June Camp is over. Pan Am team to be named Friday

Last camp before Championships! 🇺🇸 Go USA! 🇺🇸

Kim Zmeskal’s twitter.

Pan Am team must be being tortured in the other room at time of this picture.

Jaycie Phelps and Shannon Miller Interview for Olympic Day

Are there no hair dressers in Indiana ?????

94 Responses to “June Camp is over. Pan Am team to be named Friday”

  1. tulip Says:

    Love this pic. All the girls look genuinely happy. Must have been before workout started lol

    It is great seeing Ali back in the mix. She’s fierce! I’d love to see her on the Worlds team.

  2. gymbot Says:

    I laughed that the Pan Am selection squad was being tortured elsewhere.

    Who is next to Douglas (not Ross)? She looks wicked strong

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      All blonds look alike to me.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Is that Nia Dennis or whoever is Douglas’ teammate?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Yeah Nia and Douglas are in the same gym, although she is been there for years, unlike Gabby. They also have the same strengths (more or less) but if that’s even possible, Nia is much more inconstant that G lol

    • harts Says:

      It’s Margzetta Frazier. She’s from Parkettes and I think she’s a first year senior this year.

      • gymbot Says:

        Thanks! She has a Parkettes build. Maybe she’ll explode onto the scene like Ebee.

  3. Case Says:

    To answer your question, no, there are no hairdressers in Indiana. Only NASCAR fans.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      And not one of them can do hair? When I am having a bad hair day it goes up into a bun. Tidy and neat. It’s not science people🙂

    • Uglyfatkid Says:

      LMAO – That NASCAR comment was priceless Case!🙂

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      it seems indiana made shannon forget how to write…. so good to my friend…” so good to see my friend? buy a verb.. we could make it gtt madlibs. Personally i think the mom look was a conscious choice like leo de craprio and his man bun and his dad bod

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Shannon- “hey JC u got a minute?”
        JC- “sure shannon whats up”
        Shannon- ” USA gymnastics isnt giving us hair and makeup for this appearance ”
        JC- “WHAAAA OMG….. NO!!!!”
        Shannon “Yes apparently all gay hairdressers left Indiana, and Luann Peszecks goto person is on Vacation watching a Nascar race in Alabama”
        JC – ” WHAAA OMG Theres a Nascar Race in Bama? ”
        Shannon” Yes so I think we should just rock they pony tail mom hair, no one in Indiana will care, its not like marta can punish us”
        JC – ” Whaa? Did Marta tell them to take all the food and beer out of the mini bar again?”
        Shannon ” No JC Just bring a hair elastic, or nevermind I will bring one. I think scrunchies are too over the top rt now.”
        JC ” Okay just as long as theres beer in the mini bar”
        “Shannon what should I wear.?”
        Shannon- ” Yoga pants and or a tracksuit”
        JC – “OK ( insert lots of lame emoticons)

        End scene

  4. JAS4 Says:

    Marta has probably known for a long time who she wants to send to Pan Ams so why wait until Friday to announce lol!

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      because she wants the girls that have no hope to feel honored she gave them a real tryout for a meet she probably wont even attend, much like 2012

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Pan Ams basically means “way to go – you got an international assignment, but you’ll never see the Olympics.”

      At least in 2011 Shawn got the picture.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        maddie desch is especially singled out she should know her hopes for rio are gone. relax and go to college with amelia.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I wo I ld agree except Marta made her alternate last year when she sucks so you never know.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        thats the point. EBee was always the alternate until pac rims last year, when she already knew she was going to stanford

  5. Gymnast41 Says:

    Why does GD have to make herself look ridiculous…and wow didn’t realize the pan am squad wasn’t in this pic until I read your caption. Poor girls. Marta must be dealing with them in a different way lol

  6. Exgymgurl Says:

    its humidity in houston rt now. i dont think gabby knows how to deal with it. She needs hair help.

    I should write the text exchang between jc and shannon. regarding hair and wardrobe.

  7. Ilanchik20 Says:

    More on Aly’s photo shoot. She looks amazing, although she is def naked, but I’m okay with it. Not sure if Marta will be haha


    But I need Marta to be okay with this since I need Aly in Rio lol

    • G Says:

      Flashback to the Romanians doing naked gymnastics lol. I’m not sure how I feel about it…on one hand, she’s an adult and can do what she wants but I don’t know. I guess I’m just not a fan of posing nude in general. I don’t see the point and I don’t see it doing her any favors.

    • Cupquaked Says:

      Interesting that she’s posing with the rings. I wonder if wag gymnasts ever try out the mag equipment and vice versa. I’d love to see a male gymnast do a beam routine!

      • Dee Says:

        This made me LOL because a few years ago I competed in a really relaxed adult gym meet and a guy did beam. He did a beautiful switch leap, his foot slipped, and he came right down on his balls. The noise from him hitting the beam was hideous. Everyone screamed and he rolled to the ground, then stood up abruptly and yelled “ALL GOOD!”.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      It makes me feel uncomfortable. They combine videos of when she was only 18 (not “that” long ago) with her doing split-leaps on the beam, fully nude. I guess to me it’s a bit too exhibitionist, like I can’t imagine this promotion is really “promoting” health and athleticism, more or less it’s promoting “look at me and my hott bod that I got through working out all the time.”
      It’s no surprise to me that Olympic athletes and professional athletes would have gorgeous bodies…I would think anyone would if they were working out 24/7 and eating nothing but healthy foods.

      And I highly doubt Aly would be posing in the nude this time, 18 months ago.

      • Mimi Says:

        I tend to be fairly conservative when it comes to nudity but I say WORK IT Aly. She’s naked but it’s completely tasteful, it’s not exploitative or sexualised (not that anyone here said it is but in comparison to other nude photos around the place it is tame). And even if the only intention from Aly is “look at my hot body” well, if I looked like that, I’d want to show it off too. She’s 21 and looks amazing, good for her. I think it really does celebrate a strong body, and she’s an excellent example to young girls that you can be strong and gorgeous and healthy, you don’t need to be a waif to be beautiful.

        There’s a ton I things I wouldn’t have done 18 months ago myself, but hey, people change and grow, particularly around her age.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I agree Mimi. I like the body issue, I feel like it’s celebrating the gorgeous human body without having it be about sex. Nudity does NOT equal sex, but unfortunately that’s how it’s viewed in the western world.

        Also her management is good and I’m sure they wouldn’t have recommended this for her if they thought it was a risk of too much negative press.

      • TrishaG Says:

        I agree, too. Like Mimi, I’m pretty conservative about nudity. But this is really well done. Aly looks amazing and amazingly fit. I really like her hair and makeup for the photo shoot. Her makeup is very natural looking, no smoky eyes or red lips. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE red lipstick and smoky eyes rock. But that would make the pictures too provocative and sexual when they aren’t. Same with the hair. Her hair is beautifully straight, but it’s very everyday pretty. It’s girl-next-door, athletic pretty, I’m-not-trying pretty. No curls or waves throughout, no sexy bedhead. It’s all tasteful.

        Considering all the crap she got for gaining a little weight after the Olympics, I kind of love that she’s posing in the Body Issue. It’s the ultimate comeback for all the critics, none of whom could ever compete with her bodywise. It’s also inspirational, both in the intended way like look how beautiful a healthy, athletic body is, but also because she was less fit and had gained some weight not all that long ago. As someone who has been working hard for 8 years to lose weight (my metabolism crapped out in my mid-20s, it runs in my family), it’s awesome to see how fit she looks now. I know I can never look like Aly; even at my fittest back in college when I did martial arts 6 hrs/week and walked 1-2 mi/day, I still struggled with core and arm strength. But looking at where she was and where she is, it inspires me to see where I can get. I’ve now lost 45 lbs (metabolic syndrome is a bitch, it takes FOREVER to lose weight even when you do all the right things), and my upper arms lack muscular definition. But it’s not hopeless for me to get those muscles back. I’ll never have a six-pack, but I can improve my core strength. You’d have never known she’d been out of shape ever from these pics. I still have 20 lbs to go, but hopefully I’ll be able to say the same for myself someday.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Aly pointed her toes on one foot in the video picture. It some how made me laugh.

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        Congrats on the weight loss TrishaG! 45 lbs is an amazing amount of weight to lose! That’s awesome!

        As for the Aly thing, I am proud of her. I too am pretty conservative…but I find the shoot empowering. She is owning her body, and saying I have nothing to be ashamed of. She has to have been told countless times that she wasn’t good enough because she didn’t have a pixie ballerina body or form. And I think this is a big screw you to those people. Everyone is different, and beautiful comes in all different shapes and sizes. I’m glad that she is owning her body.

        What IS sad however, is the sexual comments that are posted at the end of the article. I want to apologize to Aly (and to all women) on behalf of the entire male population. We’re disgusting aholes, and should get our nuts zapped with a cattle prod when we say horrible sexual things like that.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        LOL I am nominating you for Saint hood.Male pigs don’t offend I actually like knowing their opinion. Now I know who not to date:)

      • Aerial Says:

        I find the idea of gaping gross genitals being displayed in the midst of gymnastics routines and poses super nasty. Like the end product is one thing – imagine actually splitting your legs and trying to cover your lower lips or make sure your elbow is covering your nip. Kinda disturbing. I much prefer the ads Shawn Johnson did for that Michael Johnson body institute or whatever with a very small workout outfit on but showing her sculpted figure she busted her ass to attain. Plus I wasn’t fearing seeing anyone’s uglies.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Thanks, UFK! And the cattle prod comment is hilarious🙂 Could be a great way to improve mankind, lol.

    • Dee2 Says:

      I can remember when Cathy Rigby appeared nude on the balance beam and ASac did a nude shoot too. These are really more art photos, than anything. Marta shouldn’t bat an eyelash over

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      these pics make her look like a statuesque greek god, theres nothing sexual at all in them. I think they are artful, but look more like an anatomy class photo. Kind of not my thing. I dont see how Aly would do this without USAGymnastics blessing, or without USA Gymnastics having some kind of oversight. Esp with ESPN picking up NCAA for the SEC as heavily as they have, I dont see anyone wanting to jeopardize any relationships or any athletes chances of making any team. It would not surprise me, if when taking the photos, certain parts werent covered with pasties, and the photoshop blended because the angles on the finished products are incredibly perfect. I dont think Aly would want any extra nudes floating around with the possibility of them ever getting leaked. maroneys stolen nudes were much more sexual in nature ( not the fake ones) and much more playboy esque.

      • TrishaG Says:

        I wouldn’t be surprised if there were pasties on certain parts either, but more for modesty during the shoot and to ensure nothing accidentally peeks through. I remember reading that the actresses on Big Love would put post-it notes over the parts they didn’t want to get filmed during sex scenes. They had nudity clauses in their contracts stating how much could be shown and what couldn’t (for example, breasts – yes, nipples – no). That way, if anything they weren’t willing to show “accidentally” got in the frame, it wouldn’t be usable. Use a bright color for the pasties and it’s obvious when the angle isn’t right. It also helps that they’ve been doing the Body Issue for over 5 years now so they’ve gotten a lot of practice at how to pose athletes strategically and set up the lighting to get shadows where they want.

      • Short1 Says:

        I wouldn’t be surprised either. After the 2011 ESPN Body Issue came out I remember an Inside Gymnastics Radio Network interview where Alicia mentioned having worn tan-colored underwear that were later Photoshopped out.

  8. Gymnast41 Says:

    : “After two days of verification, the Selection Committee unanimously decided on the five athletes to represent the United States at the Pan Am Games,” said Martha Karolyi, the women’s national team coordinator in a USAG press release. “Led by Madison Desch, who was an alternate for the 2014 World Team, this is a young but talented team, and the experience of competing at the Pan Am Games will help them as they continue to gain experience for the World Team selection. We look forward to their performances at the Games.”

    Wondering if she’ll be attending?

    • Cupquaked Says:

      If this was the 09-12 quad I would believe that not a single one of these girls has a chance at Worlds this year or Trials next year. But honestly, with not a ton of injury-free seniors right now I could see a few of these girls sneaking in to alternate spots (or even make the Worlds team) despite the track record of being sent to Pan Am. That doesn’t mean they’ll go to the Olympics but the 2011 team was much different talent-wise than this one–not including Shawn.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Desch will be injured before the meet takes place with hwr Track record. Nia Denis better get serious quickly because not making this team says a lot about her reputation.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        It’s a real scary that Nia didn’t make a Pan Ams team. She must have really struggled again. I’m starting to think having Gabby in the gym with her is a very bad idea.

        I wonder how Gowey looks like. I’m not convinced she can stay in one piece through the competition. I guess it’s
        prob a good that the meet starts in 10
        days lol

        I see something in Skaggs. Curious about her abilities now too.

      • Mimi Says:

        Maybe it isn’t a bad thing Nia wasn’t selected. It gives her time to be better prepared for Nationals. Based on no knowledge whatsoever, I kinda feel like Marta would value a solid Nationals performance than an outstanding Pan Ams. Well, that’s what I’m hoping for anyway.

        As an aside, I’m just not that excited for Gowey’s gymnastics still. Am I the only one?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gowey is unmemorable. I literally can’t remember her face.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I don’t really like Gowey much. To me she is like a bad version of Nastia. Plus Gowey looks like she is going to break any second.

        There is no way she’ll come anywhere near a Rio team.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Same, I never understood all the hype around her. A bad version of Nastia is the perfect description. Similar pretty lines, but too many of her skills seemed messy or not all the way around. That’s really all I remember about her gymnastics, tbh. Along with my confusion about what people were seeing that had them putting her on the World’s team as a key member before most of the injuries.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I think people just saw all the big skills she was doing/attempting and get all excited (especially an Amanar and a triple twist off beam). She was doing too much, too fast which is prob what caused the injury. I’m actually kind of confused why Chow let her do these skills last year (an Amanar with her body and strength, really?). I am curious to see what she looks like this year, although I’m still not a fan.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Yeah, that baffled me too. Chow seemed a smarter coach than that, unless she’d been practicing much better right before competition and then kind of lost the skills…? Still, even though she was attempting an amanar and triple twist dismount, they weren’t being done well. Other gymnasts chucking skills get crapped on for it, but everyone was celebrating her. *Shrugs* That’s what confused me most.

      • gymbot Says:

        Gowey is pretty good twister, not everything she trained made it into her routines last year – including a seitz (E) on bars and a punch full (C) instead of the layout to double full. She was nailing the triple twist dismount in camp videos leading up classics and nationals, since her injury was in podium training, I wonder if she didn’t do enough timers.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I was not impressed with Skaggs or Schields last year. Wonder if they have improved. Han is basically being told go to College by not being selected. The real question who gets hurt mad pulls out first.

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        I was a little dissapointed in nia not making the team to be honest, not because I felt like she was going to make it but that I had some expectations for her this year. Probably couldn’t deal with the pressure as usual. But schild and Skaggs look pretty good this year and showing substantial improvements based on some training videos from jesolo I’ve seen

      • harts Says:

        I was surprised to see Amelia make the team because of her lower difficulty but she seems pretty consistent. I had hoped to see Lauren Navarro…her beam as a junior was beautiful. The surprise for me was that Nia was not named to the team. Could Marta be saving her for more prestigious meets or was she really in the bottom three of the training squad?

  9. Ilanchik20 Says:

    This is NCAA related but I wonder what Kierra did to get kicked out off the Georgia team. Georgia just seems such a mess ever since Worley competed for them lol


    • gymtruthteller Says:

      1 mistake and she is gone. Georgia can’t afford to lose actual talented gymnasts that score in 9.950 on any event

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        My poor alma mater…most likely drinking related. Even though the gymdogs were athletes they still partied just as much as the rest. She probably wasn’t careful.

      • tulip Says:

        And the football rapists and academic cheats are sitting back laughing. It never fails to amaze me

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        Asked a friend who still is a gymdogs fan and she said violation of social media policies…would make sense with the gay marriage thing since kiera is openly gay.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Yeah I was about to post this. According to some posts on Tumbler, it was some social media policy. Interesting. I wonder what social media policies college teams have.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Why would she go of all places if she were gay?

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        Not sure…that’s what my friend and other gymdog fans think was the issue. Either pictures or innapropriate comments?

      • TrishaG Says:

        I tried searching for her twitter and IG, but couldn’t find anything. Even if she deleted her accounts, wouldn’t they show up on other people’s accounts that had retweeted posts, etc? It seems super weird that she posted something bad enough to get her kicked off the team, but no one got a screen capture, no one knows what it was, no one else seems to have seen it or bothered by whatever she posted. If it’s that bad, there should have been a reaction to it on social media…and there’s nothing.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        A lot of people are speculating. For all we know it could be something else altogether

    • Dee Says:

      My guess is probably drinking related but I still wish we could know. Could be juicy.

  10. Ilanchik20 Says:

    So I think Valentina has officially lost it. She says she is going to Pan Ams to see U.S compete so she knows her competition. If that was even the case, I can’t believe RGF is paying for that and anyways if that’s her goal she should go to Classics and Nationals lol

  11. Guest Says:

    I just found there is abnormal number of follower increase in Dominique Moceanu’s twitter recently. I checked the recent “accounts” following her and most of them never tweets for a long time and have common following targets, so those are possibly fake accounts. Did she buy the fake followers?


  12. Exgymgurl Says:

    camp simone, maggie, aly baumann jr laurie, ______, ragan smith

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Is Maggie being over scored to push Aly????????????

      Kyla UPGRADE

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        no kyla has her inbars back and verified a dty, and 6.0 floor routine, aly verified an amanar, and has a good bar / beam floor. This makes me think with the new upgrades, kyla skinner and aly all had misses. maggie has an amanar also, as does baumann ( verified at camp)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I was told a 6.3 beam too could that mean a new dismount? By told I mean someone sent me the info they read somewhere else.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        there was a major camp leak. then someones twitter got set to private

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        never mind I don’t care

  13. Exgymgurl Says:

    yes, and bailie has a connection issue, I looked at the twitter before it went dark, and was surprised that kyla had verified so many upgrades. the twitter also ranted about gabby sucking and mckayla maroneys two hour a day workouts that are fake

  14. Exgymgurl Says:


    is what leaked for kyla

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      IMO If Kyla can hot those consistently even with an Amanar someone like Maggie or Aly won’t touch her execution.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Honestly I don’t take the camp scores that seriously. I want to see how everyone looks at Classics, then Nationals.

        There is no way in hell Marta is taking Nichols to Worlds or Rio over Aly lol

        Gabby’s start values are interesting. Let’s hope she doesn’t repeat her jump to stardom in 2016, as she did in 2012 lol she is def talented but I can’t take another Olympics with Gabby. Eh.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Camp scores are always out there. Mckayla used to beat Aly at National meets and camps yet Aly owned her at worlds. IMO this is motivation for Aly and Marta mind games.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m all for whatever gets Aly on the text team. I just hope Marta’s games don’t push her (or anyone else) and they get hurt. But I trust Mihai to know when enough is enough.

        Scores or not, neither Nichols or Bauman are making a team over Aly. Aly always scores better internationally anyways. But all these Amanars are def bad news for Skinner (which I’m okay with lol).

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Oh praise the lord for Kyla’s scores. She better keep them for competition or I’m done with her lol

        I need Aly and Kyla as repeat Olympians lol

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        skinner verified her amanar, world bronze or silver in vault next to simones gold. simone and kyla for bar finals, simone and aly raisman / kyla beam finals, simone aly raisman / mykayla for floor finals. Skinner has enough difficulty and executes it well enough. Stop hating on her and aly raisman. marta likes team medals first, AA medals and event medals equally.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Maggie Nichols won bars. I think she’s got a decent shot to make the Worlds team this year. If she does, she might make the UB final over Simone. Simone won the other 3 events, lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marta scoring does not exist in the real world.

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        What are Gabby’s D scores? And at this point I think Marta is setting up maggie nichols to become the next big thing over aly which I don’t understand? I mean, who knows what goes on at camp, aly could have had mishaps at this and the last camp we don’t know about. Baumann’s results seem….interesting. She placed behind nichols and above aly at the last two camps. And I’m a bit worried about kyla. Not really sure what to think for these upcoming classics but hopefully things go the way we want…

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m really confused about Maggie. Obviously she is a good gymnast but I sort of think Marta is playing games with her. She is a great AA gymnast (and I guess maybe she is goodon bars in the U.S) but I’d think Marta would want take someone who is good at AA and could place in event finals. Oh I’m just thinking all wrong about this?

        I guess Maggie could make a team like Macquenzie did in 2010 but it’s weird.

    • H Says:

      (ask.fm )I read that Maggie N d-score was about: 6.3-6.3-6.2-6.2

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        yes that is true, for what verified from what I have heard also. Marta has already picked the worlds team, Ross, raisman, Skinner Biles Key nichols. alt baumann (travelling) douglas, locklear (at home) brenna dowell is not coming near that team

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m fine with that team lol I love Aly! Skinner can be on that team as long as Aly is too lol. Key’s floor is pretty good–I’m not sure if Marta needs 4 great floors. I’m excited to see everyone in competition!

        I wish Ashton was healthy. Is she even gonna compete at Secret/Nationals?

        What about Kocian?

      • Aerial Says:

        I prefer Kocian over Locklear. She hasn’t attended camps (or maybe one?) since Worlds though.

        Douglas deserves nothing. I’d rather ANY of these girls get an alt. nod over Gabby on her lunch break from reality filming.

        Need more scoop on the rest of those girls that I agree make a likely team but that we aren’t hearing much about from camps.

  15. Exgymgurl Says:

    watch the marta placements at classics. aly simone and kyla probabaly wont do aa. skinner and nichols and key baumann will battle it out.

Leave a Reply

