Best vs the worst


Compulsories routines of Shannon Miller (who had the best compulsories beam score at the 1996 Olympics) and Ana Destefano (who had the worst.compulsories score at those same Olympics)  9.737 vs 8.012


Watching them side by side it is easy to spot the differences.

I just wish the judges would have been as strict on certain gymnasts who flat footed and bobbled through their entire routines and still got scores in the 9.4 range.




Aly threw out the first pitch for the Chicago White Sox.
Wrong color Sox Aly.

Aly Raisman, 19-year-old Olympic gymnast, will throw out a ceremonial first pitch. At the 2012 Olympics in London, she became the first U.S. women’s gymnast to win gold on floor exercise, winning with a margin of .400 points. The Needham, Mass., native also was the captain of the 2012 “fierce five” U.S. Olympic gymnastics team, which won its second-ever team gold. She won a bronze medal on the beam, becoming the most decorated U.S. gymnast at the 2012 Summer Games. She is currently training to qualify for the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazi

21 Responses to “Best vs the worst”

  1. Exgymgurl Says:

    Is she in Chicago to promote the secret us classic?

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I don’t know. Probably STILL the wrong Sox color

    • biyatch Says:

      Yeah, she was doing gym visits promoting classics last weekend. There was a radio interview floating around somewhere where they were giving her a hard time about the Red Sox and the Bruins and they mentioned something about how she was at game 6 of the finals last year.

  2. JAS4 Says:

    Sometimes I think it would be good to bring back compusories but it probably wouldn’t end up making much of a difference because judges will still be the same and score a routine how they want to regardless of how it should actually be scored

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Compulsories won’t help the judges but they will help the gymnasts be better gymnasts and that id what really matters

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      I am “for” the return of compulsories. It matches every gymnast on an even keel and pushes for strong/proper execution and form. A lot of the US gymnasts would greatly benefit, but they don’t give a damn anymore because artistic gymnastics is no longer about proper form and technique as much as it’s about difficulty and tricks.

  3. laurensy Says:

    I’ve seen some terrible things said about gymnast’s, but this one has to top all of it.

    • Tortuga Says:

      I don’t see the terrible thing you’re talking about, just a million posts about how much they love Max Whitlock. Might as well rename his blog to Team Max Whitlock or Else!

    • Karlie Says:

      No, this is the blog that despises Max Whitlock…a lot of those posts are people submitting posts in Whitlock’s defense. This blogger goes around commenting on other people’s blogs about how much he hates Whitlock and occasionally says some truly vile things…it’s really annoying. It’s actually kind of funny in a perverse kind of way – he hates EVERYTHING Max Whitlock does, whether it’s his gymnastics, his interview persona, his hair, etc.

      (I’m a tumblr gymternet person…I recognize him. I once had a gifset of team GB and he totally spammed it with rude things. Annoying but not awful).

      • Tortuga Says:

        Oh I see. I thought that might have been what was going on but I didn’t search long enough to find the negative stuff. He must be worse than gym mom with Shawn and Gabby lol. I don’t understand how someone has so much energy to exhaust on someone they don’t like. Maybe it’s an ex girlfriend?

    • Melanie Says:

      This reminds me of the YouTube poster who spammed nearly every single gym video with intense hatred towards Alicia Sacramone after 2008. I mean, fine by me if you have things to say about her gymnastics or her personality, but calling her “fat b****” and other lewd and horrible things is too far in my opinion. I certainly have negative opinions toward some gymnasts, but they are almost always based on things like bad attitudes, cockiness, etc. — not on stupid things like hair.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        If only you knew what I really wanted to say:)

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Ahhhh say it!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I don’t think you will believe me but I am actually quite subdued on this blog accept when it comes to Nastia. She gets my full wrath and frankly she deserves it.

        The new annoying gymnast it girl of the century to me is Sam Peszak. She annoys the hell out of me. I am sick to death of her getting things because of who her mother is (Olympics, commentating jobs etc…) and the fake blond hair looks ridiculous. She is way too out of shape to be a gymnast anymore and yet she is coming back to milk UCLA out of some more money and staying on the team. Please just retire already Sam. Its bad enough you are always injured but give the poor scholarship to some poor lost gymnast that actually needs it.

    • Lithi Says:

      Wow. I wish I had so little going on in my life that I would snipe at some person online constantly and let them live rent-free in my head. *brute sarcasm tag goes here*

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Maybe they should start a blog to get it all out:)

      • Short1 Says:

        @Lithi That’s what I was thinking when I saw that Tumblr blog. I mean, I can understand not being a fan of someone’s gymnastics, personality, etc; and that’s totally fine, we’re all entitled to our opinions. BUT, why waste the time and energy when they’ve already made their point about not being a fan of his (in any sense of the word)?

  4. sanitynmotion Says:

    P.S. this post just makes me miss the ’90s gymnastics more, and especially Shannon Miller. There was nothing quite like her! She’s the Michelle Kwan of gymnastics.

  5. Lithi Says:

    GTT, were you referring to the person blasting the Scottish guy? I was talking about him/her. I should have specified, sorry.

Leave a Reply

