Advice from Mckayla Maroney. Jeselo and Doha Prelims

Sound advice mckayla that I personally follow every day of every year. The only person you really have to please is yourself.

Junior Jeselo Prelim Results

Jeselo Team prelim results
AA qualifications

Doha Prelim results

Nice to see Bulimer is over her injury but these scores and start values are low (with the exception of a few) Some of these E scores are scary

Anyone else find it kind of hilarious that Daniel Lleyva goes over seas to compete well but falls apart in the US? He has 8 tenths start value on anyone else and yet only 3 tenths more deductions.

And just because she’s my home girl

17 Responses to “Advice from Mckayla Maroney. Jeselo and Doha Prelims”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    If she didn’t really care about what other people thought of her don’t you think she’d put less effort into her Instagram/Twitter posts?

    Ugh, wannabe celebrities.

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    Actually I kind of take that back. I’m kind of finding that everyone is a wannabe for oversharing their lives on FB, Instagram, Twitter, etc. I don’t mean to rant but man a part of me just wants to leave social media altogether and pretend it doesn’t exist. But…it does.

    Besides that, yeah – every day should be a day where you don’t give a rat’s ass what anyone else thinks. Unless you’re a real jerk, this world needs less real jerks and more genuinely nice people.

    I’m so tired right now I barely know what I’m typing. So feel free to ignore me🙂 Today is a very unproductive work day lol.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You make sense. That is why I got rid of my tumblr (partially) and twitter and recently got rid of my new facebook. (Though I might get that back I miss it)

      Mckayla needs attention. That is what all these tweets are about. She is used to being the center of attention and now that she isn’t the famous gymnast competing she is lost. A lot of the tweets people send me by Mckayla seem like they are her trying to convince herself she is still relevant.

      It’s a shame her entire life seems based on the attention she receives. The girl needs to be taking classes and doing something with her life not searching for attention. She’s too talented to waste her life. I understand she is training but she just seems so sad.

      Even when I had my original facebook all I did was what I did on my twitter. Bitch about the RedSox and complain about work.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah – I get it. She was all the rage post Olympics but now back to being irrelevant and dependent on those “I love you!/I want to be you!” tweets. She should start a support group and invite Shawn and Nastia. And Moceanu.

        Funny enough, it seems like ASac is fine and dandy no longer being in any sort of spotlight (I could have that wrong, but I haven’t seen much from her lately and I am guessing she’s playing happy housewife to her now retired-at-the-age-of-like-22 husband).

        Is McKayla going to compete or is she injured for life? That’s what I can’t seem to find an answer to (not like I’ve been actively looking). I am guessing a big part of her wanting to come back is just what you said – so she can become relevant again. These gymnasts need to figure out that being a famous gymnast does not translate easily to being a famous person. Mary Lou did it but that was many years ago, and before DWTS.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        MLR did it because the Olympic were in LA. That is what made her famous. Winning helped too and the Soviets not being there.

        I feel bad for Mckayla. I can’t see her rich parents letting her live at home and doing nothing with her life forever.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Is she doing nothing or is she training? I can see her getting away with the “deadbeat” status if she’s training…not so much if she’s just sitting around on FB and such.
        I think if I couldn’t train and I were her, I’d want to go to college. Or if she’s so into being a Hollywood celebrity, I’d go take acting courses and get an agent and start going to auditions.

        I don’t ever understand the “want” to be famous. I’d want to be rich, but not famous. Ugh, fame.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I read somewhere she is in the gym but she’s online enough I don’t know how much she is actually in the gym.

      • G Says:

        According to Mckayla’s twitter, she’s training to compete again this year.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I’ll believe it when I see it🙂

      • G Says:

        Lol agreed.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I would love to see her back with a TTY and decent floor routine.

      • mim Says:

        That’s why I’m so surprised McKayla doesn’t seem to want to go to college. Her parents would likely pay and she’d probably love the social/party aspect of it. Or take an acting class.. just do SOMETHING instead of aiming to be an internet celebrity.

        As a side note, I deleted facebook six months ago and haven’t looked back! It was right after my wedding and was sick of people bugging me to upload all our photos. No way am I putting personal stuff on there for all the world to see. It’s so great being slightly removed from all the crap people put on there.

  3. baileyac Says:

    Larisa Lordache has left ankle pain.😦

  4. Cupquaked Says:

    E scores in the 1-3 (pretty sure I saw a 1.6 in there somewhere) range and D scores as low as 3.9? Like do you just stand on the beam for an entire two minutes? I really don’t understand how an D score can be THAT low. I get that these are not “Big 4” countries but still. It’s not even a competition at this point except for the top (maybe) 5 women…

    • tulip Says:

      I’ve watched streaming coverage of prelims at Worlds. It is so bad. There are gymnasts that don’t do giants on bars, their vault is a front handspring front, and their floor routine is a full twist over and over. Because they are a NOC they have the right to compete. Some of those 3rd world countries look like one wrong move from a major injury. One girl competed with a thing covering her hair and covered from head to toe. If you can find video of the 2013 world’s prelims, be prepared. It’s not always pretty.

      On another note- I despise social media for so many reasons. I keep in touch with my old friends via FB and that’s it. Twitter and Instagram is why the Kardashians and their ilk are a thing. It turns everyone into attention whores with no sense of reality. I’d hate to be raising a kid these days.

      Finally, look for the big fix again at NCAA . nationals. Watched SEC champs and in spite of the judges best efforts (Bridget C a perpetual 9.95 on floor lol) Florida couldn’t pull it off. Sloan nearly fell of beam but still got a 9. 9. I expect the scoring to be even more ridiculous. Like last year.

      Sorry for the long reply🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The Overs coring of Florida is quite amusing. Last year with Bridget and her 9.950 floor with a huge hop was blatant cheating.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I dont think Florida wins. Rhonda Faehn has even said the team is not a championship team. LSU has one meet left to put together four solid rotations before it matters at super six. That beam score at SEC was nearly their worst of the year. had they even scored their average they would have won. That being said since Georgia beat Utah head to head, Im not counting Utah as national championship material. I want LSU to win but they have to beat Oklahoma and right now I dont think anyone can do that. Florida is just not as good as they were last year and the year before. They dont deserve it. they should be third or fourth this year. Oklahoma does more difficulty and executes it better.

Leave a Reply

