2014 World Championships Qualifications

LIVE Results

Thanks for that win Giants. You made my night:)


(Full Results for entire competition)

Tonight USA-Gymnastics will be showing the Russians and it ends before 11 PM which means maybe I will live blog it.

Judges for Qualification

There are no US judges. Elena Davydova cheating cheaters cheat is judging for Canada? Way to sneak in those extra tenths Russia. Oksana Omelianchik is timing beam too. This should be interesting.

Start Lists (Last Gymnast on list is alternate)
Live Results
USA-Gymnastics Worlds Page


Tomorrow morning at 6 am-745 the US Compete. Russia competes tonight. Not sure of the exact time. Explain to me why Aliya isn’t up last on every event for Russia?


Russian highlights:

Spiridonova on bars. Aliya’s triple turn on floor. Aliya’s triple turn on beam. The entire Russian rotation on bars. Honestly they should have brought Komova. Anything she would have done on bars would have trumped any of these girls left at home for another event.

Russia- Beam

1- Kramarenko- Messy routine. Bobble to start. Punch front. Double tuck dismount- 13.566
2- Mustafina- She didn’t fall but very slow. Missed connections- 14.308
3- Karenkova- (fell on dismount, missed hand it looked like) Too bad she nailed everything in practice but was off whole routine. 12.933
4-Spiridonova (Fell, messy. Not sure what that was.lol 12.166
5- Sosnitskaya- Well she stayed on.


Russia- Uneven Bars

1- Daria Spiridonova- Nice routine. Beautiful form minus one leg separtion. Ugly Giants, nailed dismount- 15.100
2- KRAMARENKO Ekaterina – 14,766 Another nice routine. 2 small leg separations but dead on handstands
3- Aliya Mustafina -(6.3) Hit routine. A little messy form 15.166
4- Sosnitskaya- Messy form but hit 14.408
5- Nabieva- Step on landing but everything else looked great. Much better form than Aliya 14.600

Daria had the best routine here not Aliya. Aliya is getting some gifts especially compared to her teammates.

It looks like the fans are stuck way up and the empty seats are for the coaches/gymnasts etc….


Russia- Vault
1- KRAMARENKO Ekaterina 14.466 (DTY) Short
2- Nabieva- (DTY) Stuck 14.766
3- Mustafina (DTY) 14.900 (Nabs was MUCH better) BS Score
4- Sosnitskaya- (6.40 start value, short 15.133
DTY (Stuck but messy form) 14.900 (overscored)
5- Kharenkova 13.900 (Yurchenko)

(Canada counted two scores in the 11’s on beam)
Black got a 13.OOO on floor.
Judges are being very nit picky for everyone not named Aliya.


I missed Aliya’s floor start value. Anyone know?

Russia Floor

1- SOSNITSKAYA Alla 13.533
2- KRAMARENKO Ekaterina 13.066
3- Mustafina Aliya 14.500
4- Kharenkova Maria- 13.666
5- Spiridonova Daria- 12.833

Overall very poor effort from 4 of 5 gymnasts.

So the first Russian (Kramamren) hit her full in but was short on the double tuck. Big step on last pass. Low 13 for a score. I hate Russian names so I will title them in order but Aliya

Russian number 2 (Sosnitskaya)- 2 Memmel turns she bobbled out of. A double layout nicely done and a triple twist she almost went OOB with. Messy routine. (13.533)

Aliya- Nice routine from Aliya. 2 big steps on her passes but she nailed her triple and double turns.

I day dreamed through 4th Russian. Pretty dancer. Bad form on the twisting but a pretty routine. Ended with a Double Pike.

I always tune out gymnasts that start with double pikes. Sorry 5th Russian and your low start value.


Russia is wearing this metallic green.
(Oh come on umps you can’t throw out the manager in a playoff game (I want the Giants to win but not this way)

USA-Gym how about some podium training instead of the line up?

1 MUSTAFINA Aliya RUS 58.874 14.900 15.166 14.308 14.500
2 SOSNITSKAYA Alla RUS 56.740 15.133 14.408 13.666 13.533
3 KRAMARENKO Ekaterina RUS 55.864 14.466 14.766 13.566 13.066
4 BLACK Elsabeth CAN 55.532 14.300 13.766 14.466 13.000
5 WAEM Laura BEL 54.241 13.800 13.908 13.433 13.100
6 ONYSHKO Isabela Maria CAN 53.899 13.733 13.933 13.133 13.100
7 VERSCHUEREN Lisa BEL 53.865 13.666 13.433 13.466 13.300
8 CROKET Julie BEL 53.166 13.700 12.700 12.866 13.900
9 MYS Gaelle BEL 52.231 13.966 12.266 12.433 13.566
10 WOO Victoria Kayen CAN 52.106 13.866 13.266 11.908 13.066
11 CHANT Maegan CAN 51.598 14.066 12.900 11.566 13.066
12 TAMAN Nancy Mohamed EGY 47.999 13.566 10.633 12.100 11.700
13 HAZEM WAGEEH Rowan EGY 46.932 13.066 12.000 10.433 11.433
14 ELHAJJ Miriam Fouad EGY 45.699 13.200 9.766 11.300 11.433
15 ELBIALY Rana EGY 43.431 12.266 10.366 9.966 10.833
16 ZAGHLOUL Malak EGY 42.599 12.566 8.900 9.733 11.400
17 KHARENKOVA Maria RUS 40.499 13.900 —– 12.933 13.666
18 SPIRIDONOVA Daria RUS 40.099 —— 15.100 12.166 12.833
19 PETERMAN Kirsten CAN 39.299 14.333 12.366 —– 12.600
20 VANDERSTEEN Eline BEL 38.198 13.666 —–11.366 13.166
21 NABIEVA Tatiana RUS 29.366 14.766 14.600 —– ——
22 VERSONNEN Lin BEL —– 13.166 —– —– —–
23 YU Aleeza CAN —– —— 11.933 —–

58 Responses to “2014 World Championships Qualifications”

  1. sainabou nyang Says:

    I might stay up just to see how nabs does. Will she show her filthy yurchenko tucked double?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Nabs is fun. Can’t wait to see her walk through her routines.

    • Dee Says:

      HAHA hopefully we get another wedgie-pick floor routine.
      Now I feel like quitting what I was working on, getting ice cream and watching this.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t think she is doing floor. Let me check.lol

      • Dee Says:

        Boo…I don’t see her warming up. But I’m sure she will do something very Nabs-like on another event.

      • Melanie Says:

        She’s the alternate on floor. They were never going to let her near the floor after that hilarious routine from Russian Cup.

  2. Melanie Says:

    Mustafina got the triple Y turn beautifully done!! Finally!

    • Dee Says:

      Yes! She looked good on floor.

      The Russians’ tumbling has a lot of whips in it…I like that…you don’t see many gymnasts using them anymore?

      • Melanie Says:

        It’s a decent way to add difficulty when you don’t have tons of power. The Russians’ routines were pretty bland all around. But I’m always happy to see Mustafina do well.

      • Dee Says:

        Agreed…I wasn’t feeling the choreo this year. But they change their routines pretty frequently so hopefully in the next year or so they will get some good ones.

      • Dee Says:

        Russia in general right now is hard to watch…everyone seems a little weak? I wish they were showing Canada on floor.

      • Melanie Says:

        Yeah, they seem really lackluster. I was pleasantly surprised by Sosnitskaya’s vaults, but Mustafina’s almost looked as bad as Nabs’.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She looked worse than Nabs on vault.

      • Melanie Says:

        Whoa, Nabs actually looked good on bars. I never thought I’d see a dismount that clean from her. This is clearly their best event. They’ll toast the Americans on bars. But we’ll see what happens with beam.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        I love whip whip combos as well.

  3. Dee Says:

    15.1 for Mustafina on bars…nice routine with a stuck landing. Nabs had a nice routine, too.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Spiridonova had a better routine

      • Melanie Says:

        You got that right. I don’t understand their lineup logic at all.

      • gymbot Says:

        The last two spots on each event were reserved for ****-ups. For score building, it makes sense to put the best three first since the Russia’s 3rd through 5th scores could be all over the place/were all over the place.

  4. Melanie Says:

    Man, Mustafina missed like every connection in her beam routine. She’ll have to do better than that for finals and AA.

  5. JAS4 Says:

    I may or may not watch USA in qualifications. If I wake up that early then probably but I have no intention of setting an alarm lol

  6. gymbot Says:

    Mustafina got 6.0 for her routine

  7. Gymbee Says:

    I am watching from UK! Someone told me about the IP blocker. Sweet. I groaned when US walk in in….. HOT PINK AGAIN!!!

  8. sanitynmotion Says:

    So they wear appropriate colored Leos for podium training but save the pink for the main event?? Unbelievable. Wtf is up with that.

    • mim Says:

      Not sure if I read it here (can’t remember these things these days!) apparently Marta thinks the pink is the best colour contrast against blue. I don’t quite agree (sick of pink for sure!) but apparently that’s the rationale behind it.

      The red training leo was really gorgeous and would stand out against blue also!

    • G Says:

      I’m REALLY hoping that this means they’re saving the red, white and blue for TF and the AA. I’m so sick of the pink as well.

    • Karlie Says:

      I think you did read it here! I interviewed a member of the National Team a while ago for a college journalism project (won’t say who out of respect) and she confirmed that Marta is the one who insists on pink all the time, “probably” because she thinks it looks nice with the stadium.

  9. Gymbee Says:

    Simone had a bit of a blunder on bars. Clear break in routine, good thing this isn’t team finals or AA.

  10. Tortuga Says:

    I was nervous watching for Kyla. Simone and Kocian had flubs on bars wtf? I was surprised Mykayla was scored as well as she was. Anyway I can breath now. I can’t believe I was able to get up this early (5 a.m. my time) to watch this, go me!

  11. gymtruthteller Says:

    Just woke up. That is my girl kyla. Upgrades or not you rock that consistNcy. I wonder if she will do a a or injure out. Kocian. Thanks for tanking. Anyone know what start values kyla got on floor and beam and bars?

    • Tortuga Says:

      I really hope she will be healthy enough to compete AA. I think that is her best shot at an individual medal this year.

    • Melanie Says:

      Floor was a 5.4, but I don’t know about beam.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Thanks. Just saw Kocian on bars. The score was ridiculous. Simon made same type of mistake and got a 13. I know Kocian can has more in her routine but these judges are blind.

  12. Tortuga Says:

    Also way to go Ashton, you came and did your job for your one event. I know it’s only prelims and peoples big guns don’t come out till finals but still it’s impressive that she is qualified in the first place position right now. I thought her form looked cleaner than usual.

    Kocian still got a 14.300 after that big mistake, not buying it. I’m happy for Ross making AA again this year. She doesn’t have the highest difficulty but when other girls start cracking under pressure in finals she is a rock. Plus I just really enjoy Biles and Ross getting to compete together. I’m sure that’s what Biles would’ve also wanted.

    • Gymbee Says:

      So happy for her. I’m sure Skinner is not pleased.

    • Melanie Says:

      Ugh for Kocian. I think she should not have even done all around. Baumann had a much better day and probably could have thrown together a better bars routine if not for that stupid elbow injury. Kocian was way overscored on bars.

      Locklear did her job. Honestly, so did Skinner. I hate her gymnastics, but Kyla almost got left out in the cold. It was way too close for my liking.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If everyone hits kyla is not winning an all around medal and Imo that would be the best thing that could happen to her. She needs to upgrade. There is always some reason she cannot upgrade and it’s time the excuses just end. I was almost kind of hoping skinner would make the all around over her. She needs some kind of motivation. Thanks for the floor start value. Kind of ridiculous to come to world’s with a 5.4 floor routine and expect to win an all around medal. I said it earlier. I love kyla and I do not want her left in the cold but that is what is going to happen if she does not just go for it.

      • H Says:

        It would have been a wakeup call if Skinner had less nerves during her beam exercise. She would have made AA.
        Which I think would have been interesting. Lauren Gymternet said Skinner is the most consistent US gymnast (starting from US Classic) And that is quite an accomplishment.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Consistently messy is what she is. If others chested their jumps and refused to do the correct technique they to could throw double doubles and call them laid out too. Judges need to start doing their jobs.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I agree, GTT, consistent in chucked skills she really is. She does hard stuff, but there’s just something really “unpolished”, but even more than that. Unfinished? Can’t think of the right term.

    • gymbot Says:

      The bars judging was more or less fine for the rotation. The 14.3 is explained in that Kocian has 6.5 D score, but Biles has 5.7.

      They did not make the same error, but similar errors. Hitting the bar -0.5. Biles took an empty swing after falling out of her element (-0.3). Form deductions are variable. Kocian ended up with 7.8, Biles with 7.6.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I believe I used the word similar not same but regardless Kocian has issues getting credit for that 6.5. I am staring to think the way to go is code where to death because even when you have five bobbles in your beam routine and land really low on your dismount the judges do not care and give you credit anyway. Watching all the bobbles get big scores is annoying to me. Kocian has so many forms issues and the judges seem to find no issue with them. Overall on bars Simon is about the cleanest out there so even missing a higher start value she should get a better score. It reminds me of the whole nasty Shawn bars thing. If nasty was not rewarded for her difficulty her for issues would have killed that routine. Same as vault maroney’s form and technique and height and distance should have been rewarded over anyone else on the planets Amanar. But the judges did not see Aly and gabby’s issues? Silly me still waiting for judges to reward execution. Do not know why I bother. Oh and this damn phone is still auto correct ting words on its own. If this makes no sense sorry.lol

      • gymbot Says:

        Tortuga said same error, I’m under that thread. Overall I agree about your comments on form and code whoring, but I actually think Biles was rewarded for her cleaner form compared to Kocian on bars on the rest of the routine, I just think she accrued more errors than Kocian on the major trouble spot.

        We can’t know what they took for form deductions, but Biles should be missing a larger chunk from her E score based on their big errors alone – so I’m guessing the rest of her routine was judged to be cleaner since their E difference is only 0.2. They should have had similar form deductions, but Biles also has a missed handstand (0.1-0.3) because of her error, plus empty swing putting her at least 0.4-0.8 +/- differences in form errors in the rest of the routine. Since she is only 0.2 behind, her E must have been higher the rest of it.

        On the difficulty issue, Kocian got all of her difficulty on this bar set. She repeated the inbar (that she had her error on) and made all of her connections. I actually did not want her on this team because I prefer Dowell, despite Dowell’s problems. I’m hoping that Al Fong is throwing a fit somewhere after seeing Kocian fail to qualify to the bars final.

      • Tortuga Says:

        For the record I never said Biles and Kocian made the same mistake either. Just that Kocian made a big mistake still scored a 14.3 and I wasn’t buying it. Just seemed high but admittedly I’m no judge.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It was a huge error and these stop in the middle of a routine should count as a fall

      • gymbot Says:

        Sorry Tortuga, I realize I misread

      • Tortuga Says:

        It’s okay just wanted to make sure my words were not twisted. That’s what I like about here is that we were about to confront each other without getting angry and discuss things like adults.

  13. Ilanchik20 Says:

    I just watched the bars rotation. The announcer said “the warm up time for the rotation is up” and Ashton was just getting on the bar to warm up. 1) She kept going. Is that allowed? You could tell that Laurent (?) was running around to prep the bars and it all seemed rushed. 2) I’m annoyed they short handed Ashton’s warm up time, especially case she is been waiting all night to compete. Thanks god it didn’t effect her or I’d be that much more pissed. She really is so improved!

    • G Says:

      I noticed that too. I’ve never seen a coach so frantic.

    • gymbot Says:

      Bars actually gets extra time since the bars are prepped for each gymnast, there is a little bit of extra time between gymnasts as well. They still have to rush and usually two coaches or a teammate + coach are required to set everything up.

  14. gingercrush Says:

    Mustafina’s Triple Y is amazing. I’m glad she got rid of the Triple Twist but think she needs the whips and stag on her Double Arabian. Her bars have also been way too conservative. Yes she can upgrade to her more difficult bars but her experimentation with beam connections and her spins on floor seems to have cost any changes on bars.

    Ross is like stuck. She isn’t improving and only going backwards. Sure she is clean but her beam is pause-pause-pause and her floor and bars just lack difficulty. You don’t have to be a power tumbler to be a good floor worker. Mustafina shows that. But since Ross doesn’t seem to be a great spinner/leaper she can’t improve there either.

    Biles needs to add a half-turn to her beam dismount. That would just be amazing.

  15. Dee Says:

    I looked at the floor results before I finished watching USA’s rotation. Simone blew everyone away, no contest there. However, only what…2 tenths separate Skinner and Mustafina? I hope Aliya has one hell of a day and beats her in the finals.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I think Skinner has been getting some amazing scores. These judges are blind.

      I think she is less two tenths behind Biles on Vault. That is just crazy!

  16. Tortuga Says:

    Skinner is the type of gymnast I’ve been afraid the new code would produce. The type that just chucks the big skills and has no execution. You can’t put Biles and Skinner next to each other doing the same skill and tell me Skinner looks better doing it. Don’t get me wrong Skinner has cleaned up a bit but I still feel like those girls with great execution aren’t being rewarded for it. And to be honest I’m not really a fan of where gymnastics is going. Like GTT said earlier Mckayla Maroney’s amanar was leaps and bounds better than anyone in London yet she didn’t score much higher than Raisman or Douglas, same thing is happening now. It’s not that I don’t like the gymnast, I don’t like the code. I guess you could say this has been happening for awhile though. For example: Nastia’s cowboyed legs or Musty’s twisted ankles during twists.

Leave a Reply

