Kyla commits and I sigh

Oh Kyla of all places UCLA? You’re killing me smalls.

127 Responses to “Kyla commits and I sigh”

  1. Short1 Says:

    This kind of surprises me (for a while it seemed liked she was leaning toward Stanford?), but maybe I’ve just been more out of the loop than usual.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Kyla always said she wanted Stanford but changed her mind

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        im wondering if it is $$. even with a full scholarship stanford is expensive, and her parents are not exactly wealthy people. UCLA is probably a better deal all around and closer to home. kind of surprised because miss val is out of scholarships for 2016 2017 deferral. Unless kyla is just quitting now ala ohashi and starting UCLA after worlds this year.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        When I heard this I wondered if maybe she was quitting elite and going to school next year but I can’t see her doing it this late in the game

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I wonder if she is basically committing there because everyone else is doing it like Simone, Ohashi, etc….

    • Short1 Says:

      That’s what I was wondering also, and it would make sense. I’ve also read some comments elsewhere talking about how someone has to get into Stanford, academically, first.

  3. sanitynmotion Says:

    Stanford is further away from home. That could have factored into her decision as well. Both are good schools. Maybe if she stays at UCLA kyla can still practice with gym max off season?

  4. sainabou nyang Says:

    Lol well UCLA needs all the AA gymnast they can get.
    Damn this team is gonna be stacked next year.

  5. mim Says:

    I’m guessing she didn’t meet the academic requirements for Stanford or she wanted to be closer to home/friends etc. Either way, it’s a good outcome for her!

  6. gymbot Says:

    In addition to meeting the academic requirements for Standford, prospective student athletes need to apply during the regular admissions cycle. Since Ross didn’t apply to any colleges this year, she couldn’t have committed to Stanford for next year anyway. Presumably she was going to apply at the end of this elite season for entry directly after the Summer Olympics.

    Even though the verbal commitment isn’t a legal contract, I doubt she’s still planning to apply to Stanford this coming fall. A program like UCLA offers more flexibility, including spring entry so she can base her decision to attend college somewhat on how well the elite season is going.

    Not to take away from Ross’s day, but I’m wondering what happened to Maroney. Any school for her in her future?

    • gymnerd Says:

      Maroney is pro, I’m almost positive. So maybe college, but no college gym for her.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        maroney is pro and is homeschooled so she would graduate this year. no ncaa gymnastics. maybe Kyla plans on training / competing for UCLA and training for Rio at the same time. Between Waller and being close to gym max its not a bad plan. She would not have an admission decision from stanford yet…

      • Mimi Says:

        I remember an interview with MM from last year I think, she basically said college wasn’t something she was prioritising as she was more focused on Rio and acting. She definitely insinuated that it was not on the cards. College isn’t for everyone (especially as it is so expensive in the US) but she would probably benefit from some further education beyond the School of Life and Inspirational Pinterest Quotes and seems like she’d enjoy the social aspect, so I’m surprised she not at least trying a drama program somewhere.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        mckaylas parents could totally afford college. she needs to get her ass back to camp if she wants to go to rio

      • gymbot Says:

        I guess college isn’t for everyone, I just hope she doesn’t get left far behind if she’s unable to make a comeback or make a career out of acting.

  7. david0688 Says:

    Well, Annie Li went there so….

  8. aerial Says:

    This one really surprises me. All signs and behavior were leaning toward Stanford and she long said it was a top choice for her. She has taken academics and training very seriously, even following the gold medal win (only doing a couple tour stops and not all the appearances) and I haven’t heard anything about academics being an issue. (of course that doesn’t mean it wasn’t, just saying.)

    Maybe she got wind of the general gymn community not being a fan of Smyth and some former athletes ratting out some of her methods. I don’t follow Stanford so I don’t know currently what the deal is or how they’re doing. I thought she would likely pick the school for academics first and gymnastics team second, and I know some of the girls that held out for Stanford felt that way. But UCLA is also a prominent school, closer to home and for any of the above reasons may have felt a better fit based on her visits. I know there’s a lot of people cheering she isn’t getting in the hands of Smyth!

    There are so many seasons UCLA should have been stars like in former years and I wonder if these classes will really return it to its former status. There are a lot of easily-broken elites in that line up and some that have struggled with consistency at different levels. Then again NCAA may be the magic elixir for them. Gonna be an interesting handful of years coming up in NCAA!

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      the stanford coach is horrible. If you seriously want to keep doing gymnastics dont go there.

      • mim Says:

        What’s the deal with that coach? I’ve never heard anything negative (but I don’t overly pay attention to NCAA).

  9. gymmom2 Says:

    Well one look at Stanford’s talent versus their performance would be enough for anyone not just looking for a ticket into Stanford to take another option. And college gymnastics is really a high risk job to pay for college ( and hopefully have some fun). If you have played with the big boys, why would you want take a step that far back? If they all show ( versus some going pro) UCLA will indeed look unbeatable on paper. However, me thinks Ms Val is a bit over committed for 2016-2017. She ditched Sabrina Schwab for Simone – and not that I blame her – but who goes next to make room for Ohashi and Kyla? I would think at some point people committing to UCLA need to assess what top elites are still uncommitted and just assume they are a place holder for them. Only Val could pull that off and make everyone (well most everyone) still love her.

  10. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Another knee surgery for Shawn? Interesting. Maybe that’s why she can’t get in shape; too many surgeries.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Yikes she must have really messed it up then. The knee is no joke. Yet I’m still angry Shawn for saying you can’t wait to debut your new floor when that was a load of crap and you had already been retired.

    • Bess Says:

      Off topic but the inaugural Shawn Johnson series finale was today and she wasn’t there. I know she has surgery not too long ago but I would’ve thought she could’ve scheduled that a bit later so she could attend her own event

    • Guest Says:

      Actually I love the tweet that Shawn said her leg after surgery is NASTY lookin.

    • GymMom Says:

      Shawn usually lets everyone know everything she’s doing. But she didn’t say anything until after she had it. Kind of odd she scheduled it, knowing she couldn’t go to that event with her name attached?

  11. Tortuga Says:

    I haven’t posted in forever so this comment will probably take a long time to post. I was surprised that Kyla committed to UCLA instead of Stanford. I think it has a lot to do with home proximity and Simone also being at UCLA. I guess we can’t say Shawn’s knee was kinda fake. Girl needs to actually fully heal before she jumps into DWTS or training for a marathon/ whatever it is she’s been up to. And lastly Nastia is just now getting to do DWTS? How many years after her Olympic fame? Gosh it’s almost been 8 years woman. No one outside of gymnastics fandom even remembers you. But good job on finally nailing that gig!πŸ˜‰

    • G Says:

      Lol yeah Nastia just now being on dwts is desperate. She can’t really dance is it should be fun to watch.

      • wcartier Says:

        I would absolutely love it if Nastia did not make it past the first round. It would be even better if a reporter then pointed out that when Shawn competed, she won! When will Nastia just go away, I’m so tired of seeing/hearing about her! Like it was already said, she compete 8 years ago….

      • gttfan Says:

        She’s paired with Derek Hough. If his past track record with Dancing with the Stars is any indicator, she’ll probably walk away with the mirror ball. *sarcasm*

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I need to go jump off a bridge now lol and I bet Alicia Sacramone. is ready to jump with

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Hey my fan is back. Hi fan

      • Short1 Says:

        @gymtruthteller I may be jumping too. I rolled my eyes so hard when I first saw the tweet that she was going to be on Dancing With The Stars, I was surprised my eyes didn’t get stuck in that position! lol

      • gttfan Says:

        New fan actually, but hello.πŸ™‚

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I had an old fan and I liked them. Hey can you pick a different name and I will approve it because it’s just creepy to see the words. Lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The attention she gets really is all kinds of strange. Daddy is buying her fame like he bought her Olympic gold. I see her wining the whole thing and I don’t even have the desire to rally votes against I wonder if this means NBC will now stop using her.

      • Guest Says:

        Would she show the bitchy face again on TV? Can’t imagine the reaction she has when Len Goodman gives some harsh comment. Poor Derek maybe he want to go early.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Besides the drinking game idea the Nastia bitch face would be the only other reason to watch this train

      • Gymbee Says:

        That’ll be a fun drinking game, whenever she mentions winning the gold, have a shot haha

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        …anytime she mentions the Olympics take a drink. Then try to go the whole episode without running to the bathroom.

        Honestly I’m not even watching DWTS. I only watched Shawn’s first season because I was a fan of hers. That was it. I think that show is BORING. But that’s just my stupid opinion.

        Best show right now that I’m watching is Impractical Jokers.

      • biyatch Says:

        there will be no facial reaction… too much botox

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Nastia will be able to change her expression even with the botox she’s that good

      • Gymbee Says:

        Sanity – I love impractical jokers!!! Brilliant show. We have it in the UK haha. My favourite is Sal.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Mine too lol – Sal and Joe.

        Oh, it’s such a great show. It always leaves me in stitches.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        i really want to like all of the botox comments. thing is it will look wierd because shes going to be taller than derek in heels. My guess is on dereks fame she makes it 1-2 shows from the finale.

    • Lithi Says:

      I frequent a gossip blog that has an entry about DWTS. The consensus is: nobody remembers Nastia. *giggles*

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Does anybody really watch that show anymore? How are ratings? I wouldn’t be surprised if they were dropping. At least Shawn was on that show not once but TWICE, won it, and was on it when it was reaching peak viewership. She will always have Nastia beat.πŸ™‚

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        gabby has a trivia crack question and it was who won the 2012 WAG AA in london choices were shawn, Mckayla, gabby and komova. nastia is not even thought of

  12. Exgymgurl Says:

    where is that lovely kellogs tour video where nastia cant shuffle and asac looks like a dance captain?

  13. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Hahaha! Yes!!! Here you go Exgymgurl. It never, ever stops being hilarious.

  14. H Says:


  15. mij Says:

    Poor Derek… She seems like an awful human being.

    • Guest Says:

      I would like to see how Derek mention Shawn during practicing and then make her crazy.
      Also Derek is busy for his Broadway career nowadays. Does he really has enough time and focus in DWTS?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Shawn got screwed the second time. DWTS is fixed

      • mij Says:

        The second time she was on, the season was a big IOU to Tony for all the crap partners he’s put up with. Shawn should have won. I can’t wait to see Nastia squirm if Shawn is mentioned. She was the DWTS sweetheart and Nastia doesn’t have the personality to compare. Hopefully Derek can see her for what she’s worth!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The producer was the agent to the woman that won. Conflict of interest.

      • mij Says:

        Well isn’t that convenient…

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        derek probably has a few weeks until he starts rehearsals for something else. When he needs to go back to work theyll be voted off

  16. gymbot Says:

    Also in UCLA news per coachinggymnastics, Danusia Francis and Peng Peng Lee might make another elite run.

  17. Kim Says:

    Nastia told people when Shawn did DWTS that she would never do that show that it was beneath her.

    Doesn’t anyone remember how Nastia said she turned the show down once Shawn was announced as a cast member?

    There is a certain blogger that thinks she knows everything and is telling people that DWTS has been chasing Nastia for years to appear on the show and that is a lie. For some reason this blogger has become to go to source for info when she is nothing but a glorified facebook and twitter stalker.

  18. biyatch Says:

    So re Kyla and Stanford… there some rumors flying that this was an academic issue. Apparently all the training/travel caught up to Kyla and they produced some unsightly marks on her transcript. Also the Stanford coach seems to be a whack job.

    I hope Cal continues to improve their program. Berkley is up there with UVA, UNC, etc as one of the most academic elite public schools in the country and it would be cool to see Cal take that big step.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She is better off not going to Stanford.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      if Stanford really wanted kyla she could make it up in summer school. Obviously shes passed the NCAA clearinghouse. It could be she cant commit to stanford until shes actually ready to go like ebee did. My thought is she figures she has a better chance of getting a medical out of UCLA and also miss val has made a commitment to keeping elite level people, amd clean execution. She also has a better chance at success in NCAA gymnastics with UCLA.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I really doubt Stanford wasn’t taking Kyla because of her grades. Kyla has the grades, and I know for a fact if Stanford wants an athlete (and I’m sure they wanted a gymnast like Kyla) they will take on that athlete no matter what their grades are. I know a water polo chic who was dumb as snot and she got in to Stanford because the water polo coach wanted her.

        Kyla likely ended up choosing UCLA – maybe she got a sense that their program was better, she’d be closer to home, UCLA is actually one of the top Engineering schools, and she’d be closer to her friends too.

        As a side note, my friend’s little brother who is a genius and got 100% on the math portion of the SAT and had a ton of other accolades going for him was denied from UCLA a few years ago because it’s just that competitive. He just accepted work at Amazon (turned down Apple – yes, Apple) and is making well over six figures and also got nearly 100k in a signing bonus. As a college graduate. Yes, he’s that much of a genius. Ended up going to Cal Poly SLO (another good engineering school) but his first choice originally was UCLA.

  19. mij Says:

    Random question. Wasn’t Nastia kissing a** to Tara Lapinski and acting like they were ‘BFF’s’ and ‘blonde, gold-medal sisters’. Then during/after Sochi they both unfollowed each other on social media. Any idea on what happened there?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Wasn’t that Alicia Sacramone?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I missed that. I thought that is what happened with Alicia. Nastia can’t keep friends except ones like Sasha Cohen who is the HBIC type where Nastia probably runs around getting her coffee and rubbing her feet so they remain friendly. Have I mentioned how happy I am Sasha Cohen practically disappeared after she quit skating?
      She just moved on. I actually respect her ability to do that.

    • mij Says:

      Probably was both Alicia and Tara! You’re right though.. She can’t keep friends. I’m really curious how Nastia will do with the cast on dancing and how long it will take for them to see through how fake and entitled she is.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        The rest of the cast on DWTS will be like “who are you?” and Nastia will probably have to kiss their butts to make friends because she can’t further any of their careers. Let’s face it the only reason most of these people do DWTS is because they are hoping that the show will somehow re-start their careers, or if you’re an athlete you just hope to have one last hurrah before you fade into oblivion (that is, if you’re a retired athlete). I think some of the older women also do it in the hopes of losing weight and having People write a story on them or something lame like that. It’s truly just a stupid show. I am surprised honestly Nastia is doing it THIS long after the Beijing games and after two other gymnasts have gone before her.

  20. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    oh.. good..god
    did anybody see the nastia video tweet.

    how many of us wanted him to deck her?

  21. Exgymgurl Says:

    also, for her to appear on an ABC show with an NBC contract for sports coverage is almost unheard of. I think she may have lost the NBC job and they are looking to bring her into ESPN. The brass at NBC would never let “talent” go be on a high profile show on another network. You will never see Tara or Johnny Wierdo over on DWTS because they have an actual NBC contract. Im wondering if nastia is out of the terrible trio…l

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      If 15 minutes of Nastia on ABC takes her off of commentating on NBC I will gladly promote the hell out of her to get her away from gymnastics. God let that be less speculation and more fact. Why would ESPN want Nastia? She can’t speak a complete sentence and they rarely run gymnastics.

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        Amen to that! I’ll do anything to get her off of commentating…even if it means supporting her raggedy ass on DWTHB (Dancing With The Has-Beens). I really hope it means the end of her NBC days. Amanda is so much better than her on Universal Sports (also owned by NBC). It would be so easy to slide Amanda in place instead of her. Hell…I’ll even take Elfie back. Just get rid of #NastiaHasHerpes.

        PS – We need to get that trending again Exgymgurl.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Cockroaches never go

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        LMAO. I heart you so much GTT.πŸ™‚

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Not as much as I love you:) you know it wouldn’t be as funny if it wasn’t true.

  22. Ilanchik20 Says:

    To change the topic. I saw this footage of Aly on tumbler. I can’t wait for her to compete!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I thought about a Nastia blog but just looking at her 80’s hair only with extensions makes me ill:)

      • Aerial Says:

        Two things. I read somewhere this week (maybe triple twist? Can’t recall) that Kyla has a 4.0 gpa and wants to major in engineering. I’m pretty sure the interview was from this year and she said Stanford was the frontrunner @ that time.

        And I too wondered what happened with Tara and Nastia. They had pics everyday together at restaurants, clubs, etc. Then nada. Also, wasn’t Tara posting pics this summer on romantic holidays and saying lovey dovey stuff with Lysacek?? Or am I totally crazy? I thought it must be serious enough they’d go public and again a couple weeks later – nothing and pics deleted. Can somebody confirm I’m not crazy, it’s them.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Yes Terror was hanging with Evan this summer. LMAO at how none of these girls have any gaydar at all.

  23. H Says:

    Anyone know the difference- is the one in Baku a cup event?

    “European Women’s Artistic Gymnastics Championships will be held April 15-19 in Montpellier, the first European Games will be held in Baku on June 12-28.”

    • gymbot Says:

      European WAG Champs is the regular European Championships in each cycle. This year is an individual competition, squads of 4* competing for places in event finals and AA (like Worlds, the year after the Olympics).

      This is the inaugural European Games, like the Pan-American Games we have here in the Americas. These are like a continental Olympics with many IOC sports. For gymnasts at the Euro Games, they will be competing in a team format of 5 or 6*, contesting TF, AA finals and EFs.

      *I don’t remember the numbers so someone will have to fact check me.

  24. Exgymgurl Says:

    ok I admit I read press about nastia and derek. they are both in NY and derek has sun-mon off from broadway. nastia had to drop an early morning accounting class on mondays. Nastia likes the fact that they are both very “busy” with other things. hey nastia. take accounting online. from a community college. Its a lot cheaper.

  25. Exgymgurl Says:

    Oh and there is one picture or video floating around of gabbie foing a halfway decent switchring. Looks like her new coach is actually making her fix her crap.

  26. Ilanchik20 Says:

    A bit on Maroney:

    What is an adrenal fatigue? Anyone know? I’m actually serious lol

    • gymnerd Says:

      I’d like to know too….

    • gymbot Says:

      Thanks for posting, I had wondered what had happened to her. Someone who comments here posted an instagram of her back in a leo, so maybe she’s already training.

      Adrenal fatigue isn’t a medical diagnosis. Perhaps she is using the term to suggest she had unexplained chronic fatigue without a psychiatric or medical explanation. Or, she wasn’t evaluated.

  27. LA Says:

    I know this doesn’t belong here, but I had to share because I feel like you’d thoroughly appreciate/hate this. Nastia sighting in Philly at the Pink Invitational this past weekend with her boyfriend. She was the celebrity guest and signed autographs…and I guess her boyfriend posted this on her behalf because I didn’t see any shout outs directly from her. I’m sorry in advance for ruining your day.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I tend to avoid all things Nastia but her idiot boyfriend who is FROM Boston in a White Sox hat offended me more than Those hats are ugly and Nastia should give it back.

      I did hear that the boyfriend flies around with her places and I bet you anything she pays for it all. Like daddy dearest did for her friend Nina.

  28. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I’m not sure if it’s an angle or what but Aly looks tiny in comparison to Gabby!

    Ugh I really need the elite season to start already.

    Hanging with @gabbycvdouglas before practice 😊

    A photo posted by Alexandra Raisman (@alyraisman) on

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Really because I am so bored of Elite. I love Simone and Kyla but overall just bored of it. I am looking forward to the fluff piece when Bailie makes the Olympic team thanks to Zmeskals tank job of 92 but I hope someone comes up and over takes Bailie like Shannon did to Kim because those fluff pieces will be fun. I am way more excited for baseball season. Marta will do what she wants anyway so it’s like why bother.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I agree. I didn’t even watch the entire Worlds last year – in fact, I’m not sure I saw any of it at all. And I’m OK with that. Oh yeah, I had a kid the month before so I totally didn’t watch Worlds even though Larisa apparently brought it.

        Does anyone have a YouTube link for Worlds 2014? A good one? Now I kind of want to watch it “when” I have free time. LOL.

        I’ll start watching again this year but you’re right – Marta does whatever she wants. What kind of drama will it be this year…I bet Marta screws over Kyla and potentially Gabby. Just a hunch. Well, Gabby won’t be “screwed” really since I doubt she’s ready but she’ll have this entitled attitude and when she doesn’t get what she wants she’ll be like WTF and “I was screwed” and maybe join Dominique Moceanu’s club. That might be interesting. Oh I hope she accuses Marta of being a racist. That might just be hilarious. Like “where’s my popcorn” hilarious. And then the Oprah specials…well, I’m totally getting ahead of myself because like Oprah would give a rats arse about what’s happening in the world of gymnastics…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I watched the AA routines of the top 5 and the medalists from the event finals but nothing else (except some Kohei) Like I said I love Simone but some of her beam scores leaves me annoyed same with her floor. Big bounces and bobbles need to count and these judges just don’t give her those

      • Short1 Says:

        Agreed. I’m also a big fan of Simone, but I still feel like Bai Yawen should have won gold on beam.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t think Simone should have medaled the year before either.

  29. tulip Says:

    I saw Alicia mentioned. She’s doing commentary for college gymnastics. She’s doing a great job too. Someone did a double layout and she talked about how hard it is and said she could never do it. I believe she’s with SEC network which also uses Kupets.

    Alicia uses Sacramone-Brady now.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      LOL You mean Quinn

      • Kirsten Says:

        what’s this crap about decreasing the Olympic team size? Swimming has how many Olympians? And gymnastics will now have 4???

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I really can’t see them doing this but I did hear the rumor. It’s ridiculous. This is the most watched sport of the Olympics. Why make it smaller?

Leave a Reply

