 rather than 2008.

      • gymnerd Says:

        That’s….kinda gross.

  20. G Says:

    Hooray! I fixed my leotard panel post at last, thanks to those who gave me advice on how to do it, I was about to have a breakdown lol

    Here is the link: http://gsgymblog.blogspot.com/2015/11/worlds-leotard-panel.html

  21. Cupquaked Says:

    LSU just announced Ruby Harrold has signed with them. Also some girl named Ashlyn Kirby, and Kennedi Ebney who I was really hoping would try for elite since she basically dominated level 10 for 3 years. She reminds me a lot of Ebee in her style of gymnastics, athletic but still has a sense of artistry at some point. Really powerful too.

    LSU already has Lexie Priessman and Sarah Finnegan. Next season (16-17) will be fun to watch!

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      LSU also has McKenna Kelley. She didn’t exactly have elite potential (despite what Marta thought) but I think she is far less injured than Fini or Presman so I’m excited to see how she does.

      • Cupquaked Says:

        I’m a dunce, I totally forgot about her! She was great as a level 10 so I’m sure she’ll do well in NCAA. Probably be an all-american if not this year, then next!

  22. fatam Says:

    I know we all are looking forward to reading Nastia’s new memoir. haha. j/k. Just in time to milk Christmas and and the start of the road to Rio coverage. Someone shoot me if Gabby too announce another damn book of hers.



    Nastia Liukin is an Olympic gymnastics all-around gold medalist, but the road to her success was not an easy one. In Finding My Shine, she shares not only her personal journey of success, but also her biggest challenges, including her career ending fall during the 2012 Olympic Trials that she now says was the defining moment of her life. Throughout this book, she delivers her motivational tips toward reaching any goal, overcoming obstacles, and learning how to pick yourself up after the inevitable falls you will have in life. Nastiaโ€™s story is a true American dream. Born in Moscow, Russia, her parents were both champion gymnasts in their native country. The Liukins moved to the United States when Nastia was two and a half, because they wanted to give their daughter every opportunity possible. Even then, Nastia was certain she wanted to be a gymnast, and spent every hour she could in training. That dedication paid off. Nastia became a key member of the US team, winning five Olympic medals. She also won nine world championship medals (four gold and five silver) making her one of the most celebrated gymnasts in US history. Nastia was in the spotlight again in 2015 when she became a competitor on Dancing with the Stars, partnered with Derek Hough. She now speaks to girls and young women across the country in the hopes of motivating them to turn their own dreams into reality. Finding My Shine is a moving story of a remarkable young woman who won Olympic gold, but whose passion truly lies in inspiring others.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Face planting it was the defining moment of her life haha

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      LMAO Her passion lies in inspiring others. I am sorry but the title of this book says it all. I am surprised this isn’t being released next year but she’s using it to promote her new business.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      She had to self publish… cmon even gabby and shawn and Dominique moceanu have publishers…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is sad. She has the best story when it comes to coming from Russia I always wondered why she never published a book. Self publishing is for losers๐Ÿ™‚

      • Lithi Says:

        From a publishing perspective, Nastia doesn’t seem to have much of a hook. Sure, she was born in the USSR to successful Soviet gymnasts, but Valeri and Anna were able to build a lucrative business. They may have scratched for money in the early years, but eventually became successful, like many immigrants to the States. She doesn’t have that “against the odds” type angle publishers seem to love. She had money and the lineage that drove her to Beijing. If WOGA went bust, the family was deported back to Russia or maybe she was in a terrible accident a la Dmitri Bilozertchev that should have ended her career but she clawed back and won gold, that would be worth a read. (Her princess personality doesn’t help either, don’t think I didn’t forget that. ;p)

        Actually, if Valeri was to write a memoir I would probably read that, especially if it spills dirt. Actually, any memoir from a former Soviet or Romanian of the 70s and 80s I would read.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I guess it depends on who the demographic is for the book. Honestly I don’t find Nastia interesting at all.

        So whose gonna buy this shit book and let me know what she says?:)

      • G Says:

        I’ll probably read it at the bookstore so I don’t have to buy it lol

  23. Guest Says:

    There is a new article of Shawn talking about health and fitness.

  24. exgymgurl Says:

    http://www.amazon.com/Finding-My-Shine-Nastia-Liukin/dp/0692561013/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid&sr nastia has now published a book, by herself because apparently no reputable publishing house bought it

  25. Gymnast41 Says:

    So I did a thing that was shameful and I deserve to get a lot of crap for this. But I was curious, and after avoiding forever and actually doing it, I instantly regretted it. Guys I watched that craptacular Gabby Douglas story movie and I could not be more ashamed. That movie is the key to brainwashing all people of the US into thinking gabby is a miracle child and deserves all the medals she could get. I have never seen a worse movie. Goodness gracious that was awful.

  26. KG Says:

    Camp with these cuties๐Ÿ˜œโœŒ๐Ÿฝ๏ธ๐Ÿ’—

    A photo posted by Kyla Ross (@kyla_ross96) on

    Well Kyla is at camp, so there’s a little beacon of hope…

    • G Says:

      I saw that too and it made me really happy. I know she still has a lot of work to do but at least she’s still in it for now.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I think Kyla’s stock went up big time at Worlds. Her beam routine and a 6.5 bars could be the key to her making this team. Upgrade the damn dismount Kyla and keep the routine you have. 6.2 or 6.3 should be good. It’s not like her routine is so difficult she is too tired for a more difficult dismount.

    • Gym Obsessed Says:

      YES. And I agree with GT – her ticket to Rio is a good beam and a solid bars.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I think it will be between Kyla and Norah for bars/beam spot.

        But if Reagan is on a team, then perhaps, they need a bars specialist only so then it’ll be between Kocian and Locklear.

        I love Kyla but I also want Norah on the team so I’m indecisive. I do think Marta will only take one new senior.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Norah and Regan will need to improve their bars if its a beam/bars spot.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I am thinking Norah for bars/beam because her bars were good last time in Jesolo (I think she competed a 6.0 D) so expect for her to have at least 6.5 this year. Plus she is a true Beamer who can prob medal on beam in Rio.

        Regan’s bars are crap but she has a very good beam/floor so I guess if Regan and Aly somehow both make the team, we’ll need two bar specialists. Regan’s ticket to Rio is def her beam.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You just added more to the dilemma of what will be because technically Kyla is an All arounder that just last year competed all 4 events in team finals over Simone and has a proven track record of hitting for the team.

        There is so much dilemma for this team especially when you know Marta will include Gabby and probably Aly no matter how they compete next year there is no way to actually pick this tea, ESPECIALLY when you know Marta has her own rules.

        Ride should be fun:)

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        If everyone is healthy or healthy enough to compete in Rio, I have no idea how Marta will pick this team but also make it appear fair, make herself happy and make whatever other powers there may be (Penny, etc).

        I’d say Simone is a lock. Gabby and likely will be there too, especially GD. That only leaves 2-3 spots, which is crazy.

        I want Regan, Norah and Kyla but I doubt that’ll happen. I also prefer Locklear over Kocisn. Plus we have s ton of other all-arounders–Maggie, Key, Laurie. And other specialists–Skinner, Baumann. And some others who won’t be even close–Nia, Amelia, Rachel, Sydney, Desiderio, etc.

        I’m excited to see the craziness the Nationals will be. I think I’ll be there in person.

  27. fatam Says:

    Kyla looks big in this picture…compare to the Chow girls.


    • G Says:

      Chows girls are tiny and I think it’s just the way that Kyla is posed/ the way the picture is taken, some other girls look pretty broad too.

  28. Melanie Says:


    “Gabby is so easy to room with because we are similar outside of the gym. We always are resting or sleeping. We go to bed early and we nap so we make great roommates.”

    To paraphrase: “Gabby is a great roommate because we’re both unconscious most of the time.”

  29. gymbot Says:

    The FIG posted the CoP Proposal for 2017. Some major changes, but it seems like vault will be the highest scoring event by a mile. We’ll see if this sticks, but I imagine this is too drastic of a change so a lot in this proposal wont stick.

    Vault – the major change is both hands must touch the vault or -2.0. No mention on changing the vault D scores.

    Overall, composition requirements now add up for 2.0 instead of 2.5. Plus they made difficulty building on bars way way way more difficult.

    Bars – the code demolished the current state of bars. Stalder and piked stalders are now recognized as the same element, so if a gymnast performs both a “chow” and “maloney” shaposhnikova element, only one will be counted for any credit, including connection. Pak saltos no longer receive credit if caught at an angle greater than 30 degrees – so perhaps we’ll see less poorly done paks. Change of grips requirement must occur sometime between the mount and dismount, and cannot be from kip hop to change grips. Otherwise, connection value and composition requirements are the same, except D dismounts are not required. Finally, only two skills from the same family, besides giant swings, may be counted toward difficult (remember, stalders and piked stalders are one family now!).

    It will be very difficult for gymnasts to build their scores now, so perhaps we’ll see a lot of diversity in bars now. At the very least with no D dismount requirement, we may see a lot of diversity in dismounts here.

    Beam – the goal of changes to beam were to show off more dance skills, so now turns performed on the same leg in either direction are counted as separate elements. B+C dance combinations (think Pavlova’s switch ring to stag ring leap) receive 0.1 bonus. B+D mixed connections get 0.1 bonus. Although the D dismount requirement is lost, F and G dismounts are incentivized because you receive 0.1 bonus for competing them from an element with flight (round-off or back handspring). Now the code asks for (1) a dance combination, one element a 180 leap, (2) mixed combination OR a second dance combination, (3) pirouette, (4) acro series. Dance elements (read turns) receive 0.1+ in difficult if competed in cross position. The other connection bonuses remain the same.

    Overall, beam will look quite the same I think. I do believe a lot of gymnasts will aim for the mixed combinations but they wont deliver on them – so most will just add two dance combinations for credit.

    Floor – they now require more advanced tumbling based on the requirements. The composition requirements are (1) salto lines must show forward and backward tumbling (2) a double salto, (3) a salto with 360 lateral axis turn and (4) dance passage with two leaps. Take off from one leg will no longer constitute a salto requirement (side aerials, front aerials). Connection values are the same and they reinstated that tumbling passes cannot occur one after the other on the same diagonal. There are some additional rules about organization of the routine – including that it ends with choreography and not a dismount.

    Seems like floor wont change so much, but maybe it will be difficult for gymnasts to squeeze in four passes if they have to run from corner to corner. We’ll see if it sticks, since this rule was also introduced in 2013 and blatantly ignored by many gymnasts.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Call me when the double tuck disappears from floor routines. It wasn’t good enough in 92 it shouldn’t be allowed now in 2015

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Grandi has lost it. In his letter to FIG Technical committee, he wrote that they should get rid of bars in wag since ther was a 4 way tie. He said the bars are too difficult, using Romania as an example.

        Oh and he acknowledged that he was the one to suggest Nellie to use the American girls to solve “her” Belarus problem.

        Politics, I swear

  30. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Kyla with two other future Bruins. I think that’s Morgan Freed. I’m not sure what to think of this title.

    I do think Kyla looks significantly taller than them and I think Norah has grown a bit since we’ve seen her last.

    Can't wait to be a Bruin with them๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿป๐Ÿ’› #UCLA

    A photo posted by Norah Flatley (@norah_flatley) on

  31. Brittany Says:

    That Bruno Gandi thing going around about getting rid of uneven bars and all that, was a joke! Thank god it isn’t true or I think the gymternet would implode.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      Lol. I just thought that was a legit translation of what Grandi said. I didn’t open the original. I wouldn’t put it past him, hahaha.

      Although I guess if he did in fact say that a 4-way tie is ridiculous, I agree.

      • Brittany Says:

        I thought it was real at first too! Wouldn’t put it past him to say something so ludicrous and actually mean it, though.

  32. Guest Says:

    I just wonder is GymMom the body shamer against Shawn?


  33. Bess Says:

    Anybody have the background story as to why Gymnastike is no longer and it is now FloGymnastics?

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      They posted a video, a story on how Gymnastike was born and how it was always part of Flo. It appears that Anna’s husband is one of the original Flo owners. So I wonder now that she has taken more of the backstage role, it seems a reasonable thing to do.

      I actually quite liked that video but I’ve always like Anna. Despite all the Gymnastike drama, she has put in so much work into the site.

      • Bess Says:

        Gotcha…I don’t really know anything about their backstory I just saw something pop in my fb feed about the name change. I will have to check out the video

  34. gymtruthteller Says:

    There is a shoot for NBC tomorrow featuring some of the gymnasts. Not sure who but I guess Mykayla skinner said she was filming a commercial with Michael Phelps on twitter. someone sent me an e-mail about the shoot.

    I remember this from 4 years ago when they left out Memmell the world champion. I wonder if Kyla will be left out

  35. harts Says:

    Does anyone know why Ragan Smith and Jordan Chiles are off of the Top Gym roster?

  36. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    Ha, the leotard in the trailer for “the Bronze” (red line trailer), is more patriotic than any worn in the last worlds

  37. Exgymgurl Says:

    https://www.instagram.com/p/-VQg_9vueb/ such a gem. skinners is really bad…. and the pics of gabby and simone are horendous…

    • Guest Says:

      Love that Aly still know how to move the samba after DWTS. ๐Ÿ˜‚

    • G Says:

      Yeah Aly can definitely dance lol. Skinner just looked super awkward but the whole idea is a bit funny to begin with. I guess GD still is with Nike.

  38. Ilanchik20 Says:

    And Simone gets her own GK line. And there is still Rio. Can GD go away now?

    I’m so glad Simone has gone pro.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Gabby is going no where. She is all over the NBC pix with Simone.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Its really unfortunate that GD is now pitched as Simones rival. More unfortuate Kyla and Aly didnt have their stuff together for Glasgow.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My God Gabby lost by over a point and Simone fell. This rivalry is a farse.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It’s Alys damn fault for choking.

  39. gymbot Says:

    Raisman choked and Nichols and Key were screwed… It will be a huge battle to get on that team since if healthy, Douglas and Biles already occupy two slots.

    With Biles competing, Marta will want a strong bars worker or AAer with a strong bars, which looks worse for Aly and better for Ross, Key and Nichols.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      And Norah!

      I have no idea how I am going to watch the crap scores GD will start getting in 2016.

      I still think if Aly’s beam looks usable, she’ll be on the Rio team.

      My bet is on Simone, Aly, GD, Norah and Maggie/Bailie.

      Oh Kyla. I need to have more trust in Kyka but I’m having a hard time with it lol.

  40. Guest Says:

    Just looking forward to which Gym team members will attend Shawn’s wedding (I think ASac would be)


    • Melanie Says:

      I’m getting married in April of next year too, so maybe I’ll be that lucky one that shares a wedding date with Shawn. And since Nastia will need to steal her thunder, she’ll probably get married the same day.

      • Guest Says:

        No way Nastia takes the wedding day close to Shawn because no one would care her in that way.

        Shawn’s wedding plan got coverage from entertainment/bride magazine, endorsement from weddingwire and probably reality show.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      Asac should be at Shawn’s wedding. They seem to have gotten closer as of late and since Asac was there when Shawn got engaged, I imagine she’d be there for the wedding.

      But Nastia posted a picture of her with Sasha Farber and Derek from yesterday’s DWTS and sne is wearing a dress from Asac’s new clothing line. Maybe it means nothing or maybe they are closer friends than we thought, haha. Asac posted a picture of herself in that dress for promoting her line just last week, which is why I even recognized it.

      Btw, Nastia wished Derek and Bindi good luck just minutes after Shawn posted a much longer good luck message to them on IG. Too much.

      Nastia has said she will be in Rio with NBC and she won’t have her wedding in April so I’m thinking May because June, July and August there will be lots of gymnastics stuff happening.

      • Guest Says:

        This dress is not exactly the same as Asac’s one.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Really? It looked the same to me.

        I guess, maybe longer on Nastia but Nastia is starting to look almost anorexic as of late (super skinny in preparation for her wedding, I assume) so everything appears longer on her now lol.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        What dress is this? Any pictures?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        This one:

        I've missed you @sashafarber1 ๐Ÿ˜˜

        A photo posted by Nastia Liukin (@nastialiukin) on

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        And this Asac’s post of the dress. They look kind of similar, I thought it was the same one.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I like Nastia’s version much better. Asac’s looks like a rag

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I think Nastia’s version looks weird. The whole “high neck” thing isn’t working for me. Plus Asac looks better in it anyways, haha.

        But hey, I’m fine with a difference of opinion haha.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        the bottom of Nastia’s was weird. For Nastia that is a good look. She usually dresses like a grandmother

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Nevermind I found it. Bored at work. It’s not the same, but close.

        ASac’s in damn good shape. She should try out for Rio – they actually need a clean vault/beam person this time around.

        Marta would never let it happen.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Asac’s is in good shape! I guess her version of the dress is a bit diff on top of the neck lol.

        Asac and Sam have started a workout IG account together so they are def both in shape. Geez, I would love if Asac unretired haha.

    • Guest Says:

      It sounds like both Derek and Mark will join her wedding.

      • Guest Says:

        It is a very funny fact that Shawn is still holding the youngest DWTS winner record because Bindi is 3 days older than Shawn when they got into the finale week.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Did Derek and Bindi just won? I’m not watching but going off Nastia’s tweet, I assumed they did, lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Yes Bindi won. I just went and looked it up. The show is a joke and had her the winner from day 1. It’s all fixed but I do have to laugh how Nastia was so unlikable that even Derek’s fans couldn’t save her.

      • Guest Says:

        Derek’s fanbase is just strong enough to guarantee their partner advance to Top 4/5.

        I think Nastia is actually pissed off now in her true mind because her partnership with Derek would be quickly forgotten (at least she still has Sasha ๐Ÿ˜‚).

      • G Says:

        Yeah it was Bindi from day one, such a boring season. I’m so over Derek and how the show always favors him. I wish he would retire.

      • Guest Says:

        I am a bit over that the producer made the package repeatedly emphasizing her father’s death and let her takes advantage of gaining sympathy votes. It is disgraceful to consume her father’s asset and tear her tragedy scar again and again. It becomes a more obviously rigged Drama show more than dancing elements comparing with the season where Shawn joined at 1st time.

        So now I would be not very impressed that if Simone is invited to that rigged and fading reality show after she rocks in Rio.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Simone prob will be invited. And they’ll try to play off her whole born to “addicted to drugs” mom and saved by grandparents storyline. Simone hates when people refer to her adoptive parents as anything but her parents (I think I remember hearing that her biological mom come to 2013 or 2014 nationals and Simone was very reserved with her but didn’t cause a scene). I hope if Simone does DWTS, she tells them, they can’t spin it that way. But I kind of hope, she doesn’t do the show. I watched Shawn’s first season and Aly’s season (cause I love Aly) and Derek won Aly’s season too. But I hate the show.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That show is on its last legs. And isn’t Derek’s sister a judge? How stupid is that. I mean she used to be on the show (and is an amazing dancer) but even she left it for a while to pursue other things. Too bad she had to go back to it.

        I hate that show. It’s basically an arena for D-listers to try and get some limelight back. But even then it only lasts for a little bit.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Oh, and given how much Gabby likes to talk about her sob story, I kind off wonder why they didn’t ask her yet. I’m sure she’d let them plaster her story all over. I suppose if she made the 2016 team (and she prob will), they might.

      • Guest Says:

        DWTS producer made their show hard to watch because their manipulation becomes more obvious comparing with the early seasons which have less drama and more focus on dancing elements.

        They never give Derek challenging partners like Bristol Palin who was assigned to Mark. Though Amy Purdy is amputee but she didn’t lose her knee and she obviously has rhythm.
        Poor Mark he never won one more time since Shawn.

        I don’t mind if Simone is invited on someday, but she has to realized that DWTS is just a show and not a serious dancing competition that producer’s manipulation can lead how the votes going. She may also have to deal with the weight gain issue and body size bashing from internet like Shawn and Aly did.

  41. Catherine Says:

    GTT, did you hear anything about the hurling match in Fenway recently? Apparently it descended into a brawl lol embarrassing. Wouldn’t be overly impressive as its played on much longer pitches usually but by all accounts the fighting was a crowd pleaser if nothing else.

  42. Lithi Says:

    I know this blog mainly covers women’s gymnastics but I wanted to leave this here: Valentin Mogilny (former Soviet gymnast) died of a heart attack on Sunday at the age of 49. He is the THIRD Russian gymnast to have died this year at a relative young age. Lunacy!

  43. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    Does anybody have the subscription? Is it worth$ 19.95/mo?

  44. Ilanchik20 Says:

    And apparently Shawn is releasing a Yaya novel in June 2016.


Leave a Reply

