I have figured out why I don’t like Bailie Key

She is Kim Zmeskal 16 years later. Overrated and overscored on bars. A Very good vaulter with the least amount of vault allowed at this time in gymnastics to be considered an All Arounder. A consistent beamer and a good tumbler with slightly better dance ability then her coacherpart ( A new word. Its like counterpart) Did I mention she has Kim Zmeskal’s lack of style from 1992? Every time I see a picture of her from a Meet after party she has the ugliest outfit I have ever seen on. At her size anything she wears should look great on her.


The good thing about Bailie is her new floor routine is actually impressive and artistic which is something I never thought we would see from her as a gymnast.

Watch Bailie’s old routine with the Kim Zmeskal like music and then watch Kim Zmeskal’s 1992 routine. Its like they are twins. I am so glad Bailie upgraded.

I don’t want to make it seem like I hate Bailie. I don’t. She seems like a sweet kid and is a great little gymnast and if she gets an Amanar I can see her winning the AA at the Olympics in 2016 but as a gymnast she is not my cup of tea. Kim created her baby clone.

USA-Gymnastics has released their 2014 Hall of Fame members. Gag with me people. I am surprised they didn’t elect “it” into the Hall by herself. She is going to have to share the spotlight.

Another thing I don’t get why did the other gymnasts have to wait 10 years but the Queen Bee gets elected after that debacle of a comeback?

31 Responses to “I have figured out why I don’t like Bailie Key”

  1. exgymgurl Says:

    Probably the only reason kupets is even on there is because of her NCAA career. I think USA gymnastics is actively trying to butt it’s head more and more into NCAA

  2. Exgymgurl Says:

    I dont think she wins AA gold. She and Peyton both have Zmeskals carriage of their head and neck on floor. And beam. Yuck. My guess is bailie will get some horendous injury not even go to Rio…

  3. JAS4 Says:

    I guess it’s U.S.A.G.’s way of attempting to keep their Queen relevant

  4. ilanchik20 Says:

    Bailey has really grown on me. This new floor routine is so much better! I can at least get into her Gymnastics now. I see her going to Rio but I don’t think she’ll get AA. She is winning too much, way too early. And hopefully no Laurie — I really don’t like her gymnastics.Norah — on the other hand — I think she’s going to have some serious upgrades by then, and maybe also the other girl who trains with her (can’t remember her name?). I’m definitely in the Norah club.

    And I’m hoping Mihai will pull out a great Level 10 gymnast who can make it in elite by Rio time. I really like him as a coach. Doesn’t he has a promising Level 10 who is supposedly testing elite soon? There is always some unknown gymnast who comes from nowhere anyways.

    • Karlie Says:

      I believe Alexis Vasquez is the second girl from Chow’s that you’re thinking of? I’m with you about Norah, though – I really like her.

      I actually really like Laurie’s floor as well, but I don’t see her winning AA in Rio either, although I can see her being a challenger for the floor title if she doesn’t burn out.

    • biyatch Says:

      There are 2 Brestyans level 10s that have elite potential but I think both have been injured for most of this year. Lily Dean and Khazia Hislop. Khazia is the one with the kick ass double front, she won level 10 regionals last weekend.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        What a contrast in names of those 2 gymnasts.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        She’s Aly on floor. Tumbler with no artistry

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Better leaps than Aly but she has longer legs; you’d think she’d have a better extension overall though on her choreo – totally lacked. She was just walking through that floor routine though like she literally does it in her sleep!

  5. Melanie Says:

    I love Bailie and Norah, but I am really unenthusiastic about Laurie. I think that Bailie doesn’t really have a weak point right now. She is flexible, artistic, powerful, has plenty of difficulty, and she can compete under pressure. I don’t see her burning out too soon, maybe because she seems better paced than say Ohashi. As far as Laurie goes, I HATE her floor. People keep going crazy about how artistic she is, and I wonder if they’re blind.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      LOL Nope not blind. The problem is her routine from last year was God awful but the one she did in 2012 was great. (Laurie Hernandez) I think maybe in general we overrate floor routines of juniors because we are surprised when we see little kids with talent and that is what happened to Laurie. Lets see how she does when she is just another senior

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I’m still on the fence with Laurie but will admit I haven’t seen enough of her. I liked her “pizzazz” though on her floor; it’s what’s missing in many of today’s gymnasts (like Bailey, haha – although like I said before Bailey has made great improvements in floor).

        I’m looking forward to Norah and seeing what the “environment” is like in 2015. A lot will have to play out.

        I still think there will only be a maximum of one person from London making it to Rio. Time will tell.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Now see I am not as enamored with Norah as most people are. She is a great little beamer and with Chow as her coach she has a lot of potential to be amazing but right now I am not in like as much as everyone else is.

      • Melanie Says:

        Wow, I’m digging a hole here…I hated Laurie’s 2012 routine, too. The choreo was SO repetitive and obnoxious. Everything she does is way too exaggerated for my taste, as if their only goal is to show off her back flexibility. Seriously, she does like the same moves over and over and over…ad nauseum. I don’t think it’s her fault, because I haven’t liked any of the floor routines I’ve seen come out of MG Elite. Just a personal preference. I’d rather watch Bailie any day of the week on floor than Laurie.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Feel free to have your opinion. I can see how the over dramatic is not you cup of tea. That is why I hated her 2013 floor.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I like Norah’s beam and see potential there, of course. Her other events are far too watered down for her to make much of an impact. She’s one of those who will have to majorly up her difficulty on at least 2 other apparatuses to stay in the mix, and at this point I don’t buy that she’s an AA’er yet. I believe in Chow more than Norah I think.

  6. sainabou nyang Says:

    It’s funny, the other day I was thinking that If Bailey makes the Rio team, I could see NBC bringing up Kim not winning the AA in Barcelona, Shannon stealing her spotlight, and Bailey being her chance to redeem herself. NBC will bring all the drama. This would trump a MAG 7 20 YEAR anniversary/ reunion.

  7. GymMom Says:

    Gabby’s 1st interview since arriving back in Iowa. What a snooze!


    • Exgymgurl Says:

      Sounds like Waller kept her in good shape at gym jam. If she has just been training with skill practice they are actually in pretty good shape to make a run at rio.

      • GymMom Says:

        Chow said Gabby is “rusty.”

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        I hope she doesn’t want to compete this summer because I am not in the mood for her right now.

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Rusty is not the worst word. Chow is not one to bullshit. I am not in the mood for her either, but her return if it happens is another good reason for Kyla to upgrade

      • JAS4 Says:

        I wonder if Gabby is still going to be one of Marta’s favorites lol but as for Kyla I hope she upgrades on floor, bars, and beam I don’t think she will be able to bring back the Amanar but her DTY usually scores around 15.2 and she could make up the difference on the other events if she would just upgrade

  8. exgymgurl Says:

    I’m more curious why Peyton leapfrogged Brenna……. love to hear from Al fong on that one. if as Kim zmezkal implied Brenna wasn’t prepared why that was. Al Fong is digging a huge hole for himself and his gymnasts. He does not seem to understand that you have to balance protecting your athletes with playing martass game.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      What did Kim say?

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Theres an interview about how readiness in that situation is very difficult and kim kind of went on and on about how difficult it is to prepare and stay ready in an alternate situation, and then said that Peyton was definitely ready. Im reading into it, but it somewhat implies Brenna wasnt ready or something….

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        Probably had to do with Kim already being there as a coach, too. But what do I know.

      • Flippateer Says:

        Exgymgurl: any chance of getting a link to the interview? I haven’t seen it.

  9. sanitynmotion Says:

    I like Bailey’s new floor, A MILLION TIMES more than her old one (which contained Bella-esque choreo nearly as lame as Kim’s ’92 routine – although I have to admit I was always a fan of the 3 whip-backs in a row).

    It’s actually too bad Bailey isn’t coached by someone like Chow because you can see Zmeskal’s form in Bailey, and that’s not really a great thing.

    Bailey’s peak is a bit scary too right now because it’s reminding me of Jordyn Weiber, Bross, and even Shawn Johnson. We have two more years until the Olympics to go and it’s almost like Bailey is at the same place Shawn was in 2007, only at least 2007 was one year before the Olympics – not two. One year makes all the difference. I have a scary suspicion Bailey could get injured or a growth spurt – or both. I feel the same way about Biles too, like they both are just too good too soon. Not a good omen in gymnastics. Not sure if anyone else feels that way?

    I think I’d like Bailey if she had a more impressive bars set. I mean she has all the skills but she’s still like too vanilla for me. I don’t know. Her floor is a major improvement though.

    • Flippateer Says:

      Interesting – I have a slightly different reaction to many of these gymnasts than the commentary. Totally with you on liking Biles and worrying that she’s too good too soon. Really want to see her in Rio. I like Laurie Hernandez a lot, though. I like both the 2012 and 2013 floor, I like her form on beam when she hits, and I love her personality in interviews. I just really want to see her do well. Norah Flatley I’m also excited about, though I agree with GTT we need to see more from her than just her strong beam skills for her to fit into the Worlds/Olympics picture. But man, I just can’t get into Bailey Key. I like her more now than I did before, and she’s clearly very talented – there’s just no part of her gymnastics or personality (from interviews) that I’m excited about. I feel so bad to say this because she’s clearly an amazing asset to the US who seems very nice, too – I’m just less into her style than I am into the above-named gymnasts’ style.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I know…I’m trying to think of who Bailey reminds me of. It might be Carly Patterson. Except not as dumb. Really talented but still just like “meh.” Maybe Kerri Strug. Bailey has the looks to be like the “next darling” or whatever but she doesn’t have the personality. It’s really hard to find a great gymnast with a positive/outgoing personality (like Simone, Shawn, and even ASac and Aly).

Leave a Reply

