Happy retirement No grip Dabritz. Wrapping up the NCAA championships

My NCAA wrap consists of 2 things,

1- Georgia Dabritz should think about coming up with some crazy ass super D score UB routine and try and sneak herself onto the 2016 Olympic team and…………..

2- UTAH WAS ROBBED. Shame on Florida for being selfish yet again and celebrating their win gift before the competition was over. Rhonda Faehn shame on you for not teaching your girls how to respect a damn gym meet. Your a former Olympian-ish for God’s sake. Act like it.

Florida now has 3 titles in a row they didn’t deserve.

37 Responses to “Happy retirement No grip Dabritz. Wrapping up the NCAA championships”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    Once Georgia is out of school she’ll need a job….Mihai could use a bars coach lol

  2. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    think derek injured himself to get away from nastia??

    • Uglyfatkid Says:

      I sure as hell would.

      Or it’s a publicity stunt to drum up drama and intrigue. That guy is a camera whore and will do anything for 5 more mins of fame.

    • guest Says:

      No one knows the truth. But Derek has been absent for one week in Shawn’s season and let Mark as replacement.

      https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PW9gPIRZFVs

      In audience reviews, Derek may lose his team dance 1st time despite the score of both teams are equal. I would say Call me maybe with Shawn should be one of his best team dance performance.

      https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=AmjzpjgB6s8

    • guest Says:

      No one knows the truth. But Derek has been absent for one week in Shawn’s season and let Mark as replacement.

      In audience reviews, Derek may lose his team dance 1st time despite the score of both teams are equal. I would say Call me maybe with Shawn should be one of his best team dance performance.

  3. Uglyfatkid Says:

    Georgia is awesome. I am going to really miss watching her perform for Utah. We have season tickets, and she really is great to watch. She lead the team, and it will be interesting to see who takes up her mantle now. And I completely agree…she needs to work up a bar routine and show up at classics. 🙂

    I have my DVR set to record the Tape-delay of the Super Six and EF tomorrow on ESPNU, so I am going to wait to covey my hatred…but I know it’s coming. Damn judges.

    Also, I know I’m a day late and a dollar short…but I wanted to thank you for your Oklahoma City blog GTT. I am ashamed to say that I would not have remembered had you not said something, and that is truly sad. While I was young at the time, it doesn’t excuse my ignorance now. Thank you for keeping those people’s memories alive, and for reminding all of us…even if only breifly…that life is precious and should not be forgotten.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    keep in mind NCAA has a different bar separation than what elite does, she was an elite for years or tried to be, Im just not sure she would have time between now and rio

    • Uglyfatkid Says:

      I had no idea Exgymgurl. You learn something new everyday! 🙂

      How is the separation different? Are they closer in NCAA than in Elite?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I seem to remember a Georgia not being able to compete at some competition because she never learned the further apart vars but I t might have been someone else

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        She did elite for a while, but in general bars for elite are further apart than ncaa, you have the option to compete far apart bars in ncaa but most of the girls dont. Im pretty sure she doesnt.

        I think Dereks injury is real. he needs a real reason to get out of losing with nastia and not even making a semifinal of DWTS with nastia, and the insurance says he can perform on broadway if he limits his dance, but cant do ballroom. They arent even giving her mark, shell get one of the troop rehearsal dancers based out of LA and just start getting worse.

        That team dance wasnt even close to team call me maybe.

      • Guest Says:

        Even Team Trouble choreographed and danced better than Team Yolo. That the judges gave the tie score is just to maintain the fame “Derek never lose team dance”.

      • gymmom2 Says:

        FIG settings are closer together. Some girls still swing FIG settings in college, but when you are taller a wider spread of the bars makes is much easier to tap your giants – which is the whole reasons bars started separating in the first place. Same with JO – they allow a wider bar setting in JO than elite. I think the problem Georgia had in elite was mostly beam – she just couldn’t master the beam consistently.

  5. Guest Says:

    Shawn changed her twitter profile picture to her Freestyle with Derek and Fierce 5. Haha, do you think any other meaning on it?

  6. ilannchik20 Says:

    There is word going around Tumbler that Gaskins retired from elite. Anyone know anything? I hope it’s not true!

    And then last week, Alexis retired from elite. Supposedly she left Chow’s too.

  7. ilanchik20 Says:

    There is word going around Tumbler that Gaskins retired from elite. Anyone know anything? I hope it’s not true!

    And then last week, Alexis retired from elite. Supposedly she left Chow’s too.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I thought Alexis was at a different gym training for College.
      Gaskkin s belonged in college. She didn’t have the difficulty

      • G Says:

        Yeah it doesn’t appear that Alexis is at Chow”s anymore. She hasn’t been jb the other girls training pictures for awhile. Wonder where she went?

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        I heard Alexis went to Triad Gymnastics but not certain. It’s the same club where a former coach from Chow’s works that he tried to sue at some point. Anyone remember this?

        Supposedly it has better level 10’s?

  8. ilanchik20 Says:

    Rhonda is leaving Florida to become the senior VP of USA gymnastics. I’m shocked. Wonder how it’ll impact Sloan next year as a senior and all these other recruits.

    Thought?

    http://www.gatorzone.com/mobile/news/30489

    • Case Says:

      Whoa. Didn’t see that coming.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Why would they hire her? Oh right she’s an ex Bela gymnast. What about Sam’s mother o thought that was her job? I don’t understand this hiring. Not at all. Florida was gifted 3 national titles and deserved none.

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        According to the USA Gymnastics site, she still be the Sr. VP of the women’s program.

        Luan Peszek is currently the VP of the program, so it looks like Rhonda will be her boss since she is the “Sr.” VP.

        If this means Papa Lukin doesn’t gets Marta’s job when she is finally melted with a bucket of water, I’ll be happy. I think Florida is over rated for sure, but anything is better than Papa Valtrex.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am about to blog about this. Be back in a few

    • allie Says:

      I wonder if Valeri won’t get Martha’s old job now….I felt like he was being groomed for it (although I have no inside perspective so what do I know). I feel like this hire means that their objective is to have Rhonda take over team USA.

  9. Mimi Says:

    I wonder, for the younger girls who verbally commit early on, how much of their decision to commit to a school is based on their rapport with the head coach and how they gel with the coaching style, as much (if not more so) as the actual university/academics. I wonder how the current crop of baby gators still in high school/elite feel about this! It seems the personality of the coach means a lot for NCAA.

    • ilanchik20 Says:

      I keep thinking about that too. Florida has committed so many gymnasts for the next few years, if I were them, I’d start considering something elsewhere. I vote for Bailey Key, Ashton and Amelia to Auburn lol

      I feel kind of bad for Sloan–getting a new head coach for your senior year is no fun, I’m sure.

      Does anyone know if this position existed before or did they create it just for Rhonda? Despite how shocked I’m, im actually excited to see her on the elite scene. In my world, she’d be far better replacement for Marta than Liukin lol

  10. Exgymgurl Says:

    this is so rhonda can step in and take martas place as national team coordinator. its kind of perfect because shes not an elite coach like valeri was and shes seen the whole cycle as an athlete and a coach. maybe she will actually tell vega to go to ncaa

  11. sanitynmotion Says:

    I can’t lie I don’t even know who Rhonda is.

    • ilanchik20 Says:

      Rhonda was an elite gymnast. She was on the 87 worlds team and alternate on the 88 Olympics student–a former Karolyi student. She competed for UCLA in college under Miss Val.She was a head coach for the 13 years, etc.

      Here is the interview she did for Gator Vision. Either she doesn’t know what she’ll be doing in her new job and she she’s been told not to disclose it. I generally like her and I think she is been great for Kytra, Alana, Sloan and Maquenzie. She really brought out great gymnastics from them. But this interview is awful.

      http://www.gatorvision.tv/mediaPortal/player.dbml?id=3984691&db_oem_id=6500

      Thoughts?

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        Rhonda was an elite gymnast. She was on the 87 worlds team and alternate on the 88 Olympics student–a former Karolyi student. She competed for UCLA in college under Miss Val.She was a head coach for the 13 years, etc.

        Here is the interview she did for Gator Vision. Either she doesn’t know what she’ll be doing in her new job and she she’s been told not to disclose it. I generally like her and I think she is been great for Kytra, Alana, Sloan and Maquenzie. She really brought out great gymnastics from them. But this interview is awful.

        http://www.gatorvision.tv/mediaPortal/player.dbml?id=3984691&db_oem_id=6500

        Thoughts?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Sloan didn’t need Rhona for great gymnAstics. Kytra was successful as an elite for non medal winning routines and Macko’s won a team world medal. They didn’t need Rhonda. Alana was over scored her entire College career .

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        True. They all were great before they got there. But I think they just had that extra spark in UF but maybe it’s because the college atmosphere is so different. Sloan was kind of undervalued in elite (an under thought in Marta’s eyes for sure) so I’m glad Rhonda made her realize how awesome she could be.

        I loved Alana’s bars. It’s too bad she wasn’t as successful in elite.

        Rhonda is still better than Valeri and maybe no more pink lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Florida’s leotards were always ugly.lol

Leave a comment