My best year ever MY ASS. Camp info

The other day my HORRORscope ( yep I went there) said starting the next day I would be having the best year of my life. Since then I have fallen down the stairs and scratched my arm. Lost electricity for 6 hours sitting in a hot house alone in 85 degree weather playing frame tag with my IPod light because I couldn’t find a flash light and the boy went out with his friends. and to top it all off the Red Sox haven’t won a game since that day. I think the karmic universe has found issue with me for something I didn’t even do. Well FUCK YOU KARMIC UNIVERSE. You will not
take me down.

Some camp info- (Thanks Jas) Simone Biles won the AA. Madison overscored because she competes for Woga was second and Kyla I refuse to upgrade Ross was third. Sorry Kyla I love you kid but if you are being beat at camp by Madison Kocian its time to turn in your Elite card and go have a life as the best College gymnast ever. Sorry negative me is staying until my best damn year turns into what it promised me.


My new anthem. At least the bitch part.

137 Responses to “My best year ever MY ASS. Camp info”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    I don’t know how much Kyla is capable of upgrading as far as vault and floor are concerned but I do think she has a could upgrade a good bit on bars/beam unless she her body just won’t cooperate anymore but I don’t know if there will be a bars/beam spot needed in Rio with some of the new seniors by then

  2. JAS4 Says:

    http://dariaskrypnik.tumblr.com/post/90802457927/american-classic-elite-qualifier
    American Classic
    (My phone wouldn’t open the link for the results but hopefully it will worm for everyone else)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      ALL American Classic talk should be followed by the words, at the ranch. That explains the scoring.

    • exgymgurl Says:

      Except Alyssa Pritchett. Her scoring on the horrible choreo on that floor routine was fair. But Baby Baumann was ripe with WOGA inflation

  3. Case Says:

    Dear Kyla,
    Stanford called. They want their lovely NCAA gymnast stat.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Kyla will go to worlds. The whole Kocian thing is just to freak her out and piss her off. I mean kocian also beat Brenna Dowell… Who was beating everyone a few months ago. Snore…..

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I refuse to believe she will just go to College. There is too much talent to waste and the little girl I enjoyed as a junior will be back. College is for
      stooopid people πŸ™‚

  4. Gymbee Says:

    I’m glad you wrote a new blog, but very sorry you’ve had some bad days! 😦 I hope your best year will start soon!

    Oh Kyla. I guess we will see this summer whether she will compete any upgrades? I wonder if she’ll go to NCAA if she doesn’t get selected for Worlds.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I want those upgrades! I think she’ll still make this World’s team. If anything, then for her beam, more so than bars, I feel like. Besides Biles, none of the seniors have good consistent beam sets, it seems. I like Ernst but she falls half the time. Of course, that’ll change come Rio. This is why I wish Aly would be back already– she’d be perfect for the team.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Peyton Ernst basically said in her instagram shes going to college next fall. I wouldn’t count on her in the mix for rio

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Thank you. I appreciate it. Bad DAYS and tomorrow I go back to my second job so there should be more fun:)

  5. uglyfatkid Says:

    That’s crappy GTT. I’m sorry that things suck right now. I’m just glad you didn’t break anything on your tumble down the stairs. And screw horoscopes, that’s all a bunch of BS anyway.

    In regards to Kyla, I don’t know what to say that I or others haven’t said yet. I do think she will go to worlds regardless of upgrades though. I keep holding out for her, but I think it might be in vain.

    So we discussed awhile back that Jo said she wasn’t coming back. Do you think that was just a rumor? I’m surprised we haven’t heard anything official from anywhere. The lack of confirmation (from any other source than the first one) is what is peaking my BS meter. BTW – this has nothing to do with the poster that posted it here. I can’t remember who did it, but please know that I’m not saying anything Bad about you. You just brought info. I’m just questioning the source. πŸ™‚

    • Katie Says:

      Hi, I think it was me who first posted about Jo. Don’t worry, I don’t get offended at all πŸ™‚ and I would LOVE for it to not turn out to be true. I really wanted Jordyn to make a comeback, even if it was just for a Worlds. Lauren Hopkins posted the information on her tumblr that we would not see Jordyn doing elite anymore. A few days later she said that Jordyn is no longer in the drug testing pool. She can always reenter the pool, but she would have to be in it for 6 months before she could start competing elite and it’s just not a decision that gymnasts make lightly. Also, the whole thing with Geddert (which I really don’t even know what happened there? Some people said he was on the verge of going to jail and other people said that the rumors regarding the situation got completely out of hand and it was not as bad as everyone thought so who knows) came at the worst time. Up until that point, I think she was really serious about a comeback.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        @Katie – Oh good! I didn’t mean anything against you. In fact, I’m glad you reported the news. That’s interesting about the drug pool…I don’t remember that part.

        In the end, it all may be completely true. Who knows? It’s just fishy to me that we haven’t heard anything from any other source. Unless she is busting a Shawn and just riding it as long as she can for endorsements, I don’t get why she wouldn’t just come out and just end it already.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Anonymous sources can be tricky. Just because someone searched her blog for Jordyn being retired doesn’t mean she is but every time I have ignored an
        anonymous source like Mckayla being picked to do the AA at worlds the night before anyone else knew those anon sources were right.

        The biggest anon source I got was Simone leaving her gym and that was true. No actually the BIGGEST no name source we got was Mckayla doing the AA
        the night before anyone else knew. If only I had used that:)

      • Case Says:

        I’m not an anonymous source but everything I’ve heard around here supports the theory that Jo is retiring. She’s not doing elite now. I just don’t think she’s in any rush to make an announcement because she doesn’t have to. I also know she is loving UCLA and enjoying her college experience to the fullest.

        The Geddert story got way overblown. John was never going to jail.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Like the telephone game we played as children. Start a sentence and by the end it was something different. I figured John wasn’t going to jail
        at all because there would have been a court case on the books.

        As for Jordyn we pretty much had her retired months ago around here. Probably a good idea even if it sucks because IMO she is a better gymnast
        than Gabby and I would have loved to see her prove that.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Oh and FUCK BASEBALL

      • Gymbee Says:

        I think so too, remember the gymnastike thing on her. She had most of her skills back? I feel like she just up and left once the Geddert thing came out. Like it was really rushed?

      • Katie Says:

        Yeah, on her gymnastike profile that was shot in February, I think (even though it didn’t air until months later), she said she was aiming to be back for either Classics or Nationals and we saw her training her skills and she said she had most of them back. Then the Triple Twist girls did a profile on her in April or May and it was completely different story. We only really saw conditioning and basic skills and Jordyn said that she wouldn’t be competing that summer but that she was still hopeful for Rio. So, somewhere in those 3 months whatever happened happened. Out of all of them, she was the one I really wanted to see make a comeback. But, it seems like she’s having a ball at college and happy.

  6. gymbot Says:

    What happened with Geddert?

    • Katie Says:

      The rumor is that he assaulted a female assistant coach. But there are no records of any criminal or civil charges being filed. The whole thing is very strange. And unfortunate, because I do think that is what derailed Jordyn’s comeback.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Someone said that in Michigan assault can mean just touching someone so I am pretty sure what ever happened was either bought off by the “victim” or nothing to do about nothing and as far as I am concerned ANYONE that takes money for a crime to go away wasn’t a victim anyway. If someone assaulted me nothing but jail time would be good enough.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        On twin’s tumbler, a few weeks ago, they said they are in the process of doing another interview with Jo. She has agreed to it already, so they are just waiting for the answers, it seems, so we might know more soon πŸ™‚ I really miss her gymnastics but glad she is happy doing normal things too!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        It’s her life. let her be happy.

      • Katie Says:

        Cool! I did not know that. They have gotten some great interviews. I am excited to hear what Jordyn’s up to.

      • gymbot Says:

        Thanks for filling me in

  7. Laura Says:

    Thoughts on the 2014 World’s Team?
    – Simone Biles, Kyla Ross, Madison Kocian, Gabby Douglas, Lexie Priessman, Mckayla Maroney (+/- Skinner if Maroney still injured)

    • Katie Says:

      I think Skinner is going as long as she stays on the track she is going. I actaully think Kyla’s spot is more iffy than Skinners. I def want Priessman to go. She has her amanar back and her she and skinner could do v,f. biles could do aa. And then I guess Ross and Kocian for ub/bb? Maybe Ernst or Dowell could factor in as well. Maroney would take Priessman’s spot before Skinner’s, I think.
      Also, did anyone else here the rumor that Simone is training for American Ninja Warrior????? It was the most random gym rumor I have ever read.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I hope that isn’t true. Simone nmeeds to stay bubble wrapped and Kyla will be ion the world team because she will stay on and Skinner, Dowell and wogaette only here because of where she trains will also mess up.

      • Katie Says:

        I know! I couldn’t imagine that actually being true but it was just such a weird, random thing to read. I hope they do bubble wrap her and let her shoulder completely heal. After what just happened with Laurie and Ebee’s aunt just said that someone trying to qualify to elite just broke her hip, it’s getting to be too much.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        KillerCode

      • gymmom2 Says:

        This is from her facebook fan page posted June 22 “Simone Saturday was with THE Sam Sann from American Ninja Warrior and he said he wanted to train her when she turns 21”

        https://www.facebook.com/pages/Simone-Biles-Fan/171339019679815

        So my guess that is where the rumor started. Based on that comment you may have to be 21 to compete.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        That one chick who’s now Marta’s pet tried for ninja warrior and didn’t even make it past the first obstacle. Terin Humphrey.

      • Katie Says:

        Ahhh thank you! I knew it couldn’t be true.

  8. JAS4 Says:

    I liked Amelia as a junior so I am hoping she stays healthy because I want to see how she does this year as a senior at classics and nationals

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She has no chance of being on this team. Marta hates her and she doesn’t score well outside the US. Loved her floor as a junior
      and felt she got screwed royally by the judges but Marta hates MLT for some reason .

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I really like Amelia too. I’m hoping she rocks it at Classics and Nationals. I would love to see her make a World’s team. Her bars have potential, as well as floor and she was always reliable/consistent as a junior. I also hope she finally breaks the junior star to injured senior MLT curse.

      • Katie Says:

        I love Amelia, too! I thought she was hilarious in the BTR. But yeah, I have heard the Marta hates MLT and I wonder why? They coached the ’96 team together so maybe they had some kind of friction? But neither Jaycie or Amanda were really a “threat” to Strug and Moceanu. I know the Karolyis have harbored a long time grudge against Shannon Miller because of ’92, but in ’96 Jaycie led off on almost every event and Amanda only did two while Strug ended up being the “star” and Moceanu still had a crazy amount of popularity. And then, in 2000, Bela was all about Morgan White, even though I really don’t think she should have even made it, so I don’t get what happened?

    • Karlie Says:

      Out of curiosity, do you think that Marta’s apparent dislike of MLT could have been a factor in Lexie’s leaving? Like maybe Marta said something at camp?

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I really do think it partially had something to do with it. Not sure if Marta said anything but someone in her camp has to have seen the writing on the wall

      • JAS4 Says:

        I also wouldn’t be surprised if that is why Lexie left as well. I also wonder if Amelia will follow in her footstep.

      • Gymbee Says:

        I think Amelia will leave too. It seems like those two have been so close in the gym, supporting and pushing each other on. Can you image what a blow to MLT. Ha!

      • exgymgurl Says:

        I think its more of a blow to MLT to lose one of her fully funded elites and the training and equipment $$ that come with them

  9. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Has anyone watched the Beyond the Routine on Texas Dreams or know where there’s a recap?

    • Katie Says:

      Jordynslefteyebrow just did one for part 2. I know I have seen part1 floating around, I’ll let you know if I see it again. From what I remember, it was an introduction to TD and focused a lot on Kim and Chris. Kim is more strict and Chris is more easygoing in the gym. Also a little bit about their home life. There was a line from Chris saying that all the girls are very driven and all they have to do is teach one girl a new skill and all of the others will have learned it by the end of the day because they are very competitive.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        Thank you so much Katie! I did read the part about Peyton sleep walking and knocking on Marta’s hotel room door and then waking up after Marta opened the door. Can you even imagine waking up to Marta’s middle-of-the-night face?!

      • Katie Says:

        I know! Of all the rooms she could have ended up at and she ends up at Marta’s!

  10. Exgymgurl Says:

    http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/orphan-black-renewed-season-3-697736?utm_source=Sailthru&utm_medium=email&utm_term=hollywoodreporter_breakingnews&utm_campaign=THR%20Breaking%20News_now_2014-07-09%2017%3A51%3A27_png

    Yeah for mewhomever on this blog turned me on to this show OMG best show on TV!!! Season 3 of orphan black

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      That was me!!!! I told you it was good!!!! I am addicted too! Thanks for the link by the way. That is awesome!

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      Oh, and don’t read the link if you plan on watching the show and haven’t yet. There are a few potential spoilers. πŸ™‚

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      I only have 3-4 eps of season 2 left. But at least I know next year there will be more.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Oh my gosh. The season finale of 2 is so good. I can’t wait for you to watch it.

        The only thing that was a miss for me in season two was Toni. I’m not sure if you are there yet, but when you get there let me know. I have no issue with the subject matter, but the episode just felt off to me. I don’t know if it was the writing or what. It was just off. Not bad…just not as good.

        And holy hell I love Alison. Lol. Her and Helana.

  11. Tortuga Says:

    When I first heard about this story I was scared it was Simone’s family. Luckily I’m pretty sure it is not. But gosh this is still terrible.
    http://www.chron.com/news/texas/article/Multiple-fatalities-in-Houston-area-shooting-5610460.php

  12. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Did anyone see this video of Jordan Chiles training the Amanar? Looks pretty good but it feels like it will be so long before she’s even a senior.

  13. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    Okay, perhaps I should actually post the video of the Amanar I speak of. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjLT_0-ntx4

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Never too late to start training one since if she hits a growth spurt before then, if she doesn’t have one she most likely won’t ever get one – if that makes sense.

      Look at Kyla, she had one then hit a major growth spurt, and we don’t know if she’ll ever get it back. At least she can “fall back on” a nearly perfect DTY vault.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I’m surprised Kyla can still do a DTY to be honest. With all of her downgrades recently it amazes me that she still has that.

        I still don’t know how to feel about her. Will she upgrade? Will she retire? It’s like when you are dating someone and you think they are going to break up with you. You love them…but your anticipating heartbreak. That’s how I feel. I’m bracing myself for disappointment. 😦

      • Melanie Says:

        To me, the disappointment is the continued lack of upgrades. If she retires at this point, I won’t be too disappointed because her gymnastics hasn’t been exciting since she was a junior.

        I know what you mean though, it would still be a loss to lose such a consistently high-performing member of the US team.

  14. biyatch Says:

    Hey GTT, any of your secret sources talking about how Gabby is peacing out of Iowa again? ABomb is spreading the word on gymscoop and while ABomb is normally an ass, he’s also normally in the loop. Hear anything? He also said she only did bars at camp.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      My sources are not Gabby in tune but I hope its true. What is she refusing to pay him again?

      • JAS4 Says:

        I wonder if Chow doesn’t want to train her unless she completely gives up the fame train

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That would be my guess too and the best thing is I don’t think Gabby ever would have been the pet and been overscored if she trained anywhere but Chow.

        I don’t see her being successful unless she stays there. God forbid she end up at Woga.lol

      • JAS4 Says:

        I wouldn’t be surprised at all if she were to end up at woga. Isn’t that where she tried to go originally after excalibur but they turned her down? Marta would probably love for her to go there lol.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Oh, didn’t you guys hear? She isn’t in Iowa right now ’cause her and her mom are visiting the family lawyer in LA. They are preparing the new bankruptcy paperwork they are going to file after she’s done milking Chow. That way she can file bankruptcy so she doesn’t have to pay him any fees…just like the last time.

        Sorry, that was rude…but this whole skipping out on bills thing (especially when you have money) is so offensive to me. People (Chow and the people at Excalibur) spent so much time and effort training her, and they just walk away acting like it should be free??? What BS.

      • Case Says:

        Let’ss be honest…given Gabby’s freeloading family situation there is no way she can exclusively train elite for the next two years. She’s supporting lots of people so she has to ride the fame train as long as she can. I’m sure that conflicts with Chow’s philosophies (and probably was stipulated up front but disregarded by Gabby’s camp.)

        She wants to be in Los Angeles. Wonder if she will crawl back to Waller.

      • Melanie Says:

        Wowza. While I wouldn’t be at all upset to see her comeback dead in the water, I would be very surprised after the huge amount of publicity it’s gotten. To have posted interviews and pics of her “back in the gym” and regaining skills and then leave within months? That would be pretty ridiculous. I’m hesitant to believe these rumors, but like I said, if she’s out of Iowa, I certainly won’t cry myself to sleep. I do NOT want to see Gabby in Rio.

      • Katie Says:

        Melanie, I agree. When she went back to Chow, it was “a big deal”. It seems strange that she would just leave after a few months. I was surprised that he took her back at all, not even because of the money thing because who knows, they may have had some deal worked out where he would a get a percentage of her future endorsements or something, but because of her “racism” tour after the Olympics. Even though it was strictly about her old gym, it would make me nervous to let someone like that train in my gym because it was just so obvious that Gabby and her mother were putting that out there so that people wouldn’t pay attention to the Excalibur’s claims of unpaid training fees. When she went on Oprah, maybe the general public bought the act but most of the gym world turned against her from those shenanigans because we knew much more of the story.
        But yeah, I would be very surprised if this were true because Marta has already said that she is in the running for the worlds team. She needs sponsors and endorsements to continue supporting her entire family and I think she needs to stay with Chow to have any hope at being successful again.

      • Short1 Says:

        @Melanie That’s basically how I feel, as I’ve never really been a huge fan of hers (or her gymnastics for the most part) to begin with.

      • gymnerd Says:

        I hope the coaches at Excalibur are laughing their asses off.

  15. JAS4 Says:

    http://mybffnastiaaa.tumblr.com/post/91385865764/not-sure-if-this-has-been-posted-yet-but-i-just
    Worlds stuff

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      I’m always shocked when I look at lists like that. There are about 10 countries that I think of when I hear “women’s gymnastics.” But that list reminds me that there are 20 other countries out there that we NEVER see anything from during worlds or the Olympics. You forget other people/countries are even there (at the meets).

  16. exgymgurl Says:

    At least Ukraine has a team slot SAD

  17. Case Says:

    GTT, your Sox are looking better! 4 out of the last 5, right?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I am not planning the parade just yet we beat the Astros and should have won all 3 games and then split a series vs the White Sox where we should have won at least 3 of those games but we will take it on the way to our second half comeback:P

      I knew Toronto would blow the lead they have. I hate the American League East besides the Sox.

  18. JAS4 Says:

    https://mobile.twitter.com/bassab1/status/488671310289977344
    Saw this on tumblr. I wonder if Jordyn will officially announce her retirement?

    • Uglyfatkid Says:

      Interesting. Thanks JAS. Apparently you can listen live at wvox.com. It’s 8am Utah time (10am EST) so I can’t listen live because I’ll be in my car driving to work (won’t be near a computer). It anyone can listen and give a report, I know we’d all be grateful! πŸ™‚

    • Tortuga Says:

      I don’t know if anyone else is listening but she was asked about retirement or if she is trying for Rio and she said she is still trying to figure out what she wants to do. I wonder if is pretty much ready behind closed doors and just doesn’t want to go back to competition with out Geddert or if she is pulling a Shawn and is keeping everyone guessing (with no intention of coming back) to keep sponsor ships.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Thank you so much for the info! To me, she is busting a Shawn. She’s done and just doesn’t want to say it yet for the sponsors. She is just laying the ground work for her retirement announcement that will come at some point. Sad. I really liked her and wanted to see the continuation of her gymnastics story. She seems happy though, and I am glad for that.

        Oh, and it looks like Katie’s source was right! πŸ™‚

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I feel like I say this a lot but Shawn’s comeback was not fake. She should have been on the world team the year before the Olympics
        and wasn’t because Marta played her BS games. Shawn might have quit a month or 2 early and pretended she was still training but she
        put an entire year into a comeback and we never heard of her doing carwheelathons a day after she attended a camp and did one event.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I totally agree. Shawn was definitely on comeback trail and then quit while she was ahead so as not to end up like Nastia – go to Olympic Trials and be left behind in an embarrassing manner. I think Chow knew it too and blessed the decision for her to quit. Unfortunately even he has to play the political game and I can only hope he advised what’s best for his star athlete (which will always be Shawn, not Gabby).

        Whatever she had going on with her sponsors though made her or forced her to basically lie to the public and her fans, which was really annoying. Don’t talk about how excited you are to show off your new floor when you were already two months into your secret retirement. That’s the shit I can’t get behind, but as far as whether or not her comeback was legit it totally was. It said a lot to me too when ASac befriended her but shunned Nastia. Even they all knew who was really “in” and who was faking it.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Sorry, I in no way meant the Shawn’s comeback was fake. I think she proved it wasn’t by competing (and doing fairly well) at a few comps before worlds. I just meant that Jo was busting a Shawn by not announcing her retirement to keep the sponsors. It was clear in the end that Shawn prolonged everything for the $, and honestly…I don’t blame her. However, I agree with Sanity…don’t tweet about your new floor routine 2 weeks before classics if you have no intentions of doing it. That’s the part that made me crazy. She intentionally lead people on and lied. That’s the part that made me crazy. At least with Jo she isn’t saying anything like that, which I appreciate.

        Anyway, That’s all I really meant. πŸ™‚

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        STOP taking everything I say so seriously.lol

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        LOL. It’s just my nature. Deal with it. πŸ™‚

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        BTW GTT I am tempted to post on your FB account but it’d be so obvious who I am…and I probably reveal way too much on my FB account (don’t have the energy to make a fake one either).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My facebook account is 100% private. I have 6 friends and all post here so you should be fine. Post it in the group or send me a message if you want to stay invisible from my whole 6 friends:) Actually 5.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Oh, cool. Didn’t realize you were that popular. LOL (joking)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I am picky too. Unless you post here reguarly and are willing to match your real name with this blog I don’t need you on facebook.
        I made everything private because some people were very weirded out by the e-mail sent to that lady. That seems to have ended so that is good.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Ya ya:)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My personal opinion with nothing based in facts is that Alicia , Shawn and Bridget Sloan all saw the free pass Nastia was getting and were pissed bout the fact that they all had to still play the game while she literally walked her way into Nationals without a fucking dismount. I can only imagine how annoying that must be to someone working hard and playing the game.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Totally agree. I’d be pissed beyond belief; in fact I don’t know how a book HASN’T been written. Just my own anger I’d be like
        oh…

        HELL

        no….

        If I were ASac I’d have a GIF of Nastia face-planting it blazing on my living room wall.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Amen. I would have been livid if I was ASac. She had been working hard for 2 (or was it 3 years), gets injured, still comes back and kicks ass…yet gets kicked in the head for it by Marta. Meanwhile, Miss Herpes waltzes in and can’t do a bar routine…yet makes it through to trials? The backdoor deals and promises that were going on would have pissed me off too. Shawn was smart to see it and drop out.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Imagine how Chellsie Memmel feels. Or should I say felt at the time before she sold out to Marta. I have never lost more respect for someone
        than I did Memmel when she sold out.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Totally agree, 100%.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I had forgotten about Memmel. I was so pissed for her at the time. But after I heard that she was bought off I didn’t care anymore. If she didn’t care, why should I? She should have fought IMO.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I feel the same way.

      • Gymbee Says:

        At least she’s not tweeting stuff like “woo new floor, can’t wait for you guys to see it”.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        Actually Gymbee, she is tweeting something similar! And this was just from last week. https://twitter.com/gabrielledoug/status/486543319720136704/photo/1

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Lame. I can do that move, too. Haha.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        LOL…so true Sanity. Most Americans can do that move…and 67% of us are obese (I just made that statistic up). That picture shows us NOTHING!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        The whole obese line these days is a joke. They call people obese who weigh 120 pounds. Its crazy.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think over 35% are obese. It just gets sadder every day. Flying planes sucks anymore with the chances, to be honest.

      • Tortuga Says:

        It’s obviously not that I thought Shawn’s comeback wasn’t real. She competed at the Classic and Nationals in 2011 even had an international assignment. What I mean is she did lead everyone to believe she was going to be competing in 2012 when she knew she wasn’t for at least a couple of months before the announcement. But I understand your clarification. It’s not like she pulled a Nastia and half assed the whole thing.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I really think Shawn wanted 2012 but she knew when she won beam at camp and did well and still didn’t get named she had no chance. Actually she probably
        realized she had no chance when Nastia announced she was training again and actually went to the gym 5 months before Nationals.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        No wait, you were talking about Jordyn weren’t you? I got lost in the air of this thread and thought we were talking about Gabby leaving Chow and yet tweeting about floor routines. Sorry about that!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        We have been talking about both of them today but if the opinion is an obnoxious tone that means we meant Gabby:)

      • Gymbee Says:

        byrdisthewyrd haha sorry, that was confusing! I meant Jordyn. In order for her to really “pull a Shawn” in regards to her comeback she’d need to tease us all about her amazing floor routine that she can’t wait to show us πŸ˜‰

  19. Melanie Says:

    http://fulltwist.net/biles-douglas/

    Does the author of this article seriously think that Gabby would beat Simone at the P&G Championships? I mean, Gabby’s just come back to training a couple months ago and there are already rumors she’s leaving Chow’s again; she’s still traveling all over the country for various media circuses; and there’s no indication that she’s at all ready to do AA. The author even asked if it was possible Gabby had her Amanar back yet — seriously? Not to be too harsh, but this author is just trying to drum up some kind of rivalry between Gabby and Simone which does not exist. Simone is (in my opinion) a far superior athlete.

    Oh, and to call Gabby “beautiful” on beam is laughable.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Gabby at her best is far behind Simone on every event but bars and if Gabby wasn’t so overscored on beam where she got credit for connections
      she never hit Simone would wipe the floor with her.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think the only reason stupid judges would favor Gabby over Simone on beam is her body type. Simone is stocky/muscular and Gabby is lithe/lean – more presentable yes, but in actuality Simone has all the tricks and is actually able to meet her connections.

        Both are not my favorite floor workers, but Simone definitely beats Gabby in tumbling.

        Simone’s up Maroney’s butt already on vault so we don’t even need to discuss who’s better.

        Bars: again Gabby has the lean look but I can see Simone getting up there. At least Simone can take the upgrades she has in her other routines and put up a moderately good/high difficulty bars routine and she’ll have Gabby beat for sure (even at Gabby’s “peak.”)

        The more I think about it the more I worry Simone peaked too soon though (in terms of this quad). We’ll see.

        I don’t think Gabby will be a factor; her comeback is a joke if she’s not with Chow. I don’t see any other coaches taking her without some sort of repercussion unless Marta backs that decision.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Marta doesn’t seem to be helping Gabby get a new gym so hopefully Marta realizes she has too many talented gymnasts waiting in the wings to count on Gabby’s games again.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I hope she isn’t helping her. At some point she needs to realize that she isn’t special. Does she have talent, yes. But that doesn’t mean you can treat people like dirt and then expect them to take care of you. The way that family expects things from people makes me crazy. I hope no one helps her. If she can’t figure out how to be a decent human being and work with Chow, she doesn’t deserve a chance to comeback. Period.

      • Melanie Says:

        Even if Gabby were training hard every day (which we know she’s not because she’s cartwheeling all over Pittsburgh), it would still take a looooong time to get back all her skills. The only training video they’ve realized shows her doing some very tentative pirouettes on bars. I don’t recall seeing or hearing anything from her on any other event (unless you count that stupid Twitter pic that someone else already posted of her “floor exercise”). Simone may have had some injuries to deal with, but she’ll be in competition shape long before Gabby ever will.

        Long story short, I’m just really ready for the truth to come out if she’s left Chow’s again. Time to really discredit the “comeback”!

  20. JAS4 Says:

    I hope the info on the Gabby/Chow situation comes out soon because I am curious to know what is going on.

    • Katie Says:

      I know, me too! pretty much the entire gymternet is buzzing that something is happening with Gabby and Chow, but they won’t say what.

      It kindof reminds me of when everything was going down with Geddert and everyone was like “it’s all going to come out within the next week.” and they said that for months but nothing ever came out.

      I am glad that Gabby did well with Chow, it was a very good match, but I just think the entire debacle after the Olympics was just so strange. And from what I remember, Excalibur didn’t even throw the first punch. Before the Olympics, Gabby was saying how a year before the Olympics she told her mom that if she was going to make the Olympic team “I need better coaching and I need it now”.

      That’s when Excalibur coaches came back and said that they believed in Gabby so much to the point that training bills were foregone in the belief that they would be paid back when Gabby was a star and could pay them back in endorsement money. And I do believe that they had some sort of deal that Gabby would pay her bills when she made money once she went pro. Plus Excalibur would get publicity.

      Well, once she transferred gyms and went pro with Chow, the deal she had with Excalibur (in Natalie’s mind) was null and void. It would be one thing if Excalibur took a gamble on her and all fees were waived and Gabby gave it her best shot and didn’t make the team. That would be a gamble that didn’t pay off. But that’s not what happened at all, she did make the team, she threw them under the bus, she threw the first punch by saying they weren’t up to snuff. They fought back with the financial stuff. Natalie Hawkins goes bankrupt. Gabby wins gold and all of the sudden she is much more in the spotlight and the former stories of unpaid gym bills are coming up and what better way to shut them up? Let’s accuse them of racism. She even admits that none of the coaches were ever racist, it was just some of her training partners making snide remarks.

      Plus, when during American Cup or Classics when her dad was in the stands and the commentators were all like “oh, her dad is in the military and barely gets to see her and her parents are divorced but they are coming together for their daughter” and then by nationals/trials it was all “gabby’s dad abandoned her when she was young and she was raised by a single mom”.

      Sorry for the long and excessive ramble, I’m pretty worked up, but what in the world is with all these lies? And about things so serious? Fine, she wasn’t aware of any of the financial aspects of her training, that’s on Natalie, but to make her own father out to be such a jerk? Short of abuse, there is no reason to make any of your blood relatives out to be deadbeats for all of the NBC watchers.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Think a lot of Gabby’s/Natalie’s moves were such that they were doing whatever they felt would cast them in a positive light amidst all the new-found fame and glory. Scumbag defensive tactics basically.

        In reality, it is pretty obvious Natalie is as manipulative and deceitful as they come.

        In anticipation of new-found fame/glory/funds, Natalie likely pushed her daughter to speak of racism at her former gym. Natalie did not want to be forced to pay them what she so obviously owed. I don’t blame the gym for fighting back; I just wish they had gone about it better. They came off as attacking “an innocent child” when in reality they should have just attacked Natalie for not paying her bills. Sad thing is they couldn’t really go after her because of her BK; she filed that just in time, too.

        Then probably in anticipation of not allowing Daddy to get a hold of any of Gabby’s future/foreseeable earnings (as father of a minor), Natalie/Gabby threw Daddy under the bus to make him out to be a deserter. Too bad he made such a large effort to go see Gabby in competition – would have been easier to prove their point had he never showed up. Obviously they were just trying to throw him under the bus because otherwise, who are we to judge someone willing to give their life for the US? The whole thing was a head scratcher but anyone who bothered to look further into it could see what was going on behind the scenes.

        The whole thing just made Gabby and her mom look like scumbags, but the thing is, Gabby was still too young to really fully blame – at 16, you’re still easily manipulated and brainwashed. Oprah had something to get from the whole thing too with publicity.

        In the end, I would bet Gabby’s earnings were not nearly what they could have been because a smear campaign is a smear campaign, and a lot of endorsements won’t come your way if you’re affiliated with that sort of negativity.

      • mim Says:

        Gabby served her purpose for Marta I think… Her gymnastics were needed when they were needed, and now her gymnastics are pretty much expendable at this point. She might have improved with continued training a la Kyla after London but we’ll never know.

        Jordyn’s gotta know that if she doesn’t get into training mode now she won’t make it to Rio. Her vagueness must be so she can keep her sponsorships.

        Random tangent but I was to see what Lexie looks like not fake tanned. Bet she’d look lovely! She’s extra orange lately and it’s like ohhh honey, it ages her so much.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She took notes from Shawn hahaha…

      • Short1 Says:

        I recently re-watched 2011 Visas and it was definitely interesting how the commentators were talking about how great the relationship between Gabby and her dad supposedly was (i.e. talking via Skype frequently and him being able to watch the competition because it was being streamed online). And less then a year later the recurring theme seemed to be a lack of closeness to the point of more or less being estranged (and how it had supposedly been that way for a long time). Talk about a complete 180-degree turn in the story.

  21. GymMom Says:

    Gabby left Chows….again!!!

    http://www.desmoinesregister.com/story/sports/columnists/bryce-miller/2014/07/16/gabby-douglas-chows-gymnastics/12735441/?sf28609271=1

    • Melanie Says:

      OMG OMG OMG OMG…….finally the confirmation we’ve all been waiting for!! Seriously, this is mind-blowing. Not that Gabby would turn out to be a total flake — we all knew that — but that she would publicize her return to Chow’s and then ditch him AGAIN after a mere three months.

      I could not be more excited right now. Thank you SO much for posting the news!!

      • GymMom Says:

        Gabby is persona non grata in Iowa! Don’t let the door hit you on the way out. Y’All don’t come around here no more!

    • Tortuga Says:

      Man I really feel bad for Chow putting so much effort into this. He is a class act and doesn’t need to waste his time with someone who won’t stick around. His other elites need to be able to focus not have Gabby’s commotion coming and going every 3 to 6 months.

    • sainabou nyang Says:

      We need a gtt blog asap lol.
      Love how Chow kept it classy.

  22. byrdisthewyrd Says:

    So I thought I’d check the wats good gabby tumblr to see what is said there since she’s such a Gabby fan and this was her response: “i have heard from two different people that it was not her decision to leave but instead her mother’s – not that it changes anything but i just wanted to mention that before people start attacking her for something that likely was not her decision.” Interesting. I don’t know if that’s true or not but at some point Gabby will have to take responsibility for her own decisions.

    • Tortuga Says:

      Her mom needs to just stay the f*** away already. Gabby is flipping 18 and can make her own decisions. Let her baby fly. Gosh, she probably just wants her to take some opportunity that will get her more money instead. Chow is the best of the best and kind as can be. No one else is going to put up with Natalie.

      • Melanie Says:

        My inclination is that’s BS. Tortuga said it all – Gabby is an adult and can make decisions on her own. She has her own source of money, had her own apartment in IA, and had the support of Chow’s. Can’t keep blaming Natalie forever for her own stupid decisions. I’m sorry, but the whole impressionable 16-year old schtick has worn thin. She’s been in the media long enough to be world-savvy, and if she really wanted to continue training with Chow, she would have.

        Even so, her best shot to keep the gravy train rolling was to get back into national/international competition and possibly make another Olympics. Now she’s shot herself in the foot.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I thought I read she was staying with a host family but the rest is spot on

    • GymAnon Says:

      Gabby’s young enough that Natalie has a lot of influence on her but she’s also old enough to make her own decisions. I think there was some speculation that she came back to Chow’s partially to escape her mother but who knows. If this is Natalie’s doing because she wants Gabby to make more $$ with public appearances, how can she not see that this kind of thing damages her daughter’s reputation? Or if this is Gabby’s decision, how can SHE not see that nobody likes a chronic gym hopper or someone who can’t prioritize training over publicity??

      on the other hand, leaving Chow’s probably wont affect her lucrative cartwheeling appearances. I think I’m looking at this as a gym fan and not as some PR person who just sees “gold medalist” instead of “flip-flopping famewhore” and plunks down money. but if the plan is for Gabby to be high profile (LOL), why even bother with returning to Chow’s in the first place?? There are far easier ways to stay in the public eye and make money than to continue in gymnastics.

      can’t say I’m really sorry to see this happen though. I don’t actively hate Gabby but I’m not much of a fan, and regardless of the truth behind this move I’m absolutely fine with her not being in the running for Nanning. or Rio, probably since Chow was her best chance. She’s got one more strike left but what other elite coach would be willing to give her the time of day now?

      • mim Says:

        You know, I really can’t fault Gabby for being 18 and still taking her mother’s advice on board (even if it is really, really crap advice). I’m 26 and seek my mum’s advice on some major life decisions. The difference being ultimately I make the decision because a) I can, and b) I should.

        Her mother appears to be pretty domineering and it can be difficult to stand up to those personalities, particularly when they are a parent. Gabby, even at 18, is probably quite impressionable. I’ll cut her some slack on that one – turning 18 doesn’t automatically make some mature or have any sort of perspective, and that includes making sound life decisions. But legally, she could tell her mum to back the eff off and butt out.

        It is a really, REALLY good thing for Chow, Rachel G, Norah and Alexis though. I bet they are all secretly relieved she’s out of there.

        Surely Gabby knows she’s not going to get better quality coaching than Chow. I suspect she’s not prepared to go balls to the wall with her training the way she needs to if she expects a Worlds and/or Rio spot.

        Chow was incredibly diplomatic about it all, as expected. But it’s so easy to read between the lines of his statements.

      • gymnerd Says:

        Gabby (and her siblings) did manage to talk Fatalie into letting her move to Iowa back when she was 14, though.

        Can the “Chow’s gym was racist/the other girls were jealous/bullied me” TV appearance be too far behind? Or maybe it will be a slightly different theme this time?

        Suppose she’ll build her own gym (someone else’s idea) and lure Bela out of Texas and retirement to coach her in California? Or go hit up Geddert in Michigan? I don’t see her lasting a week with Mihai. Actually I don’t see any elite coaches willing to take her on at this point.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Gabby’s 18 and can make her own decisions, whether they agree with her mom’s or not.

      Her mom can go about ruining her but I don’t care at this point – not my life. It’s stupid but let’s face it, karma is going to come at them.

      They will desperately try to stay on that gravy train but it’s going to go on without them. If Shawn Johnson is struggling, Gabby will super struggle. It doesn’t matter Gabby was the AA winner they both are just as marketable as “individual Olympic gold medalists.”

      At the end of the day this is all on Gabby. Her mom is in CA and it’s not like her mom wouldn’t forgive her for refusing to cow-tow to her wishes and not train with Chow.

      Having other elites as an excuse is BS – Gabby had Shawn in the beginning, and it’s good for competition sake to train with other elites. I don’t know if I buy any of it having to do with it being all Natalie.

      Either way, Gabby just looks like a flake. Her superfans can’t do anything to protect her from looking like that.

  23. GymAnon Says:

    Lauren Hopkins just said on her tumblr that she also heard from two different people that this was all natalie….she pulled Gabby because Chow had other elites and Gabby was no longer the center of attention. A++ decision making

Leave a Reply

