2014 World Championships: Womens All Around


Live Results ( Look to the right)
Start Lists
IG Magazine Quick hits Enjoy the bitter biased musings of whomever is running their facebook. It sounds like Amanda whose hidden agenda is alive and well when describing the scores of your favorite gymnasts.
Live coverage at Universal Sports

Enjoy. I’ll see you when I wake up:)

35 Responses to “2014 World Championships: Womens All Around”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    I saw on Lauren’s (from gymternet) tumblr that Aly is training two vaults. Has anyone else heard anything about it?

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      Yeah I’ve been hearing that too. I wonder what the second vault would be? I would kind of laugh if she learned ASac’s (or what would have been) upgraded vault.

      I think Mihai really knows what he is doing. Fingers crossed.

      • JAS4 Says:

        I am guessing maybe a Rudi? Or possibly a Lopez or Cheng? I wonder if she is still training an Amanar or if she is just training a DTY and another vault. The Cheng or Rudi would score similar to an Amanar so if she learned on of those she would still have a higher scoring vault.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        If this is true, I think it’s really smart. If Aly is looking for individual metals at worlds or the Olympics, vault, floor, and beam are her only shots. I do not see her getting another opportunity to perform for a metal in the AA again. Not with Biles, Key, and others in the pipeline. If she was able to get her skills back on floor and upgrade a bit, she could walk away with another floor metal for sure. I’m not sure if she will win gold with Simone in the mix…but a silver or bronze is certainly possible.

        I think Aly is a great beamer, but she is lucky as hell that she got a metal at the Olympics. If she is looking for another one on this event, she is going to have to work the hell out of her new connections and upgrade her leaps and turns. There is way too much competition in beam finals, and when the good people hit we can’t keep up. If Yao, Shang, and Larissa didn’t make major mistakes last year, I don’t think Ross or Biles would have metaled. The same goes for Aly…the rest of the world are too good when they hit. Another beam metal is a long shot for me…but what the hell do I know?🙂

        So that brings us to vault. From a US perspective, there are only 3 girls good enough to really compete for metals. Maroney, Biles, and Skinner. As much as I like Maroney, I don’t see her making it on another Olympic team. Her floor wasn’t strong enough last year, and I’m not sure if Marta cares about her now that Biles can win the gold in vault. Skinner while talented in the power arena, I also don’t see her making the Olympic team with all of her other issues. The only way that would happen is if the rest of the team sucks on floor. So…that really only leaves Biles…which is a guarantee baring injury. If Aly was the other vaulter on the US team, she would be guaranteed a spot in the finals since it would be only her and Biles doing 2 vaults (given her scores were good enough in qualifications). If she was able to get her Amanar back and then pull another fairly difficult vault off…she could pull out another metal here too. I think it’s a great move on her part if it’s true. And not to be rude, but the world can’t really keep up with our vaulting right now. There are really only 3 other girls in the world who are real metal contenders. The North Korean girl, Gulia, and that other girl that I can’t remember her name or country. The rest are good, but don’t really factor in to metal contention in my opinion. So…adding another vault is a wise move if she is looking for metals…especially if she isn’t doing bars/AA anymore (she can devote her training time for bars to extra vault time).

    • biyatch Says:

      I think Lauren mentioned that she had a handspring front 1/1 which I think is out of a 5.6 (?) maybe? Although if the Rudi is 6.2, it might be out of a 5.7. While she might not be able to beat the best Americans on vault, she could still be close to the top of the international field and be able to contribute on BB and FX.

      While I agree that Aly might have a hard time cracking another major international AA lineup (although really we shouldn’t underestimate her and her insane ability to have the best competitions of her life in prelims), I think it would be a HUGE disservice to her chances of making a 2nd team not to train bars. Marta likes knowing that she has backup and while you hope like hell that Aly would never have to be put up on bars, on a 5 member team Marta likes knowing that the insurance is still there.

      Beam medals are always such a crap shoot because things tend to go splat in that final. Raisman was consistent at hitting a high difficulty routine (which is what Marta cares the most about) and she can often take advantage of others falling by the wayside.

  2. uglyfatkid Says:

    Random side note – did anyone catch Bart talking about Yao changing her name? He mentioned it during team finals. He said something about the literal translation of her first name was something like “lack of gold”, and that she was going to change it next year to something else. I though that was interesting.

    Also, no one called out that we actually wore a USA color during the team final! No pink, purple, or mauve! It was great to see them in red for once. To me, the team final should ALWAYS be in your country’s colors. Then you can pick whatever you want for event and AA finals since you are competing as an individual. But the team final is non-negotiable no me. I would like to see the AA girls in national colors too…but I can compromise on that one if the team final is always done in national colors.🙂

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I agree on the Leos. Although I thought the AA/event final Leos in London were pretty hideous. Still don’t know what that design was on the front to this day…

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    Its odd I think Im the only one in America that gets the Eurosport commentators on universal sport and not Bart Connor…

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I’m in the U.S and I get British commentators on Universal Network too. I actually would like to see Bart and Amanda to hear what they are like. Sigh.

    • TrishaG Says:

      I’m also in the US and I get the Eurosport commentators on the Universal Sports online stream. I get Bart and Amanda on the Universal Sports TV channel when they broadcast gymnastics at night. Are others getting Bart and Amanda on the online stream??

      I wonder if it’s by cable provider or geographic location. I have Bright House and I’m in Michigan.

      • tulip Says:

        No- online is Eurosport. And I love it when she says that the “vault is tariffed at 5.8”

  4. G Says:

    Final standings: Simone, Larissa, Kyla.
    Aliyah had a shaky beam routine and a fall on floor. Yao Jinan messed up floor too. Kyla’s consistency really helped her this year.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      This turned out super close for the gold! Super excited for Simone! Can’t believe Kyla gets bronze. There goes her upgrades we prob won’t be seeing. But great AA.

      • tulip Says:

        The Eurosport guy said “they made her work for it”. Lucky for us!

      • Laura Says:

        I’m hoping she will still upgrade, but the girl had multiple injuries this year, so for her to compete at the level she did goes to show what an amazing athlete she is both mentally and physically. I’m hoping she takes the next several months to rest, maybe even the year…she needs to hold together for Rio!

  5. mim Says:

    Kyle can thank her lucky stars that Musty fell. Surely she can have a break now, regroup and recouperate and focus on upgrading!

    Larisa was on fire. So lovely to see her thrilled for her silver medal. Also great to see Simone win gold but not by a huge margin!

    Yao getting the elegance award I don’t know.. I love her bars but not sold on the elegance of her beam or floor!

    • mim Says:

      Oops *kyla, stupid phone.

    • Tortuga Says:

      Agree on all points mim.

      Yay Simone! She is so grateful and has a contagious smile, I just love her. On her way to being the most accomplished US gymnast in a long time. Yes others have multiple world gold medals but I feel double all-around gold trumps everyone back to 1994 tying with Shannon.

      I’m thrilled for Iordache finally getting podium and giving Simone a run for her money.

      I’m really happy Kyla got bronze. I still think this is a wake up call for her because she only got on the podium from Musty’s mistakes. Imagine if she upped her difficulty she would be such a strong force. I’m just glad the comp turned out to be a lot more excited than I originally anticipated.

      Sad for Musty, but she did open the door a bit with beam and floor. I’m sure she will take away a medal on bars though.

      I didn’t agree with Yao getting the elegance award. I was leaning toward Musty, Biles or even Ross again.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Most of the media voting on the award are Chinese so it’s not surprising that Yao won. I’m surprised that Kohei won, not that I don’t think he deserves it, but because it means that many in the Chinese media voted for him. There’s no love lost between China and Japan, especially from China’s perspective given the current dispute over who owns the Senkaku Islands. Guess Uchimura is just that much of a no-brainer, lol.

    • Dee Says:

      Agreed about the elegance prize. I knew that if a Chinese gymnast was not on the AA podium, they would probably make sure that they at least took home the elegance prize. Not that it’s really a big deal. My pick would have been Larisa, she was so on today! Wish they would have waited for the event finals to decide, though, because I think there is always a chance someone can do something amazing there that was unexpected.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Elegance prize has to go to a gymnast in the all around.

      • Dee Says:

        Really? Cause the British commentators made it sound like they can give it to someone not in AA, which is why I said I wished they had waited! Not sure how I feel about it now haha

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is not been the rule in the past unless they changed it recently.

      • Melanie Says:

        Elegance prize was definitely a consolation prize for Yao Jinnan. No way is she the most elegant gymnast in the comp.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Not in the comp. It was just for All Around finalists and the awards never goes the the artistic one. Carly won in 2003. Same home cooking.

    • tulip Says:

      Larisa’s beam was really something to see. Gorgeous from start to finish

  6. Exgymgurl Says:

    Im glad we had a no falls AA podium. It seems to make a statement that FIG prefers difficult and clean.

  7. tulip Says:

    Top 8: Biles, Iordache, Ross, Musty, Yao, Ferrari, Alla S, Jessica Lopez (well done)

    Musty should be grateful that she finished 4th. She would have been lower had she been anyone else. She was really really made at herself.

    I LOVED it on the podium when the bee was flying around the top three and they were protecting each other. So cute.

    And finally, hard not to notice all the puke pink out there from other countries. Larissa wore it and I have probably never seen Romania in anything resembling that color. Musty was close with the bright magenta body and the pinkish sheer top accents.

    Top 4 in puke pink- it will never end.

    • tulip Says:

      excuse me- “mad at herself”

    • Melanie Says:

      The bee was hilarious! And I completely agree with the puke pink. It was the first thing I noticed. And both the US girls and Musty wore several hues of puke pink. When is that trend going to die?

  8. Gymbee Says:

    I really liked the final! I really liked the camaraderie between Larisa Iordace and Simone. I loved how after Larisa’s beam set, Simone called out “great job Larisa!” and Kyla echos “yes great job!” and Larisa smiling and saying thanks.

    And the long hug between Simone and Larisa after they went 1-2. I think everyone likes Simone. She’s got such a nice personality.

    • Dee Says:

      Haha I know how could you not like her. Some gymnasts seem annoyed to hug each other but noone makes faces at Simone. She got Mustafina to smile on podium last year…the girl is magic.

  9. Melanie Says:

    Awesome AA final. I was amazed at what a good fight Larisa put on. It’s always more exciting when the winner couldn’t have fallen and still won (which is usually the case with Simone). Like, if Simone had sat a pass like Musty, she would have lost gold to Larisa. Makes everything more exciting. I felt like this was a podium we could all rejoice in.

  10. katecoursey Says:

    I am beyond thrilled for Larisa. Romania really needed a win like this. It’s crazy how people weren’t even talking about her, and if you think about it, if she hadn’t taken that step out of bounds on her second (third?) tumbling pass, she would’ve been the all around champion! Good for her. She’s had so much potential since she was a junior, and it’s nice to see her finally live up to it.

    Also very happy for Simone and Kyla. I love the close relationship they seem to have. Hope Kyla upgrades for next year!

Leave a Reply

