Returning Olympians except one

Aly looks good, has the Amanar back on the soft landing surface (tho her form looks worse than usual) and everyone has a punch front wolf jump on beam.Oh and of course Gabby wasn’t at the part of camp where she had to prove anything so no video so far.

Discuss and sorry I have been away. It’s been a busy time.

Anyone want to buy Steve Legendre’s home? You can. It’s a little brown inside for me and no clue who picked those white/greyish curtains to match that round at the top window. The outside of the house is beautiful after that not so much. The house is very Texas like. Oh and the Jeter drive sign is so damn classy I just cannot

Polina Edmonds won the 4CC’s. She was 4th in the SP and first in the Free Skate and first overall.

49 Responses to “Returning Olympians except one”

  1. H Says:

    Aly looks probably good so far in her comeback, but she has lot of cleaning up to do.
    Kyla Ross have gain some more muscles? maybe a smart move when it comes to handle more training and upgrades.

    I played some parts of the video in slow mo in a naive attempt to catch a glimpse of Sabrina Vega … did I say naive …

    Does anyone know how her comeback is going?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I noticed Sabrina on beam for a second but she looks to be in very College like shape but she should be allowed to do what she wants and if that is train for the Olympics the more power to her.

    • H Says:

      Ditto that:-)

  2. nero Says:

    Watching Aly and Kyla right after each other really highlighted their differences. Aly with upgrades and big skills but Kyla with pretty knees and toes. I think they complement each other and would love to see both of them on the World and Olympic team. Really looking forward to both of their new floor routines.

    So does anyone read Danell’s tumblr? He’s like the ultimate tumblerina social justice warrior.

  3. JAS4 Says:

    Has anyone heard anything about Maroney lately? Is she training?

  4. gymbot Says:

    Why’s he leaving his home?

  5. Exgymgurl Says:

    legendres house looks like typical walker texas ranger man decorated home in the south. Barf.

    • Case Says:

      I will say I am jealous of what $297k can get you in some parts of the country!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That would be a shack in the woods in Massachusetts. In Texas its a mansion.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      its in oklahoma. Barf no one wants to live in oklahoma. Not even Shannon miller

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Oklahoma where the winds come sweeping down the ……………………

        Hopefully this means he is retiring and going away

  6. Lithi Says:

    John Orozco’s mother passed away last weekend. Condolences to him and the family.

    Nice segue here, but check out the price on Moceanu’s necklace here, based on her gold medal, nonetheless- –I know Swarovski is not the cheapest, but they’re not precious stones. All the prices on her pieces, I have to say this: she’s dreaming.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It looks like Avon crap. The design is pretty enough but she is planning on her fans buying because he name is attached to it because anyone that spends
      that much money on beads can’t be too bright

  7. sainabou nyang Says:

    Damn thats a nice house. Although I prefer old victorians or craftsman style homes.

  8. sanitynmotion Says:

    That home in my neck of the woods would easily go for $900k, Damn California.

  9. sanitynmotion Says:

    I thought Aly’s form was still atrocious, but I’m glad she’s back. She’ll push the young’ns and she will be needed for consistency and beam (even though I hate her beam…clomp, clomp, clomp-clomp)…

    They’re just saying Gabby is back for the notoriety or whatever. She’s not really back. I don’t believe it. She probably won’t debut until next year. I can’t believe she’s near the form/shape Aly is in when she started much later and was gym hopping to boot.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I had to stop myself commenting on the USAG FB page, to someone who said she left Chow’s because he was trying to “overcharge her”. Ha. More like trying to get her to pay at all?

  10. Diana (@dianajc99) Says:

    look like you got fat panda for spring training

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Oh fun a bitter Giants fan. I spent the last 5 years rooting for your team every other year there are no Panda jokes allowed. Movealong little Giant.πŸ™‚

  11. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Gabby’s video was finally released.

    • Melanie Says:

      I have to say I’m a wee bit impressed. She’s looking good skill-wise, though obviously has a ways to go putting together routines. I’m sure I’ll never love Gabby’s personality, but if she is actually going to come back, I’d like to enjoy her gymnastics more than the last time around. I pretty much only liked her bars before. If she could get a decent floor choreo, a better block on vault, and some fluidity on beam, I’d probably like her more.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        I agree Melanie. I mean she’s obviously training so it’s a legit comeback but that personality. I had no problems with her the first time around, probably because I’m such a Chow-lover. But her personality just grates on me more and more with every interview.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I say good for her but it’s going to be a completely different experience this go-round. She’s no longer too young and immature to completely understand what’s going on. There are new-found expectations on her too being the last Olympic AA champ. Marta seems iffy on her and no longer is pushing Gabby forward the way she used to. I think leaving Chow might end up blowing up in her face.

        That being said, I’ve always liked Gabby’s form over many of the other girl’s (especially Aly’s) but her personality does leave much to be desired. Part of this interview came off (to me) as a back-handed slap to Chow – like she and this new coach have such a “profound” much better relationship going on. I just think this coach is more into butt-kissing than Chow is (totally could be wrong here) and we all know the “me and Nia are BFFs” is BS.

        I also feel like Gabby doesn’t know what to do with herself in front of the camera, so she adopts this “persona” that’s totally fake. That’s the vibe I get.

        She looks good but still too early to tell if she’s competition ready. She seems to be a good ways off for that. And as to her best event – bars – she really needs to add from what she did in 2012 if she wants to be competing for medals there.

      • gymbot Says:

        I agree on a lot of that Sanity. On bars, I am concerned not to see the healy or the ono she was working on with Chow – so perhaps they’re gone for good. She used to compete those skills with good style.

        I think she could be great if she took Melanie’s suggestions to heart, but I don’t think rhythm or artistry can be learned. Hopefully the guy who choreographs for the US team makes her more tolerable.

        For those that are interested, what she has on bars already adds up to 6.3, without the one-armed turns.

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        I might be the lone AHole here, but I hope she gets hit by a Mack truck…repeatedly.πŸ™‚

        Too much has happened with her for me to support her gymnastics. Does she have potential? Yes. Does she have better form than Aly? Yes. But those things do not discount the horrible things she (and her Fame-Whore Mom) have done. Remember the unpaid bills? Remember her ungrateful attititude and screw over job she did on Chow? Remember the comments to the media about Jordyn right after qualifications at the Olympics? Remember ANY interview with her? I sure as hell do.

        This video speaks volumes to me by the way:

        1) It’s all about Gabby…like usual. They seriously couldn’t roll out her footage in the same compilation as Aly and Kyla? Last time I checked, Aly has had more success (World and Olympic) than her, yet Aly has no concerns sharing the spotlight with Kyla. However, Gabby is ENTITLED to her own video??? For Real? Way to imply Aly and Kyla aren’t as important as Gabby US Gymnastics. What BS.

        2) Mature body…not mind. She has grown up physically (I don’t mean that sexually). She looks a bit taller, and she doesn’t look like a kid anymore. No complaints there. However, her attitude/emotions have not matured with her. She is the same person we saw a few years ago, with a little more media training. The same snide comments are there, they are just hidden under better constructed sentences and said through a fake smile. Go back and listen for the indirect blows on Chow. Some say Gabby can’t be held accountable for the things she said in the past because she was a “kid.” To those people, I say what about now? If she is doing the same things as an adult, perhaps it means she’s just a bad person. If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, maybe it’s just a freakin’ duck.

        3) Marta unsaid words. It was telling to me what Marta said, or rather, didn’t say about Gabby. Go back and listen to it again. I don’t think she’s happy with her either…which I am happy about. Without her being the pet, I don’t see her succeeding as much.

        At the end of the day, I really don’t wish her any ill-will (I don’t really want her to get hit by a Mack truck). However I am done supporting her gymnastics…no matter if she makes the best comeback of all time. Her gymnastics are tainted, and I will never cheer for her even if her gymnastics are better than someone else’s. She’s dead to me.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Lol she was never alive to me. I never liked her or her gymnastics. Hopefully she will not get a free Nastia like pass.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Did I mention how glad I am to have you back:)

      • gymnerd Says:


        I love you. That is all.

      • Melanie Says:

        UFK, you’re not alone. I should be more clear in my feelings towards Gabby – I will never root for her as a gymnast or as a person. I don’t like her personality, and I never liked her gymnastics (with the lone exception of bars). I’m just in the mindset that if she IS actually coming back and training, which she appears to be, I hope her gymnastics is more palatable since I’ll be forced to watch every single routine she puts up in any competition of which she is a part.

      • gymbot Says:

        So the drama with Douglas really sucks, so I dislike that aspect of her return to the sport. I just don’t see her going away, but at the same time I don’t see her beating Biles… so as a someone who will only potentially contribute events for the team, maybe you will not have to see as many routines.

        On Douglas’ own superiority complex, It’s funny to me now that she now says that she wants to make the team etc. etc. whereas sometime last year she was claiming she would be competing at the top level, not feeling threatened by Biles and Ross at the domestic champs and that Biles is in awe of her. It’s honestly going to be hard for her or Raisman to make a team.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I really can’t see anyone beating Biles unless Biles messes up. I have to laugh Douglas thinks she’s hott s*it yet even at her peak she couldn’t hold a candle to Biles. Gabby will really have to bring an A game to even get silver in my honest opinion (silver in the US).

        I agree gymbot it’s going to be really hard for any of the 2012’ers to make it to Rio. Marta doesn’t really like to recycle even though she claims she’s all for the comebacks.

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        @ GymNerd – Thanks! That made my day.πŸ™‚

        @ Mel, Gymbot, and Sanity – Sorry, I should have prefaced that my tirade was just that…a tirade. I didn’t mean to imply that anyone here were Gabby Gushers or anything. I just saw that video and instantly got enraged after reading the comments on the YouTube channel. Those Gabby Gushers made me want to punch someone, so that is what sparked my tirade.

        I agree though, if she is going to be around and on a team (I sincerely pray she isn’t though), she better have something good to provide. If it’s Nastia 2.0 all over again, I am going to scream.

  12. Exgymgurl Says:

    i think shes training for a spot on the tour.

  13. H Says:

    Pretty clean?

    • Uglyfatkid Says:

      I find it a little odd that she is focusing on a beam dismount upgrade right now. If she wants to up her value to the team, she needs to continue to fix the other things in her beam set (form, flexibility, balance checks, etc.) as opposed to focusing on random upgrades. Marta is never going to use her if she doesn’t fix those things first. So what does it matter if she has a full in dismount if she will never be used during a comp? Her goal should be consistency and improvement on beam, not upgrades.

      • G Says:

        Agreed. I really wonder what her coaches are thinking.

      • Melanie Says:

        That’s always been Mykayla’s MO. She packs in as much difficulty as she can so that she can get away with no work on her flexibility, form, etc. I’m not surprised at all.

      • H Says:

        I think the reason is that it is easy for her to learn this kind of difficulties/skills and that she still clean up. But the challenge is of course that improvement regarding form started so late in her gymnastics which is a coaching issue imo.

      • gymbot Says:

        Tripletwist had an interview with her coach not to long ago. Essentially she’s working on upgrading all of her events. Supposedly with a focus on form and flexibility (pointing out with a little better execution, perhaps she would have walked away with a floor medal as well).

      • nero Says:

        Mykayla’s problem is her flexibility not her form (necessarily) Compare her and Aly and Mykayla actually is tighter than Aly on almost everything. Aside form her block on vault she keeps a relatively straight body position and doesn’t cross her feet.

        Bars she has nice high releases and actually keeps her toes pointed on them.

        Beam her knee bend isn’t as bad as Aly’s, again she keeps her toes pointed (yes it’s not the best toe point but there’s at least an effort there) There is a pic of Mykayla on beam during World’s prelims of her doing a leap and it actually looked really really good. I can’t find it now for some reason but I’ll keep looking.

        Her problem is her coaches keep picking the wrong skills for her to compete. Like the switch half on beam WHY?? Even girls with great flexibility have a hard time pulling that off. Why a layout double double why not just a full twist? I bet she could pull off the ‘Biles’ so why not that? Her coaches need to KIS keep it simple on the dance elements.

        That’s why Aly does so well. Her form is the worst of the bunch but her flexibility is pretty good and Mihai picks that right skills for her to compete.

Leave a Reply

