2014 US Nationals. Seniors. Day 1

Results Day 1

My thoughts:

Simone is the class of the field. Ross falls twice and doesn’t get held up. The overscoring of Woga is a joke. Ashton’s beam routine was an impossible score. That has to be up there with biggest overscore of all time with Moceanu taking a step and getting a 9.950 on vault at 95 World Trials. Dowell looked messy on bars but much better than Classics. Maggie had a solid night and honestly compared to the shit put up by others I feel Marta doesn’t want her on any team of hers and Skinner was skinner. Hults got nit picked on beam big time so Marta is telling her to retire too. Amelia was also low balled tonight. Her form has issues but no more issues than anyone else yet she gets low scores and everyone else gets ignored.

I had to force myself to watch tonight. I might have to tie myself to a chair with handcuffs to watch Saturday night.

43 Responses to “2014 US Nationals. Seniors. Day 1”

  1. Tortuga Says:

    2013 again? I thought it was finally over lol. This field is boring. Kyla fell twice (technically) and is still 4th. Not complaining about placement but that tells you just how great she is. Simone is untouchable and no one else is really interesting to me. I’m sure this has already been answered but where are Gowey and Ernst? Good job Brenna pulling your bars together. Maggie your consistent a and that will probably take you to worlds. Skinner, I can’t get past the form issues, I just can’t. Meals looked less NCAA to me today.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Gowey is out. Sprained (brokden-anon)ankle and Ernst alleged injury but will go to camp, maybe.

      Though anon informs me Peyton is out but people were talking she will go to camp before. Who knows.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I don’t even know what to believe with Kim in those situations anymore. I mean obviously Bailey is really hurt and had surgery but ever since she pulled Bailey out last year but then all of the sudden she was fine, put back in and won, I question her motives.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think they are saving Bailey. Maybe the last injury was a wake up call. I don’t believe for a second she is too hurt to compete but I think benching her is the smartest thing Kim has ever done. There is no reason for her to own the juniors ranks when she is needed as a senior.

      • gymmom2 Says:

        Thought I read somewhere that Peyton has some kind of shoulder surgery because her shoulder kept dislocating – or was that someone else?

  2. cupquake Says:

    Do you think this competition might be the final wake up call for Kyla that she NEEDS to upgrade if she still wants to compete successfully in this quad? I just felt bored the entire time watching her. Though I felt pretty unenthused about almost everyone else in the senior competition, minus Simone. She’s perfect.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I don’t know. Kyla is having trouble with the easier routines. Upgrading won’t help her. Its only 2010 so she has time.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Kyla is only 0.7 behind Maggie. With two falls. She easily takes second as that is about the best maggie will score.

  3. sainabou nyang Says:

    My thoughts.

    Nica: Not too bad, pretty clean in some areas and form issues in others. Ut I agree Marta is starting to trim the herd and pick her Karolyi six pack

    Macy: Pretty solid and I imagine she’ll do elite until its time for college.

    Maggie: needs work on her leaps, needs to ditch the pack salto until she can perform without form breaks, but overall kudos to her for hitting and remaining consistent

    Amelia: sigh… I felt bad when she fell on floor, but to br honest I think MLT is gonna focus more on Emily to make the Rio team.
    Maddie D./Brenna: Maddie seems to be 50 %present and Brenna ….. i think shes gonna have to fight to mae the worlds team
    Ashton:Only usable on bars. If she can tighten her form a little more and keep her legs glued on Pirouettes shes good to go. 15.85 was too high. I think she’s score in mid 15s at world’s.
    Skinner: good job you didn’t fall
    Simone: slayed the competition again. Marta needs to name her for worlds team now and let her rest for the next 6 weeks
    Kyla: I dont know what happened but I think day 2 she’ll be her old self

    Madison/Alyssa: Glad they both hit but only one will make that team.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Ameilia is very sluggish but no more sluggish than the rest of the bad form group but Marta is making sure she has no chance.

      Emily needs to upgrade in order to be in the Olympic talk. Maybe she will be next Jaycie

      • JAS4 Says:

        If Amelia could clean up her routines some I think she could be a good 6th person for worlds or an alternate but Marta doesn’t seem to like MLT so I doubt that will happen but maybe she will get chosen for Pan Ams

  4. Kaley (@kittykatgym) Says:

    Definitely an off day for Kyla. Simone’s beam was looking good besides a few balance checks, but MAJOR overscore. 15.7? No way. Her floor looked great again, not as good as Classics though. Vault looked amazing today! Nearly stuck amanar, and lopez looked so much better today. Hope she upgrades to the Cheng.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I agree in theory Simone got some gifts but compared to everyone else she should be ahead by a lot more points

      • Kaley (@kittykatgym) Says:

        Honestly I didn’t even watch the competition.😛 I just watched a few of the videos on the YouTube channel, since I’m too busy with homework. Yeah, the US judges got way worse with score inflating this year.

  5. Laura Says:

    Interesting start to nationals, I think after today’s competition I’d pick Biles, Ross, Skinner, Baumann, Locklear, and Kocian.

    VT: Biles, Skinner, Ross (+/- Baumann)
    UB: Locklear, Kocian, Ross
    BB: Ross, Baumann, Biles
    FX: Biles, Skinner, Baumann

    I just can’t see Dowell getting selected as a one event gymnast when Locklear and Ross (if she goes back to the 6.4 routine) can beat her score and Kocian is close.

    What do you guys think?

    • gymbot Says:

      Could be. Dowell “plans” to compete AA at the camp, so perhaps she would make the team with what she has there.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I can’t get on board with Skinner doing floor. I don’t think Marta would risk that. I have yet to really check out Baumann and Locklear. I think Marta would rather have Kyla on floor over Skinner though…

    • TrishaG Says:

      Brenna does plan to compete AA at camp. She did beam and floor (possibly just dance thru, not sure if she tumbled) in podium training. She also did some ankle rehab. If she gets her Amanar back, she could be valuable to the team for bars and vault in finals and do floor in qualifications. So far, we only have Simone’s Amanar. If Skinner goes, we also have her one-armed Cheng. Dowell’s Amanar is decent, especially by international standards. Those three would make a solid vault line-up.

  6. uglyfatkid Says:

    Just finished watching. This is the first time I have listened to Sam commentate…and it was okay. Nastia is much worse to me. Granted…there were times that I wanted to choke her out, but overall it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. It felt very high school though. I felt like they were trying to appeal to a younger audience or something…or they are just unprofessional. Either way, it wasn’t my fav…but I’ll take it over Nastia any day.

    And who was this Evan kid announcing with her? I never caught the last name. He was ok, other than his hipster talk that was driving me crazy. I can’t remember what he said exactly, but he kept shortening words. He didn’t say these…but some examples are “totes” or “peeps.” I felt like I was hanging out with my 15 year old niece. It was driving me crazy. And I appreciate that he was technical, but he didn’t need to name EVERY skill. Bars were the worst. Highlight a few that are good or difficult, but we don’t need to know when someone is doing a cast or giant. He would rapid fire the names of each skill, and it started to become annoying to me. I appreciate the knowledge, but pace it. Highlight the pak salto (sp?) in one routine, then touch on a different skill in the next persons routine. Every time there is a pak salto we don’t need to know about it. We get it already.

    I will say this though, they pointed out more flaws in the girls then I have seen in a long time…and I liked it. I like commentators who can be harsh and complimentary when needed. The NBC crap tends to be way to PC for my liking. They never call out things like they should.

    As far as the actual comp went…Ech. I echo most of the comments already spoken.

    Kyla looks tired and worn down to me. I hope it was just an off night and not a sign of her future capabilities. Who wants to bet that the whip gets taken out of her floor on Sat?

    I figured out why Skinner bugs the hell out of me. It’s that bitch face she pulls when she thinks she’s done a good routine. I don’t know why, but I just want to punch her out when she does it. That aside, I’m glad she rearranged her floor passes. The last one looked sketchy though, so I guess we will see if he can pull it off again on Sat. Regardless, I think she’s on the Worlds team for sure. She’s not my favorite, but who else fills the floor/vault role better than her?

    Biles…love her. I’m so glad we have someone who we can all get behind and cheer for. Everyone else is so boring compared to her.

    As for everyone else…there were a few standouts, but overall I just don’t care. This group is so boring to me. At least with Skinner I can hate her…AND appreciate her difficult skills at the same time. She certainly isn’t boring. The rest of the group just bore me to tears. I have a hard time caring who is going to be the other 3 on the world team. They really only need 1 good beam/bar worker added to the team (after Biles, Ross, and Skinner) and they could easily win. The competition isn’t difficult right now. They don’t need a super strong team. Hell…a team of the 4th, 5th, and 6th place girls could probably win the gold at worlds with the lack of current competition.

    • gymmom2 Says:

      All in all, I thought the juniors were more fun to watch – the seniors just looked tired. And I think the new code has ultimately made gymnastics less fun to watch. There needed to be some reward for a more difficult routine, but now difficulty gets a bigger reward than excellent execution. I think if the judges really took all the deductions it might even out a bit more, however since judging is so subjective – not sure how you fix that. To the casual fan, it all looks hard – they don’t really grasp how much harder some skills are than others – but bad form is really easy to see – and not so fun to watch.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I totally agree. I’d rather watch a watered-down pretty Kyla routine over a Skinner routine any day of the week.

    • Dee Says:

      I am right there with you…I bet any amount that whip is bye bye tonight when it comes to Kyla’s floor.

      and the commentary was making me crazy. I couldn’t hear any floor music bc of his constant talking. Ugh.

  7. Karlie Says:

    Simone is not human…that is all.

    Also, go Maggie!! I actually met and interviewed her for a college journalism project a little bit back, and she is the sweetest. I am SO HAPPY she’s doing well.🙂

  8. Exgymgurl Says:

    They all need to go to Martas concentration camp and be starved and exhausted. Maybe bela Karolyi needs a ditch dug or something. They will all be about ten lbs leaner at worlds and kocian will break her leg. Baumann will fail miserably in her international scores as will skinner. Ashton and Brenna will surprise everyone. We will have three Amanars, and I love how gabby while she doesnt plan on competing until the 2015 classic is open to Marta giving her an international assignment since she will be at September camp. Pukazoidasaurus.

    • Kaley (@kittykatgym) Says:

      Simone will definitely have her Amanar, but I’m not sure, if we’ll have 3. Brenna said she’ll compete AA at camp, but she might not get her Amanar back by then. Hopefully she does, because she had a really clean Amanar. Skinner’s Amanar isn’t great, so I’d say she’d just do a Cheng, which has a higher d-score anyways. I agree that Skinner probably won’t score well. She doesn’t even score well in the US, which is super inflated, so internationally her scores won’t be great. She really needs to work on her leaps.
      My worlds team is:

      VT- Skinner, Dowell, Biles
      UB- Ross, Dowell, Locklear
      BB- Baumann, Ross, Biles
      FX- Skinner, Dowell, Biles

      This is only, if Dowell has floor and vault back. I don’t think Skinner will score well, but her floor is better than the other options after Biles and Dowell (at full strength). I’d rather have Baumann than Kocian, since she’s better at beam. I think Baumann’s a really prety beam worker. She has great lines, fluidity, and leaps. Just please, please, PLEASE get her a new choreographer. She was given Nastia’s busted wrist, butt shelfing, which looks so awkward. Plus, Kocian isn’t needed since IMO Kyla is a better bar worker at full strength. However, Dowell and Locklear might end up making it over Kyla in bars final, if Kyla doesn’t upgrade.

  9. gilttrip Says:

    Gabby’s new interview made me nauseous. She is so unappreciative of what people have done to get her to the top. Megalomanic.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I just listened to this (barely). This is awful. Why hasn’t anyone taught her how to give interviews yet? She sounds like she is 14 and never been in front of the camera…..”I don’t remember anything from my junior days, blah, blah, blah….I was asked things I couldn’t do (in reference it leaving Chow)….blah, blah..” Good for Chow that he doesn’t have to deal with her anymore!

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        And she basically said she doesn’t talk to any Fierce Five or Shawn Johnson so at least she is not lying for the team lol

      • Katie Says:

        Yeah, it was a painful interview to listen to. She won’t even list a few of her upgrades? Does she think that they are on par with national security or something? Oh, and she thought that Simone was in awe of her the first time they met? Gabby is a piece of work.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      Can either of you please post the link? I got to hear this. Lol

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Part 1:

        Part 2:

      • H Says:

        Thanks for the link.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Wow. Im stunned…. Even for her ….. Let the trainwreck continue.

      • onelifeonejourneyonealex Says:

        Jaysus, I want to slap this girl. Just….ugh.
        What’s the speculation on the “things she was being asked to do but couldn’t” outside of the gym? Chow strikes me as a very reasonable person who really values both the health and the general social/educational/emotional/all-around development of his gymnasts (particularly with Shawn, only doing one workout per day and staying in public school, as well as other things I’ve heard/seen) so I really can’t imagine it being scandalous….maybe cut down on appearances/blatant self promotion? Hmmm

      • gymbot Says:

        Here is the benign stuff that she said:

        She admits she is successful and her work in the gym is going well because she was “blessed with a perfect body [for the sport]”

        She has routines (that may or may not change) and is working on connections mostly. She also is working on unknown skills and upgrades.

        I thought it was awful:

        She alluded that she could have won championships, but that this group of girls would push her. She thought said she would have been ready to do one event by classics and all four by nationals.

        She said Simone is a great gymnast. (Painfully understated).

        Overall, I am really curious to see how far along she is. Thanks for the links.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        ZzZzZzZzzZZZZZzzzzzzz and that isn’t for you its for Gabby.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She needs to back up her cocky statements. And the interview I saw on TV her hair was literally a mess. Not that that even matters. Simone will kick Gabby’s ass.
        Seriously I honestly think she’s just way over confident because deep down she knows it’s not gonna happen. I doubt we’ll see her compete again. There’s always going to be excuses. If she wanted to be ready this year she could have been. But she wasn’t and I doubt she’s even close.

  10. sanitynmotion Says:

    Even though Dowell did well on bars tonight I’m still not sure she’ll be selected. I think Marta will take Kocian over her. Still don’t see Skinner as a lock either… I even wonder if Dowell has her amanar back would Marta then trade Skinner for Dowell…
    The only locks of course are Biles and Ross. And I think Kyla can get that floor pass right with more practice; she definitely had the height.

    • gymbot Says:

      her amplitude isn’t the problem so much as the timing from the whip and making sure her position coming out of the whip is good. I would say she should do two whips for the same value, but A) she’s so tall who knows how far she would travel and B) she has major endurance issues so an extra whip and handspring could cause a “go to ground.”

  11. H Says:

    I thought Gabby was changing gym due to she was asked to sign some kind of “contract” about staying at Cows gym for the coming two years. Now Gabby is stating it was something outside of the sport
    (sorry my bad english hopefully you understand what I mean).
    Does any of you know what really went down?

  12. allie Says:

    I came on here last night as soon as I saw Gabby live… I was pretty sure the gym-ternet would explode. I was disappointed!! I thought her NBC interview was horrifying. I’ve never been in the Gabby hater camp (I have always been pretty ambivalent about her and chalked up her attitude to being young and dumb), but after last night…wow. I am certainly unimpressed. Even if she ends up doing well this quad, I feel like every word that comes out of her mouth has to be making her less and less appealing to potential sponsors.

    On an unrelated note- the seniors (biles excepted, of course!) were a HOT. MESS.

  13. Exgymgurl Says:

    Her NBC interview was horrifying also. She is like Tanya Harding.

Leave a Reply

