Podium Training for Nationals (2014)

Sorry I have not been in a mood to blog lately. I am sure we all go through these stages of losing interest in the sport and this is one of those times for me. Not sure who loses interest in a sport during their biggest part of the year but…

Below is Podium training for the women and the Results of the World Youth Olympic games. Alec Yoder moved up to third place for the men (Results here) and Russia’s Seda Tutkhalyan won for the women (Results Here)

Let me know what you thought of Podium training. Gowey is hurt again and out of Nationals.

DIRECT link to the podium training. For some reason it refuses to let me embed it and instead starts with the interviews. This link leads to the actual training videos.

11 Responses to “Podium Training for Nationals (2014)”

  1. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    I just saw Kyla’s interview where she’s hoping to do all around in Rio. I know anything can happen and injuries are possible but I’m surprised by that goal. So there must be secret upgrades up her sleeve then right?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      We have been waiting for that forever. My guess is if she had upgrades she was willing to use we would have seen them already.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      She must be planning on upgrading otherwise she’s not doing the AA in Rio (assuming she even makes the team). She can’t be that naive. Even next year, she’s going to have to start busting some stuff out.

      I liked how someone asked her if she was still doing her 5.9 bar routine – she said yes she didn’t have time to re-insert her in-bar work in two short weeks but at least someone put it out there “YOU NEED TO HAVE A HIGHER D SCORE KYLA IF YOU WANT TO FACTOR ON THE WORLD STAGE.”

      I hate Marta. She makes it sound like it’s a bad thing to be a happy person (Simone).

    • gymbot Says:

      Regarding the appropriate pacing of athletes, I think Ross is winning considering every other gymnast is falling to pieces. She suffered an injury and grew a lot, she took things slow and still has the opportunity to go to Worlds, and likely compete in the AA final. Even despite the pressures of the gymternet (if she is reads about herself online) and from Marta – since Pac Rims Marta has told her to get her difficulty back – she continues to train safely.

      Although I am chronically starved to see an exciting new routine from her, I 100% respect her decision to train at a pace she and her coaches are comfortable.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You want to run for President don’t you ? If I had to bet I would say you talk very slowly and speak perfectly when talking don’t you🙂

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’ll vote for gymbot as Pres. Can’t be any worse than the crock we got in the office now…bet gymbot didn’t need to have a staff writer draft that comment either.

    • gymbot Says:

      I have a fear of public speaking, which is probably why I post anonymously on blogs such as yours.

      Yeah rereading the my last comment, it’s pretty ambivalent isn’t it?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I never would have guessed you had a fear of speaking. What you said was so eloquently written I was thinking the exact opposite. I could see you standing up on a stage like a pro.

      • H Says:

        You are my new how to learn to write english role model:-)

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I just wish Kyla would at least upgrade on bars and beam. I know vault and floor are probably not going to get much upgrades unless she throws in more whips or leaps for a few extra tenths on floor.

  3. lunacaelum Says:

    Kyla doesn’t really have the endurance to upgrade much on floor so I doubt floor will change much. I think bars and beam will be a big help if she upgrades, moreso bars than beam.

    Does anyone know what her actual back injury was? Growing pains or something more serious?

Leave a Reply

