2014 US Nationals Juniors

Individual Routines

USA-Gym article
Full Results

I had no idea Nationals started today. I knew Podium was yesterday but the Seniors are tonight? I have my head in the clouds I guess.

Looking for full results but in all honesty they should just give the title to Bailie Key even though she is “injured” and won’t be competing.

Not sure if I will be live blogging tonight so stay tuned.Like I said before just not very excited for gym right now. I am not in the mood to listen to Nastia that is for sure.

1. Foberg 57.60; 2. Gaskins 57.00; 3. Dennis 56.80; 4. Flatley 56.55; 5. Smith 55.55

The entire competition

Already liking these Juniors. Very little pink in the leotards. They have not been brainwashed.

30 Responses to “2014 US Nationals Juniors”

  1. Melanie Says:

    I’m only going to watch Day 2 for seniors. I’ll actually be hijacking my coworker’s TV because she has cable.🙂

    I’m surprised Foberg had such a good day. Gaskins looked okay. Flatley would be much higher up if she hadn’t bombed beam. Though a 14.4 still seems high for that routine. Chiles looked good on the events I saw her on (I’ve been watching sporadically at work), but she must have bombed something to not be in the top 5. Hmm.

    Yeah, this year’s Nationals isn’t that exciting for me. I expect total domination by Biles and Ross with lackluster routines from most everyone else. Is it bad of me to want some gymnasts to bomb? For example, I wouldn’t be sad at all if Skinner or Dowell crashed and burned. I’m so sick of them throwing bigger tricks and routines than they can handle.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I got through 2minutes of Peszek babbling and quit watching. Its like dealing with Nastia part 2.

      • Melanie Says:

        That’s why it’s perfect watching at work — it’s on mute.🙂 Can’t hear the floor music, but also can’t hear Peszek!

        I really like Deanne Soza. She crashed on floor, but that girl has some amazing form. Her bars are great.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Everything about her grates on my last nerve and the fact that she was only hired because of her mother makes me angry. Shannon, Alicia and Amanda all could do a much better job

      • Melanie Says:

        She’s worse than Nastia in my opinion — it’s that stupid valley girl accent. I feel like reaching through the TV screen and shaking her to say, “You’re from INDIANA!”

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        LOL Like I said, EVERYTHING about her annoys me. She just needs to go.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        LOL!!! I’m so glad I didn’t watch it. I would have killed someone if I would have had to listen to her.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That is why I went 2 minutes in:)

  2. gymmom2 Says:

    Well, compared to others I actually enjoyed Pezek’s commentary. She makes useful comments that may not be obvious to the novice ( or someone watching on the small screen that is live streaming), makes her comments in a positive light and does not refer to herself constantly and doesn’t seem to have the need to talk ALL THE TIME – like some other commentators. Although I will admit, I did not watch straight through. Who was the guy commentating with her, he had some good lines – and unlike most of the male commentators they get actually had a clue about the gymnastics. I am sure tonight on NBC will incredibly painful. So by comparison, I will take Valley Girl over the New York “me, me, did I mention me” Queen. Maybe I just liked it when she told her co-host, no “I forget which gymnast” is not another Jordan – I always hated when people do that. She is unique and just like herself. She may have similarities, but she is not a copy.

    On a side note – I have never seen so many of the “top” gymnasts falling all over the place. I don’t think any of the top 5, maybe more,hit 4 for 4.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Top gymnasts are hurt plus I don’t have issues with juniors falling. They are there to learn and that is part of the game.

      In Nastia’s defense ( who said that?) she talks about herself so much is she is inept and over her head and never should have been hired in the first place.

      Sam is too damn fake for my tastes.

    • H Says:

      I think Pezek did a good job, most of the time.
      Great improvement from last time/year.
      And it is not easy commenting live, on the spot, now matter how good help you have “on your ear”. Personal style – I think she is quite free and direct, not to afraid to state an opinion/disagree with her co- worker when appropriate which I think is good.

      But when that is said, i think it would be fun listening to Sac commentating.

      • gymbot Says:

        I think Sacramone commentated for YOG, the NBC off shoot channel. You can find it on Gabriel McDonough youtube channel

      • Short1 Says:

        @gymbot She has been doing commentary for YOG on NBCSN. I’m not sure whether or on what network event finals will be shown, but her commentary during prelims and AA finals was pretty good. Much more technical and a lot less dumbed down than NBC’s, which I found to be a nice change of pace.

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    Why does chow have all his Jrs doing FTY vaults?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Chow knows how to pace so maybe that is why. They are juniors.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        True. But that was my point. Its strategery. Having all three not do a vault basically guarantees they wont be jr national champions. I hope they train more.

    • H Says:

      Maybe he tesst out a new strategy – practice until they get the block –> then twist …

      I feel in generally Chows gymnasts are twisting a bit early.

  4. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Kyla falls on her whip Arabian combination. That’s probably the end of us seeing that combination. Sigh

    • byrdisthewyrd Says:

      That’s exactly what I was thinking! We’ll never see that whip again. Any thoughts on the Gage leos? I like the colors but am not sure what I’m supposed to be seeing on top. Cowskin? Camouflage? Silver and white tie dye? I must be over thinking it……

  5. H Says:

    Kyla had a new first pass on floor wip – arabian- anyone (gymbot?) how much it affects her d score?

  6. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Ooof, this is not Kyla’s night to shine.

  7. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Yep, her knee touched the floor so it counts as a fall. She made me nervous tonight!

  8. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Kyla isn’t even in the medals tonight. Let’s hope she turns things around on Saturday!

    • gymmom2 Says:

      OMG Skinner – 12.9 on bars without a fall. Execution on other events weren’t much better. Only 8 girls did AA – pretty slim picking to field both Worlds and Pan Ams. And after listening to Peszek for another 2 hours, I have reconsidered- she and the boy toy announcer got very annoying.

      Meow – I could have also lived without the Carly “drop by” and photo bomb

      Anyone else get seasick looking at the Texas Dream leos. What was up with that design.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Skinner’s routine wasn’t even as bad as her past bar routines. I mean it wasn’t great but not as bad as past competitions.

        Kyla has some form issues with leg separations but compared to Dowell, Skinner, Nichols and company she is a 90’s gymnast.

        All and all what a shitty night except Biles.

  9. kittykat Says:

    Good lord, I know she’s tiny but Sydney Johnson-Scharpf’s bars are pretty gosh darn terrible. Adeline Kenlin didn’t die doing her beam routine, yay. And Ragan Smith is getting overscored on floor by the looks of it…. sigh

  10. kittykat Says:

    Andddd more things i noticed
    – Maile O’Keefe and Elena Arenas both have beautiful carriage and elegance in their floor routines
    – Ariana Agrapides looks exhausted
    – I absolutely adore Jazmyn Foberg, but she needs a new floor routine. It annoys me that she’d be suited to a much softer floor routine, but because MG Elite only seems to do edgy and hard hitting choreo, she probably wont get something that actually works for her.
    – No one else really stood out to me in juniors!

  11. sanitynmotion Says:

    I’m kind of bored with this crop of seniors – except Kyla and Simone. Of all of them right now those 2 are the only real potential Rio candidates. I’ll probably only watch night 2 of this…

    As for Sam, I agree politics sucks and it would be nice if they actually gave the job to someone who can “do it better” for once as opposed to who they are related to. But we all know even in the real world that doesn’t happen, so why would it happen on a major TV network.

Leave a Reply

