Nastia Mocks Shawn then deletes it


Need more proof Nastia is a bitch? Probably not since we all know this but Nastia put this on her facebook page and then deleted it minutes later.

If you click on the picture/screen cap it gets a little bigger.

For those like me who didn’t know what this meant Shawn wore a gold ribbon during the AA at the Olympics in 2008 and Nastia wore the pink scrunchie.

Lets pretend these girls are all still BFF’s because someone says they are. Nastia is clearly still very bitter that Shawn has all the fans and she is teaching spinning classes in New York but hey, there is always the NBC gig to brag about Nastia where you sound like an ignorant phony and come across as a snot. That is something to be proud of.

Tags: ,

108 Responses to “Nastia Mocks Shawn then deletes it”

  1. exgymgurl Says:

    Hilarious. Glad you blogged this. Nastia H’s been doing this crap for years. I hope #NBC sees what a complete bitch she is and an embarrassment and fires her but shelf bitch face.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      People have been fired for less but I am sure the, she doctored it because she hates me people will be

      Whatever Nastia. Maybe you should try and friend me like you did Dave Lease so he wouldn’t post the truth about you. It worked for you there.

  2. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Thanks for explaining that. I saw that post and had no idea wtf she was referring to. I was born in Russia too although I spent most of my life in the U.S. so I’ve always wanted to like her but geez, she is so annoying. I still can’t believe she won that all-around.

    I loved listening to her and Valeri talk crap in Russian right on TV when she was still competing. That was more entertaining when Tim or Elfi’s commentating back then lol

  3. Jenn Smith Says:

    Clearly, I need to leave the house more because I have to google who Dave Lease is. I hope Shawny sees it. This totally erases Nastia’s “visiting sick cancer patient, I let her wear my medals and I wore her cancer necklace” crap. That girl is actually more of a hero than some pretentious Dallas girl in a pink scrunchie.

  4. exgymgurl Says:

    I think spanny Thompson actually reposted this to or lauren on her tumblr

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      But they don’t read this blog so that can’t be

      I am sure they got it from someone else.

  5. Exgymgurl Says:

    They scooped you on this one actually I think…

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am sure they did. I guess it has been out for awhile. I did not get my info from them so there was no stealing here.

  6. Tortuga Says:

    Bitch move. Pretty sure favoritism and code whoring also got you that gold, with your weak ass vault and cowboy legs. I can’t even with these basic bitches.

  7. Case Says:

    Nastia who?

  8. JAS4 Says:

    Maybe Nastia feels the need to be catty because she’s hiding something like maybeshe knows Shawn deserved that AA gold. Maybe she knows she was the Nellie’s pet or maybe daddy dearest and his mega bucks got her that gold lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Or maybe that whole rumor about drugging a gymnast was Nastia doing it to Shawn. lol

      • JAS4 Says:

        Didn’t she supposedly put laxitive type stuff in Shawn’s drink or something?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The rumor was gymnast a did it to gymnast b but they never mentioned names.

        This is for you and those reading:)

      • Akshay Says:

        If I recall, the rumor was widely assumed to be Nastia and Shawn, and it fit with Shawn’s whole “my stomach ached” story. But again, we’ll never be able to prove anything.
        Also, yes. The disclaimer lol. I still love that thing.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        it should have come up in the drug testing.

      • Akshay Says:

        That’s a very good point, GTT, but I think that would be giving Nastia too much credit. She clearly isn’t the smartest bulb in the box.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Laxatives would show up, but I doubt if Samples were even tested for that. They always store the samples. It would be interesting to ask for a retest. You could never prove it was Nastia.

  9. JAS4 Says:
    They seriously said her busted wrist flamingo pose artistry was better than Shannon’s? Wonder if that shade throwing at the Australian judge was because they refused to show favoritism to her. Random Australian judge of you ever happen this please let the gym world know if you know of any funny business/over scoring that went on with the scoring lol

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Nastia wrote that article. Miller had it all over Nastia in every aspect of the sport plus Miller made vault finals.

      • Akshay Says:

        I am still bitter about Nastia’s AA win because her form on bars was so overrated and she never got docked for it. With her hideous pak salto, her dismount from hell (literally have you ever seen any uglier piece of gymnastics ever?), the leg separations, late pirouettes, low tkatchev, etc and that meter long step she took in the AA finals, she did not deserve that 16.65 or whatever she got, and her 16.9 in TF was a joke.

        I don’t think Shawn’s scores themselves were that off (though I might have scored her a few tenths higher on bars), but her scores RELATIVE to how they were scoring others was off. No way Nastia and Shawn should have gotten the same score on floor. Nastia should have gotten at least 0.3 less.

        I’m not saying Shawn should have won, because her vault was off. But there is no way Nastia should have won by 0.6 regardless.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        i think a casecould be made for shawn. the dty should have been enough for her to be nastia overall and she never would have even needed the Amanar which was short and did not deserve credit but nasia dismount was a point in dedeuctions by itself

      • JAS4 Says:

        Nastia’s floor form was as bad or worse than her bars from IMO. The helicopter twisting and the extreme cowboyed double front were not pleasant. I agree that Shawn’s scores were decent but Nastia’s mistakes seemed to get ignored.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That was from a Texas That says it all.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Miller was good on all events Nastia was really a two event gymnast and the only reason she was an AA contender was her crazy d score on bars thanks to.the pirouettes. I am still baffled at that floor bronze lol but Shawn beat Nastia on floor and beam in EFs and we know she was better on vault so it was bars that got her an AA gold and if I am not mistaken I think Shawn even had a higher e score than Nastia on bars so basically pirouettes=AA gold in Beijing lol

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That was beautifully put Jas. Bravo

      • JAS4 Says:

        Lol I even thought the AA bronze tie.breaker mess was ridiculous because even though I like Aly and Aliya on that day Aly was better on 3 of the 4 events but Aliya’s one bar routine made the difference. (Although I personally am.not a big fan of tie breakers lol)

      • JAS4 Says:

        Although at least in the Aly/Aliya situation Aliya was decent on all the events(form issues aside)

    • Kaley (@kittykatgym) Says:

      That article made me cringe. Shannon was much more artistic than Nastia, and a much better gymnast. At least Nastia admitted that Yang Yilin was underscored, thereby saying that Yang should have beat her.🙂 I hate tie-breakers, but there is no way Nastia should have gotten a gold. Yang and He should have gotten gold and silver, and it’s debatable whether or not Nastia should have medalled.

      IMO both Nastia and Shawn were given gifts during the AA. Shawn’s “amanar” should have been downgraded to a DTY, making her lose .7. It was a joke that her amanars were scoring as much as Cheng Fei’s. I can’t believe people were saying the Chinese were overscored. Nastia and Shawn (only on vault though) were American and being overscored more. In the AA, Nastia definitely was overscored on bars. I’m not going to deduct for the leg separations she has on her casts, since they are really difficult to spot from the angel the judges are watching from.

      -0.1 missed handstand on ono
      -0.1 missed handstand on healy
      -0.3 very late handstand on ono 1/2
      -0.1 leg separation on pak
      -0.1 releasing too soon on pak
      -0.1 coming in too close on pak
      -0.1 over rotation on pak
      -0.1 missed handstand and hesitation on half turn
      -0.1 late half turn
      -0.1 flexed feet on dismount
      -0.3 leg separation on dismount
      -0.3 deep landing on dismount
      -0.3 step on dismount

      I was generous and took away some of my deductions for giants too😛

      E: 7.9 D: 7.7

      Score: 15.6

      In the new code, her bars are worth 6.3 and wouldn’t even come close to top bar workers like He, Komova, Mustafina, Beth, Yao, etc. It wouldn’t even come close to Gabby. haha😛

      Nastia’s beam and vault were really nicely executed, even if her vault was super easy. Her beam was slightly overscored though.

      -0.1 flexed feet on entry
      -0.1 leg separation on entry
      -0.1 slight pike
      -0.1 slightly off center
      -0.1 slight bent knees
      I think her 15.025 was correct, though I’d give it a 15.😛

      -0.1 slight adjustment on L turn
      -0.1 flexed feet on sheep jump
      -0.1 flexed feet on side somi
      -0.1 wolf jump not fully rotated
      -0.1 arm wave
      -0.1 slight adjustment on switch ring
      -0.1 crossed legs on 2.5 twist

      D: 6.6 E: 9.3

      Score: 15.9; I was generous in crediting her slow connections

      Her floor was SUPER overscored though. In floor finals, Jiang was ROBBED of bronze!

      Here’s how I would judge Nastia’s floor:

      -0.1 crossed legs on twist
      -0.1 crossed legs on twist
      -0.5 leg separation on double front
      -0.1 flexed feet on double front
      -0.1 stumble
      -0.1 angle in landing
      -0.1 crossed legs on twist
      -0.1 crossed legs on twist
      -0.1 stumble out of spin (I’d actually devalue it, but being generous)
      -0.1 crossed legs on 2.5 twist

      E: 8.6 D: 6.2

      Score: 14.8

      Overall her AA score should have been 61.3 IMO instead of 63.325.

      Shawn’s Scores:


      Should have been devalued to a DTY.
      -0.1 off direction
      -0.1 bent arms on block
      -0.1 twisting too early
      -0.1 bent knees
      -0.1 lack of height
      -0.3 step
      -0.1 twisting into ground
      -0.1 underroated

      D: 5.8 E: 9

      Score: 14.8

      On bars, she was scored right.
      -0.1 arm adjustment
      -0.1 short on handstand
      -0.1 adjustment/late pirouette
      -0.3 bent arms on gienger
      -0.1 short handstand
      -0.1 late pirouette
      -0.1 short on handstand
      -0.1 slight pike in landing

      D: 6.3 E: 9

      Score: 15.3

      A lot of people thought Shawn was underscored, but I think she was overscored… I’m a harsher judge, haha. This was Shawn’s worse beam at the Olympics.
      -0.1 leg separation on BHS
      -0.1 slight adjustment on front pike landing
      -0.1 bent knees on front pike
      -0.1 stumble on standing full
      -0.1 low landing on full
      -0.1 lack of extension on switch split leap
      -0.1 lack of extension on LOSO
      -0.1 lack of extension on split leap
      -0.1 leg separation on full in
      -0.3 step on dismount

      D: 7.0 E: 8.7 Score: 15.7

      -0.1 flexed feet in BHS
      -0.1 flexed feet in BHS
      -0.3 lack on control on whip to triple
      -0.1 lack of extension on leap
      -0.1 lack of extension on leap
      -0.1 lack of extension on hideous switch ring
      -0.1 under-rotated leap

      D: 6.4 E: 9.1

      Score: 15.5

      Overall Score: 61.3

      With my harsh judging they are tied for bronze behind Yang Yilin and Ksenia Semonova. Haha, their scores would be worse too, but I’m too lazy to judge all their routines too, unless I make a 2008 AA post. Tie breaker for Nastia and Shawn:

      Top 3 Scores (Shawn):


      Top 3 Scores (Nastia):


      Oh, they’re tied again. What’s the tie breaker procedure after this? If it’s execution Nastia has 35.3, while Shawn has 35.8, so Shawn would win the tie-breaker for which ever medal they’re battling for.

      • Akshay Says:

        Kaley, go replace Nellie Kim please.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Agreed! Please replace Nellie!

      • Kaley (@kittykatgym) Says:

        Haha, thank you.🙂 Too young to become head of FIG though, and I think all the gymnasts would hate me for being so harsh. lol I just finished a gigantic 2008 AA post.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I can’t comment on this because I don’t have the time or stomach to watch Nastia videos at this moment but someday I will watch those videos and add on to your deductions when it comes to Nastia because I know I can find

        One deduction I do remember is the non existent distance Nastia got on her vault. It was very close to the vault and should get a deduction.

      • Kaley (@kittykatgym) Says:

        I gave Nastia the benefit of doubt by not deducting for every cast she separates her legs on since they are impossible to see from the judges’ angle. the judges should have deducted more for her pak and and handstands definitely though, since it was really easy to see how late she is on some pirouettes, how close she was to the bar, and her way over arched shape.

  10. sanitynmotion Says:

    I still don’t understand how it was cool as an 18 year old in 2008 to be wearing a scrunchie in public. Miller rocked the white scrunchie but that was like early 90s… And that’s the only comparison I can make between the two because as gymnasts it’s night and day.

    • Case Says:

      I think I accidentally did an amanar myself today while tubing behind a boat. However, I did not stick the landing and I’ll be feeling that shit in the morning. Still looked better than Nastia, I’m sure.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        You still get credit for the Amanar if you got it around so all’s good. Hope it doesn’t hurt too much

  11. lunacaelum Says:

    Yes, I love this post. It’s so much better and more honest than the “we’re all really just the bestest of friends” BS that these girls always sprout off in interviews. Maybe in a dozen years or so Nastia and/or Shawn will write a more truthful memoir that’s not sugar-coated and just meant to take advantage of post-olympics fame.

  12. JoeM Says:

    I can’t believe at her age, she’s stooping so low.

  13. Karlie Says:

    Ugh God. Whyyyyy is this even necessary?? Like, I know she’s a piece of work, but was someone/something publicly bringing it up, or did she just wake up and decide “hmm, maybe I should post a reminder that I beat Shawn. Hey World, my scrunchie was superior to her ribbon!11!!”

    Ugh. Take your crappy late pirouettes, mess of a pak salto, and helicoptered twisting elsewhere. I will NEVER get over Nastia beating Jiang Yuyuan on floor or Yang Yilin on bars. To this day I wish Pavs had hit her beam in EFs partly because I love Pavlova and partly because it might have knocked Nastia to at least third.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Pavs had the best overall floor routine at those worlds its a shame the judges refused to judge Nastia as harshly.

      Jiang Yuyuan and Yang Yilan were robbed not blatantly cheated out of their medals.

  14. Lithi Says:

    I still wonder why a supposed fix was on in Beijing. Yes, Nastia was Russian (half-Russian, half-Kazakh to be super anally retentive) but was Nellie that desperate to have a Russian on the AA dias, even though she was representing the US? Maybe Valeri slipped her his kolbasa, if you know what I mean. :p

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Russians are like Canadians. They root for Russians regardless of the flag as long as they’re Russian. Its like Canadians that root for which ever team has the most Canadians left on it when their teams dry up and die when it matters in the NHL🙂

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      ONLY if they don’t have a horse in the race. If it was Nastia vs Pavlova it would be all Pavs

  15. Ilanchik20 Says:

    A little off topic but this was on ASac twitter/Instagram. This is my way of procrastinating from work:

    Ha ha ha. ASac nominated Sam. Should that say something about their friendship? Or not🙂

  16. sarahrdh Says:

    What a bitch. That is all!

  17. H Says:

    Bailie Key is out.

    • Tortuga Says:

      I think it’s best to let her sit this out and just heal correctly then train for her first senior season. Why push it when she’s not even a senior hoping to make a world team yet? She has won everything under the sun lately and probably needs to chill to avoid burn out. Just hope this doesn’t mean she already is burning out. Or is this another KZB pull out and put her back in scenario, but I don’t think it is. I think this is too serious to play around with. I hope Ernst gets to compete at Nationals, curious to see if she has improved or is still head casey.

  18. H Says:

    Yes, it will be interesting to see Ernst, as well as Kocian, Gowey Dowell
    Hults, Hundley, Nichols and Locklear.
    8 gymnasts for the last four spots.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I’m very interested to see what Gowey and Ernst do. Nichols seems to place okay nationally but she kind of bores me. This mid-squad has so few seniors I like! 2010 was way better!

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Well and Amelia🙂 But I think she needs a new coach, if she wants to move up the ranks and make a World’s team.

  19. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Weren’t these rumors around for a while? Chellsie announced she is preggo on Twitter:

  20. Kaley (@kittykatgym) Says: My AA post.🙂 According to my judging, Yang Yilin won because of her superior bars and leaps. Shawn tied with Nastia because of her vaulting, but own the tie breaker. If Shawn got her amanar around, she would have beat Yang Yilin by around .2.

  21. onelifeonejourneyonealex Says:

    I still think Nastia looks like a drag queen. A cheap one. With a flimsy, tacky, Pepto-Bismol-pink scrunchie that should’ve been left in the 90s where it belonged. I don’t care who “won” or should’ve won, it’s clear she has zero sense of sportsmanship.

    • Katie Says:

      Her look after 2008 was really harsh. Before that, I thought she was pretty. I know everyone makes fun of her forehead but she can’t really help that. But after 2008 and she started dying her hair platinum blond, getting cheap looking extensions and wearing it in messy ponytails and getting spray tans and her makeup was also really heavy, she just looked really cheap and harsh The neon 80s costumes she wore during exhibitions didn’t really help either.

  22. JAS4 Says:
    it would be great if Jordyn could compete for ucla if she is done with elite🙂

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I don’t think so unless its in ten years. NCAA is not sitting back and letting Bannon win. I expect a duel to death.

    • biyatch Says:

      Plus the fact that Jordyn has already made at minimum, I’d guess, $300k (base salary for the tour was $100k plus they got a bonus for winning gold, $25k from Operation Gold for Olympics, about $55k+ from FIG for 2011 world championship medals/ 2012 American Cup, plus deals with AT&T, P&G, adidas, AAI, Kellogg’s, etc.) there is NO WAY IN HELL that this ruling would be able to restore her eligibility. Plus the fact that she has an active agent. If Miss Val actually thought Jordyn was going to get NCAA eligibility she was clearly smoking something.

      • Case Says:

        That’s low, Jo made more than that but your point is well taken, Biyatch. There’s no way she’ll ever have NCAA eligibility.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I disagree. I think they will end up making a scholarship / non scholarship distinction in terms of earnings. If you read the decision there is a lot open.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Someone was talking about how Jordyn made over at least half a million. There is no way that type of money will be allowed to compete.

        Guess we will see.

        Half these colleges cheat anyway and these football players are given stuff under the table.

        I don’t know. There could be soo much corruption if they let this happen. Schools will be buying players left and right.

      • gymnerd Says:

        You all forget she had to fork over, what, 50% of her earnings to Gedjerk?

      • Case Says:

        Gymnerd, it wasn’t quite that much, but yes, Geddert did get a % of her earnings.

    • sportsfan Says:

      Schools are already buying players. The question is should these players just be allowed to make their fair market value based on what they could/do bring the university, or should the NCAAs archaic and bad rules continue to be allowed. The judge said in the ruling that the NCAA has violated federal antitrust law.

      Yet, I agree, you can’t allow retroactive eligibility for athletes like Jordyn. That’s a can of worms.

      • gymmom2 Says:

        Yes but likely bad for college gymnastics and other non-net-revenue producing sports – which is pretty much everyone besides Basketball and Football. The money has to come from somewhere and you can bet it won’t be coaches or admin salaries.

  23. JAS4 Says: interview

  24. H Says:

    Catching up with Aly Raisman – Full Twist –

  25. sanitynmotion Says:

    So I’m gonna post this here even though it’s not the subject. I’m watching the Secret Classics. Half-way through and here are my thoughts for anyone who cares:

    1. Kyla. Looked a bit tired/sluggish on floor even though she still needs to upgrade. I honestly think she can pull an amanar though if she wanted to (but understand the back issue). I feel bad for her since I’ve totally had those skin issues myself. I am scared she might be having another growth spurt again though…not sure she can afford any more inches.

    2. Kocian. I like her but that bars score was a GIFT. I am having trouble getting over Daggett mentioning Flatley’s ONE minor leg separation on bars but did not “spot” Kocian’s NUMEROUS leg separations and obvious form break. HEL-lo Marta is pulling for a WOGA member on this team I’m thinking.

    3. Biles. Solid, unbeatable, and obviously Marta doesn’t like the fact she’s a naturally happy person that doesn’t break down easily. It’s like Marta probably doesn’t know what to do with her. I still fear this kid is on the verge of a growth spurt. She comes up to Kyla’s chest (it’s kind of funny looking when they hug). I don’t like her floor though – it’s too college for me (the dance part, obviously not the tumbling part).

    4. Skinner. Still has the ugliest form I’ve ever seen. Her floor was atrocious. I can’t believe ASac was even named in the same sentence as she is. I could tell Amanda was like “whatever, you’re a tool” when whoever it was said that (Daggett or the other dumbass). I was impressed by her Cheng vault but she needs more height. And a different coach. I’m guessing Marta is keeping her around for vault only. No way should she be used for floor. Or anything else.

    5. Gowey. I really like her. Why haven’t I seen more of her before? Also thinking no wonder Gabby bailed. She’s not beating Chow’s current crop in Rio.

    6. Dowell. Needs to quit already; she has no shot. She wants to be Anna Li but it’s not gonna happen this quad.

    7. Ragen/Raegan. Cute kid but I could tell just from her floor she’s Zmeskal’s. Hideous choreo and reminiscent of Kim/Kerri. Get rid of that crap. Oh, and I’m betting she is in for a growth spurt too but it might help her more than hurt her.

    I have high hopes w/McKayla and Aly coming back at least. They are obviously going for it 100%.

    How much plastic surgery has Daggett had. He just looks like a freak.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      WTF Sanity. You want to talk gymnastics at a GYMNASTICS BLOG ? The audacity. I am not reading that ( sarcasm not very sarcastic)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Gowey is always hurt that is why you never see her.
      Agreed on Dowell.
      ASac equals Skinner is the funniest dumbest quote ever!
      I agree Kyla looked VERY tired.
      Regan has lots of potential but agreed on floor music

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        LOL. It’ll be exciting to see Biles win back-to-back Worlds if she can do so (barring injury and what not).

        Although I can’t help but think her shots are assisted by the fact that the rest of the world is just weak sauce right now. I wish Biles could have competed last quad, she still probably would have won and it would have been more impressive/noteworthy (at least in my book). Not to be mean or anything – I guess I just wish the rest of the world had something. I feel like the US is so dominant it’s almost boring.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Simone is amazing but she is lucky the world is injured right now. She’s very lucky the Soviets have not existed for twenty years. Even in the 90’s those girls basics were formed in Soviet gymnastics which is why Lilia existed. Its why anotehr Lilia has not existed since then. Now we get Aliya and Komova who while great is a poor mans Soviet.

        She also gets scored so well off her amazing power. Her artistry is lacking. Her floor is okay when it comes to presentation but you can’t really argue with her scores because every thing she tumbles is so damn perfect.

        Its not her fault she is that much better than everyone else. Same with Kōhei Uchimura.

      • mim Says:

        Gowey could be so pretty but I found her boring and messy at Classics. At least her floor looked like it had potential for gorgeousness but I was underwhelmed.

    • Katie Says:

      Seriously, what is going on with Tim Daggett?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Whaaaaat? Rothlishit was the annoying one for Classics. Tim was okay. Well as okay as Tim can be.
        What annoyed you about him Katie?

      • Katie Says:

        Oh not his commentary, I don’t mind him at all. He is the best of the bunch and I think it is cute that he follows his twitter parody account. But like sanitynmotion said, he looked like he had gotten some bad plastic surgery.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        So you meant looks wise. I don;’t care if you hate his commentary. Hate away because most of the time he deserves the hate. Though I think that gymcastic interview where he admitted he has to do what NBC wants speaks volumes about what he would really say.

        I love how people call him negative. I don’t think he points out enough faults in some of these gymnasts.

      • mim Says:

        Katie it totally looks like he’s being seeing the same plastic surgeon as Bruce Jenner….which I never understand men getting work done because most men actually look good with age!

  26. Case Says:

    You know, it seems like this happens at every single Olympic venue so I’m not picking on Athens specifically, but it ticks me off so much. Such a waste of $$$ for two weeks of competition.

    • JAS4 Says:

      Hopefully London will be better because I think I read somewhere that they made their venues to be easily converted to other uses like the Olympic village was converted to apartments if I remember correctly and I think the aquatic center was converted for community use or something like that

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I just went to visit the site of the 2012 London Olympics (last month). It looked pretty good. They built an Olympics park there (with too much pink of course lol) with some touristy attractions (although mostly for kids) and had a bunch of signs on the ground for diff medals/ achievements of the UK team during the games. The nearby swimming venue looked awesome. I was only able to look in from outside but it looked like you can use it if you paid a membership fee. Lots of construction going around– it seemed like they were building some office space there. And I think the Greenwich Arena hosts diff events now. Overall, I was pretty impressed. Hope it stays that’s way! But it was awesome to be where it all happened.

      • mim Says:

        The Sydney Olympic venue is still going strong considering it was forever ago. They have the football there, concerts, there’s a ton of restaurants, a couple of bars, parks etc. Has a cool vibe!

      • Case Says:

        Mim, I’m glad to hear that. I visited the Sydney site during a trip in 2002 and it was a ghost town then. It wasn’t dilapidated but it was headed that way. I’m glad to hear they redeveloped it.

      • gymnerd Says:

        I thought London had been asked to keep their facilities somewhat intact because of the rumors that Rio won’t be ready? Perhaps I am on crack.

      • Dee Says:

        I heard that too, gymnerd. I forget where I heard it but I know it is a rumor for sure, no crack needed🙂

    • Case Says:

      Here’s Beijing too. And that was only 6 yrs ago.

  27. Exgymgurl Says:

    London was built with sustainability for the community. Atlanta venues are still amazing almost 20 yrs later. LA in 1984 too. Its only as late that they are building these temporary olympics. I will never get sochi. Its already a ghost town.

  28. Dee Says:

    oh my, been a long time since I was here! I recently had to retire from my adult gymnastics team because I am pregnant, so I figured I have to get my fix somehow. I’m also going to P&G championships next weekend (only seeing Senior Women’s Day 2 session) so I will need a place to rant?

    I am obsessed with past Olympic sites. A friend of mine is going to Barcelona this week for vacation and I was like, ooo please take pictures of the old Olympic stuff! I love looking at old photos, it amazes me that so many past Olympic sites are left to rot. Are there photos of Sochi yet? I saw some of Sarajevo (I forget the year) that are pretty chilling. I think a guy made a book of photos of past sites about a year ago to bring awareness to the waste that the Olympics can create but it was limited edition and I didn’t get my hands on it.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Hey hey I’m preggo too!

      That’s so sad to hear about the waste that the Olympics make. I didn’t realize until someone posted above about Beijing – had no idea. Then saw Greece.

      I’ve only been to the Salt Lake City Olympic site and it was still in good condition – they’ve made good use of the facilities. And of course the sites from the LA Olympics are all around; I swam in Belmont Plaza for all of my CIF competitions (the swimming facility used in the LA Olympics). They recently renovated it too so it’s even nicer now.

      Guess only the US likes to take care of its Olympic past? I wish/hope we can host again soon. Why all these countries need to blow billions away on a 2-week event is beyond me.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Congrats on the baby news. BOTH OF YOU need to pass on the news when the kid is born so I can send you something for the baby.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Nastia voodoo doll lol.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Maybe a baby onesie with a picture of a Nastia voo doo doll🙂

      • Gymbee Says:

        Omg, congratulations to sanity and Dee! Fantastic news! Is it your first kids?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Thank you! Yes, my first. Probably first and last, haha. We can’t afford any more than one unless we move out of CA, but my entire family/support system is here so I don’t see that happening.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Congrats on the baby and have fin at Nationals. Remember to Gymnast people watch that is the fun part.

      • Dee Says:

        LOLing over the voodoo doll

        I can’t wait to people watch. Taking binoculars would be creepy, right?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        No Dee I would totally take binoculars! And a good camera with zoom lens and maybe you can post some pics here.🙂

Leave a Reply

