2015 Novara Cup Results

Not sure why Romania is chancing Larisa competing this much right before Worlds but they are.


All Around

Thanks to the anon that sent me these links. I had no clue this meet existed.


I have been thinking about worlds and realized this will be one of the weakest Worlds before an Olympics in a very long time. No upstart Juniors. 2 of the AA medalists from the 2014 worlds not in the competition. Russia’s best gymnast at home. China’s best gymnast at home. It’s just a mess.

Have I ever mentioned how much I hate the rule that juniors can’t go to worlds the year before the Olympics even if they are eligible for the Olympics.

24 Responses to “2015 Novara Cup Results”

  1. KG Says:

    Yeah Larisa is like the one gymnast that could take on Simone (or could at one point). They should be saving her!

    • SS Says:

      Larissa is great but I still think Simone would have to fall twice to lose. She just keeps getting better…

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I am glad Popa is back competing again. It will be interesting to see how Russia does without Mustafina. I wonder if there will be any surprises on the team podium like maybe GB getting bronze or something like that.

  3. sanitynmotion Says:

    Ugh I agree about Worlds. I hope the Olympics doesn’t end up being this weak.

  4. Gymbee Says:

    With that rule, does that mean a junior in 2015 couldn’t qualify for an individual place? Are there more qualifying comps for the Olympics than World’s the year before?

  5. Gym Obsessed Says:

    To your point about them overworking Larissa – I’m almost glad she was injured for most of the season so that she was left alone. She competes a ton – it’s crazy since she’s basically their team and you’re right that they shouldn’t chance it. This is a weak Worlds besides the US. I hope the Olympic year picks up. I’m a US fan but I like competition!

  6. gymbot Says:

    The quality of the YOG gymnasts (Saraiva, Wang Yan, Seda Tutkhalyan, Ellie Downie, Laura Jurca) last year predicted this year’s AA. Unfortunately Andrade and Key, both of whom would have been the real stars at YOG, didn’t make it to worlds either.

    Next year Russia gets Melnikova, but after that their aren’t many new gymnasts to turn up competition in the AA, so it looks like the same story for next year.

  7. Exgymgurl Says:

    i think romania just used this as a tune up for worlds, larissa hasnt seen much competition at all. I think worlds this year will be lame. I dont get why marta didnt give gabby and aly a pass, and let them sit out so as not to over rep before rio. she could use brenna bailie and bauman and kocian and skinner and maggie and simone and still come home with just as many medals

  8. Exgymgurl Says:

    romania 2016 will be larissa, cata, sandra, bulimar and a bars person…. the only interesting thing will be who bnb give the two floor / beam final spots to and if larissa and sandra go to rio with two vaults…
    russia 2016 will be musty, paseka, komova, afan, and a bars floor person.

  9. JAS4 Says:

    Asaq teaching some choreography

  10. Sainabou Nyang Says:

    All I care about is scoring for team USA. I want to see how Aly and Gabby are scored based on 3 yrs ago. Will Gabby get any gifts in scoring. Even though USA has the gold in the bag, there will still be so much pressure. Will Kocian hit i qual and make it to bar finals?
    If Brenna is put in bar lineup will she hit and if so how will she score? Will Aly get her connectionson beam?

    • Dee Says:

      I am interested in how gabby and aly score, too. I couldn’t stand gabby’s gymnastics during the London quad because of all the gifts. I also kind of think that the pressure is on for the others to make finals in their stronger events or Marta will give them the cold shoulder come Rio time.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Never would have thought that out of the “Fierce Five,” we’d get Aly and Gabby back – basically, the most successful Olympians in terms of medal counts/the AA. Sadly out of the FF, those two were the ones I would have hoped would “move on” with their lives. I like Aly as a person, hate her gymnastics. I actually like Gabby’s gymnastics, but not her personality. It’s kind of funny I guess.

        If Skinner can score decently on the international stage with her crappy form, then I’m guessing Aly will score just as well but probably better given her name. And Aly’s form is moderately better than Skinner’s.

        Gabby will continue to receive gifts, and I won’t be surprised if they find ways to deduct Simone that they won’t on Gabby just to make it seem closer than what it should be.

        I really hope the Olympic field is more competitive than this Worlds field otherwise we might see gymnastics go in the way of women’s softball eventually.

        Is it bad to admit I’m kind of sick of seeing the US win all the time?

  11. KG Says:

    I agree that they’ll probably give GD gifts and not give Simone any. But I will be really angry if those gifts make the difference in medals.

    I’d really love to see some “non big four” programs break into the top contenders. Brazil, Germany, UK, Canada, etc. even Italy. I love the USA and honestly I will always want us to win, but competition is what makes things interesting. If the quad after Rio is still so USA dominant, I think they will keep messing with codes (in a really bad way), and people will lose interest.

    • KG Says:

      Then again, anything can happen at worlds. Maybe all our whole squad chokes. You never know.

  12. Cupquaked Says:


    I didn’t realize there were so many US athletes that switched countries this year, while I still think it’s silly and takes the opporunity away from gymnasts native to those countries, you can’t blame a kid for wanting to compete internationally. The USA is so dominant right now and a lot of these gymnasts would be competing at Worlds were they representing another country. The US is deep.

  13. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    Bad news, Cata is out of the Worlds.😦

    • neutrophil4 Says:

      Omg noooo😦

    • ilanchik20 Says:

      I just come to post that. It doesn’t seem serious but sounds like she is saving herself for next year. They’ll prob not do so well in QF and then do much better in team finals. Maybe GB can break into top 4 but I still doubt it.

      These worlds will be weird. I’m more excited about QF to see the battle between the Americans for that second AA spot. Crossing my fingers for Aly. Seeing Gabby out of AA because of the two per country rule would be glorious.

Leave a Reply

