Pac Rims Event Finals: Live Blogging Senior women


1. Elsabeth Black CAN 14.362
2. Courtney McGregor NZL 14.312
3. Maegan Chant CAN 14.3

1. Elizabeth Price USA 14.6
2. Kyla Ross USA 14.35
3. Georgia-Rose Brown AUS 14.15

1. Kyla Ross USA 15.025
2. Yufen Xie CHN 14.9
3. Elizabeth Price USA 14.625

1. Elizabeth Price USA 14.95
2. Kyla Ross USA 14.5
3. Aleeza Yu CAN 13.975


Event Finals start list
Event Finals schedule

Live Video
Live Scoring.

Aly article from the comments


Floor Final

Black: Nailed double layout. Messy second pass. Ugly knee’s. Kyle is impressed. I am not really. I find her messy all the time and I hate bent knee’s. The Camera sucks for floor (5.7) 14.050 (Judges agree with me) 13.925. They lowered her score.

Courtney Mcgregor: She kind of walked through that routine with no flow. Started with a double pike and ended with a double tuck. 5.6 for a 13.225

Ebee Price: Double double stuck. Double layout , small step. Stuck double pike. Nice job but I hate that music. PLEASE Change it Ebee:) 14.950 (6.0)

Charlotte Sullivan: She kind of walked through that routine too. Stepped OOB on her second pass. My eye sight stinks so this feed is killing my eyes. 13.275 ( 5.5)

Aleeza Yu: I stop paying attention to any floor routine that started with a double tuck even if in combination. She’s a pretty dancer and I love the music but the Choreography I am supposed to like I didn’t. Okay I should say I didn’t I should say I didn’t like all of it. 13.975 (5.5)

Isabella Amado: Another double tuck to start. ZzZzZzZZZZZzzzzzz. That isn’t even good enough in College. Okay so she is from Panama and I should be impressed because that wasn’t a too bad routine considering.(5.0) 13.575

Mai Muakami: Come on Mai!!! Double layout. Triple twist. Did she just end with a double twist? (que?) Lordy lord. Nice routine. Won’t beat Ebee. 5.3 for a 13.425. I just assumed she fell to make it into final but this start value is crazy for someone as much power as her. Way too low.

Kyla Ross: Hit her first pass combination this time. Double pike. Small step. Feed went out for her last pass. Might have been short but it cut out. 5.5 for a 14.550

LESSON FOR KYLA. Your floor routine beats Ebee if you had a real start value. I don’t understand how you work on your artistry and not your skillllllls. I know its early. I know you know more than me. If you are reading this you say SHUT UP BLOGGER but I just want more for you. I am talking to myself.

There is no highbar feed on my list of videos. I found the high bar. Yes


Balance Beam Finals

Black fell on her layout then balked another skill. She hit her punch piked front but that was about it. 5.8 13.375
In her defense they made her wait 5 minutes to compete.

Aleeza Yu: She fell too. She at least has nice lines. She had to wait too. Guess everyone is waiting. 5.9 13.450

Kyla Ross: Small bobble on her first leap series. Hit her punch front wolf. Had another small bobble on another skill. Small step on landing. Taking forever on her score. I am pretty sure she was supposed to connect something else but I forget what. 6.1 for a 15.050. Maybe she connected it and I was day dreaming. With the 2 falls before her this routine was easily much better than them or Marta filed another start value petition.

Chinami Otaki: A few bobbles but day dreamed through this too, 5.2 13.825

Georgia Rose Brown: 3 bobbles and fall on dismount. She needs a cookie. 12.650 (5.5)

Ebee Price: Nice routine for Ebee save the leap combination she was short on. 14.625 (6.0)

Mai Murakami: Fall on her dismount. 5.2 12.775

Yufen Xie: Bobble on her side somi and two small steps on dismount but a beautiful routine. Typical Chinese.

6.2 for a 14.900.


Uneven Bar Finals

Kyla in red. Ebee in gross dark pink. China in winter coats. I have no sound at all now. Not even back ground noise which is a fun way to watch a meet:)

Munteanu from Aus had a pretty impressive routine form wise. She missed her handstands and will get killed on the D score but an impressive combination of skills. Only got a 13.775 (5.7) Those handstands killed her but feet together impresses me.

Yufen Xie stayed on bars but missed all her handstands too. 6.0- 14.050

Kyla is next: She was slightly short on first 2 handstands and the same leggy Van Luwen ( Someday I will learn to spell that correctly) and she was short on her landing taking a step. 14.375 (5.9)

Chow is so cute fixing the bars for Kyla with her coach.

Woe Ebee was off on almost all her handstands too. 6.4 for a 14.600

Black missed a few handstands and had some leg issues but stayed on. 5.5 for a 13.900

Georgia Rose Brown was laboured and slow and messy and maybe missed a handstand or two or three. 6.1 for a 14.150. I don’t agree with that. Everyone else was killed on handstands and form issues but she wasn’t.

Mai Murakami had a lot of close release moves. She stayed on but not a great routine. 4.9 for a 13.025

Chinami Otaki: She falls. 5.4 12.450


Vault Finals

So I am watching the Vault finals and feel like we could pluck any level 10 in the US or member of the 1992 US Olympic team from retirement and come out with a Gold medal over what we have seen so far. The one DTY seen so far is a complete leggy mess.

MR Hollie Vise fell off pommels. Bozo won a silver on Floor.

Kyle Shewfelt has the most annoying feminine voice of all time but he seems to be pretty honest in his assessment so far. The other guy with him is kind of funny but the feed is off by like 20 seconds to the commentating which is really annoying.

These Canadian leotards are the grossest things I have ever seen. Bozo fell off pommels. Black had the best 2 vaults so far but they were still a gross mess. Kyle pointed out earlier that this final is weak. At least he is honest.

I seem to have lost the commentating (aww, that’s too bad said no one ever)

Junior Results

Bailie won Vault and Floor. Norah won beam (She originally was in second place with a 6.2 start value but they raised the start value by 1 tenth and her score went up to a 14.850 taking over first from Bailie Key) and Huan Luo won bars. Nia Dennis finished close to last on floor and won a silver on vault.

33 Responses to “Pac Rims Event Finals: Live Blogging Senior women”

  1. JAS4 Says:

    Are the juniors required to do a second vault? (I don’t remember seeing Bailey or the others doing a second vault but my live feed was kind of spastic lol)

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Nope. No second vault to either make the event finals or win a medal

      • JAS4 Says:

        Thanks🙂 I wonder if Ballie or any of the other juniors have plans for a second vault when they turn senior

  2. sanitynmotion Says:

    I’m glad Norah got kudos for her beam. Hope she can upgrade her other events before she becomes a senior.

  3. Karlie Says:

    Bars was a mess. I wonder if it’s something with the equipment?

  4. uglyfatkid Says:

    Thank you GTT for blogging about the meets. I was going to watch them, but your quick hits were enough to get the picture if how things went. I appreciate you taking the time to do it! It saved me from watching a bunch of sub-par routines. Thanks! =]

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      You are welcome. Pretty much just watch the Americans. Everyone else sucked and stay away from the vault finals. Colossal waste of time. Bars sucked. Beam was boring (minus Kyla, Ebee and the Chinese) and floor was a snooze fest.

  5. sanitynmotion Says:

    Thanks GTT. Was there vault finals for the women seniors? Did Ebee win that with her amanar?

    I hope Kyla listens to your lesson, I really do. She needs the same thing for bars and beam as well. The kid IS a bona fide all arounder, when she has her skills. I don’t care what Marta did to her in 2012 she’s an AA’er. Ugh.

    • gymtruthteller Says:

      Seniors needed 2 vaults.

    • gingercrush Says:

      I find it rather weird Ebee was not going for a second vault. As really she and her coach really need to look at what she can offer the US team at worlds and potentially Olympics. It certainly isn’t her beam. It would only be this year she could be an AAer. After that and too many better gymnasts will surpass her. Her floor isn’t really that strong and her bars are replaceable. Even vault and she is surpassed by Maroney and Biles.

      Maybe they should just make the most of what she can do this year and then move on. I guess that sounds harsh but really I just don’t see a future.

      That goes for many of the US gymnasts. THis is the only year many of them will make an impact. After this year and too many juniors are coming up that will be better than them and potentially returning Olympians that are well better too.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Ebee’s bars scored well here and she has a 6.4 start value but she missed plenty of handstands in that routine and still got credit.

      • Karlie Says:

        Ebee has a scholarship to Stanford, so I’m guessing that either this year or next year will be her last competing elite. Still, she’s now the World Cup champion and realistically she could easily contribute on bars, vault, and maybe floor in a team situation for at least this year, so I think she’ll be fine.

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Speaking of Maroney on vault, do you think she really factors into things anymore? I don’t mean that snarky…I am genuinely posing the question.

        Obviously if this were just a vaulting thing, she’d be fine. But since most of the good AA girls have strong vaults…what real purpose does she serve? We saw during the Olympics how close they scored the crappy Amanars from the good ones, so even with the crappy ones we are ahead of most countries (vault-wise).

        Even if she gets a TTY, do you think that’s enough to save her? I may be completely wrong, but I get the feeling that she’s the new ASac of this group. She may be around for a year or two, but there is no way she’s making it to Rio.

        I think she is talented, but vault isn’t enough anymore. Her floor is okay, but not fantastic. She has never proven that she could be counted on for beam or bars, so I highly doubt that could change that in two years…but you never know. I just hope she isn’t blind to the fact that her vaulting isn’t getting her there this time. It may have last time, but now things are different. She needs to pull her weight elsewhere…but does she have the talent to really do it?

      • Catherine Says:

        Maroney’s experience is worth its weight in gold. She complements a gymnast like Kyla or Madison totally and in a team of six, there’s definitely room, especially as Brenna and Ebee don’t appear to have competition-ready second vaults and the only other girl who does is an untouchable AA machine who definitely would not be in competition with Maroney for a spot.

        If she’s healthy then she’s on the team I think. Strong backup floor, best or second best amanar. Vault EF medal.

        Kyla, Simone and Maroney are the core of ‘my’ Nanning team, and more than likely Ebee with Brenna, Madison, Rachel, Peyton, Lexie and Amelia in contention for the other two.

      • Melanie Says:

        The only other gymnast who seems to really be vying for a vault-floor spot is Mykayla Skinner, and I would take Maroney a thousand times over Skinner (so long as she’s healthy). Even with a fall, Maroney was sixth in quals in 2013 for the AA, a fact that really impresses me. She is capable of putting up decent scores across the board, even if she’d really only be used for FX and VT.

        Another thing to remember is that Maroney is a favorite among fans and judges alike. Remember that interview that Nelli Kim gave after Worlds? It was super unprofessional, by the way, but she mentioned that Maroney “lights up the floor” when she performs and that that’s what the judges want to see. I think the interview was basically her discussing why the Americans are doing so well right now, and a lot of what she talked about was just performance quality, something that Maroney has in abundance.

        Selfishly speaking, I just want to see one of the greatest vaulters the world has ever seen continue to compete. She made me excited about vault, something I haven’t been able to say since Cheng Fei, circa 2007.

      • sanitynmotion Says:

        I think Maroney will need to prove consistency with high difficulty on not only vault, but floor and even beam (be a solid beam back-up, if not a beamer) to make the next Olympics. Her amanar is not as relevant anymore given we know the judges don’t reward it enough and that the US can field plenty of other gymnasts with good amanars and who can do other events.

        Maroney was right in that if they could blend her and Kyla into one gymnast, it would be an awesome outcome. Kyla’s consistency with Maroney’s skill set/difficulty would have a much better chance of making Rio. As it is, we all know Kyla needs to up her D factor and Maroney has yet to prove she can be consistent on at least 3 of the 4 events.

  6. Catherine Says:

    It’s Luo Huan. Not a super fantastic meet for her or Liu Tingting but they are fabulous and have time.. Xie Yufen continues to impress though. It’s very refreshing to see a Chinese beam after some others because it looks so different and awesome with the precision of skills and I don’t think it’s reflected in scoring enough.

    Mai Murakami is completely out of shape, she’s short and stocky to begin with anyway…hopefully she’ll be fit and ready by worlds.

  7. sainabou nyang Says:

    So far I haven’t been impressed with Australia. They were blah at Jesolo and Pac rims considering they skipped worlds because no one had competitive routines. I can totally see GB beating them at CWG this year.

    • mim Says:

      I think they are just getting used to competing on the international level again. There’s some potential there.. and really, they aren’t going to be making a massive impact after only 18 months of rebuilding a program.

    • mim Says:

      I don’t think anyone expects Aus to beat GB or Canada at this point. Not at all. But it’s bronze would be amazing for them and a good goal to work towards!

      • gingercrush Says:

        A bronze is what they can achieve this year. But what a disaster imo. How did Australia go from a top 8 country to a country barely capable of presenting anyone at the world level and to be going for bronze at the Commonwealth games.

        They are going seriously backwards and I just don’t understand it.

      • mim Says:

        I know! And it’s super frustrating as a proud Aussie. I think funding is a factor but also perhaps a ‘cultural’ thing too where the approach of focusing on execution rather than difficulty no longer works under the codes and everyone else has passed with high difficulty. Also, I think there were some rumours of internal office politics type issues but what organisation doesn’t have that problem?

        It’s not a sport that seems to get much recognition, I swear it had more in the 90s.

  8. Flippateer Says:

    Late to post this, but I didn’t have time to watch it today. In case others have not seen it, it’s a short (7 mins) English-language documentary on Aliya Mustafina from February 2014:

    • uglyfatkid Says:

      Interesting. Thanks for posting. I think it’s from last year though, ’cause didn’t say at the end that she was preparing for Worlds in Belgium?

      Also…I wasn’t prepared to see Afan’s ass. Lol. Working in the sciences/health field, that stuff has never bothered me. But I was a little shocked that they showed them working on that part of her body…only because of the creeps that are out there. Even if it was only an inch or two of crack, I was surprised.

      • Karlie Says:

        HAHA I know! I saw this on tumblr a while back and the casual showing of ksenia while her butt was…unexpected. haha

      • Exgymgurl Says:

        Dang!!! They have the same pr people as USAG… We are all best friends…

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        Ha ha ha. I know right? I especially liked that we not only got a top view, but we also got one from the side…just encase we missed it.

        I got thinking about it more, and the whole thing is unnecessary. The voice over lady starts taking about the Russian training center, where they are training for worlds, then BAM! Afan’s crack. She (Afan) talks about Musty and then their relationship, and that’s it. If the clip talked about sports medicine techniques like massage, stretching, etc then that clip would have made sense. But it literally never said a word. The transition was Russian training camp, Afan’s ass, then Afan’s relationship with Musty. Either these people don’t know what they are doing, or they are pervs themselves. They could have clipped in more shots of musty training, or more shot of the camp. They didn’t need Afan’s crack in there at all. What point did it serve?

        And Exgymgurl is right…what PR person signed this off??? In the end, I think it’s purely harmless in normal hands. But there are plenty on pervs out there (remember that crap about Aly and Aliya going around right about the time of the Olympics)…and that’s what I worry about.

      • gymtruthteller Says:

        Can we please stop discussing Afans

      • uglyfatkid Says:

        LMAO (pun not intended).

  9. Kyz Says:

    Whoop way to go Courtney, that is fab news for Gymnastics NZ

    • gingercrush Says:

      Courtney rocks. I see she has plans to upgrade one of her vaults. Presumably her second vault. I hope she and her coaches also focus on cleaning up the DTY.

      Apparently this is NZ’s first ever medal at the Pacific Rim championships so that is quite the achievement.

      Whether she can medal at the Commonwealth games really depends on whether the Canadian and English gymnasts field vaulters or not.

      • Kyz Says:

        Hopefully the govt will increase their funding levels. It is very very poorly funded here in comparison to other sports and is very results based, fingers crossed it puts some wheels in motion.

Leave a Reply

