My impression of the 2014 Europeans ( Seniors) New GGMB and Lex

Doc and Kerri Fairy have decided to start a new GGMB and you can find the link to that blog here. If you feel the need to discuss GGMB and the aftermath of the apocalypse PLEASE take all discussion to that particular blog GTT is now back to discussing gymnastics. I want to thank my regular followers for being their classy selves and ignoring it all🙂


Lex was discussed in the comments section of the GGMB blog and I think the bullies that laughed at his death and continued to harass him on line before his suicide should think about getting fucking therapy. For those who don’t know who Lex was he was a former gymnast and a huge gym fan that used to post on all the gymnastics boards back in the day. I remember a few conversations we had at the chat room and he seemed like a smart sincere young man.

He had some great montages on youtube that I can no longer find. You can read his obituary here.

My impression of the 2014 Europeans ( Seniors)

Simone Biles and Kyla Ross (upgraded or not) have nothing to worry about if these Europeans are any indication of what will happen at Worlds this October. Sadly my overall impression of these Europeans is that a lot of team are in trouble if they don’t do something to drastically improve their depth and consistency in the up and coming months.


Giulia Steingruber winning the Vault title with a Yurchenko full (A piked one no less) is why I think the US should be able to use 3 vaulters at every competition even if the gymnast isn’t on the team. Mckayla Maroney, Simone Biles and MyKayla Skinner all would have won this title doing vaults with their eyes closed. Its a sad state of the sport when a YURCHENKO FULL can win a vault title in 2014. No offense to Giulia who has a more difficult vault and chose not to compete it. A smart thing to do for her but terrible for the sport. Though she did gamble with only doing the Yurchenko and you could tell by the look on her face she knew it would be close.

How great was it to see Anna Pavlova smile? Okay so she slipped off the podium and was caught and that is why she smiled but IMO she should have won this vault final. Her DTY had some feet issues and was piked but the form before that was dead on ( how did she score less that Iordache’s mess of a DTY?)

Maria Kharenkova’s beam routine was a hot mess of a lot of skills with a lot of bobbles but I kind of like her. Not sure why and if you need any more proof that Aliya Mustafina is not the diva NBC pretends she is watch the reaction of Maria when she turns around and see’s her after her routine. That isn’t a fake I am happy to see you its a genuine excited reaction to seeing her teammate.

Claudia Fragapane’s floor routine seems to be the new favorite of the gymternet at these Europeans but I don’t understand why. She seems spastic and out of control and down right sloppy. While I like some of the choreography even if it is a bit quirky I think she would do herself a favor by taking a little out of it to conserve energy. She has so much amazing tumbling that I think resting a little in between her tumbling would help the quality of the overall routine. I know we as gym fans are always complaining there isn’t enough Choreography in floor routines these days but that isn’t the way to go with this code. Code whoring is the way to be.

The reason I chose this video above of her routine is this was my favorite leotard of the competition. The US should use this for Worlds this year.

I am not a big fan of the Great Britain seniors at this meet. They just are not my type of gymnast and while I despise cry babies and sap stories I have to admit I like Becky Downie’s bar routine. She has a few small feet separations but stayed on and did a great job deserving her win.

The unofficial AA champion and star of this Europeans belongs to Larisa Iordache. She led her team to gold. Won gold on floor by herself and won medals in 3 of the 4 Event Finals. She pretty much carried her team to victory.

Romania’s reaction to their team win at Europeans.
It was nice to hear Beth Tweddle commentate.

40 Responses to “My impression of the 2014 Europeans ( Seniors) New GGMB and Lex”

  1. tulip Says:

    Agree with everything you said about the US and upcoming Worlds. If the Chinese bring the goods for second, it may be a battle for third between Russia, Romania and GB.

    It makes me sick that people would make fun of a suicide. I read his obituary and he seemed like a really nice kid. I feel so sad for his parents. A friend since grade school lost her son 4 years ago to suicide. She has barely functioned since and likely won’t soon. She’s a shell of her former self. I’m sending a donation in his name as directed.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      That is old Tulip so I am not sure if that part still works. Apparently certain people made fun of him after the reason that led to his suicide so they pretty much helped push him over the edge. Shame on them ALL Adults.

      • tulip Says:

        So someone (ahem- me) skipped right over the 2008 piece of the obit. The part about war and Syria sounded today so I just assumed it was current. Thanks for pointing it out. I’m laughing at myself right now… is it right or wrong that I crack myself up sometimes?

        A gym question- do you know what progress Alexandrov is making in Brazil? I’d love to see him turn them into contenders in 2016 if only to stick it to the V psychos

  2. JAS4 Says:

    I haven’t heard much about Brazil but I have seen people talking about Rebecca Andrade. I have only seen video of her Amanar but I need to watch her other events on YouTube. This is the link to her Amanar.

    • Melanie Says:

      Yeah, Andrade shows tons of potential, as does Flavia Saraiva. Saraiva reminds me of a little Brazilian Omelianchik.

  3. Exgymgurl Says:

    I thought larissa tied with vanessa Ferrari on floor…

  4. sanitynmotion Says:

    I really like Iordache (always have) but noticed her form in the last year or so is kind of getting sloppy. I hate to say that but I guess it’s the norm these days since the focus is on tricks over execution. Even her floor choreo though – she’s so “bouncy” it seems like she doesn’t have full control over it. Maybe it’s just me.

    I thought that Claudia’s floor was…interesting but too gimmicky or something. It seemed rushed, the whole thing.

    I feel like this quad the US girls are basically just competing against themselves. Frankly it’s kind of boring but I guess it is what it is. Was hoping we’d see more major comebacks by now (Iordache, Jinnan, Komova, etc.) but it seems like everyone is bogged down by some sort of injury or illness. It’s too bad. I just hope this upcoming Worlds isn’t as boring as I fear it might be.

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    And I’d like to add suicide is no laughing matter and for anyone to make fun of it or laugh about it shows what kind of person they are. To those folks I just have to say I really hope karma is a bitch.

    • Case Says:

      What sanity said x 1000….

    • Tortuga Says:

      I live in a small town of about 30,000. We have had two suicides from teenagers in the past 3 months. I don’t know what is going on in our area schools but I hope something changes. I heard the most recent one was bullied at school but who really knows? The other odd thing is both teens bodies were found outside off of the same street, two intersections apart. Which is less than a mile from where I work. Authorities won’t come out and say it was suicide out of respect for the families so at first everyone thought there was murderer. Lots of “accidental deaths” have been happening lately. But word got out pretty fast from family and school kids that this last one was a suicide.

      • Jenn Smith Says:

        I, too, live in a very small town, and we too have had two suicides (although in the past year) that were well known as such. I have two kids and the oldest is always asking for fb and such but, I know one suicide was directly from being bullied at school and on social media. It’s like the kids who are picked on at school now can’t even go home and get a break from the bullies. It’s ridiculously sad. I didn’t know Lex and hadn’t heard of him until the GGMB goes kaboom blog. I didn’t realize from that blog that a) he was so young and b) he killed himself in 2008. So sad.

  6. Melanie Says:

    This post is pretty spot-on. Fragapane is overrated, just like Lloimincia Hall was. People like to jump on bandwagons.

    I agree with sanity about Iordache. She is a very likeable gymnast, but her form is not good. And I definitely concur that her floor is too bouncy. She has some interesting choreo, but it is muddled by the flailing arms and running around. I like Munteanu much better than Iordache in that department. That being said, I am happy that Iordache is “having her day” after the disappointment of London. She seems to be healthy and happy right now.

    Kharenkova is sloppy for a Russian. Seems like they were trying to tout her as the new Komova for a while, but there’s little comparison. Makes me REALLY miss the 2010 Komova.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      I agree with you both (Sanity and Mel) regarding Larissa, however she tends to fall apart at large world meets in my opinion. Not a major melt down or anything, but just not living up to her potential. She was injured during the Olympics, so I give her a pass there. But during worlds last year her fall on beam during both the AA and EF was telling to me. Especially since it was supposed to be one of her best events. Hopefully she can get it together and really bring it for worlds this year. I want her to be fighting for the podium in the AA.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        IMO she peaks too early in the season. She peaked already at Europeans. By teh time October comes she will be tired and done. REST HER ROMANIA

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        That could totally be it GTT. I just figured she was a little bit of a head case when the pressure was really on.

    • Gymbee Says:

      I am really happy to see the Swedish gymnast, Jonna Adlerteg doing so well. Nice to see gymnasts from non-gymnasty nations succeed.

      So happy to see Pavs as well! Glad to see her mother somewhat caught up with fashion haha. Mean.

  7. Case Says:

    So GTT…is Stephen Drew the answer?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      No, no and NO. IMO the Red Sox signed him to stop him going to the Yankees. Its the only thing that makes sense and yet IT DOESN’T MAKE SENSE. Our issue is leaving men on base how is a guy that can’t hit going to help drive in runs?

      I have been meaning to ask you. What is your opinion on the Fielder trade? Were you happy about it? Sad?

      Oh and thanks for sweeping us bitch🙂

      • Case Says:

        You are welcome. 🙂

        I loved the Fielder trade. I soured big time on Prince after he popped his mouth off during the playoffs last year. He just didn’t seem to fit the team chemistry at all. I’m loving Kinsler so far…I’m also loving Ausmus who just happens to be easy on the eyes as well.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        We don’t have any easy on the eyes players. I feel left out🙂

        Has Fielder been back to Detroit yet? I wonder how that will go.

      • Case Says:

        He hasn’t been back yet but I think it’ll go fine. That’s if Fielder even plays, last I heard he herniated a disc in his neck which sucks for Texas given his obscene contract.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I think he is back tonight.

      • Case Says:

        Just checked, Prince comes to town on Thursday.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don;t know enough about the Tigers to guess if he gets booed or cheered but if he played for us and said what he said he would be booed out of the We are kind mean that

      • Case Says:

        See, because the Tigers are playing so well right now I could see fans not even giving him the time of day. But…I literally just read that Prince was quoted tonight as saying “I don’t give a #%^# about the Detroit series” so I’m pretty sure he will get booed out of the park.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Why the hell is he so bitter? He is the one that didn’t hit. I love when players leave their small teams just happy to make the playoffs and then suck in the big cities that want to win and they whine because they can’t handle living up to their contract. Here is an idea, LIVE UP TO THE BIG MONEY or STFU.

        With all that whining he should become a

  8. mim Says:

    So sad about that suicide. How heartless can some people be to think it’s amusing? That just makes me sick.

    Admittedly I am more excited about the Dancing with the Stars finale than I am about gymnastics at the moment (I just spent the past two days catching up on the whole season, the joys of being home sick!). I don’t care if their relationship was fake/for the show but seriously I hope Meryl and Maks had at least one hook up because the two of them together are smouldering hot and their dancing was a joy to watch. That girl may be shy but she can express the hell out of herself. I’ve never seen him on the show before but I gather he’s always been douchey or something? Whatever, he’s sexy and she’s a Disney princess and I’m loving it haha.

    The GGMB drama was so confusing I literally could not follow who was who or what had happened. I like that GTT blog is practically drama-free🙂

    A big fat YAY for Pavs coming back, particularly due to her age and with the total lack of support she’s had for years. Her being in competition alone is a fantastic ‘Eff You B!tches’ to the Rodionenkos. Great to see Larisa do well for Romania, I just hope she can finally, FINALLY bring it to the big meets later on.

    Australian nationals are this week and I’m super curious to see if there has been any improvements. Hoping Kiara Munteanu brings it.

  9. Melanie Says:

    A commenter on RRG said that they were sitting near the Russian delegation during the vault EF ceremony, and that Valentina looked super-pissed when Pavs made the podium. Love it!!

    • Karlie Says:

      Pav’s post-medal interview also amounted to a large “suck my dick Valentina” as well, which was just awesome. I adore her.

      • Melanie Says:

        That is fantastic. I have a feeling we may see other athletes go the same way…just imagine if Demy, Shelgunova, Paseka, etc. all marched out and created an entire Azerbaijani team!

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        What country was Pavs competing for? I couldn’t make it out. I think the whole thing is awesome.

        P.S. Was Pavs the one who ran at the vault that one time and touched it and so got a 0 at a World meet or something? I remember feeling SO BAD for whoever did that. More of a coaching mistake than an athlete’s I thought.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I want to see

      • Melanie Says:

        Pavs now competes for Azerbaijan, a small country in the Caucasus near Georgia and Armenia. Yulia Inshina also went to compete there.

        Pavs was the one who started running before the green light and was thus given a 0 score on an otherwise perfectly decent vault. So upsetting.

      • Karlie Says:

        Pavlova received a 0 for a vault in Beijing before she started after the green light, which was actually pretty heartbreaking to watch.😦

        However, sanity, I think you’re thinking of Kramarenko the year before – she was the one at the 2007 WC who balked her vault, but because she put her hand on the table she received a 0. She was actually still placed on the 2008 Olympic team, but she’s still on the Russian National Team and hasn’t really received any other international assignments despite having several perfectly serviceable events. Methinks Valentina never really forgave her for the vault screw-up.

        Also, I would LOVE if Demy went to Azerbaijan. Demy, please please please unretire and go train with Anna!! Haha.

  10. Gymbee Says:

    Has anyone seen the camp videos USAG has put up on Facebook? Today they had one of Mykayla Skinner vaulting, beam series and floor. I think her form seems better than what it was. Still miles from perfect of course.
    She’s still not blocking her Cheng very well though.

    • Karlie Says:

      Her Cheng block is still pretty crooked but at least she gets both hands on the vault table now rather than barely touching it. The Amanar actually gets a great block though, and is definitely fully-rotated. Her leg form looked a little better on beam but both were still a bit bent on the BHS which is incredibly irksome (GTT, I know this is a special pet peeve of yours, haha).

      Her tumbling, however, looked spectacular – the Moors was more laid-out than I’ve ever seen it and the Silivas has definitely improved. She apparently ditched the double arabian-stag for a full-in split leap, which is a shame as she actually had a really nice arabian, but I get it since that’s the element she ALWAYS falls on so at least this “downgrade” (although it’s the same value, so I’m not even sure what to call it) might lead to fewer falls.

      I’ll admit that despite her form I have a soft spot for Skinner, haha.

Leave a Reply

