Its a darker day than usual in the Sports World

Its a darker day than usual in the Sports World today and so we shall remain in black here at g.t.t.

The Fuck You Baseball blog. Feel free to discuss Gymnastics til they win again

The Sox still can’t win. San San Antonio won the Larry O’Brien trophy (Gag me Tim Duncan) , Tony Gwynn a true baseball player and a great human being has died and the Bruin’s have Tim Thomas’d Shawn Thornton ( LOL Well said) and decided to ” not sign him” which is also known as, thanks for your part in the Cup 3 years ago but we didn’t appreciate it so you can leave now. We would rather keep your back up who chokes away the cup in 17 seconds but I digress .

This one is going to sting for awhile. Not that the others losses were cake walks for me (10 years later and if I ever run into Danny Ainge he is getting a mouth full from me) but I don’t know. It is just a bad day in the sports world.


Continue to discuss the alleged retirement of Jordyn Wieber and anything else.

Now excuse me while I go back to watching Densie on youtube. My new TV obsession.

126 Responses to “Its a darker day than usual in the Sports World”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Have you Googled Jenna Marbles yet? Might make you laugh🙂

  2. gymtruthteller Says:

    I have not googled Jenna Marbles but I will when my new obsession is over🙂

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    Dont hate on the spurs nation. Thats our house. We killed it this year. Thats my team. LeBron and Nike couldn’t buy this championship. Boohoo.
    The bruins got rid of borque. They are known for stupidity.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Ray asked toleave but whatever. I HATE TIM DUNCAN. Miami needed to win so the Celtics fans would cry. lesser of 2 evils and your MVP I have never heard of. THE END. I can at least be happy for Ginobli and Parker.

  4. Exgymgurl Says:

    You will hear about him. He is the future of the spurs. Duncan is retiring soon. Parker and Ginobli are getting past their prime. Duncan is an amazing guy. Him hugging david robinson is classic. Borque asked to leave because He wanted a chance at a cup which he got. The bruins were getting rid of everyone.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Thank you for my Bruins history lesson. Good thing I already passed that class but as for Duncan he is a whiny pansy who gets away with murder from the refs thanks to the NBA being fixed but I digress. I won’t hear of the no name guy because I believe he averaged 17 points with puts him in par with Chauncey Billups winning the MVP when he was with the Pistons and he shot something like 3- 19 the last game (going off memory)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        You guys are totally speaking a foreign language to me right now.

        My side of the world worships Kobe Bryant. Oh yeah and we also have the racist idiot-bag owner of the Clippers. Gotta love that story. And his heathen girlfriend or whatever you would call that. She’s so nasty looking. Sorry, had to be catty there.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I talk in sarcastic

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        But I love tony Gwynn. And cam Neely. And Adam Oates…. Hugs… Lets just love the fact that Lexie said fuck you MLT the only reason Jetter and Whitcomb had good bars is my new coach that you wouldn’t let work with elites…..

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        RIP Gwynn and I too loved Adam Oates. He was one of my faves with Neely who I now despise (BRING BACK TIMMY AND THORNTON) I swear I am not drinkiog. Tired babble AKA as the bitter pill of losi9ng another favorite in my boy Thornton.

  5. sainabou nyang Says:

    Lol I know nothing about basketball but reading the comments online were comical. Especially about refs fixing the game for the spurs to win.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      The refs love to build the team up and then tear them down so. I do think teh refs favored bringing down the Heat personally.

  6. Case Says:

    I loved Tony Gwynn. A great player and person…and I appreciated his loyalty to his hometown.

  7. Case Says:

    GTT we are not in a good place in Detroit either. Verlander is just getting killed every start this season. Our bullpen is awful but I figured we could fix that…but we need JV. Our division lead is gone.

    And props for referencing Chauncey Billups. Takes me back to the last time the Pistons were actually worth watching.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I hate Chauncey overrated Billups so the reference was not a positive one. Most overrated one dimentionel twit in the NBA. No offense but my opinion is based on his days in Boston and the after plus I still can’t figure out why Ben Wallace was not the MVP of the demise of the wanna be dream team known as the Lakers that year? I am still team Wallace Though secretly I loved Malone and Peyton and wanted them to win a ring. Peyton won one with the 2006 Heat.

      Billups was always praised for alleged big time shots ( because he never passed the ball and shoot too many low % selfish shots) and that one finals where he shot like 43 %. I never understood why the media loved this guy. Sorry you probably think I hate Detroit but I don’t. Though I am bitter those stupid Red Wings didn’t take out the Bruins in the playoffs so I could make fun of Rask again. But whatever.

      The Sox suck. I understand it. I will grasp the fact we will be at home this October and I thank God every night we have King Koji to save our lack of hitting every damn night in games like tonight. AND PLEASE LISTEN TO ME when I say Jonathon Papelbon is fools gold.DO NOT TRADE FOR HIM. No one understands this unless you are from Boston and now Philly. The guy is a fox in sheeps clothing. Don’t let Detroit do it Case. SAVE your sanity the guy is a TOOL.

      • Case Says:

        Papelbon’s name isn’t being mentioned here at all. Nathan is a $10 million dollar problem so I really don’t see them trading for another big money closer. The only name that’s even remotely being tossed around is Huston Street.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Just because his name isn’t mentioned doesn’t mean it won’t happen. Watch our for him.

  8. Case Says:

    How about USA in the World Cup? I’m a very fair weather soccer fan but woot woot!

    • Karlie Says:

      YEAHHHHHHH oh my goodness I was so so so excited. I have watched every single game so far…haha. I think my family is worried I may become a hermit but this is literally the only time I can share my joy of the sport with other people.

  9. Ilanchik20 Says:

    Aly is promoting and her first pass is in there too!! I can’t wait for her return!

    [video src="" /]

    • JAS4 Says:

      It won’t go to the link when I tried it. I hope Aly can make a good comeback.

    • Uglyfatkid Says:

      It worked for me too. =]

      She does a triple full in one shot. Then a 1 1/2 twist into a single back tuck (it looked like she was practicing the 1 1/2 portion of the combo to me). And then it showed her doing her trademark 1 1/2 twist into double Arabian punch front layout.

      If this is showing where she is at, it looks like she has all her skills on floor back (the piked double Arabian and double pike shouldn’t be hard after that triple combo right???). I wonder if she was having issues with endurance, and that spured the hold on her comback? She clearly has the skills, but I wonder if she can tie them all together yet?

      I have to admit, I’m stoked to have her back. I really like her as a person, and I can’t wait to cheer for her again. I want her to comeback and kick the wind out of Gabby’s sails. Lol.

      • Uglyfatkid Says:

        I also forgot to say…I wonder what upgrades (if any) we will see from her??? Everything in the clip was “old” skills…so it makes me wonder. Either she doesn’t have any on floor, or she is holding out for a big reveal.

      • mim Says:

        I really like Aly too personality-wise. She’s obviously media trained and savvy but she seems quite genuine with her fans particularly the younger ones. I’m super keen to see her competing again, she seems like she’s solid enough to withstand a couple more years of elite.

    • biyatch Says:

      Im pretty convinced that that footage is 2012 stock footage. Why would she be working hard landings a year before she plans to do anything. Also there’s a bunch of “Road to London” stuff on the walls and while it’s hard to see, the London flag that is now on the wall at Brestyan’s doesn’t appear to be there.

      Anyways, regarding floor upgrades I have heard that they are playing around with the Dos Santos I + front tuck, 2 whips + 3/1 and she was trying to get a 1/1 double tuck to maybe upgrade the double pike but it evolved more into an arabian double front, half out. I wonder if she could get a DLO around, although where it would go and what it would replace would be interesting, plus Aly’s laid out skills tend to be a but messier than when she tucks and pikes.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I was thinking the same thing – that she looks like she was in London shape in those videos whereas you see her in more recent photos/promotions…she’s just not “there” yet. I wouldn’t believe she would already have that pass back either – she was having trouble with it even in London. I bet she replaces it somewhat in her comeback, or upgrades her other passes to something else like biyatch says.

        I agree on the layout comment too – Aly is much better at the tuck/pike position.

        Should be interesting. I hope her comeback involves better placement in the AA competition overall. I was sick of watching her do really well in prelims only to fall outside the medal stand when it came to finals.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Gee I wonder if Aly or Gabby can do a cartwheel with better form

      • Case Says:

        Neither can hold a candle to the cartwheel form of Natalie Hawkins….since you asked. 🙂

      • exgymgurl Says:

        Fatalie is one in like every five adults now…. cant wait to see that…. I want the youtube video too because it beats mean girls gymnastics…. which is still one of my all time faves

  10. exgymgurl Says:

    • Gymbee Says:

      Hahaha I love this!

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Its not worlds, secret and covergirl are marquis advertisers in the background. I think its a US classic.

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      What meet footage was it where Jordan fell off bars in a purple leotard? I remember all of her bars trouble for a while but I don’t remember her actually falling completely on that skill lol

      Oh and I love this!!

      • Gymbee Says:

        Was that at Worlds? I can’t remember, but I think she had some mishap there.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think it was Worlds prelims. She struggled and had a major form break but it wasn’t a fall. She cleaned it up a bit in the AA of course.

      • biyatch Says:

        2011 American Cup. The supposed Musty controversy.

      • Gymbee Says:

        biyatch, didn’t she have a red leotard in 2011 American Cup?

      • biyatch Says:

        you’re right gymbee, 2012 she wore purple but she didn’t fall then, just a ridiculous form break.

    • Katie Says:

      The best.

    • Karlie Says:

      I will admit that the flash to Bross at “the burnouts” killed me a little bit inside…but the rest…hahahaha

      • gymnerd Says:

        Watching Shawn’s face as she tries to be congratulatory toward Nastia, and then tries not to cry, still kills me 6 years later. 😦

    • Karlie Says:

      also LOL –

      “Evil takes human form in Regina George” (Nastia buttshelfs in background)
      “You might try Sears” – Marta
      “Sorry I called you fat” – Marta

  11. Gymbee Says:

    I just read in an italian newspaper that Florica Leonida is now working as a high end prostitute. How sad😦

    Mind, they got the story from the UK Daily Mail (or Daily Fail) so it’s not really a 100% reputable source. It appeared in a german paper back in 2012, so old news, but it’s the first I hear about it.

  12. exgymgurl Says:

    Alyssa Prichett is on the American Classic at the ranch list to compete to qualify to elite, wallers gymjam

  13. Katie Says:

    So I guess Peyton Ernst is also not going to try for Rio? She put on Instagram that she couldn’t wait to be at Florida with Kennedy Baker next year.

  14. Exgymgurl Says:

    Writing on the wall bailie key in the gym

  15. uglyfatkid Says:

    So I am bored as hell, but have nothing gymnastic related to talk about. So I’m going to talk about Orphan Black. Is anyone else watching this tv show? I recently started watching it and am completely addicted. The lead actress Tatiana is simply amazing. 2 episodes in and I was hooked. I highly recommend it if you haven’t seen it.

    Is anyone watching anything else good? I need something to fill my time. Like I said…bored as hell. Lol.

    I know a few people on here used to watch SYTYCD…and I have been watching again this year. They keep showing stupid ass Fiction (or however he spells it) at the auditions and I want to scream. They shoved him down our throats the year he was on, and now they are doing it again. He HAS NO TALENT. He should have been kicked off 8 rounds sooner than he was. It was a complete BS. Anyway, rant over.🙂

    • Katie Says:

      I call everyone seestra. The show is pretty good.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Ahhhhh YES we have another SYTYCD fan! I have been watching that show since season 3 (which is still one of my favorite seasons of all time…that and season 4). Anyhoo – I TOTALLY AGREE and was so freakin PISSED when “Fick-shun” won because yes, he was insanely talented in the ONE thing he could do but NOT so when it came to everything dance.

      In fact I was screaming at the TV last night (watching on my DVR) when Nigel was saying how Fickshun was “so great” at all of his dances with Amy and how versatile he was. Ummmm, THEY GAVE HIM HIP-HOP NEARLY EVERY WEEK and they partnered him with Amy, one of the best girl dancers (in fact, didn’t she also win? How convenient) of the bunch. Total bogus. I remember how awful his Viennese waltz was and yet the judges were raving about it. It was BAD. He was jerky and they gave him the easiest choreography ever to do anything non hip-hop. Basically the judges WANTED him to win and they did everything they could to persuade the vote. So stupid. I forgot the name of the guy who I was rooting for (he was the ballroom guy; he won SYTYCD in some other country) and HE was insanely talented and versatile. Yet he got kicked off just before the finale. Anyway, that’s what pisses me off about this show. Just like any other reality show anymore, the judges know who they want to win and totally influence the vote early on.

      Also, I had to love how Nigel was like blue ballin’ it over Jenna last year and kept saving her time after time, not listening to America who was voting her out each week…after he finally got her in the Top 10 she had to go (even though they partnered her w/the very popular Mark), but of course they brought her back this year and she’s going to be an “All Star” and I think they even put her on Dancing w/the D-list Stars too last season. Whatever. Nigel is a sick-o that preys on young girls, I swear. Wouldn’t surprise me the least if she was banging him during the show for the favor of staying on television. (Sadly that’s just how Hollyweird works). You notice how he gives the girls who wear nothing but a bra on their audition an automatic ticket, but he makes the insanely talented “wacky ballerina” girl who covered her shit go to the choreography round first.

      End rant. Maybe.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I’ve said it before…and I’ll say it again…you are one of my favorite people Sanity! You took the words right out of my mouth.

        I didn’t meant to imply that the kid didn’t have talent…he does. But he should NEVER have made it as far as he did. I got so angry I stopped watching. I have no idea who actually won. It was rigged to me. And it’s clear that the kid has ZERO prospects. If you have to come back to the show right after winning…that tells you something. Most people can ride the gravy train for a year or two at least. My guess is that no one wanted him. Why? He has no dance talent outside of his pop and locking. Zero.

        And I agree about Nigel…creep-o to the max. At least hopefully stupid ass Gabby won’t be a judge this year. That was about as pointless as Nastia’s commentary is.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Gabby being a judge was a JOKE. She was the WORST. My favorite star/guest judge was actually Lady Gaga. She threw her shoe on the stage; it was kind of awesome.

        So last year Fickshun won for boys and Amy won for girls. It was rigged from the start. However Jasmine (Cyrus’ ex GF) has a commercial now so I’m thinking she made more gravy than Fickshun. Or however you spell his name.

        My favorite judges are that guy from Modern Family and Christina Applegate. I also like the dude who says Buck a lot – Lil C or whoever that is.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        LOL…I don’t remember GaGa judging. I wish I could. I agree fully…it was completely rigged. I seriously stopped watching when that one kid from the other country was kicked off. I was outraged. I knew the rigging was in for Fiction.

        I really like Christine Applegate as a guest judge too. I like that she is personable, but also knows about dance too. She isn’t an expert…but she isn’t gabby who knows NOTHING at all! Plus…I am still in love with her from Don’t Tell Mom The Babysitters Dead days. I can practically quote the whole movie. It was a staple for me as a child. I had the biggest crush on her because of that movie. Lol.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        LOL one of my favorite movies, EVER. I watched it again not too long ago.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        LOL! Me too!!! I made my wife watch with with me the other day. She didn’t grow up with it, and he was like…WTH? I told her to shut it…it’s a classic!!!! Lol.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I am currently trying not to watch all the new OITNB in one sitting🙂

  16. GymMom Says:

    Gabby’s “Big Plans”

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Like I’ve said before, I’ll believe it when I see it.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Agreed. Key word in that article…”hoping.” AKA – not ready.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        What is Orphan black about?

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        It’s starts off with a girl getting off a subway train. She see’s another girl (who is dressed nicely) farther down on the subway platform crying. She starts to walk closer and notices that the girl has taken off her heels, coat, and purse, and puts them down on the floor. Just as she gets close enough to ask what’s wrong the girl turns around…and she looks exactly like her. They could be identical twins. Then the nicely dressed girl promptly walks in front of an oncoming train. Bang. She’s Dead. Commits suicide in the first 5 mins of the show.

        The other girl is strapped for cash, so she steals the purse left by the girl on the platform. Since they look identical, she decides to impersonate the nicely dressed girl for awhile while she empties her bank accounts. All the while, she’s trying to figure out why this girl looks exactly like her. She was an orphan, and didn’t know of any biological siblings. So who is this girl? And why did she off herself? Little does she know that the nicely dressed girl is only the first of many new surprises coming her way.

        Anyway, there is a bunch more stuff…but I don’t want to ruin any of it. It’s a drama…but there is a ton of humor in it. It’s fast paced. Great writing and acting. And extremely original. Give it 2 episodes. If you don’t care or like it after that, then it’s not your thing. But I would give it a try.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        What channel is it on? It does sound interesting

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        It’s on BBC America. I’m not sure of the channel itself (I have Direct TV). I actually started watching the first season for free on Amazon Prime. I have Netflix too, but it’s not on there for some stupid reason. The 2nd season just finished last week, so it’s not up yet for free.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Thanks for the tip uglyfatkid!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Is she retiring and moving to Zimbabwe? Didn’t think so:)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Not watching it but I love the, she decided over the winter but is in Pittsburgh not training

  17. JAS4 Says:

    So apparently Asac posted a video of her training the Front Handspring double and in the comments she mentioned it was after her Achilles surgery. This adds to the Marta conspiracies and why Asac thought she would be on the team. Lol

    In honor of #OlympicDay

    A video posted by Alicia (Sacramone) Quinn (@asaq_3) on

    • Gymbee Says:

      And Aly on the beam in the background. Stupid Marta. I want a book from ASaq!

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I want the ASAQ book. It would be way more interesting than some of the others out there! I say we start a petition lol

      • Katie Says:

        I would LOVE an Asaq book, if nothing for the little tidbits about the 08 quad drama. That’s what annoyed me about Moceanus book; aside from the Karolyi’s and her dad, she didn’t really shit talk anyone and it’s like COME ON.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        08 drama isn’t what you want to read it the 2012 drama. Why did Alicia leave so quickly and then her mother made those tweets and then she sold out for a job with USA-Gymnastics. That is where the real drama is

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Exactly. I would have thought that ASac pretty much knew she was fighting for a position that wasn’t hers and that the best she could hope for was alternate. Then in her interviews it was clear as day she had different expectations, and the only reason I could fathom she would have those is if Marta had told her something, because otherwise it was plainly obvious she wasn’t going to London.

        I really believe Marta knew ASac had a higher-rated vault and told ASac to compete @ Nationals and Trials with her 2008 skills and that would be enough to put her on the Team; then at the Olympics debut the higher-rated vault. Marta even went on record in an interview that ASac just needed her 2008 skills back, and all of us knew that was bullshit but I guess you can’t blame ASac for believing Marta (well, you can given Marta’s history but whatever, ASac fell for it).

        So ASac wasn’t even named ALTERNATE and she probably left Trials out of shock before she said something that could blackball her is my guess. USAG came back with a job offer but seriously – I’d much rather have her write a tell-all book exposing Marta for the game plays and lies and manipulations she uses to get those little girls to be like putty in her hands.

      • Gymbee Says:

        Yeah, but then again, IF she had competed her double at trials, you know Marta would still leave her off the team with the reason “she cannot follow simple orders, and jeopardised her own safety blabla, she is a major liability”.
        As GTT says, Marta gets what Marta wants.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        But then Marta would have had to admit to these “orders” in the first place (and the four-year fans would be thinking, “now why would Marta order a gymnast to water down their routines at Olympic Trials???”)

        That’d be like telling a swimmer to go easy on their final race – not too hard – even though only the top two in a final heat make the Olympic team. It’d appear stupid, but in reality we would know that Marta was playing her usual games again.

      • Gymbee Says:

        That’s true. She’d find a way to spin it in her advantage though😦 That is why we need a book! Let’s start a petition on lol.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Maybe someone ask her on Instagram…does she respond more often there? She responded once to a book on Twitter but I think that went out the door shortly after or something. She was asking what she would write about and everyone was like “duh – Marta screwing you over” and then all we got was radio silence.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Guaranteed. Marta told her not to use it at nationals, save it for the Olys. Just so it wouldn’t look as bad for taking Maroney solely for her vault when ASac also had beam and potential floor in her back pocket.

      I still believe had she taken ASac she’d have come back with gold (on vault).

      • JAS4 Says:

        I agree Sanity even though I like Maroney if Asaq did have the upgraded vault competition ready it would have made much more sense to bring her on the team. That would have thrown a wrench in Marta’s plan for Gabby to qualify for the AA because it wouldn’t have made sense to let Gabby near beam if Asaq was on the team.

  18. Exgymgurl Says:

    Essentially McKayla and Kyla were ASac and Nastia. In other words if one of them failed those were supposed to be their replacements. But that didnt happen. Nastia was as she always had been the picture of inconsistency. Doesnt anyone remember her falling in qualification in 08 in Beijing? At least Shawn never fell, and I think had alicia been healthy she would have been pushed onto the team had she not ever snapped her Achilles. But… Kyla versus Nastia unless Marta was on crack and wanted to lose, there was no way that happened. Thats like pulling Chellsie for Jana in 08 where we go from contending for gold to lucky to get bronze if Jana doesnt fall.

    • Katie Says:

      Nastia fell A LOT. Beijing Qualifications but also almost every single other competition. I remember when it was “rumored” that she would become an ub/bb specialist in 2007 and I was like, “How is that possible? She falls off one or the other during every competition.”

  19. JAS4 Says:
    atler interview

    • Katie Says:

      That’s awesome, those girls get some pretty good interviews. Vanessa was my favorite that quad but her mom was such a nightmare.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        No. Vanessa is the most overrated gymnast of all time. The ridiculous scores she got in the US never happened outside the US and her best ever finish was 7th at worlds in prelims where she didn’t even make vault finals. Vanessa= overrateD. People had her winning the AA at the Olympics., They still do but
        the best she could ever get was 7th in prelims. Sorry world was fascinated with this girl because she and mommy posted online and Vanessa
        lies through her teeth now claiming she never did. I will never forget the blog answer where she was like my mom was up late at night on the computer
        but I don’t know what she was doing. Girl is a liar and a drama queen. Sorry not sorry that is IMO.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        What do you mean by the “she and mommy posted online” comment? (Honestly don’t know; just want to know the story).🙂

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Her mother posted on all the time and started all kinds of trouble with people who didn’t like her daughter. Most
        people were ass kissers but some people would give their real opinion on her Gymnastics and Vanessa’s mother would be hiding
        in the chat under fake names and lie and said certain people were harassing her so the world would attack them. Surprisingly I was not
        one of the open minded people back but after this happened to several different long time posters who refused to follow
        the party line you knew what was going on. Vanessa and her creepy brother also posted but Vanessa claimed later on that she
        never went online which was bull shit.

        The whole entire family were creepy. The mother wanted the fame Vanessa had I even heard rumors back in the day that her mother lied to people
        about something that allegedly happened just so she could get sympathy for herself and Vanessa. I am not going into details on the rumor
        here at this blog or I would really have to use the disclaimer lets just say the entire family is fucked in the head.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Whoa, dang. Well I don’t find it shocking given Vanessa was such a headcase. I want to know of course and make you use the disclaimer but I guess I’ll have to keep my curiosity at bay.

        It was around her “time” that I started not being able to follow gymnastics due to life so although I do remember liking Vanessa Atler (I liked her persona) I never was able to follow her through the end of her career completely. I remember hearing about the whole issue with bars but that was it. Then when Shannon was coming back I paid some attention but by then Vanessa just was like in epic fail mode and I felt bad for her but I didn’t know the “tragedy” behind her story (was more tuned in to Miller). I just wanted Shannon Miller to kick ass and then was pissed when she hurt herself on vault. I even felt like they were pushing Shannon too hard and she could have made that 2000 team if they let her comeback the “Nastia” way (do one event here, then lead to 2, etc) but knowing Bela he made Shannon do all four events right away and of course that wore her out.

        The 2000 Olympic team was a mess anyways. Bunch of drama queens nobody really cares about now.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        2000 team felt entitled to the Mag 7 success and then whined when they couldn’t live up to it. Shannon was kicking ass at the camps
        til the injury.

        I get they were the guinea pigs for these camps and might have been pushed but my God get over it. They still whine about it.

        That has to be my least fave quad ever in gymnastics. Those girls were bitter before they had a reason to be bitter and Kelly Hill whining about the scores at the 99 worlds proves what a joke she was. Lets be real about her as a coach. Her gymnasts were chokers and never peaked when they needed too. Kupets in College aside Ray, Dawes and company are some of the most overrated gymnasts the US has ever had that weren’t trained by Bela Karolyi

      • Katie Says:

        I know she’s overrated but I still liked her a lot. Maybe because I was a bit of a headcasey athlete myself so I sympathized with her. Plus, it was slim pickings when it came down to who to cheer for that quad. Maloney and Ray just didn’t do it for me. The fact that Dawes made the team was just insane. In a perfect world, who would have been on the 2000 team? I would say Atler, Miller, Moceanu, Ray, Maloney, Thompson? (I was the biggest Jennie Thompson fan)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Haha, I was a Jennie Thompson fan too at first only because she trained with Shannon Miller.

        Seriously my 2000 Team would have just been Shannon Miller, plus five other people I could care less about. She would have killed everyone if she didn’t get injured.

  20. H Says:

    Arh … I miss an international/Usa competitions in gymnastics now …
    It is kind of crazy that there are so few meets where the top elite meet.

    So, while I am waiting for something interesting to happen,
    here is my (dream) list for team USA Worlds, for the moment
    (in brackets why).

    MyKayla Skinner (underdog, prove the naysayers wrong, energy, will).
    Mckayla Maroney (Would love to see here do AA)
    Simone Biles (great attitude)
    Rachel Gowey (well trained)
    Brenna Dowell (give her a break, hard worker)

    What is your (dream) team for the moment?

    • Ilanchik20 Says:

      I actually kind of like this team! I really hope Maroney recovers in time. I also kind of like Lexi or Amelia in there

      No Ross?

      • H Says:

        Well, I do like Ross. When that is said I must admit that due to lack of upgrades (I am sure she has a good reason) I just miss something new (not holding back attitude when more is possible, without being reckless of course) and inspiring.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I have to take out your Dowell and put in Kyla for her consistency and hey – she has bars/beam. Otherwise I think you might be overloaded on the floor/vault. Otherwise I like your team.

      It’s only because of Kyla’s best events (bars/beam) that she’s still in the game/running for a Worlds team though. When those other juniors age up she will HAVE to upgrade or just go to college. I think I am trying to tell myself she is going the college route so I can save some disappointment.

      I also like Lexie – she can replace Maroney in this scenario since I’m not so sure Maroney is in the clear from her surgeries/injuries. She’s a better floor worker than Maroney and also better at bars/beam…and if she gets that amanar back it makes sense, really.

      I think Skinner deserves a run. I can’t see Skinner and Dowell on the same team though. I would prefer Skinner over Dowell. I know Dowell is a hard worker but they all are hard workers, let’s face it.

      • H Says:

        lol yes, I might have an overload on vault/floor.
        I didn’t think strategic, just for the fun of it.

        And you are right, they all are hard worker, and I do hope that Skinner get a spot.

        Hopefully Ross proves me wrong, but it might be a good idea as you said to let go and assume that college will be her next move.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Gabby update video. She is doing some bars work in it.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        She looks like she’s getting back in good shape, but if this is her now I don’t see her pulling together 4 events by nationals.

        However I honestly think she benefits from some really good genes – probably should thank her dad, and not her deadbeat fata$$ mom for those.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She looks better than Nastia had when she had the gaul to show up at Nationals but this super bar routine people hope is in the works is far away. She is connecting a few skills and doing it very slowly but at least she is really training even if taking time off.

  21. Exgymgurl Says:

    Well its better than Nastia in 2012. Gabby has two years. More power to her if she brings a good bar routine to the team. She sounds like a different person almost. But I guess people grow up. Maybe shes starting to see her mom took all her $$ and lived off her.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Or maybe all she needs is a little mote attention to turn into the brat of 2012. We will see. The US is so far ahead of other Countries Gabby isn’t needed for bars. She needs more.

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Marta wants total domination. She doesnt care that we are so far ahead, she wants to be further ahead.

    • mim Says:

      She seems so much more chill and likeable now. But she is 18, not some overexcitable starryeyed kid. I daresay Chow’s focus will be on Norah, Alexis and Rachel so it will be interesting to see how Gabby will fare.

  22. gymbot Says:

    So, aerobic gymnastics is basically the aerobic competitions from the 80s? – FIG Aerobic Gymnastics, Korea

  23. JAS4 Says:
    Apparently some of the 2004 medals ate turning black

  24. Melanie Says:

    Bailie Key’s training an Amanar. It’s kind of hard to see in the video, but it looks like she’s getting it around pretty well.

    I talked to my aunt who coaches at Texas Dreams. No really dirt, but she says Bailie Key is a wonderful kid – “perfect role model” in her words. Nice, hard-working, etc. My aunt worked closely with Peyton Ernst and says she’s a really good kid, too. I haven’t heard anything from her about her plans for Rio.

    Apparently Kim is a good coach, but has to be reeled in periodically. My aunt said she caught Kim shaking Nica Hults’ thighs saying, “We’ve got to do something about these!” Clearly Bela had his influence on her. Oh, and she bitched out my aunt for taking Peyton Ernst out to ice cream during Christmas break. So, my aunt took her out again for spring break. Haha.🙂

    • JAS4 Says:

      Bailey had a nice DTY so hopefully she will have a decent Amanar.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      Ha ha. Your aunt sounds awesome!!!

      And where have you been??? I was going to start a search party soon. Where ever it was, I’m glad you’re back. 🙂

      • Melanie Says:

        Yeah, she’s pretty cool. She invited me to attend their invitational meet in January, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to go. It would certainly be awesome! I’m interested to see the Gymnastike BTR on Texas Dreams, though I don’t know if I want to shell out $20 for it.

        So, WordPress somehow dumped me in a spam folder. I’m the unfortunate soul who posted from too many IP addresses — I work at a public library and probably sit down to about six different computers a day. Whoops! But I’m back! I’ve definitely been on GTT withdrawal.

    • mim Says:

      Ugh I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that Kim did that to Nica but it’s still SO GROSS to me. It’s 2014 Kim, not the 1980s/1990s. Keep your issues to yourself woman.

      Melanie you’re aunt sounds like a legend. Glad they have some common sense people around them.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        July camp in progress. No Laurie, it seems. Gabby is back again. I wonder how Maroney is doing.

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        I saw this news about Laurie just today. “Laurie tore her patella tendon and dislocated her kneecap at the last training camp. She had surgery last week and will be out for six months.” It was on the triple twist tumblr. I guess you all don’t call these death camps for nothing!

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I saw that too after I posted. Wasn’t she wearing a corrective knee tape before the injury? I thought I remember seeing that from older photos. That’s too bad– hope she recovers.

        Isn’t that the injury Bross had in 2011?

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        I’m thinking that was Bross’ injury also. And we saw what happened to her……. I’m pretty sure that was Laurie’s first camp back after her last injury wasn’t it?

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Not a good sign if she’s already injury prone and not even a senior yet. Marta might write her off…

        As it is it’s like her body is trying to tell her something.

      • gymbot Says:

        Priessman is at the July Camp, I’m glad she’s going for it this season!

      • Case Says:

        Ugly injury for Laurie. Way to go Marta!

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        I think it was Laurie’s first camp post last injury. Didn’t she have a broken wrist before that? Well there are still 2 years to go so anything is possible. Nastia had all those injuries 2 Years before Olympics too and look what happened, although I guess you’d need to be Marta’s pet for that and I doubt Laurie is.

      • Ilanchik20 Says:

        Oh and I’m so excited to see Lexie at camp. I hope she does awesome! I really want her on the World’s team! And Amelia.

      • mim Says:

        What do you all make of Laurie’s injury? I’ve seen a few debates online regarding whether or not she’s being pushed too hard by her coach.. I mean yeah she had fairly high difficulty pretty early on in the quad, but is this like a bad luck type injury or an overuse injury?

      • byrdisthewyrd Says:

        It seems like I read somewhere, possibly from Nia Dennis’, that Laurie injured the knee while vaulting a double because she was still twisting when she landed. So that would be bad luck rather right? I mean, unless she hadn’t really worked her way back up to a DTY since the wrist injury? I’ve seen those debates too about the girls at MG Elite doing too much too soon. I guess for me, I just don’t know enough about the pacing of gymnastics. I never did gymnastics so I don’t know when you should learn these things. It seems to me that in the U.S., we have such competitive juniors that they’re trying the harder stuff at an earlier age. But maybe that’s how it has to happen to stay competitive here? I’ve seen talks about Jordan Chiles too. That since she won’t be able to compete for the Olympics until 2020 she’s just doing too much too soon. But if the junior is capable of doing these skills do you not let them go ahead and attempt them? Hmm, I’d love to hear from you all about this. When should a junior be able to compete/attempt this stuff? Sorry mim, I have far more questions than answers!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        My coworker used to be a gymnast and a gymnastics coach. She actually coached Kyla when she was a little one. She told me a little about this stuff; basically, before you hit puberty you try to get as many good skills as you can in your arsenal. Then, after puberty (or say around the age of 15/16) your biggest goal as a gymnast is to “keep” the skills you have learned – or hang onto them so to speak – and maybe add little tweaks/upgrades as your body allows. It’s very hard to learn new tricks after your body hits puberty apparently (everything is “off” and you almost have to re-train your body to be able to do what it did before).

        Gymnastics has always been a race against time, and I feel like Bela/Marta are so “against” the age rule because even they know that most gymnasts hit their “peak” at the age of 14 or so. Of course we all know that this doesn’t have to be the case, but look at what body types specifically are able to sustain this sport past that age. The strong/powerhouse/muscular gymnasts. So if you’re one of those lanky/fragile-looking/”international” style gymnasts the odds are against you. Those body types don’t usually withstand the high impact after puberty. Everyone’s going to argue Nastia here but Nastia wouldn’t be able to make it in this day’s code, and even so, she was injury-ridden right up to the Olympics. She actually was very lucky not to have had a major injury at the time of the Olympics because it seemed like she was always hurt leading up to it.

        Even Jordyn Weiber had an amanar at the age of 13 (or so) but she couldn’t compete it because she was too young. She “had” it though in her arsenal. Sadly these days even as a junior you need “at least” a double twisting Yurchenko to stay in the running, unless one of your other events can more than compensate for a weak vault. Yet the vault specifically is one of the higher-scoring apparatuses so really, you need at least the DTY to stay competitive if you’re going to be an AA gymnast. It’s just sad that it’s come to that point.

Leave a Reply

