While I was working

Lizzy Leduc competed at the Sea Games and helped team Philippines win it’s first medal as a team. She also competed in the AA finishing 6th and made the beam and floor finals. She might have an up hill battle to make the Olympic team because she was beaten by another US gymnast competing for the Philippines.

Qualifications and Team Final

Team/Qualification highlight video

At 522 you can see Lizzy Leduc’s vault. The US should use these leotards for Worlds.

AA Results
Uneven Bars

Vault and Uneven Bar Finals videos
Balance Beam
Floor Exercise

Beam and Floor Finals Videos


Brenna Dowell will defer College after competing a year to try for Rio. Marta hates her so good luck with that Brenna


Ellie Black won Nationals for Canada


Jonathon Horton on America Ninja Warrior

Wedding part 2 probably won’t be out til Saturday. I haven’t had time to start it. Sorry.

58 Responses to “While I was working”

  1. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I love Ava! I was glad to see her compete. Any idea if Marchenko was there with her?

    I didn’t realize Lizzie wanted to compete at Olympics. She signed her NLI for U of Illinois for this fall so that’s weird.

    Brenna would have a real chance if she changed coaches (as we talked), but she isn’t, my hopes are very small. Sigh.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I wonder if Brenna will specialize and just do vault and bars (possibly floor as well)?

    • Cupquaked Says:

      She scores very well in NCAA so maybe she’ll try for AA again. She did mention she was trying for this years Worlds. I don’t believe Marta will like her any better than last time, especially after Al Fong’s press release about denying the international assignments.

      She should have stayed in NCAA where people appreciate her and recognize her talent. I can’t imagine this being good for her psyche.

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    hey brenna dowell if you think for one second that usagymnastics will ever treat you fairly you are lying to yourself. I have a message for marta karolyi, you can torture gymnasts, and starve gymnasts, and break their joints to the ground but do you see this? No one is catching team USA and if we break they break with us……

    seriously brenna Dowell. Stop drinking al fongs koolaid. he must have realized desch wont be in rio

    • Gymnast41 Says:

      Haha the hunger games tribute made me chuckle🙂 but yes, I agree with you completely. I think of brenna wants a decent chance at the Olympics (or even worlds) she’ll need a kick ass bar routine that could rival the best in the world, and maybe rival simone or mykayla on vault (unlikely). But ughhhh I hope she doesn’t come back like classics last year, that was brutal to watch.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    I want the rebels to know that Im alive and well in district eight in oklahoma where usagymnastics just bombed the shannon miller steve nunno olympic glory tribute museum, full of shannon and steve and innocent men women and children. If you think for one second that usagymnastics will ever treat you fairly you are lying to yourself. I have a message for marta karolyi, you can inflate nastia liukins head, and torture shawn johnson with laxitives, and burn our non karolyi gymnastics monuments to the ground. But do you see this? …. finish it

  5. exgymgurl Says:

    http://www.ginnasticaartisticaitaliana.it/2015/06/11/bruno-grandi-fig-president-the-new-qualification-system-i-made-it-to-save-the-gymnastics/ just in case you want to hear this

  6. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I’m hoping a year at NCAA had given Brenna consistency and confidence that she’ll take back with her to Elite. Maybe if she is as consistent in elite as she was in NCAA, Marta will forget who her coach is lol IIs that too much to ask? Haha

    • Cee Says:

      Why does Marta hate Fong? I’d never heard this.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I just always got a vibe she doesn’t like him. I think it’s a few things🙂

        1) An iffy image: two of his gymnasts died in early 1990’s and Marta prob doesn’t like associating with him
        2) McCool fiasco– she chose to not compete junior in 2003, then Marta is forced to take her in 2004 case she wins Nationals or trials, can’t remember which one (I don’t think that was ever her plan), then has a meltdown at the Olympics.
        3) His big mouth. He (often) refuses to do as he is told by Marta.

        I’m sure I’m missing something lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marta liked McCool until she fell apart at the Olympics. Marta judges gave McCool all her shaky beam connections to place well. She wanted her on the team.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Really? I always got the impression she didn’t want her on that team. Part of me always thought Marta contributed to Mcool’s Olympics meltdown lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t remember any rumors about Marta being mad Courtney stayed a junior that year but it was a long time ago so there could have been. McCool was a beautiful gymnast to watch. I don’t think anyone expected her to fall apart like she did. Rumors I do remember from back then was McCool crying and falling apart after prelims which is why she wasn’t used in team finals. Marta does not like it when gymnasts she likes do not live up to their potential. Think Alicia Sacramone falling twice in 08. Sure Marta put her on the world teams but she screwed her for the one meet everyone really remembers, the Olympics
        Marta’s legacy will be the Olympics not world’s and all you need to remember is Kim Zmeskal. She is rarely remembered.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Ah, you are right–and I’ll be forever bitter that Alicia didn’t make it in 2012.

        But get ready–we’ll hear plenty about Kim next year in case you missed her🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Olympic years are different than regular years and no not a big Zmeskal fan as a gymnast and I disliked her as a person when she was a kid too but I like her as an adult. She’s growing on me

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I didn’t really like Kim when she first started coaching but from what I can tell she has gotten much better. She seems far more honest with her athletes (as opposed to Al let’s say) which I think is a good thing.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Sounds like watching some 2004 meets should be re-watched for a possible blog. I’ll do that when I have time

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I meant to say, refused to compete senior in 2003 or I guess chose not to lol🙂 although we all know Marta doesn’t like when she is not the one to make that kind of choice, haha

      • aerial Says:

        Fong wrote a scathing Martha bass piece after Brenna wasn’t selected for certain assignments and, I think, allowed to compete at worlds in favour of Mckayla Maroney who took her spots on certain events in the team in hopes of qualifying for the AA. While he clearly has a point that Martha hasn’t treated Brenna with open communication or at times fairly it seemed, or rather – she had it out for her – I can’t imagine that would help her cause – or his – in the future. She just needs a new coach. Most people with the talent and always on the bubble of things, continuously, make a move somewhere else. It’s your time, honey!

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I def think he had enough valid points but that letter is just not doing any favors to Brenna. Sometimes, you just to keep your mouth shut.

        She seems so hardworking, I think if she had a diff coach, she’d have a real chance. Arghhhhh

      • Cee Says:

        @Ilanchick–I knew about Julissa and Christy (horrifying) but damn, if his gymnasts don’t have beautiful lines. McCool, Finny, Terin–all my favorites. I think I read somewhere Armine gets the credit for that though.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I never liked Mcool much but love Terrin and Sarah. I’d have to say Armine is prob a reason for it. He has softened up over the years but he still talks a lot!

        But you’d think with Terrin on a committee, Brenna wouldn’t be screwed constantly. But I also remember Terrin saying in one of the Gymnastike interviews that her and Marta disagreed about one person on the 2012 team. I wonder if it had to do with Finnegan.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It was Alicia and allegedly there was a yelling fight between her and Marta but I think it was all BS. Marta would never take anyone’s BS and Terin is allegedly friendly with Alicia

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        So wait MartA wanted Alicia on the team or as an alternate or Terrin wanted her?

        I do think it’s a little biased to have a former Gage gymnast when Al still has a lot of athletes going for the team. It’s the same problem that I’ve heard about Lauren Navarro who Marta jusf added to the training squad for Pan Ams (I guess some coaches are not thrilled)–Steve is on the committee and Lauren trains at Gliders.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Terin wanted Alicia on thw twam. I think she said it on gymcastic.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Damn Marta then haha

        But it makes sense that whoever Marta wanted is who ended on the team lol

        I actually forgot that Terrin competed with Alicia. It was a long time ago!

  7. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I saw this pic on Twitter. Shannon re-twitted it. I haven’t seen Nunno in a while but wow! What happened to him? Lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Shannon retired 20 years ago. What happened to him is called getting old. Look at a picture of you from 20 years ago and you will understand😉

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Well actually she retired 15 years ago🙂 but it’s not even his weight, he looks shorter to me lol. And in that note, I think I look better now than I did 15 years ago but that’s prob case who like teenage acne, haha.

        I guess I just haven’t seen him in a while! Is he still coaching? We see Peggy Lisdick all the time but I forgot about him.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        He sold his gyms. Not sure what he is doing oh and that stash needs to go.

      • aerial Says:

        I haven’t heard his name mentioned since he was an NCAA coach at OU, recruited Hollie Vise and said regardless of what shape you’re in, you can have a full-ride and only do beam, then took off and Kindler came in. And didn’t allow that plan. (Which worked out awesome for Hollie after tons of hard work.) He just vamooshed after that. Maybe he suffocated in his stache.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Well in that case I’m glad Kinder replaced him. Hollie was Beautiful at NCAA. Actually I always loved her gymnastics–stupid Marta.

        At least he got Hollie ti do NCAA–there is a positive lol

  8. sanitynmotion Says:

    Hah, I didn’t even know Brenna already competed a year at NCAA. I don’t pay much attention to college gymnastics. She did well there?

    Then I kind of think she’s stupid to go back to elite – Marta will ignore her. Poor thing so badly wants a world medal.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      Brenna did awesome as s freshman. She did 3 events fairly consistently every week and she got at least one perfect 10 on bars. Oklahoma got 3rd unfortunately at Nationsls but I’m hoping the season gave her some confidence to do a kick ass bar elite routine. Although it’s unlikely, im totally rooting for her. Plus if she makes the team, Skinner prob wont, which would be all the better!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Why do you hate Dkinner? Besid red s the form issues

      • G Says:

        I don’t like Skinner either partly because of her form problems/skills chucking and also because she rubs me the wrong way. I don’t want to seem harsh but she strikes me as someone who is really full of themself, anyone else get that vibe? It doesn’t even seem like the other girls are to fond of her. I could be wrong but that’s just my impression.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I’d have to agree. Her forms bothers. It also bothers me that she always says she knows she needs to work in her work, yet she continues to chuck the skills. I don’t know if it’s her or her coach but I’m surprised Marta hadn’t sent her to another coach yet.

        Also, some of her comments online really bother me. Soms of her comments about boys, sex and gays are more than I can stomach. Eh. I’m sure part of it is being raised in a Mormon faith but still.

      • Dee Says:

        That’s why I am not a fan – I get the “full of herself” vibe, too. I liked gymnasts a lot more pre-Twitter LOL

      • Gymnast41 Says:

        Oh yeah, mykayla on social media is annoying, always posting videos of crazy tricks, and I recently discovered her twitter and couldn’t stand to read some of her posts. What bothered me most was when she even said a comment on how simone is not “unbeatable” and that she could’ve won Amerixan Cup, which I mean could’ve been true, but still…could’ve watched what she said

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I could have won the American Cup too and beaten Simone. If I became a gymnast😉

  9. Dee Says:

    I was surprised to see Leduc competing at SEA for another country but hey, if I was a U.S. gymnast and could compete for another country and possibly make an Olympic team, then I would in a heartbeat. There is too much depth here, I would rather be on a team and not medal than sit home watching on TV. Is it bad that I sometimes think about doing that? Even though my gymnastics is awful and I have no citizenship anywhere other than the U.S.?

    • ilanchik20 Says:

      She is smart, at least there is a chance. But I think ever since she left WOGA and went down to level 10, she is been saying her goal is to compete for Philippines. Of course, ironically she gets beaten for top AA from Philippines by another U.S gymnast who trains at WOGA (Ava). Oh the irony, I guess.

      I wish more gymnasts did this–U.S. just has more talent. Asac should have went and competed for Italy lol 1) She could get a medal; and 2) She could displace Ferrari haha.

      • tulip Says:

        There’s a chance but she really needs to get into shape. She didn’t look great. She could have and should have won that meet. I’ve been rooting for her after the various ways it seems she’s been screwed. I want to see her succeed.

        And watching the SEA all-around, it makes me cringe that Bruno is reducing the team size so that some of these girls, who while good gymnasts in their country, can compete instead. Political correctness or Affirmative Action, whatever you call it, does not make for a pure competition at all. Most of those girls wouldn’t be able to compete for a NCAA Div I team.

    • Cupquaked Says:

      I’ve always wondered how gymnasts can switch countries. Chusovitina has competed for like 4 different ones right? Do you just ask your gymnastic fed? If I were a coach I wouldn’t want to train a gymnast just to have her go compete for someone else. Is there not an FIG/Olympic rule that you can only compete for your home country?

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        There is an FIG rule on this. You can change nationalities but both countries have to agree to that, if your home country doesn’t let you do that, then you have to wait a year before you can represent the new country. This happened to Hatch. She become a U.S citizen in 2002 but Cuba wouldn’t Release her so she had to wait till 2003 before she could compete internationally for the U.S

        Russia has released Anna and Yulia so they didn’t have to wait that period.

  10. ilanchik20 Says:

    For you info🙂


  11. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Why the hell does Valery’s Wiki page says he coached Carly? Maybe Nastia did that, haha.


    Someone should fix this!

Leave a Reply

