Youth Olympic Games prelims. FULL Broadcast

Its a shame Bailie isn’t here she would wipe the floor with this.

36 Responses to “Youth Olympic Games prelims. FULL Broadcast”

  1. Melanie Says:

    Wow, is it just me or is this crop of juniors rather underwhelming? The only routine that’s really impressed me is Wang Yan’s beam…oh, and Flavia’s floor.

    Looks like Ellie Downie bombed her best event, or she’d easily pass Seda. I’m not sure Seda can handle her beam routine right now. They’d be better off to dial it back and help her with consistency.

    A US junior would have easily topped the field. Just for fun, I looked up the Classics scores for juniors. Granted, these are pretty inflated, but our #15 junior (and that’s minus Key, Hernandez, etc.) from Classics would have topped this field. Jordan Chiles would be nearly 4 points above these competitors.

    What is happening? Why are no other countries seemingly capable of producing amazing all-arounders? Russia used to be, but can’t produce a gymnast that either doesn’t break or can stay on an apparatus any more. Romania still struggles with bars, and China can’t find good leg gymnasts. I want more competition!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Chiles is not that good. Classic scores are a joke.

      • Melanie Says:

        She could have been overscored by more than three points and still beat these juniors. My point was that almost any random US junior will have better difficulty and consistency than the best juniors of any other country.

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        Isn’t 53ish what juniors need to qualify to elite or at least PG’s? Lol hopefully Downie will do better in finals, given that she had two falls on her best event–bars. But you are totally right .

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    I totally agree Melanie! It’s kind of sad the other countries are in a shambles when it comes to producing a great crop of gymnasts. I wonder if a lot of this is funding issues or coach issues. I mean, China HAS to have the talent in that overpopulated country (not to be mean, but you know what I mean???) But then again China is communist so who knows if that’s holding them back (in the gymnastics arena). The US is crazy dominant and to be honest it’s kind of boring.

  3. sainabou nyang Says:

    I’ve watched half of it so far and while I enjoy seeing other countries progress in gymnastics I kept thinking any top level 10 would completely dominate the competition.

    That girl from Iraq who vaulted nearly gave me a heart attack. I had flashbacks of Julissa Gomez.

    Ellie Downie has inherited her sisters nerves. She should be far ahead of the competition.

    All i want see is Laura Jurca and Flavia.

  4. Akshay Says:

    I think the code has something to do with it.

    This open-ended code has set Romania back, as they are unable to keep up with other countries on bars. This wasn’t nearly as much of an issue with them with the 10.0 system. The US can build up a huge advantage on vault alone, which is tough for other countries (such as China) to compete with, when the USA (take the Olympics) has three relatively well done Amanars (though Gabby’s block was crap). That’s why Romania is not really a huge threat until they can get it together on bars, and China won’t be until they can figure out how to upgrade difficulty on vault and floor (to a lesser extent). I think Russia can compete difficulty-wise, but the Rodionenkos have literally crashed that program with all their antics and BS.

    That said, I’m sure funding is partially an issue too.

    • Kaley (@kittykatgym) Says:

      I agree. Russia looked quite promising last quad too with Komova, Mustafina, Grishina, Afan, etc. Alexandrov and Ostapenko were definitely training a great crop of talented gymnasts. It’s unfortunate the almost all the girls are injured and that the Rodionenkos drove these coaches away and are breaking the girls.

  5. Catherine Says:

    China has very few girls in gymnastics. A handful compared to what the US has. These days when most still have just the one child, it’s seen as a lot to put a child through. The system is as harsh as it ever was, and there’s no such thing as rec gymnastics or private clubs. Several gymnasts now as a result come from poor backgrounds or lower than everage. Those parents have little option to create opportunities for their child while still supporting themselves. Shang Chunsong has been financially backing her family ever since she got on the NT and received a stipend.

  6. ilanchik20 Says:

    Is it time to start talking World’s team prediction yet? I’m kind of bored at work lol. It’s crazy how few seniors are doing all-around at PG’s. I wonder if Marta will let Ernst go to selection camp (if she is ready), even though Kim pulled her out of Classics and PG’s. 2014 seems even stranger than 2010 was lol

    • H Says:

      Is she (Ernst ) out of
      P&G as well?

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        From what I gathered. I saw somewhere (maybe USA gymnastics link) that she was out. Supposedly Kim could petition to get Ernst to be allowed to a selection camp but I’m not sure how much Marta likes Ernst to allow that.

        At this rate, they prob won’t have enough people to go to World’s and Senior Pan Ams, without doubling up lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Rumor was she is out a few days ago. If you people were my friends on facebook this would be old info:P

      • ilanchik20 Says:

        Do you have Facebook? How do I find you there?🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The facebook story is full of drama and more drama but here you go. Only approved message board people are allowed so everyone stays unattacked and my friends list is hidden from everyone.

        Send me a message to let me know its you

        ANYONE READING THIS that wants to join needs to send me a message first. Not trying to be a bitch just trying to make sure the trolls don’t get in.

    • onelifeonejourneyonealex Says:

      I bet money I don’t have that Martha is secretly kicking herself for telling Aly Raisman to sit out this season. Even if she’s not at 100%, she’s solid as hell and can go up on event and hit. And, freakishly and god please don’t let this jinx her, she’s miraculously injury-resistant.

      Bad move, Martha. Bad move.

      • Melanie Says:

        You called it. Whatever Marta’s reasoning, it was bad. I definitely think Aly could have been ready for Worlds this year.

  7. gia20 Says:

    Is Peyton injured or she’s just done with elite? Her situation is weird. So much secrecy. At least with Bailey they said right away it was injury but with Peyton nothing.

    • H Says:


      Watching podium, (and I am hungry so maybe a bit harsh here)
      dowell did not do vault (as far as I could see)
      Kyla =Kayla. Maggi looks ready and Skinner looks still a out of energy and without naming names many do look, what do you call it, sluggish?

  8. gia20 Says:

    Gowey got hurt during her podium training beam dismount. Hope she’s ok. Looks like this world team is gonna be comprised of whoever is alive by october.

    • gia20 Says:

      Broken ankle. So sad.

    • Melanie Says:

      Are you serious? Wowza, do you know if she’s out of P&Gs?

      Maggie Nichols and Mykayla Skinner can write their tickets to Nanjing. I’m inclined to say the same for Ashton Locklear. You’re right, this team is going to be made up of the last ones standing. We can only hope that Biles and Ross are still healthy by then.

      • Melanie Says:

        Just saw your response. She’s gotta be out till next year.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Gawd they need to stop breaking the gymnasts. I loved Gowey! This sucks. I can see if there’s six people on the team Marta will only care about 3 of them and 2-3 of them will be used as “bench fillers.” That’s my guess.
        We know Kyla and Simone are locks unless one of them gets injured. Then probably Maggie, Skinner, Kocian, and maybe Amelia…I still don’t see Brenna being there. Unless she’s literally the last one standing.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        This is why the only national championships I plan on attending is the one during Olympic year. Everyone and anyone who wants to make the Olympic team will be there injured or not if they have to compete with one arm or one leg.

        I still think we’ll be ok for worlds but man if only Ebee had chosen not to retire.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Personally I’m glad Ebee retired – put Marta in her place. I want to see Marta scramble putting a team together and realize she can’t play the last unitard standing rule she normally does. Obviously the senior team is not as deep this year.

        No matter what though Marta will benefit from the fact that everyone in the world is pretty weak right now. Remember Russia in 2010? Well we don’t have a team like that to compete against at this point. It’s still the US gold to lose unless Ross or Biles breaks.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      USAG is reporting Gowey fractured her ankle and so she is out of PG’s. I think Kocian is only doing beam/bars and Dowell bars only though I saw her training other events on the podium. I hate that this means Skinner will be on this team! I’m hoping Amelia makes it though. I think her chances quadrupled just about now lol

      • gia20 Says:

        I feel the same about Skinner. I just can’t like her no matter how much I try. Her execution gives me anxiety attacks lol.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Skinner’s attitude, inconsistency and execution should keep her off the team but I feel like she’ll be there due to all these injuries. Her inconsistency remind me Mattie (2010) except at least Mattie could dance in between her falls lol

        I think in a strange turn of events, Kyla might end up doing floor lol What the hell is Marta doing to all of our floor/vault gymnasts? Ugh.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She’ll be there as a back-up if anything. Probably not used much, if at all. Maybe just on vault. I wouldn’t use her on floor if I were Marta.

      • Dee Says:

        Ugh skinner. I’m hoping that doesn’t happen. I too just cannot get on the band wagon w her.

        So sad about Gowey…I really liked her style and she is the only one I took much notice to at Classics.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I feel the same about Skinner. Meh.

      • Melanie Says:

        As long as Skinner’s burnt out by Rio, I don’t care if she’s on this Worlds team or not. I just do NOT want to see her on an Olympic team.

      • Short1 Says:

        I completely agree about Skinner. There are some gymnasts I just have a very hard time cheering for and she’s certainly one of them (both her gymnastics and her attitude). I know some people on other sites have talked about how much her form has improved…but, honestly, I just don’t see it (at least not any significant improvements).

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I don’t see a form improvement AT ALL.

  9. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Did anyone know that Nastia is being inducted into the Hall of Fame as an individual this year? Ugh. At least Kupets will be there too!

Leave a Reply

