18 years ago today

Mag 7 win gold. Its too bad HD didn’t exist back then.

I have mixed feelings on this Gold medal. While it was great they won it also created some of the most obnoxious gymnasts the US has ever produced (as human beings anyway) I don’t know about you but I think the gymnastics world would have been better off with out the DoDo and DoMo birds but hey, my mind thinks differently🙂

Do you remember where you were? I do. In my room at my parents house searching the cable channels for any and all results pertaining to the team event. They finally said gold across the bottom of CNN and mentioned something about Kerri Strug.

86 Responses to “18 years ago today”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    For whatever reason this win seemed more “magical” but it probably had a lot to do with the hype surrounding Strug’s vault. Even though it wasn’t necessary for the win it still seemed to be pretty epic. I got waaaay more skeptical and critical about that moment when I grew older but at the time (I was like 12) it was pretty cool. Mag 7.

    Plus I just liked it better back then when they had compulsories and there were 7 to a team and it was 6 up 5 count (or something like that) so there were more routines in general. I really hate the format they have anymore (3 up 3 count). Fewer routines so one country can count on very little talent. Makes more sense when more people have to be used/relied upon to get a medal. But that’s just me. That’s a real “team” in my book.

    But yes I agree the Doms are about as obnoxious as any can get…however, at least one of them isn’t afraid to shout out the truth about the Karyolis. The funny thing is she does it every 4 years…

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      Ha ha…I was 12 too.🙂

      I don’t actually remember anything specific about the games, other than I had a crush on DoMo. Don’t hate me…I was 12. Lol. And who knew she’d grow up to be such a crazy hooker? Oh well, we all make mistakes right??

      I’m glad she speaks up about the Karyolis though, but until more people come forth it’s never going to go anywhere. With all of her family drama too, the accusations were kind of buried/ignored. You can only believe so much crazy (even if all of it’s 100% true) before you stop really listening.

      • gymnerd Says:

        I was much older than either of you, but I fell for the “Kerri is hurt! She is hurt badly!” stuff hook, line and sinker. I sat in front of the TV and got all teary when she made that second vault. Even my man-friend at the time said “That was awesome.” I’m much more jaded and cynical these days. Still love that team though, minus the Dom-dodos.

      • Case Says:

        I fell for it too gymnerd. I bought exactly what the television was selling at that moment. Oh to be young and nieve.

      • Karlie Says:

        lolololol I was like 5…I feel so young. haha

    • Gymbee Says:

      I was 12 too! I was at my grandparents house in the mountains. I wanted to watch the delayed broadcast (Norwegian TV), but my aunt wanted to watch some dumb soap opera. I still resent her for it.

    • Kyz Says:

      I was also 12. One of the more defining moments of my life. Because my name by birth is Shannon I felt pretty cool – even though that has nothing to do with the price of fish😉
      Fell for everything hook line and sinker as well.

  2. sainabou nyang Says:

    I remember it. I was like 12 years old. I wasn’t a big fan of gymnastics until later on but watching the MAG 7 win gold was exciting.

    2016 will be the 20 year anniversary of them winning gold. I’m thinking NBC will do a huge fluff piece on this or if Bailey Key makes the Rio team I could see NBC doing a fluff piece on Kim and how this is her moment of redemption.

  3. JAS4 Says:

    It’s funny how both times the us won gold there were memorable vaults lol. I would love to see McKayla do a TTY as well as she did that TF vault if she makes it to Rio.

  4. Lithi Says:

    And you know NBC will have fluff bits about this in Rio as it will be 20 years in 2016. Not to mention 40 years since Nadia’s perfect 10s. I can see Moceanu putting her mug everywhere for this, and that will make me watch Eurosport or BBC coverage.

    • Lithi Says:

      Okay, I see Sainabou beat me to it, forgive me for skimming. One can only imagine how many times the Mag 7 will be brought up and trotted out. I can actually picture a reunion show. If GTT still has this blog in 2 years we’ll need to make drinking games and die from the alcohol poisoning.

      • sainabou nyang Says:

        Lol oh man its gonna be so cheesy. I wonder if they’ll be abke to get all 7 in one room as the same time. Im thinking no because DomM will have a new book by then which will be a follow-up to her first book.

      • gymnerd Says:

        ^You say that like it’s a bad thing, sainabou. I wouldn’t mind if she wasn’t there, would you? 😉

  5. mim Says:

    I was 8 and only have the vaguest recollection of watching gymnastics. Although as a kid I was more into rhythmic because I danced and it was, in my 8 year old eyes, so much “prettier” lol.

    I actually should go back and watch the finals in full. I’ve only seen snippets of routines.

    I haaaaate the 3 up, 3 count format and the smaller teams. I know it’s meant to be fostering a more “equitable” playing field for smaller counties but sorry (not sorry) I’d rather see talent regardless of where the gymnast is from. And if that means there are more Russian, American, Romanian, whatever gymnasts competing, bring it on. Even if edges out gymnasts from my own country!

  6. Tortuga Says:

    I was eight years old. I remember I was just so mesmerized every time I saw any of the girls on tv, you couldn’t peel me away. I had asked to do gymnastics before but my parents wouldn’t let me, but by now I was tearing up the house flipping off couches that they didn’t really have a choice. We had taped some of the competitions on vhs and I would watch them constantly. From then on I have been pretty obsessed, gymnastics was my first love. I competed compulsories and optionals but never got very far. I was decent, but injury prone. I had popped my knee cap off and back on, which I didn’t tear any muscles but it was still a major set back, and I also had bulging discs in my lower back.

    • gymnerd Says:

      You sound a lot like me. Fell in love with it in an….earlier….Olympics, and never really got over it.

      • Tortuga Says:

        The magic of the Olympic games is a powerful thing. I still get so excited when I hear the Olympic theme and rotation music. I just turn right back into a kid again. I’m glad my parents decided to give me the chance to try it. The feeling of flying and doing a skill correctly for the first time or the thrill of competing are some of the best memories of my adolescence.

      • gymnerd Says:

        Yes!!! This. 🙂

  7. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    I actually watched this recently and then watched the all around competition. Does anybody remember that? Meltdowns by Miller and Dawes and they were both in major tears by the end. I was surprised because I didn’t remember that part at all. A bit anti-climactic after the exciting team victory.

    • Lithi Says:

      I remember. It certainly shut the crowd up, they were absolutely raucous.

    • Tortuga Says:

      I watched that too! Like three days ago. I felt like the media didn’t stress that Shannon and Dawes didn’t make the podium in the all around. It was just all about the team medal mostly. But they did stress Shannon’s beam gold and Amy’s bars silver. It’s crazy how Dawes went from 1st or 2nd into the 2nd rotation to finishing in 18th! Just a couple missteps could really damage you in the 10.0 system. And the top ten are all separated by the smallest margin. Now a days you can really distance yourself with difficulty. It’s not uncommon to win by over point.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I totally remember the AA because I so badly wanted Miller to win the gold she deserved (like redemption from having it taken from her in 1992). I think she made one mistake on floor and that took her out. It sucked. I think she stepped out of bounds or something. These days you can do that twice and still win gold with the new code, but back then all of your routines basically had to be perfect. Another reason why I preferred the “old” way of things.
      Dawes always had a propensity to buckle under pressure when it came to individual comps. She was doing well and then when it was looking like she could medal she did something stupid – I forget what her mistake was, but she did that kind of thing ALL THE TIME.

      • Katie Says:

        Same! I was so rooting for Miller even though Moceanu was being marketed as the next AA gold medal winner. Her difficulty was mediocre and her form wasn’t great either. Plus there were just sooo many good gymnasts. I know that Lilia was the favorite but there were like at least 10 or so gymnasts that realistically had a shot at being on the podium. I might watch the AA tonight. I think Moceanu stepped out of bounds and had some bobbles on beam. Dawes fell on floor and I think Shannon had a Grishna type error where she didn’t fall but she had some sort of mistake and couldn’t do her full tumbling pass. I think, now I’m really curious so I will definitely be rewatching it tonight.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Nope, Shannon was done in by her DLO. She had a similar error in TO, but it was worse in AA – short of rotation on landing, really big, low lunge forward. She just didn’t have the power to get it around at that point.

        Moceanu also sat her first vault. I was so gutted, I screamed “No!” Scared the crap out of my dad, who hadn’t been paying close attention to the TV and I got yelled at big time for it, lol. Prolly why that one stuck with me. I was almost 15, just a few weeks older than Dom M. and was a big fan at the time (not so much now). She landed her second vault, and I was psyched. But they averaged the two vaults in AA instead of taking the best of two as they did in team competition. Averaged, she still got hit with .250 deduction from V1’s fall. That was big in that COP. Her other errors were smaller, but piled on till she was in too deep of a hole.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t remember Moceanu falling on vault in the AA? Maybe I should watch the video.lol

      • TrishaG Says:

        Yeah, the first one was a carbon copy of the vaults she did in TO. She finally stood the second one, which I had to be very careful to celebrate at an appropriate volume level, lol.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Lol. Your story cracks me up Trisha.

        Did she just suck at vaulting? Or did something (pressure, injury, etc.) happen at the Olympics? Sitting down 3 out of 4 vaults is telling. And aren’t we talking about yurchenko fulls or one and a half vaults mostly at that time? Doesn’t seem to hard to put to your feet. Sticking it I can see being hard, but you don’t see many falls (even in NCAA) on yurchenko fulls.

      • gymnerd Says:

        @Uglyfatkid: She had a stress fracture in her leg, which reportedly affected her training (not enough reps) and landings. She always struck me as so stuck on herself, I was happy to see her lose. I so wanted Miller to win, for the same reasons Sanity mentioned above. Oh, and weren’t they still vaulting on the old horse at the time? I think it was harder to do the bigger vaults off of that because you had to be so very careful about where your hands were placed (i.e., not missing the horse).

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Thanks! I didn’t know about the stress fracture. And you’re right about the vault horse/table being more difficult. I didn’t think about that aspect.

      • gymnerd Says:

        UFK – if you go back and watch the 96 Trials on YouTube or somewhere, NBC makes a huge, huge deal about DM’s stress fracture and Bela “wishes he could give her his leg.” It’s fairly nauseating.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Yep, she’d only been vaulting for two weeks prior or something like that because of the stress fracture. She was vaulting 1.5 yurchenkos so there was the blind landing. The commentators said that she was going for the stick rather than being safe and slightly over-rotate to take a step forward, but put it to your feet. But go for the stick and slightly under-rotate, you’re gonna sit the vault when you land blind. Same as with Maroney in London.

        Probably would’ve been smarter to take the step on vault 1 in AA and then try to stick on the 2nd, maybe. i kinda admire that she kept going for the stick, tbh. Sucks it didn’t work out tho.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Moceanu and her fake injury. SPARE ME. Funny how that “injury” disappeared the second the Olympics was over and only happened when Miller was
        really hurt. I don’t buy that injury. Never did and never will.

      • TrishaG Says:

        Glad you enjoyed it, Uglyfatkid. I wonder if my dad remembers it, lol. I should ask him. It’s hilarious look back at it now, but at the time, it was such a teenage fangirl moment of angst. “OMG, Dad! Stop yelling at me!!! Dominique just fell on vault…AGAIN! Don’t you know how important this is???” “Well, I’m sorry you were working on your crossword puzzle. I didn’t mean to scare you. But this is the OLYMPICS, Dad!” “Okay, fine. I’m sorry. I’m really sorry, ok? I promise I’ll be quiet. Just please don’t change the channel!!! I HAVE to watch!!!” LOL.

      • TrishaG Says:

        GTT – I get the skepticism, but the Karolyis sucked at pacing their athletes for the Olympics at the end of their coaching career. They broke them. Kim with her broken ankle broke my 10-year-old heart in Barcelona. Okino was an absolute mess in ’92 and Kerri looked like a refugee waif. Kim was well paced for pretty much everything else, but broke before the Olympics. Alexandrov had been Dom’s main coach, but the Karolyis fired him and took over as the Olympics got close so they could take the credit. They broke her, though at least it was a stress fracture instead of a broken ankle like Zmeskal. (easier to compete on). Then Kerri breaks at the Olympics. Yeah, her fall contributed to the injury as did vaulting on it again, but she was probably vulnerable to injury to begin with. Her first vault doesn’t look like something that should injure someone. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone else get injured by sitting a vault like that… just Kerri. IF she wasn’t overtrained at that point, would she have gotten injured at all??

        Seriously though, can anyone think of another gymnast injured after sitting down a vault??? Not landing on their butt like Yamilet, but landing on their feet then sitting it like Kerri and Maroney.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Moceanu had no problem bouncing back the second the Olympics was over so sorry I will never believe her injury was real.

  8. Melanie Says:

    I was also eight at the time, and was getting more and more involved with gymnastics. Watching the Mag 7 made me want to go to the Olympics (like any other girl gymnast my age!). I had Mag 7 everything – posters, folders, even a ruler that I used for years. I confess, Moceanu was my favorite, mostly because they marketed her specifically to girls my age. She was little and young, like me, and I idolized her. Despite how annoying she can be now, I will always have a soft spot in my heart for Domi.

    I agree with the other posters here and wish they would return to the 7-6-5 format rather than the 3-3 format. It just made for more gymnastics and forced countries to increase their depth. And I wouldn’t say no to compulsories coming back….maybe. I don’t know if I’ll ever get over Mo Huilan not qualifying for BB EF because of her compulsory routine.

    • Case Says:

      I’m all for returning to any system that allows the Jaycie Phelps’ of the world to participate.

      • Melanie Says:

        Yes, the unsung hero of the team. I remember watching a Mag 7 reunion documentary and she still seemed rather pissed off about her gymnastics past. Apparently (at the time of filming) her family was still paying off debts incurred during her competition years. Didn’t seem to have a whole lot of love lost for the sport, and I can’t say I blame her since she was completely ignored in the Dom-Dom-Shannon-KERRI hype.

        I loved Amanda Borden, too. Aly Raisman reminds me of her, only in a good-team-captain way.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Shannon deserved any hype she had. Even Kerri deserves some credit for vaulting while hurt (even though we all know the real injury happened on the 2nd vault) The rest of the hype machine was highly overrated and overscored.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Here’s an interesting game – who would have been left off Mag 7 if they had today’s code (5-person team?)

        I’m guessing definitely Phelps and either Chow or Borden…

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Chow was a one event gymnast and overscored on that. She would have been left off if I made the decision. She never would have been an UB medalist if the Olympics was anywhere but the US.

        Jaycie was 3rd at Nationals that year. She was on the team.

        Miller, DoMo. Doda, Strug and Phelps would have been the team. IMO
        Borden being left off that team would have been a tragedy.

        Miller, Strug and Doda had all 4 events covered for 3 up add in the overscoring of Moceanu and IMO that team fights with Romania for Gold. Simona, Milo and Gogean were so overscored on bars that quad.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        OK what if Marta were choosing since that’s how today’s code works as well. I would think she’d try to leave Miller off, but that would be near impossible (like leaving off Jordyn on the London team).

        Why would it have been a tragedy if Borden were left off? I honestly didn’t really follow her as much since I idolized Shannon, and also loved the Doms at the time too (sad to say). I forgot/don’t remember how nationals played out.

      • Melanie Says:

        Borden was the rock of the team, emotionally. Apparently Dawes completely freaked the second they hit the competition floor that night (even though it was her second Olympics), and Borden (who was experiencing it for the first time) had to calm her down. She also had some really pretty and solid gymnastics, like Phelps, that were overlooked.

        Miller definitely deserved the hype. Sorry to toss her in with the others. Kerri moderately deserved the hype, though as a former gymnast, I can confidently say that any other girl on that team would have vaulted again too. Though they might not have stuck it.🙂

        I never got the Dawes hype (other than that she was one of the first gymnasts of color to have much success). Her bowlegs ALWAYS bothered me, even as an eight-year old.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I liked Dawes’ double pass on floor. At the time I was pretty impressed with that.

        Miller deserved the hype, and then some. The fact she stayed relevant as long as she did…wow. I’m still impressed to this day about it. And she was just technically great. Still feel she was robbed in 1992, big time.

        Kerri Strug they say was always “overlooked” but she more than made up for that with that second vault. That second vault was her meal ticket.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Dawes invented back to back tumbling. Just ask NBC:)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I would have been very disappointed if Borden was left off that team. She deserved it and frankly with her form and technique she was underscored compared to the shit Chow. Moceanu and Dawes put on the floor.

        You are correct ANY of the girls would have done that second vault and even Kerri has said that.

        I give Kerri all the credit in the world for doing the second vault but like you said, every girl would have done it.

        I heard the story about Amanda on one of those documentaries they did but I am afraid Marta wouldn’t have given a ****
        about what Amanda brought to the table.

        By her National results Jaycie would have deserved the 5th spot but even though she was relatively clean she did not
        score big outside the US.

        Politics of the sport

      • TrishaG Says:

        Plus, Kerri was still trying to make AA and vault finals. She needed a good vault to make both. She was pretty close to Moceanu for the 3rd AA spot. Even though the team might not have needed her to vault to get gold, she needed to vault again to qualify for her individual goals.

        She did something to the ankle after vault 1, but it wasn’t severe enough that she could tell the rest of the competition would be off the table for her. Otherwise, she wouldn’t have vaulted again when it was mostly to try for her own goals. Unfortunately, that’s when she really messed it up and tore ligaments (3rd degree sprain). It was probably just a 1st or 2nd degree sprain after vault 1 (stretched or partially torn ligaments respectively).

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        I still do not understand how if bela did not ask for a medical time out for Strugg. He could have seen what the romanian floor score was and then saved her from that second vault. I dont know what the rules were in 1996, but he should have tried for a podium pause. I think had she avoided the second vault, or gotten a few more seconds time between she could have competed AA which would have been even better. Sad thing is Dumb dom should have landed her vault at least once. Then we definitely could have pulled Kerri after vault one. bela didnt care about her. He cared about team gold.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Bela also knows potential Olympic glory/good media exposure when he sees it. That “moment.” No, he didn’t care about Kerri’s health but you saw him run up there the second she landed and it was obvious she was hurt so he could also get in the limelight.

        As it was, Kerri’s fame and fortune are much higher for that second vault than any potential placement in the AA and event finals. More than likely she wouldn’t have placed in either, and she got to leave that Olympics as the “hero” of that team. I mean to this day the four-year fans know Kerri Strug only for that second vault.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She never would have won a vault medal but judging how she was scored I think she would have had bronze on floor. It would have been between her and Domo.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I still think that second vault brings her much more fame/fortune than a bronze medal would. Nobody really remembers the bronze medalist.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She killed her fame chances when she separated from the team for money and claimed it was for school.

        Kerri always said the right things about the Gold medal but she did the opposite of that.

        No one knows her name they just call her the vault girl.lol
        You are 100% right more fame from the vault.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Couldn’t agree more. Even if she won a metal (unless it was gold), she never would have the fame that she achieved in the US that came from that vault injury. She was played up to be the team savior, and the most amazing gymnast ever (to do what she did). Had she won a metal, she just would have been another metal winner. No one would know who she is.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Vault girl with REALLY BAD hair-do.

      • Katie Says:

        The Russian scores were in by the time Kerri did her second vault. They were going to win gold without the second vault. Aside from that, she wasn’t going to qualify to AA without the second vault. It was a dire situation in terms of her individual AA qualifiactions, but definitely not in terms of the team gold. USAG rewrote the whole story saying that Kerri “did it for the team” but that really wasn’t how it went.

      • gymnerd Says:

        Melanie – do you have a link to that reunion documentary, or remember what it was called? I would love to see that!

      • TrishaG Says:

        Yep, pretty ,much. In the fluff they showed later on in Atlanta, Kerri admitted she wanted to compete AA and knew she needed to vault again to beat out Dom. It makes for a better story to have vaulted again just for the team, digging deep within to find the strength to win the first ever team gold, etc. I’m sure that as soon as she got a publicist, they reworked the story for better marketability. Just a wee bit of dramatic license, lol.

        In all fairness, I don’t think they knew at that moment if they had it or not without her. They had a big lead going in, but Russia didn’t finish floor until after Kerri’s second vault. That went on during Rosa Galieva’s FX, and she scored poorly because she couldn’t hear the music above the crowd when that all went down. I think they knew they probably had it, but the coaches didn’t seem to be able to do the math fast enough to confirm it completely. I think the score for the second to last Russian came up just before Kerri’s first vault. When you watch the broadcast, none of the coaches seem to know if they have it or not. Probably none of them thought that Dom would fall twice and Kerri would fall, lol. I kinda think they didn’t track the scores of the earliest Russians or have someone assigned to track the Russian scores and break down the math as they went. I mean, the coaches were not used to working together in the way they do now.

        Did they know they *probably* had it regardless? Yeah. But would you want to make that assumption at a home Games with the gold on the line…and then lose by .001???? Even if you were 99% sure that Kerri didn’t need to vault again, I don’t know that I’d want to risk that 1% chance in those circumstances. I don’t know if the rules allowed a podium pause or not back then in that type of situation.

  9. uglyfatkid Says:

    Sorry, this is kind of off topic…but all the talk about Amanda and Shannon got me thinking.

    Why in hell is Tim Daggett still commentating? And how in the hell did we get stuck with #NastiaHasHerpes? I went back and watched coverage of 2013 Worlds, and Amanda is commentating (it’s the Universal Sports coverage). I think she does a great job. She knows her shit, and she also presents well. Then you have Shannon who commentates all of the 2012 Olympic stuff on YouTube. Everything I have heard from her I have liked. YET…we have stupid ass Tim still commentating. I wondered why they didn’t bring either of them in to replace Elfie sooner, then I realized that Tim wouldn’t be the “technical” expert anymore if they did. If you notice, he takes the lead on most technical comments. Elfie only chimed in occasionally, and who knows what the hell #HerpesRUsNastia brings to the table. I bet he only wants “window dressing” for a co-commentator (hence #NeedAValtrexRefillNastia). That’s my guess, Amanda or Shannon would “threaten” his technical expertise role.

    It just pisses me off that both ladies have so much more talent then both Tim and #QueenHerpesNastia…yet we have to suffer through the crappier duo.

    I think we should start a petition to get Tim and #NastyHerpesNastia out of there. Stupid ass Al is an idiot, but they can keep him if we can switch the other two.🙂

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Agreed but Shannon and Amanda are basically the same though Shannon actually talks techn ical stuff.

      Nastia is screwing someone at NBC. Its the only thing that makes sense.

      Tim came out and said once that he does what NBC wants him to do and that he would do it differently if he had a choice so I can’t
      really blame him but why we are stuck with these idiots is because NBC is ran by idiots.

      • Karlie Says:

        I actually really liked Amanda and Bart Connor’s 2013 Worlds commentary as well – they made a nice combination, I thought. I liked Shannon a lot too. I do not understand the choice of Nastia, though; it’s like because she competed with some of these girls recently she feels qualified to comment on “oh they must do ____ in training, I’ve seen her since she was a little girl,” etc. etc. and honestly it just screams PAY ATTENTION TO ME, REMEMBER HOW GREAT I WAS?!?

        ughhh so irritating.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Agreed! And I think it’s in her contract that Al has to ask her at least 2 stupid ass questions so she can talk about herself every comp. “Nastia, did you hate or love the beam when you were competing?” “Nastia, how do you think she’s feeling right now?” “Nastia, how would you feel if I stick my tongue down your throat ’cause I’m a big perv?” Al drives me crazy as it is, but you throw her Into the mix and I go ballistic.

        She really adds NOTHING to the team other than filling some dead space. She isn’t technical, she just repeats everything Tim says but in a different way, and she is dumb as rocks and can’t put a coherent sentence together. Remember her devaluated line at nationals?

        I think I’m going to write down all the dumb things she says during Classics and Nationals and write a blog about it for GTT to post.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Please do.lol I really tune her out as much as I can and try and stick to youtube videos.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        LOL. Okay, I’m doing it! I’ll need to DVR them so I can rewind them to make sure I get her wording right.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Honestly the thing I hate most about Nastia’s commentating is her voice deflection. It all sounds so rehearsed and fake. Even my husband is like “who the hell is that” with her voice-overs and I tell him and he’s like “she sounds like a moron.”

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She’s not new at this anymore either. 2 years and she is only getting worse.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Soo true Sanity and GTT! She comes off completely phoney, unless of course she is talking about herself. Then she sounds like she is for real.

    • Katie Says:

      I kindof find it charming that Tim Daggett follows his parody account. At least he has a sense of humor about the whole thing. He also gave an interview on gymcastic about how NBC dictates that his Olympic commentary is primarily for the four year fans. He gave a pretty good example of how even though Gabby was the best bar worker for the US she didn’t really stand a chance to even medal during UB EF but he had to play it up like she was in contention because NBC had received many complaints about how he was so negative and he had to play up the Americans.

      That being said, there is no excuse for his commentary for the rest of the competitions but it’s become almost like a drinking game. Any time Tim says something absurd, drink. Anytime the following exchange occurs, drink:

      Al: Wow, Elfie, that was amazing! What was that move?
      Elfie: It was a back handspring, Al.

      Also, I think Nastia gets on Tim’s nerves a bit.

      • Lol Says:

        He knows she should not be there. I think he knows they can replace him in a heartbeat like they did elfi

      • Tortuga Says:

        Al has been commentating so long now, there is now way he doesn’t know this sport well enough to keep up. I know some of it is an act but it’s pretty ridiculous. You can always leave it to Al to ask the stupidest questions like “Why is Alicia just saluting on bars and not doing a routine Tim?” And then Tim has to go into his rant about how it’s an “archaic” rule that we still have to do even for specialists. Like how many damn times do you need to tell us about the new scoring system and how scratching works? I wish there was a gymnastics network with Amanda and Shannon for the every year fans.

  10. JAS4 Says:

    I would like to see Shannon and Alicia as commentators lol

    • Short1 Says:

      I’d kind of like to see this as well. I really enjoyed Shannon’s commentary during the Olympics and Alicia’s NCAA commentary was pretty good (and bonus: there were NO comments about how it was when she was competing).

  11. Exgymgurl Says:

    I think Nastia is about to lose her job with NBC. She got sent home before the end of the Sochi olympics. Not a good sign.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      I hope this is true. Anyone can do a better job than her at this point. GET RID OF HER NBC!!!

    • Lithi Says:

      I didn’t know that. Hmm…

      Back to the conversation above about her commentating, she actually works with Creepy Uncle Al? (Trautwig) Does he make any comments about how limber she was? I still can’t watch that bit of her in Beijing and him talking about her “limber body” without wanting to lobotomize myself.

  12. gymnerd Says:

    So there’s a rumor on another board that “According to Nia Dennis’ ask.fm, Gabby is now training at Buckeye.” Anyone know anything about that? I don’t know which posters are reputable on that board.

  13. JAS4 Says:

    I have seen it all over tumblr as well. I am kind of surprised she ended up some where with another top elite. I was thinking she may end up some where with no current top elites. Perhaps they want the publicity though.

  14. JAS4 Says:

    someone just ask Nia if it was temporaty and she said she didn’t know that Gabby hadn’t decided yet

  15. JAS4 Says:

    I wonder if it will end up being like a Bross/Nastia situation if she stays? They would both basically be fighting for the same spot and have similar style.

  16. gymmom2 Says:

    Since Nastia’s dad was the coach, anyone with have half a brain could have predicted that one – this is a little different scenario. And a gym with another elite with really good potential would likely be the only one who would consider taking her. That way if she bombs and your other kid continues to do well, it falls more on the Gabby than the coach. And who besides the media really thinks she will make Rio?

    Side note – only 11 seniors qualified to Championships so far – no wonder Baby Lou Retton thought it was a good year to try.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Marta is not interested in the current crop of seniors. She has her picks for “the quad” which is anyone 2000 or prior born that she likes. You know its bad when Polina schennikova isnt even trying and yet alyssa baumann is right there. USA gymnastics has become all about olympic medals. They want the girls that can crank out a team gold then at least one individual medal. Marta is also convinced that difficult vaults win gold or silver team medals. That and solid consistent beam and bar routines. Floor has always been something that someone from the US could medal at. Her formula is three solid AA, a vaulter, a bars and beam specialist. She didnt use the sixth (McCool) in team finals in 04. In 08 Chellsie was the push AA third spot to scare Shawn and Nastia into good qual scores before her injury. Bridget was the extra DTY. Sam was the bars / beam / quality backup (not used in TF even if healthy). In any case Marta only ever used 5 at TF in the olympics since we’ve had 3 up 3 count and shes been in charge. I think gymnastics is so popular they should go back to seven member teams with 5 up 4 count per event. 3 up 3 count for finals. I think this would help China Romania and Russia by allowing more Event specialists and really getting all of the best gymnastics from all of the tier one countries performed at the olympics.

      We’d better watch Alexandrov work his magic in Brazil. They will have medal contenders come rio…

      • gymmom2 Says:

        Dont they have some rule about the total number of competitors in a sport and gymnastics only has so many. I thought that is why whenever they added a T&T or Rhythmic or added something else, they kept reducing the number of artistic. Seems stupid to me -so maybe not true

Leave a Reply

