This is why College Gymnastics is a fuckjing travesty

   Oklahoma nailed almost every landing the entire night and barely got 9.9’s while Florida took steps on landings and dismounts and had shitty form all around and the two teams ended up tying in the biggest travesty to hit Gymnastics since the 92 Olympics.

Poor Oklahoma has to sit in the sidelines while Florida celebrates the titles because no one took the time to tell them they actually tied for the win. If only by score. Then to top it all off Florida gets to hold the trophy’s while the real winner , Oklahoma sits there twiddling their thumbs.


The Oklahoma Sooners are the real National winners. They were lowballed all night and if Alabama had not tanked the final rotation this night could be even worse. So many people whined Alabama was being overscored all night ignoring the messy routines Florida was getting 9.9’s on. I wish I has taken notes to share all the steps Florida had.


Bridgey Caquatto ended the night on floor by taking a big step back on her double pike and yet still received a 9.950 to tie for the win.



I can’t believe I sat through all of this shit. I am a huge Sloan fan and want her to overtake Kupets in medals but if sitting through this shit for hours is what I have to get to see that then I won’t be seeing it.

The only good news in this is Oklahoma still gets to be National Champion even if Florida hogs the fucking trophy’s like as LOL put it in e-mail a bunch of selfish bitches.


I thought LSU had a chance to win this? They were horrible. I wasn’t impressed at all.

Why did Florida get to carry the trophy’s around when they won last year. Shouldn’t they have given them to Oklahoma since this was their first and REAL title?

Why does Macko get special treatment?
I get school comes first but if you are getting a free ride based on a sport it seems like you should find a way to be there for Practice.


Just thought I would mention today is the Anniversary of the Oklahoma bombing. Its a shame everyone seems to have forgotten about it since 9-11. Its one of those dates I always remember.

The mass murderer who’s name I refuse to say out loud targeted children in a day care. I hope he is having fun in hell.

29 Responses to “This is why College Gymnastics is a fuckjing travesty”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    It sounds like Nellie decided to go judge ncaa too!

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      This was so bad Jas. It was worse than anything I have ever seen in Elite gym.

      • JAS4 Says:

        Wow! That’s bad! Seriously what is wrong with the judges these days! I know they are human and all that but seriously it’s getting more ridiculous by the day! I’m beginning to think some of these judges must get seriously intoxicated before competitions and then judge!

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Or maybe they need to drink more.

        It was really bad. Florida kept taking steps on landings and sliding back tumbling and still got over 9.9. Oklahoma was lucky to tie even though they should have won.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        This was handed to Florida. Oklahoma should have won. Bridgey was overscored last year on floor as well.

  2. gingercrush Says:


    ncaa gymnastics is for morons to watch.

    • tulip Says:

      Then I’m a moron. Sue me.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Me too at least this year. It was very boring I must say. Beam is the worst event in College. Floor music is horrible but some gymnasts have great tumbling. I like the Yurchenko full and bars I an not a fan of in general. It is nice to see clean gymnstics for the most part.

      • Short1 Says:

        The general cleanliness of the gymnastics is also one of the main reasons I watch NCAA. Personally I’d much rather see a little less difficulty, but performed well/cleanly than more difficulty performed sloppily (whether it’s NCAA or elite).

  3. Catherine Says:

    What a weird Nationals. Didn’t watch so can’t comment on judging but that’s not surprising to hear. Great that OU actually won though. Disappointed Grable didn’t win AA and the EF’s are Danusia, Mincie or a whole host of expected qualifiers. Shitty year for UCLA, aside from injuries there are big issues there.

  4. sanitynmotion Says:

    Just makes me happy I don’t watch college gym. Maybe the judges are Russian and got bought off.

    • tulip Says:

      The NCAA has never been known for being a truly ethical organization lol We all know examples of how ridiculous it can be. My friend was a Div I volleyball player. The girls teams were treated like garbage and barely funded. The big time baseball program was king and they never let the other athletes forget it. Let’s just say double standards for behavior and grades were the norm, not the exception. My friend was injured in a game and threatened with loss of her scholarship. So she played injured with a little university provided physical therapy. A baseball player twisted his ankle and had the entire medical staff available. Poor baby had a boo boo.

      • Karlie Says:

        yeah, the NCAA is ridiculous. I played college soccer and there was a ridiculous double standard. We had one trainer who we shared with the men’s soccer team and the men’s and women’s cross-country teams, which was basically a shitshow because there were about 150+ athletes between one trainer, and at least a quarter of them needed taping before practice. Football got five – FIVE – trainers to themselves and most of them barely needed taping.

        My junior year the head coach left, but instead of promoting the assistant coach (a wonderful coach that we LOVED), the school chose to bring in a new coach who was awful, abusive, and forced players to play through injuries. They wouldn’t listen to our complaints and I believe she still coaches there despite an entire team effort, including notes of concern from some parents whose children had been bullied into playing through injuries. I was coming back from dual hip and knee surgery and was told that I HAD to run a spring fitness test on the very first day I was cleared to run, despite the fact that it was pouring outside and I had a 101 degree fever. If I didn’t I was off the team. Obviously I didn’t pass it (I hadn’t run in FIVE MONTHS, obviously I’m not gonna pass the f*cking beep test on my first day back) and I pulled every single muscle in my rehabbed leg, which put me out for another month. The athletic director ignored all of our complaints completely.

        Meanwhile, any injured football player gets time off and free physical therapy, no questions asked.

        /end rant

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        That sounds like abuse to me. Someone should have listened.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        That sounds horrible. I agree with GTT, that is straight up abuse.

        I’m not surprised though, most colleges these days are just money making factories. They only put the money back into the programs that make them the most cash. Hence football or basketball get all the stuff. They are all basically big corporations, with the people at the top making loads and loads of money. It’s complete BS.

      • Akshay Says:

        As someone currently in college at a fairly well known college, I can agree with that. I legitimately do not think I get much out of the courses and instruction in college. At least for someone studying politics, history, economics, languages, and international relations. For all the talk of how college is supposed to give you the skillset you need for the real world… It doesn’t. I don’t think I’m any more prepared than I was coming out of high school. I’ve worked on a few internships with relevant organizations, and that is where I’ve TRULY learned the skills I need for the real world and my desired career. I might just be a disillusioned young adult, but I genuinely think there needs to be a change in the system. Not everyone can drop $60K a year on college, and I don’t there should be the need to. Not to mention, some core requirements are simply ridiculous, and I don’t see how they’ll benefit me. I also don’t think college should be necessary for certain professions. Similarly, academic support can be lacking, particularly when students need assistance with school work or even health and mental issues. There is certainly an over emphasis on athletics, and I have also noticed that wealthy donors have an unreasonable amount of say in decision-making at these schools. This kind of thing makes me feel like college certainly is another money making business when it’s all said and done. Sorry for this rant, I just think there needs to be a major overhaul in the system and with curriculum, because while some of the skills that are emphasized are important, memorizing facts may not help so much in the long run.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I have to agree, and I went to college nearly 10 years ago. I can’t imagine what it’s like today. I feel like both my high school and college educations let me down; did not prepare me for the real world. It was the jobs afterwards that truly did.

        It seems like everything in life revolves around politics and/or money. Just to even get in to a good school sometimes it all depends on who you know or are related to. I went to a “top 25” school (not bragging; I happened to be a big nerd throughout high school and had relatively little social life/no boyfriends or proms for me so I could get the straight A’s blah blah blah) and could not believe the number of idiots there. Like, just pure idiots. Made no effort, smoked pot every day, rarely came to class, mostly drank and went out/parties, and to get by they copied their friends’ notes or cheated. It was easy to cheat. Most professors use recycled exams so guess what. If you’re a partier and got in to a “highly regarded frat/sorority” the class members would save their old exams and circulate them among their other frat/sorority members. Bam, they passed. Just as simple as memorizing answers.

        Turned out too that most of the kids who could give a f*ck about their education had their lives handed to them on silver platters. They were related to some big-wig or knew some big-wig donor or whatever. They got in, easy, even if their GPA in high school was only 2.5 (and even then I’m sure most of that was faked up by their teachers).

        Then you have the “legacies.” I was a TA so knew certain kids were supposed to have flunked the course I TA’d for (Accounting and Finance) but it turned out the Professor would end up giving them C’s or D’s just to get them moving on. That’s what we get for our thousands of dollars of paid education. A bunch of morons. And we wonder why the US education system is such a pile of dung whereas we spend more on it than any other country.

        Then you have the athletes, who skate by (if they are part of the “money programs” like football/baseball, like someone else said) and are given red carpet treatment throughout their tenure. Even so, at Ivy League Universities if you are really good at a certain “important” sport, even though they aren’t supposed to give athletic scholarships what happens is that the coach goes to the Admissions office and puts that athlete’s application at the top of the pack and makes a note on it so that they are given “financial aid” whether they really need it or not. So basically, if anyone was wondering you “can” get an athletic scholarship at an Ivy League (especially if you’re a hockey player – they kill for good hockey players); it’s just called “financial aid.”

      • Short1 Says:

        I think a lot of it has to do with what college/university you attend and if it’s one with several division one sports teams/big money making sports or not. The university I attended had some decent teams (most of which I believe were division II), but they weren’t huge money-makers.

        As for my coursework, there were certainly many lower level/general education classes that I got very little, if anything, out of. It was mostly about taking whatever was easiest to fulfill the given requirement and get it out of the way. And what I found interesting was that most of the professors seemed to understand that. It was especially true of my foreign language professor; he knew we were only there because we had to be and he took that into consideration and did his best to help everyone get through the course with a decent grade. It wasn’t until I got into higher level courses, along with those specific to my major, that I felt like I was actually getting something out of it. This was especially true during my senior year when I was taking almost all advanced lab courses and was part of a year-long research team project. The university is heavily involved in conducting and presenting research (both student and faculty) and regularly presents at various psychological association conferences. So, as someone who was going to (and did) go the graduate school route it prepared me well for the next level (so to speak). With that being said, I still feel I got more out of grad school because it was all about projects and research geared specifically towards what you were hoping to do-career wise after graduating.

        So…I guess the cliff notes version of my little ramble is, I think it all depends on what type of college or university someone attends and whether its more or less heavily focused on athletics.

      • Karlie Says:

        I just graduated last June from a top-10 LAC so my experience is a bit different; we did recruit athletes but the vast majority of student-athletes I knew were also very focused academically, which was nice. I *loved* the school and, for the most part, felt prepared, but I was also bio and chem double major, which gave me a very specific skill set to do research-type lab type jobs like the one I work now. My only real complaint was with my experience as a soccer player. The team was great but the coaching was so awful that, had I been a year younger, I can 100% say I would have quit. Most of my former teammates who play/played college soccer (DI or DIII) seem to have similar experience with college coaches, and I’m not sure why that is.

        HOWEVER…I think our very system of college needs a huge revision. I paid for as much of my college career as I could and, although I loved my school, I picked it solely based on the financial aid I received. $60K a year is outrageous, but in our current system (the FAFSA), a family making $100K and a family making $300K are both expected to pay full sticker-price at schools like this – and more and more, state schools are raising tuition as well. It’s brutal. Students from lower-income, minority, and first-generation families often have little counseling and don’t realize that they could potentially receive financial aid at top schools, so they don’t bother to apply at all because of the sticker price. Meanwhile, middle-class families are judged as capable of paying virtually everything regardless of where they live, etc. My best friend’s mom lost her job halfway through my friend’s sophomore year and her school didn’t adjust her FA at all – she had to take the entire year off because meanwhile her siblings had to, you know, eat and stuff.

        Meanwhile, as top schools get more and more selective, it’s almost impossible to get into them unless you have some kind of hook, whether it’s rich/legacy, celebrity status, or unique skill (I worked in admissions for two years in college…learned a lot of interesting things). Our college system is totally broken, economically, to the point where many schools, regardless of ranking, are becoming inaccessible to a lot of Americans.

      • Melanie Says:

        It’s interesting to read you guys’ experiences at college. I loved undergrad, but I went to a small private school (about 3000 students). We had no frat scene, no big sports (the music department was more popular if you can believe that!), and were very liberal artsy. It definitely didn’t prepare me to live in the real world, but I loved going.

        But don’t get me started on grad school. I’m a librarian, and these days you can’t get a job as a librarian without a master’s degree (or a doctorate, if you want to work in a college library). Biggest waste of time and money EVER. I worked for two years in my hometown public library and learned more about how to do my damn job than the year I spent in the stupid “master’s of library and information science” program. I mean, I’m glad I got a job because of the degree, and I love my job, but it’s ridiculous how much money I wasted on this stupid degree. Or rather, am still wasting. I’m still paying off student loans.

        We need to go back to an apprenticeship program. College needs to be deemphasized for those that want to go into trade professions, and we should emphasize real-world job experience more than expensive educations. I would rather hire a person who’s worked at McDonald’s for ten years to work in my public library than a recent library school graduate who’s never worked a real job. At least the McDonald’s employee would understand basic customer service.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I totally agree! College education is not for everyone, and it shouldn’t be required for all jobs. We need a better trade school program that’s affordable and will allow grads to get into good jobs that enable them to become independent and become productive members of society.

  5. tulip Says:

    I believe that the judges were very biased. GTT is right- look at the OU floor and Florida side by side. It’s obvious. And yes, Floridas behavior lacked class. Their coach should have advised them to be gracious in their sharing the title.
    I wonder if it would have been different if the event was held outside of SEC country?

    • Gymbee Says:

      Did Florida know they tied, if Oklahoma didn’t know at first?

      • tulip Says:

        Didn’t appear that way. From their behavior, it seemed like they thought they were the clear winner. Oklahoma seemed like they thought they were in 2nd. Real bad on the meet director.

  6. tulip Says:

    To your remembrance of the OKC horror:
    the mass murderer is rotting now and will forever. A few years back went to pay my respects at the OKC Memorial. Very moving and offers great respect to all who were lost, survived and helped as best they could. A bit like the Vietnam Memorial Wall which has me in tears the minute I step onto the site let alone walk down towards it. Never again would be okay with me.

  7. Lithi Says:

    April 20th is also the anniversary of the Columbine school shooting. Fifteen years, Christ.

    Here’s a palate cleanser (maybe,) from Miss Liukin’s Instagram:

    “Beauty is contagious. Help me spread beauty by taking a selfie for #BeautyWithBenefits”

    Accompanied by a selfie, of course. Ay yi yi.

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      No bitch, herpes is contagious. And for the love of all that is holy…don’t take a selfie. We have seen enough of you.

      • exgymgurl Says:

        We should write a blog and try to get that hash tag trending to see if Nastia responds, since she responds to her own social media and monitors it.

    • tulip Says:

      What a raging narcissist
      Is this a paid campaign? Like the Dove one? I’m going to do some research.
      And I heart @uglyfatkid!

Leave a Reply

