Thi Ha Thanh Phan

If an American had performed this beam routine with a 5.9 start value it would have been high 14’s and worthy of a medal.To bad judges suck

She has nice lines, decent form and a very nice look on beam. I was highly impressed with this routine. It wasn’t perfect but considering she is from Vietnam this routine is the most impressive thing I have seen from a non Chinese in years.

She won Beam and Vault at the Osijek World Challenge but if she hit this there is no reason she shouldn’t be in the medal hunt at worlds. At least a top 8.

Vault and Bars Osijek Results

She has some potential on floor too

55 Responses to “Thi Ha Thanh Phan”

  1. sanitynmotion Says:

    Wow. No bent knees and awesome leg extension. What was her score here?

    If this were Kyla it would be high 14’s. Honestly I thought she did a better job overall than Kyla as of late, just work on that stupid turn.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      It was something like a 14.025. They found 8.1 something in deductions

      • Catherine Says:

        Lovely routine. Funny you should say ‘from a non Chinese’ as her coach until 2011 was Chinese, dunno about her coach now.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      I like her a lot. I was worried for a minute though. She was the one with the under rotated Amanar during vault finals at last years worlds. I was really worried for her when i first saw the final. When she hits the mat it sounds like she breaks something. Thankfully she was okay. It’s nice to see that she isn’t just a vaulter. I hope we see more of her.

  2. GymMom Says:

    Major Gymnastics event in Des Moines Iowa.

  3. GymMom Says:

    DES MOINES, Iowa –
    The 2015 Women’s National Junior Olympic Championships will be held in Des Moines, officials announced Tuesday.

    The championships are considered to be a major event because it helps launch future Olympic stars like Shawn Johnson.

    USA Gymnastics made the announcement Tuesday.

    The event set for May 2015 at the Iowa Events Center will host as many as 500 young gymnasts. They will be competing for national titles in the all-around, the vault, the uneven bars, the balance beam and floor exercise.

    It will showcase likely members of future U.S. world championship teams, as well as top contenders for the 2020 Olympics.

    Olympics coach Liang Chow said it’s a major honor to land the competition.

    “We are very excited about hosting this great event and also we are honored to have this wonderful event in our home city,” said Chow.

    The championship is scheduled for May 15-16, 2015.

  4. GymMom Says:

    First training photos of Gabby and other gymnasts taken at Chows Gym today.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      For such a skinny little thing she has a belly. I doubt she has been through puberty yet. Hopefully that happens and she goes away

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        What. If Gabby has a belly than I am the fattest thing there ever was.

        I would bet she has hit puberty. Her face looks different. I think she is just small built. She’s actually got the perfect build for a gymnast. (Like it or not🙂 )

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She still has a belly and elite gymnasts don’t. To me that means she is not in as good of a shape as most elites. She is skinny but looking at her family unless she stays healthy eating wise she won’t be for long

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        it’s funny I think she got some crazy genes because the rest of her family is definitely not built like her (maybe her brother…but I haven’t looked at him too much).

        I still say she won’t be in good enough shape to go for Worlds this year. Maybe next year is she’s still in the mix.

      • Melanie Says:

        She’s a good height/weight for a gymnast, but those bowed legs and feet with no arch could definitely be better.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        wierd that shes not wearing a GK elite leo and shes wearing all Nike. Maybe the leo is from her collection. Too not caring to look, GTT she looks thin and in good condition. Jordyn looks the same. Apparently Waller knows how to keep elites conditioned without pushing things.

      • Karlie Says:

        Genes also aren’t totally responsible in situations like these; environment plays a huge role. Her mother’s frame could easily be the result of a combination of diet and lack of exercise. In general, lower income is correlated to obesity (because unhealthy food is cheaper) so it wouldn’t shock me if, after her career is over, Gabby looks totally different than her mother.

        Also, genetics are weird in general. One of my sisters has a similar build to Gabby (she’s basically a twig) whereas my youngest sister and I are much more muscular, similar to Aly or Shawn. Both of my parents are pretty average-sized, and all three of us were athletes, it just turned out weird, haha.

        (LOL former bio major and genetics tutor, sorry)

  5. Flippateer Says:

    Next ep of Gymnastike “Lonely at the Top” about Simone:

    – Aimee and Simone just discussed Simone’s wishes re staying elite for Rio for the first time, and Simone is all in for the Olympics. Simone is getting used to the idea that Rio is much closer than she’d previously felt it was.
    – Simone’s shoulder injury is a chronic/overuse injury, not an acute one. It may have been aggravated by her learning of new twisting skills on bars. Due to overuse, it does not have the stability of a normal shoulder: when the relevant muscle group gets too fatigued, the shoulder tends to slide a bit. They are being very cautious, treating it as at 75 percent, and Aimee backs off whenever the shoulder hurts and they work on stuff other than bars (e.g. floor choreo, flexibility, general strength, certain beam sequences).
    – Simone is not an athlete who would be happy to spend 80 hours a week in the gym, and she enjoys competition but not training. She is motivated by being given a set number of reps to do, after which she will be done if they are well-performed. She likes efficiency in training and likes to get it done “the quickest way possible.”
    – Marta understands Simone – both her training style and how to encourage her when she has a rough day – and they have a good bond.
    – The immediate goal is Worlds this year. Aimee is confident that Simone will be in a position to repeat (she did not say “as AA champion,” but that’s what I thought was implied).

    • gymtruthteller Says:


    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Cool. It never fails to confuse me why coaches wait until like 2 years before the Olympics before having the “are we going for it” discussion. Um, shouldn’t that have been the motivation even 4 years ago?
      Like when Valerie didn’t even know Bross’ intentions and they “never really discussed it” even though it was 2011/12 and should have been obvious that was her intention (even though he was priming his daughter to claim her spot).

  6. Melanie Says:

    I was super impressed with several of the beamers at Osijek, including Ana Sofia Gomez Porras and Kim Un Hyang. Porras had an AWESOME BHS-full tuck, and the only falter was on her dismount. Kim Un Hyang had some crazy oversplits on her leaps, and had a very solid and smooth routine overall. I wish we could see some of these girls in EFs at major competitions instead of the typical 2-2-2-2 from the big four.

  7. JAS4 Says:

    I liked her beam I thought it was good. The FIG makes a big deal about needing the two per country rule to allow gymnast from countries that aren’t known for gymnastics to make finals. But when gymnast from those do well they aren’t rewarded the same as gymnast from the well known countries in gymnastics. Way to go FIG.

  8. sainabou nyang Says:

    Noemi Makra has beautiful form. But her floor could use more personality. She basically walked through the routine.

    Her bar routine looks upgraded from worlds.

  9. GymMom Says:

    Chow’s Gymnastics and Dance Institute, a West Des Moines training facility that has molded a pair of Olympic athletes, is suing an Ankeny Iowa competitor on grounds that it improperly hired one of the gym’s former employees.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      I love Chow but no one is perfect and eventually the public will find out bad stuff about him. It eventually happens to everyone.I think its ridiculous he thinks this girl should not be able to work. Stave kid because you once worked here. Sounds petty

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I dunno, to me this isn’t even a big deal. Can’t blame anyone for protecting their businesses.

        I love Chow too. He’s proven to really do something with athletes. I wish sometimes he were the coach of everyone. Now, HE’D make an awesome Marta replacement (and the US might be decent on bars for once).

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I agree with you GTT, but only to a certain extent. =] The non-compete agreement was pretty clear that the girl could only not work for a competing gym within a certain distance (I think the article said 6 counties away). This seems pretty reasonable to me. If the the agreement said that she couldn’t work for a competitor in the next state, then I would say that it was BS. In the end, Chow has it to protect his business. PLUS, the girl signed it…so she is either dumb as rocks and didn’t read it, or doesn’t care. To me, it’s the later since she willfully kept on working for the other guy after repeated reminders of the agreement. I think the guy from the other gym is a moron too. Did he really think there was no repercussions from hiring this lady? Especially when they sent copies of the agreement over?? I get if he didn’t know, but once he did he should have fired her. Now he is going to pay through the nose.

        In the end, Chow has every legal right to sue both of them. Yes, this girl has a right to work and feed her family (assuming she has one), but to what extent? The rest of us have live up to the contracts we sign…so why not her? I would LOVE to get out of my mortgage, car loan, etc. when ever I felt like it. But I live in the real world. I signed the contract, so I have to live by it.

        I guess in the end I’m sick of free loaders, or the people who promise one thing and do another. Oh hell, I just realized that I’m becoming such an old person. I should move into the retirement center now and save myself some time. LOL. Damn kids!! =]

        However, I do think you are right about one thing GTT…everyone has skeletons in their closet…even Chow.

      • Case Says:

        I think it depends on the level of the instructor that left. If she was coaching level 9s, 10s, elites and had all of Chow’s trade “secrets”, I could see a non-compete being relevant. If she was just teaching the elementary tumbling classes then WTF difference does it make where she works?

  10. H Says:

    I am wondering …
    does anyone know what’s up with Sarah Finnegan, Sabrina Vega, Bross?

    • biyatch Says:

      Brenna posted a pic on instagram from her prom. I didn’t even notice that Vega was one of the girls in the picture. Doesn’t look like she’s in anything close to gymnastics shape. (I also want to take all these girls shopping and teach them how to dress… these are like 80s dresses w/o the puffy sleeves.)

      Prom! Love these girls!!!

      A photo posted by Brenna Dowell (@brenna_dowell) on

  11. ilanchik20 Says:

    Not sure about the other two — I think Vega is coming back surgery still. And at the World’s Al said Sarah is now “preparing for college” but it looks like she also just had surgery.

    I saw it on twitter a few days ago.

    It seems so many of his gymnasts are broken!

  12. flippateer Says:

    Aly on her first international competition, and more interestingly, on her current training status, skillset, and being told to hold off on camp by Marta:

    “When Mihai and I began serious training again last October, I figured that I would go back to camp sometime this spring, and get back into competition around the time of this year’s U.S. championships, which will be held in August in Pittsburgh. But Mihai, who has been attending camp with other gymnasts, recently talked to Martha. Hold off on coming to camp, Martha said. Wait until this fall. Don’t push yourselves. It’s more important to be healthy later on than to rush and try to be ready now.

    I admit that I was upset to hear this at first. I love competing. I love daydreaming about competing at the Olympics and worlds. But after taking some time to think about it, I do think it’s the right decision. While it would be possible to be back physically, I don’t want to get ahead of myself. The code of points has changed since the London Games, and my routines need to be reworked. Then practiced a thousand times. And then maybe I can go and show them to Martha. So that’s what I’m going to do.

    So far, I’m pleased to say that training is going very well. I have pretty much all of my skills back on beam, and am slowly getting back my tumbling on floor. I’m training the double-twisting Yurchenko vault, and when that’s solid, will begin working again on the Amanar, or Yurchenko with 2.5 twists. That was always the element that scared me the most to do, and I don’t want to rush it. There are also some new skills I’m hoping to add, but I don’t want to give them away just yet.”

    • Melanie Says:

      I think it’s smart of them to keep her progress slow and steady. No need to rush into competition and then burn out before 2016. I’m shocked Marta was the one who proposed this (but then again, Aly also says that Marta is “quite nice,” so I’m not sure I can trust this version of events).

      I will be very excited to see Aly back in competition. I don’t love very many of the seniors; unfortunately, my next Olympic team would be completely composed of juniors and returning Olympians (not Gabby, though).

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        My Olympic team is comprised of no one yet. Way too early but I hope as of now it includes both Simone and Kyla

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I have a feeling this is highly edited; I can’t imagine that Aly would spell Marta’s name wrong. It was probably some junior intern thinking Marta = Martha or something. Weird.

        Anyways, I have a feeling Marta wants all the former Olympians (who haven’t already been in camps) to come at once and provide that added level of “ohfuckamIgonnamaketheOlympics” towards the end of the cycle. Nothing like saving most of the pressure until the end!

        I really don’t know who I “want” at this point on the Olympic team. I like a lot of the girls but it’s far too early. I would like Simone of course and Kyla – what a feat, 2 in a row – but I also want to see Kyla meet her potential and add difficulty. I know she’s got it. I know she has the ability to be a top AA contender. It’s irritating that even in 2012 she was held back. I thought it was only Marta holding her back but now I am almost thinking she has a lot to do with it too.

      • biyatch Says:

        I see the waiting until October as potentially a couple things, especially given the lack of proven beam workers, it would seem that Aly could’ve really been an asset on this years worlds team, even if she was only ready on beam and floor.

        1. That Aly isn’t close to being legitimately ready skill wise.
        2. That Marta told Aly she still needs to drop the weight before she shows up in public in a leotard.
        3. That Marta is hoping that Aly gets bored and goes away.
        4. That Marta legitimately thinks she might have a need for Aly at some point in 2015 or 2016 and wants to make sure that she doesn’t break ala Alicia.

        Since Im cynical, I can’t see it being the 4th one and am more inclined to believe its somewhere between 1 and 2. She never mentioned bars so you wonder if she’s going the Alicia route and dropping them (which I actually thing would be a mistake.)

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Number 4 to me. I think she thinks she might need Aly later on and wants her to look legit from the start. Aly looks skinnier and skinnier in every picture I see her. Her face always looks skinnier.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Yeah and she probably wants Aly to avoid what happened to Nastia (lol).

        Even Shawn for that matter. Shawn started back and was only slightly ready on three events (more solid on two of the three) but still all was watered down. May as well save Aly for injury and have her come back at 100%, as opposed to 75%.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        I would say 1 and 4 (great run down by the way Biyatch).

        I think we have learned a lot from the recent comebacks. If you don’t have most of the goods from the very start of your comeback, people are going to start writing you off. It isn’t enough to do an okay beam routine these days and say, “Look everyone, I’m back!” People expect more, and honestly, they should. We are deep enough to be picky. I sure as hell wasn’t going to settle for #NastiaHasHerpes to be on the 2012 team with that raggedy ass bar routine. And as much as I appreciated Asac’s drive…she didn’t have a place on the 2012 team.

        So if you are making a comeback and you are only showing one routine…it better be pretty damn good. It doesn’t have to be perfect…but it needs to show that all the skills are there and that you are just fine tuning things now. It only hurts your chances and image if you comeback too early and you can’t back it up.

        I’m not sure if I buy the whole, “this was Marta’s decision” thing btw. I think there was a private practice session where Aly showed her stuff, and then a very candid discussion happened with Aly, Marta, Mihai, and her agent. Then I think they decided she wasn’t ready, and they came up with the best possible way to spin it. How do you say I need more time, but also let people know I am training and my comeback is going to happen soon? I know…you blame Marta! In essence, she is saying she is ready, but is trusting Marta. It’s PR brilliance. It keeps people interested and talking, and it looks like she is ready to compete but is a good little soldier who listens to and trusts Marta. She takes zero blame for not being ready, and looks like the good kid. Brilliant.

        When she does come back, she needs to be strong. Even if it’s one event, she needs to come and kill it. That will set her up more than coming and showing 3 watered down routines. I think it’s smart to wait. Show people you are still as good…hell…show that you are improved.

        I also think it’s #4 too. I think Marta wants her to pace herself and get her body/skills back gradually. Out of all the FF, I think Marta wants her on the team the most. She is consistent, she fills the beam hole, and she was the golden one (in the publics eyes) after 2012. She doesn’t want her broken.

  13. Exgymgurl Says:

    Camp pics are up. Most interesting is laurie Amelia and Lexie are back. Simone EBee and Peyton are absent. Madison kocian, millet, desch and all other gage athletes except Brenna are absent. Polina is also absent. So its kind of more who isnt there. Which always fascinates me….

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Oh skinner is also absent…

    • mim Says:

      Now that Ebee’s essentially indicates she’s off to Stanford she’s off the National Team and no longer required at camp yeah?

      Anyone know what the deal is with the others being absent? Simone has her shoulder thing, and wasn’t Polina injured at last camp (and becoming less and less relevant).. but yeah curious about the others!

  14. gymtruthteller Says:

    Alicia had a place on the 2012 team. Mckayla’s place who as a one event gymnast really sahould have been left home. That Amanar as beautiful as it is barely scored better then the ugly ones by Gabby and Aly. Alicia had a steady beam too and IMO would have had a floor if Marta had told her she needed one. Alicia may never admit it but I still believe Marta told her she did not need floor or upgraded vaults.

    • sanitynmotion Says:

      Ahhh thank you I’m so 100% with you on this. I actually feel ASac had more of a place on that team than Maroney (if we looked at applicable skill set) even though I do prefer Maroney personality-wise over ASac.
      I also think ASac would have won that gold medal on vault too. I don’t think Marta would have used her on beam in finals but she definitely had a solid one; Maroney did not.
      I hated how Marta tried to make it seem like she was not taking specialists; that Maroney needed to do more than just vault to be on the team yet that’s exactly why Marta took her. She never intended for Maroney to do more than one apparatus, ever.

      Marta actually made the comment that ASac did not need skills other than her 2008 skills to make the team. It was in an article I read leading up to London, and it was after ASac had injured herself at Worlds. Of course I was thinking BULLSHIT but knowing Marta she told this to ASac as well (if she was telling the media that) and she also told ASac her spot was nearly guaranteed if she could come back with her ’08 skills; I’m basing that last notion (of her spot being a guarantee) on ASac’s actions after the Olympians were announced. She didn’t see the writing on the wall that we all did. I think Marta blind-sighted her.

      And no, ASac won’t admit to it because USAG paid her off, like they do everyone else.

      • Karlie Says:

        I 110% agree. I think Asac could have easily filled McKayla’s place and had she gotten floor back she also would have been very valuable. Plus she could have won vault.

        Had Jordyn, Gabby, Aly (or some combination of them) been hurt, we would have had a serious hole on beam or floor, especially since some of the alternates were injured. In retrospect, yes, we got a beautiful amanar in TF, but bringing a one-event gymnast to a five-member team – for an event that we already had three (not great, but serviceable) amanars – seems incredibly risky. Asac could have easily been on that team and been a much better option.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I agree – and the thing is, that could have been the case.

        Jordyn was injured but competed anyways, and Maroney was even more injured and competed…we all saw she was literally a few moves away from breaking her leg. Even though it didn’t matter much at the end of the day could you imagine if she couldn’t compete vault finals; the US would have had no medal.

        ASac was coming back from injury, sure – but she was protecting herself and her rudi + DTY would have been enough to win gold. And I’m betting my pay check she would not have sat either of them down.

      • Melanie Says:

        I think in Marta’s mind, Alicia could not be trusted for beam or floor in the Olympics. I don’t necessarily think that is fair, but the way McKayla fell in the vault EFs is no worse than the way Alicia fell twice in 2008. Everyone thought that McKayla was a sure gold, and Alicia wasn’t. I understand why Alicia could have deserved a place as much as McKayla, but I will never complain about McKayla making the team because I like her so much more than Alicia.

  15. uglyfatkid Says:

    Great points GTT/Sanity/All…I haven’t thought about it that way. Though ASac had proven herself on beam countless times after 08…I agree with Mel, I don’t think she would have ever been used by Marta. I think Marta set her up to fail, and then watched it all play out.

    The problem was really that she wasn’t needed…and neither was Maroney. With the core being Aly, Jo, and Gabby (shutter) the team theoretically had good enough scores on vault, beam, and floor. Bars is where the hole was (as we all know), so Kyla plugged the hole (and improved beam in the process). Kyla could also technically back up floor or vault in a crisis too, so that helped.

    So now what?? If we don’t technically need anyone to fill a hole (assuming everyone stays healthy and uninjured), so who takes the spot? Vault for vault in the team comp, Maroney would garner more points over ASac. ASac had a 6.3 SV and Maroney had a 6.5 SV. Plus Maroney tended to have better execution as well.

    Also, with Aly, Jo, and Gabby all doing Amanars…would they even use ASac in the team comp if she was there? Aly with the crappiest Amanar for the US scored the lowest score of 15.8 during the Olympics (during qualifications). To my knowledge, ASac never scored above a 15.7 internationally on her Rudi (but I could be wrong). So knowing the start value is lower, and that all the girls were scoring above her…would you even use her if she was there? For that reason, it makes more sense to take Maroney.

    I sure as hell would have put ASac on beam over Gabby if she was there. To this day I am amazed Gabby stayed on the beam during AA and Team finals. In fact, I lost a bet because she didn’t fall. I’m still pissed about that 5 bucks. Lol.

    In the end, I don’t see what the right answer is with ASac. Maroney’s vaulting would always over score her for the team. It would have been nice to have her for beam though. But at the end of the day, if neither vault was really needed by the team…who would have brought more to the table…it’s ASac. So I guess, GTT is right…she had more to bring, and in the end that is what mattered. Dammit GTT…you did it to me again! Stop being right about crap and making me re-think my opinions. =]

    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Thing is the US would have still won even with a gabby fall on beam. Three Amanars.

      You want to be on the us olympic team get an Amanar. Marta took four Amanar vaults to London. I would guess the goal is the same for Rio.

      You know for Jordyn, Aly and gabby they all need to get their Amanars back. For bailie key, Laurie Hernandez and Norah Flatley they need to get Amanars. I have given up,on Peyton Ernst and Maggie Nichols upgrading. I think sabrina vega sarah Finnegan and Brenna Dowell just need to go to college,

      There is only room for one gymnast on the us olympic squad without an Amanar. Unless you have a 7.3 SV on beam then maybe Marta goes with three Amanars and two Dty vaults. If you are simone Biles, stay healthy. Kyla Ross, McKayla Maroney, upgrade, skinner keep cleaning up your gymnastics. I root for skinner making a world team if she stays in it.

      I think the only women that have a chance for 2016 are key, Hernandez Flatley, Ross, maroney, skinner, Biles, Priessman, Wieber, Douglas, Raisman. Price would have been on the list also. I think at least one of the 2012 girls will go to rio.we just dont have. Enough depth.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        There will always be some girl that finished 21st at Nationals in 2014 that comes put of no where ala Jaycie Phelps in 96 to be in contention . I have a feeling Bailie Key will out last my dislike of her gymnastics and still be around.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Hind sight is 20/20 the problem with all of this is we didn’t know the judges would overscore Gabby to the extent they did at the Olympics. There is no way she deserved any of those scores on any event and no one wants to explain why she went up 4 tenths over the 2 tenths everyone got in that AA on bars. Or her missed connections getting credit on beam or her taking 3 steps albeit small on her Amanar and still getting a 15.900. There was some suspect scoring at that Olympics all around.

      We didn’t know Russia would impload. We didn’t know (though we figured it would happen) that standing up an Amanar as near perfect as Mckayla vs the shit Gabby and Aly did would only result in a 2 tenth difference in score. The team competition should have been closer if everyone had hit but the US still would have won.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Thats why three Amanars is still a very important part of the puzzle. You dont know what will happen on the other three events. Everyone on a five man team has to have an important role on a minimum of two events in team finals. That should be the goal.

Leave a Reply

