American Cup Podium Training (Thursday March 5th)

USA-Gymnastics info

The Simone Biles invitational.


Sat through all of podium training on a phone while in bed. Living the life except now my eyes are paying for it.

Simone is not human. She sailed through vault (with vaults up in the rafters) hit bars (near perfect for her routine and a messy second routine. Had to repeat her dismount per order of coach Marta which was close to the bar all 3 times) Started with a shaky beam but then went up and hit 3 routines missing only her leap, leap back pike ( she never hit the connection) then she just tumbled her way through Floor. The girl is not human

As for Mykayla she had a rough training. Rough is an under statement. She fell on her Chang. Fell on bars. Fell off beam ( though her only really issue with the fall on the full which she hit 2 other times) and she fell on her floor mount and didn’t finish the routine (flat to her face) she later did another routine without the tumbling. She basically looked tired and didn’t have enough power for anything today.

The only other thing we really saw was Jessica Lopez attempting to do a front ariel to a sheep jump which was the ugliest attempt at a sheep jump I have ever seen.

The stadium the Cowboys play in is way too big for a gymnastics meet. Everything is so far back from the fans it’s unfair to even charge them for tickets because they are barely in the same stadium.

36 Responses to “American Cup Podium Training (Thursday March 5th)”

  1. Exgymgurl Says:

    they should just call it the bailie and simone show. i wonder if skinner will get brenna dowelled or if bailie just fills in because soneone “missed a flight”

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I was wondering the same thing lol I wouldn’t be surprised at all if they use some excuse to put her in. Or maybe at the last minute decide to have her do an exhibition instead of just being a traveling alternate.

  3. Tortuga Says:

    Dallas is under a bit of snow so it wouldn’t surprise me if people missed flights depending on when they were coming in. People around here freak out when it snows so things are probably running behind.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      2 inches of snow is a dusting to us Boston people.

      • Tortuga Says:

        Oh I know! One snowflake and people lose their shit. But dfw actually got 7″ at most.

      • Case Says:

        In the Upper Midwest two inches of snow is swimsuit weather these days. (Well, not exactly, but almost.)

      • Melanie Says:

        I’m in Wyoming, but all my family lives in Arkansas. I’m seriously considering shutting my Facebook down until they all stop bitching about the weather. They bitch when it snows, then they bitch when they’ve had too many snow days. If Wyoming got three times what they got, we’d still have to come to work. No sympathy from me.

      • Tortuga Says:

        My job never allows for snow days. My room mate is a teacher and she has had 3 snow days in the past two weeks while I’ve been on a normal schedule. I get a little jealous that she gets to stay home a sleep and the whole town basically shuts down. Oh well. I’ll just take some days off in Spring when its actually nice out.

  4. exgymgurl Says:

    Skinner and Biles are the only two in PT warm up. I think if she was going to have Bailie Key shed be there at this point

  5. exgymgurl Says:

    The coaches are in under armour creamsicle colored warm up suits. KZB / Chris are no where to be seen.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I kind of liked the color of that jacket but it has nothing to do with the US

      • gymmom2 Says:

        Yes, but I think they could work on the fit or buy a size up – they all look they are pulling in all the wrong places. BTW I thought it interesting that in all the videos posted except 1 floor routine by Skinner the girls were in the red leo. Then there is this lone floor routine with Skinner in a blue leo. So, I would guess in either afternoon or morning workout she must have made her floor routine so they drug that one out for posting? While not my fave, I don’t wish a nationally televised face plant on anyone ….. well maybe Nastia.

  6. Ilanchik20 Says:

    After this kind of podium training, Bailey should be the second person. I’m surprised Marta hasn’t thrown a tantrum yet and replaced McKayla.

    But my theory is that she won’t (unfortunately). She is prob waiting to let Bailey do American cup next year (without Biles) so Bailey can win that one and there is all that fluff for NBC to run with then.

  7. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    funny they only post the “hit” training routines

  8. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I know. I hope it doesn’t end badly for her. I don’t like her but I wouldn’t wish an injury on her. What is Marta thinking anyways? Ugh.

    Here is the floor.

    • Melanie Says:

      Yowch. You’re right, even if her gymnastics isn’t great, I hope she doesn’t injure herself. I can’t believe her coaches haven’t tried to fix that one-handed block on vault or pulled back on the DDLO on floor. Neither look particularly safe for her.

  9. Kirsten Says:

    It was horrific. I hope Marta never makes us watch her ugly gymnastics again.
    I’m curious to see if she goes ncaa what Greg can do with her.

    • gymmom2 Says:

      I can pick a solid NCAA beam routine out of what she does. Bars, not so much unless they can clean up those legs. Floor…if she can hit her 180s, she does usually stick her landings and they love (and judges reward) stuck landings in the NCAA. Vault – while considered her strong suit – not sure how that lack of block would play in the NCAA – but then again watering down to a 1.5 she might block. Power, distance and stick – she has those three. So I see her scoring fairly well in NCAA – assuming she goes. She will likely have to fight a bit more for her line up spot that she expects.

      • Kirsten Says:

        she does stick her landings but does that funny snap your arms to your side thing, And she can’t do a backhand spring with straight legs and feet together. Time will tell.

  10. H Says:

    Ughh One of the few artistically helpful movements they have given Skinner is now taken out. I really don’t understand how they are thinking. … from worlds, about 0.38- 0.45

    This is at least in the (almost) right direction..I had hope

    but now they have mixed, adjusted and except for single movements, well it is just amateurish choreography which is making her look so much worse than she actually is.
    Who is sabotaging this girl? I feel sorry for her. :

    • gymbot Says:

      This is a good catch, that was really her only expressive choreo. Maybe it’s out for her endurance so she doesn’t crash?

      • H Says:

        yes, they have added/replaced a jump there, prob to get the most out of it.

  11. Tortuga Says:

    Just saw this screenshot on tumblr that Simone favorited this tweet with the link to MyKayla Skinner’s faceplant Cheng. Any thoughts… is this photo shopped? It’s quite funny if it’s true. I only say that because obviously MyKayla was fine after it happened, she did a full out floor routine in the second practice.

  12. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Jo officially retires. What a strange timing for an official statement.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Not really they all seem to do it during gymnastics events.

    • Uglyfatkid Says:

      I’m just glad that she is doing it at SCAM and not nationals or trials. She isn’t trying to take the attention away from everyone and media whore a big meet. I completely respect that.

Leave a Reply

