Where is Aliya ?


Rumor is Aliya’s currently not training and taking some time off. She could be pregnant (made up rumor meant as a joke) or had a fight with Valentina Rodionenko and was kicked off the Russian team all we know for sure is someone knows something but they aren’t sharing.

Thanks to LOL for all this riveting information many days late because my new job and current boyfriend apparently need to spend more time with me.

30 Responses to “Where is Aliya ?”

  1. Gymbot Says:

    Queen Elizabeth’s site has all the info regarding Aliya’s absence. The summary is she has a back injury, but Valentina seems to want her on both the worlds and Olympic team

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Back injury seems to be a lie according to someone who knows something but isn’t talking.

      • Gymbot Says:

        GTT nation infiltrated round lake

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Not really I just get sent info from twitter by people that know I don’t read it much and I guess several bloggers went around bragging they know stuff but wouldn’t say what or how they knew but they kept bragging that they had insider info and the back injury was a lie. I am so out of the loop lately with life and had no idea about this til someone that used to comment here a lot and an anon sent me info. I guess people are sick of these bloggers bragging they know everything but weren’t going to tell anyone what so they could look like insiders even though they really just stalk gymnasts and their friends on social media ( the anon’s word not mine ) and filter out info then stalk those friends for more info. It’s all very High School from w hat I hear .

      • gymbot Says:

        I was just making a joke more or less. I guess I will not be surprised what happens with Mustafina either way – whether the back injury is as real as Ross’s, or as fake as Maroney’s adrenal insufficiency.

        Regarding internet privacy, the collective gymternet is another reminder to keep a low profile

      • Gymbee Says:

        Speaking of Maroney: I guess she’s clearly not training for anything. When do you think she will announce her retirement – right before Rio?
        Is she still sponsored by Adidas?

  2. JAS4 Says:

    Maybe she is just burnt out and needs a break? Or maybe her coach wants her to rest and prevent further injury?

  3. Rocío Martínez López Says:

    In “Rewriting Russian Gymnastic” Valentina was quoted saying that they had released Aliya from having to participate in the Russian Cup because of her appearances in the recent years and because her back hurts. But she also said that if she is healthy, she would be in the World for sure. You can read it there: http://rewritingrussiangymnastics.blogspot.co.uk/2015/09/aliya-mustafina-to-miss-russia-cup-says.html?m=1.

    They also released the participant list of the Russian Cup that begins, if I am not mistaken, tomorrow. You can see the list here:http://rewritingrussiangymnastics.blogspot.co.uk/2015/09/list-of-competitors-russia-cup.html?m=1. Grishina is back, by the way. She appears as one of the participants. I think her options are very scarce, but it would be good to see her again.

  4. sanitynmotion Says:

    I just hope she’s not out of competition mode because she’s one of my favorites and I want to see her go Beast Mode at the Olympics.

  5. Katie D Says:

    First time commenter, LONG time reader (don’t know if this will go through since I’m not approved to comment).

    When I heard Aliya might be sitting out of worlds my first thought was “Thank GOD, give the woman a rest!” In the past year, even during comps when she delivers/hits, she looks completely rundown (which could explain her “do whatever during podium training/QF and bring for finals” attitude). And this year’s situation is quite a bit different than last year….Komova is back, Afan is back, Paseka is back, Grishina might not be in World’s shape but seems to be coming back. I wouldn’t trust Seda in a TF situation but it would be good to test her in qualifying before she books herself a one way ticket to Azerbaijan. She (Aliya) doesn’t need to carry the team as she has in previous years. Even without her bars, they have Paseka, Komova, and Spiridonova (who might even be questionable for this year’s team, based on the fact that that is ALL she can really contribute). They have the somewhat terrifying Afanar back, plus Paseka’s Amanar and Cheng (and the Amanar, while not pretty, is SO much better than it was in 2012).

    Worst case (if things are starting to crumble for some reason as it gets closer to World’s): make her the traveling alternate. Best case: name her as the non-traveling alternate just in case and if athletes start breaking during podium training or just aren’t looking ready, take them out with an “injury” and bring Aliya in.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am in a good mood so you can post and I agree. Aliya taking time off is a good thing if it’s only a little time

      • Katie D Says:

        Thank you, GTT! I’ve been reading this board religiously since 2012 and I get a sense that I share some similar views with you (baseball aside😉 ) I love the fact that you have informed commenters who are not every 4 year fans, people who know their stuff, yet are not psychotic “stans” that you so often encounter on the gymternet, ESPECIALLY the message boards. The dialogue here is fantastic and I hope you allow me to continue to comment!

        Word has it that Aliya was present for the QF round of the Russian Cup and that V. Rod has stated that her lack of participation does not mean that she is out of the running for worlds. I hope that she sticks with (what seems to be) the plan to skip worlds just to stick it to the Rodionenko’s, but I can’t imagine her being particularly calm after watching the splat fast from the stands in Penza the other day.

  6. H Says:

    Simone, Gabby and Aly was top 3 at camp?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Gotta love how Gabby goes from looking like shit to winning camp medals. Marta games are really a whole different ball game when she likes you vs when she doesn’t.

      There is a girl on twitter who hinted Gabby had her Amanar back and that Kyla hit bars but fell apart in the camp AA.I don’t know this girls name but she has known stuff in the past but I get info all the time and never know how true it is which is why I don’t post it.

      World judging the year before the Olympics are always different than the judging we get at the Olympics or at least it has been that way last few years I just wish we could trust judges to do the right thing and yet it never happens.

      Simone wins nationals by like 6 points but camp judges have her Aly and Gabby 2 points behind Simone WITH A FALL. That says everything I need to know about the judges at camp

      • H Says:

        Following you until the fall – who fell?
        And Rhonda posted a picture from camp where Brenna had a medal, seems she did bar well the I guess?

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        Who fell?

      • Sainabou Nyang Says:

        Which is why I hope Gabby makes the worlds team so I can see how many points between her and Simone. I honestly think if Rio were tomorrow even with an amanar that Gabby couldnt beat Simone. Simone has higher difficulty on floor and beam. If Simone can hit her cheng in competition its a wrap.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        We can’t trust the judges to be fair they never have been.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Exactly – even international judges. Gabby has that factor of being recognized in her favor and has a point advantage for just being a former gold medal Olympian. Kind of like in figure skating, if you’re known you can fall three times and still beat a newbie who had a near perfect routine. They hide it all behind artistry and such.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby doesn’t have any artistry but I agree with your point. It will be interesting to see if these Olympic judges care about 4 years ago or if the people that cared about the sport during the off times will get credit for competing the entire time.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I used that reference for figure skating (artistry)…like how they’d give slutskaya bunches of artistry points for flailing her arms everywhere since all she did was skate and jump.

        For Gabby, I can see her getting all of her D potential and not as much of a deduction on E scores…but they will be sure to lamb blast the likes of Nichols and Key and maybe even Kyla a bit if she’s even there. Sad face.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I see Kyla being alternate if she hits UB at next camp unless Kocian falls.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Being surrounded by amazingly talented and passionate people… 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

      A photo posted by kimzb (@kimzb) on

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Even though Kyla is fatigued and blah blah…I’ll never stop rooting for her. It appears she doesn’t have a medal and this kind of makes me sad and worried. We all know Gabby got gifts. Marta will make any justification to put her on Worlds this year. So now the locks are Simone, Aly, Gabby, and Maggie. Two more? Probably Key and then this is where it gets tough because it is probably down to Kyla/Kocian/Locklear.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I would trust Kyla at worlds before Kocian but that is a personal preference Kocian hitting bars every competition makes it hard to leave her at home even tho her hitting bars over and over again means she will mess up at Worlds.

  7. JAS4 Says:

    I wonder if the Marta games have been getting to Kyla and affecting her consistency? If Kyla goes to worlds I wouldn’t be surprised if she just does bars or maybe UB/bb.

    • Aerial Says:

      Kocian deserves it, Kyla doesn’t. Bet it will fuel Kylas fire for next year.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Sorry not true because according to Marta Nationals did not matter as much as next week’s camp does and that has been her MO since the days of Jana bieger who hit at Nationals also and fell at camp and was left home.

      • Aerial Says:

        Ahhh sorry not true as Kocian hits at camp and Kyla again was rough I hear. Sorry GTT but I think your girl will be back🙂 Although there is 1 more camp.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I not saying what will happen I am going by what Marta does vs what Marta says. It doesn’t matter what Marta has in place as rules it only matters what she does. No where did I say Kyla was going and I wouldn’t take her if I was choosing but Marta plays by her own set of rules and has for years and she has full control to do what she wants and that is what she does. Remember when she said she would not take a one event gymnast and yet she twice did that ( Annia and Mckayla) remember when Marta says all that matters to her is what happens at camp before the Olympics yet she punished Tasha Schwikert for screwing up trials when she nailed camp. My only point was Marta does what Marta wants and it’s a known fact that is true.

Leave a Reply

