The official end of my Skating loves

Fumie Suguri offically retired today. Yeah I know you all thought she retired years ago (so did I:) but today she announced it.

So with the retirement of Daisuke Takahashi last October and Michelle Kwan giving it up 8 years ago😦 I am now officially retired from being a Figure Skating fan.

Oh sure I will be back to bitch about fixed Olympics competitions and the overscoring of Gracie Gold but the last reason to stay up late or wake up early to see who won a competition retired today.

Watching this video above made me teary eyed. Its a sad day when you know the last emotional attachment you have had to a skater is over because she is no longer competing. My love for the sport died years ago.

As much as I like Mao and Yuna its just not the same anymore. The Skating itself is unwatchable and the fixed judging is as blatant as ever. There really is no reason to be a dedicated fan anymore.

So Happy Retirement Fumie. I will always remember seeing you skate live at Worlds in 2003 where I argued with the lady sitting next to me because she insisted Sasha should have the bronze medal and I told her she was nuts ( I was right:) and your class on and off the ice was always a pleasure.

Here is Fumie’s statement.

I have announced retirement from
competitive figure skating carrier last week.
As most of figure skaters retired in their 20s,
many of you are surprised that I have been
competing until 33 years old.

My goal is always has been Olympic
After skated in XIX Olympic Winter Games (2002, Salt Lake City)
XX Olympic Winter Games (2006, Torino),
I kept skating even from very small local competitions
in order to get a chance for Olympic again,

“Holy Place” I don’t know any other words to
describe Olympic Games.
Olympic has cast a spell over me
when I first experienced in 2002,
since then I put myself together to
get another chance for 2006.
I got the chance, and proved myself.
There was no regret after my performance,
I did my best performance there,
although I finished 4th place.
I think I was missing something,but I couldn’t understand
what I was missing.
I thought I would never find out the answer
unless I go back to Olympic Games,
and this is why I had been skating until now,
because I always had a dream.

However as a competitor I had to face to the reality
that I will be 37 when the next Olympic Games
are taking place, and above all, I haven’t even
qualified for The Japan Figure Skating Championships
this year after I finished 8th in qualify competition.
I finally decided to leave competitive field.

Looking back my carrier, I have been skating for
28 years since I was 6.
First of all, I want to thanks to all the support
from fans. Their warm encouragements always
pushed my back, especially when I was down and
was about to lose confidence.
I am very lucky to have met all of you and
I would never been able to imagine my skating life without you.
Thank you again.

Also many thanks to my sponsor company,
Phoenix and Kappa skating club, to believe in my skating
and support my carrier.

Finally, I want to thank my parents, for your
enormous support and love to have me keep skating for 28 years.

After my retirement, I will keep studying under
Lori Nichol who has choreographed my program since I was 15.
Lori has taught me the joy of skating and skating foundations
Not only skating skills but also expressiveness occupied
important part of judgments.

When I think how I can contribute to future skating,
my answer is to become a professional choreographer
and pass tradition and charm of figure skating I learned
from Lori to younger generations.

My goal is always Olympic Games, this has not been changed.
I am not able to come back as a competitor,
although I will be back as a choreographer and
would like to show my programs through great skaters.

So, this is just beginning.
Until my programs receive standing ovation from spectators in Olympic Games, my journey will go on.

Thank you very much.


31 Responses to “The official end of my Skating loves”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    I’m the same way. Figure skating started losing its magic after they allowed Lipinski to capture gold over Michelle for the sake of one stupid triple triple jump.

  2. gymnerd Says:

    For me it’s the use of lyrics. All the programs with lyrics this year seem like cheesy pro numbers of the old days.

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    looks like katelyn ohashi will be at camp tomorrow❤❤ :-))))))

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      Hahaha I just come here to post her tweet. I guess she is referring to camp! Fingers crossed!!

      • Tortuga Says:

        Oh my gosh I hope so! This year is looking really exciting. Just to see where all the comebacks are and how they stack up with rest of the pack. Kinda bummed I didn’t get American Cup tickets now, but it’s always my least favorite meet of the year.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It doesn’t mean she is going to camp but it could.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    someone is messing with us. simone said maroney and ohashi would not be at camp

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      No one is messing with us a lot of people assumed she would be at camp based on 1 tweet:)

      • gymnerd Says:

        So, what do you all think? Is Maroney done? Does anyone know how much/whether she’s training?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think she will train for awhile and try but she’s done. The only event she is any good at is vault and one event gymnasts on a 5
        member team are not needed hell she wasn’t needed in 2012. They never scored her as well as she deserved over anyone else on that vault
        and I know hind sight is 20/20 but I am sure Marta would have left her at home in 2012 if she knew now what we all know. That one vault was never going to be scored the way it should have been.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        the good news is sabrina vega is at camp. which is just bizarre to me.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am going to give Sabrina some credit here. That kid has a dream and she is going to try and make it work the rest of the world laughing at her or not so good for her. If she wants to continue she has every right to do just that.

        Grammar be damned that sentence doesn’t really make sense but I am keeping it:)

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Has Akopyan ever coached a solid AA gymnast? No shade being thrown to Mattie, Sammie Shapiro, or Kerry Strug (Her falling off bars still makes me cring), but where has he ever had a strong consistant all arounder?

  5. Case Says:

    Wow GTT, Hanley, Panda and Lester?? The Red Sox are making a big splash this offseason!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I love panda and like Hanley but the money being thrown around is crazy and I personally do not think lester is coming back. We will probably trade half the kids for Hamel who is overrated. I am not one to complain haha about spending money but unless we get 5 new staring pitchers who the he’ll is pitching for us. I cannot complain about these owners. It just seems petty to batch about not spending money then turn around about spending money. If we keep cespedes. I freaking love our hitting but pitching wins titles and even with lester we do not have enough.

      • Case Says:

        I’m hoping you’ll trade is one of your extra outfielders now that we aren’t bringing Torii back.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Did Torri sign with another team or are you just not bringing him back. We are not trading you Cespedes so turn around please:) He apparently doesn’t like it here ( tho he might change his mind when he see’s what we have planned and yes I am assuming we have something planned for our pitching. Honestly if he had a brain he would stay here and play well on the biggest stage and then he would be paid really well by some team like the Skankees.

        I love Panda, I like Handley we need pitching THE END:)

      • Case Says:

        We told Torii we weren’t bringing him back. I totally get it because his skills are declining with age but I’ll miss his positive influence in the clubhouse.

        We’ll take Yoenis off your hands. Especially now that you have Panda (aka Tiger Slayer.)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I like Cespedes so you are lucky its not up to me to make trade I would keep him. He most likely will be bought by NY next year we should at least get a title out of him before he

        We need pitching.

        I bet Torri ends up a Yankee.

        Rumor on the street here in Boston is Lester is using the Cubs (with their knowledge that is how the news keeps getting out) to up the price for Lester back in Boston and I for one am not happy hearing about that.

        I don’t like Lester. He is overrated, had one good playoffs and now thinks he is worth more money than he is and I am over players tat don’t want to be here. To hell with him. Go play for the Cubs and suck for 5 years fine with me. I will take the Mike Napoli’s of the world over the Lesters any day of the week.

        Any news on the Max front? Yankees have been so quiet lately and that should scare everyone.

      • Case Says:

        Well, the latest rumor here is that we are trying to keep Max and trade Price. Supposedly Price had a hard time adjusting in Detroit when he arrived because he likes to be the número uno pitcher and the Tigers had some competition for him. I’m hoping it all shakes out that way.

        I think Max is the best pitcher on the market right now. I also heard the Giants were going after Lester.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Price’s ego in full swing I see. So basically he is a loser who needs to be number 1 pitcher which in turn means he does not care about winning only himself? I hate that guy. Always have always will.sorry case but at least let you see why now. I just cannot imagine the arrogance of someone to seriously need to be a number 1 over wanting to win.devil rays raise selfish ego driven jerk or guys like Longoria that want to stay there so there will be no pressure on them.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I agree max is best pitcher on market. Lester is overrated. All people need to do is check his regular season stats. He had one successful post season and now wants 25 million a year? That is ridiculous
        Sox are desperate for pitching. We have none. Literally none. We over paid for Hanley and even panda it is not my money I guess but I will boo lester if we sign him to that money and his era is high 3 ‘ again and he black mailed us in to 25 mil a year
        Rumor is he is using offer from cubs to get more from us. I know that is the game but I will be passed if we fall for it.

      • Case Says:

        Yes, I absolutely get the sense that Price is a diva. So annoying to see that from a guy wanting a bazillion dollars after next season. Give me Max any day of the week.

        The Sox do need a little pitching but that lineup looks so good you can probably get by with mid level free agent starting pitchers. Not sure you need to overpay for somebody like Lester.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t think you understand just how bad our pitching last season was brutal. We need 4 starters at least. Clay sucks and he is the best we have. Seriously sad. Tho lester is not going to make up a bid difference..

  6. Tortuga Says:

    Raisman and Douglas were both added to the national team already. I’m really interested to see them in competition.

    • Melanie Says:

      Ah, me too, me too! I just read the press release from USA Gym about the recent camp, and it couldn’t be any more vague. I’m guessing they’re doing pretty well if they’ve been added back to the national team, but who knows? Does anyone have an idea when we’ll see some training videos?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Nastia was named to the National team and we know she did nothing at camp. It doesn’t mean anything

  7. Exgymgurl Says:

    it just means marta doesnt want to be nice to sabrina vega

Leave a Reply

