2015 American Cup (Saturday March 7th) Results


Simone won by 4 points. Easily a well deserved victory. I just can’t understand the beam and floor scores especially floor but Simone was clearly the class of the field. Her Amanar was beautiful (slight leg separation on the pre-flight and slight crossed legs) She deserved her win so no need to nit pick.

Mykayala got her act together and came in second.She downgraded her vault from a Cheng to a DTY (Missed the Chang in podium) and floor but it looked much better than the other day in podium training.

Full Results

Elizabeth Price article

Jordyn officially retired today. I think that deserves it’s own blog after the American Cup.

52 Responses to “2015 American Cup (Saturday March 7th) Results”

  1. tulip Says:

    Congrats Jordyn! Enjoy your well deserved retirement. Unlike a certain Olympian- she represented the US with class. Give it 10 years of distance from Marta and US gymnastics and hopefully that book comes

    Looking forward to seeing if Simone adds upgrades and what Mikayala brings. Hope Nastia is not behind the mike.

    Watching Bridget Caquatto get overscored as usual. It even happens away from home. geez

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I didn’t watch the Florida/Oklahoma meet but judging by all the scores everyone was given gifts.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I had hoped that Jordyn would make a comeback but I am glad that she is able to move on and be happy with life after gymnastics.

    • Uglyfatkid Says:

      I completely agree. I have more thoughts, but I’m going to save them for the Jordyn blog after SCAM.🙂

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      i find the most interesting thing is Jordyn admitting finally that she had a broken leg ( a stress fracture in your tibia is a broken leg) at the olympics she always said during the injury didnt effect her. I always knew deep down it did affect her olympics. her body could only do so much. larissa Iordache was injured at the olympics and didnt have the best games either. Jordyn probably didnt want to be sidelined like maroney was or pulled off the team, so she gritted through. I dont know which alternate could have replaced her. We would have used raismans amanar, so just bars and floor for TF. alternates were finnegan ebee and li right? Probably would have been ebeefor bars and then kyla on floor . good for her that she gritted it out, but sad that she just wasnt at her best.

  3. sportsfan Says:

    Letter Jordyn wrote to announce her retirement can be read here:


  4. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I only saw parts of Nastia Liukin Cup but this was my favorite. Go Mihai!


    • Uglyfatkid Says:

      LMAO. Mihai is officially my favorite person ever. Someone has needed to bitch slap Andrea Joyce for a long time now. Can we seriously not get anyone better to interview people during gymnastics or skating events? It’s clear that she has no idea about the sports she is over, she only knows what to talk about because the producers have told her. They need to get rId of her. Stupid NBC.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      marta doing commentary was the absolute best part. she gave mad props to lauri hernandez for winning the last two camp competitions.

  5. Uglyfatkid Says:

    I adore Ebee (even if her gymnastics weren’t always my favorite) and commend her choice to leave Elite gymnastics…but that article kept shoving her “international” and SCAM AA metals down our throats. Any real gymnastics fan knows the meets she won her metals at basically mean nothing. They are “filler” meets. They kept saying that she left the sport when she was at the top spot…and that is just plain stupid. I don’t mean to down play her talent, ’cause she is great…but leaving from the top means you leave after winning worlds or the Olympics. Hell, I might even throw in nationals with the amount of compitition we have in the states. But Pac Rims and SCAM doesn’t count as “the top.” Sorry writers. Go sell your BS to Nastia and Gabby’s uneducated fans.

    • Karlie Says:

      To be fair, though, I’m pretty sure she would have made the World’s team had she not decided to head off to Stanford when she did – she was basically the second gymnast in the U.S. (behind Simone, obviously) when she retired. Plus, she was the overall World Cup Champion, which is nothing to sneeze at, even if the competition was a bit watered-down.

      To be honest, I’ll always wonder what else she could have accomplished as an elite, especially since she was sidelined with a pair of nasty injuries in 2013. However, she’s clearly incredibly bright, and I think it was a smart decision for her to bow out and leave for college when she did – she mentioned that she was afraid she’d re-injure herself and wouldn’t be able to do college gymnastics at all, so I’d imagine that while it was a tough decision, it was certainly a worthwhile one.

    • aerial Says:

      My thoughts exactly. Can’t believe KZB contributed to that line of thinking too!! I think she was strong enough to make important teams and meets, but lack of style and flexed feet – couldn’t get over them either. Seems like a great person and I have mega respect for her and her decisions – but the article irked me too.

    • gymbot Says:

      She may have technically been the #1 ranked gymnast because of her world cup wins going into the 2014 season, but she obviously wasn’t going to beat Biles. This year, J Lo is ranked #1 (or will be after FIG updates its site), and to get her rank she didn’t even have to win one of the individual cups.

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        Exactly my point Gymbot (thanks for providing some actual data to back it up). The World Cup rankings mean almost nothing. Lopez was something like 19th in the AA at worlds last year and didn’t make any EFs. Are we really saying she is going to be a contender this year? I think not.

        Don’t get me wrong, I think Ebee was/is very talented and deserved the metals. However the talent at those meets are always sub-par, so it’s never a real gauge of the best athletes.

        And though Ebee might have been on the World team if she would have stayed, she wouldn’t have come home with any golds other than the team metal. She wouldn’t have beat Biles in the AA. Biles and the North Korean girl (her name is eluding me) would have out vaulted her. Plus, I don’t actually recall her having a second vault but I could be wrong. She might have challenged for a bronze on bars (on a good day), but nothing higher. Beam was never her stong suit, and Ross and Biles would have gone to beam finals over her anyway. And floor, she might have pulled off the bronze or silver if Skinner didnt take the 2nd spot.

        So in the end, she wasn’t really “at the top” of anything. I fully commend her decision to leave, and think it was wise choice. But let’s call a spade a spade, she wasn’t really at the top when she left. Was she good? Yes. Would I have liked to see more of her? Yes. But that doesn’t mean she was at the top when she left.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree she wasn’t the best gymnast in the world but she had a great shot at worlds that year and just walked away for her own personal reasons. I have to respect that. I think she would have beaten Kyla for the AA spot and maybe won a floor medal at Worlds but that is it. Not that that wouldn’t have been a successful competition for her it would have been but she wasn’t beating Biles.

  6. Exgymgurl Says:

    well. Skinner did not fall and came in second. Good showing for her.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I think she took some things out to be safe. Anti climatic competition that it was.

      • Karlie Says:

        It was a good move to do the DTY instead of the Cheng – she crashed it on Thursday because both of her hands literally missed the vault table, which was SCARY.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Its not like she was going to beat simone as long as simone showed up and didnt fall three times. better safe than sorry for second. she watered down beam too and vault and bars.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Amanda Borden’s mother died, How sad

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        4 times. Simone would have had to have fallen 4 times.lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I rarely go to my mail for this account and when I did today I found a Nastia Liukin press release for the Liukin Cup inside.lol

        How in the hell did that end up in my e-mail and directly from a GK e-mail.

        the release wants me to share the video. I don’t think so.lol

      • aerial Says:

        That is devastating! I think she was a pretty great mom and supporter from what I hear – respected by many. She recently lost a ton of weight. I assumed she was making a lifestyle change but I wonder if she was ill.😦

        Mykayla is lucky to have the, well, luck to have that outing today after her crashes in training. I was surprised to see her pull it together that well after all the falls. I can’t get over her spastic landings and jerky arms, as well as the brillo pad bow on the TOP of her head, but I’m glad she didn’t get hurt and she’s gotta be pleased with what she pulled out today.

        I’m not really in the men’s loop but Whittenburg did a great job today. At times I felt like I was watching my Dad do gymnastics as he seemed so much older and more reserved than the other competitors (not that he looks like my Dad, and I’m probably at least a decade older than him, but just saying.)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        the men were all boring. Sam Mical whatever his name is needs to stop running around and acting like an idiot when he hit a routine considering he just tanked the 2 routines before but that is my pet peeve (damn camera wavers) Whittenburg fist pumped when it was all over and I knew he wasn’t going to win because for some reason I remember high bar not being his best event but even with that I think he was a bit underscored on his last event.

    • aerial Says:

      No sign/mention/sight of Bailie Key? I wonder why they don’t exhibition gymnasts at this meet anymore. Anyone remember the Shannon Miller era when they’d send 6 of their best athletes and there was both prelims and finals… the US would always get the top 6 spots (obv) by a long run and Shannon or Dom, or Shannon and Kerri, etc. etc. would go to finals. I thought in recent years the score just wouldn’t count though?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        top 2 made the finals. I miss those days. I never got to go to pone of those AC. I feel jipped

      • Mimi Says:

        I read a rumour that Bailie was tenth at March camp.. Apparently Aly was third!

  7. Lithi Says:

    Good luck to Jordyn! Especially if it keeps her douchetastic coach out of the limelight.

    Here’s the supposed Vegas odds for the DWTS contestants, it’s not pretty. (Got it from a message board I frequent with a DWTS thread.)

    Nastia Liukin 2/1
    Noah Galloway 4/1
    Riker Lynch 7/1
    Michael Sam 9/1
    Charlotte McKinney 10/1
    Patti LaBelle 12/1
    Redfoo 12/1
    Suzanne Somers 12/1
    Willow Shields 12/1
    Rumer Willis 16/1
    Robert Herjavec 20/1

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      After Nastia, Suzanna Summers and Patti Labelle who the hell are these people?

      • Lithi Says:

        Rumer Willis is Demi Moore’s kid. The rest, you got me.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I knew that. She is the one that looks like Bruce but is a girl. None of those kids got their mothers look.

      • Case Says:

        GTT, that made me lol. I always thought Rumer looked exactly like Bruce too.

        Michael Sam is the gay former NFL football player.

        PS Congrats and happy that Jordyn made her announcement. More thoughts to follow on the blog when it comes out.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I didn’t see Michael Sam listed. Guess I missed him and the Rumor looking like Dad is seriously eerie.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Riker Lynch is the brother of Disney Channel star Ross Lynch. I think all the Lynch siblings have a band together.

        How sad that that qualifies someone as a celebrity lmao.
        I’d be embarrassed if I were Nastia.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Robert harj…. Is from Shark Tank. Ok but who the eff is red foo?

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      we have to vote for this noah galloway guy. all the time. anyone but nastia. maybe like they have on idol we should start a VOTE for the worst site for DWTS

  8. lovelucas Says:

    Terrible coverage today. Tim and Nastia are the worst at what they do and now they’re combined. They also have mutual interests: talking about themselves which they DID.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      lol I watched it ALL online. I am so glad I never have to listen to Nastia again

  9. gymbot Says:

    So Biles’ score – is it the highest AA score in WAG?

  10. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    holly crap. they found out shelby hilton has a brain tumor. they only reason for a cat scan was the bad fall on floor.

  11. Guest Says:

    The video from Shawn’s TBD looks a bit popular in facebook.

  12. Marcelo Modesto Says:

    Now I went to the American Cup and it was my first gymnastics event I have ever been, cause I used to live in Brazil so it was hard for me to go to the meetings, but since living here in the usa, everything is easier, but anyway, I arrived at the stadium early and saw Nastia, I tried to wave at her but she gave me a bitch face, then a bunch of little girls shouted her and waved and again she gave a bitch face to all those little girl, I was so shocked by that, she is actually just “nice” when the camera is on. And luckily I was sitting next to Mykayla`s family, they were all very sweet and took pictures with me and all. But the best part of the competition for me was having Simone waving at me and blowing me a kiss when I called her name and showed her the sign I had for her. And her floor live is out of this world. And I also can`t believe I was going to be so lucky to see Vanessa Ferrari live😉

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am starting to think the bitch face look Nastia has is just her regular face.Not that her attitude issues aren’t real ( the eye rolling and shoving the paper in people’s faces I saw in person were all bad attitude) but the basic I want to kill you is just her. Glad you had a good time.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Makes me sad/sick to think she’d dismiss the little girls that look up to her. Makes me wish even more she hadn’t won an Olympic gold. I hope it’s just that – her face looks that way. I remember when I first saw her competing on TV I thought to myself she looks like she hates life and everyone around her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You would think she would have been full mode ass kisser at this meet considering she needs these people’s votes for DWTS.

        It was very telling that Woga had to issue an apology 2 years ago at the Woga Classic and yet she is back to doing the same thing.

      • G Says:

        Oooh what did WOGA apologize for?

      • Akshay Says:

        If I recall, Nastia rolled her eyes and the like when signing autographs at some WOGA competition, and numerous parents complained that she was rude. So she had to issue this half-assed apology, that had “in fairness” followed by an excuse.

Leave a Reply

