Happy Birthday Bridget Sloan

Today is Bridget Sloan’s 23rd birthday. I can’t believe she is a senior at Florida already and while the overscoring of that team drives me bonkers I have nothing but love for Bridget “count me out and watch me prove you wrong” Sloan

Happy Birthday Bridget


Some career highlights

World AA Champion no thanks to the judges trying to fix it for Woga gymnasts number whatever

Day 2

Better Version in second half of this video

Bridget literally pulled an Uneven Bar routine out of her shoe and became a dark horse for the 2012 Olympic team with one Uneven Bar routine. Mind you she never showed a single full routine in any of the practices and looked pretty bad through out training.

Winning a silver medal with the most obnoxious US Olympic team of all time:)

Baby Bridget

101 Responses to “Happy Birthday Bridget Sloan”

  1. Ilanchik20 Says:

    She was so under appreciated as an elite. And then all the stupid injuries. I wanted her and Alicia as repeat Olympians lol But I mostly love Sloan because when I met her in person last year, she was super friendly to all her fans, especially young kids.

    But one of my favorite NCAA routines this season was Bridget’s bar routine against LSU when she got a 10 after bring out for 6 weeks, despite all the over-scoring LSU was getting. I’m kind of excited to see how she does next year with a new coach.

    Btw, it’s Chellsie’s bday today too!🙂

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Chellsie the sell out does not get a blog

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Fine with me. I never liked her gymnastics that much anyways haha

        I felt bad for her in 2012 but since she doesn’t care, we shouldn’t either lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My thought process exactly. Still bitter she sold the people who worked hard for that stupid petition out for money or a job or whatever reason it was.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m guessing it was partly for a job and partly for her dad and mom who still coach elites. Plus at the time her sister Skyler wanted to do elite too. I remember Chellsie’s dad being super pissed about what happened but then let it go too.

        But whatever–to each their own.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t blame her for putting herself first I just like to call her a sell out. She did what was best for her. More power to her but what she did does not help the future Memmels of the world that get screwed by Marta. She co u ld have taken a stand for the Alicia ‘ s of the world that did what the we’re told and yet still got screwed which would have been better for the gymnasts but she didn’t
        Her choice.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I was hoping Bridget would at least be an alternate in 2012 but I think she made a smart decision to not compete injured and focus on ncaa.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I coouldn’t care less about College gym but if Bridget had hit bars at trials like nationals she would have had Anna Li’s alternate spot. Anna’s scores went from average to huge from nationals to trials if I remember and that was after Nastia tanked and Bridget got hurt. It pretty much proves Marta controls the judging. She was a want to an ends.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        if you watch 08 nationals tim and elfie keep commenting on the wierd increases in day 2 scoring. marta tells them where to place people. She wanted jana bieger lowballed

  3. Uglyfatkid Says:

    I wonder how Sloan had the foresight of not going pro? You would think after winning her World AA Gold metal she would have immediately gone pro. I probably would have in her shoes. I wonder if she knew it was a little bit of a fluke and that she would never reach that height again? Don’t get me wrong, I love me some Sloan…but if I remember right the competition at that meet (2009) wasn’t the greatest. Not that she didn’t deserve it, because she did. But it makes me wonder how things would have played out if stiffer competition would have been there. Would she had faired as well?? It’s kind of like Vanessa F. In 2006 or whenever it was. Would things be different if stiffer competition had been there as well?

    It also gets me thinking about poor broken PTSD Bross. When did she make the choice to go Pro? Was that before worlds 2009 or after? What a bad move. She more than anyone could really have used the NCAA atmosphere to regain some self esteem and confidence after her many disappointments. I think she would have done well in the group environment of NCAA. Plus she would be away from Papa Valtrex and his WOGA minons. That in and of itself is enough.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      In gymnastics what if’s don’t count. Bridget did her job. Bross choked but yes she basically backed in to the gold medal.

  4. Uglyfatkid Says:

    This got me thinking about 2008. If no one was injured, and the original 6 members of the team were 100% healthy…who would have been in the line up on each event? I wasn’t following gymnastics that closely at the time, so I’m not actually aware of what the game plan was before everyone got injured.

    Vault – ASac Shawn, ???? (Sam?)
    Bars – The Devil, Memmel, ????
    Beam – Shawn, The Devil, ???? (was ASac always going to be on beam? Or was Memmel)?
    Floor – Shawn, ASac, ????? (Sam or Memmel?)

    Where did Sloan, Sam, and Memmel fit into everything?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Sam was prelims girl. Bridget extra girl and hopefully Memmels was doing the AA at least in prelims. In team finals it would have gone by results and Alicia was given a huge gift score on beam where she had tons of bobbles. Te finals would have been interesting. Sam had a DTY but was sometimes short on the twist it would have been between her and Sloan because enmeshed form was a tragedy. I don’t remember Sam’s UB start value but it probably would have been se line up in team finals. Memmels had iffy form on beam but usually hit but I think it still would have been Alicia. No one knew she would choke. Floor would have been interesting too. All depended on how Memmels and Sam scored. Alicia messed up in prelims but she had a great floor set and proably would have put scored everyone of hit. Marta had no choice but I rhink she still wo u lf have given her a shot in team finals.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Yep, definitely between Bridget and Sam for vault. I think Memmel would have likely gone up on beam over Asac. Chellsie actually came in second on beam at Trials (Shawn placed first), so it seems likely that she would have outscored Asac in qualifying if she’d been healthy. Alicia only came in 5th at trials on both floor and beam. Floor would have been interesting because Sam, Nastia, and Chellsie all tied at Trials for 2nd place. Alicia got second on FX at Nationals, and Sam, Nastia, and Chellsie were all over the place on floor there. So there wasn’t any real consistency on floor other than Shawn. It would have come down to the results from qualifying, which are hard to predict.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Alicia got a huge score on ba in prelims with several big bobbles. I don’t see Memmels beating that with the low balling she seemed to get compared to others.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Chellsie wasn’t really lowballed internationally though, just in the US. She was also the silver medalist on beam at 2005 Worlds. It was a strong event for her. Even if Alicia outscored her a little in qualifying, Chellsie still might have gone up in TF. Bridget outscored Alicia on FX by over .4, yet Alicia did floor in TF. They probably saw that as a fluke and might have decided the same for Chellsie on beam. Especially given the questionable score with lots of wobbles for Alicia.

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    If you think about it, even though the 2008 squad was annoying there was a lot more excitement (or talent?) there than this squad. I’m thinking if the 2008 squad were alive and well and in shape for this go-around, it’d be much more exciting. I mean, given that we’re actually considering Skinner could be an Olympian…what the heck?

    Yeah, USA is still strong and deep, but I’m wondering now if we used to be deeper, or just better. Or maybe it’s lack of excitement.

    We have Biles, which is all anyone could ask for, but other than that I’m just kind of like “meh” here.

    Ross needs to upgrade, for like the last five years it seems like.

    Key is vanilla. Like not exciting and not particularly “awesome” in any single event – just vanilla. No chocolate sauce, even.

    Aly I like as a person but I hated her gymnastics, and it’s not like she’s practicing her toe point (or maybe she is, but it doesn’t show). And since we have Biles it’s not like Aly’s floor is as “great” anymore. Her beam is only useful because she can be counted on not to fall off.

    And then there’s this secret fifth member and it KILLS me that we’re even looking at the Sloppy Joe that is Skinner. She throws tricks but she literally throws them – like, they don’t even look good. When your hips and knees are bent and your feet are flexed it looks like sh*t.

    Four years ago at this time we were all so excited and wondering about who would make up the London team because there were SO MANY options. Not only the actual “Fierce Five” or whatever, but ASac, Sloan, Shawn (at one point), the threat of The Devil (using Ugly’s term), and other up and comers that were actual threats like Finnegan. Oh, and poor Bross – who obviously was going nowhere fast…

    This time around, we’re less than a year from Rio and kind of resolutely accepting that the Team will likely be Biles, Key, Raisman, Ross (?), and secret fifth member (PLEASE NOT SKINNER). And I’m so bummed about it.

    Anyone else?

    I just realized I wrote a lot again. Sorry. End rant.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I’ve been thinking that too. And even though I love Aly and want her to make the Olympic team (and Kyla), I’m thinking that in the U.S. the girls are so talented and there’s so many girls waiting in the wings that a return Olympian really shouldn’t be possible. (Hope I’m not jinxing Aly!)

      But then again, wasn’t it Nationals 2011 when Gabby was an absolute mess (more than usual) and fell off beam 3 times or something?
      I feel like if some coach has been working to peak his gymnast to hit in 2016, that there’ll be someone on that team that none of us would have considered right now.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Aly,kyla and Simone and full in

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        I know we are all predicting next year’s team but I do think some things will still change before next year. I’d say Simone and Aly are in if they stay healthy. I think, Bailey needs to prove herself more before I consider her a lock. She was great as a junior but she is just okay as a senior. Aly basically caught up to her after being away from competition for 2.5 years which I don’t think bouts well for Bailey’s progress.

        Even with Bailey that still leaves two spots open. Marta will want a third AA’er to battle Simone and Aly so I think Bailey will serve that purpose.

        In 2011 Gabby fell 3 times on beam and look what happened. There are quite a few juniors right now who can turn out amazing next year. Everything says Norah and Reagan. Norah has great bars/beam and Reagan has a great beam/floor. Reagan is coached by Kim and Marta has been inviting Regan to camps long before she was elite so I think there is more to it than we know. I think Regan has some upgrades we are not aware of yet. And Norah will for sure show up with upgrades next year—that’s Chow’s style. Another junior I like –Desiderio is very good on beam/floor and a desent vault. She could have replaced Aly if Aly wasn’t back. But I think Desiderio could be the dark horse for next year, who knows. There is also Sydney Johnson, whose floor is georgeous (maybe her mom Olympian figure out how to get her daughter’s difficulty), plus her mom was trained by Karoly’s so she has that going for her too. Well and Laurie but she might be maxed out on difficulty.

        On top of these there is Kyla, Mackayla, Ashton, Maddie and Brenna. Kyla for bears/beam. Mackayla for floor/vault, Brenna for vault/bars and Aston or Maddie for bars. Honestly, if Marta didn’t want to screw Brenna all the time and she becomes consistent, I say she has more of a chance from the latter two.

        There is also Nichols who I guess has an amanar now and decent bars so I guess that could work too but I doubt Marta is taking her.

        So I guess to me this could be the team:
        Vault: Brenna/Aly, Bailey, Simone
        Bars: Bailey, Brenna, Norah
        Bars: Norah/Bailey, Aly, Simone
        Floor: Bailey, Aly, Simone

        Gabby could be the vault/bars person too unfortunately. Also, Nia or Laurie would be a great fit. Nia needs to figure out how to not fall every chance she gets and Laurie needs to figure out how to stay healthy lol

        Or maybe Chellsie will back again lol

        I think the longer Marta is in charge, the more predictable her strategy becomes but I think next year could get very exiting.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        There will be a surprise next year. An injury to a key player and a gymnast that has been over scored will fall to injury. Stay tuned

      • TrishaG Says:

        That sounds like a threat, lol. Are you planning to pull a Tonya Harding?😉

        Seriously though, it sounds like you have specific people in mind that you think will get injured next year. Just curious, who are you thinking and why? (Past injuries, flawed technique on certain skills that are injuries waiting to happen, coach’s history *cough MLT*, etc.)

      • Cupquaked Says:

        I’m pulling for Laurie Hernandez but she is pretty much at max difficulty. I’m not really sure what she can upgrade now except maybe bars.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I used to like Laurie ‘s gym now she bores me. The floor was cute and now she just show boats. Her other events are unmemorable.

    • G Says:

      I agree about Key, she’s just blah. Good but boring to me. People may hate me for saying this but I felt the same way about Jordyn Weiber.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I don’t hate you lol

        I felt bad about what happened to Jo in 2012 but honestly–I was rooting for Aly so much more. I liked Jordyn’s gymnastics but she wasn’t that memmorable to me. But given what happened during qualifications, she will be remembered for a while lol

        And G–you are prob right–someone will get hurt. Let’s hope it’s not Aly or Simone.

        Norah and Mackayla were hurt earlier in the year. Bailey, Ross, Rachel, Nichols and Laurie last year. Ashton and Maddie still hurt. I don’t who is next but crossing my fingers it’s not top 2 lol (Simone, please keep your shoulders intact!!!!)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If people hate you over a gymnastics opinion they need a life.

      • G Says:

        I get the feeling that Key is “most likely to be injured” or maybe Skinner because she throws those crazy skills. Either way I agree that I hope it’s not Simone or Norah, I’m still rooting for Norah!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Chow knows how to time his gymnasts but he also got a lot of help for Gabby and he screwed Shawn by not upgrading bars he however learned from that mistake with the troll. Norah needs to improve all 4 events and needs to work on her connections for beam but I see no reason she won’t be in the running.

      • aerial Says:

        Skinner seems to evade injuries.
        I feel like the more powerful, muscular types (though she was small in person) just hang in there physically better and for more years. Dammit.

  6. aerial Says:

    Thanks for this. I always forget she was a World AA Champion. Not only was that the ONLY worlds I’ve missed since ’91 as a pre-teen discovering the sport (I was pissed!) but she never exuded any form of personality really as an athlete until NCAA, so despite having lots of people appreciate her gymnastically I think many of her great successes become forgotten or overshadowed. Same but different with Memmel. I don’t think either would have been very profitable as pro athletes, so good call Sam – having the time of her life partying and competing in the sunshine state. I know Chellsie went pro but besides tours and coaching at summer gym camps, (which every L10 athlete and up and their cousin seems to do anyway) I doubt she raked in anything substantial or long term.

    I really liked that 09 floor routine. She way she presented herself and her carriage seemed very…. Russian to me. I think she’s an incredible athlete. I hope her senior year is awesome.

  7. ilanchik20 Says:

    I’m rooting for Norah all the way. Even though I hate that she is constantly compared to Shawn (she is not Shawn’s mini-mi, ugh.), I need Norah on the 2016 team. People don’t see her as AA’er but honestly if Bailey doesn’t improve much and Norah likely will, those two will be battling it out for that third AA spot. Norah competed a DTY in Jesolo (even on a slightly injured foot) and Bailey’s DTY seems to be deteriorating, plus I’m sure Norah has some floor upgrades up her sleeve.

    Mackayla was injured earlier in the year, although it was minor. All that power makes her ankles pretty strong which is why despite all the low ladings she seems okay. Too bad Alicia’s power didn’t translate to fewer injuries.

    Maybe the surprise will be that Alicia comes back, haha. Okay, that’s a dream but still.

    There is also Nichol’s teammate, Olivia Dunn (right?) who shows promise. And another girl from Ashton’s gym–can’t remember her name. At this point, I say the surprise will be is whoever Marta is grooming and from all I’ve seen that person is Regan but for the life of me I can’t figure out how she’d fit the puzzle since Regan’s two best events are beam and floor.

    We have a ton of promising beam workers so I guess it’ll depend on who can stay on.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Kyla ross still exists and I have decided she isn’t going away🙂

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        Unless I see an upgrade from Kyla, she doesn’t exist. Okay, fine–you can have Kyla if Norah makes the team lol

      • JAS4 Says:

        I hope Kyla can bring the upgrades and make the team. I would still love for Asac to come out of retirement lol.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Let’s start a petition for Alicia to unretire. All she needs is vault/floor and she is good haha

        Based on her Instagram pics, she is still very much in shape lol

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        Kyla is Marta’s pet of this quad. She’d have to do 10 of those falls that happened in Jesolo to be left off lol. Sad, but the truth. Can she PLEASE bring upgrades soon. I’m begging.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I feel like Kyla is Marta’s pet until someone else comes along. I think that “new” pet will be Regan next year.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She isn’t her pet at all. After Kyla’s parents almost pulled her put of world’s after they threatened to give the AA spot she earned to McKayla at Steve Penny’s insistence I am pretty sure stay will treat Kyla like she treated Alicia. Good enough for world’s but not the Olympics. It Beyer not happen but it could.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I have a feeling you’re right. Here Kyla is making all the World teams but when it comes to the Olympics, all of a sudden Kyla will score 5th or 6th at the All Arounds come nationals/Trials 2016.

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        I love ragan! but unless she ups her difficulty, improves bars, and becomes more consistent I’d be scared for her as a senior not gonna lie. Marta seems to really like laurie who is the front runner of the juniors right now, but I feel like for her (or any of the juniors) to contend as seniors next year, they really need to increase their difficulty and stay consistent. I see some potential starts for next year (or 2017 and beyond) with them.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I feel so strange about the current juniors. On the one hand, some are quite good, on the other, a few just so inconsistent. Like it’s crazy that Aly can be back to top 2 or top 3 after having 2.5 years from competition. I’m glad she is but it’s still crazy. I think part of the problem is that they compete so rarely–Marta needs to send juniors to more international competitions. Jesolo and Pacific Rim is not enough. I guess there was that Japan Open too.

        I think Marta likes Regan. She is been inviting her to camps for 5 years now and she made her switch to a diff coach and thought TD was a place for her. I bet there will be major upgrades next year and I’m guessing there is something Marta knows there that we don’t.

        I think Marta likes Laurie too (a floor line-up of Laurie, Aly and Simone Is prob what she is thinking) but Laurie has had more than one major injury already so I’m not sure that she’ll stay in one piece by Olympics anyways or that Marta would want to deal with someone who is so injury prone. We’ll see I guess lol

      • JK Says:

        I can’t help but think Martha is the big reason why Kyla isn’t upgrading. I know she’s been dealing with a back injury for a while now but I remember Kyla saying in an interview that she was working on some upgrades on beam like an aerial cartwheel-LOSO combo but Martha nixed it. Despite her back issues, I would think beam would be the easiest to upgrade but so far she hasn’t… can’t help but blame Martha for this.

      • G Says:

        What about Jazmyn Foberg? I thought she might fit in somewhere but now I doubt it. She has a nice set of bars though.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        To me, Jaz is like Laurie, except Marta actually likes Laurie lol

        On the other hand, Jaz went from not making Nationals in 2013 to winning Nationals in 2014. Maybe she is the hidden Gabby. Hmm.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Jaz won Nationals by defailt. Everyone else was hurt. I never liked her. Still dont.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I don’t like her either. She bores me. Oh maybe I just don’t her coach that much. I don’t know which one but I don’t think Laurie or Jaz are making it to Rio.

        Honestly, except for Norah, Regan and Sydney, all these juniors are blah.

        Jordan Chiles looks awesome–too bad she doesn’t turn senior till 2017. Well and Morgan Hurd but I guess I’m ahead already lol

      • TrishaG Says:

        Kyla has grown a ton in the past two years and it’s really hard for lots of gymnasts just to keep their skills after that type of growth spurt, much less upgrade. The back injury last year also interfered with upgrading because she had to focus instead on reworking her routines to avoid further aggravating her back. She has made a bunch of changes in her UB set this year, but the changes are mostly lateral ones. They’re necessary though, and smart, and include new elements. Her UB routine now has more toe on elements to replace the inbar staldars that hurt her back. She’s added a bunch of Russian style connections at the beginning of her routine ala Ashton. Also, she has a new dismount – double front instead of DLO. It’s impressive she was able to retain the DLO as long as she did with her height, but she struggled on it a few times last year. Double Front and DLO are both rated D, so nothing gained by the change difficulty wise but nothing lost. She’s also been training a Bwardwaj this year, focusing on getting the technique right so it won’t bother her back. I hope she can add it in this year.

        I was bummed about the aerial cartwheel-LOSO combo on beam because I really love that one and it’s so rare. But Kyla said that Martha didn’t like it because it was too risky consistency wise and wouldn’t be good for TF. She’s been working on a front tuck half out though, so maybe she’ll add that. That’s an F skill and would add at least .2 to her D score, possibly more depending on what skill it would replace. Frankly, I’d just like to see her routine reworked because she often misses combinations and loses difficulty. Isolated skills would be a better composition if they can do it and keep her D score up. If she can do that and simply adds a Grigoras, I’d be happy…at least for this year.

  8. JK Says:

    I remembered Kyla talking about the Grigoras but she didn’t sound very confident about it – probably because she was in the earlier stages of doing that skill. But personally, I think she’s a little too tall to do that skill very well… but what do I know?🙂 I actually think she could do a BHS-Layout combo very well and wished she could do that in the future.

    As far the aerial cartwheel-LOSO combo, I remembered seeing a clip of her doing that and it looked good. If Martha didn’t like that combo because of it being risky for TF then why not let Kyla perform that combo only during qualifications and individual events (and not TF)? This is why I can’t help but think Martha is screwing Kyla on her chances of making the Rio team. She’s now allowing her to take any risks for possible upgrades – and she desperately needs to upgrade if she wants to be a contender.

    While I’m on the topic of Kyla and her beam, here’s a fantasy beam routine I wish she could perform… and that I also think is realistically possible for her to do🙂

    BHS (B) + Layout (E) (CV = 0.1)
    aerial cartwheel (D) + LOSO (C) (CV = 0.2)
    front tuck (D) + wolf jump (A) (CV = 0.1)
    aerial walkover (D) + sheep jump (D) (CV = 0.2)
    switch ring leap (E)
    switch leap 1/2 turn (D) + back tuck (C) (CV = 0.1)
    split jump (A) + Sissone (A)
    full turn (A)
    double pike dismount (E)

    D-Score = 6.7 (I think?)

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I’ve always loved Kyla but I don’t see her making it to Rio. Marta is keeping her around as “insurance” in case an injury to someone else happens but I believe the only 2012 Olympian we’ll see on the Rio squad is Aly (which sucks in my opinion but oh well…like I said, I’m not a fan of her gymnastics).
      Marta has always seen Kyla as dispensable. She likes her clean lines but there’s something politically it seems that keeps Kyla from being a Marta “favorite.”
      I seriously thought it would be Kyla and Jordyn going for the all around in London (that’s how off I was, haha) but then all of a sudden Jordyn was getting hit score-wise (for Gabby) and Kyla was being told to downgrade vault and keep floor D score low (Marta – so Aly could slip in). Marta had every intention of taking Nastia over Kyla to London just in case Nastia hit a bar routine. Thank god that didn’t happen.
      We all have known for a while that Kyla needs to upgrade to make it, and I think even Kyla knows it, but it has to be OK by Marta too sadly. Marta holds the key to the scores. We all see how it works. So anything that may “work” for Kyla is not working for Marta, because Marta “wants” to keep Kyla’s D scores low. That way, she can be sure all the power gymnasts she favors will surpass her.

      Just watch nationals and trials 2014 Kyla won’t even break into the top 4 all around…well of course unless someone is injured. So Marta will get away with leaving her at home.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I totally see her making it to Rio. FIG wants to see gymnasts that look like kyla with the long line, with strong execution emphasis. Marta knows that if she sends kyla it makes up for Aly Simone and MyKayla. Kyla is always there. It will be interesting to see where Marta tells the judges to place everyone at nationals this year

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Nothing makes up for Mackayla–she needs to stay at home lol

      • JK Says:

        Sanity, I didn’t know Martha wanted to keep Kyla’s floor d-score low – I just thought floor was Kyla’s weakest event (due to stamina). I do remember Kyla’s mom giving an interview about how Kyla had a much higher d-score on bars but Martha wanted her to downgrade so she could get higher execution scores (yeah right). But this does fall in line with what you said about Nastia’s chances of making the team over Kyla, who had a (potentially) higher bars d-score than her.

        I would love to see Kyla make it to Rio (I agree with you about Aly – nice girl, but not a fan of her gymnastics). I have a soft spot for her because I’ve always felt she’s the invisible member of Fierce Five… kind of like Bridget Sloan of the 2008 team. I’m glad Bridget won Worlds AA in 2009 though. She has since become of my favorite AA gymnasts from the US.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Bridget and Ross were def babies of their teams. But I think Bridget was a better AA’er. She was nice combination of power and flexibility. I also liked her case she was so undervalued.

        I’d have to agree–Aly will prob be in Rio, Ross, if others fall.

        I also think Marta will take one gymnast that’s not a power gymnast. I’m not sure who that will be. Norah has good execution and will prob improve there (like Shawn was), so that might work in her favor. If Gowey could stay healthy, she could be an option. I guess Alyssa fits the mold but her best events are Aly’s best events and Aly is def going Alyssa.

        I’m so glad Kyla didn’t go pro–she will be perfect at NCAA.

        So what else did Kyla’s mom sat? This is interesting.

      • TrishaG Says:

        I’d not heard that Martha said to downgrade floor. It’s a hard event for Kyla to upgrade. She has said herself how much she struggles with endurance on floor. She also had a bit of a growth spurt in early 2012, and that’s what caused problems on her amanar. I wonder if that’s also when floor got harder for her? Probably Martha had already decided that Kyla wasn’t going to get an AA spot if she made the team and was competing in her mind for a UB/BB spot only. Floor therefore didn’t matter so why not downgrade if she’s struggling; better that than risk losing her to injury. Even if she was Martha’s backup option at that point, Martha wanted an intact backup.

        She tried a few amanars that season: Pac Rims – badly overrotated with 4 steps fwd, US Classic – hot mess, stumbled completely off the side of the mats, Trials – underrotated and sat it down. She had some very nice ones in PT at various competitions that spring, but was just really inconsistent in actual competition. She also had problems with the amanar in vault warm ups during Nationals, which is when Marta suggested downgrading. I was and still am okay with that downgrade because there’s too much risk of injury on a poorly done amanar, and hers was just all over the place and nowhere good. We didn’t need a repeat of 2011 Bross. And if there was, everyone would have said, “The signs were there! She’s been struggling with that vault all season! Why didn’t anyone stop her??? Is Martha so crazy for amanars that she disregards athletes’ safety???”

        From what Kyla’s said since then, it doesn’t sound like she was able to get the amanar back after she grew 4 more inches. Maybe she’ll be able to work on it again now that her back is better. She doesn’t need it this year, but it would be good to have for Rio if she can.

      • JK Says:

        It was some radio interview from a while ago – Kyla and her mom were both on it but gave separate interviews. I don’t remember too much of what they said but a couple things I (kinda) remembered: Kyla’s mom talked about how she’s hesitant to recommend Gym-Max to other parents because Howie and Jenny are very “Chinese” because they tend to leave the parents (and the girls) in the dark about their plans. For example, Kyla’s mom talked about how she was worried about her daughter’s chances of making the Olympic 2012 team because her d-scores (in particular, her bars) were super low. I think she said her bars d-score was somewhere around 5.4 (I don’t remember the exact number); then, all of a sudden, her bars d-score shot up to somewhere around 6.6 in 2012 (again, don’t remember the exact number but do remember the gap was huge). But then (according to Kyla’s mom) Marta told Jenny and Howie to downgrade Kyla’s bars so that she could focus more on achieving higher execution scores.

        Kyla’s mom also talked about having a conversation with Shannon Miller about whether or not Kyla should go pro. Shannon said Kyla seems to be very serious about her education and I think that’s what helped them decide that Kyla should keep her NCAA eligibility. (I agree with you too, Ilanchik – I think Kyla will be great at NCAA)

        As for Kyla’s interview, I honestly don’t remember anything she said.🙂 I think her mom’s interview was more interesting which is probably why I remembered more of what said.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am going to have to listen to that intwrview. I am pretty sure it was a gymcastic interview and their over the hill phony love fest to whom ever they interview usually rubs me the wrong way so I don’t like to listen to them unless it is someone really interesting. I think I listened to that interview once but I don’t remember a thing. Maybe I meant to listen to it.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Oh I remember it now. For whatever reason I forgot all about it but when you mentioned Shannon, I remembered that bit or maybe that’s the only part I listened to.

        And G, just for you:


      • JK Says:

        Thanks for the link. Yup, that’s the interview I was talking about. I re-listened to Kyla’s mom’s interview to make sure I wasn’t giving wrong info. Seems I got one of the bars d-scores wrong: according to Kyla’s mom, Kyla has a 3.6?? (I think I heard this right) d-score 2-2.5 years before the Olympics and then had a 6.6 by 2012. Then Marta told her to downgrade to 6.4.

        I’m guessing the bars routine Kyla did in 2013 was what her coaches originally planned for her to do in 2012 – the Komova shap + Pak combo rather than the Maloney + Pak combo. Damn, I wished they didn’t listen to Marta – Kyla could’ve made the bars EF. She wouldn’t have medaled but still…

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        I agree with Exgymgurl on this one. I think Ross still has a good chance of making it to Rio. I fully agree that her d-scores are low and she needs upgrades. But Kyla has something that Marta can’t resist…consistency and a cool head.

        If Ross is only going to be used on beam and bars in Rio, who cares about her crappy floor (even though the lack of difficulty is nauseating)? As far as I’m concerned, her AA potential is basically over with. She may still practice all events so she can be a back up in case of injury, but I doubt she will ever be in an AA Final with Biles any longer. With Key, Aly, Maggie, and stupid Gaggy in the mix…her days in the #2 AA spot are pretty much gone. Without a good floor score and an Amamar…she’s finished for the AA in Rio.

        I think she knows this, and is upgrading the two events that she knows will get her on the Rio team. Beam and bars. We have already seen the reworking of her bars routine. I think this is just the beginning of the new upgrades she has planned. Also on beam, she just needs a few more tenths here and there to really push her into a competitive level. She may never win any EF metals with these routines…but I don’t think that’s what Marta is relying on in the end. There are always 1 or 2 members on the team that are solely there to support and strengthen the team. They have no chances of metaling in EFs, but the routines are still competitive in a team situation (especially as lead off people). At the end of the day, that is all Marta needs Kyla to be. Reliable with semi-competitive routines for the team final. ‘Cause let’s be honest, unless she pulls a crapload of upgrades out of her leo…she isn’t going to get a bar metal with the heavy compition from Russia or China (unless there are falls). And with Aly and Simone vying for the beam spots at worlds and the Olympics, her chances are slim of even making the final with the 2 per country rule (unless she also has a ton of crazy upgrades).

        Long story short, Kyla’s consistency and cool head under pressure will get her on the team. Marta values that over someone who has a few more tenths on each event. You need someone you can trust who will hit…and the rest of these girls (minus Simone) haven’t really proven that. Aly has in the past, but she has to reaffirm her position now that she is back. The rest are wild cards, and Marta will not take unproven girls with her. As long as Kyla makes small improvements and stays healthy, I think she is on the Rio team. The only way I see her not going is injury or if some unknown wildcard (aka Gaggy 2.0) shoots into the mix and is a rockstar on bars and beam.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I agree with most you said. Marta is not risking her 2016 team gold so I’m sure she wants to take someone who is consistent like Kyka. But I also think, she wants someone who is consistent and can get an EF medal. I’m not really sure who that is for beam bars yet. Norah is pretty great on both–especially beam (but hers are pretty too with all that L-grip work) and she is fairly consistent (at least as a junior) so it should be interesting next year. Bailey and Ashton are fairly consistent on bars. Honestly, I just think she’ll just take a vault specialist again to boost the team scores and let’s hope it’s not Skinner.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        P.S I also can’t imagine Marta taking two repeat Olympians and Aly has a higher scoring potential (plus leadership abilities) so that in itself should make things interesting lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Leadership ability is overrated. These girls have been competing fine without her for years.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Sure. If leadership is your major quality (I.e Alicia in 2012, whom I love btw) then you are kind of screwed but if you can outperform most others and you have leadership skills, then all the better lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Unless you have wimps on your team like Dominique Dawes by now most of these girls should be able to handle themselves by now especially Simone and Kyla and Aly

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Lol probably

        Although I do think whatever Aly told Gabby during team finals, it made her stay on that damn beam. But let’s hope Gabby isn’t on the team so it shouldn’t be a problem haha

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Gabby stayed on but she was wobbly as hell and over scored so while she gets credit for staying on she still should have been scored a lot lower

      • JK Says:

        I hope your right uglyfatkid about Kyla’s chances on making it to Rio. But the pessimist in me thinks that Kyla is going to end up as an alternate with Norah possibly taking that bars/beam specialist spot.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I love Norah. And Kyla. Damn it. I hope Norah has some major upgrades next year so they can both be on the team. Sigh.

      • JK Says:

        I like Norah. I’m excited to see her upgrades next year – I think she has potential to be good-to-really good on bars and great on beam. If there were still 6-persons team I think both her and Kyla could be on the team. But since it’s only 5, I feel like it’s going to be one or the other (with the favor being greater on Norah’s side than Kyla’s). I really hope I’m wrong.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I want them both! Damn 5 member teams.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        There is no denying Kyla needs to upgrade but I think if she could get to a 6.4 on bars and 5.9 on floor as well as a new dismount off beam and hit she will be considered for this team. Take away y hat double tuck and ad an Arabian front and her regular consistency and Imo she 8s the bars /beam specialist due to how consistent she is plus she will be back up AA er. I don’t see Aly being an AAER on this team with bars. Her huge floor score kept her in the AA last time but it took a super floor score to do that. Her Amanar is a mess and will only be worse then 2012. It will All depend on Aly’s super floor to decide if she does AA with the Amanar having so many issues and being downgraded compared to 2012. Kyla always gets a 15.2 like score on her DTY

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        She looks one of top AA’ers this year (after Simone) but it’ll be interesting to see what happens next year.

        I heard she is trying an Amanar again but honestly since it’s just 6.3 now, she should prob focus on upgrading floor and beam instead. Her DTY is fairly clean and the difference doesn’t seem worth it. I also think there was some talk that Aly wants to do a second vault. Anyone know anything about that?

        Who do you think might be other AA’ers Marta will choose? I just don’t see Maggie or Gabby in there.

        As far as Kyla goes, I think there is a chance she’ll be in the team but she declf will have lots of competition next year. If Gabby upgrades her bars and gets her Ananar back, we are in trouble.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Correct me if I am wrong but Norah can’t compete at world’s til next year right?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Unfortunately no. She’ll be a first year senior next year. They used to have a rule where they let you compete senior the year before at Worlds if you were old enough for Olympics (which is how Shawn made it to Worlds 2007) but they got rid of that rule. Sigh.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I remember that rule and think it was a huge waste of time to change it. It would have been huge for someone like Kyla in 2011

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Totally waste of time. Stupid.

        I’m sure Marta would have loved to test some next year seniors at Worlds lol

      • Katie Says:

        The “leadership” factor has always been such bs to me. ASac was the absolute opposite of a leader. She led the little clique in the 08 squad. Freaked out and wouldn’t even congratulate shawn after Floor Finals during 07 worlds.
        During her comeback for 2012, she had another freakout on shawn where shawn gave some interview about how her comeback was legitimate and she was serious (and this was in 2011, I think, when her comeback actually was legit) and asac took that as some sort of slight against HER comeback attempt as if Shawn was saying no one else who was talking about coming back actually meant it and ASac and went on some passive aggressive twitter rant. A true leader would have reached out and had been like, “Hey, I saw something you said. Maybe I am taking it the wrong way. Let’s talk about it.” And then there was her walking out at 2012 trials without even sticking around to congratulate the team. Yes, maybe her head had been played with by Marta, but a true leader would be gracious enough to congratulate her teammates.
        Plus she had all sorts of problems with people on the 2012 tour. I still don’t get how Alicia Sacramone is viewed as any sort of leader. Just because she was older than the other girls and called herself a leader doesn’t actually make her a leader.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The reason she is considered the leader is because the team she led was full of her little minions. Nastia, Shayla, Peszek etc… they were the group
        that bullied people and Alicia was their leader.

        Then when Alicia didn’t like Nastia anymore Alicia became friendly with the group of gymnasts that weren’t happy about Nastia acting like she deserved a free pass to the Olympic team because she won the AA 4 years ago (also thinkimg she shouldn’t have to go to camps and prove herself you know like everyone else had to do)

  9. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Ugh. Regardless of anyone’s beliefs, her mom forgot to teach her how to be a media darling.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Or maybe her mother taught her to stand up for her beliefs over appeasing the masses ? I honestly find this whole debate about marriage stupid. Marriage should be banned for all people. It is stupid to let a piece of paper define your relationship. There is a reason. Over 60 % of marriages fail. All sarcasm aside everyone should have a right to their own lives. Until Jr is making decisions that tell people what they can and cannot not do she is included in that.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m fine with her standing up for her own beliefs–everyone should. I just thought she come off very standoffish with how she said it.

        Marriage is not for everyone (even if I’m happy in mine) but if someone wants to get married, let them. Plenty of other gymnasts are religious (and ones I like too) but most know how to say things on social media.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I didn’t find her tweet any more or less annoying then what others tweet when I do or don’t agree with them. To each their own. Twitter is a waste of time. #BanTwitter

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’m all for #bantwitter haha

        I’m hoping it’ll dissapear by the time my daughter is old enough to go online lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am sure there will be something worse by then .lol

      • Guest Says:

        It is hilarious that some people tweeted they would plan to move to Canada after the judgment (after that they were mocked that Canada has legalized gay marriage for 10 years).

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        People say that with a lot stuff–healthcare, gay rights, maternity rights, etc. Some people are always moving to Canada, I guess they don’t realize Canada is a lot more progressive and socialist lol. Idiots.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Anyone wanting to move to Canada for any reason must be an idiot.

      • Katie Says:

        Liberals always say that they will move to Canada if any Republican candidate issue or agenda is in. Remember when Julia Roberts said she would move to Canada if George W Bush got elected? and yet, she’s still here!
        When Republicans say it, I think almost all of them are saying it in a very sarcastic, tongue-in-cheek way. Sortof saying that the US has moved left of even Canada and they would rather move there than live in the US.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        So what does Julia Roberts have to do with being a Republican if she was going to move if Bush was elected ? Julia is one of those fake Hollyweird types that act like they want to pay more taxes and pretend they are democrats and believe in giving the world away when in reality they probably vote the opposite.

      • Katie Says:

        Julia Roberts is very much a liberal. Just giving an example of a Hollywood Democrat who made a public threat about moving to Canada and never actually followed through.

    • Aerial Says:

      Ugh. McKenna Kelley sucks and this further solidifies it for me. Can’t stand that family.

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        Speaking of Mary Lou and mckenna. Anyone see that documentary they did on gymnastike? Highly annoying. Mary Lou really really thinks way too highly of her daughter and herself for that matter…

  10. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I’m clearly bored today haha

    Aly, splits and pointy toes. Is it me or the older she gets, the more she looks like Asac? Lol

    Mihai and Sylvie (my coaches) are so impressed they're framing this pic.

    A photo posted by Alexandra Raisman (@alyraisman) on

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Aly’s form started to look better and better for awhile but by the time she got to the Olympics it was back to being garbage. It was like she stopped trying to keep the legs together and straight.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Yeah her form was better for a while. But I’m glad to see that she is working on flexibility. It’s nice to see.

        Also, her bars seem to be a bit better this turn around but I’m sure that’ll change once she begins to spent more time on upgrading other events for next year.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Aly’s bars were only like a 4.5 at hwr only meet so she needs to upgrade that big time

  11. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    reminds me of the republican junk mail I give with their Olympic supporters on it. usually retton and strug

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      Wait Strug supports Republicans? I thought she works as a social worker and has an M.A in Sociology? Aren’t two sort of incompatible? Lol

      It’s fine if she does, I’m just confused haha

  12. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    ?? This was WAYYY back in 2000. pro W ad

Leave a Reply

