Chinese Nationals

One beautiful routine after another. This is how gymnastics should look. I just hope they aren’t peaking too early.

33 Responses to “Chinese Nationals”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Butter fingersπŸ™‚ Chinse nationals? lol

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    Wow, now that’s what giants should look like. Did she hit her foot on the lower bar on that one release move?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I watched like ten routines in a row and not one fall and only maybe 2 bobbles.

      One little girl had the most beautiful handstands I have ever seen and they still gave her a 13. something for a score. 5.8 start value but still. Marta would have given that a 15 at Classics and her handstands all of them but one were dead on and they gave her a 13.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah – that’s pathetic. I mean they give Aly a 13/14 here and I’m sure that girl was leaps and bounds better than Aly on bars.

        I heard this weird sound in the first video and her release looked a little crazy in the air so I wasn’t sure if her foot had hit the low bar.

      • TrishaG Says:

        The Chinese are notorious for crazy harsh execution scores at their National Championships. It’s prolly the only country where domestic scores are lower than international scores. Guess that is one way to motivate gymnasts to fix their execution errors.

  3. Melanie Says:

    There were a few falls that I saw, but on the whole, fantastic gymnastics. Bai Yawen fell, but the rest of her routine was beautiful as usual. I am quite impressed with Lv Jiaqi’s beam, and Yao Jinnan’s bars look great (even without the Mo salto).

    I haven’t seen any routines other than bars or beam yet, so I’m wondering: do they look any stronger on those events? I think they’ve been focusing on vault lately, but their floor routines of late can use some work, too.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I only saw a few floor routines and a few vaults and no they don’t look better. Mostly bars and beam for me.

      Triple twist mounts and then double pikes and double tucks is all I have seen.

      • Melanie Says:

        Hmm. I’d love them to really challenge the US for gold, but I don’t see it happening. However, the fight for silver and bronze will be really interesting with China, Russia, and Romania all duking it out. I know people think this quad is boring because of the US’s dominance, but the other Big 4 nations are making things very interesting for me. Russia is basically imploding, Romania is rebuilding their national team, and China is coming back to strength after a long hiatus (basically since 2008). I can’t wait for Worlds.

      • gymbot Says:

        RRG had a piece on how Mustafina still has ankle problems and tumbling is still painful. Komova just started tumbling as well and Grishina isn’t even at Round Lake. I don’t think they will challenge China and Romania for placement.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        RRG? Sorry, I don’t know that one.

      • Melanie Says:

        RRG is Rewriting Russian Gymnastics ( They have lots of good interviews with the Russian gymnasts, both male and female.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Of course! Thank you! I’m a complete idiot and didn’t piece that together.πŸ™‚

      • Melanie Says:

        No, no, not an idiot!

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Lol. Yes, I was an idiot! After I saw the explanation it was clear as day. I had a moron moment for sure! LOL

        Thanks for trying to save my ego though. You’re too good to me Mel.πŸ™‚

  4. Karlie Says:

    Shang Chunsong’s bars looked *fabulous* – every single handstand vertical, the Chunsong looked great, and her transitions and general composition is a lot more unique than many of China’s other gymnasts. Yao Jinnan’s bars looked great too – I hope both of them make the finals in Nanning!

    I saw a bit of vault – a few more DTYs than expected, with good form, which is always nice. One girl also vaulted what I think was a 1.5 twisting Tsuk (???)so that was cool. It was too far away to see who it was, though; I only saw it from the side. There were quite a host of FTYs as well, though, so that’s still an area where they can probably improve.

    • Karlie Says:

      Edit – just realized there are individual videos of each! The 1.5 tsuk was Wang Yan.

      • gymbot Says:

        Wang Yan has a Rudi and 1.5 Tsuk! This year, she unfortunately is a Junior. I’m hoping she’ll do well at YOG.

      • Catherine Says:

        I haven’t watched all videos yet but she actually has a really nice double tsuk, and has trained a 2.5. Her Rudi has issues. She turns senior next year and will be at YOG, I wrote a piece on her for

  5. JAS4 Says:

    I thought one of the Chinese girls had a rudi on vault recently but I can’t remember who it was.

  6. Kaley (@kittykatgym) Says:

    Worlds doesn’t look great for Russia or Romania. It was announced today that Diana Bulimar is injured, so Larisa will have to carry the team. Mustafina will be competing at the Russian Cup instead of resting unfortunately, even though Valentina said that Aliya already qualified for the Worlds team. Aliya may not compete AA at Worlds this year. Valentina is once again breaking the gymnasts. Komova has been working on bars after her injury and recently just started working beam. She is hoping to get her routines ready by Worlds, which Russia would need. Looking at her record with injuries things don’t seem to be good. The “unofficial” Chinese Worlds team is Huang Huidan, Bai Yawen, Shang Chunsong, Chen Siyi, Tan Jiaxin, and Yao Jinnan.They are pictured on official ads.πŸ™‚ It looks like things will be between the US and China, most likely with the US coming on top because of how strong Biles and Ross are. I think they’ll repeat their AA standings again.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I meant to add you before Kaley but you disappeared. You are now free to comment.

    • Catherine Says:

      Silver and bronze are up for grabs. All 4 teams are weak (USA a very strong weak compared to the rest though).

      China look good on paper but they are relying on headcases, inexperienced girls and Shang who scores badly internationally. Yao was recently injured and her status right now is it fully known re: training.

    • H Says:

      I think it is quite amazing that Ross could (again) be the second best gymnast in the world – 2014

  7. Melanie Says:

    New interview from Gabby on Gymnastike. She tries to sound diplomatic but fails pretty miserably. Ugh.

  8. girlgotwar Says:

    Cannot wait for Yao Jinnan in Nanning! She’s always been a favorite of mine since 2011 Worlds, and it’s too bad that 2012 and 2013 were so difficult for her. Hopefully competing in her home country will give her the fire to dominate, at least contend for a UB medal.

    I don’t mind the US domination honestly, it’s been awhile since the sport had someone like Biles who was so head and shoulder above the competition (can’t actually think of the last time WAG had such a strong gymnast, Shannon Miller maybe?) It’s what I loved about the 2008-2012 quad for MAG was seeing Kohei again and again just wipe the floor with his competition. Totally not boringπŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

