Rebecca Andrade and Flavia Saraiva

She already looks like a senior. Has an Amanar, Impressive skills on floor and need some bar work.

Flavia here had a beautiful beam routine going til the fall. A lot of potential here.

59 Responses to “Rebecca Andrade and Flavia Saraiva”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    This isn’t the US, is it? I’m totally thinking that can’t be the Karolyi ranch…

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I think its Brazil or Spain. Two talented kids though.

    • Case Says:

      The ranch needs us to come in and do an Extreme Gym Makeover. I’d volunteer just to get inside the gates of Marta’s lair.

      • Melanie Says:

        Haha, your comment gave me the visual of Marta training the gymnasts in an underground gym with creepy lightbulbs hanging from the ceiling.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I hope to see Rebecca do well this quad. She seeems like she is really trying to improve.

  3. Melanie Says:

    Rebecca and Flavia are incredible. Flavia, in particular, reminds me of Omelianchik. They are Brazilian, thriving under the influence of Alexandrov. I hope he nurtures a team that can beat Russia some time in the future — while I would love that to happen in Rio, I doubt that’s enough time. But, wouldn’t it be magnificent to see Alexandrov really stick it to the Rodionenkos?

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I love them both. Such promiss! The way things are going in Russia, it’s totally plausible for Brazil to place well. I’m not sure if it can happen as a team but definetly on an individual basis in Rio. Can’t wait to see what happens come Rio.

      • mim Says:

        Oh I can’t WAIT to see how Russia fronts up against Brazil in 2016. I know expecting too much from Brazil in two years isn’t necessarily fair but I’m so excited to see how they’ll develop for Rio.

  4. GymMom Says:

    Gabby got an award for “Queen of Swag” at the Kids Choice Awards for Sports last night. What does that even mean?

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Im with you gym mom. I have no idea. Swag is usually freebies. Maybe it means she and her mom are the best at running around showing up at sponsor tents and hoarding pseudocelebrity swag bags.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It means she showed up so they made up an award. I bet if they polled the entire crowd 3 people would know who she was

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Agreed. It means gabby’s PR person paid to have a fake award presented to try and keep her relevant. This award is the most made up thing I have ever heard.

  5. Exgymgurl Says:

    Gabby to Miles Davis in Asheville?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      We call this the bottom of the barrel.No one else was willing to take her

      • Case Says:

        Here’s the thing though…I don’t think Miles coaches female gymnasts. His wife is much less accomplished and I think handles the girls. I can totally see Natalie being drawn to his life story though:
        Asheville doesn’t seem like the kind of town Gabby is after either. Very interesting choice if it happens.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I have been thinking about it and I think it was that stacey guy that the hamms left on bad terms. Damn mymemory

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She’s done IMO. Without Chow she would have never have been what she was and that is with all the benefits she got at his gym because lets bne real she did not deserve hervbeam connections and the overscoring at the Olympics was suspicio0us

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Agreed. She is nothing without Chow. It’s clear that everyone knows that too, since no one wants her. Could you imagine if Biles, Aly, Jo (if she was actually training), or Kyla went looking for a new gym? They’d have takers left and right. It’s clear that Gabby is more trouble than she is worth. Whether it’s lack of talent, her stupid mom, her sketchy past with unpaid gym bills, the racism accusations, or a combination of everything…it is clear that people don’t want her and the associated drama.

      • Case Says:

        Agree. It’s going to be hard for another coach to catch “lightning in a bottle” with Gabby given all her other priorities. I bet she coach hops two more times then disappears.

    • Case Says:

      WTH? Seriously??

    • Katie Says:

      Wow. It says a lot when the reigning Olympic aa champ can’t get in anywhere even remotely legit.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        and that Marta couldn’t force anyone to take her. Its almost like Marta told gyms to not take her PURE SPECULATION

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Well he did coach the ham bros

    • Gymbee Says:

      For a second I thought he was Bridget Sloan’s old coach, what was his name again?

  6. JAS4 Says:

    Asheville is only about 3hrs away from me. I wonder if she will get an apartment or if she (and/or Natalie) will demand a room at the biltmore house lol

    • gymnerd Says:

      Hmmm…how far is it from Virginia Beach?

      Sounds like “The Gabby Douglas Story, Part II” is going to be way more interesting than part 1.

      • biyatch Says:

        Asheville is like 7 hours away from Virginia Beach. It is a super hippie town in the mountains of western North Carolina. Going there for a weekend to visit the town or go to an event at Biltmore is great, more than that… yeah.

  7. mim Says:

    What do you guys make of this rumour: alledgedly Chow was trying to get his gymnasts to sign binding two-year contracts until Rio (as in, they would be restricted from leaving the gym) and may have disciplined by USAG.. all totally conjecture at this point (it’s on Lauren Hopkins’ blog as rumour) buy apparently that might be why Mama Douglas got pissed off and pulled Gabby out.

    I’m in two minds about it if it’s true. Although to be honest I don’t know the usual arrangements gyms have with gymnasts and their parents

    • gymnerd Says:

      How could he enforce that?

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      I think it’s a load of BS to cover up for Gabby’s/Natalie’s leaving. People who like her want to attribute her departure to Chow in some way. They want something they can point to and say…”look, THIS is why she left.” I think it’s all made up.

      And even if it’s true, I don’t see the issue to be honest. If I am going to work my ass of training you (and taking time away from other students), then I want a commitment too. You don’t have to work with me, but if you decide too…then let’s do this for real. No half assing it. It’s a huge commitment for Chow, and it should be for the gymnast as well. If they don’t like it, they can leave.

      Out of all of the coaches, Chow seems the most balanced to me. He doesn’t seem crazy or unrealistic. And he seems to really know what he is doing regarding teaching. So when I hear this stuff, it makes me doubtful of the validity of the news.

      • mim Says:

        Ugly yeah I’m inclined to think the same about Chow. He seems pretty fair and sensible, and I can understand why he’s feel the need to protect his business to some extent with the ins/outs of Shawn and Gabby particularly. Just thought it was an interesting rumour to come out of the Gabby Gym saga.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Couldn’t agree more Mim! It was a very interesting rumor – I’m glad you tossed it our way!🙂

        I think Gabby’s people are on damage control right now, so I wouldn’t be surprised if we hear some more crazy excuses/rumors for her leaving. I also think it’s telling that she (or her people) have not publicly said why she left. To me that points to one thing…Chow was done with her and HE called it. There could be many reasons for the parting…but it’s clear that Gabby side is trying to avoid something (since they haven’t said anything official about it). They were contacted for that article GymMom posted, but they never responded. Chow doesn’t seem affected by it all, which again points to this being his decision.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Geddert did that to Jordyn. Basically.

    • H Says:

      what is the name to Lauren Hopkins blog?

  8. sanitynmotion Says:

    Couch Gymnast had posted an article on FB where Gabby insists “she’s not done” on her quest to Rio. She is so jaded I don’t know where to begin. That she thinks she can just coach hop and then leave the coach that made her who she was – the decision has Natalie written all over it but it’s Gabby’s reputation at the end of the day and nobody will want to take her on, especially as she probably already has the stigma of Natalie following her (nobody wants to deal with that fat lazy b*tch). Most coaches don’t want to just take on elites (even famous ones) if they don’t have to – elites cost time and money, and there’s nothing set in stone that the time/money will pay off. Gabby’s done for. No other reputable coach will foreseeably want to take her unless Gabby’s willing to cut them a good deal, and you know how that’s going to come across with Mama Natalie.

    Chow is probably more than happy to get rid of the whole drama in his gym and focus on his other elites.

    • H Says:

      Geddert would handle the mother and maybe Gabby – he probably learned something last time around

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I was thinking about that, and I might have to disagree (but not fully). He didn’t want to deal with Bross and her dad, and his “elite training days” seem to be over now that Jordyn has moved on.
        I think he makes more money/profits more from his level 10s, and Gabby would take up too much of his time. He did it for Jordyn for her promise/talent and their relationship, but he doesn’t have that kind of relationship with Gabby.

        The only thing that does make me agree with you there (sort of) is that Geddert suffers from expanded ego syndrome; he may take Gabby on just out of ego’s sake, but then again with the press that comes with it he might want to let that go. And who knows if that would strain relations even more since isn’t Geddert under fire already?

        As it is he’s probably already blackballed in Marta’s eyes.

        If Natalie/Gabby had a brain she should be putting heads together with Marta and getting Marta’s take on the situation, but I feel like Marta would have told them to stick with Chow.

        I really think this latest move of Gabby’s is that last nail in that Rio coffin for her.

      • Melanie Says:

        My impression of Geddert is that he’s always been an attention whore, so on the one hand I wouldn’t be surprised if he took Gabby. That said, sanity is right that he makes MUCH more money off of the team gymnasts than the one elite he produced (Jordyn).

        And we’re not talking about any old elite gymnast here. We’re talking about an elite gymnast who racks up thousands of dollars in debt at a gym, then leaves with out a breath of thanks, and later accuses that same gym of racism. Not once did she give Excalibur any credit for her success, even though Chow got her in a gift-wrapped package a year-and-a-half before London.

        Any coach who would take her on is asking for it, in my opinion. She has ruined her reputation so thoroughly that I think it will be difficult for her to find ANY gym in time to be an actual threat to any currently competing gymnast.

      • H Says:

        I understand what you both are saying, my thought was that Geddert would like to have an opportunity again – bringing an elite to success in Olympics, and this time around fix what he did wrong in the process the last year + towards London with Jordyn.

        Regarding money, I don’t know how much more he makes on level 10 ?
        And it is hard doing things only for money in the long run.
        Less ego more heart – and the ego has been shaken pretty hard.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Geddert also knows Gabby is not a for-sure thing. He knows Marta’s games and is probably well aware that Gabby won’t get the free pass Nastia got. So I’m not sure he would feel it would be worth it – ego and all – to take on an elite at this point. Especially a non-committed one.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Geddert has a gymnast at classics

      • Case Says:

        I posted about Geddert on another recent article but I can tell you he would not take Gabby. I think he is certainly open to coaching elites, but only those he has brought up through the ranks.

        Oh and he would also have no problem handling Natalie. For that reason alone Won’t check out his gym.

  9. gymnerd Says:

    @Sanity – he may also be worried (as other coaches could) that if Gabby doesn’t repeat, it will reflect badly on his coaching, rather than on her lack of commitment. “Chow got it done. Geddert didn’t get it done with Jordyn, and Gabby’s results slipped under his tutelage.” Guy can’t win. I think he’s a bit of a tool, but I wouldn’t wish Gabby on him, or really any sane coach. Hey….maybe the (formerly) Cypress twins?!

    Re: “fat, lazy bitch” – over at IG there are a couple of posters calling people with opinions like ours “racist.” “It fits with the stereotype of a black welfare mother,” something like that. Good thing they don’t read here. 😉

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Ugh, racist is so overused these days. It still kills me when people criticize Obama (for things he DOES, not his appearance) and then others point the finger and call that person “racist.” Dude, the GUY IS HALF WHITE TOO. Why can’t people get it through their heads “racist” doesn’t really apply?

      And Natalie is a fat, lazy beyotch no matter what skin color she has. If she were Asian, Italian, Canadian, Indian, or Mexican I’d say the same thing. Just calling a spade a spade, and yes it was a mean comment but I’m allowed free speech, right? I’ll admit it was mean. I just can’t stand people who feel entitled to handouts and don’t bother even working for it, and then when they come into a means of repaying others for their past kindness, they greedily ignore their past debts and then literally bite the hand that had fed them. Natalie’s actions all speak “user” and “manipulator” and if Chow had to negotiate Natalie out of the picture for Gabby to come back, that tells you a lot.

      But at the end of the day Natalie’s just preventing her daughter from potentially achieving something again, and only hurting herself this time. Serves her right I guess. I just wonder what’ll happen after they blow through all of Gabby’s money.

      • gymnerd Says:

        Oh, I didn’t mean your comment was racist. No respect for Fatalie (I know that’s mean, but it’s so damn funny) from me, and you never mentioned her color. I’m just enjoying sitting back and watching the holier-than-thouness over there. So much more fun over here where we can make fun of idiots for their…well, idiocy.

        I just hope Gabby doesn’t decide she’s going to open her own gym. And when her money is gone by the time she’s maybe 25 (if it lasts that long), I can see her making the rounds of B-list talk shows (Jerry Springer types), telling the world that Chow, USAG, and her Olympic teammates were all racists. Somehow, “the Olympic champion was victimized by a racist, vicious American public.” You heard it here first.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know you weren’t accusing me of that – I was just saying in general, I’m so sick of seeing that thrown around! Just because anyone is critical of someone else, and that person happens to be of a different color, does not constitute racism. I feel like since we now have a “black” President people are hypersensitive about it but honestly, here in CA white people aren’t even the majority anymore so I don’t know where others get off on going around accusing everyone of being racist if they don’t share the same opinions on people. Like those that are calling for Obama’s impeachment for BREAKING THE LAWS numerous times are being accused of racism. Eh, whatever.

        That being said, back to Natalie and Gabby. Yeah, they are going to run into some walls trying to extend the “fame train” – they will find out rather quickly that Gabby will only really be able to capitalize on her success every four years. And even then that will wane off eventually. Gabby’s personality also isn’t the best for media outlets and advertising. She’s just awkward to be frank. Some people “have” it and others just don’t. Even Shawn has it and she’s struggling, and realizing that yes, 2008 is starting to be a more and more distant memory. She’s no longer that cute little blonde pixie hopping around on the gym floor. Now she’s a woman and having trouble promoting her “image” because she doesn’t know what that image is or will be yet. Fitness guru? Youth champion? Whatever. I had called it a while ago but Shawn’s struggling to figure out who she is and what she wants to be. Her FB posts are fitness oriented but there’s never pictures of herself because obviously she’s not 100% committed to that. Even then, is she still even going to college or did that last about a semester?

        Gabby shot herself in the foot for leaving Chow, and now she’s stuck with trying to make a comeback with less than 2 years left to go before Rio and I really don’t see another solid coach taking her on.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      When hell freezes over will IG be though I do love when people bad mouth my blog and claim they don’t read it when in fact they try to post all the time:)

      • JAS4 Says:

        GTT how about a blog about some of the things the trolls try to post? Lol (I can’t remember if you have done that before or something similar?)

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Lol. I would love to read something like that!🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        There haven’t been any trolls lately. How sad is that? even the trolls are bored of this

        Thankfully the spam folder at wordpress is freaking amazing so I rarely see the trolls any more.; I really think
        when I did have issues it was pretty much the same 4 or 5 people. Maybe they grew up? or maybe they will wait til worlds:)

      • Gymbee Says:

        That would be funny. Like a “best of the trolls” haha.

      • Tortuga Says:

        I agree that would be awesome blog material.

      • Lithi Says:

        Technically, GTT, I do post at IG. *thumbs nose* :p

        I once called Valeri a Kazakh dipstick and got a earful from an IG poster about being hateful and borderline racist. I hate walking on eggshells with this crap, Maybe I was hateful, but…ah, screw this. PC can kiss my fishbelly-white ass.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Normal people can post but those gang members as they are labeled at that board better never admit to posting here or KABanned they go.:)
        Hey when I originally started this blog I had planned on being just like Abomb. I still could:P

    • gymmom2 Says:

      Former Cypress Twins – Deanna and Debbie – that would be fun since currently Simone is training there- although not being trained by them. Not sure where things are with her own gym. We could have dueling gymnasts being trained by different elite coaches in the same gym. One with “real” parents and one with – well with Natalie. Would never happen, but fun to imagine.

    • biyatch Says:

      I’ve heard of 2 gyms, 1 on each coast that have turned Gabby down. Slim pickings when your reputation of being difficult precedes you.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Name names Biyatch🙂

      • gymnerd Says:

        Yeah, I wanna know too. 😀

        Hey, what if Gabby goes to be coached by Domi Moceanu? Attention whore meets attention whore…the drama would be AWESOME!!!!

Leave a Reply

