Bai Yawen : Chinese Nationals


This was beautiful even with the wobbles

A few more videos at the same Youtube
This link has a play list.

For the people who keep searching – How did Brandon Crawford meet his wife the answer is College ( UCLA) This has been searched at least 15 times since today started an hour or 2 ago.

Tags: ,

24 Responses to “Bai Yawen : Chinese Nationals”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    I saw her routine a little while ago on tumblr and it is really good! It’s different from the routines we see that are all very similar in recent years

  2. uglyfatkid Says:

    She has beautiful lines, and she could teach EVERY US team member a thing or two (or twenty) regarding proper form. I loved the skill directly following the side somi. You never see skills performed perpendicular to the beam anymore, and I love when someone throws something in like that. Didn’t Pavs have something kinda like that?

    I’m not sure I would credit every connection in the routine, but I am a connection Nazi. The leap series at first was too long to me for instance. Speaking of which, is the whole “arm movement” thing still in play anymore regarding leap series? The new terrible trio (new because Herpies R Us Lukin gave Elfie the boot) went on and on about how arm movements aren’t allowed during leap series during SCAM back in 2013. If it is still in effect, I think it would apply in this case.

    The only thing that really gets to me is the dismount. And for the record, this has nothing to do this gymnast or her performance. I’m just starting to hate double pikes off beam almost as much as I hate double backs of beam. Granted…I don’t hate them QUITE as much yet…but they are getting close. EVERYONE is doing them, and I’m getting tired of seeing them. In fact, I’m trying to think of a Chinese gymnast in the last quad that didn’t end their beam routine in a double pike and I can’t think of any (can you?). I don’t want to ban it or anything, I just want more variety. I’d love to see someone bring back a gainer 2.5 or triple, or see more punch double fronts, or triple twists. ANYTHING really. I’m just getting bored as hell with double pikes.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I blame the code for why everything these days is so predictable on each apparatus. No more uniqueness and seems like so many routines start to look the same. I’m responding to your double back pike complaint. I feel the same way.

      This kid has a toe point like no other. Love her lines. Even when she just holds her leg out in front of her it’s perfectly straight.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Agreed. It’s the CoP for sure. At least on beam this one makes some sense. The double back is a D, and the double pike is an E. On floor, they are both level D. That never made any sense to me. The pike position is more difficult, and should be rewarded as such. But we all know the CoP is jacked up, so I’m preaching to the choir.

    • macstabby Says:

      I was wondering about the arm-waving too- and if *I* noticed it, it must be pretty egregious.

    • Karlie Says:

      I also wondered about the arm movement. Scoring in China tends tobe notoriously strict…I wonder how this scored there?

      Also, yep, Pavlova had a hand stand-half turn-down to the side of the beam. Kind of similar…sigh. I miss 2008 Pavs.

  3. Kyz Says:

    stunning, good song in back ground too, good ol New Zealand Music

  4. macstabby Says:

    Good gravy, that toepoint. So lovely. Some inventive moves, too! Refreshing to see this.

  5. gingercrush Says:

    SCS is doing a Triple Twist dismount.

    I’m not sure what you want. They have to do a D dismount and I’d sooner see a Double Pike than a double tuck or 2.5 twist. But actually I don’t like the Triple Twist off beam either. The full in though I love a lot.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      I’m not sure what I want either GC. =] I know they have to do at least a D dismount to get the bonus points or whatever they call them (the points they add if they do all the stuff [leap series, flight series, D dismount, turn, etc.]). I’m just tired of the double pike, that’s all. Like I said in my original post, it’s not as bad as the double back (cough KYLA cough), but I am still getting tired of it. I just want to see more variety I guess. And I concur on the full in…I love that one too. I would also love to see some new dismounts put into the CoP. Has anyone ever done a piked double front? That I could get behind. =]

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      Sorry, I forgot to ask…who is SCS? I couldn’t think of who’s initials those were. Sorry, I’m having a moron moment and drawing a blank. =]

  6. Exgymgurl Says:

    Herpes r us started all the code whoring. Composition requires a d minimum dismount. Personally, Id like some more scary brosslike Pattersons…….and some g skills off beam. Let’s play who wants to be seriously injured…

  7. Melanie Says:

    Ooh, that toepoint! I’m in love.

    I always loved Lia Parolari’s dismount in Beijing. I was shocked when I found out it was a D. It could have been devalued for all I know, but it’s awesome and different.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      I had never heard of her, so I YouTubed her. =] It looks like it’s a gainer single layout to me. I am shocked too if that’s a D level skill. It is nice to see something new though, even if the skill isn’t as difficult.

      • Melanie Says:

        Yep, as of the 2009 COP it was a D. Just checked to make sure I wasn’t crazy. I don’t know about the 2013 COP, but I’d be surprised if it was all of a sudden downgraded.

  8. sainabou nyang Says:

    Ah how I love a gymnast who can hit a 180 degree split with stunning toe point. Its been awhile since I’ve seen a Chinese gymnast ao confident on beam.

  9. gymtruthteller Says:

    Ung doesn’t as much underage to me as mulnurished. Usually the huge head is what happens when you aren’t eating.

    • Melanie Says:

      Well, it’s China, so she’s probably both underage and malnourished. Does anyone remember the announcement that China made recently where they said they wouldn’t compete any of their 14-15 year olds internationally to “preserve” them? I’m trying to remember where I read that. Super fishy, BTW.

      • Karlie Says:

        SCS actually grew up in a really poor region though; I have no doubt that she’s malnourished and that’s probably a big reason why she’s so small. I believe her brother is blind partially due to malnutrition (lack of Vitamin A).

  10. Lithi Says:

    I love perpendicular skills on beam. By the way, when did Nastia get herpes?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      She didn’ Not that we know of. This started a few weeks ago Gymgurl wanted to start it trending on

Leave a Reply

